Submitted by islandgal
The potato was crunchy and as a cook I automatically knew that it was undercooked
…The potato was crunchy and as a cook I automatically knew that it was undercooked…

On Sunday May 04th my daughter invited my mother, husband and myself to lunch at the prestigious Fairmont Royal Pavilionย  Hotel on the west coast.ย  We arrived around 12.30 and were seated. The lunch was buffet style so we all went to where the food was laid out . We started with a salad I had potato salad , some cold slaw and some tossed salad. The potato salad was labelled “Idaho potato salad”. I started eating it and found that it was impossible to eat. The potato was crunchy and as a cook I automatically knew that it was undercooked.ย  As far as I know Idaho potatoes are for baking and not boiling. Three of us who took it left it on the plate. We then went to get our main course.

When we got back to our tables our salad plates were still there where we had left them. I quickly cleared the table and placed the plates on a nearby stand. We sat down to eat.ย  There wasn’t much to choose from macaroni pie or rice and peas, stew chicken, shrimp or fish. My husband took the macaroni pie, and some grilled shrimp. I took the rice and peas some vegetables, the grilled shrimp and a piece of fish. My husband couldn’t eat the macaroni pie, it was not good and the shrimp were very soft, overly soft for grilled shrimp with no taste at all.ย  The best thing was the grilled dolphin.ย  The vegetables were almost raw and not cooked crisply and lack flavour.ย  The dessert was disappointing, New Yorkย  cheesecake and a fingernail sized brownie. I left them both after tasting.ย  I was asked how was the meal going. I told the waitress that the potato salad was not cooked and instead of going to investigate and taking it off the table, the response was ” I will let the chef know”.

She remained on the floor for the duration of the meal seating customers.ย  I saw visitors and locals eating the same fare and wondered what they thought of the food from this “five Star” establishment.ย  My daughter spent around $350.00 that day to some that may not be much money but to me it is.ย  We joked that we should have gone to Martyn’s Ackee tree restaurant or Champers where we would have had a delicious meal at a more reasonable price.

We were in Miami in April and had eaten at the “Olive Garden”ย  a chain restaurant. The food was excellent and the service superb!ย  The cost under $90.00 US for four persons for a three course meal. There was also a special for $10.99 for soup salad main and dessert.ย  We could have ordered refills of the soup or salad at no extra cost but we didn’t. We complimented the waitress for her attentive service and she told us that it was an honour serving us.

As a Barbadian I was insulted by the piss poor quality of the food served at the Fairmont Royal Pavilion. All the talk about local foods in hotel restaurants is pure talk and just that. Where is the creativity, where are the local chefs? Is that all our Hotel School can produce?ย  I won’t be going back there nor will I recommend anyone to go there. This is one of the places where you pay first rate prices for third rate service.

117 responses to “Lunch @Royal Pavilion Hotel Given a Thumbs Down”

1. Pinkie I am a very good cook and when I am invited out I go. You are sooo full of crap please learn to read and comphrehend!

2. And learn to spell too !

3. There is nothing wrong with dining out four some special occasions, but some of the finest restaurants can’t do better than what I could and can do at home. I love table silver, expensive dinnerware,stemware and good tasting wine, love to show off my stuff on special occasions and do but yes, of course, I’m a good cook too, make my own dinner rolls. Caswell (poster), my deceased grandmother taught me.

May consider sending islandgal a dinner invitation, show her something she has never seen before, my vintage dinnerware sets: 1). Martime Rose dinner pattern by Spode (England) and Rosenthal Ivory by Rosenthal (Germany)

4. islandgal,
    Dining out at the Hilton Hotel is no better. Last year we went to the posh restaurant to the right of the reception area. Setting is lovely but service and food were piss poor. Needless to say, the white tables were waited on and our food took forever and then was not tasty. Needless to say, I complained about the service and told them I would not return. I was sad as we were there to celebrate a major achievement in one of my children’s life.

A few weeks ago, we had some business associates here on holiday, we decided to try the lighthouse restaurant there as we wanted the folks to see our lovely hotel. Well I was embarrassed again. The service was ok, the food was barely ok but our debit card nor our guests credit card would not work. We had to get up and find the waiter to ask what was taking so long . Needless to say our guest who is accustomed to staying in posh places all over the world as part of his job, asked to see the manager, the waiter said he cant help you, the machine aint working, which was pretty bad to say to customers.

