116 responses to “BU’s Crop Over Picks 2013”

1. Who listening to Bag when he say, she wining like a bald pooch cat?…lol

2. The music these guys producing in going nowhere
    It is shoite plain and simple—Lots of noise anf fury, Uninspirational. people have ceased to be true artistes and all they talking about is money

It is amazing that Duke Checked Shirt, Observer, Seranader, Gabby , John King, Speedy, Romeo, Mark Lord and them boys could produce such good music in the past but nowadays yuh hearing bare shite. The worst song for the season so far is one by GORG, JOHN DOE and LIL Rick—‘wukkup behind dah Truck’—tasteless, uninspirational and artless. It is to be noted that these three gentlemen either work at Radio Stations or are associated with Radio Stations

3. @Just Asking
    Agree with you on that point. Many of these ‘songs’ played on radio are produced by the same DJ’s who play them. So folks with good strong songs who do not have any connections might not get the deserved airplay.

4. The two songs featured were produced by dredboys who are NOT DJs.

5. De redboys (Dredboys) Dreadboys ?–They usually produce good sounding music but there is no real development here. Plastic Bag sounds the same way. Strip away the music from the song and its the same, Similarly Biggie Irie. In the scheme of things, these two songs are good.
    In terms of musical development still stagnant. And dont talk about the other crap –fast and furious noise that makes no sense whatsoever. There are a lot idiots producing music nowadays and like everything else, cricket , politics etc, they just following and have no grounding, no foundation–nothing–and feel that they right–Just like the Bullers feel that Homosexual ity is right and everybody wrong.. A hard tune nowadays is about –she Bumper, how big and broad it is and all that crap———-Clown Prince music tek over.

6. There is a tune by Antonio Boo Rudder which is excellent but it appears not to be available n YouTube.

7. what tune is that ?
    which one
    from his BRC days ?

8. Thanks for the early taste David.

I look forward to purchasing Crop over music when it becomes available.

9. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

@ David: It is not “Boo”; it is jr

10. Thanks DJ.

11. David I read of a collaboration with Gerry Roberts,Manny Leslie and David Cole.

Manny was my favorite lead guitarist. His style was distinctive.

12. Don’t see any collaboration online Hants.

13. Whatever became of commenters Checkit; Random; Sargeant; Ping Pong and Yardbroom ?add ROK to the list
    THESE GUYS POSTING UNDER DIFFERENT NAMES OR WHAT ?

JUST ASKING !

14. Junior Boo ?
    Hoo Hoo hoo
    is junior Boo ?

15. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

@ Just Asking
    The artiste is Antonio Rudder jr [son of Boo]

16. Just Asking;
    Still monitoring the best blog in the land. But am not moved to comment on the various topics which seem to be somewhat outside my natural interests; i.e. Politics (What more can reasonably and constructively be said on the general apparent ineptness of the Government especially in its handling of the Economy, the silence of FS, and the apparent inaction of the Opposition)? There has not been signficant unfairing of any individual recently (like Broomes) that I am aware of and Caswell and Bushtea etc. are handling the various topics well when they can get a word in edgewise from Well Well. etc. I’m waiting for a good topic (imho) to come along to join the fray again.

Haven’t seen any new Observing’s posts recently, He also seems to be taking a break.

17. @Checkit-Out

Observing posted on Saturday, see link:

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2013/05/30/temporary-government-workers-being-sent-home/comment-page-2/#comment-837336

BU understands that the election result is a bitter pill to swallow for you guys. Take your time to get it out of the system but remember BU is the poorer without your comments.

18. when you can produce this kind of talent let me know.otherwise wunna is just
    nonsense.wtf please wunna know what real music sounds like??????here is a example.-http://youtu.be/v2AC41dglnM

19. David re. your 10.00 pm post. Thanks for the correction. My computer had a soft crash. Also thanks for pointing me to Observing’s post which I hadn’t seen earlier.

