Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

There appears to be a growing trend of people in privileged public positions lambasting those in the private sector. Only recently on a popular call-in programme an unelected but paid Senator, cast aspersions and innuendo on the elected unpaid President of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA), questioning among other things, her political affiliation.

Is it so difficult to understand the head of that organization is a volunteer, who gives up an enormous amount of their time, without financial reward to fairly represent and lobby for the subscription paying members of a private sector trade association.? That individual’s role is not to pay lip service to any Government its representatives or supporters, but to articulate unresolved challenges the sector is clearly experiencing, and if it is felt these concerns are repeatedly being ignored, to step ‘up the ante’.

In her recent report, delivered at the BHTA Annual General Meeting, some of those concerns were expressed in these words, ‘It was recognised and agreed that while we wait for the completion of the Tourism Master Plan, we need to implement immediate action to tackle the crisis now at hand’. It also appears there is an increasing chain of thought that hoteliers are always moaning and demand a level of attention that cannot be reasonably justified.

That may be the case in some instances, but you have to think why this could be. Certainly in tourism hotel owners make the biggest investments and take the highest risks. The public at large seem to be quite happy that millions are ‘given’ to cruise ship companies, who, when the going gets tough, simply pull up the anchors and sail off to more profitable climes. The luxury of this option is clearly not available to their terra firma based competitors.

A recently published report concluded that of all the average cruise passengers discretionary spending, 82 per cent is spent onboard  and only 18 per cent on land. This again brings into question the overall net contribution made by this sector and those persons supporting the opening of ship casinos and shops whilst in port, may wish to reconsider.

It too, has to be repeated, time after time, that Government does not generate the monies to sustain the country, it is the private sector that fulfills this function. Therefore, is it so strange that they wish and possibly expect to exert some influence on critical policymaking decisions that directly impact on their investments?

We have all seen what happens when the private sector does not speak up, perhaps typified by the two examples of the GEMS fiasco and ill-fated chartering of Carnival Destiny. Generations, yet to be born, will be repaying the price of these disastrous decisions and the negative consequences they have inflicted on the sector.

By the time this column is published, the last stated booking date for the much vaunted Barbados Island Inclusive promotion will have expired. Our policymakers perhaps will be either thinking of extending the booking window, while carefully analysing if the initiative has driven the predicted additional 15,000 long stay visitors between May and December 2013. The word ‘additional’ is absolutely critical to the equation. Of course it’s a good idea to reward returnees, but this promotion was intended to drive new business rather than dilute the income of repeat visitors.

44 responses to “BHTA is Expected to Represent the Industry”

1. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Your. President is not sharpest too in the shed, she has been known to say that question budget had not gone far enough even though she had not read the Budget, a total jackass representing hotels,.

You clearly missed the emphasis of Senator Hunte’s contribution his argument was that fellows like yourself sit on your behinds and winged and whine and look for govt grants and do little to improve your lot, take a Page out of Mr Doyle’s book or Mr John Morphet’s book they do not wait on the govt to do their business of marketing their Properties as opposed to what you and Dass promote in the format of you waiting and holding out for govt grants and govt to be your eternal saviour and friend get up from the computer writing utter crap every day and do some work marketing the hotels which you guys operate, bring back some of those funds from your overseas bank accounts and use those funds to upgrade your properties to a standard that people will be pleased to use again and again.

2. Give us a break – Gilkes give it a rest… Head to the doldrums where you belong

3. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

He I am not but thank you anyway, I am a Bajan with a tired brain listening to clowns like this guy write nonsense everyday.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN, if they cant take the heat tell them to stay out of the kitchen.

5. Carson………what do you think of this? I won’t ask Adrian in case he too is in denial of activities taking place in the EU.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2346622/Orphans-EU-meltdown-The-shocking-picture-shows-middle-class-parents-Greece-dumping-children-orphanages-wont-starve.html

6. @well well. What the hell has that got to do with the price of bread? I despair at the intellect of some BU contributors.

7. Peltdownman……………does Barbados not depend exclusively on Europeans for the tourist dollar, particulary England? it is not brain surgery it is an elementary fact………….i am in Europe as you type so you can stay and live well in your little cocoon of ignorance.

8. particularly

9. The Hotel Aids Act was designed to help a fledging tourism industry as it was way back then. However it is said in business that if a business has to be subsidized for more than ten years it is basically a still born baby. We have some hotels that may fit that description. I have no problem with subsidies as long as their is a set weaning off period that is adhered to. I do not believe some of these businesses have abused the situation to the detriment of others. One most remember what basically caused the collapse of the Barbados Development Bank the poorly ran hotel businesses that had loans they could not repay. There is a need for better management in both private and government sectors.

