BU has updated the following submission at the request of a BU family member who wishes to remain anonymous.

Horace Cobham, head of bankers association

Why have none of the banks who had their ATM’s compromised over the weekend notified their customers in an official capacity  – whether it be a statement via media or using our contact details (phone or e-mail) – and give them some indication of when they will be getting their stolen monies back?

People are going to the bank themselves to report the matter, and we are given forms (a standard dispute form more or less) to fill out by a bank rep, and then we are being told to go to the police station to report the matter (which we did). The police are only able to take your complaint and tell you that the matter is being investigated.

Due to the number of people affected by this crime, a special customer service desk should be set up promptly at all the banks with one or more staff members (probably someone more senior than junior) to deal specifically and ONLY with this matter. It is almost like business as normal at the bank, you go in to report that your money was stolen and you more or less have to wait like everyone else. You have to deal with an overwhelmed customer services rep who is being bombarded with numerous complaints and doing the best he/she can to assist, but is obviously overwhelmed by the nature and capacity of it all (not their fault). Some people had virtually everything stolen and only have $20 left on their accounts.

The investigation I am told could take weeks, and then what?

When are the victims of this crime going to get their money bank?  Someone who works in law enforcement in the UK told me that when this type of crime occurs over there (and it does fairly regularly) the bank gives you your money back in 48 hours.

All I heard so far is a bank official tell the media that they are aware of the crime and it is being investigated and they are treating the matter seriously, but they are not panicking. We are not asking anyone to panic, but some of us do need our money back sooner rather than later because we have responsibilities and bills to pay.

94 responses to “Victim of ATM Bank Fraud Ask Banks to be More Supportive”

1. @David,I’m not sure if it would be prudent but I am not sure the immigration department would want to flag every Bulgarian as a potential ‘fraudster’ the EC and EU would be all over it.

In hindsight,I think this youtube video is quite relevant for the topic of skimming and why relevant border security is so important despite what many may say.

2. And it was only a week ago that we heard scammers had hit Caribbean Airlines for a couple of millions. As the man said, on the Internet and information superhighway, we in the Caribbean, are still riding horse and buggy.

3. @Jay

Thanks for the vid. One wonders what the three male Bulgarians wrote on their immigration Form. Does anyone believe our Customs has the smarts to deconstruct the laptop the way the Australians did?

On 11 October 2013 00:14, Barbados Underground

4. Alvin……….unlike you i do not make excuses for politicians, lawyers, bankers etc. etc..just take a good look around the world and you will see why none of them are to be trusted, being sheep now has this world in it’s current fix, i was not raised to be a sheep.

The Bulgarians have been running rampant in Europe for sometime, that is word out of London…..they rampaged on the banks in Miami in June as we have all been seeing online, from what i was told, alerts were sent out to banks worldwide to be more vigilant and on the alert for the Bulgarians who have managed to take over organized crimes from the Russians, also be more aware and upgrade their security system, the banks in the Caribbean including Barbados continued to be careless and were robbed by Bulgarian (tourists) thieves. you continue to live in a world of illusions/delusions, good luck, i really would not want to be you..

5. Jay | October 10, 2013 at 8:14 PM |
    @David,I’m not sure if it would be prudent but I am not sure the immigration department would want to flag every Bulgarian as a potential ‘fraudster’ the EC and EU would be all over it.
    ………………………………………………………….
    Remember the Brit / Kraut tief, Matthieson who legged it back to the UK ,owing millions here, and the British Police wanted to know why Barbados is kicking up a fuss over a few measly million dollars?

6. @Jay/Colonel Buggy

If there is one thing which we cannot relinquish when we define sovereignty is the right to protect our borders. Listen to what Trinidad Immigration did today. And this is a few days after the CCJ Myrie decision.:

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/untitled.mp3

On 11 October 2013 00:27, Barbados Underground

7. Alvin…………..look and see what should be done with corrupt public officials and their esteemed friends in Barbados, also in other jurisdictions but i am dealing with Barbados right now.

LOOK……………..if you seen this already, i know you are not surprised.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/detroit-mayor-sentenced-28-years-corruption-article-1.1481809

8. Round the time of the budget I heard that $300 million in foreign exchange had leaked out of Barbados and nobody knew where it was.

At the tie I felt CLICO.

But now I wonder if the Bulgarians have our $300 million as well.

9. Lol,I can’t believe they tried to enter Trinidad hoping the ruling would allow them to enter.Irregardless,I think Barbados should continue as is!

