Submitted by Charles Knighton
Dr. James (l), Minister of Health Donville Inniss (r) - Image/Barbados Advocate
Dr. James (l), Minister of Health Donville Inniss (r) – Image/Barbados Advocate

In discussing the spiralling cost of health care at the QEH, the Nation’s editorial of Dec 13th mentions, inter alia, the ” new development of a lot more older patients needing greater intensive care.” While cloaking itself in a mantle of love for our fellow man, the tragic irony is that among the elderly the struggle against disease has begun to look like the trench warfare of WW1: little real progress in taking enemy territory but enormous economic and human cost in trying to do so.

Our main achievements today consist of devising ways to marginally extend the lives of the very sick. In the war against disease, we have unwittingly created a kind of medicine that is barely affordable now and forbiddingly unaffordable in the long run.  Ours is now a medicine that may doom most of us to an old age that will end badly: with our declining bodies falling apart as they always have but devilishly—and expensively–stretching out the suffering and decay.

This may be called many things, but “loving” does not apply.

1. What is happening in America? Who would should elementary children? Animals!

WASHINGTON — In an immediate response to a shooting at a Connecticut elementary school on Friday, White House Press Secretary Jay Carney said today is not the day for a debate on gun control.
    “I think it’s important, on a day like today, to view this — as I know the president, as a father, does, and I as a father and others who are parents certainly do, which is to feel enormous sympathy for families that are affected and to do everything we can to support state and local law enforcement and support those who are enduring what appears to be a very tragic event,” Carney told reporters in the daily White House press briefing. “There is, I am sure — will be, rather — a day for discussion of the usual Washington policy debates, but I do not think today is that day.” Carney did say that President Barack Obama remains committed to renewing a ban on assault weapons.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/12/14/white-house-school-shooting_n_2302251.html?ncid=edlinkusaolp00000009

2. There are many over medicated and many mentally sick individuals with easy access to guns in the USA.

3. In a land where it is deemed constitutional to bear arms combined with a sick US society expect to witness more of this crap. Doctor Dre on CNN describes it as a sinister culture.

4. SSRIs in this story somwhere………

5. Why did the shooter’s mother(a school teacher) own 3 registered guns?

What a sad world we live in!

6. Moving right along! Nothing unusual here folks, it is called KARMA.

You kill kids in Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya…. It comes home to you..
    You destroy Capital cities with Shock and Awe…and you lose yours to Katrina, Sandy, relentless Tornados, and other ‘natural’ disasters.

IT IS A SPIRITUAL LAW, YOU ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU DESERVE. That is why we should do to others what we would like done TO US…..cause THAT is exactly what we will get…

Unfortunately, there are lots of such outstanding debts yet to be repaid…

7. “I say violence is necessary it as American as Cherry Pie” (H. Rap Brown). That statement by Brown during the heyday of the Black Panther Movement has been conflated to “Violence is as American as Cherry Pie”

And what a violent country it is, there were 6 murders in Philadelphia on Jan 1, 2012 and the total is now up to 301 through end of November and there are still a few days left in the year. In Chicago America’s “second” City and the home of the current President there were 435 murders through end of October.

There will be the predictable noise about gun control then the NRA will reign in their puppet politicians who will start to talk about the Second Amendment and before you know it the whole thing will blow over……..until the next time.

Anyone wants to bet that the NRA will say if a teacher had a gun he/she would be able to take out the killer before he took so many lives?

8. As usual, since this is not a topic on religion or politics, everyone is not all over this topic. And as usual, the posters are off topic.
    Did Barrow and the DLP waste their effort on “free education” in 62?

9. @Sargeant “Anyone wants to bet that the NRA will say if a teacher had a gun he/she would be able to take out the killer before he took so many lives?”

Actually Sarge I read a comment on line which said that if the children had guns they would have been able to take out the gunman before he took them out.

Another suggested arming the school staff.

GP is asking if free education has been wasted.

I’d suggest yes.

And not only in Barbados

10. bush tea you are one insensitive SOB. ! taking an incident of this magnitude and talking bull shi..t to justify the result! try telling that to the parents who might have lost mutiple children.

11. @GP

Do you have a comment related to the subject?

12. Dear GP:

We have to work on prevention.

Sensible eating, drinking water, walking ’bout nuff.

I once suggested to an MP that every school should have good side walks for at least one mile in each direction, so that children can walk to school. I was punished with laughter.

Side walks ain’t sexy.

The people, I was told don’t walk side walks from their MP’s

The people I suppose want more and bigger highways, and flyovers, and a “choice” parking spot right outside their office doors. The people want to be big shots just like their bosses and their MP’s. And big shots don’t walk na way. Big shots don’t walk, and big shots don’t sweat.

The people want to be like their bosses, their MP’s and other big shots. They want to step from air conditioned house, to air conditioned car to air conditioned office.

Nobody wants to sweat. Sweating is low class and undignified.

Caterers feed our MP’s. But has any single MP ever suggested a gym for the House of Assembly? Or decent side walks from Bay Street to Broad Street?

If our leaders don’t know what is good for themselves, how can they know what is good for us?

