Submitted by DLP Supporter
Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition

Back on September 29, 2010, Mottley said in her address to the Chamber of Commerce & Industry at Hilton Barbados that Government should not continue to wholly own and manage some of its facilities, when to do so would “challenge its ability to afford other services and benefits which are more important to us as a society – like affordable health care and free tertiary education”.

In other fora she spelt out her vision by asking, rhetorically, if people would prefer to pay a little for garbage collection while continually getting health care and education free.

At one such gathering, a political meeting, Mottley explained that Government spent about $55 million providing islandwide garbage collection. This included collection from businesses that at present pay nothing for this service.

She argued it would be better for Government to charge householders and businesses for this service.

ONLY HUMAN: We need the best brains – Print Version

ONLY HUMAN: We need the best brains

By: Sanka Price

Imagine a Barbados where most householders pay for garbage collection, national public transport is in the hands of the private sector, online payment of local bills is commonplace, and service excellence is a way of life.

This could happen in our immediate future under a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) administration. A case of 21st century solutions to build a 21st century government, society and economy.

In his address to the Barbados Association of Office Professionals (BAOP) on the topic Embracing Transformation: A Barbadian Imperative, Opposition Leader Owen Arthur was adamant that “[Barbados] must transform or perish”.

He said: “We need . . . to evolve and implement new policies for new times to take us to a higher and more sustainable plateau of national development.”

Arthur emphasized that Barbadians need to recognize that for future success we must be prepared to be innovative and flexible.

“. . . We constantly have to adapt and transform policies and programmes to suit changing and evolving circumstances . . . ,” the former Prime Minister said.

What drew me to this speech was the picture of future development of Barbados that Arthur sought to paint, and a specific similarity with what we were hearing since 2009 from former Opposition Leader Mia Mottley.

Getting into specifics, Arthur told the BAOP: “For many years Barbados’ development has been driven by its investment in its social capital, especially education and health.

“The point has, however, now been reached where the social sector and the social entitlements that are paid for by the state are too large for the economy to carry.”

Back on September 29, 2010, Mottley said in her address to the Chamber of Commerce & Industry at Hilton Barbados that Government should not continue to wholly own and manage some of its facilities, when to do so would “challenge its ability to afford other services and benefits which are more important to us as a society – like affordable health care and free tertiary education”.

In other fora she spelt out her vision by asking, rhetorically, if people would prefer to pay a little for garbage collection while continually getting health care and education free.

At one such gathering, a political meeting, Mottley explained that Government spent about $55 million providing islandwide garbage collection. This included collection from businesses that at present pay nothing for this service.

She argued it would be better for Government to charge householders and businesses for this service, exempting only those below the poverty line. Minus this figure, that would free up at least $50 million in revenue that could be put to health or education.

This move would also enfranchise workers as some of them would be able to buy over vehicles and form small businesses providing this service.

On the Transport Board, she asked: “Why should Government invest another $100 million in debt to purchase equipment [buses] and operational expenses over the next decade when it can contract out its routes to private operators for a fixed fee monthly in a highly regulated environment . . . ?

“Why can’t the men and women who have been driving the buses for years be empowered to become owners, along with other private investors in the sector?”

Mottley, too, proposed that a few statutory corporations like the Barbados National Oil Company (BNOC) could be divested in such a way that they are able to widen the ownership base by involving other investors. This way they would be able to raise capital for that organization while ensuring that Government can focus on its core responsibility of regulation while creating a platform for ownership.

I quoted extensively from both Arthur and Mottley because the similarity in their vision for the future development of Barbados suggests that whatever the challenges – real or imagined – they may have working together, the party’s policy is likely to be singular in focus.

Equally significant, too, is that now the rift in the BLP seems to be healing, there are signs all is not well in the ruling Democratic Labour Party hierarchy given the fallout from the Eager Eleven saga.

Whether this is true or not, my hope is that for the sake of all Barbadians both political parties get their act together as in these trying times we need the best brains working for us.

