Submitted by Beresford

Hon. Denis Kellman M.P, Kellmoronic”, “broadcast on TV last Monday night – that temporary workers have been cut off so they can be made permanent…”
As more forceful condemnations come with greater frequency convicting Freundel Stuart and his DLP of gross negligence and persistent dereliction of duty in serving country first, the not unexpected responses of what is now widely regarded as a band of nincompoops are more fabrications, braying attempts at blaming and shifting responsibility to the BLP, and virulent attacks on our leader Mia Mottley.
Having humiliated themselves by lying and demolishing Barbados’ economy. The DLP with Stuart in the lead, as they scramble at every straw to maintain power and their pensions, are now tarnishing the image of office by becoming bottom feeders scraping up every piece of garbage and throwing it in desperate attempts to defend what cannot be defended and stick their slime (stink with incompetence) on someone else.
The DLP is so topsy-turvy and misled for so long, what was a small cut is now an affliction of festering sores. They are now asking for faith, patience and kindness – having been given all three for six years and ruthlessly destroying them.
How else can anyone on Earth or Mars explain, even by his own sublimely ignorant standards, the “Kellmoronic”, broadcast on TV last Monday night – that temporary workers have been cut off so they can be made permanent and that it is unfair to have people working temporary. Better to not have them working at all!!
This is the madness now endemic in the Barbados.
The BLP will not be either distracted or diverted in its mission to represent the people of Barbados and put the country’s interest foremost by making public, information the DLP wishes to hide, laying out the facts the DLP wishes to ignore and camouflage with mindless chatter, keeping faith with Barbadians by giving them the facts, hard as they are, and providing opportunities for the voices of the people to be heard.
The BLP will remain steadfast in putting Barbados first.
Mia Mottley, after 24 years of public service marked with achievements, shines bright like a diamond in Barbados politics, more so if compared with the motley crew of the DLP – and we beg them to compare so they can learn something.
Stuart and his blind followers can manipulate to hold power for 100 years. They will still not come close to matching the outstanding successes of the last BLP Government under Owen Arthur. Or any BLP government for that matter.
There will be no deviating from the DNA of the BLP in speaking truth to power and defending Barbadians, the very essence of the birth of this great party now celebrating 75 years of unparalleled service, regardless of the consequences.
The unions can abandon the people in their moment of need. The BLP will not prevaricate in denouncing the vile way the DLP is treating hard working public servants and will remain resolute that better alternatives could have been followed to avoid the chopping of 3000 or whatever the number is in such callous DLP fashion.
The DLP and its minions can curse. The BLP will remain resolute in calling for the dismissal of the Minister of Finance because the evidence is overflowing that he has been an unmitigated disaster.
Freundel can spew as many Latin phrases, homilies, incomprehensible soliloquies while forgetting he is supposed to be engaging an audience – typical of a man who sleeps so much his sense of night and day is confused.
There will be no letting up by Mia Mottley and team BLP in prosecuting the DLP for its all round ineptitude. Mia will not hold back the truth that Freundel Stuart has no grip on his team, no handle on Barbados and is, by far, the worst Prime Minister in the history of Barbados.
And Freundel has got to go.
The evidence is clear as day and the crescendo from all, except those who do not wish to see, that the Government must go before Barbados goes cannot be ignored. Some of the most recent condemnations have come from the editorials. The IMF. Economist who have dissected the IMF report. The call-in programmes. Sir Lloyd Sandiford, has weighed in; his words a strong indictment of Stuart’s lack of leadership and competence. Estwick has dropped a bomb exploding the carefully crafted facade of the DLP social club.
The IMF – IMF! – has rebuked the Government on how it beheaded public workers. The IMF has said there were other paths. The IMF has denounced the Central Bank for its printing of money, reinforcing the position of the BLP that the Governor of the Central Bank is trifling with the future of Barbados.
The reserves continue to plummet – now down some $180 million or so since December, despite the Credit Suisse loan and despite that this should be our biggest period for earning foreign exchange. And despite the Governor of the Central Bank’s recent assurances, confidence in the economy has not returned.
The case against Stuart and crew is compelling in its simplicity. As noted, a Government of Barbados has never been so despised and 60 million Frenchmen cannot be wrong. Everyone else cannot be nuisances except Stuart and Sinckler, to whom Stuart has pledged his support. Guess Estwick must also go!
In Barbados’ Waterloo, our battle to save the nation, requiring a general with command of his troops to take charge and lead from the front, Barbadians are now expected to suffer a dilettante whose insouciance is only surpassed by the shambles among his officers, themselves unfit for the task at hand, consumed with in-fighting and staying alive for the spoils of a pension.
Into the breech, yet again, the BLP has stepped. As the DLP has lied, the BLP has from before the election of 2008 laid out what was facing Barbadians. As the DLP has gorged itself on personal attacks, the BLP has stuck to speaking to the issues. As the DLP has postured, confused with semantics and concentrated on propaganda and imagery, the BLP has remained focused on the need for a strong economy and warned of the dangers to society, institutions and governance that are all now too evident.
The BLP’s Rubbing Shoulders programme has been the avenue for businesses and employees to bring attention to problems while offering solutions and the People’s Assemblies have proven to be the one positive amidst DLP abuse of citizens and distortions of the calamitous situation facing the country and will be seen, in proper context, as an important social tool, even a safety valve, at a time when Barbados required the truth, people of courage to stand for country and a structure through which to vent frustrations, share stories, broadcast alternative prescriptions and have hope.
What has the DLP scared more than anything is that despite the inordinate time spent in trying to create impressions of a wedge in the BLP is the sure knowledge that the BLP team will stand behind their leader Mia Mottley in defence of Barbados.
