Submitted by HAMILTON HILL
CLICO Policyholders suing, finally!   Photo credit: Nation
CLICO Policyholders suing, finally!
Photo credit: Nation

There seems to be some direct correlation between snow fall and slumber. As I sat last night at the old desktop intent on taking in the happenings in my Barbados via the world wide web, mother nature delivered her calling card in the form of powder white, and equally light snow. For me light snow makes for heavy eye lids so quite soon I was fast asleep…and now I understand why they say peaceful sleep.

I am reading BU where it has been reported that PM Stuart has shared with us a secret that has been kept better than the code to the vault of the US treasury. I am preparing to cuss Prodigal Son for his claim that my PM didn’t even know what “de damn date was till de inner circle tell he. “I just had to get the jump on AC, CCC and ! for surely my three compadres would not permit Prodigal to get away with such disrespect for a man, my man who has just created major history in Barbados. Just as my finger is about to press the submit button so as to upstage AC and them, David writes that PM Stuart…my man of the century has just announced that a major player in the CLICO master con would be arrested and his assets frozen, all this to take place on or before nomination day.

Immediately someone writing under the moniker of Leroy writes “None of you people has no nollege about who I am. There is many more over night millionaires about here than me “. Onions and Miller are now in the do, telling the BU family that the handing over of these beautiful homes to poor people is by design an election gimmick. What madness are these two telling us? This is government for the people…Government buy the people, and the people luv the government, for all of these things are nothing new.

As I grapple with the thought of cussing out Miller and Onions for poo pooing my party’s housing solutions, I am listening to Brasstacks and cussing my man Dennis J, cause Rawle relentlessly pun Mitt Mascoll’s case and DJ keeps interrupting and then refuse to let me help David Ellis  as he choked on his own saliva while trying to answer the simple question of what happened to Kaymar?

The shrill of the alarm clock gives me that wake up jolt at three am on a snowy Saturday morning, an off day nonetheless, so now I am mad as hell. I shall now spend the rest of the day trying to divvy up my anger between the fact that through the fault of none other than myself I am wide awake at three in the morning, and the fact that the jolt brought me back to reality where some Bajans wait for their pay for work already done, while all wait for a date already known,since last year. All that’s left for me to say is that peaceful slumber breeds wishful thinking.

118 responses to “Twas the Night Before…”

1. oh prodigal if you want to give the BLP credit for the breaking news GO AHEAD!the fact is it is only in the headlines because of the lawsuit.and nothing that the BLP said or did of recent about clico that is my point. the BLP has been too busy “callingthe election” maybe if they had their ears to the ground. they might have been first to send the smoke signals in the air but like everthing else of recent the BLP has lost track.just about everything.

2. There is absolutely nothing wrong if someone scores a debating point to say touche and move on. How does anyone know what anybody is doing? Remember MAM brought a no-confidence motion against the government although BU logs will show we did not agree with her. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

3. ac, i sorry my dear but you are not smart at all.

picture this, somewhere between Jan. 29th and Feb. 29th. the BLP puts in their manifesto a solution to the policyholders and taxpayer which they could live with, what happens then? can’t the case be dropped? does it not cement in the minds of Barbadians what they already know? that Owen is a leaders and not a joker like FS?

where you think the X going?

you DLP people keep asking for solutions, well guess what? that time is here and i waiting to see what both manifestos wilt say and not say.

i know it must be hurting to see the DLP destroy themselves but its just the way it has to be. everyman in the DLP is now looking to get the role of leader of the opposition. if you listen hard enough you will hear it “i’m firmly behind FS” why? because when he lose, his ass can’t come back even if he wins his seat.

4. david not BU
    picture this, somewhere between Jan. 29th and Feb. 29th. the BLP puts in their manifesto a solution to the policyholders and taxpayer which they could live with, what happens then? can’t the case be dropped? does it not cement in the minds of Barbadians what they already know? that Owen is a leaders and not a joker like FS?

that is a big “IF” not going to happen. asking the bajan taxpayers to pay off a debt caused by a big corporate giant with millions of dollars is risky business. bajans are smart and would see through this fraud only this time orchestrated by the BLP to score political points.even OSA must be happy that this lawsuit is filed it gets theBLP off the hook for future committment. however being the political maggot that he is would try to say that the BLP would have handle it differently but not be truthful to say by using the taxpayers money to cover the debt. a debt that even the policyholders would have to repay.