NationNews.com © Nation Publishing Co. Limited 2014from Windows Mail

244 responses to “Mia Flip Flop”

1. David

You got that right. That approach flew in the face of prudent, not to speak of fair and reasonable, governance.

The Church has been mentioned. Of the Church leaders, who it is I suppose we are taking about, how many are DLP people and thus whose response was predictable?

2. @ When people are consumed with GREED AND POWER THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS | July 25, 2014 at 1:04 AM |
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    TmW states “When you are about to make comparisons, check to see if it makes sense”.

You said
    They are 80,000 property owners that got the tax bill; the BLP say that they have in excess of 10, 000 members and even more supporters; they got near 60 000 votes in the last elections, they are on average 7500 voters in each consituency and 14 elected BLP members. Mottley got more that 3,000 votes in the last election; close to 3000 were laid off in the last six months; soca on the hill had 12,000 last Sunday, and Brewster Road gets 5000 every Friday. Power by 4 sells more than 2000 costumes at an average of 1000 every year.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    It is right to quote figures but it would have been impossible to get people to march in the midday sun when the majority at work trying to get a dollar, the pensioners unable to walk and other to frightened to be seen in public marching for a cause that will infringed on them. Forget the 12,000 at Soca and Brewster’s road 5,000. It is a known fact that within a recession people smoke more, consume more alcohol, party excessively and most of all gamble and prostitute hoping that life’s problems will go away tomorrow.

So what you should admit that our people are concerned about this “unfair tax” along with the 26 new taxes imposed on us since 2008 that is killing our people. The irony with certain commenters coming on these blog with political yardfowlism blowing excreta in the air and it falling back down on their own families and friends who are seeing real hell trying to make ends meet. This is the reason for people to speak up or massa will feel it is all right with our soul.

3. Well a prudent analysis one day after the ” Big March” clearly shows that it was a SOLID WASTE OF TIME and ENERGY !

Why ????

Clearly Kerrie before the ‘Big March” declared whether it is BEES or DEMS the Solid Waste tax must remain !

So why does Mia call for its REPEAL ?

Clearly Owen Arthur after the “Big March” declared that as PM of Barbados (of which Mia was the Deputy PM ) an environmental levy was put in place to cover the costs of Solid Waste collection !

So why does Mia call for its REPEAL ?

Quite naturally, that joker David of BU, would ignore these salient points raised by Kerrie and Owen !!

4. Fractured BLP | July 25, 2014 at 10:03 AM |
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Is this tax really going to Solid Waste or to finance and repay Solid Wastage by Ministries. According to Bumba “We want to know”

5. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Congrats to the Barbados Advocate for its coverage of the BLP march yesterday. The first 4 pages of the Advocate are dedicated to coverage the BLP march.
    At least the Barbados Advocate makes an attempt to be balanced while not acting like Mottley’s cheerleader.

The Advocate should also be congratulated on columnists like Henry Fraser ,Jeff Cumberbatch and John Blackman – Barbadians of unquestioned integrity who unlike the Nation newspaper columnists are trying to score political points every time they write.

Congrats again to the Barbadian owned Advocate newspaper.

6. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

are NOT trying to score political points everytime they write-

7. Hullaboloo..descriptive of yesterday march…the goal was to repeal the tax…what is now a given..the tax would not be repealed..as now for Mia…unlike…the pied piper ..she has nothing to give..

8. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

After Peter Wickham asks people to support the BLP and its march on brass tacks, the Nation BLP newspaper quotes him as saying that the march was a success and then will give him a big column on Sunday to say how wonderful it was.
    Where is the balance Roy Morris or do you believe only in criticizing one political party?

Is that what journalism has come to?

9. Does it matter anymore given that OSA will announce today his resignation from the BLP and that he will remain a MP but as an Independent?

10. Roger Smart
    Do you really believe that Owen will resign from the BLP ?

Owen just want to show the country the folly of Mia Mottley.