The unequivocal stand of the BLP team in Parliament last two Tuesdays was piercing. Mia and all members of the BLP will not cease executing their duty by any lawful means to speak to the many serious ills facing the country and agitate for an end to incompetence regardless of which DLP person in whom that that is vested – all of them.
As long as this tyranny reigns in Barbados, the BLP will stand steadfastly in putting Barbados first.BLP Will Remain Steadfast for Barbados. As more forceful condemnations come with greater frequency convicting Freundel Stuart and his DLP of gross negligence and persistent dereliction of duty in serving country first, the not unexpected responses of what is now widely regarded as a band of nincompoops are more fabrications, braying attempts at blaming and shifting responsibility to the BLP, and virulent attacks on our leader Mia Mottley.
Having humiliated themselves by lying and demolishing Barbados’ economy. The DLP with Stuart in the lead, as they scramble at every straw to maintain power and their pensions, are now tarnishing the image of office by becoming bottom feeders scraping up every piece of garbage and throwing it in desperate attempts to defend what cannot be defended and stick their slime (stink with incompetence) on someone else.
The DLP is so topsy-turvy and misled for so long, what was a small cut is now an affliction of festering sores. They are now asking for faith, patience and kindness – having been given all three for six years and ruthlessly destroying them.
How else can anyone on Earth or Mars explain, even by his own sublimely ignorant standards, the “Kellmoronic”, broadcast on TV last Monday night – that temporary workers have been cut off so they can be made permanent and that it is unfair to have people working temporary. Better to not have them working at all!!
This is the madness now endemic in the Barbados.
The BLP will not be either distracted or diverted in its mission to represent the people of Barbados and put the country’s interest foremost by making public, information the DLP wishes to hide, laying out the facts the DLP wishes to ignore and camouflage with mindless chatter, keeping faith with Barbadians by giving them the facts, hard as they are, and providing opportunities for the voices of the people to be heard.
The BLP will remain steadfast in putting Barbados first.
Any plans on registering as a not for profit organization in the near future ..? Come on. We do have serious engine problems and continuously rotating the tires have not gotten us very far
Wasn’t MAM fighting to reform party constitution when she was knocking heads with the gang of 5 faction within the party? Has she given up the fight now that she is LEADING the party?
Sir your compositional eloquence is loaded with cliches and the contemporary perennial phrases of our day and time. I haven’t seen a piece of writing so infused with cliches and regurgitated skullduggery in quite some time. But, I guess you as well as myself are entitled to express our opinion the way we see fit becasue let’s face it; it doesn’t strike me as odd that BU would jump as the opportunity to discredit the ruling administration every chance it gets. Now, I hope BU doesn’t take affront to my comment because I am only calling it as I’ve seen it expressed here on the BU blog.
It is good that Bovell took the advice to use a psydonom.
More work is still needed however.
Sir how about one paragraph which conspicuously articulates some of the good which the DLP has done and then you’re entitled to move ahead with your smearing campaign. You’re obviously doing a disservice to the BU readership when your analysis of the DLP is loaded with partiality and the want of objective analysis.
@ @ Mark Fenty
You are a damn lier.
No way you typed that post @ 8:01 a.m. on a cellphone …
….um too sweet and eloquent man!
Bushie had to read um twice… LOL
How long is too long for Estwick to give the PM and Cabinet?
You know, Fenty, though I am far from being a supporter of the party/Government which appears to be yours, I couldn’t agree with you more. That you should feel you had to write your last sentence is a shocking indictment of those you address. and of the minefield we all have to face in saying anything, in the name of truth, which does not ‘fit’ what we are supposed to say.
Tick tock……..tick tock………..tick tock.
@ David | February 22, 2014 at 8:42 AM |
The deviant Hyde persona will soon be replaced by the Dr. Jekyll levelheadedness and desire to conform.
Dr. David will soon recede into a state of ‘hushed’ oblivion just like the Eager 11 after the “heads will roll” threat from the sleeping bully.
Why is this administration spending time and money in building a community centre to house a constituency council while the St. John polyclinic remains in mothball or has work started back to meet an “April 01” opening, just like the BRA?
Why do nurses, who work on wards, wear their uniforms in the street? Is it a ‘status’ thing or simply a strange belief that germs can’t cling to white things?
So say the DLP are removed from power and the BLP resume office, what are the BLP plans to improve the economy of Barbados?
Ross, you’re quite right germs do can cling to white things when there are such conditions as Methicillin Resistant Staphyolococcus Aureus (MRSA). Nurses actually transfer this condition on their white uniforms to the general population.
Pearl | February 22, 2014 at 10:16 AM |
So say the DLP are removed from power and the BLP resume office, what are the BLP plans to improve the economy of Barbados?
Lets take a guess. Pit Bull gets his reward for bringing down the DLP with the Minister of Finance portfolio. He’ll be over the moon because that’s his sole focus.
Mascoll, Payne , Dale Marshall not to mention Kerry and OSA will go berserk. If Mottley thinks Owen is the ultimate backstabber now wait an see what happens. The BLP will borrow the UAE money to be paid back at $570 million a year. Barbados in short order will be bankrupt. At least under the Dems there is a glimpse of a faint light at the end of a long tunnel. Not to be left out Hilary Beckles becomes High Commissioner to UK his mother country he loves to hate even as he drools on being a Sir Knight like COW. Lord come for yuh world.
Pearl in addition to that the distribution of spoils memo includes George Belle assigned to Havana as Ambassador to Fidel.
At least under the Dems there is a glimpse of a faint light at the end of a long tunnel.
This is a fantasy.
Fumble’s Fools will never be trusted again by anyone this country needs to move forward. Too many helping hands have been burned. Even if they cut their expenditure to IMF requirements, tax income will continue to fall from all sources.
The only thing that will jump-start internal and external investment in Barbados Inc. is a change of management.