5. Some background reaching back to the domicile of the parent:

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 27, 2013 at 5:38 PM |
    ” bajans are smart and would see through this fraud..”

Wait ac, you jumping ship too! You mean you even calling your boss man the Fumbler a pious fraud? Freundel has already committed the DLP to saddling the Bajan taxpayers to underwriting the principal component of the CLICO policyholders’ investments.

If the DLP put any promise other than the commitment he gave to the CLICO policyholders in their manifesto they will be making Freundel look like a mock-sport liar who is not in charge and whose promises are not worth the paper the devil wipes his ass with.

So fess now and look in the mirror and tell us who is the bigger liar.
    The lying Saint Fumble from La La integrity Land where innocent children are like anatomical dolls or teaching aids for monastic lessons in the art of lying or the lying sober Seethru from Veco Land Rum Distillery where convenient amnesia is a secret refining formulary?

7. Here is a scenario: Lawrence Duprey is seen laughing in the presence of T&T government ministers. He is even seen attending a couple government functions and constituency meetings in the presence of a close confidant of Kamala. How would Trinis react you think?

8. MILLER
    RE The lying Saint Fumble from La La integrity Land where innocent children are like anatomical dolls or teaching aids for monastic lessons in the art of lying or the lying sober Seethru from Veco Land Rum Distillery where convenient amnesia is a secret refining formulary?

You have to understand that Fumble attended Boys Foundation in the days of the legendary KINGO. who told stories about SWAMBOGIE LAND, where mangoes were so big that they fed the natives in a village for a week, and where the mango seeds could then be turned into a canoe.

Perhaps now you can understand why Fumble lives in La La Land
    Sensible boys realize that KINGO was joking, and dismissed his stories as just school boy folk lore. Fumble, being less endowed with betz cells…………………well, you know the rest.

9. @DAvid 4:09
    there has and will be fallout. Unsure how much though. What’s for sure is that if CLICO bceomes a campaign issue it will resonate with some sections of the electorate to the detriment of the DLP (social impact, individual financial impact, potential economic impact, illusions of political collusions). It was not FS’ fault but he didn’t help himself by calling LP his “friend.” We’ll have to wait and see how much the BLP push it since they have so many new and recent things to pull out of their hat.

Don’t underestimate Hartley’s impact on 2008. That campaign would have started from the time DT came back and retained leadership. Sometimes politicians need someone else to craft a coherent flowing “story” from the outside. That’s a big key to the DLP’s win ending with the coffin nail in Haggat Hall. I’m not seeing enough of a strategy this toss hence why I figure they need as much time as possible to get in some “achievements” and platform talking points.

Just Observing

10. So about this Hardwood Housing … What happen to it again ..? Clyde Mascoll I remember was a big campaigner on its behalf. Next time he show heself in the public strata I gun get somebody to ask a question …

Johnson you listening …?

11. Wait Obby … you saying that the king maker get DT to brek he foot on purpose or he only get he to pretend that it was brek …?! 🙂

12. @BAFBFP

Why you did not get somebody to call Donville last week about the docs posted on BU?

13. @ david

Given the recent whitewashing in tobago elections, kamla know she has her work cutout if she want her party to stay in power.

14. @HH
    “I am reading BU where it has been reported that PM Stuart has shared with us a secret that has been kept better than the code to the vault of the US treasury. I am preparing to cuss Prodigal Son for his claim that my PM didn’t even know what “de damn date was till de inner circle tell he. “I just had to get the jump on AC, CCC and ! for surely my three compadres would not permit Prodigal to get away with such disrespect for a man, my man who has just created major history in Barbados”……..

HH,
    Wow! you were actually dreaming about me……… watch it, though!

15. David

I only hear ’bout Donville after I got back from a business meeting (complainin’ ’bout some shite, you know how …). But while you at it Dave, you don’ have a phone in your possession …? HA HA HA. Wah wrong wid you man, call de ppl nah, the most that they could do is Ban yah …!

16. @ BAFBFP …you gun get somebody ta ask a question? Where,pun VOB?Whatever it is you smoking save some fah me.Oh and by de way,tell dat anti america man dat nuff ah we does enjoy he calls.E does mek ya tink.