Nothing more or nothing less.

11. So Mia was at a minimum disappointed that the big able Prime Minister did not attend in person to receive the letter.
    I can say without doubt that were it Tom Adams,he would have been there before the cameras to not only receive the letter but deliver such an address to those present and those who would watch later in the telecast news at 7.00pm,that it would have taken all the sting out of the march and they would all support his position.
    But then,Stuart is so poor a communicator and so poor a Prime Minister, how it is wished that the two might exchange places.Many would be happy at even the thought of having Stuart in the churchyard .If,only if……dream on!

12. @
    @Fractured BLP July 25, 2014 at 10:03 AM “Quite naturally, that joker David of BU”

Man you really shouldn’t curse BU David on his or her own blog. Because I don’t know if BU David is male, female or a committee.

13. It is with profound sadness that I have just been made aware that because of her continued dubious lifestyle Mia A man Mottley has caused former PM Owen Seymour Arthur to resign from Mia’s Barbados Lesbian Party (BLP).

As a show of faith to his Barbadian people, Owen have chosen to sit in the House as an independent.

By George, Kerrie will now Marshall others to follow Owen !!!!!

What a SOLID WASTE !!!!!!!

14. Fractured BLP

Do not fool yourself little man about OSA’s motives. Yesterday was an eye opener for OSA. He could no long continue the ruse that MAM is not a vastly popular politician in Barbados.

Given:-

1. The declining value of the DLP administrations stock
    2. The likely austerity measures to come shortly
    3. The grown public popularity and support for MAM, and
    4. The BLP’s growing intolerance of OSA’s public campaign against MAM

Owen was left with few alternatives to restrain the momentum of MAM and he has opted to resign from the BLP so as to be free from its shackles so he can now wage ALL-OUT war on MAM publically.

A battle he will lose with much damage to his legacy.

15. However one must commend OSA for his brilliant strategy yesterday on declaring his intent to quit the BLP and stepping on Mia own heels ..strategically and unwittingly taking the sting out of a March which was meant to have mutiple reasons ..one of giving rise to Mia political strength and burying OSA in the process.the other which by all accounts would have sent govt into a tailspin of irrelevancy…with all these intentions ..the fallout so far can be realised from what one can perceived as the actions taken by Osa which if he should quit would further. splinter and destablise the BLP if he becomes an independant..and in the process an action which would forever sealed the fate of Mia chances of becoming Pm.

16. Fractured BLP Avatar

Hello Roger

Owen described Mia as a Megalomaniac.

Can you define for us the meaning of his choice of description of MAM ?

While you are at it remind Barbadians of MAM role in the Darwin Dottin wiretapping saga !

In time the BLPites will soon see what a tsunami is heading their way.

I had really believed that OSA would have held on.

17. Fractured BLP

Megalomaniac: Political Code for MAM represents my BIGGEST challenge to become Prime Minister of Barbados again and by God, if I have to destroy the BLP in the process when then so be it, but MAM will not be Prime Minister before I am one again.

Its not rocket science. I suggest to you that OSA does not dislike MAM he just fears that he cannot match her at this stage in his/her life. One is rising the other is descending.

18. Fractured BLP Avatar

Ok if that is your view of things, Roger

19. Fractured BLP

Listen to the reasons for his resignation, can you reconcile that against a man and party who used the name as central each and every one of the previous last 5 elections in Barbados.

Remember……… ‘We going with Owen’?

20. ‘IF HE HAS SOMETHING ON MIA HE NEEDS TO PUT UP OR SHUT UP’
    Unless he wants to proved a diabolical liar then he should shut up. When queried about Mia’s move from Attorney-General to Minister of Economic Affairs; Mr Arthur boldly informed the country that ‘ He was preparing Ms Mottley for higher office”

21. Every one here knows I am no fan of Mia, especially Miller. She had a good day politically yesterday and she should be proud. With Owen going, it should ease her leadership that has been under duress for some time.

