Hon Ronald Jones, Minister of Education

Always the topic of homosexuality evokes heated discussion and BU’s recent blog on the subject  is no exception – Homosexuals Are People Just Like Us…no?. Societies including Barbados continue to battle the best way to come to terms with the issue.

Of concern to BU as well is a type of deviant behaviour which has sprung up in our school system which is associated with the homosexual behaviour. Some may argue it is linked to declining morals others may suggest it is the right of the individual to exercise personal freedoms. BU alluded to a bisexual behaviour practiced by students in the recent blog.

To illustrate, have a discussion with students and teachers who attend Barbados Community College (BCC).  Students openly engage in homosexual behaviour on the corridors any day of the school week. It is not uncommon to see female students holding hands, delivering a see you later kiss if their time tables dictate. Bear in mind this is being done in full view! For those who may want to pass the behaviour off as adolescent adoration and curiosity, the dress and appearance of the ‘male’ partner can easily confirm the intent of the players. The males not to be left out do similarly. BU understands that the openly gay brigade (branded as gay because of public behaviour) is a bigger movement than that of the females.

If this deviant gay-like lifestyle was not too much for a conservative Barbados, it gets better. BU understands students have created groups, the Wicca (people who are interested in witchcraft), the Goth (male version). Remember this is happening at learning institutions in Barbados.

The obvious question is why are the authorities not doing anything about it. Simple, because we do what Bajans do well especially as it concerns the school system, nothing. After all the Minister of Education was reappointed and we should all accept that all is well. Perhaps we could tolerate ignoring this growing deviant movement in the school system  IF ‘new meat’ was not being targeted by these vagabonds. Imagine the practice of 3rd formers ‘feeling up’ 1st formers at another school which came to light recently. What does this do to an impressionable mind?

There is a level of deviance rushing its way through the school system in Barbados which will make what we gripe about today child’s play. Of course the fogies among us will pass it off by saying it happened in their day. We will see!

84 responses to “Deviant Behaviour On the Rise In Our Learning Institutions”

1. BU understands VOB will be carrying a talk show today about homosexuality.

2. but what about this?????????????????????????????????????
    Leviticus 20:13 (New King James Version)
    Leviticus 20:13
    New King James Version (NKJV)
    13 If a man lies with a male as he lies with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination. They shall surely be put to death. Their blood shall be upon them.

3. the lord give and take away.remember dat.

4. AS USUAL
    http://youtu.be/U3W7n4qobBw

5. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Mr. Correcto
    You’re sick and need serious psychological help!!!What you are perpetuating is the usual sickness imagined by many sick people. Contact Dr. Ermine Belle; if you are in Barbados, although I suspect you are outside of Barbados and part of the people who want to destroy our place. “The royal Palms are indeed dying.

6. @mrcorrecoto

Chill!

7. this is me chilling.ha ha
    http://youtu.be/Ah7UtQnc_J0

8. Incorrecto…………even Moneybrainless thinks you are lowlife and both of you think alike, how do you think others feel?

9. Alvin…………….i keep saying what the real threat is to Barbados, who do not take heed will feel the consequences, the likes of incorrecto is not welcomed in Zimbabwe for a very valid reason………..

10. Readers of this blog will know that I have no time for people with views like those of Correcto. BUT the Leviticus quote is there for all to see and those in the Pentecostal fraternity say that the Bible is God’s ‘Word’ in every dot and comma and must be accepted as such. Total rubbish of course but there it is. It’s like the ‘Great Threat’…if you have sex before marriage you go straight to hell; but that one doesn’t have the same unambiguous Biblical authority as Leviticus.

11. why cause you animals will rape and murder me.is that it?
    like they murdered all the whites in Zimbabwe but who wants to go there .
    for what to feed and give water to your brothers.
    does barbados help its black brothers in Africa?
    no the white fools send aid to you animals.who promptly sell the aid goods for your
    own greedy selves.
    i know all bout wunna ya know.cant fool me.you keep dreaming what you say and think in tiny Barbados means anything in the real world..small fries.