Our guest got agitated and asked if this is a five star hotel. In the end, we had to let our guests go on as they were staying in Bathsheba while we waited for the restaurant staff to find an old fashion machine to swipe a credit card since they said they could not get ATM card swiped from where they were. Hilton is off my list now.

There is a nice little place on Hastings Road across from Consolidated Finance called Bistro Monet which serves great food at good prices.

5. what gutter..i. tell the truth .and that is many blacks go to them snobbish ritzy places to fit in with a certain lifestyle.not one to feel sorry when the service u get is unacceptable..as far as i am concerned u were well served hopefully u know better next time.i bet u will never hear of being served that kind of menu at that restaurant by caucasian.u were insulted.had your feelings hurt and now striking back at others who don t feel sorry you..

6. Wait ac, you dont go ritzy places? I thought you said that you are the wife of a lawyer? Dont you all go out to have a meal? The Dems economic pressure getting to you?

7. There is lots of evidence that tourists do not like or want the local dishes in any country. Just think about what foods you enjoy as a Bajan; don’t be surprise if flying fish etc. is not on your list. You only eat other items because you can’t get flying fish. It is the same with tourists; they enjoy and want dishes which they are accustomed to; it would be a disservice to our guests for hotels to offer menus built around our local dishes. Yam, cassava, mauby etc. is of good taste to us but carries a horrible taste to a tourist. Private restaurants can offer local dishes but please keep our exotic foods out of hotels.

8. yes i have frequented those places but only on occasion when it was paid for by an organization i really do not like that kind of glamour food, i like the homestyle cooking and prefer a restaurant that cater to that kind of cooking….don.t each too much….but love the flying fish nicely seasoned and steam served with with yam a salad or when in season avocado,,, and fr desert maybe a scoop of ice cream or yougart ,,,,maybe if the chef is in a good mood find a slice or two of sweet bread,,and if in the mood before i eat a rum and coke or a couple banks,,,,,,,,, dont need the pavillions or the sandy type cooking,,,,,,for me to have an enjoyable dinner rather not fit in with the joneses,,,,island gal experience is repeated more often that not with blacks,,,,,,rarely do you here Caucasian relay such experiences,,,,,if at all,

9. islan gal ..don’t get mad at me for telling the truth,,,some of the comments and experiences by those who have visited those ritzy restauarants are refections of my thoughts and most likely the comments are from blacks ….only difference nobody have the balls to say what i told u,,,,,

10. @Foodie
    wait, but wha kinda idiot you could be tho? keep our exotic foods out of hotels? So i guess we should just serve burgers and fries then huh? stupse i cant even respond to ur shite comment

11. Ac:

Stop letting these people here intimidate you. Eating at the Pink Star is great. The Pink Star has the best fancy food in Barbados!! The same liver at the Pink coat $500.00 just because some fancy chef cut it up!!

12. those five stars restaurant really don’t deserve locals business, they are high priced caters to the international crowd,,,,,seldom showcased fine bajan cuisine, to tourist and locals alike ,now why would a local want to frequent a place that seldom give local cuisine international recognition…..i will bet you that in jamaica many local dishes are part of the five stars hotels menu on a daily basis,,,furthemore …i don;t like food served on sticks,,,, serve on plates twice the size of the meal ,,,,i don’t understand how some people can be so easily hoodwinked into buying a steak the size of a quarter with one leaf of lettuce and one scoop of mashed potaoes…….listen to this drizzle with sauce,,,,and expensive as hell.and try ordering a rum and coke,,u might have to mop the floor to pay fuh dat one,,,,why do people especially blacks always want to prove ,,when right down the street ,,there is mom and pop restaurant with great food good servings and cost least,,,,btw did i mention the tip,some them ritzy restaurants already have the amount included in the check,,,,,,,mom and pop,,,,take whatever u give them

13. @ac

You are clueless. Barbados has some of the finest restaurants in the world, islangal’s bad experience does not change this fact. Locals who can afford it will dine at a top class restaurant as a part of enjoying the creature comforts of life. You wear donkey hair others eat out.