But may be it is time some one teaches her how to listen!!!

22. Today is a significant day in the political life of Barbados. A proper reading must be made about the resignation of OSA. It may have signaled the end of an era. There are some hideous social forces, which would of had a victory, and others which would have lost. In neither case would the majority of Bajans be beneficiaries.

23. @Roger Smart July 25, 2014 at 12:53 PM Fractured BLP “Publically”

The word is publicly, that is to do something in public NOT in publicall. The word is NOT publically.

24. @
    Fractured BLP July 25, 2014 at 1:00 PM “Owen described Mia as a Megalomaniac. Can you define for us the meaning ?”

Megalomania is defined as “is a psychopathological condition characterized by delusional fantasies of power, relevance, omnipotence, and by inflated self-esteem.”

I think that this is a completely unfair characterization of Ms. Mottley.

In the Bible at 1 Timothy 3:1 it states “This is a true saying, If a man desire the office of a bishop, he desireth a good work.”

In secular society I believe that it is also a good thing to desire the office of Prime Minister. Ms. Mottley is a long time Parliamentarian and has served well in Owen Arthur’s Cabinets (because if she had not served well would he not have fired her as he fired others?)

Ms. Mottley ought not to be caastigated because she desires to be Prime Minister.

It is a good thing to desire the office of Prime Minister. Owen Arthur believes this too, otherwise would he have permittd himself to become Prime Minister, not once not twice, but three times (failing only at his fourth attempt)

What is good for Owen, is certainly also good for Mia.

The Barbados Constitution makes no difference between man and woman.

25. Mr. Arthur has made a valuable contribution to the development of Barbados. He exercised his right to resign from the BLP, but he could have been more gracious in his resignation. I am sure many people would be disappointed with his remarks after he handed in his letter. I think his departure would serve the BLP well and it will unite the Party. Mia must exercise her authority with humility in the service of all Barbadians. I guess Mr. Arthur had a problem in being led, we must all recognize when it is time to move on and take a back seat; offering guidance and sharing our knowledge and experience.

26. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Anonymous | July 25, 2014 at 3:11 PM |
    @
    In the Bible at 1 Timothy 3:1 it states “This is a true saying, If a man desire the office of a bishop, he desireth a good work.”

THIS TEXT CLEARLY HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH POLITICS

THIS TEXT REFER TO BEING THE LEADER OF A LOCAL CHURCH- PRESBYTER=PASTOR=BISHOP IN NT

ONE OF THE OFFICES OF A LOCAL CHURCH ACCORDING TO NT TEACHINGS

27. David where is your post on the resignation of Owen Seymore Arthur.

This has to be the political event of the year.

28. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

@ FracturedBLP NationBLPNewpaper and especially ac when will wunna stop sniffing the asshole that is the DLP and start smelling REALITY!!!!!. The reality is that Mia Amor Mottley is becoming the new political colossus in this country!!!!! When Mia can motivate 3000 Bajans on a workday to a march on something\ANYTHING it is speaking loudly to what her influence can do. This march was not a BLP march it was a Mia march. The populace is gravitating towards Mia and that is driving fear into wunna DLP yardfowls and potstarvers. It will leave us to ask the question What would have happened if Mia lead the BLP in the 2013 election? Mia is weathering resistance from within the BLP and is only coming out stronger.
    To Owen…he is doing himself a disservice to his image and to the BLP and it is HIGHLY regrettable. The reality is that Owen is fighting against a tide of decreasing popularity. Ever since the 2008 election loss,Owen’s action have only been to the detriment to the BLP From what i gather Owen has a problem with Mia’s leadership style. But Owen MUST understand that Mia is a different type of leader. She will do what she has to do in Parliament but you can only get so far there. Mia is appealing to the general public and wants to mobilise people in Barbados.
    There is nothing wrong with trying to mobilise Bajans especially because Barbados is TOO docile a society. There is nothing wrong in marching for a cause you believe in even if nothing results. If you are prodded with a pointy stick the NORMAL reaction is to cry out in pain and hope the person with the stick stops. If you don’t cry out the person with the stick will assume you can bear whatever pain they inflict.