Is the 180 million fx reduction in us$????
Don’t fret Frustrated Businessman you are down to replace John Beale in Washington.
Ross, (MRSA) the abbreviation for Methicillin Resistant Staphylococcus Aureus is a reality in the healthcare industry today, even with the use of Universal Precautions.
Waiting, do not confuse patriots with lackies.
The only people supporting the worst gov’t in the history of this country are some of the lackies (many have already jumped ship) and some of the ignorant voting masses who are hopefully starting to realise the value and maybe even the responsibility of their vote, if not the reasons for their suffering.
I have no doubt that ‘things will get better’, the only requirement is a change of gov’t; regardless of the timeframe. Until that happens the economy will only get worse; some will perish, most will survive and a very few will flourish until then.
The private sector has accepted the civil service mantra of ‘do nothing’ until then. You can like it or lump it, those are the facts as considered and agreed in offices and boardrooms inside and outside this country. The coming weeks will prove me right if figures are released. You will see property transfer tax, corporate tax, import taxes and even the holy VAT revenues continue to plummet. More ‘off-book’ trading and bartering will be done as businesses try to stay afloat and life will go on.
The tragedy in this entire 6-year fiasco is the lost opportunities; those are gone forever.
@Frustratedbusinessman
I like to play the eternal optimist role because I would never give upon hope for a better tomorrow. You have to hope against hope buddy. There is always light at the end of the tunnel. It just hasn’t materialized in the way in which we would like or hope it to be. I am quite sure the majority of Americans felt as the majority of Barbadians do today, during the Great Depression of the 1930’s. But I am quite cognizant of the fact that there were leaders on both sides of the political spectrum who continually informed the collective conscience of the hopeless masses in positive ways. Our words carry power and influence and we ought to be circumspect with respect to how we articulate them to appease our displeasures for any given situation. Yes, there is probably mismanagement of resources and a lack of foresightedness with respect to this administration, and it is our civic duty as the electorate to make this reality known. Then what? Sitting on a political blog day and night and denigrating, besmearing, castigating and vitiating the current administration does little in the way of making a meaningful difference to the existing political reality in Barbados. What are ya’ll doing to actively to galvanize the collective conscience of the Barbadian masses against what ya’ll termed an ocean of incompetency with respect to the political oversight of this present administration?
@Frustratedbusinessman
Your skepticism has led me to concluded that no matter what this administration does, it would never appease your inherited discontent for the leadership of the DLP.
David (BU)
Congratulations are in order since the DLP and BLP deemed it necessary to submit their weekly offerings of “Douglas” and “Beresford” respectively to BU.
@Bajan in NY
Let us hope they find BU feedback useful, the intelligent comments of course and not those posted who appear to be suffering from verbal diarrhea.
On Saturday, 22 February 2014, Barbados Underground < comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote:
@ Frustratedbusinessman
Then what if the change of government does not produce the kind of results you’re anticipating. Would you hang yourself at the end of a rope? God forbid. But your kind of thinking surely leads one to conclude that you’re heading in that kind of a direction because you’re obviously idealist if you believe for one moment that government could do no wrong.
@ Frustratedbusinessman
A utopian concept of government is an idea conceived in the mind of idealist buddy. An your inability comprehend this reality speaks to the principles and values which governances your infinitesimal way of view the political landscape in the Lilliputian island of Barbados.
Insult added to injury=DLP. In reference to Dennis Kellman…..to reply would be to dignify.
The Party which will stay in power the longest is that which has integrity, does not boast and lie at election time, keeps its promises, ensures from the highest level that its Ministers seek to follow the statesman role, and who ALL look after the country and people in a RESPONSIBLE manner.
I was a DLP supporter, but the last few Jackasses have lost my confidence that they can even look after a pet dog, far less an entire nation.
My fear of the BLP is that they will go to the other extreme, want to do and boast too much, and that the people of Barbados will suffer even worse – not just from the physical conditions but also from the utter nonsense the politicians think we will still listen to and believe in this day and age.
Believe this: People want their politicians to be statesmen/stateswomen, honest, straightforward, responsible and with an eye on the long term, the health of the country and its people, to be accessible and have a heart for those in need, especially o\the ones who cannot help themselves.
The day a politician turns selfish, thinks only of themselves and seeks only short term monetary gain and reward is the day they should be thrown out of office, pelted with big rocks, insulted by small children, and never allowed to return to politics.
Enter politics to SERVE YOUR PEOPLE, not to get rich in the shortest possible time.
The Barbados labor party should stop using the American Republican Party as a model. The mess was partly inherited and a government with their head in the sand. This is a crisis that has been in the making for at least ten years. It didn’t start with the present Party. The Quote master Prime minister needs to speak to the people and dump the idiotic speeches. Barbados will be in trouble until it realizes that Harrison College and The University of Waterford are only High schools. Being part of those old boys and now girls club does not make you the smartest people in the world.. When the economic collapse in the US started in 2007 they should have realized its worldwide ramifications. We are dependent on tourism if the folks in the developed world don’t have disposable income they aren’t going to travel. Belt tightening should have started progressively 6 years ago. Time to end the freeloading people in public housing who own private houses and rent them out. People who are living in NHS housing without paying rent for 15 years. There is no enforcement because politicians want their votes. People living in completed houses and not paying taxes because it isn’t painted. The list goes on. Tourist will not pay a 17% sales tax especially those from North America. Scrap vat and have a more reasonable sales tax.
bimjim | February 22, 2014 at 6:39 PM
Believe this: People want their politicians to be statesmen/stateswomen, honest, straightforward, responsible and with an eye on the long term, the health of the country and its people, to be accessible and have a heart for those in need, especially o\the ones who cannot help themselves.