10. Simple Simon……………..LOL!!!

11. @Well Well,
    come on!!! do you really mean this…”i really would not want to be you..” ? Knowing me you should temper this thought. I happen to be a very nice, sensible, well educated, balanced, engaging very gentlemanly, and more. and beside that I happen to like myself a lot, if you got to know me you would (might) even get to like me..Even though we are obviously of different political persuasion I am not a pessimist about Barbados’s future, neither am I so cynical about our people; politicians, businessmen or even our people. One thing we (you) have to remember is that we (and they) are human beings subject to the frailties of life. In addition I do not see our politicians in the league with these other politicians. I have lived in Canada for over forty years. I know about the types of fraud and scams pulled on the people over these years. I do not get pressure when these things come to light.

12. Alvin…….you failed to mention tall dark and handsome.

In true bankster style the banks in Bim are not disappointing, they want the poor customer’s whose money the lost to wait until the investigation is over before their accounts are credited, that is not how things are done in the real world, the banks lost the money, the banks should replace the customer’s money immediately, or customers should retaliate by withdrawing all their funds and stop putting money in the banks.

In addition, the banks in Barbados are admitting that they should have upgraded their security with existing hardware/software that would deter skimming, but get this, according to them, who are only too happy to have your money in their banks, the hardware/software is too expensive….do you see why i do not ever trust any of them Alvin??/ I hope they know that the insurance companies will definitely take note of that stupid statement.

13. Alvin……….let me put your mind at ease, i am actually apolitical, having absolutely no interest in politics as it relates to affiliations, i put politics on the same level as religion, destructive to the earth and the human psyche.

14. Alvin and Well Well not buddies anymore? Well Well I thought you two were joined at the hip. I knew from the start that Alvin is a pompous foolish DLP yardfowl and can only see through partisan glasses. He doesn’t have one neutral bone in his body.

15. Island…………Alvin is old school, he does not realize yet there is a paradigm shift even in the way people think, it’s hard to convince some people who are set in their ways,

16. The economy of Barbados must be improving significantly,in spite of the bad ratings, by the experts . How else can one explain the targeting of Barbados by Bulgarian Scammers,in person, who are controlled by the Mafia.

17. Barbados has been listed as #6 in the world for million dollar homes and the Caribbean is still a traditional favourite for second homes.
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/newsbysector/constructionandproperty/10371343/New-money-pours-into-the-old-playgrounds-for-super-rich.html#disqus_thread

18. Kiss me asK F@#*ing crooks……no shame at all.

19. The banks in Barbados and the Caribbean need to buy that expensive security equipment or they will be robbed again and again and again and……………..i sure will not put anymore money in them, glad i moved mine out last week.

20. Bank in Barbados DO WHAT ? … install expensive equipment?…doan hold ur breath Well Well…..they only know how to collect. Note their original position in all this….”go to the police”.

21. Please watch the latest video posted and the African Official explains that the only technology available to stop this type of fraud is to replace mag-strip cards. Please leave the emotion at the door and address the issues pointedly.

22. @ Well Well

Know about the Jessie Jackson Jr. sentencing, know also about the kwame kilpatrick sentencing. http://www.freep.com/article/20131010/NEWS0102/310100095/Kwame-Kilpatrick-sentencing. Corrupt lawyers and politicians in the United States are persecuted and convicted. Their homes, cars, banking accounts are conficated.

All in Barbados should be persecuted and convicted Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall, George Payne, Gline Clark, Sir Richard Cheltenham, Sir Charles O. Williams (COW), Mark Cummings, Samantha Cummings, Ralph Thorne, Richard Byer, Leroy Parris and probably the ex-police commissioner Darwin Dottin (illegal wire tapping); their homes, cars and banking accounts should be conficated – all those crooks.

23. Onions..that is why the bank’s customers should get really smart and withdraw all their money, find another way to keep your money safe, it definitely is not safe in the banks…….i don’t know what happened that i felt the need to remove my money last week, it was sitting in Barbados for quite some time, i would have been one of the people crying and listening to nonsense from the banks now, if the US banks lose any of my money, it will replaced immediately, so i know with confidence the money is safer in a US bank. It is highly unlikely i will ever put money in any bank in Barbados ever again, and it looks like i got away by the skin of my teeth, seeing what happened one week later.

LOOK……i agree wholeheartedly.

24. Well please stop posting nonsense.

25. @ David

Posting NONESENSE. . . . David (Blog Master/Brbados Underground) on 10/08/2013 @9:57am said “The [US]debt was 9 trillion when Obama took over and now it is 17 million”. LOOK responded ““Barbados has too many problems of its own, should keep its nose out of USA. Barbados yet has not paid Al Barack, now must pay that Jamacian woman, quite a bit must say. Let’s not talk about Queen Elizabeth Hospital and UWI. . . . Some things one must accept, like it or not. Barbados like it or not is shipwrecked, under water and drowning. The United States is only partially shut down but should not concern Barbados. Don’t like it, then just grit your teeth and take it. . . .

