Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

In tourism, just like many other businesses we talk frequently about the bottom line but do we really pay enough attention to the subject. For instance, how many hotels have sat down and calculated what difference a ten per cent increase in average annual occupancy and a net rise of US$10 or US$20 per occupied room night would make to their turnover and viability.

To use a simple example of a lower end 100 room hotel with a normal nightly rate of US$100 and currently achieving an annual occupancy level of 50 per cent which is pretty typical of many of our properties. In accommodation revenue alone that would generate US$1.825 million a year. Take that occupancy level to 60 per cent at an average of US$110 per room and immediately turnover climbs to US$2.409 million. That’s an income differential of US$584,000. Or US$830,000 if the price rise is US$20 per room per night. Of course, it is not quite that straightforward. There would be higher operational costs, but the net result is a greater overall level of profit and the additional margins can be used to achieve the initial objective, allowing any residue to be employed in product upgrade.

To a certain degree many of our larger hotels are dependent on tour operators to fill at least a critical mass of their overall room stock, but I am convinced through creative marketing this percentage can be reduced to ensure a greater return on investment. As we enter week six since the re-launch of the re-DISCOVER restaurant initiative I would like to use this column to publicly thank the Barbados Tourism Authority for their whole-hearted support. It has been a refreshing revelation and a model example of how the private and public sector can work successfully together to drive additional business.

Every key market office has played a significant role and while I do not want to single out particular individuals, because it has been a collective effort, the culmination has to be the airing or a Crop-Over feature highlighting the dine-around programme on The Daily Buzz which was syndicated to 175 television stations throughout the United States. This type of publicity would ordinarily be cost inhibitive if paid for at commercial rates.

We set a goal of attracting an average of ten re-DISCOVER diners per night for six days of each week for every participating restaurant until the 15th December. Some establishments have already exceeded this number with a few patrons returning for a second or third time. The concept was always intended to reach out to both locals and visitors.

If revenue is controlled by the business owners, the program can go a long way to help protect employment and business viability during the long softer summer months. Certain overhead costs are fixed, regardless of the number of customers served and what this promotion achieves is to cover at least part of these expenses, thus ensuring full price paying patrons make a larger contribution to profit.

14 responses to “re-Discover Program a Model for Success”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sometimes in the face of such startling incompetence for an industry that is touted as the lifeblood of our country it is good to hear someone express kudos for a job well done.

“For I healed ten lepers, wherefore are the nine?”

I would however hazard that your appreciation might be short lived given that you were one of the sensible persons who confronted Minister Sinckler and his idiot party to ask why should it be that you pay any solid waste tax, which I am reliably informed, post hearing his bumbling explanation is a 33% increase on Land Tax, to address the shortfall of the Treasury, ergo the need that we pays 50% by July, and asked by email why you should pay them with any alacrity since you have been languishing for your refunds of $20K+ from the VAT offices.

Be assured that the DLP government will demit office and you WILL NOT GET THAT $$ Mr. Loveridge.

Remember the famous quotation that is attributed by ex-wives and common law wives that one has run afoul of “what is mine is mine and what is yours is (50%) mine, or in the case of the government (both BLP and BLP) 100% mine”

Maybe the Minister was applying one of the other meanings of the word remit and refund to your VAT returns

Let me see

Re-fund as in “re i.e. regarding (something or someone) and fun “to mek sport at”

So there you have it “to refund Adrain Loveridge’s VAT parlays into “to regard your submission of this application and to mek fun at it

Remember that when wunna get to be octogenarians wunna is not gine sleep too soundly since de scrapping noises dat de dog does mek when he dog pan empty (causing wunna ent got enough money from de pension to pay fuh de utilities, de rent or de mortgage, de land tax, de house insurance and de dog food togedder) yes cause dem scrapping noises does sound like de scythe that Death does carry in he hand and wunna wants to be up to fight he scvnt when come he will.

Even if wunna is mottley, arfur or Sinckler cum he will as DT found out.

2. With respect to the Bajan tourism product, is there a project to address the many dilapidated properties which litter the South and West Coast?

See report:

TOP 50 FIRM Wilkins Kennedy has dismissed claims of impropriety over its role and those of a partner and former employee in the construction of a luxury resort in the Caribbean by a client.

Harlequin Property and Harlequin Hotels & Resorts is seeking damages of $68m (£40.4m) for losses arising out of an alleged breach of fiduciary duties and breach of contract, or alternatively breach of common law duties of care, in failing to perform its duties with reasonable skill and care.

Wilkins Kennedy dismisses Harlequin $68m claim

3. It seems the political partys need to explane there RISK ASSESMENTS to us again. “A Risk is the amount of harm that can be expected to occur during a given time period due to specific harm event (e.g., an accident). Statistically, the level of risk can be calculated as the product of the probability that harm occurs (e.g., that an accident happens) multiplied by the severity of that harm (i.e., the average amount of harm or more conservatively the maximum credible amount of harm). In practice, the amount of risk is usually categorized into a small number of levels because neither the probability nor harm severity can typically be estimated with accuracy and precision.”
    The risk is done behind or backs.
    What’s in, or whats going to be in your wallet??

4. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

Everyone talks about the US$… It’s the £ that’s doing it… From $2.98BDS in 2008 to $3.45BDS… I’m loving it…! At the in ’08 I predicted it would go to $4.20 BDS, IT WILL…!!!

5. Adrian Loveridge visit the BU Sports Corner. Barbados got some free advertising from one of “Canada’s” best jockeys.

Did the BTA miss a marketing opportunity ?

6. @Hants

Maybe they are waiting until Husbands retire to make sure the brand is intake. Just guessing at a good reason.

7. David it is possible that I am entirely wrong as I have no formal training in marketing and you should have degrees like GP an dem fellas.

My limited involvement in “projects” with corporations in Canada and the USA has taught me that you have to “seize the moment”.

All is not lost. The Queen’s Plate is the first race in the Canadian triple crown.

Patrick Husbands BSS (Barbados Service Star ) will be trying for a repeat of his 2003 triple crown wins on a horse named Wando.

8. David I will be sending you a bill for breaking the Queens Plate story which has been missed by Barbados online newspapers.

Bu now owes me 2 cents bds,

9. @Hants

You are not wrong, no doubt Adrian will send a note to Petra. She is on David’s FB, BU can send her a note as well.

10. Adrian Loveridge, it seems that you have a winner- Congrats When the going gets tough the tough gets going . Continued success.

11. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Williams, many thanks.

12. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Sorry, should read William S.

13. fyi

Fos decision on Harlequin must be tip of iceberg

Fos tells adviser to take ownership of the Harlequin investment and to compensate the investors in full.

By Donia O’Loughlin | Published 15:52 | 3 comments

Recommend 4 Print this article Email this article Tweet Facebook Linkedin

The first complaint about advice to invest in Harlequin via a Sipp has been published on the ombudsman decision database and it has been upheld.

It is little wonder that Sipp complaints regarding esoteric investments, such as Harlequin, are beginning to filter through to the Fos’s online decision database, as earlier this year Fos statistics revealed Sipp complaints to the ombudsman had risen by 49 per cent in the 12 months to 31 March, compared to the previous year.

http://www.ftadviser.com/2014/07/08/opinion/blogs/fos-decision-on-harlequin-must-be-tip-of-iceberg-cHAyySXUfj3zkcqhvptF2O/article.html

14. The optics are good.

“The Jamaican-based Sandals group has confirmed its acquisition of land adjacent to its ten acre St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church property.

A press release from the company today noted that this latest move comes at a time when Barbados and its Caribbean neighbours are hard pressed to attract investments to their shores.”