Submitted by Andrew Nehaul
Grapefruit
Grapefruit

The Grapefruit.

The grapefruit (Citrus × paradisi) is a subtropical citrus tree known for its sour to semi-sweet fruit, an 18th-century hybrid first bred in Barbados.[1] When found, it was named the “forbidden fruit”;[2] and it has also been misidentified with the pomelo or shaddock (C. maxima), one of the parents of this hybrid, the other being sweet orange (C. × sinensis).[3]
Source:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grapefruit

Grapefruits have a rather recent history, having been discovered in Barbados in the 18th century. Many botanists think the grapefruit was actually the result of a natural cross breeding which occurred between the orange and the pomelo, a citrus fruit that was brought from Indonesia to Barbados in the 17th century.
The resulting fruit was given the name “grapefruit” in 1814 in Jamaica, a name which reflects the way it’s arranged when it grows—hanging in clusters just like grapes.

Grapefruit trees were planted in Florida in the early 19th century, although they did not become a viable commercial crop until later that century. Florida is still a major producer of grapefruits, as is California, Arizona and Texas. Other countries that produce grapefruits commercially include Israel, South Africa and Brazil.

When one reads the above it is a mystery why we have not used this fact to promote Barbados and/or create products for local use and export based on this wonderful fruit.  For example –

Grapefruit liqueur
Grapefruit mister (rum, syrup, grapefruit juice & blue Curacao)
Grapefruit & cucumber soup (served cold)
Grapefruit cream pie (dessert) – In the late 70’s the Jolly Roger rum punch was the most famous item of the cruise. The base of this was a grapefruit syrup purchased from COKE which at the time made the grapefrutty drink.

Market it!
Grapefruit has many uses why not let us use it by having an annual world festival in Barbados based on this fruit. We should target the growers in Florida, California, Arizona, Texas, Israel, South Africa & Brazil. Use for example the family magazines in the USA, UK, Canada & Brazil and encourage the readers to come up with their own grapefruit recipe. Moreover, they should be encouraged to come to Barbados to compete in the local recipe competitions.

Kids
Get the gamers to create a grapefruit app and a game based on Barbados & grapefruit.

Internet
Use the Wikipedia source to promote the fact that this fruit was created in Barbados.

Social Media
Create a Facebook page for the fruit and link with the Barbados page.

32 responses to “Barbados Grapefruit and Opportunities”

1. Let us face reality, Barbados cannot Grapefruit/citrus successfully. The soil and climate does not promote successful cultivation.

2. Correction ……..Barbados cannot grow Grapefruit/citrus successfully.

3. Grape fruit was created naturaly here therefore our soil is ideal. It was found in jack in the box gully first. It could be done comertialy. But easier to do would be castor oil. As the castor oil tree grows wild here.

4. Redydun……our soil is not ideal for the growing of citrus except for the cooler parts of the island and on this 2×4 island there are not many areas like that. Grapefruit grows almost wild in Grenada, Dominica, St. lucia and Trinidad. I have tasted grapefruit so sweet that I thought someone added sugar to them. The lifespan of grapefruit trees are short on the island. Yes they will grow well in the gullies because of the dampness and coolness. How many gullies do you think are big and accessible enough to grow this commercially? I agree that castor oil is a very good suggestion and alternative. But first we have to find a market for it. Aloes grow very well here too but has not been exploited economically.

5. When Barbados had more vegetation the land was cooler. Much of this has been lost to housing and development as well as large acreage agriculture. Much of our topsoil has been lost through erosion and improper agricultural practices.

6. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

It Still grows in Barbados, Instead of saying NO , look for a YES, the Yes is already there.
    We see Barbados grows the BEST Crooks,We sure can grow Grapefruit.
    USE the DBLP and plant a seed in all of that waste , some thing will grow lolo

7. If we cant grow them , cant we simply just import the fruit from the islands that can,process for local consumption and reduce importation of competing extra regional products made with the fruit ?We need a serious cultural/tastes rethink.

8. SuckaBuddy

I am sadden by the fact the in this new global economy, we still have Barbadians utilizing agrarian methods as a way to make a dollars. Bother, we have to do as India has done in the 1990’s. Focus on the Hi-tech job, science and technology, I have heard little of on this blog.

9. Colonel Buggy. Avatar

When one reads the above it is a mystery why we have not used this fact to promote Barbados and/or create products for local use and export based on this wonderful fruit. For example –
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    Barbados was the starting point and leader in Sugar cane breeding, and cross breeding. Now we are taking advice form other countries to grow “fuel cane” .
    Just like the Black Belly Sheep.
    @ islandgal
    your are quite right, the biggest and sweetest grape fruits grow mostly in the gullies and moist lands of St Joseph ,St Andrew and St Thomas.

10. SuckaBuddy

This new global economy has taught us that one no longer have to have the natural resources in order to become financial secure in today world. A lot of the American businesses have gone to India and recruited those persons with the high skills Jobs. And on the other hand, a lot of American businesses have moved to India in order to attach those Indians with the kinds of technological skills, you not too often find in America these days.