10. I agree with peltdownman your comment is as confusing as fathers day in harlem, poor people from Greece are not on Barbados’s target agenda … they are going after the poor people on the forbes list,

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

That is not shocking to me. I posted an article which shows that a lot of children in England are starving as well. Some children getting by on a jam sandwitch alone.

12. Bear in mind support for the sector is being driven/determined by the external pressures in the global arena currently prevailing. This does not excuse inefficiency of course.

13. Carson……the situation is dire, and if Bajans want to sit down and pretend that their only saviors in this crisis are the tourists when many tourists themselves are unable to eat 3 squares a day, and most of them are now either on the dole, welfare, food stamps or only have a roof over their heads because of council housing or subsidized housing or having to put their children in either foster care or orphanages, or those who actually still have a job and are only one paycheck away from homelessness and all the above issues, then that is their freaking problem, i wish them well well in their fantasies.

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Agreed to a point, but WHY is it not effecting our Caribbean neighbours so much? The Thai group, Six Senses who operate LUXURY Resorts and Spa’s across four continents have just announced they are building a new property in St. Lucia covering 60 acres, 53 one and two bedroom hotel villas, 48 luxury homes and 62 apartments, which is expected to open in March 2015. Same ‘global’ recession. Why did Meridien, Rosewood, Banyan and dare I say Four Seasons completed their announced projects?

15. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Should read NOT complete their announced projects.

16. @Adrian

Are you able to state the quantum of government concessions being afforded the developers in the other islands?

17. Mega business people only invest when they know it is feasible and they are in that circle where their own marketing will be successful and effective for at least 30 years going forward.

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Of course I can not, but it seems to work for them (St. Lucia) , whatever concessions they are getting. Sandals Grenada obtained MASSIVE concessions, but the deal was done in an amazing week and it did in the shortest possible time get a closed hotel (La Source) re-open, employing more people and give the destination a world class brand. We cannot say the same for Almond Beach Village can we?

19. @Adrian

The question was rhetorical to demonstrate that the tourism sector is subsidy intensive. You have to pick your poison.

20. @Well Well & Carson
    And yet, the Brits are still travelling to St Lucia, Cuba, the DR, etc. in growing numbers. Believe it or not, as Lawson says, we are not trying to attract Greek students or Spanish civil servants. So you live in Europe. Whoopee do! You think that the rest of the owrld doesn’t know what’s going on there? Ever heard of the internet, and news stations? You and Carson can sit on your hands and mumble how it all “can’t be helped”, but there is a huge tourist market that still exists, and we need a part of it.

21. Peltdownman…………..no I don’t live in Europe, however, good luck in continuing your need to depend solely on one group of people who only travel once a year if they are in a financial position to do so, while they continue to look for the cheapest destinations, it’s called bang for their buck, happy feeding.

22. Sandy Lane dreamer Avatar
    Sandy Lane dreamer

ADRIAN,one sees CTO statistics posted here repeatedly to show Barbados is the choice by far of Brits on Caribbean holidays still you and a few hard heads continue to mislead with the myth St. Lucia attracts more Brits than Barbados. The fact that Barbaos’ airlift far outstrips its neighbours means nothing to you the Solomon of tourism.The question arises if St. Licia is doing so well why dont you relocate there? I read five or so white tourists were murdered in St. Lucia in the past two or three years. The same article alluded to murders and crime in St. Lucia being more than twice the rates in Barbados which has twice the population of St. Lucia. Adrian with your international experience the fact you are fed up with how tourism is run in Bim why not relocate to St. Lucia? Ponder on how swift you can have a hotel up and running. The cheap abundant labour with 30% unemployment is a God send. Their incentives and concessions you receive quickly without having to pay back is a hoteliers dream. Mind you a rating agency recently declared the ST. Lucia government is broke. Thats of no consequence though Adrian. You shouldnt miss a golden opportutnity they are waiting for you in the sister isle to pick your brains of the expertise it takes to run a 20 room hotel which is closed half the year.

23. Long Stay Visitor arrival figures (across all markets) comparison between Barbados and St. Lucia

2012 Barbados DOWN 5.5 per cent – St. Lucia DOWN 1.8 per cent
    2011 Barbados UP 6.7 per cent – St. Lucia UP 2.1 per cent
    2010 Barbados UP 2.6 per cent – St. Lucia UP 9.9 per cent
    2009 Barbados DOWN 8.7 per cent – St. Lucia DOWN 5.8 per cent
    2008 Barbados DOWN 0.9 per cent – St. Lucia UP 2.9 per cent
    Overall increase/loss over the 5 years (inclusive)

Barbados DOWN 4.99 per cent
    St. Lucia UP 7.3 per cent

This confirms that for at least 5 years, St. Lucia has been outperforming Barbados.
    Regards
    Adrian Loveridge

24. old onion bags Avatar

St. Lucia been cutting we ass since 2008……..only a fool would have believed otherwise..All the other sidebars offered by quacks like SandyLane daniel….are just laburnum….join Douglas man.