17. @Anthony

Given the recent whitewashing in tobago elections, kamla know she has her work cutout if she want her party to stay in power.

That being the case PM Stuart should take notes from Kamla’s playbook.

18. HH

Dah Anti- fella gettin’ associate with me and he gettin’ me in real trouble. Carl Moore better bite he tongue, but dese days all that needs to happen is for the wrong ppl to assume the wrong things about the wrong associations at the wrong time and presto, support dries up. HH if you are already retired this would NOT be something that you have to concern yourself with …!

19. @ Prodigal…Remember about two years ago I told you that “There’s room at the cross for you.”Now everybody knows how come you know so much about that poster.Special breed of person,possibly?

20. Look after all the lotta long talk on BLP, Stuart, CLICO and Hartley Henry’s strange interview ( he never predicts who wins and he says the Dees did an above average job) one question remains:
    Owen S. Arthur did you pass a note to Prime Minister Stuart begging him to take your leader who you ousted Mia Amor Mottley off your hands? A simple yes or no will suffice.

21. You know, I just cannot wrap my head around this CLICO mess, why is it so difficult to solve. Guyana solved their problem early a clock!

We know that Leroy Parris could not have pulled off this ponzi scheme on his own, he is not that bright, so he had to have had help and we know where that help came from. No wonder, LP could have done all he did without the directors knowledge, he was helped by the master of I will not lie, cheat or steal fame!

The Judicial Managers are jokers, though. The best person to unravel this mess was the former PS. The dead king deliberately tied his hands to run out the time so that he could not dig as deeply as he wanted to. The dead king did not want the sordid details to come out as he knew that it would destroy him politically!

I maintain that CLICO has a lot of assets which by now should have been sold to at least pay a few thousand of the policyholders. Next, since the JM’s have seen that LP blew millions of dollars, they are court appointed, ask the damn court to seize ALL of LP assets, the millions he have in banks. Leave him penniless like the policyholders are right now.The policyholders have been suffering for too long!

The JM’s know what he blew the policyholders millions on, sell his assets and put this money back into the coffers for the policyholders. Then go after the dead king’s assets, they know that some of the money has been traced to DT. Seize what they can of DT’s and pay the policyholders. Then try to get the insurance part sold to the highest bidder. Simple but these educated people making it seem like climbing Mt Everest.

DT was a 2×3 lawyer who hardly practiced law, he was a professional politician whose only ambition was to be PM of Barbados, how the hell could he have amassed so much wealth?

By the way, when is the last time we heard a word out of Oliver Jordan’s mouth? Are they still being paid millions of out the premiums the policyholders are still paying into this black hole every month? My God!

22. @david
    Which playbook?

@baffy
    Nah! D brek foot come from d carnival and d rum. That was a bonus part of d story.

23. @Prodigal Son

Surely you are aware the CLICO business in Guyana was very small and the government was not stressed to eat it.

24. @David | January 27, 2013 at 7:43 PM |

@BAFBFP

Why you did not get somebody to call Donville last week about the docs posted on BU?…….

Did you not hear Donville on Wednesday lambasting the blogs? He said that people put all kinds of filth and lies on the blogs and facebook? How can he deny the truth?After all, you can only tell so mucha lies!

25. Prodigal are you dreaming? the above comment sounds like a dream

26. Paying attention Avatar
    Paying attention

David | January 27, 2013 at 8:48 PM |

@Prodigal Son

Surely you are aware the CLICO business in Guyana was very small and the government was not stressed to eat it.

The CLICO judicial manager in Guyana was shot to death I think for her role. Prodigal want that for law abiding Bim. My God!

27. ac,
    You see you?

You are always asking where are the ideas from the BLP. I put forward some ideas and you talking tripe. You think it needs people with doctorates to solve this mess? My ideas are workable. The JM’s have the power of the court behind them.

A group to which I belong have a lot of money in CLICO. From early on, Jeffrey Brewster was telling the group, they have buyers lined up but people wanted to buy cheap as they knew that the company was cash strapped. So there are buyers out there!

You dont think Parris’ assets should be seized as well as the dead king’s to help recoup some of the monies the two of them burned up joy riding on a private jet at some outrageous figure per year! I well remember the dead king defending his use of this private jet in the House and refused to tell Mia how much it was costing. Now we know!