14. several years ago i took my family to cobblers cove,long story short they somehow lost our main course orders,they did eventually bring the food(.over an hour). i wrote an email to management the next morning simply stating my experience, upon verifying my issue i was invited back for a complete dinner for six including all beverages. It was excellent as expected, i have since been back many times and would highly recommend it. YOU get more with honey than vinegar i suggest everybody try it

15. david stuespse,,,,,,,,,,,,stuff and nonsense,,,,,,,,,,,pooycock,,,,

where did i say or even suggest that barbados does not have good restauarants,,apparantly u are the clueless one,,,,,

see u david what does donkey hair have to do with eating out,,,
    only a fool would spend three hundred dollars and have to serve themselves,,,,,,,,,,buffet style .what so top class about that,,,,
    further more a rip off,,,,,,,,,

btw what proof do u have i wear donkey hair,,,and don;t even try pulling up comments about (my) stating so,,cause u have on many occasions called me a liar on other issues so how convenient for u to belive that donkey hair story of mine,,,,,

16. People who can afford it can pay for what the hell they like by way of entertaining themselves. In the same way some people prefer to wear donkey hair as oppose to natural, the point it is individual choice.

17. what de he,,l u talking about ..i belive the article focus is on experience on which i expanded an included.. the numerous varieties of bajan dishes which are not included in topstar restarants and to differece in prices,,wher did i suggest that people should not engage in high class entertainiment or spend their money wherever or with whomever they choose to….,who the hell u quarrelling with..fuh sure not ac,,,.maybe yuhself.
    one of our main staples in culture is our food,,other cultures stick to theirs and there is no amount of hand twisting that can change that,, and that bajan blacks need to be more aware,of..,
    btw did i need to geneflect before engaging in the debate

18. Ac,
    Face it, you are cheap, you only eat out when “some organisation” is paying. Don’t save all the money, you have to enjoy your life, you only have one!

Stop being so difficult!

19. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

I don’t know if Savannah Hotel is five star or not but it has one of the best local cuisines i have ever experienced, really really great, i do not know the cost as i never paid nor did i inquire. i find Champers to be superb, however, i know of some who said the price did not complement the meal..again i cannot attest to the cost, i never paid

20. Breaking news.

Air Canada flying 777s to Barbados soon.

More Canadians coming.

21. It is so sad when people like AC show their lack of class in a forum like this one. What we are dealing with reflects on what plagues this country. We pay high prices for garbage and when we complain it is our fault. How do you think the visitors feel? Yet we depend on visitors to come here and spend their hard earned money on crap. We have to raise the bar and stop accepting crap. If we locals do not demand good service for the money we are paying then all is lost for this piece of rock.

22. David

You have the audacious impudicity to call another ignorant. Listen! It’s one thing to think that your way is the right way and quite another to think that your way is the only way brother. Now, how would you have dealt with the above scenario? Act bombastic in the people place to attach the attention of law enforcement of course. Don’t sweat the small stuff brother, focus on the important stuff.

23. “May consider sending islandgal a dinner invitation, show her something she has never seen before, my vintage dinnerware sets: 1). Martime Rose dinner pattern by Spode (England) and Rosenthal Ivory by Rosenthal (Germany)”

LOOK take your Spode and Rosenthal and shove it where the sun don’t shine. I do not eat dinnerware and don’t give a rat’s behind about what brand my plate is. It is what is on my plate that I am interested in. BTW I am not interested in being a dinner guest of yours, you are such a frigging bore!

24. Prodigal… thank you I will take note. Mamma Mia is another good spot as well.

25. Prodigal I believe you about the Hilton. I went to a Jazz function there and bought some fishcakes. Lawd I had to ask the chef who was making them if he tasted them. I told him that he needs to check his recipe to see if fish was on the ingredient list. I told him he was selling wish cakes. I had to dump them. After that I had no desire to go there for any meal.