25. Here are some figures quoting from CTO Statistics.

Bahamas 1 462 404 tourist ( stay over) arrivals in 2008 i.e -4.3 % growth from the previous year

Barbados 567667 tourist (stay over) arrivals in 2008 i.e – 0.9 % growth from the previous year

St. Lucia 295,761 tourist (stay over ) arrivals in 2008 i.e + 2.9 % growth from the previous year

Bahamas 1,327,005 tourist ( stay over) arrivals in 2009 i.e _9.3 % growth from the previous year

Barbados 518,564 tourist ( stay over) arrivals in 2009 i.e -8.7 % growth from the previous year

St. Lucia 278,000 tourist ( stay over) arrivals in 2009 i.e -5.8 % growth from the previous year

Bahamas 1,370,135 tourist (stay over) arrivals in 2010 i.e + 3.3 % growth from the previous year

Barbados 532,000 tourist (stay over ) arrivals in 2010 i.e +2.6 % growth from the previous year

St. Lucia 305,937 tourist (stay over) arrivals in 2010 i.e +9.9 % growth from the previous year

Bahamas 1,344,189 tourist (stay over ) arrivals in 2011 i.e _1.9 % growth from the previous year

Barbados 567,724 tourist (stay over) arrivals in 2011 i.e +6.7 % growth from the previous year

St. Lucia 312,404 tourist (stay over) arrivals in 2011 i.e + 2.1 % growth from the previous year

Further to the above, it was subsequently observed that in 2009 Guyana attracted 141,053 stay-over tourists i.e a growth of 6 % over the previous year, whereas the Dominican Republic attracted 3,992,303 tourists of the same category with a growth of 0.3 % over the previous year. According to Mr. Loveridge’s argument, Guyana did 20 times better than the Dominican Republic in 2009. I hope that no other member of the BHA produces such illogic to any Tourism Minister of any Government now or in the future. If Mr. Loveridge is their standard bearer, God Help tourism in Barbados

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Steupse | June 24, 2013 at 5:43 PM

Your ability to debunk statistical gerrymandering is truly amazing and worthy of praise.
    But why don’t you present similar statistical comparative analyses regarding the foreign exchange earnings and trends over the same period especially for Bim?

We are not really overly concerned about how many visitor arrivals were recorded whether as long-stay visitors or those in transit to cruise line connections but how much money was spent by them and earned as vital foreign exchange.

Am I being too hard on you or asking too much, Sir or Madam?
    But you can always say the money is no problem we are just interested in the numbers game and to hell with forex!

27. all this back and forth don.t add up to a hill of beans ,,the truth is that barbados still outnumbered ST .lucia in arrivals for perods 2008 till present. , however the trend for st. lucia and other markets is what Barbados is attacking something that adrien articles never seems to want to focus on but instead has driven an agenda that focus on percentages for Barbados on a downward scale, Tourist are fickle and likes to try NEw. wouldn’t be surprised if maybe in a year or so those upward trends for ST. lucia level off while Barbados moves ahead,

28. Let them gather for they shall soon scatter Avatar
    Let them gather for they shall soon scatter

This parasite Loveridge makes a claim that St Lucia has out performed Barbados now this blundering jackass provides a table of his own doing that shows Barbados recording a massive 6.7 % increase in 2011 which for the records fell short of an all time visitor arrival records of a couple hundred persons in 2011 mind you it only fell short by a couple hundred in 2011 when compared with the record year 2007 because of something called the Barney Lynch fked up Cricket World Cup but as it was 2011 was very close to setting a new record.

Now this guy Loveridge comes on here and tries to draw comparisons between arrival numbers to achieve a paltry growth rate in 2011 of 2.1%. To 312404 visitors in 2011 Barbados on the other hand almost doubles St Lucia in people visiting at 567,724 visitors coming to this island this man is an absolute nut case to attempt to fool people with his desire to feed his masters, even with a decrease in 2012 falling from an almost a record year in 2011 the performance of this islands tourism is not shabby.

To have Loveridge claim that a country with half the number of arrivals as Barbados has, is out performing Barbados with a 2.1 % growth in their arrivals sort of suggest to me exactly why we get no sense out of hoteliers because if they are of made of the same material as Dash and Loveridge we are dealing with limited ability stock hence the clog up in the hotel grouping.