29. When Bajan BBs finally figure out what Owen has been trying to tell them ….he will be elevated to sainthood status for his insight.
    …of course, like true brass, this will only be seen after they have been thoroughly pissed on and dragged through the bush……

…just like they could not grasp what the dipper was saying about “mirror images” and “waking up one morning” to find ourselves back under massa(y)…..

30. A powerful political force like Barbados Labour Party with a rich history of achievements could at this juncture of its history brag and boast that an event organized by them attracted a meagre crowd of fifteen hundred and that event was considered a resounding success. well,well,well
    Tom Adams or any other BLP leader had organized a demonstration against any DLP government of the day,I am very sure regardless of which day of the week it is,that demonstration would have attracted at least ten thousand or more Barbadians.Fifteen hundred people turned out for a march and the desperate Barbados Labour Party is gloating over that meagre turn out that had in its mist a significant amount of White Barbadians that care nothing about Black Barbadians.
    Many Black Barbadians in their wisdom had decided not to be part of an activity that will not bring about any benefits to them.Barbadians know we must make a contribution for the continued development of this country.
    The large presence of the elite whites of Barbados at that activity,I am sure that the wise Black Barbadians among us (not the anti-Black, Blacks goons on this blog) have taken note of their presence. In this regard my conscious Black Brothers and Sisters have recognized that the loyalty of the Barbados Labour Party is with the white elite and not them.
    That is one of the reasons why the the desperate Barbados Labour Party is purporting a tax on water where the burden be felt more by the poorer section of the society than the rich that exclusively have in it the white population of Barbados. Conversely,the Solid Waste Tax being a more equitable tax would have caused those parasites to make a significant contribution to the treasury. Knowing that parasitical group,they hate to spend only collect. A bunch of mercenaries.
    My Black Barbadians Brothers and Sisters,please read Owen Arthur comments in today’s paper on his reasons why he did not support the march.
    The Barbados Labour Party interest in this Solid Waste Tax issue is,to protect the interest of the white business class of Barbados and not the interest of Black Barbadians.

31. Negroman

One of the concessions granted by Sinckler was to waiver payment of MSW tax by blacks? I seemed to have miss that part, I thought it was farmers and pensioners only?
    Jackass.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | July 25, 2014 at 4:36 PM |
    “David where is your post on the resignation of Owen Seymore Arthur. This has to be the political event of the year.”

Don’t make us laugh, Hants! You have to be kidding. The political event took place yesterday with the ‘Short Walk’. That was the moment in time that sank OSA’s boat for sure. Far from being a spent political force he is now a sunken shell from a depth charge of popularity called MAM. Check and witness the huge increase in her following in the coming months especially among the young.

But he can send out an SOS by either forming his own party called the Arthur Drunken & Disgruntled Group or do a Clyde Mascoll in reverse and join the DLP after the humiliating dressing down (denuding) inflicted on him by Freundel both inside and outside of Parliament.

However, a greater political event is in the making and in a few months would certainly sink, like a cruise missile of a torpedo named “IMF Et Devaluation, that leaking ship called the SS Fumble Stuart administration.

Ask “Blackmout” Lowe if you doubt me. He had a secret rendezvous with an undertaker called Satan. And The Speaker was his only witness!

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | July 25, 2014 at 5:08 PM |
    “When Bajan BBs finally figure out what Owen has been trying to tell them ….he will be elevated to sainthood status for his insight.”

Oh BT, we thought you and you alone had already elevated him to sainthood by the numerous miracles, it is acclaimed, he performed in selling out to foreigners, especially Trickidadians, all the Bajan Brass bowl assets and real estate.

You MF hypocrite!
    Pity you will not be there to join him in sitting next to your BBE and laughing at a simple jackass nicknamed Brasshole Tea!

34. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Bush Tea | July 25, 2014 at 5:08 PM |
    When Bajan BBs finally figure out what Owen has been trying to tell them ….he will be elevated to sainthood status for his insight.

…of course, like true brass, this will only be seen after they have been thoroughly pissed on and dragged through the bush……

pay attention friends !! pay attention!
    professor brass bowl is a prophet!

HEAR THE PROPHESY OF PROFESSOR BRASS BOWL

BUP BUP BUP BUP BUP
    MURDAH OH ME AM

35. Bush Tea | July 25, 2014 at 5:08 PM |

When Bajan BBs finally figure out what Owen has been trying to tell them ….he will be elevated to sainthood status for his insight.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

what was Owe trying to tell us Professor A ss..h .. .le

36. OSA message to barbadians,,,,,,,,THERE ARE NO QUICK FIXES………… A TRUTH that he finally admitted,,one that the DLP govt was saying five years ago,,,Thanks OSA,,,,the truth has set YOU FREE,,.

37. Too early to gloat on OSA resignation. It’s always better to win a war rather than the battle. Time will tell as Mia needs to walk the talk about sacrifice and take a salary cut if she surely wants to lead.

38. Miller you have me brekking down with your blistering of Brasshole Tea! ROFLMAO. The Brasshole Tea can’t stomach that a WOMAN named MIA will be the next PM of Barbados! Brasshole tea I hope yuh drinking a strong cuppa bushtea. Put likkle cassia powder in it.

39. People need to understand Mia is also smart. The no confidence motion against Chris Sinckler was a charade. Mia needs to come clean as lawyer of Four Seasons Hotel. Political deception at its best!

40. One has to consider the implications of the action.
    – why did the Member just not resign as MP and allow a bye election, which the BLP would surely have won?
    – he is not young and likely will not re-contest at the next general election anyway.
    – by having a bye-election, the BLP would have maintained their position is Parliament….. the same number of seats. THAT is the real issue.

So, why did the Member, instead of resigning and allowing a by-election, stay in Parliament and move to Independent, thereby depriving the BLP of one Parliamentary seat?

THAT is the real action that is puzzling and the answer lies in what surely results from that.

The only result of that is ensuring that the BLP (read the Opposition), are left one short, EVEN if they managed to persuade a member to cross the floor.

Intended or not (and let us assume unintended), that is the immediate result of the action of moving to Independent i.e. ensuring that the Opposition Leader cannot, even with a crossing from the Government floor, go to the GG and state that she commands a majority in Parliament.

Thus, if there was a chance of an election, it is averted and the Opposition Leader cannot immediately (or after such election) become PM.

Just saying.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 25, 2014 at 6:25 PM |

As prayed for we have lived to see the day when Owen S Arthur has transmogrified from being your bête noir into your golden child of a sinless blue-eyed boy.
    We certainly know then we are at the lowest rung of Dante’s Inferno.
    Only Zoe’s Yahweh can save your lying hypocritical soul.

42. @islandgal246 July 25, 2014 at 6:31 PM “Brasshole tea I hope yuh drinking a strong cuppa bushtea”.

I think at this point Brassbowl Tea needs to drink the Jim Jones brand coolaid.

Misogynist ole fart

LOL!!!

43. @GEORGIE PORGIE July 25, 2014 at 3:33 PM Anonymous/Simple Simon | July 25, 2014 at 3:11 PM “THIS TEXT CLEARLY HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH POLITICS.”

Because you say so???

LOL!!!!

But I know the Bible better than you.

It is a good thing to disire the office of bishop/priest/deacon/pastor etc. It is a good thing to be a servant leader and to serve God’s people here on earth.

You think I is ac?

44. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

wHEREAS It is a good thing to be a servant leader and to serve God’s people here on earth. the text that was quoted from the pastoral epistles has nothing to do with politics. i AM NOT THE ONLY BIBLE STUDENT THAT THINKS SO.