I would suggest that we have the blind leading the blind.

Just last year I saw a young 300 pound mother board a bus with her fat elementary aged daughter only to disembark by the school one bus stop away. And no they were not late. It was well before 8:00 am.

When I was a child the only people who had “manager bellies” were a few rich, white men on the plantations, all of whom died before three score and ten.

Nowadays about half of us Bajans have “manager bellies”.

13. @ ac
    You are so simple….
    What do you think the parents of the children in Iraq/ libya/ Gaza/ Afghanistan / Pakistan Sudan feel every day?

Your idea of ‘magnitude’ is the level of coverage by CNN/BBC? …grow up ac.

When does your hubby leave for Arizona?

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | December 15, 2012 at 12:03 AM |

More than “Karma” is being played out here.
    America is a country forged out of violence, mayhem and slavery.
    Who do you think massacred millions of the indigenous populations, slaughtered the bison for fun to starve the remaining strugglers and took over their lands.
    The seeds of self-destruction are germinating within that erstwhile land of the free and the brave but only as long as you were of European ancestry.

“If you live by the gun you will die by the gun”.

A similar fate awaits white Australia but no so much by the gun but by radiation from ultraviolet rays.

15. @ Bush Tea

I agree with you. Are you a Sikh? They believe in Karma. They also believe that if you have and someone asks for help you should not refuse to share. What about giving me one of those acres? You can keep your share in the family business, since that is the big $$$ earner.

The ultraviolet rays already killing the imposters and occupiers in Israhell. They have the second highest rate of skin cancer after Australia.

16. David
    Re “Our main achievements today consist of devising ways to marginally extend the lives of the very sick.”

The statement below is a load of bovine excrement. Today many diseases are diagnosed earlier than before, and the development in technology has allowed treatment modalities that have done much more than” marginally extend the lives of the very sick.”

Re “ In the war against disease, we have unwittingly created a kind of medicine that is barely affordable now and forbiddingly unaffordable in the long run.”
    Whereas the cost of “medicine” has increased, one of the things that makes things unaffordable is the wastage by consumers, and the greed exhibited by drug companies, some doctors and insurance agencies. In many places of the world, a lot is being done with very little.
    Re “ Ours is now a medicine that may doom most of us to an old age that will end badly: ” with our declining bodies falling apart as they always have” “
    I thought that increased numbers of elderly folk in a country was an index of increased health. Also is it not clear that many elderly folk in all age groups are healthier than ever before, especially in developing countries.

17. @GP

Recognizing your alacrity to label as bovine excrement the statement “Our main achievements today consist of devising ways to marginally extend the lives of the very sick.” do you accept that NCDs are on the rise in Barbados and with diabetes Barbados has earned the title ‘amputation capital of the world? Let us agree that ;lifes have been more than marginally been extended, to what end?

18. @ GP
    Man what diagnosed earlier what?
    Is that earlier enough to maximize the costs extracted from the victims? TRUE MEDICINE SHOULD BE PREVENTATIVE, …but then doctors would be poor like Caswell….

The general increase in life expectancy is much more a feat of ENGINEERING than of medicine. The improvements in hygiene, potable water systems, sewerage treatment systems, food storage, and the research, development and production of medicines and medical equipment has been based on Technology strides not medical.

Medicine has been mostly reactive, symptom focused, and exploitative in terms of extracting life savings from vulnerable members of society… 🙂

LOL…that should raise your heart rate a bit GP 🙂

19. @ Pat,
    What Sikh what?! 🙂
    Bushie is a Bushman / San/ Khwe/ black, barefooted Bajan.

LOL that puts paid to the 1 acre request don’t it? Bushie don’t play that… You may need to check with Plantation Deeds… Or better yet a Bajan Lawyer…

…so are you willing to invest in GP’s local clinic? Bushie is thinking an initial investment of Can$200,000 or so should do the trick.

20. David
    I accept that NCDs are on the rise in Barbados and that diabetes Barbados has earned the title ‘amputation capital of the world, but surely there is more to medicine than NCD’S and Diabetes.
    You decide to what end that we ” marginally extend the lives of the very sick.”

21. Simple Simon | December 15, 2012 at 8:09 PM |
    @Sargeant “Anyone wants to bet that the NRA will say if a teacher had a gun he/she would be able to take out the killer before he took so many lives?”
    ………………………………………………………………………………
    Don’t always work out that way. During the Aden Campaign , the friendly Aden Police and some British soldiers, were sharing an army shooting range.Obviously both parties were fully armed. The Aden police after receiving a message from their colleague in town, turned their guns on the British Soldiers,something we see repeating itself with the US forces in the Middle East.

22. Bush tea
    I will ignore your nonsense. I am not Zoe, who will succumb to your harrange. i am not going to get hypertension in response to your bovine excrement. When I come on BU, I usually come to be serious except for when I am obviously joking

23. so bush tea the campus trend tragedy was all due in part to Karma. yuh such an idjiot .