29. Lets see……Mr Loveridge is selling his hotel …so it defies logic that he would say things are bad and devalue what a possible investor would pay for it unless what he says is true. If it was me selling it I would be saying all kinds of crap everything is great, bookings up, island clean, virtually no crime, high employment, politicians doing all the right things .Get serious, there is no benefit to paint a bad picture of the economy when your selling.

30. Katrina Kelly Avatar

Having lived in Barbados for many years before returning to the UK I have noticed Adrian has constantly taken successive Governments to task, both BLP and DLP, for his perceived opinion that they are not doing enough for Tourism. I cannot argue the rights and wrongs of that but I would like to point out that I have been trying to find a suitable holiday in Italy, for 2 weeks, including flights from London, at a 3 star hotel on room only basis, on the Italian coast, in July/August and have yet to find anything for less than £2200 for both my husband and I. The amazing thing is that I can still find a comparable holiday for 2 weeks to Barbados at that price, so Barbados is not that expensive, so I would suggest the BTA does more marketing in London and the UK to attract more tourists, as they will come if they see Barbados advertised here enough.

31. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Katrina,

Could not agree more and I think we have to get this point across better than we currently do. It was interesting to read on TripAdvisor Barbados Forum page recently, that a regular repeat visitor stated that he has booked two weeks this October with flights and accommodation at Butterfly Beach and it was the LOWEST price he has ever paid over many years.

32. Excerpt…..
    Ten years after a special Tourism Fund was established to help Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association members pursue product development and marketing initiatives using their own money, it has been revealed that the majority of the tourism accommodation sector represented by the BHTA have ignored the venture. New information from the industry stakeholder group noted that the fund started in 2003 with the expectation that with a minimum net annual contribution from all BHTA accommodation members only they would have raised $105 million “to date”.
    But the BHTA has now said “the actual” report card is a disappointing $6.1 million in 10 years, which means that the fund is “being carried by just 12 per cent of the BHTA’s membership”.
    “Our accommodation members are the primary contributors to the fund with a few of our DTS (Direct Tourism Services) members seeking ways in which they can assist. Contributions from those who signed up to participate have been steady and invaluable, allowing us to accomplish much with the funds that have been made available.
    “However, with a greater number of contributors to the fund, the association would have more resources fund initiatives that currently benefits everyone in the tourism industry,” the BHTA lamented as it reported to members on the issue in a review of the organisation’s performance last year.
    The Tourism Fund is managed within the BHTA by a separate board of trustees and was established in 2003 “as a way for the BHTA to effect a more impactful contribution to the actions and decisions which affect the private sector tourism industry and our membership”.
    The overall idea was to “have a financial base that provided tangible dollars to support and initiate the marketing and product development opportunities in our industry”. BHTA officials pointed out that at the time of its establishment 85 per cent of hotel members “indicated they would be willing to contribute to the fund if there was a tax incentive”.
    But even after a tax incentive of 150 per cent claim value on contributions to the fund was secured, most hotels have not contributed one cent to it.
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/06/24/you-fail/

33. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Roverp,

Some good points as always. But as you know the 150 per cent enhanced tax incentive only applies to tourism operators making a profit.
    With $80 million worth of claims on the $25 million TIRF scheme, it would appear, many are not. 37 closed hotels over the last 20 years says a lot.

34. Why are hotels not making a profit?
    Is it poor management?
    Too much reliance on government to run their businesses?
    Too many games and business tricks?

35. When comparing stats, one should also consider the factors surrounding the data collection and analysis. The statement that St. Lucia has been outperforming Barbados might be true. It might be false. What is the size of their tourism sector? How many hotels do they have; what is their advertising budget; how much is invested into the sector? I think that after factors like these then a solid comparison can be made. Like I said in another post recently, Barbados needs something to separate it from the other Caribbean islands. Because at this rate, Barbados will die a slow Tourism death ( like our sugar industry). Why is it that some hotels are able to maintain excellent occupancy rates and others are crying all the time? Can’t at least one of these tourism organisations conduct a study on at least one successful hotel from each category ( 5 star, 4 star, 3 star etc. Not sure if this is possible as yet, because when I was trying to set up a tourism blog, I wanted to include such ratings, but I was told by one of these tourism bodies, that no such system existed) to get an idea of what they are doing to sustain themselves and possibly create a test model? I understand that you are talking to draw attention to your needs, but when someone asks what are you doing to help yourself, what will you say? There is so much more that I want to say, but this post would be ridiculously long and probably bore you even more.

