Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Greg Christie was appointed Jamaica’s fourth Contractor General in 2005

The call has been made umpty times now on BU for Barbados to have a Contractor General. For those wondering what are the duties of such a noble soundingย  executive officer, in a nutshell….”to assist government in the fair advertising, soliciting, and final disbursements of contracts for services and purchase of major worth.” More detailed….

The Contractor General is given the onus to monitor the award and the implementation of government contracts with a view to ensuring that —

1. such contracts are awarded impartially and on merit;
  2. the circumstances in which each contract is awarded or, as the case may be, terminated, do not involve impropriety or irregularity;
  3. without prejudice to the functions of any public body in relation to any contract, the implementation of each such contract conforms to the terms thereof; and
  4. to monitor the grant, issue, suspension or revocation of any prescribed licence, with a view to ensuring that the circumstances of such grant, issue, suspension or revocation do not involve impropriety or irregularity and, where appropriate, to examine whether such licence is used in accordance with the terms and conditions thereof.ย  (Courtesy Jamaica’s Office of Contractor General).

If we in Barbados are serious about stamping out all forms of pandering and corruption gotten via contract negotiations by governmental officials, the office of Contractor General needs to be legislated and functioning as soon as possible. Such will assist in highlighting transparency in all governmental contract dealings and will go hand in hand with our proposed Integrity Legislation Act.

Consider for more details this link. Time for showing we are serious about going forward, is present and awaits the true Sir Lancelot. Will they step up to the plate?

155 responses to “Time for a Contractor General, Barbados”

1. @ David
    And they were voted out of office. That’s why the same should apply for the current government, if you don’t perform be gone.
    All of sudden we want to employ advanced analysis, but refused to do so for example when food prices were climbing in B’dos due to INTERNATIONAL conditions and not ‘collusion between government and distributors’ as claimed by the then opposition DLP.
    By the way, a WHITE man from Canada was responsible for driving opposition to Greenland, though a black Barbadian geologist argued the site was appropriate.

2. @enuff

Agree with you we need to change governments until the politicos understand.

3. Had there been a Contractor General…do you think the so called Land Swap could have reached the point it now is? Me thinks not…

4. I am afraid that a contractor general would be as useless as all the other independent bodies that exist in this country to protect the citizens and doing so without political interference. Before we put any new structures in place, there is a need to amend the constitution to ensure that the political directorate does not control the appointments of these independent bodies.

Let’s examine how these independent bodies perform; mind you there are only two truly independent public officials, the Ombudsman and the Auditor General but neither one has any teeth to punish wrongdoing that they discover. They report to Parliament and thereafter nothing happens with their reports.

Now we come to the other supposedly independent bodies or offices: the Director of Public Prosecutions; the service commissions; the Electoral and Boundaries Commission; and the Commissioner of Police.

To start with the last first, an appointment to the office of COP is essentially made by the Prime Minister no matter the constitutional niceties which might make it appear otherwise. Therefore any police officer who is aspiring to advance in the force would do well to stay on the good side of the politicians. That would entail looking the other way at times. Rich people and people with political connections don’t see the inside of a jail cell. You should be able to recall the recent debacle over the appointment of some senior officers. The Police Service Commission was made to appear compromised in their dealings.

If the process leading up to the appointment is tainted, that would spell trouble for the DPP since his office does not have independent investigators but rely on the compromised police to investigate before he can institute criminal proceedings.

The other service commissions always end up recommending the candidate with ruling party support to most public service jobs. I don’t know independent that makes the commissions look.

Finally the Electoral and Boundaries Commission, or rather the gerrymandering commission. The majority of their members is appointed by the PM and in my experience it usually consists of political operatives who hold a straight face and pretend to be independent. They are responsible for holding free and fair elections, what a joke!!

5. David “Agree with you we need to change governments until the politicos understand.”

Understand what David? Except for the few who are han to mout when they are elected they are happy to rejoin their “professions especially the lawyers.

To besides 5 years in government is enough time to advance ones personal well being. Especially effin yuh have frens dat can fast track like de canadians.

6. Why are we so critical of our system of governance now? Has it not worked for us all these years?

7. @Hants

Maybe until the political yardfowls are awaken then.

8. I a Capitalist system we are valued by our ability to amass wealth.

Political office is a high value target.

Have you seen recent videos of Owing frothing like a rabid dog to get back in power?

90% of them are in it for the power and “opportunities”.

9. ‘Had there been a Contractor Generalโ€ฆdo you think the so called Land Swap could have reached the point it now is? Me thinks not”
    WHY NOT? WHO HOLDS THE LAST WORD UNDER OUR SYSTEM OF GOVERNANCE IN HIGH PROFILE APPOINTMENTS SUCH AS THESE? WHO WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR APPOINTING THE CONTRACTOR-GENERAL IN CONSULTTION WITH WHOM? THE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES IN PLACE FOR THE PROCUREMENT OF GOODS AND DISPENSING OF CONTRACTS IN THE ADMINISTRATION OF PUBLIC SERVICES IN BARBADOS IS SECOND TO NONE AND WORKED WELL PRIOR TO THE PROLIFERATIONOF STATUTORY BOARDS IN BARBADOS AND THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE 1974 CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT WHICH PLACED ENORMOUS POWER IN ALL ASPECTS POF PUBLIC SERVICE ADMINISTRATION IN THE HANDS OF THE POLITICIAN. POLTICAL INTERFERNCE OBVIOUSLY INDIRECTLY IS WHERE THE PROBLEM LIES AND THE SYSTEM RUBBER STAMPS IT OLE ONIONS.

