Submitted by Yardbroom
Barbados fortunes are not dire says BU commentator.

The present economic downturn in the fortunes of Barbados has led to a plethora of bad news.  It “appears” that this news is dispensed with relish by some observers; most of whom believe what they say and to be fair are often not malicious with intent.  It would be silly of me to pretend things are not uncertain and that remedies should not be sought – which will be painful – but our fortunes are not dire.

It is imperative that in this uncertain climate, we review our positions and seek to redress the malaise which has surreptitiously crept in during the recent good times.  By this I mean our “attitude” to those who travel in many cases thousands of miles to visit our shores and in turn spend thousands of pounds, dollars or marks, in much needed foreign exchange, on which we depend.

We have not made enough effort over the years to protect and encourage those who visit us, and to address this there should be a sea change.  There should be a genuine “welcome” mat and that does not just mean saying we are open for business.  The man/woman who carries the luggage at the airport, the taxi drivers, the immigration officers, the receptionists at the hotels.  Remember you “represent” Barbados, you “the people” are the best Barbados has to offer.

Never forget there are palm trees and beautiful beaches in many parts of the world, often a-glow with sunshine.  Barbados is not alone in this regard, however we can be alone in giving a special kind of service and a welcome that makes people want to be among us.  That is the “key”, people should want to be in Barbados and when they are, should be assured of a warm welcome and be relaxed and at ease in our company.

In the uncertain times when you see the reality of your position, it is easier to get all hands to the pumps.  It is best not to take a political stance or try to score points but to put country first.  Politicians will always be politicians, that is their business to seek advantage.  They cannot be blamed for so doing, but the general populace and business people in general, should have a different agenda.

In our main tourists market – the UK – things are beginning to be on the up.  Employment has started to improve, house purchases have started to climb again, due to confidence in the market.  Another factor is recent Government initiatives in the mortgage market.  Harsh much needed government measures like a reduction in expenditure across the board, despite much anguish are now starting to bear fruit.  In addition the Governor of The Bank Of England has publicly stated that interest rates will stay low until at least the next general election, unless the unemployment rate changes dramatically.

Barbados needs to hold the line and be “prudent” for the good times will return but when they do we must be well positioned to take advantage of them and taking that advantage means we must get things in order now.

“Genuinely” welcome the tourists, and let them be at ease in our company and among us.  We have not got to be captains of industry or hoteliers to play our part.  This is our Barbados, the future is bright the future is Barbados:let it be a place of hope.

26 responses to “A Vision of Hope for Barbados”

1. Welcome back from your annual sabbatical Yardbroom. But things are bad, confidence is very low. Will our leaders stand up!

2. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

Yardbroom

I welcome back this voice of sanity and balance.

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ all

From the time the tip was introduced into our tourism fabric everything that was good in the virginity of our country went south.

Bajans who once took pride in doing something, just for the sake of doing it, started to work for this iniquitous reward and here we are 40 years later reaping the rewards of this travesty.

You man our ports of call with pigs led by the biggest pig of all Chief Immigration Officer Erine and we expect like some miracle that the tourises dem gine get welcomed by courteous officers, treated kindly by red caps, assaulted by customs officers who only genuflect to Miss Ram with her 15 bags and then find themselves accosted by the purser who is assigning taxi men who would best be suited to meet the pigs due to be slaughtered at the Bridgetown abattoir and we are left to wonder who Emile Straker sings about when he croons that “Beautiful, beautiful Barbados” song

4. Yardbroom I applaud your submission. Yes it it time that everyone of us start and continue to do our utmost to welcome all visitors and locals. I must say there has been some improvement when I arrived from Martinique in June. The immigration officer welcomed me back home and I almost fell down in shock. I was so floored that I nearly choked when speaking to him. I gave him a big smile and thanked him.

You can be welcoming by being helpful in many ways. Last week in the supermarket I saw some visitors trying to find a good avocado. They mentioned that our avocados were so delicious and I agreed and that the avocados were too green. They wanted one that was going to ripen in a day or two. I stepped in and started checking them and found one that would be ready in a day or two. I asked them when were they leaving the island and I was told the following week, I gave them an avocado and told them that it will ripen in another day or two and they were very happy. It is the little things that people remember good or bad. And you know what? It was a joy assisting them.