36. we need to measure tourism by other ratio’s such as leakage rate etc…..

37. Is tourism truly an asset to Barbados or a liability?
    Are we supporting tourism by international borrowing as we are not getting the returns on investment?
    Are we looking at foreign exchange without looking at the cost of acquiring that foreign exchange?
    Does tourism truly benefit the country economically, socially, environmentally, spiritually and morally?

38. Are we going to put in place the measurement tools to properly measure the success or failure of tourism?

39. I was listening to the comments from Gilbert Rowe in terms of hotels and the cultural industries.

I think a broader question is whether or not the tourism and hospitality sector has played enough of a catalytic role for other sectors in the economy such as entertainment and culture, and maybe agriculture. if not why not and what might be the way forward.

you see david and adrian the hoteliers like any othe rgroup can overplay their hand.

40. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Observer,
    I think the simple answer is NO, we in the tourism have NOT done enough to support other sectors. But the rantings made on the 7.30am StarCom News by Gilbert Rowe after all the taxpayers monies he has received over the years to support many events, including some very questionable ones, must be the height of hypocrisy.

41. Barbados ahead

6/28/2013

By Renice Bostic

MINISTER of Tourism and International Transport, The Hon. Richard Sealy, has deemed claims that St. Lucia has surpassed Barbados in relation to tourism as outrageous and incorrect.

While emphasising that he was not in any way trying to bring down the neighbouring island, he stated that before such claims are made, persons need to look at the baseline of where the industry is coming from.

“Barbados is still a high-sellable market, the name Barbados means something and there is still a great demand for tourism services in Barbados,” he stated.

The minister claimed he did not get involved in the discussion previously because he does not think it is appropriate for him to appear to put down St. Lucia in any way and he still will not take that route. However, he urged persons at the annual general meeting of The Barbados National Trust to look at the reality of the situation.

“If we had to be perfectly honest, St. Lucia is at least 30 years behind Barbados in terms of tourism…that’s the reality. St. Lucia has three Sandals properties so they get a lot of American visitors coming, but we still get more American tourists than they do. Our UK airlift is what is actually sustaining the St. Lucian tourism industry.”

Minister Sealy also stated that the notion of looking solely at percentage improvement does not tell the entire story, because one really must look at the starting point of the country’s industry.

“If Guyana was getting ten tourists a year and then they are getting twenty, that’s a hundred per cent improvement. So you can’t look at a mature destination like Barbados – we’ve been in this for over fifty years – and look at the percentage increase. You have to look at what’s optimal,” he further commented.

In the case of Montserrat, Sealy stated that they previously had negative growth because of the volcano, but now they are having positive growth. “So do you say that Montserrat is outperforming Barbados?”

Conversely, he stated that he is not naïve to the fact that Barbados has recorded some declines in tourist arrivals, and attributes this to the fact that Barbados has been heavily reliant on the UK market which, at the moment, is not very stable.

“When they are sending home people by the tens of thousands, don’t expect that the British will come here in droves. It is not going to happen. We continue to push the brand in the UK, but we are diversifying our market so that the next time a recession comes, we will not find ourselves solely dependent on any single source market.”

42. ‘If we had to be perfectly honest, St. Lucia is at least 30 years
    behind Barbados in terms of tourism…. that’s the reality’

Richard Sealy – Minister of Tourism
    Barbados Advocate – 28th June 2013
    http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=31282

43. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

‘Our UK airlift is what is actually sustaining the St. Lucian tourism industry’.

REALLY!

How many double drops with Barbados and St. Lucia are operating this year?

And while Virgin has downgraded Barbados flights to the much smaller A330- 300’s six days a week with a loss of between 30,000 and 40,000 seats this year, they have maintained their much larger B7474-400’s on the St. Lucia route (VS31/32 and VS87/88).

The Minister appears to be very badly briefed and perhaps he should surround himself with people who actually know about tourism, rather than cronies and lawyers.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge | June 28, 2013 at 3:29 PM
    “And while Virgin has downgraded Barbados flights to the much smaller A330- 300′s six days a week with a loss of between 30,000 and 40,000 seats this year, they have maintained their much larger B7474-400′s on the St. Lucia route (VS31/32 and VS87/88).”

The facts speak for themselves and the truth stands alone.

Adrian, prepare yourself for a barrage or fuselage of attacks on your personal character and professional integrity from the local racist DLP brigade who would like to ‘ship’ you out on one of those VA aircraft either back to the UK or even to St. Lucia.

But we believe the wind has been taken out of their vile and vicious hate-filled sails (or to use a more appropriate analogy, their wings have been clipped and they are grounded) after yesterday’s announcements with more to come in the coming days.