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
who are these people you are talking about,,,,,,,,,,,,,and which country;;;;;;;;;;;the reality is that people only interest is SELF,,,,,,,,the best interest of the country and people interest are not the same ,,, the two are not equal ……. diametrically opposed ……the tail wags the dog,,,
@ G King
“… Until it is realized that Harrison College and the University of Waterford are only High Schools…”
I must agree with you on this issue but I must first admit that it had taken me sometime to realize that some people in Barbados utilize their school as an emblem to validate their sense of importance. But obviously, your perspective as does mine aren’t confined to the microscopic island of Barbados as those persons who somehow brandish their school as a badge of honor to delineate themselves from the rest of us. You know, it is laughable how some people in Barbados who haven’t had the opportunity to experience the walls of academia; thinks that just because they have attended Harrison College as well as Queen College and the likes, that they’re somehow qualified to express they unqualified opinion on matters that are obviously beyond they intellectual comprehension. And as I’ve stated above: it had taken me sometime to understand the psychological apparatus which fuels the national thinking of the Barbadian people. And I’ve discovered that we’re a culture that is profoundly enveloped in the school of national reputation, esoteric- associations and occupation specialism. And finally, you can somehow distinguish those persons who have had some college experience from those who haven’t because even though they might be capable of expressing themselves with proficient grammaticality, the critical thinking skill is lacking in some respect.
Fundamental objective of modern day academics isn’t predicated upon acquisition and recapitulation of fact but learning how to make fact live.
@Fenty
This is why your stake in the gound peg to DLP position exposes that actions should speak louder than words.
BIMJIM and AC
You know, I think you are both right.
Bim’s comment stresses the honour of political life – and, yes, there are honourable men and it must not be supposed, as Fenty says, that people do other than their incompetent best.
But AC – doubtless forged on the anvil of a variety of experiences as me also – recognizes the fickleness and self-interest of the electorate, an electorate which is quite capable of saying ‘Oh we are bored and want something different’ as it did (in my view) six years ago irrespective of (that magic word) performance. And clients are like that, and students are like that, and plumbers are like that, and people are like that. It is a statement about the human condition.
I remember Miller saying once that we put people on pedestals and expect more of them than we should reasonably expect. The premise works for both governors and governed.
What is leadership?
What is vision?
Today 23 February , 2014 , represents one year since the greatest political party in the Western Hemisphere , the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was returned to office under the astute leadership of PM Freundel Jerome Stuart and his DLP team.
This return to office occured at a time when the :
BLP relentlessly campaigned from 2008….even to the extent that their BLP charlatans on this BU site were predicting Bees 29 seats Independents 1 seat !
Petra (love a POLE) Wickham did another poll 48 hours before voting time ….in a crass attempt to try and confuse Bajans !
Now here we are one year later
The unions not on board with Mia ( bite a woman ) Mottley plan to destabalise the country !
Owen Arthur not on board with Mia ( bite a woman ) Mottley plan about any eminent persons group !
And rational thinking Barbadians not on board with Mia ( bite a woman ) Mottley plan to rise up against a lawfully elected government !
Therefore, clearly telling the SOUCAYANT Mia Mottley…..to cah she A$$ !
leadership is the abilty to tell the truth…but politicians and all people in general lived with the complexity of having to be fearful of consequences impacting on their lives from being truthful…….that is why president have spoke persons and speech writers,,,, to say what they meant to say, without the fear of being called liars ..well outside Nixon who was caught red handed with his hand in the cookie jar,……. getting the public to endorse or accept (truth) when it pertains for what is best for a country is herculean task… for e,g how many times have the rich been dismissive of paying more taxes ..even if said taxes go to help maybe building a school the cry is first NO… ,,,,,or how many times have a called to help the needy and poor being rejected because it calls for an effort by all to help,,,,,,,the truth is that reaching that side of utopia without looking at the pitfalls of ” truth:” is an elusive dream… not many have conquered for it comes with a price,, all we can hope for is sense of decency or commonality that is a reflection of goodness within a society and stop pretending that somewhere out there in this civilized world that there is Greater that is much Better,,,which means coming to grips with reality and avoid fooling ourselves,,,,,
Did you write the last comment all by your lonesome?
why u ask..ac is a philosopher at heart ,,politicians is a” side thing” with a bit of philosophy injected,,,,,LOL do not confuse the two,,,
AC
Yes thankyou. Cf confessing to adultery (‘Never confess’). …..
I tell ya!! lol
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/cuts-too-late/
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/worrell-scrap-vat/
I am shocked that bajans who attend/attended Harrison College, Queens College, Comberemere, et al are not aware that they are mere high schools, very convenient foundations for higher academia and nothing more, the down side i believe for the students is that they are merely learning by rote, does not help them academically or analytically not even one little bit.
Well Well
What did they think they were? Mind, as for learning by rote they won’t find it much different at tertiary level.
Note you referred to “students”. When I was a boy (yawn) we were simply called ‘pupils’. Now a five year old is a ‘student’ and they all ‘graduate’. Is that a good or bad thing I wonder?
Ross….you are right about the then students being called pupils, i have no clue when the word morphed into students, and yes tertiary education does have a semblance of rote tutoring but it also depends on your major/minor and university you attend.
In my mind graduation from an early age gives the student/pupil encouragement to excel as well as exceptional competing skills. One parent made the mistake of telling her daughter that each time she got honors throughout her grade school, she will receive an additional hundred dollars each year, it kept on until the mother was thankful for the Oliver program at Columbia University because by the age of 12 she got a scholarship, the mother was still unable to pay the additional funds she promised, so there is some method to the madness.
Though it’s sad, I guess, that education should be about competition. What I find amusing in a way is the number of students who think that an ‘A’ is the only thing in life – whereupon they enter professional life and learn that it’s totally irrelevant as is, for the most part, what they’ve been studying for three years.