As was his usual style, he was very sarcastic to Mia telling her he aint like her who was born with a gold spoon in her month in Sandy Lane., telling her he grew up poor in somewhere in St James. Even Richard Sealy had to correct DT and told him that Mia grew up with him in Strathclyde!

Seize their assets, at least that money could pay back some policyholders, even June Fowler.

28. David (not BU) you asked……
    “He went on to say he does not know who Stuart has reposed his confidence to perform in such a role. Any persons come to mind?

The person who might be wearing the political strategist hat probably will be Reudon Eversley who recently qualified as the first Political Strategist, Strategic Communication Specialist in the Caribbean. Remember he was the DLP’s Communication Specialist in the 2008 election. He is strategically located within the ambit of the CBC in the Pine.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | January 27, 2013 at 8:42 PM |
    “The JM’s know what he blew the policyholders millions on, sell his assets and put this money back into the coffers for the policyholders. Then go after the dead king’s assets, they know that some of the money has been traced to DT. Seize what they can of DT’s and pay the policyholders. Then try to get the insurance part sold to the highest bidder.”

They can start with the haunted beach house in Martins Bay that has remained ‘shut up’ since the timely passing of the crooked liar. This property is jointly owned by the two crooks in their wives’ name and constructed from the laundered money milked from the policyholders. But Leroy has not visited it since the death of his lover boy for which he blames himself. A Bajan version of Troilus and a male Cressida or Romeo and Julian that even David & Jonathan might have clearly identified with.

Martins Bay has great tourism potential as a retreat for upscale retirees provided the proper infrastructure is put in place. The first thing that must be done is to call in some Catholic priests to rid the house of the ghost of David that can be seen peeking through the window with a glass of vodka in hand if you pass there during the night between 12.00 and 4.00 A.M.

30. Those PARO ads have a certain Mode de Emploi about them and remind one of the 2008 campaign.To be sure its not Harl Hite but near there,never mind the decoy in today’s Sun newspaper.This trail hotnoass.More to come,a liar will reveal his Hidden Hand in due course.Decoys won’t cut it

31. @David
    Thompson should have recused himself from this matter, afterall Parris is the Godfather of his children. Any truth that Mara, Faye and Leroy have parted ways?
    How could the PM recuse himself in a matter of national import when the shit hit the proverbial fan? It would be a tall order for him or the former PM to recuse themselves in this situation, one was guilty of not providing the relevant oversight and the other one knew where the bodies were buried.

Can you say conflict of interest?

In this tight knit country where this a ½ degree of separation the only person who probably was not tainted by association was the custodian of Graeme Hall stud mule.

32. @Sargeant

If you have been following this matter closely you should recall that Finance Minister Karen Nunez-Tesheira in T&T was the point person on the CLICO matter until the PNM vacated office. In Barbados Sinckler maybe? Perhaps not, he did buy(?) Parris’ hand me down Jag didn’t he.

33. @GP
    You have to understand that Fumble attended Boys Foundation in the days of the legendary KINGO. who told stories about SWAMBOGIE LAND, where mangoes were so big that they fed the natives in a village for a week, and where the mango seeds could then be turned into a canoe
    Stop bringing tales out of school didn’t you spend a year at BFS too? Looka here another contributor wrote that the only person who could bring sanity to this situation was the former PS and didn’t he go to BFS too? Wunna Kolig boys like Hants think yuh got all de brains but without BFS this country would be worse off by a country mile, yuh don’t want me to run down the illustrious alumni cause David ain’t got enough room.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | January 27, 2013 at 10:10 PM |
    “In this tight knit country where this a ½ degree of separation the only person who probably was not tainted by association was the custodian of Graeme Hall stud mule.”

Sarge, I like that one! A stud mule! My great grand-mother had one of them.
    She used to hire it out for services to CCC’s great-grand too. Hence his presence in this World. A stud mule what an apt self-description of a beast that can’t exist.

Maybe the beast that Freundel wrestled with at Ephesus was such an animal like the angel in Jacob’s dream.
    Wahlos, a stud mule for real!