I recently had some people from Martinique at my home for dinner. I had only met them once in Martinique and they told me that they were coming for a visit in a few weeks time. I gave them my number and email and told them to call me when they arrive. They enjoyed the meal and of course my delicious mangoes. We need to open our hearts and homes and stop looking for monetary reward for everything.

Come on peoples please stop this selfish and surly behaviour we are now becoming known for. All it takes is one step forward!

5. Unfortunately I wrote in the other heading about my families yearly trip, but I would like to thank one ambassador of your country. a Taxi driver named Winston who drove a mini van and drove them around . He was always cheerful, stopped to buy ackees for them, drove them to a friends plantation, very concerned about their welfare and was totally reasonable in price. That is someone who understands how tourism works.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear Islandgirl (she for whom I have a crush and who has jilted me)

Please be careful who you invite in your home while promoting your own do you part for Barbados

I would not want any of those people to hold you and do unspeakable unmentionables to you like the usual suspects on BU

When next you are thinking of opening your doors to strangers call on me for bodyguard services not hants nor onions nor Bush Tea. There is a glint in them fellow eyes and I doan want dem cross by you

7. Yardbroom;
    Nice post as usual. Pity the PM couldn’t see it before his budget response some ideas here could have upgraded his response to a level that suited the situation we are in and his position as PM.

8. so nice of you yardbroom to submit an article that is relevant in helping improving our country ,instead of one that is defiant ! arrogant! Bombastic in content.having intent of burying our little island with divisive actions, a pleasure to read and hearitly agree, first impressions do count wether orally or verbally,

9. The ultimate spin doctors destroying this country and trying to fool people

10. @ Piece
    …yuh hurt the Bushman there wid Islandgal….
    Bushie was here thinking that wheresa charity should begin at home, here are these Frenchies getting dinner and mangoes fuh dessert…. That should rightfully be homeboy Bushies….
    Can you imagine…?
    …and with mangoes for dessert too boot…. Lord havist Mercy Piece, you done know how Bushie does eat his mangoes…..
    …feel them up til they are soft but smooth, then nibble a small bite at the top and suck….. OHHHH La La
    ..when to come Islandgal…?

11. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Once again, I am proven right. The Nation BLP newspaper public relations machinery is in full flight.
    In an environment where our country is seeking to address a fiscal imbalance the Jackass that writes in the Nation newspaper under the name Albert Branford will predictably spend his time cussing the government for seriously addressing the issue.
    This political prostiture Branford pretends to be fair journalist. His column’s title should be changed to Purely Partisan, not Purely Political. Branford is a discredit to professional journalists worldwide. How can anyone at the Nation classify him as ” an independent political correspondent”.
    I suspect that if the government had brought manna from heaven during this last budget, Branford will still have wrote the same nonsense. He is a partisan first and a journalist second. Do not be fooled Barbados.

12. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

An interesting question for David Ellis and Stetson Babb, now that 3 Brass Tacks moderators- Pat Hoyos, Peter Wickham and Ms. Caddle have publicly denounced the budget, what will Starcom network do to ensure that these 3 moderators do not abuse their priviledged positions on prime time radio to sway and try to influence public opinion as two of them have tried to do philosophically in the past?

13. @ islandgal246..good for you,and here’s hoping such charity once a part of our country finds its way back home.

14. @ National BLP Newspaper…Fear not my friend for Barbadians are a discerning lot. Case in point?The last election.This government was dead in the water until it was thrown a life raft called a wobble by Peter the pollster. Bajans responded by returning a team that they had spent three years being critical of.As a precursor to the budgetary proposals the chief cook and bottle washer in the kitchen where the numbers that formed the Boxill-Chapo insult were cooked,conveniently made the pronouncement about the worst government ever.When will these political prostitutes come to the realization that bajans ain’t blind?