But yes, nothing wrong with encouragement – though encouragement to ‘excel’ may yet result in fear, and fear of failure, as well as a sense that we are second rate and so not to be accounted. Whereas I suppose the job of an educator is to lift people up, create a sense of worth, not conditions which pull them down.
Well Well | February 23, 2014 at 12:08 PM |
I am shocked that bajans who attend/attended Harrison College, Queens College, Comberemere, et al are not aware that they are mere high schools,
………………………………………………………
And suddenly you have tossed yourself into the pit of the unpopular. It is ok to attack politicians and AC,but suicidal to question the status of QC, HC or C.
@Colonel Buggy
Why should we want to attack old scholars who promote their schools with pride? It happens all over the world where human beings are proud or should be about the institutions which define them.
BB
LOL you got that right. But Well Well is thin enough to take it. The wind will pass her by.
Without disagreeing with the sense of what you just wrote (we should be proud of our school/university), don’t you think there’s a danger to our integrity if an institution – country, church, family, school, the Immigration Department – can be said to “define” us?
@Ross
All of our institutions define who WE are, think about it.
Ross……a double edged sword indeed, sadly it’s only after you have accumulated all that education not to mention the 1/2 million dollars or more in student loan debt and can’t find a job that matches your ivy league degree unless you have 5 years of experience, which were the five years you spent in university.or you are over-qualified, translated “we are not paying you so much for that damn degree, who told you to aim so high”…………………and many more hurdles, you more often than not realize that common sense could just as easily carried you through and earned you the same benefits, not unlike university students today in North America who are finding that depending on their major and if it allows them to specialize in their 2nd year of undergraduate studies, you can put university on hold and gain that 5 years of experience through work and then resume pursuing the piece of paper (degree), depends on the university and also your major.
Boy Blue…and that inexplicable insularity and insane stubborn attitude to attendance of a high school is more than likely the problem associated with insularity against their own Caribbean neighbors, nothing wrong with attending a high school or even liking your former school, but the obsessive idea that there are no others, is kinda sick i can just imagine what would happen if there were gifted high schools on the island such as Stuyvesant High, Bronx Science, Choate, Hunter et al, cause there are so many and yet, people have learned that one must move on at some point because the world moves on. I was even giving an example recently about a kid who was either at Stuyvesant or Bronx Science, got fed up and dropped out, stayed in his basement tinkering with some app and just sold Tumblr (i thougt was Flickr) for quite a few millions, he was kept on as consultant and am sure by the time he reaches 25, he will be a bored billionaire, so much for high school..
Just bear in mind that the leaders who are now seen as idiots attended those same older secondary schools, so there is a message in there somewhere.
I can even expand, in for a penny in for a pound, and as Ross says it will just pass through me anyway, so they should not even waste their time..lol
Owen Arthur….Harrison College, I will ask AC what she thinks of him
David Thompson…..Combermere, we can ask most people on the island what they think of him including Clico victims
Tom Adams…….i believe it was Harrision College, do we really want to keep digging up the dead.
Adriel Brathwaite and Donville Inniss….Harrison College, even for me that is tooo controversial.
Sandiford-Garner and Suckoo….Queens College and soft-in-the-head as far as I am concerned, I have relatives who attended QC and then Tertiary off island and they are tough but have skills that would make it difficult to accuse them of soft headedness.
and that’s just the older secondary schools, suppose we started asking about Foundation…Stuart, Garrison…is it Sinckler and Lashley..
and on and on…so if people use their eyes in conjunction with their brains they will see that in reality a school is a school is a school, and there is nothing wrong with being proud of where you attended but over obsessiveness is taking it to another level and as we can see it passes from generation to generation until their is some type of brother/sisterhood that develops where they are accused of Mafia type activities, not unlike the comparisons I am seeing on BU to Cawmere Mafia…..so bring it on yall..
I would call it ‘conditioning’ rather than ‘defining’.
well well are u asking me what it think of osa or the school ..to both i say no comment…..
but this superiority complex ingrained and bred in bajans who belive that going to a first rated school of first makes one more important or well educated than others is pure unadulterated overrated rubbish,, the proof is whether the knowledge acquired be that harrison or parkinson was enough for a person to accomplished great gains in life ,there are many less educated who have never been privileged to enter ivy league schools and are brainaics well skilled and knowledgeable practicing in fields far beyond what harrison college or other educational giants have taught them .., all this highfaluting and than better than is jooby ….not only that the possibility of being tagged a harrison student or ivy league scholar for a lifetime even though it might have its advantages can become cumbersome and burdensome and boxes one into a corner where failure is unacceptable
An update is required from David of BU.
Is it true that an intoxicated Owen Arthur fell into the Constitution River this morning after touring the area with some residents of St. Peter ?
“Why would we want to attack old scholar who promote their schools with pride? It happens all over the world where human beings are proud or should be about the institutions which define them”
I am quite certain that we all can agree on the that fact that people should be proud of the learning institutions which help shaped, cultivated and defined who there are as people. But some Barbadians who attends these so called (Schools of National Reputation) takes it a bet to far in my estimation. For one, some Barbadians haven’t yet understood that there is a fundamental difference between Secondary School and College. When have you heard of an American boasting about the High School he or she has attended? In America, if one does have some form of college education he or she is treated with disdain.
So as soon as the average American leaves High School the focus is strictly on obtain a college education because most Americans understand that with a college education their standard of living will increase tremendously, as well as their earning power. So with that being said, you would hardly hear as you do in Barbados, an American boasting about his or her prestigious Secondary/ High School. You would certainly not heard an American asking each other which High School he or she has attended, but you would certainly hear them asking each other which Ivy league School he or she has attended.
