Submitted Charles Knighton
Filet Pigon
Filet Pigon

Recently the pork industry in the USA has received approval to rename various cuts to make them more “consumer-friendly” —pork chops can be called “porterhouse chops”  and pork butt will be called ” Boston roast.” Such renaming presents a great opportunity to pay tribute to that most sublime yet perhaps most pedestrianly  named cut of all, bacon.

I herewith offer two nominees: filet pignon or hambrosia. Proper!

28 responses to “Filet Pignon Anyone?”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Eat PIG look like PIG

2. The MOF does have porcine features. Thanks GP LOL

3. I hereby rename the MOF… “PiggyDoLittle”.

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

While you are making fun about naming cut of pork, at last one poultry producer in this country was forced to dump in excess of $40,000.00 in chicken by environmental health officers, about three weeks ago.

My understanding is that the chicken that had been rejected by the supermarkets, for whatever reason, is returned to the supplier. It is then frozen and stored. After a while, it is defrosted, put in a mild chlorine bleach solution in order to remove any bad smell, and then sold a fresh chicken to unsuspecting consumers at bargain prices out of trucks on Saturdays.

I am concerned how long this has been going on and that no one was prosecuted.

5. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!

No cheap chicken out of the back of a truck for me.

6. Another dead chicken controversy????????

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Simple Simon
    Many food vendors unwittingly buy this chicken. You might have eaten some.

8. Isn’t it amazing that something like this was never reported by the media. We are so naive that we trust so easily and don’t even question when things like these happen. I am so tired of the authorities covering up something like this when so many people can be fatally harmed. Stupse!

9. @Caswell

Why are consumers not given details about this transaction to which you have referred?

Are we chop liver?

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This is Barbados, if you have money and friends in the right places, you can get away with anything. Additionally, the authorities do not want to scare away visitors by having the story picked up in the international press.

11. It should not matter anyhow…the FDA recalls drugs all the time. No big deal right?

A Drug Recall That Should Frighten Us All About The FDA

194 comments, 96 called-out

US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Commissioner Margaret Hamburg
    Pay attention, as I can’t say this seriously enough. Last week, the FDA took a drug off the market, and the reasons should send shivers of fear down the backs of consumers, investors, generic drug companies – and the FDA.
    The FDA announced last week that the 300mg generic version of Wellbutrin XL manufactured by Impax Laboratories and marketed by Teva Pharmaceuticals was being recalled because it did not work. And this wasn’t just a problem with one batch – this is a problem that has been going on with this particular drug for four or five years, and the FDA did everything it could to ignore it.
    The FDA apparently approved this drug – and others like it – without testing it. The FDA just assumed if one dosage strength the drug companies submitted for approval works, then the other higher dosages work fine also. With this generic, American consumers became the FDA’s guinea pigs to see if the FDA’s assumption was right. It wasn’t.
    Background
    In December 2006, the first generic versions of the popular anti-depressant Wellbutrin XL were approved by the FDA.  The drug comes in two dosage strengths, 150 milligrams and 300mg. The 300mg dose is generally used for patients with more severe depression and anxiety and patients who don’t respond to the lower dose.  The FDA approved generic versions of both dosage strengths from a few generic drug companies: Teva Pharmaceuticals (manufactured by Impax Laboratories and marketed by Teva Pharmaceuticals), Anchen, Actavis, Watson Pharmaceuticals and Mylan MYL -0.56% Pharmaceuticals.  Almost immediately, the FDA started receiving reports from patients that claimed the 300mg dose was being associated with side effects and reduced efficacy.
    http://www.forbes.com/sites/davidmaris/2012/10/10/fda-recall-points-to-serious-problems-at-the-fda/

12. old onion bags Avatar

@ Caswell

Where is this truck operating from Caswell? Only last Saturday I saw a mob of poor people by the bus stand, rushing a refrigerated truck with $$ in hand but I am not sure this was the caper…..Chlorine bleach is a poison just in case some dont know….if this is true… MOH John Boyce….send ur men on saturday and stop this travesty now…I hope dis is not a ram again.

13. Is there anybody who makes decisions in the interest of the general public?

14. old onion bags Avatar

No way people should be buying CONDEMNED POULTRY…which incidentally may be resold or cooked and offered for sale to some of us even here on BU…….this must be stopped now….These people will do anything to make a dollar….sheer greed. I would really like to know who is the culprit….Nation News, Bdos Today, Advocate….get crackin we know you readin…

15. More important is, who are the suppliers?

16. Would like to see some more info i BU’s mailbox.

17. “…Is there anybody who makes decisions in the interest of the general public?”
    LOL Ha Ha Oh Shirt!
    Man David you does mek some REAL laughing sport sometimes hear…!