11. Colonel Buggy. Avatar

islandgal246 | July 10, 2014 at 11:19 AM |
    Much of our topsoil has been lost through erosion and improper agricultural practices.
    ……………………………………………………………………
    The top soil has not been lost, its lying all over the island, washed into the gullies. That is why in just over two decades our gullies were transformed into lust rain forests.

12. Colonel because we grow a small amount in certain areas that doesn’t mean we can grow it commercially. These grow effortlessly in St. Vincent, Grenada, Trinidad, St. Lucia and Dominica. Why in the world should we try and grow grapefruits in conditions that is not conducive. We must match production to the soil and terrain we have.

13. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

We need to grow our own food, This is any Nation’s Strength , We need to show our own People how strong We are,
    We can cut imports 50% , Just by Closing the Giant Price Clubs around the Island making waste , and now a waste TAX for the ins and outs of cans and plastics ,

14. Wonderful idea but I think we stand a better chance returning to the growing of the tamarind which is now enjoying world wide opportunities

15. Islandgal is absolutely correct. This kind of agriculture is not viable in Barbados, due to the small amount of land available where it will grow. I have grapefruit trees growing in my gully, and the problem there is that they grow very tall trying to reach the light, making the fruit difficult to harvest. Why re-invent the wheel? We can get all the citrus we need from the islands, given the proper transport, which I understand will be coming soon. This is not to say that we can’t take advantage of the fact that grapefruit was discovered here, and some of the suggestions above are excellent. One more point; one of the problems of marketing this fruit in Europe and the Americas is that fact that the consumers there have been “taught” to expect a standard-sized perfect looking fruit without any blemishes on the skin. So because Caribbean grapefruit are so much tastier and sweeter than the Israeli rubbish, consumers need to be re-educated to accept the blemishes as a sign of quality rather than the other way round. I surmise that this is not too difficult given the variety of media available. Just a thought.

16. Some info about growing grapefruit trees.

CLIMATE

Grapefruit achieves its best quality under conditions of hot days and warm to hot nights, which results in higher sugars and lower acids than grapefruit produced in the cooler night temperatures common in Arizona and California. It grows well in both tropical and subtropical climates of the world, but it is a little less cold hardy than oranges.

Mature, healthy grapefruit trees that are well-hardened by previous cool to cold weather can probably tolerate temperatures in the mid-20’s without leaf or twig damage, although ice will form in the fruit of grapefruit after about 3 to 5 hours at 27. Because severe freezes kill grapefruit trees in the Lower Rio Grande Valley, successful home grapefruit production will sooner or later require cold protection measures.

SOILS AND SITE SELECTION

Grapefruit trees on sour orange rootstock are well-adapted to deep, well-drained soils. Loamy soils are preferred while heavy clays and poorly-drained soils will result in poor growth and production as well as shorter life.

For maximum cold protection, grapefruit in the home landscape should be planted on the south or southeast side of the house. Distance from the house or other buildings and driveways or walkways should be at least 12 feet to allow adequate room for the tree to grow to its mature size. While large, overhanging shade trees will provide some cold protection, grapefruit grows and produces best in full sun.

https://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/citrus/grapefruit.htm

17. Grapefruit needs a neutral pH to acid soils our soil is on the alkaline side. St. Joseph, St. John and certain parts of St. Andrew probably have neutral soil or sweet soil. The gullies may have a slightly acidic soils due to rotting vegetation over the years.

18. Focus on the aloe plant.

19. If we can’t even get the damn sugar cane to grow profitably – something we have been researching and doing for CENTURIES –
    how the hell would we even START with grapefruit, aloe or castor oil?
    Wunna know bout the lotta fruit trees that we planted down in St Andrew …..and the fruit was just falling on the ground among the unkempt grass under the trees…?
    …probably awaiting the recruitment of workers by some minister to act specifically as ‘pickers’ or some similar shiite…
    Wunna understand brass bowls yet?

We would have to bring in Guyanese or others to do the work involved…

20. Colonel Buggy. Avatar
    Colonel Buggy.

We have yet to come to grips with the fact that agriculture in Barbados is D-E-A-D ,thanks to the Town and Country Planning, Ministers of Agriculture, Ministers of Housing, Developers, Praedial larcinists, and the reluctance of many Barbadians to pursue work or a career in Agriculture. Barbados produces some of the tasties Bananas, yet we prefer to buy bananas from outside. Marijauana may be our next cash crop, if Mr Gonzales has his way.
    We have long ago lost the bone, now we are catching at shadows.

21. We had an aloe industry here before I believe. Yes, I would support ‘bringing in’ the Guyanese as a whole to aid our agricultural sector. Local labour would not suffice.

22. Bush Tea, the well noted World Bank economist and author of the book Why Globalization Works Martin Wolf, has argued that, ” A country with secure property rights, scientific inquiry, and technological innovation will become richer.” Helo! Have ya’ll seen the way in which India; arguably the poor country in the world some thirty years ago, has transformed itself to a force to be reckoned internationally? It’s time we stop play with this ancient art of plowing the land and try to develop the skills necessary to equip us for this new global economy. Barbados will forever remain enveloped in this antiquated way of look at commerce, if we have people like Bush Tea and the likes, still talking about working the land.