@Fractured BLP
Is it true Estwick is about to submit a letter to the Prime Minister the content of which will cause his blood sugar level to rise?
david i also heard that mia was on here way to hand deliver the ‘letter’ when she saw OSA and pushed him into the constitution river …what is your take,,,,,on that…….
I haven’t heard of any news related to Owen Arthur falling into the Constitution River, but if it is reported to be true, it would be the greatest piece of news I have heard in quite some time.
@Fenty
We don’t do this too often but you have qualified for the JA Club.
Owen Arthur, I am sure is considered one of the greatest Prime Ministers the island of Barbados has ever seen. I supposed. But his inability to articulate with some sense of eloquence just poisons the collegiate spirit. Where are the likes of Dr. Don Blackman, a man gifted with the verbal ability to articulate in a manner which moves the masses in emotional ways?
Estwick may be submitting a letter but there is nothing in this world that rise any levels on or in Stuart.
what will happen is Stuart will react and that reaction will be advantage Donville.
And what’s that?
Well David, history it actually repeating itself surely. Do you remember when Tom Adams and Dr. Don Blackman had their little fiasco?
Is the (JA club) some kind of a censoring probation that I am being placed on? I only hope that you’re not attempting to curtail my cognitive liberties for expressing what I believe to be fact.
@ David cause his blood sugar to rise or cause his eyelids to shut down even more?????. This PM we have does define asleep at the wheel to a T!!!!!. I mean the IMF has basically read this gov’t the riot act and what does Fumble say to us ????? “He has confidence in his Minister of Finance”. I mean Fumble’s “leadership” has gone into the realm of “LUNACY” and its amazing because he does very VERY little in the first place. By what yardstick has Fumble used to say he has continued confidence in Chris ????? The people of Barbados would like Fumble to answer this question!!!!!! I know the PM for the sake of appearances, may have to make his fellow DLP colleague “look good” but COME ONNNNNN!!!!!. GOOD GODDDD!!!!!. Chris Sinckler’s track record as MOF has been ABYSMAL to say the very least and every single economist in this country even former DLP economic “advisors” can see that!!!!!. The situation is even more RIDICULOUS in that neither Fumble or Chris are economists and Estwick, the only one in Cabinet who displays any capacity to “handle” economic affairs, is being made a pariah with his plan!!!!!
In my estimation, though the problem NOW goes beyond Stinkliar’s incompetence but into Fumble’s ridiculously poor performance as PM. Fumble as PM of this country for 3+ yrs has, via non-action, allowed the economy to deteriorate to such a position that it necessitates a SERIOUS discussion if he should continue as PM. In my opinion Barbados will NEVER recover if Fumble continues as PM for the remainder of the DLP’s term.
We have come now where anticipation to the PM’s reaction to Estwick’s plan is increasing daily. Based on the continued rapid decline of the foreign reserves I predict that this gov’t, has 3 mnths or less from now to act to save this country from economic disaster and dollar devaluation becomes closer to CERTAINTY!!!!!. In my opinion the fate of Barbados HINGES on Fumble’s and David’s actions within the next few weeks. To me i would be very surprised if Fumble reacts in a positive way, if AT ALL, to Estwick because we can reasonably infer that Fumble is “happy” with Sinckler. The real question is what is Estwick’s next move. I do not think that Estwick would take time from his Ministry to prepare a detailed economic assessment and plan for Barbados for Fumble to say ” we will file it away for future reference” and be satisfied.
Censoring Fenty would be a grave mistake because Fenty is the luminous crystal which gives the BU blog its vivacity.
Fenty
LOL You clever fella. Let’s see now…..
Oh dear God. We have taken to romanticizing events in the past and the actions of Ghosts Past. Suddenly we are talking about Tom Adams when people forget how he was feared. We throw in some glorified anecdote about Errol Barrow and everyone has forgotten how cantankerous he was in his latter years. We speak of Sandy saving the country and everybody FORGET what led up to him kicking down de stumps and carrying dem home vex! And now a man talking about Don Blackman being “gifted with the verbal ability to articulate in a manner which moves the masses in emotional ways”. Oh heaven help us all, I used to listen to Mr. Blackman when I was in primary school when the only B and D I could relate to was the one in the alphabet; I remember how everyone used to be riveted to the budget debates and how the man used to use nuff big words and the crowd would go wild “Man, he GOT HE! that’s my boy etc. etc” and all I could think of why this the man using all these big words wrong wrong wrong? He was the KING of malapropisms and Bajans at the time were just too dumb to realize. A few weeks ago on Brasstacks Sunday, Peter Wickham and Reudon Eversley (and some others but I too vex and can’t remember who else) was talking about how Bajans are not politically mature in their thinking. They were soooooooo right. We bare backside up the creek and people talking about how Owen falling in Constitution River. BIG STUPSE.
I can’t believe I brek up my Sunday nap looking for some insightful thinking to come and read such foolishness.
AC…i gave up a good rating on that because it’s simple logic, the schools the government, and i mean any government, spends the most money on (funds the most), tends to excel better academically, don’t mean they are the brightest, most creative or most innovative, it just means they have access to better labs etc and can regurgitate at the speed of light, at least some of them can………some learn faster by rote, some learn better at a more leisurely pace.
What Fenty qualify for what JA club what.!?,
….he is a founder member….
LOL Ha Ha ….Shirt!!
Am I correct that the newspaper reports today, that the Central Bank Governor, recommends scrapping VAT???
Is this some sort of weird joke, or has he flipped?
Lawd have is mercy….
From the foolish to lunacy.
Oh and by the way, IF the answer given is to increase direct taxes instead, be aware that two things suggest that would be disaster. The first, that it will reduce spending and send the economy into further spiral, secondly, that things coming down the pipeline in the international business sector, (and this is well known in business circles as it will impact EVERYONE including real estate rentals, spending etc,) will mean that there will be job losses and SIGNIFICANT less direct taxes paid, as those people will not be earning any wages.