24. Strange how we apply “karma”, when the fickle hand of fate reaches out and touches some countries it is called “karma”. Does ‘‘karma”’ apply only to premeditated acts? Do “Acts of God” come under Karma’s umbrella or are some Nations plain unlucky? Some religious folk will say that some countries are being punished by an Omnipotent being when catastrophe strikes. “Karma” better keep away from Haiti; Rwanda et al those people didn’t do anything to merit your attention.

25. The subject is a timely one as Doctors at a Canadian hospital wants to “pull” the plug on one of their patients against the objections of his family. The case is finally being heard by the Canadian Supreme Court.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/hassan-rasoulis-end-of-life-case-in-the-hands-of-the-supreme-court/article6132597/

26. @GP

Hopefully Charles will respond to the disagreement you have re: “marginally extend” – perhaps his argument is frames with a philosophical bend.

27. @ GP
    Well we know that you are not Zoe. He does not run away when challenged. If you cannot see the point that any approach which merely seeks to diagnose illness at an EARLIER stage, AFTER the onset of the illness can only be seen as reactionary (and thus really only marginally extends life – often in an expensive and uncomfortable mode, ) then perhaps you should keep running.

TRUE MEDICINE MUST BE PREVENTIVE. It must seek to DELAY and PREVENT the onset of diseases, enhance full health and well being….not just react to sickness.

The major strides in preventative medicine therefore, have been made in areas like housing, community health, health education, potable water systems, sanitation etc.
    What we call “Medicine” is largely reactive, symptom assessment.

@ ac
    Obviously your better half is not yet back from Arizona….?

If you and Sargeant do not understand the concept of Karma then why not just do some reading…?

What goes up will come down
    If you plant corn, you will very likely reap corn.
    If you go good to others, it will come back to you…
    If you do shoite, the smell will hang around you

The REALITY of these basic laws have nothing to do with some “god punishing anyone….”

If you do not go to school and learn, you will grow up to be a moron…God do that?
    If you do not eat properly and exercise you will be sickly….is that the ” fickle hand of fate”?

THERE ARE CONSEQUENCES TO ACTIONS OR LACK OF ACTION. Just as there are PHYSICAL laws, there are also SPIRITUAL laws. Just because the draft is too high for some of us to grasp does not negate the REALITY.

Bushie has tried to explain for example, that just as if you leave your surroundings dirty and filthy, this can cause your children to become ill…..
    If you maintain a spiritually dirty and filthy environment (institutionalized injustice, dishonesty, fraud, bribery etc) the community will similarly become ill – with diseases like sexual deviance, effeminate men, uncontrollable children etc….

….but wunna don’t have to believe Bushie….

28. Bushtea
    You seem to think that you know everything about everything.
    Unlike Zoe (whose theology is very sound) I dont think that I have to prove that you are wrong, or react to your challenges. I just will not make the time to respond to your nonsense. I have spent most of my life in Medicine either learning, practicing and teaching and continual learning, and I know of what I speak. But I dont have to prove to you what I KNOW or what is KNOWN.

29. @ GP
    What do you mean by ” SEEM TO THINK….” You need to check with Hants… 🙂

So you spent all your life “in Medicine either learning, practicing and teaching and continual learning, and you know of what you speak”…and can’t rub two cents together to open your own business?
    …man come home do – and let Bushie give you a little grant from his petty cash to start the damn business….

Don’t you think that you should look at the RESULTS of your life’s efforts to date and assess if you are indeed on the right track?

Does your Bible not say that if you “seek FIRST the Kingdom of God …..ALL THESE THINGS will be added unto you….” …when are you expecting the additions….?
    Have you considered that you may not indeed, be seeking the correct kingdom…? How about some openminded research GP?

30. @ GP et al

While I thought my argument was presented cogently in its original form, let me try again.
    It seems we have reached a point where simple longevity trumps quality of life issues. No one will argue that regardless of age those enjoying a good quality of life should not have available to them all the medical/technological resources society can provide. It is when, at any age, disease or physical trauma rob us of those qualities which make life worth living that merely prolonging the misery and suffering not only of the individual but of those close to them as well, needs a dispassionate review.

In 1968, at the age of 18, I began what became a year-long stay in an army hospital, recovering from the wounds of war. Directly across from me was a young man of about the same age who I only ever knew as Foreman.

Foreman had lost both legs and one arm. His remaining arm had but three fingers remaining. His genitalia had been burned away and he had also been blinded. Originally his parents and wife visited regularly, though after about two months only his parents came. On the day I was finally discharged Foreman was doing what he had done the entire time: fighting every effort made to treat him, as his chance to die with dignity on the field of battle had been thwarted by the surgeons and technology which made him a “survivor”. Every treatment forced upon him was intended to ensure longevity, while at best only marginally improving his life.

In the United States Alzheimer patients who are completely unaware of their surroundings and who are incapable of caring for themselves are routinely provided medical care, inclusive of such procedures as cardiac surgery, intended, again, to ensure longevity while only marginally improving their lives.

So yes, GP, medical science can more than marginally improve longevity while at times only marginally improving the reasons for living.

31. Knighton
    I can now appreciate your comments in the light of your experience, and your explanation. My comments were made in the context of seeing things in a broader view.