Our whole society is BASED on people making decisions in their OWN interest…. Wuh you just even join wid ac in encouraging two bright young students to do exactly that….. Taking it to new heights.
    …can you imagine what they will be up to by the time they become government ministers?

If our children would be encouraged and rewarded for taking up SELFLESS projects such as community service, beautification of public areas, service to the needy etc…..THEN we may end up with some in authority who makes decisions in the public interest.

…but wunna want to plant grass and reap corn….

18. @Bush Tea

You and others are applying extreme and whole sale positions to the issue of the two young bright HC students. All decisions must have a contextual base. What is happening is the usual general tension anyway. We don’t always get it right you should remember.

19. Re-selling rotten chicken is just down right SINFUL……Donville pls help John with this one bfoe someone gets salmonella

20. David
    Principle is principle
    What ‘all decisions must have a contextual base’ what?!?
    …you mean we can do what suits your fancy when convenient..or when it feels good?

Don’t you think that the bad chicken sellers have a contextual base too?…like how many dollars they stand to lose by dumping the chickens? ….like having to lay off staff or even close business?

They may well argue that a little bad chicken is neither here nor there when put in such a context.

Skippa. RIGHT IS RIGHT and shite is shite….no matter how good it feels…or how sentimental the contextual base….

Developing righteousness and character is about learning to have the knowledge and wisdom to see the difference…..

21. Caswell

Are you sure it is not sold as fast food from some dodgy restaurants?

A|

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MR PORCINE AKA PORKY PIG COMES TO THE PARTY LOL

HE MUST BE IN TOWN TO SOCIAL CLIMB AT THE FUNERAL LOL

23. “The FDA announced last week that the 300mg generic version of Wellbutrin XL manufactured by Impax Laboratories and marketed by Teva Pharmaceuticals was being recalled because it did not work. And this wasn’t just a problem with one batch – this is a problem that has been going on with this particular drug for four or five years, and the FDA did everything it could to ignore it.’

For years doctors in NY have been concerned about generic drugs, the above is one stark example.

24. 什么是负载屎

25. Posted on David (BU) Facebook page:

Yes I have heard the story. Shrimp is also washed in blue soap when its freezer burned to give it a refreshed taste I was told.

26. I have always suspected the Chinese fish mongers in this town of washing their stale fish in a chlorine solution. I stopped buying at a certain store after using finger and nose and choosing what I thought to have been a ‘fresh’ fish. When cooked it was off. Had to throw the whole thing out.

I also no longer eat barracuda. Both my son and I contracted cigueteria poisioning. (Dr. GP. is this the correct word?) the Canadian Food Inspection Agency came and picked up the remainder of the fish, both cooked and raw and tested it. Apparently, smaller barracudas, under 5 pounds are relatively safe. It is the larger ones that have a build up of the toxins.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

YOU ARE CORRECT PAT
    Ciguatera Fish Poisoning (Toxin) Definition

Ciguatera is a foodborn illness (food poisoning) caused by eating fish that is contaminated by ciguatera toxin. Ciguatera toxin is a heat-stable lipid soluble compound, produced by dinoflagellates and concentrated in fish organs, that can cause nausea, pain, cardiac, and neurological symptoms in humans when ingested. The toxin may be found concentrated in large reef fish, most commonly barracuda, grouper, red snapper, eel, amberjack, sea bass, and Spanish mackerel. These fish live in coral reef waters and accumulate the toxin when they eat smaller reef fish which feed on the dinoflagellates. The area of concern include the Caribbean Sea, Hawaii, and coastal Central America. With fish from ciguatera endemic areas being shipped nationwide, poisonings can potentially occur in any areas in the United States.

Ciguatera toxin tends to accumulate in large predator fish (weight over 2 Kg or about 4.5 lbs), such as the barracuda and other carnivorous reef fish, because they eat other fish that consume toxin-producing algae (dinoflagellates), which live in coral reef waters. The toxin has highest concentrations in fish visceral and sex organs.

Ciguatera toxin is harmless to fish, but poisonous to humans. The toxin is odorless and tasteless, and cooking does not destroy the toxin. Eating ciguatera-contaminated tropical or subtropical fish is the main way that humans are exposed to the toxin. The toxin activates voltage-dependent sodium channels causing symptoms in human (and other mammals) gastrointestinal, cardiac, and nerve tissues. There are about 50,000 reported poisonings worldwide per year, but rarely cause death; children have more severe symptoms

http://www.emedicinehealth.com/wilderness_ciguatera_toxin/article_em.htm

28. thanks Dr. GP.

I did not know about the red snapper and the eel. the the scientists did report back with most of what you said above. he also told us that 2 people had died in Montreal after eating barracuda in a restaurant. This happened about 6 years ago.

He said the head he took from our home had in more of the toxins than the meat. As I ate some of the head, I was more sick than my son, who only eats meat (he be a Canuck).