So, LESS direct taxes collected coming down the pipeline.
What it just shows is that those in government do not have a clue of what is happening and are spouting nonsense without understanding the conditions and implications.
At least those who lose their jobs can relax and ting pun their block like the others who have done nothing for the last twenty years.
Wonder if de guvment going give alla dem housing units too?
@DLP( formerly CBC)
complianing day and night about the vicissitudenous nature of our economic situation, does little to ameliorate the existing political climate in the infinitesimal island of Barbados. But I guess BU is the venue where people who are of the BLP leaning find some sort of solace in venting their displeasures with the existing state of affairs in the microscopic island of Barbados. Now, one would have thought that David with this newly founded national exposure in hands, would have rallied the discontented masses into action against what he has termed an ocean of incompetency with respect to the political and economic oversight of this current administration? But, it seems quite conspicuous to me, that David finds satisfaction in playing the armed chair advocate role( which he does quite well I may add) with this new founded national notoriety, David ought done what Mothers Against the Wars in Afghanistan and Iraq did: awaken the public conscience against President Bush’s two illegal wars and the immeasurable destruction their had exacted on the national character of the United States of America. But I guess it is easier for David and his troop of friends to hide behind their computer- monitors and cell- phones and criticized, complain and condemned in perpetuality?
@ mark fenty it is your business if you think that Fumble et all and his “leadership” is acceptable to your obviously low standards. I like some on this others have higher standards, and like to see Barbados on a better path” to say the least. This is a blog where everyone is entitled to their opinion even the unenlightened views like you consistently type here your self. If you think that I and the other “Bees” on this blog and now along with David Estwick are complainers for wanting those in gov’t to avoid economic disaster then mark fenty that is your BLASTED BUSINESS!!!!!!!!!!!! Your opinion does me very little but gives me continued resolve so that you and your band of fellow fools don’t pollute the blog with ignorance!!!!!!!!
Why are these guys going after the private sector in this way? Why not summons Sir Cow to his office and ask him to tone down the rhetoric? The public aggression will not cut it because the government does not have the capital to do so.
The upcoming Estimates should be ‘interesting’ to say the least.
@DLP (formerly CBC) TV
“I like some of the others have higher standards, and like to see Barbados on a better path to say the least”
Has America always been on the straight and narrow path during its entire existence? Has Trinidad and Tobago always been on a better path throughout its entire existence? So what gives you the twisted idea that the little island of Barbados is any different than the above mentioned group of countries? Listen! It is an idealist dream to assume such a utopian perspective of the infinitesimal island of Barbados.
David on February 23, 2014 at 2:21 PM
@Fractured BLP
Is it true Estwick is about to submit a letter to the Prime Minister the content of which will cause his blood sugar level to rise?
Hi Davd,
You meant to say that Dr. David Estwick has a letter written and to be handed over to the UAE envoy.
@Mark Fenty
With all the braying and pupping, you still don’t understand you qualified for the
Jack Ass Club ,…. ye..ah
@ Fractured BLP
What happened to the promise to keep us updated?
Should we standby for action (lol)?????
Fractured BLP
It is clear that by vitually cursing COW, Sinckler is demonstrating that he cannot handle the pressure of the Ministry of Finance.
That one Sinckler says he didn’t beg for the job at Ministry of Finance, that Thompson called and gave it to him on his death bed. The boy is blasted liar, he and Hartley Henry when up there in Mapps in St. Philip and begged and pleaded with Thompson to make Sinckler Prime Minister.
Thompson refused an Hartley advised Sinckler to settled the next best option, Ministry of Finance but only if Thompson added by Economic Affairs.
and since then the economy of Barbados has been wrecked by the incompetence of Sinckler. He not only useless at a Minister of Finance but has demonstrated a predisposition of lying, even when it is not necessary.
Sinckler in the paper holding a dumbbell, the only problem is he is dumber than the dumbbell.
moral of the picture: dumbbells always come in pairs.
@DLP (formerly CBC) TV | February 23, 2014 at 11:59 PM |
My friend, do like me, just ignore Mark Fenty. You know he has to be dense when David told him he has put him in the JA club and the idiot did not know what David meant. That was painful………..for someone who is always on BU pontificating DLP lies and propaganda.
Next the other yard fowl spewed his usual daily dose of his hatred for OSA by saying the same nasty things that OSA fell…..next thing the MF character lashed on to the vitriol saying that he did not hear but if it is true……..
See why you have to ignore MF and just give him a thumbs down?
@QUESTION 10 | February 24, 2014 at 2:58 PM |
Fractured BLP
It is clear that by vitually cursing COW, Sinckler is demonstrating that he cannot handle the pressure of the Ministry of Finance.
That one Sinckler says he didn’t beg for the job at Ministry of Finance, that Thompson called and gave it to him on his death bed. The boy is blasted liar, he and Hartley Henry when up there in Mapps in St. Philip and begged and pleaded with Thompson to make Sinckler Prime Minister.
Thompson refused an Hartley advised Sinckler to settled the next best option, Ministry of Finance but only if Thompson added by Economic Affairs……………………………..
The more revelations that come out about the dead king, the more we realise the kind of blood sport politics he played. When people were begging DT to resign for the good of the party and country, he refused and this in no small measure has contributed to the position Barbados is in today.
But Question 10, the Prime Ministership was not for DT to just hand to the Stinkliar……no wonder he looked so dejected after the vote was done.
To this day, people cannot understand how a dying man could rule a sorry bunch of men. No wonder we are up the brown street.
Prodigal Son
You notice David like David Ellis don’t ever have a bad thing to say about Sinckler?