23. Colonel Buggy. Avatar
    Colonel Buggy.

@peltdown
    So because Caribbean grapefruit are so much tastier and sweeter than the Israeli rubbish,
    ……………………………………………………………………………..
    That may be so, but very importantly , Israel is able to supply their European buyers on a timely and regular basis. The same goes for Bananas. Israel, probably has more acreage of Bananas fields than the whole of the Eastern Caribbean put together,and that may account for the limited export of bananas from the Caribbean to Europe..
    Barbados sugar , was sought after in the shops in the UK,as many
    baking and pastry recipes called for “Barbados Sugar”. People there soon seeked out alternatives, as we could not guarantee a regular and constant supply of our sugar to the UK. In fact Bajans,back home very often , experience similar .

24. Helo! Can I get ya’ll old people to stop talking about working the land and focus more of your energies on the skills that are conducive to this new liberal economy? Bush Tea, this calls for critical thinking so here is where you make your exist brother man.

25. One of the REALLY. Big problems we have in Barbados is explained by the saying “a little learning is a dangerous thing”

This speaks to a situation where some JA picks up a book or watch a TV or you-tube show – and is captivated by some advanced idea. …like how successfully the Israelis are at agriculture.
    It is as common in parliament as it is on BU. …some imbecile minister goes on a trip and comes back with grandiose million dollar ideas…and often contracts…

LISTEN PEOPLE….if you never got the BASICS right, don’t expect to succeed with the complex…
    If you CANT make it in the damn US army, then don’t come playing you are some kind of BU guru…
    If you can’t grow sugar cane in Barbados then FORGET fickle citrus.

Shiite man
    We could not succeed with Barbados sea island cotton, Barbados cherry, sugar cane, because of BASIC ISSUES of management, productivity and creativity.
    These are non issues for many other countries. We CANNOT just copy everyone.
    Brass bowls are not pressure cookers.

One thing we in Bim have accomplished successfully is to have dumped that JA Dompey on the US of A….. Let’s hope that is ongoing… 🙂

26. ROTFLMAO Bushie yuh got muh brekking up wid laffs. The problem is that when they copy they make such a mess of it that it never resembles the thing they were so supposed to copying. Dem can’t even copy good and apply it to our region.

I remember working with a garment manufacturer in sales. I asked them why are they still selling old men pyjamas when they only sell when people got to go into the hospital. The man in charge, an old fart boasted that he still wears pyjamas. I told him that he is probably one of the 10 who wears them in Barbados. I told him that they need a new line of clothes and cut back on the pyjamas. Most men sleep in boxer shorts and women in tee shirts or shortie pyjamas. Well the final straw was that I brought in some of my patterns and had them make up some samples of my designs to sell. I worked on the production floor to make sure they got it right. The old fart told me that I was hired to sell and not work on the production floor. I asked him if pyjamas weren’t selling I am trying to make other things that will sell. The man get vex with me. Well the next time he saw me I was collecting my patterns and was leaving. They told me that I had to leave my patterns. I asked them who brought them here and who made them? I fired dem backside pronto and told them that I don’t give then another six months to still be in business. Brass Bowls all the way back then. The company folded up 10 months later.

27. What?!!
    You were off by a whole 4 months?
    …you gone down a bit in Bushie’s book yuh!! 🙂

28. The fact that the grapefruit is reported to have originated in Barbados creates the opportunity to grow it as a niche crop and grow a brand around it which only Barbados can claim. There is the value, no need to grow mass.

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

EXACTLY
    The late Dr Hudson used to say the same thing. He said we gave up our niche in the aloe vera market as well as with manjak.from the Bath=> Conset area

30. Oh dear, i hate to hear people with this defeatist attitude, oh it can’t be done here, we are not good enough to do it, and such. Let a white man come, set up a few green houses and start making a licking, then we same black people would grudge and hate the man, stupse.

@ Dompey
    When people stop working the land what will we eat, the imported GMO crap? Not everyone eats that rubbish.

31. BK

Wouldn’t it make better sense to import a commodity at a cheaper price rather than trying to produce it at home at an exorbitant one? I have heard it said on this very blog that locally grown commodities taste disgusting. And producing one’s own food locally does not necessarily mean that it will be safer for consumption, given the kinds of pesticides that are utilize these days to ensure a good harvest.

32. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@Bush Tea
    It is as common in parliament as it is on BU. …some imbecile minister goes on a trip and comes back with grandiose million dollar ideas…and often contracts…
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    That goes to show , how out of touch with reality many of our leaders are and were.
    Tom Adams of all people went on a trip to either Malta or Cypress, back in his heyday as PM ,observed that homes there were being built of coral stone,and immediately sent back a telegram to his Minister of Housing asking that he look into the feasibility of Barbados employing similar techniques to construct homes. Of course no one,including the press, had the guts to point out to the bully boy, that he was born in a Coral Stone house.