David (Blog Master/Barbados Undergound), it’s okay if you don’t like Obama or the United States. I’m sure you have a reason, maybe a personal one. Looks like it. By the way, David (Blog Master/Barbados Underground), if the United States debt was 9 trillion when Obama took over and now it is 17 million, it is NOW substantially a lot less. A million is lots less than a trillion.

26. http://topconservativenews.com/2013/09/greece-arrests-golden-dawn-members-of-parliament/

http://gawker.com/montreal-mayor-arrested-on-corruption-charges-513756895

@ Well Well

Surely you know about Mayor, Michael Applebaum arrested in Montreal Quebec, Canada on corruption charges. It’s close to home. Hopefully, you know about the other incident, members of parliament in Greece arrested.

27. Now we wait for Lawson to appear and the triumvirate is complete.

On 12 October 2013 18:41, Barbados Underground

28. http://opinion.financialpost.com/2013/05/16/beyond-our-means-government-debt-tops-1-2-trillion-and-spending-is-still-rising/

True, the United States faces a trillion dollar debt, but did you know t the United Kingdom, Canada and Japan’s also faces a trillion dollar debt. Barbados itself has quite a large debt. You know this right?

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Bulgarian nationals have now been either arrested or questioned concerning ATM scams in India, Thailand, France, Vietnam, Uganda, USA (Boston and Miami) New Zealand and Australia so far., as well as Barbados.
    Is this an epidemic?

30. What it is – no Bulgarian should be able to enter Barbados without triggering an alert at Immigration.

31. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

its the sheer scale of it.
    10 Bulgarians arrested in Lyon, 3 in Metz, 4 in Uganda etc….

It surely must to organised crime and Interpol has to be involved.

32. As man David!
    Bushie would have banned LOOK and WELL WELL
    lonnnngggg ago……
    ..but then again Bushie is a vagabond…not a nice guy like you…
    LOL Ha. Ha .

33. @Bush Tea

BU advised Deeds his strategy is wrong. Let us see.

On 14 October 2013 11:49, Barbados Underground

34. Grigor Dimitrov “Baby Fed” is one of my favorite young faces on tour … He’s already had his way with Serena Williams, and now Maria Sharapova … de criminal … le he show he face ’bout hey …. ya .. ya Bulgarian …!

35. @Well Well
    Sorry to disappoint you…not tall or handsome. Short and oldish looking. Don’t mind Island Gal, I am not a yard (Free range) fowl, I just tell things as I see them in light of the reality of the situations in the world. I look at all sides of every issue and if something is blue I will not say it is red (note the color significance), just to be popular of dishonest..

36. @David
    It is to the credit of our Police that of all the countries where these Bulgarians scammed all these banks, they were arrested and charged in Barbados. I give them kudos.

37. Alvin Cumming yuh short crutch yard fowl!

38. [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cODPt3T0cHE&w=560&h=315]

@ Bush Tea

“You got a mouth that just won’t quit and picked the wrong parish to hall ass – SMART ASS!!!

39. @Island Gal
    You made three mistakes in your blog:1. the name is Cummins, 2 the epithet is …short me-crutch, 3. I am not a yard fowl, I am a free-range fowl, that means I am not tied to any yard…..Anyhow as I told you all before your “verbal assaults” affect me like water on a duck’s back. They have no effect, apart from showing the type of desperate people you all are.

40. […] Victim of ATM Bank Fraud Ask Banks to More Supportive (bajan.wordpress.com) […]

41. Someone called our bank at a different branch, out of state and did a verbal check, the person at the bank didnt ask security questions. So we are now out over $3000.00, until the M&T bank decides to give our money back! They told us at first it would be 48 hrs, now they changed their minds n due to the terms n conditions ( small print) they are going to wait 60 days! Heartless idiots! With the holidays here, we don’t get to participate in them or see our families out of town, cause our money was taken due to breach of security at M&T!
    The Chabersburg M&T made the check out to a Regions bank. The M&T bank in Delaware has all the information, but refuses to give our money bank!
    We have to put a stop to these banks thinking they r God and keeping our money and giving it to us when they want.
    I went to pay a bill on our new account, used my atm card the day before, when I was going to pay this bill the next day, the card wouldn’t work. The idiot that answered the phone started a run around for an hr. They were going to make me wait at the bill office for 2 hrs before they were going to straighten my amt care. Until I threaten lawyer! Amazing in 5 mins my card worked! M&T also sent my old account to collection, they didnt stop it when this breach of security happen! I had to call and straighten it out!
    BEWARE OF ANY M&T BANK!