26. I have worked at the Royal Pavilion throughout all the name changes for close to twenty years and have eaten there on a number of occasions and can’t remember every seeing or being served macaroni pie during the week far less on a Sunday. Eating there was an occasion to look forward to, the food and variety was superb and staff ever so helpful. I have not gone there for a while, but something has to be wrong that the standard has dropped so low. I am really saddened by the bad experience mentioned but I am not sure why it was mentioned here because the first complaint should have been to the management of the hotel. Anyway,why would I leave home to eat out and buy macaroni pie etc. when I could buy that from any van selling side the road.

27. The restaurant service in Barbados is superior, sometimes the cost for the fare is a real letdown when it is not up to par but I have never found it that bad that I would send it back. I did have a problem with the wait at the Hilton years ago but the tip was added to the bill and was not discretionary which does give the employees the latitude to be lackadaisical

28. Prodigal I believe you about the Hilton. I went to a Jazz function there and bought some fishcakes. Lawd I had to ask the chef who was making them if he tasted them. I told him that he needs to check his recipe to see if fish was on the ingredient list. I told him he was selling wish cakes. I had to dump them.

Reminds me of the Ossie Moore joke where Ossie went to the shop and bought some fish cakes and some rock cakes and carry them home to eat. When he get home he find the fish cakes were, to all intents and purposes, fishless, as he couldn’t taste any salt fish in them at all. He went back to the shop to put a bewsing on the shop keeper for ripping him off and selling fish cakes that did not have in a proper amount of fish.

However the shopkeeper was unphased at Ossie’s tirade. He said, “But Ossie man, tell muh something. Dem rock cakes wunna just buy, dey does supposed to got in rocks?”

29. David,
    Thanks again for providing this forum!

From islandgal’s experience, we all know where to eat out and where not to go. Greatness!

30. wait little ever miss island gal did ac ever say that u should not criticize the five star hotel the pavillion. as a matter of fact u did one hell-uava of a job criticizing the garbage food being served and the overall treatment from the staff with david approval of the article,,,,,as a matter of fact,, i kind a smiled after david attacked my comments which were mild mannered and less hostile than the perception given of the way you were treated on mothers day at at the five star hotel……i am mused after beiing attacked by david asto the many comments and the recent one by u shows a different attitude than the one david protray in reference to barbados having some of the best five star hotels,( i agree) ,,,, now to u david,,,,,,notice i never said anything negative on the same level of island gal article to tarnished the image of barbados hotels yet u did allow an article that in probabilty which would do more harm than good to tarnish the name of the Pavillion and it seems to be O.K. by you…..

31. David

“Barbados has some of the finest restaurants in the world”

You’re witnessing the typical case of chemical induced psychosis.

32. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Dompey | May 15, 2014 at 5:31 AM |

What your point? okay, the food was under- cooked and somewhat over- cooked; I am sure isnโ€™t going to be your last. Your disappointed with the service? Just ask for a refund and move on. Simple!
    …………………………………………………………………………..
    Dompey, Mate, you sound like the Army Cookhouse Sergeant, who, if you made a complaint about his food to the Orderly Officer, would meet you round the back of the cook house with some of his cooks and duff you over good and proper.

33. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@ac.
    what gutter..i. tell the truth .and that is many blacks go to them snobbish ritzy places to fit in with a certain lifestyle.not one to feel sorry when the service u get is unacceptable..

I learn my lesson some years ago. I regularly visited the Paradise Beach Hotel Restaurant , with an associate from the UK, who never once made a reservation, but was always accepted, with a smile wide.
    Some time later, a fool like me decided to take a lady friend there for her birthday, and was met by one of the unsmiling staff, who gruffly. pointed down the beach and said.” See that stall yonder , you can get sandwiches there. ”
    That is why I laughed my balls off when I heard that Paradise has closed down and cannot seem to be able to get off the ground.”

34. now to those peace loving bajans to counter balance,,, named your favourite restaurant on the walls of BU,,,,,,,personnaly i like the local rum shop home cooked style food restaturants,, say from baxters road on to bay street,,but for maybe a nite out i would do champers,,,,

35. @Islandgal Sorry to hear about your poor meal and experience at Royal Pavillion, especially on your special day. Hope your daughter did not leave a tip or pay the service charge.