12. Sodom and Gomorrah.sodomy my is still a crime in barbados …did you know that?
    aids to all ya .robert ross is god and can change gods words to suite his homo self.

13. @Jeff

Have to say the moderatoring style of Farley trivialised an important debate. No worries, there will be other opportunities.

14. Eh?

Girls holding hands is deviant behaviour? Girls giving each other goodbye kisses is deviant behaviour? What of kissing as a greeting? From a boy to a girl or vice versa – is it indecent assault? Perhaps the writer of this post might consider visiting a psychologist to discuss his issues.

15. @mrcorrector

Take your filth to your blog. It is clear after having a look that you have an agenda which is to besmirch the reputation of Barbados in an unprovoked way.

16. even in prison all bajan men think about is their dicks.
    i dont think these bugaloos are for use on women in prison do you.?
    ha-hah what backwardness.and weird people.
    http://youtu.be/6YiCRgjSOKQ

17. truth is truth.David your blog condemns barbados daily .
    but is a softy like manor.grow a set?

18. This looks very much like an American prison, and if it is a bajan prison, who is allowing photos to come out to the general public?

19. By the way, i would never open anything incorrecto posts, so i do not know the contents, nor would i be interested.

20. More than 150 Hells Angels, other bikers block road during police showdown on Vancouver Island

Added by Site *ADMINS* on May 6, 2013 at 7:18pm
    View Photos
    Previous | Next

More than 150 Hells Angels, other bikers block road during police showdown on Vancouver Island

More than 150 motorcyclists — including members of Hells Angels — flouted police authority Saturday when the group refused to stop at a roadside check on Vancouver Island.

According to Sgt. Lindsey Houghton, police had information that the bikers would participate in a group ride Saturday and set out to conduct safety checks. Police officers from the Combined Forces Special Enforcement Unit of B.C. and other integrated road safety units then gathered near Duncan to monitor and halt the large group of motorcyclists, who had plans to travel from Nanaimo to Victoria on the Island Highway.

“The bikers, many of whom were observed allegedly ignoring red lights at intersections, speeding, and unsafely passing other vehicles on the road after leaving Nanaimo, were stopped on Highway 1 southbound near the North Cowichan Municipal Hall shortly after 2 p.m.,” Houghton said.

However, the bikers refused to pull into the roadside check area that had been set up and instead, blocked the highway, refusing direction from officers. The showdown ended when outnumbered officers were faced with no choice but to let the group pass. Houghton said police “documented the refusals” and would follow up with appropriate enforcement.

“Seeing a large group of bikers rolling down the highway and through towns can be intimidating for the public and that is their intention — to intimidate,” Houghton said. “Today was yet another example of groups like the Hells Angels thinking they are above the law. CFSEU-BC and its policing partners will continue to monitor events like today’s and ensure the public’s safety by seizing every available and appropriate enforcement opportunity against those involved in organized crime.”

21. dont open that den

22. Just guess what the RCMP will do next, and if you are involved, i will see you on my next visit to Bim.

23. David are the students at the BCC adults?

How do you restrict the conduct of adults if it falls within the Law.

As far as I know buggery is against the law. Holding hands and kissing is not regardless of gender.

There are prominent homosexuals and lesbians in Barbados. We all know who they are even though we do not see them in publicly displaying their sexuality.
    Examples for our youth?

Exactly how are you going to stop the deviant behavior at BCC and in Barbados in general.

24. @Hants

Wonder if the parents of some of the students know the lifestyle they are engaged. But you are right, live and let live.

25. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

mrcorrecto@ if the was 150 so called Black bickers they all be shot by SWAT BY NOW . with a different twist on the NEWS.
    Well , once the bickers refused the police then will need WARRANTS , signed by a JUDGE on probable cause. Which i see none. Police will then have to catch them in the act of lawlessness .

26. David I am sure most parents do not know what their children are doing when they are at School.

Changing and controlling behavior is complex in a democracy. Human rights issues etc.

The taliban don’t have these problems.

27. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Deviant Behaviour On the Rise In Our Learning Institutions@
    side show.
    We can see there is more Deviant Behaviour On the Rise In Our Learning Institutions, BAR, Ministers of government ..They teach the children well.

28. St George's Dragon Avatar

Firstly, I agree with Hants – holding hands and kissing is no evidence of homosexuality in the first place – neither (even if it is homosexuality) do I believe that it should it be considered “deviant behaviour”. In addition, Goths and Wiccas are worldwide sub-cultures which are mostly about children wanting to show their parents that they are individuals. It is part of normal adolescent behaviour not some great transition to a gay culture.
    The premise that this is “deviant behaviour” is only a problem if homosexuality is a “lifestyle choice”. If you believe people choose to be homosexual then clearly having open displays of homosexual affection is going to be a problem as it will encourage others to take up the “lifestyle”.
    I have seen only evidence of the opposite. When I was at school aged 11 – 15, there were two boys there who were clearly gay. They knew it; we knew it. There was no element of choice involved, either for them going their route in life, or the rest of us not following.
    It is true that science has not yet determined the cause of “gayness” but it will. Genetic profiling will at some point prove that there is a natural reason why some people are born homosexual and others straight.
    Barbados is having a tough time thinking its way through the homosexuality issue. Most would take the Biblical view that homosexuality is wrong but apart from a few weirdos no-one thinks that Leviticus should be taken literally. That’s not a clear position – the Bible is right, but its not?
    The legal position on homosexuality is also unclear. The mass of the population seems to think that homosexuality is illegal. It is buggery, of course, which is illegal; homosexuality being perfectly legal. Most believe that the buggery law should be retained but are happy that it is not applied in practice. That’s not a clear position either – the law is ok but we don’t want it applied?

29. So when I go to a French country where men and women kiss each other publicly when they greet each other are then homosexual???? So I can’t publicly hold my daughter hands and kiss her publicly when I greet her or say goodbye to her because I will be labelled homosexual????? Those of you males condemning homosexuality…tell me if you and your little boy friend didn’t try a little touching each other and showing each other private parts when you were kids. What is wrong with wunna people?????

As long as a man and woman can openly display sexual prowess, behave a vulgar as they can on crop over in public that is OK???? Even if it involves children mimicking adults as long as it is male and female it is OK???? What a bunch of hypocrites. Many heterosexuals have shown how vulgar they are and how inhumane they treat their partners that is enough to make anyone look for an alternative lifestyle.

30. Minister Jones are you ok with the fraternities, clubs, cliques growing at the BCC based on gay lifestyle CHOICES? Send us a signal because we know you monitor.

31. Minister Jones and the Government of Barbados would do well to tread carefully when dealing with any issue involving Homosexuality.

The current Premier of Ontario, is openly lesbian.Homosexuality is accepted in Canada and discriminating against homosexuals is treated as a hate crime.

Given that Barbados is begging Harper to ease up on his attacks on low tax havens………be careful.

32. @Hants

Jeff Cumberbatch made the excellent point on the talk show today that how can Barbados claim to not want to remove the buggery law from the books when we have signed international treaties which commit Barbados to obligations stated in said treaty. Like every thing in Barbados this has become a political issue.

33. Why must it ever be assumed that people are EITHER straight OR gay? Isn’t sexuality far more complex than those primitive distinctions? Consider bi-ness, and men (the vast majority) who are turned on by the idea of 3-somes with two women, or of a woman who is turned on by the idea of having it with two men. There is nothing new under the sun. Think of the man who lives at home with his mother, or those fellas we say are ‘old women’. Think of the parent who has to be ‘both father and mother’. What does male (or female) masturbation indicate? And what of ‘coming’ (a) vaginally and (b) clitorally?

Islandgal…..yes…all little acts of discovery and entirely normal and harmlessl.

34. @Ross

Like St.Georges Dragon correctly stated Barbados will have a though time dealing with decriminalizing homosexuality and then there is same sex unions. We will have to talk about it.