15. these prostitutes ! will never ! Ever realised that bajans not blind. they will continue to spew their political venom. , they will continue to ask for barbados to be sold to the highest bidder,.these prostitutes would continue to sell Barbados short even to the point of promoting other countries interest above barbados in the name of progress . These prostitutes WOULD NEVER EVER get it right cause they are a bunch of sefserving leeches whose only interest is to tear this country apart if they cannot get things going there way,
    The silent majority of Bajans who love this country would sit and watch with eagle eyes but would not be content and pleased at what is being said and done, they know a day of reckoning would come when they would have their say,

16. @NationBLPnewspaper “Pat Hoyos, Peter Wickham and Ms. Caddle have publicly denounced the budget, what will Starcom network do to ensure that these 3 moderators do not abuse their priviledged positions on prime time radio to sway and try to influence public opinion as two of them have tried to do philosophically in the past?”

1. The budget deserves to be denounced.

2. These journalists are doing their democratic duty in trying to sway and influcence public opinion.

3. I salute Pat. Peter and Nefertari.

17. The following appears in the Advocate today and echoes BU’s position.

Seven hundred dollars buys it all!

8/18/2013

Five-star accommodation for a week, airfare, dining, entertainment, spas, endless in-your-room and around-the-resort premium refreshments, out-of-this-world pampered service, and oh.. did I mention a $1 500 voucher to spend as you please in activities? Sounds too good to be true? Well, its tru-tru-tru. (If you say it three times, in Bajan terms, it’s a fact.)

For all who wish to open their ears and hear the facts, here is the plain truth on why Barbados has lost its allure to most Canadians – a market which used to see thousands and thousands of visitors fleeing the cold and snow of winter. Visitors who took back with them much more than their sun tans. They brought back with them the genuine warmth of our people, the stories told to countless others about the beauty and peace of our island, the gay nights under the stars, the jump-up, hands in the air freeness of our music, and the sheer freeness of walking aimlessly down our beaches without fear of harassment or worse. But sadly, no more. I no longer see any ads in Canadian media for our tourism product. We have been forgotten and replaced.

We’ve been forgotten because we got too big for our breaches. We’re too expensive and we have no idea what the word service means. It’s just that simple.

My daughter and friend took an off-season getaway to Cancun this year. Their hotel boasts 4 300 rooms. 4300!!!! Would you like to know the occupancy of those rooms in off-season? 100% !! Boggles the mind, doesn’t it? It did mine.

For their CAN$700, they were whisked away to a place where the people could not wait to serve them, people who smiled brightly, laughed and remembered their names, who didn’t forget one single detail to make them feel welcomed and extraordinarily special, where they were never harassed or stupsed at. A place where they felt completely at peace relaxing under the Mexican sun.

Restaurants? In abundance. World class foods of every sort. So much so that it was their only problem to decide which type of dining would be chosen for the night. And as my daughter said, so much to do and so little time in which to do it.

I am acutely aware of the unique challenges Barbados has to face. Our visitors have to stand the cost of everything that we import – from electricity to food and almost everything in between. Our airfares to attract visitors are in no way (that I am aware of) subsidised to make travel attractive. Our ‘service’ has deteriorated to the point that visitors feel they are an annoyance.

Long and short: one week in Barbados – roughly CAN$3200 (no meals or any other amenity; one week in Cancun CAN$700 (all you can ask for and more). Where would you choose to go?

But I wonder, back in the 60’s and 70’s, did we not face essentially the same challenges – albeit to a lesser degree? We played by the same rules. Electricity, food and all else in between was still a challenge back then, but service was not a synonym for servitude. So why then have our wheels come off?

Never before has there been a greater need to follow the voice of Emile Straker’s “Beautiful Barbados” and promote our beautiful island through his golden tones, beseeching a return to our paradise. A paradise now lost, it would seem.

Anyways, that’s my two cents. I love my island in the sun. It will always be home to me.