35. prodigal i am getting to like you a lot.maybe next i will be a convert lol

36. sarge
    though I went to Kolij, I Iived for 13 years in Ch Ch, and spent many happy hours with my BFS friends at sunday school at Ch Ch, and later watching cricket with ex BFS boys as members of the BCA.

i AM NOT AT ALL RUNNING DOWN BFS OR ITS ALUMNI. I specifically said that the other normal boys knew that Kingo was joking, but that Fumble seemed not to, and probably made a swambogie land of his own.
    Note that I had the privilige and was proud to be taught in med school by the late Dr [Mr] Thomas FRCP in ENT , who was a former choir boy at CH CH CH, and the only BFS boy to win a Bdos scholarship.
    Frank Alleyne taught me Economics at UWI in the early 70″s

But Fumble and your PS……..???????

37. seriously prodigal! first of all Who should seize the assests . next how can assests be seized until proven in a court of law that the names you mentioned were involved in fraud . your frustration level is working in overdrive .

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

I don’t know if the name was changed in Barbados as well, but an Anton Piller order could have been obtained to prevent CLICO and its agents from destroying documents which might eventually lead to the seizure of the assets. Instead, Government allowed too much time to elapse so there might not be any evidence to convict anyone.

39. @David
    My point exactly, everybody was in somebody’s pocket either they were owed a favour or they were begging for one, but this is what happens in many places particularly small Island societies it ain’t what you know it is who you know.

Politicians like to ingratiate themselves with businessmen and vice versa, at least in the USA they get lobbyists to run interference but when the businessmen run afoul of the law the politicians’ hands are tied (at least in Bim). Paris’ Horatio Alger story is compelling (from humble beginnings to private jet), but after all the wining and dining and schmoozing what politician from either Party would be willing to push him over the edge?

40. Sargeant wrote “Wunna Kolig boys like Hants think yuh got all de brains”

Please don’t insult the Kolij boys like Georgie Porgie who “got all de brains” by referring to me.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn | January 27, 2013 at 10:56 PM |

Is that the reason Terrence Thornhill was kept on to cover the tracks of fraud and destroy the paper trail? Even up today he is still there employed by the same JM to do the dirty insider evidence demolition job.

The Auditors should be exposed for their nasty role in all of this. A full page spread in the Financial Times, Telegraph, Guardian and Daily Mail exposing PwC’s colluding role in all of this corrupting filth and financial impropriety.

Can’t the policyholders find a godfather in the international media to plead their case the same way three British women had to come to Barbados to seek justice for man who was accused of rape.

42. When they thought CEO Leroy Parris was going to make them rich they befriended him and spoke eloquently about his management abilities.

When Clico collapsed they deserted and denigrated him.

There is a lesson to be learned about human behaviour and GREED.

43. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miller

You know that I can’t answer that question. Anything that I say here, I must be able to prove, and I have no proof.

44. @GP
    Just kidding, I knew you weren’t disparaging the alumni we enjoyed those Kingo stories, little did he know that the legend would live on.

The late Bobby Thomas (Mr. Thomas having acquired the appropriate qualification) was a legend back in the day. I had the pleasure of meeting him on a couple of occasions and I knew Sir Frank when he was a lowly elementary school teacher.

You know I only brought up your name because I know that you can take a joke but everybody can’t be a GP, the world needs many OPs (ordinary people) like us.

45. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

I could be wrong but I don’t think that Parris was the brains behind CLICO. Beyond life support, his brain is not used for much else. I met him when both of us worked at Da Costa & Musson in 1977/78, and I would have been surprised if he could have managed a sno-cone cart.

46. Hants | January 27, 2013 at 11:06 PM |
    Sargeant wrote “Wunna Kolig boys like Hants think yuh got all de brains”

Please don’t insult the Kolij boys like Georgie Porgie who “got all de brains” by referring to me.

man i aint got no lotta brains
    i probably just went to school longer
    you see when i was growing up no one taught me to buy something for 5 cents and selling it for 10-25 cents or more

47. Georgie Porgie wrote “no one taught me to buy something for 5 cents and selling it for 10-25 cents or more”

But you did learn how to count the $200 an hour you probably charge for your “knowledge”.lol

48. no Hants i nused to wuk fuh de guvment

49. Caswell Franklyn wrote “I would have been surprised if he could have managed a sno-cone cart.”

Tell that to the elite educated Bajans who bought into the Clico promise of easy riches.

50. Georgie Porgie | January 27, 2013 at 11:56 PM |
    no Hants i nused to wuk fuh de guvment.

That is why you left so you could go and make make “real money”.