35. You can express your own opinion of or opposition to a lifestyle like homosexuality without expressing hate, what is disturbing is when people take it personally like it is affecting their own lifestyle. The government needs to differentiate between buggery as a tool for rape and homosexuality between consulting adults.

36. Did anyone listen to the talk show today? What about Corey Worrell? To be honest BU is not aware that there is scientific/empirical evidence which supports the fact that homosexuals are not born gay.

37. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

A Homosexual is normal person who has opted to enjoy the free and deviant lifestyle.

38. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

The reverse would also have to be true, namely BU is not aware that there is scientific/empirical evidence which supports the fact that homosexuals are born gay.

I for one think that homosexuals and those who lobby for alternative/deviant lifestyle use this argument that homos are born gay as means to make it more palatable for normal society.

39. @Dummy

If the evidence was available it would be subjected to peer review and readily available. No need to drag red herring across the the issue here.

40. The only reason I believe homosexuals are born that way is because I have always only been attracted to females.

I went to Kolij which was an all boy school and most of us looked to QC, the Ursaline Convent and Foundation girls for our extra curricular activities.

That is my simplistic reasoning. Maybe we can get a “scientific” opinion from Dr. GP.

41. St George's Dragon Avatar

I know Wikipedia is not exactly the most reliable source of information but their take on the subject is:
    “The relationship between biology and sexual orientation is a subject of research. A simple and singular determinant for sexual orientation has not been conclusively demonstrated—various studies point to different, even conflicting positions—but research suggests that a combination of genetic, hormonal and social factors determine sexual orientation.”
    Trust me, if anyone had found otherwise you would know about it as it would be dynamite!

42. St George's Dragon Avatar

Evolution should mean that “gay” genes die out. Some information new to me again from Wikipedia which might address why “gay” genes exist:
    “Sexual practices that significantly reduce the frequency of heterosexual intercourse also significantly decrease the chances of successful reproduction, and for this reason, they would appear to be maladaptive in an evolutionary context following a simple Darwinian model of natural selection.
    ……..Important new evidence on a plausible mechanism for the evolution of “gay genes” has emerged from the work of Camperio-Ciani. They found in two large, independent studies that the female relatives of homosexual men tended to have significantly more offspring than those of the heterosexual men. Female relatives of the homosexual men on their mother’s side tended to have more offspring than those on the father’s side. This indicates that females carrying a putative “androphilia genes” complex are more fecund than women lacking this complex of genes, and thereby can compensate for any decreased fertility of the males carrying the genes. This is a well known phenomenon in evolution known as “sexual antagonism,” and has been widely documented for many traits that are advantageous in one sex but not in the other. This provides solid experimental evidence of how “gay genes” could not only survive but thrive over the course of evolution.”
    Not proof, but interesting.

43. David

There is nothing problematic about same sex unions in themselves since all that would be recognized is the property and personal rights of the partners as between themselves. We do this already with heterosexual (but non-marital) unions under the Family Law Act. Five years and you’re ‘in’.

We are not talking about “decriminalizing” homosexuality since it is not a criminal offence to be homosexual. As has been pointed out, we are talking about the repeal of s.9, Sexual Offences Act for the benefit of CONSENTING ADULTS OF EITHER SEX IN PRIVATE.

44. Of course it is easy in law to make this happen but we know this is not where the issue is located are we?

45. @ Hants
    Some men are born gay and others have gayness thrust into them….

46. Nice one Bushie. lol

47. David

Yes, quite. The debate, at root, is about whether fags must die.

48. @Bushie
    One to remember ,will go into”Anals” of history.

49. Homosexuals cant reproduce so a gay could never be “born” a gay.
    Gay is a choice no matter now you look at it weither they chose at 5 or 50.

If all men were gay then how would the species be reproduced?

I don’t see what all the fuss is about. Nutting ent wrong with being gay once the gay person was not your father, cause then you would not be here so next time you see dad thank him that he was not a gay.

The problem i can see is that most gay is want to convert everyone around them, and the burden the long time gay men will have on the health care system. the truth needs to be told about this life style and the causes/effects so that people can make the best choice, wither they want to be gay or not.