I admit that I, like tens of thousands of others, and not necessarily BLP supporters, was disappointed about the results of the elections and felt that the choice was a bad one, given the situation we were in and the demonstrated abilities and proclivities of the winners. I however wished the winners well, particularly Donville Inniss who I think is the best current Minister. I also hoped that Chris Sinckler would show some action in tune with his considerable mental abilities. That has not happened.

In addition, I only felt that FS was PM material early in the period when he was acting for David Thompson and that feeling dissipated quickly. He has yet to prove me wrong. Winning the election does not seem to have enhanced his leadership qualities.

In all, the first 100 days has not given me any reason to hope that the Government is steering this ship any better than I thought that it would have and I’ve resigned myself to the inevitable. I will post when I think that Government has done something that is praiseworthy and likely to result in eventually improving our Economy, Society and way of life.

20. Just listened to part of a fireworks interview by Dennis Johnson and carol Roberts with Sanctuary.

Top class interview with a genius. Sanctuary’s story is a powerful exemplar of all that is right in the music industry in Barbados today and that would not have been possible years ago.

It also shows that the educational system is producing well rounded individuals at all levels.

Keep it up Sanctuary!! Keep it up DJ and CR!!

21. @Checkit-Out

You are correct, it is the best interview for the season so far. It an ordinary way he has exposed his knowledge and talent for those who listened.

22. We’d prefer to see the words of BU Family Member Roosevelt O. King set to a calypso vibe. For example: “let me tell you how sick these women are” as the lead-in with some drum on that.

23. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

On behalf of all concerned; thank you .
    p.s. @checkit-out: the guest made it great; he is a genius

24. Wait Dennis and Carole working together now …? I have tuned out for too long. Got to find a way to change up the present schedule …

25. @Hants

Please give your best feedback on this release.

26. Looks like Statement gone commercial.

27. Here is Edwin Yearwood trying something.

28. Seriously now. Compare that music with the following

29. 313,000 views, jesus.

30. Because of the visuals David .. do not get confused. At theCalvacade on Friday believe when I say that a relatively dead crowd came alive when Blood started with this tune …

31. My mistake

32. The problem is that the Kaisos from Barbados most of them lack good melody and any sophisticated lyrical construction.

33. David you talkin’ to loud now … Gabby, Bag and Edwin might hear yah … Oh Lard don’ give Admiral nah ammunition to work wid now .. MURDA

34. The two Trini kaisos shows up the difference in musicality one time.

35. If I were a song writer, especially one that works in the calypso environment, I would find a way to learn from these people

The Best Soca song ever … EVER … written …!

36. David those videos are pathetic. The music is crap. All these artist singing about is simulated sex.
    Maybe it is my age but I would not buy and listen to that poor excuse for music.

37. Agree Hants!

@Baffy

Sounds like a Machel rhythm.

Here is a proper kaiso Baf:

38. Bajans can produce as good as Trinis but these guys don’t spend enough time composing quality music.

39. @Hants

Something has occurred in the Barbados music space in the last 5-years or so.

Here is Kaiso Baffy:

40. David

I gone and tell Rudder on face book that I gun write a song called “Where the man wid the Rudder gone” … you know the man almost cuss me ..? HA HA HA MURDA

41. Hants

Yah ol’ Canadian … there is nothing wrong with simulated sex hear … Sometimes it leads to the real thing without having to buy dinners and make conversation and all that shite … HA HA HA

42. @Baffy

Rudder has written and delivered more quality music than all the artistes in Barbados combined.

Here is one of the best up tempo tunes and note it is not 170 bpm.

43. David

My God man we reading from the same page. I have got a new found respect for Gabby .. I have. He is an extraordinary writer with a knowledge of appealing melodies that exceeds all but perhaps Straker. But then in the Caribbean does he match to Rudder and people like this

44. This is one of my favourites.

I prefer Donella to Alison Hinds and the arrangement in this song is really good. The recorded version has sweet bass lines.

45. Is it not ironic that we discussing top Kaiso chunes and Barbadians not figuring at all? We have improved in the last 15 years but there is a gulf.

46. BAFBFP I focusing on the music. I will leave the racy stuff to you.

47. Donnel was one good looking female … my God she was (is?) a looker … would mek yah change hah mind ’bout sheep …