@Gutterperc
We try to stick to the issues and away from personalities but you must have observed that Sinckler attacks BU every chance he gets. Please explain to the BU family what the MoF means when he says that Barbados is able to borrow on the international market citing the Credit Suisse arrangement. Didn’t have to pay through our nose for that loan and the arrangement has all kinds of disadvantage clauses to Barbados because of our junk status?
@ Watchman
Watchman, actually, you’re a nincompoop by any standard because had you been an international thinker like me myself, you would have known that the abbreviations ( JA) are applicable to people from Jamaica.
@QUESTION 10 | February 24, 2014 at 3:03 PM |
moral of the picture: dumbbells always come in pairs.
And Dickie Bird, raising his knee and hand slides side to side, that one was from the front foot, through covers. Glorious shot!
That said, I personally think a Minister, especially of Finance, should have some decorum and semblance of dignity.
Mr. Poochie Cat, shown on the front of the newspaper, all bluster and vexation, does not instill confidence, reminds one more of a nightclub bouncer than a Minister.
Lawd, look whey we come.
Compare the dignity and elegance of a Tom Adams or Richie Haynes??
Nah, that is comparing the likes of Gordon Greenidge and Desmond Haynes to the jokers opening for Windes now.
More different than even chalk and cheese.
Watchman, I am international baby so therefore, your little antiquated lsland abbreviations makes laugh.
@Gutterperc | February 24, 2014 at 5:46 PM |
Did I hear right? Was the Stinkliar trying to school the Barbadian featured in Sunday’s Sun who has done so well and is now a director of fixed income fund selection for Credit Suisse Bank in Zurich? The guy made the point that all of us on BU have been saying that the massive budget cuts could have been less painful had they been done that much earlier.
The Stinkliar does not like criticism so he came out swinging. Hey Stinkliar, you cannot walk an inch in this guy’s shoes so forget it…..dont even go there. WE went through the time where the dead king told our fellow Guyanese citizens………ever so welcome, wait for a call..have been able to hold this position in Switzerland at that.
Yes Stinkliar, you met and got a loan from the same bank this guy works with but tell Barbadians the horrendous terms and conditions that were imposed on us the taxpayers.
What an idiot we have acting as a minister of finance!
@Prodigal Son
“What an idiot we have acting as a Minister of Finance”
And you’re not even qualified to run the chicken house, far less more the corner shop. So your best bets is to keep your trapped door of a mouth tightly hinged because the only thing you’re good at is flapping your colossal lips.
@ Mark Fenty JA …(aka Mark Fenty BB)
Mr Fentry SIR!
Having just admitted that you are not from bout here, and do not understand our abbreviations such as “J.A.” and “B.B .”
…how the hell would YOU know what Prodigal can or cannot manage…?
…and how can you keep pushing your snout into our mash when you don’t know the ingredients…?
Tek care yuh!
@Prodigal Son
Who are you? And what have you done to elevate the conditions of the Barbadian people? If flapping one’s lips were the standard criteria for political office, you would have been a winner my friend. You’re not in any position to moralize on the minister of finance, until you have serve in such capacity. But we all know from your previous writings that nature has obviously imposed a limit on your mental faculties.
Fenty
It is unlike you to be other than ‘fair’. I guess you don’t have to be a poet in order to review the poetry of A for XYZ Magazine. But here on BU the ground rules are different and, besides, this is Barbados where everyone is an ‘expert’. Moreover, anyone can read the Merck Manual and so become a health care adviser or become an economist by counting matchsticks.
BU is simply the world in miniature isn’t it? It even has a ‘nasty old man up in the sky’ issuing orders backed by threats, as well as a list of characters which would grace equally a soap opera and a kid’s fantasy book. So we mustn’t be too hard on anyone since we’re all on the same page, all unpretty toothless, and all tilting at windmills.
It’s a world, a “brave new world”, which thrives on ejaculatory statements and so gives 11 votes no less to the astonishing question “How long is too long to give the PM and cabinet?” ( David of Estwick) but begrudges with a miserable four the efforts of someone who is prepared, win or lose, to get off his ass and DO something in the name, most nobly, of “let right be done”. It’s a world which believes ‘love’ to be Esperanto and ‘truth’ something you give a dog to chew on. But, for all its imperfections, it is still the world with all its adventure and fun and sometimes, just sometimes, there are little rays of hope.
I notice the Nation today forced to publish that Prescod had a row with the chairman at the BLP meeting Sunday night when he asked Prescod to wind up. Even the Nation could not hide the cat piss and pepper that followed when Prescod refused to come down and told Walcott he would not tell Mia Mottley to wind up . You mean to say the BLP even fighting on the platform ? wonder what become of the court matter with Payne and Hinkson? It look like they got that one worked out !
Not only are they openly fighting on their own platforms, there is still the Court Matter with Pain vs Hinkson and later the exposing of Mottley’s part in the Dottin affair in which he Dottin will clearly state who instructed him to Eavesdrop and who ADVISED him to create a file named political, once he writes his affidavit pointing out the Mottley was the person whom issued him his instructions it will be clear for all to see and to form your own conclusions as to who is good and who is bad for this country, she is a dishonest beast, dottins affidavit maybe the only thing saving Dottin at this point in time.
The Trevor Prescod platform bash with Lady Walcott is a further example of the deep fissures and fractures that exists in the bowels of the BLP.
The BLP is being led by an errant woman who constantly exhorts her supporters to get up and march against a lawfully elected Governtment.
Thankfully , right thinking Barbadians have ignored the obsessive rants of this abuser of womenfollk !
Six years later caught up in an economic storm and this is where we are…God please help us.
Lady Walcott ?
Who is dah ?
Sir Frank ‘s wife -in politics now ?
Never expected that !
Yaaaaaaaaaaaagga -Queries