36. I really enjoy blogging on BU because of the memories it stirs up of growing up in Barbados.

Anybody remember “special Primer” at elementary school ?

37. Cuz’s fish stand & the food vans are great places to eat for locals & visitors alike. The food in Barbados sweet fuh days. If you have a bad experience vote with your feet & tell your friends etc..

38. The reference to Hilton is the Sunday buffet where the buffet table spans a wide selection, sushi etc.

A consumer has the right to show displeasure at bad service using different channels. They are those who will be satisfied with complaining to managment and feeling satisfied with a comp meal. Others may feel pissed of generally with customer service in Barbados and want to blast for the sake of heightening awareness. If this was an international food critic writing of their experience in the Mirror or NY Times we would be having a different conversation. Hypocrites!

39. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Unlike many other industries we, in tourism rarely get a second chance to get it right. It is not by any means a perfect industry and I am afraid we all get it wrong sometimes. The secret is how we deal with the problem when we get it wrong and after reading some of the comments on TripAdvisor it is clear that the new interim General Manager of Royal Pavillion follows and responds to both positive and negative comments. I am sure a personal approach to him would solicit an explanation and some sort of recompense. It is a lot easier to retain an existing customer than find new ones.

40. well sorry the damage to the Pavillion has already been done… i for one would not have used such an extreme format to aire my grievances especially if t was a first time experience giving the benefit of doubt to the Pavillion,,,,as i previously said any business that i have had experienced bad service my initial reaction is to call and filed a complaint and so far they all have responded in a positive manner,,,,,,,,,further more it also serves to improved customer relations as it provides necessary information from which the business can used to improve quality service,,,,,

41. BTW David international service oriented critics have a service to perform to both public and industry,,,they are not brattish and ignorant in their critique .

42. Let word get around that we are tired of the poor service which Barbados is getting know for and which is being taken advantage of by our neigbouring islands. Sometimes Peter will have to pay for Paul, Royal Pavillion will survive this episode, it has the capital to do so. Thise on this blog who do NOT live in Barbados and have a lot to say need to wait until they van have an appreciation for why NISE was formed. This is not about getting a free meal, it is about catspraddling a sub culture before it takes deep root.

43. FYI It was not on Mother’s day I had gone it was May 04th. My daughter initially called to book a brunch and was told that it was lunch that was being served that day. We had no idea on what was on the menu until we got there.

Those of you all who keep harping on Buffets are not the place to have an enjoyable meal is a piss poor excuse. I have been to buffets elsewhere and have enjoyed them. The silly and ignorant responses from AC and Donkey only show the little intelligence they possess.

44. nobody is saying that one should not be crtical of poor service…unlike america. which has a reserviour of industries and is not solely depandant on one sector..small islands does not and cannot afford extreme bad mouthing of its source sector it would be like throwing the baby out with the bathe tub

45. Wait….This was a buffet ? and you are complaining about the service…..Don’t you feed and serve yourself at a buffet ?

46. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Lawson;

So its OK to serve any kind of “garbage” at a buffet and also provide substandard service?

47. I went out to dinner last week to arguably the best steak restaurant in Ottawa…. great atmosphere…service was okay…. too many people hovering around …shown our steaks before they were cooked…..picked a wine from their extensive cellars. The meal came back cooked just as asked for… everything should have been perfect but it was just okay not through anybody’s fault. The filet didn’t knock me out , the wine that I picked wasn’t what I thought it would be….the highlight was the 6 vodkas I had. Everything cant be perfect all the time no matter how hard everyone try’s. Go back again see if this was just a one off, or see if it is consistently under par, if it still is not to your expectations…… tell them, but not some low level server who is just trying to do their job, ask to see the manager or maรฎtre de

48. Islandgal

Bajans would tell you “now what you gone up in de people place for? That place ain’t for you”

What you think about that?

49. @Are-we-there-yet

Always remember, ignorance knows no bounds with those on this blog with an agenda on their backs.

50. Some of you are indescribable and pathetic.

All of us have a right to choose where we eat and to get honest value for what we pay for.

We also have the right to complain in any forum that we choose.

Even AC and Donmkey have the right to …….rotflmrao