10. “Letโ€™s examine how these independent bodies perform; mind you there are only two truly independent public officials, the Ombudsman and the Auditor General but neither one has any teeth to punish wrongdoing that they discover. They report to Parliament and thereafter nothing happens with their reports”

For clarification, Bro Cas, i have never come across in my research any jurisdiction where the Auditor-General was so independently armed to bring to justice persons found in his opinion to be committing irregularities in the accounting for Government monies or property.. The independence of the Auditor-General lies in his having the freedom to perform his duties freely and to report irregularities in all forms where serious to the Director of Finance and Planning.

11. Hi millertheanunnaki September 22, 2012 @ 5:42PM

Like some who give similar replays, you are still fighting the last election – 2008 – that is past, finished, the votes were counted. . . move on.

The DLP is in government, state what the BLP will do if they form the next Administration. The DLP cannot steal their ideas not in the short time available before the election is called.
    Negative politics rarely wins elections, the electorate needs uplifting.

It is for those whose intention it is to govern, to show how the present administration is incompetent, when judged beside what they hope to do if elected. Failing to do that with random criticism will not cut it, the electorate expects more . . . . where is the coconut in the turnover?
    _ _ _ _ _ _
    Hi old onion bags
    Of all the reasons you have given as to why the BLP were defeated. You have failed to give the most IMPORTANT. That is there was a “perception” that gained currency as the election grew near that something was not quite right with the ADMINISTRATION. It could have been “just rumours”, but that was the reality.
    _ _ _ _ _ _
    Hi Enuff September 22, 2012 @ 5:42PM
    Please explain further, I do not understand your question.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Yardbroom | September 23, 2012 at 6:22 AM |
    “Like some who give similar replays, you are still fighting the last election โ€“ 2008 โ€“ that is past, finished, the votes were counted. . . move on.”

And you have the unmitigated gall to tell us that? What the hell are we hearing?
    Don’t you think your advice would be more appropriately aimed at Ac and her troupe of senile โ€˜yesโ€™ monkeys with only long-term memory of 14 years of OSA & BLP misrule and corruption?

I would much prefer to keep comparing the DLP promises made in their 2008 manifesto with their performances during the last 4.5 years of a Parliamentary term still not completed. Isnโ€™t that what effective performance evaluation is all about and what the electorate will be judging the DLP against?
    You need to aim your advice at Chris Sinkcler, Dennis Kellman, John Boyce, Physical Deficit and thee rest of jokers who blame everything going wrong in Barbados on the BLP 14 years of management. It is these incompetents that must put the 14 years of the past behind them and get on with the task in hand. They need to follow the advice given to them by the previous GG when the current PM was sworn in: โ€˜Girdle your loins and get on with the jobโ€™.

Why should the BLP come up with concrete proposals at this stage? Wait on their BLP manifesto or look back at their 2008. If you canโ€™t wait then call them bluff and advise the DLP to call elections to catch them off-guard. A tactic that any shrewd leader would have done in 2011 when thee economy was not in so much of a bad shape and the BLP were more vulnerable and still hurting from the MIA/ OSA split.

The DLP have allowed their incompetence and insipid visionless leadership to exacerbate the underlying cancer of infighting to surface simmering to erupt like a political volcano.

We all know the โ€˜yellowโ€™ colour of your broom. We will not be surprised if you as usual sweep this issue behind the pigpen in the yard hoping it would blend in with the filth and odour emanating from George St.

13. @miller

Agree with your thesis in the main. Where the DLP has faltered is by ignoring the importance of communicating to the electorate how the prevailing economic challenges has affected their plans in a structured/coherent way. That message along with implementing iniatives which require little budget would have gone a long way. As stated on BU repeatedly unless a minister is spending money there is a sense the task is not important.Imagine we have the largest cabinet in history!

Since Thompson died the promise to communicate to Barbadians went out the door, a BIG mistake. If continued it could have been used to demonstrate how this government tried to be different.

14. @ Caswell
    “there is a need to amend the constitution to ensure that the political directorate does not control the appointments of these independent bodies.”
    Great point……well a true Sir Lancelot …if really serious will have to move in this direction as well……no shortcomings…
    I always came along hearing “Rome was not built in a day.”I also know that the the first step made on the ladder is always the most important step in reaching one’s GOAL.
    Now to indulge the ole man with lil latitude….I do recall when I got my first second hand 6ft casting net from Harold Neblett fisherman of Speighstwown….In the beginning young Gibber made many a toss at red-ears big schools only to watch the net not open or fall short …and all the fish laugh and run away…Nowadays when great great great gran children red-ears see the old moses skulling (crawling)up on them, they duz don’t hang around….or do so at their own risk. Though many nets have changed thru these hands since then…skills have been acquired with the passage of time, and now have already passed on to second even third generation casters….the fish too, they have passed on information, thru those that got away…..don’t play round wid a casting net ….as it was in the beginning.