Wendy Kirton

18. AC I hope that you are including yourself , DLP and BLP yardfowls.

19. no! Islan gal AC have never once instigated violence or promoted other countries interest against the best interest of Barbados, Neither have ac raised the banner FOR SALE SIGN outside the Steps Of PARLIAMEnt, ac is a loyal citizens who understands that Barbados has financial problems. However Ac would not in an attempt to find solution stand on the front lines of trickery or treason to find cures,

20. Bushie…..be careful bout how yuh does eat mangoes. I like mine firm to the touch, chilled and sliced. Anything too soft ah doan want. Bushie you are welcome to visit BUT there will be no talk bout your BBE and Politricks. OK?

PODR….I didn’t really jilt you I jest have you pon ice.

21. Caribbean Lover Avatar

“The island of Barbados offers the most authentic Caribbean experience with its exceptionally rich culture and history rooted in remarkable landscapes….”
    ———————————————————————————-
    We advertise the Barbados of 40 years ago; and when visitors get here they discover the Barbados of today. Two different animals.

22. I actually believe the country needs to be smart in not expecting things to change immediately and any immediate strategy will take time.I think some immediate things that need to happen is economic activity must be stimulated in a phased process that could cut the country’s import bill and in addition promote savings for the country and people.

1.The protective markets in Barbados need to promote more competition especially amongst food and utilities if possible to bring down pricing.Licenses can be suspended if the opposite happens.

2.There should be more dedicated land to food instead of building hotels to cut the food import bill and promote economic activity within.Follow-up by Government and the private sector with statistics on if this is working should be followed up on a 6 month basis.

3.Importation of vehicles that are not certified to work over 15-20 mpg should be a priority for the entire country OR Government vehicles must meet this standard to promote savings as it would showcase to the public politicians take this even more seriously.

4.Politicians should take a pay cut to show unity with the people,no matter how small or large.There should be a prominent showcase of how dire things are and this could be the way.

5.Rescind some CSME categories,considering the fact it allows individuals from the rest of the Carib to enter on a permanent basis.This gives locals more chance to find employment.It could also lessen the burden on some services as well considering the expenditure giving education to a CSME parent’s child via primary school.

6.A smarter energy policy!!!,The country has lots of Sun and wind in quite a few places and it might be a good idea on seeing how it can be potentially useful to the country[e.g.Wind farm off Bathsheba,Solar panels on all Government buildings or the promotion of such partly to conserve,].I was also thinking of trying to do partnerships with other countries that could promote the country to use our Sugar cane for Ethanol and a requirement that all new vehicles should use it.

23. not likely as it is barbados culture to be cursing,nasty mouth,backstabbing ,robing,bribed,and feel that they are something special because the tourist come for a short visit and do not have to put up with the central bank,banks in general,and the horrendous cost of anything.so they love cause they just come.after a while the dirty lowdown comes at you.you are living in a third world country run by thieves.so stupid ass bajans feel barbados is something but the tourist image is the reason you all feel so.but if the tourist knew the real truth of racism by blacks against whites they may not feel the same.!!
    make a long story short you love because you only visiting tourist.!!!!

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Making things smoother for $2b Morgan’s Point resort project

By By Ayo Johnson

Government looks set to provide a financial guarantee to the Morgan’s Point developers.

Finance Minister Bob Richards announced yesterday that Government is looking at ways to help Morgan’s Point Limited obtain financing for the $2 billion project, and has issued a “letter of comfort” so the developers can begin discussions with lenders.

While the Ministry of Finance press release stressed that no commitment has as yet been made, it noted that environmental remediation issues at the site had been hindering the developers’ efforts to secure financing.

“Government is committed by way of various agreements to the remediation of lands conveyed to MPL for the construction and operation of a boutique style hotel, condominium residences, sewage treatment plant, and other facilities,” it stated. “MPL has advised Government that the environmental remediation issues at Morgan’s Point are impeding its ability to secure satisfactory construction financing for Phase 1 of the project.

“In that regard, MPL has requested that the Government provide credit enhancement for the financing of Phase 1 of the project in the form of a limited financial guarantee.”

Mr Richards said that his Ministry does not, in general, issue guarantees to private sector projects save in matters of national importance.

25. I love pirate.he’s so mental! in amongst the ranting the truth stands out. He’s an idealist if only he was running the country