15. and yes miller what did the BLP did in fourteen years to implement plans that would save the average household millions of dollars in electric costs . tell me miller all about the past govt plans for energy and what they did and what about their touted plans to restruct the agriculture industry in fourteen years which never happened tell me miller all of what is happening now in the area of energy and the plans and policies introduce in the past budget sthat the DLP has outlined and planned to implement putting focus on much needed and long overdue projects which would save the barbadian household million of dollars in electric cost this is a big plus for the barbados economy which in long term would save the economy millions of dollars never mind you miller would like to dismiss it as nothing after 14years of having a BLP govt do little or nothing about high energy cost which continue to spiral out of control under the leadership of OSA.

16. slip some money into the ministers off shoe bank account and the job is yours !
    what you all dreaming again.
    any country run by blacks is all about corruption.
    enjoy your thieving selves.

17. @ Hi Yardbroom….sayin
    Hi old onion bags
    Of all the reasons you have given as to why the BLP were defeated. You have failed to give the most IMPORTANT. That is there was a โ€œperceptionโ€ that gained currency as the election grew near that something was not quite right with the ADMINISTRATION. It could have been โ€œjust rumoursโ€, but that was the reality.
    Spot on again !… (if only ac can’t learn from your methodology and reasoning)…..but that currency has DEVALUED real fast…I believe now, worthless ( except for those like ac who refuse to see) with the advent of CLICO and a Deloitte Judicial Managers’ Report. Now how can one now punch up on a BIG SCREEN nonchalantly,… a cheque for $75,000 when the opposition has some totaling millions upon millions….. and big hard arse proof like Land Rovers ,Jaguars and top of the line Audi purchased with true audaciousness of a Mayan Cache…saying “not even a $1,000 charge on me you can’t make stick? Eyes have been OPENED since those times Yardie……sudden distancing of friends too….surely now new perceptions are WIP (works in progress)……some like Wickham call it SWING.

18. Harry you ent leff yet? Please carry yuh red arse from bout here!

19. miller the question is “Who got the best plan for the FUTURE” and right now the BLP HAS NONE . So far the DLP has shown their ability to seriously and aggressively attacked High Energy cost.tackled the burdensome and cumbersome albatoss left behind.by the BLP like AX and Barrack and CLICO.getting them out of the way so that in in the next four years they can redirect and focus all their attention to the growing needs and concern of an economy left in disarray by the last BLP govt. the govt is in the right track in their effort to rebuild and reconstruct an economy which was left to on its own to run into disarray fueled by mismangemant and vodoo economics which has come back to bite the taxpayers in the proverbial ars.. and should not be distracted by malcontents and measly mouthed self serving people like miller and onions

20. Imagine in today’s sunday paper…..an offering of $60 Million for a (close to by now) $ 80 Million debt…..Will these LAUGHS never stop ???…seems like somebody been reading BU and went hod shod thru the listing of blunders…..whaaloss…Truth be known Brudda Barrak….just like the ‘promise of June’….lol

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 23, 2012 at 7:39 AM |

Yarbroom, you see where your broom needs to be used. Yes, in ac’s cobweb spider brain. Still can’t get past 2008. Still spinning and weaving lies from 1994 to 2007.
    So next time make sure you sweep clean by removing the filth in acโ€™s rat corner before looking in the pristine mill for chaff.

22. David | September 23, 2012 at 12:09 AM |
    Why are we so critical of our system of governance now? Has it not worked for us all these years?…….

No it has not. It’s a system that is divisive, disadvantage to the poor and illiterate, encourages “Den of Thieves” in the upper class and civil services and disproportionately allocate economic benefit and development across the island.
    Isn’t this Barbados where all people should be working for the betterment of the island and seeing tangible benefits, yet a few who call the poor and illiterate masses out in the dew night after night to feed them their poison of division and hatred are living like kings and lords looking after their interest and that of their “holy circle”.
    Why should St. Lucy, St.John , St. Andrew and St. Joseph be so impoverish and underdeveloped lacking so much basic thing over these near 50 years of independence while the rest of the island is all allocated the economic benefit derived from the sweat and blood contribution from residents from these Parishes that are neglected
    This system of government has failed and is continue to fail the people in economic benefits spread across the island, in fair justice for all and not a selected few, in common community spirit instead of the divisive and warmongering rhetoric at nightfall and of course in education, where instead of an educated nation (which so many like to boast about), there is a nation where wool can easily be pull over there eyes and given a 6 for a 9
    A country with a dysfunctional system of government is NOT for the majority, history has always shown this to so
    You Have A Voting Voice ,,,,,and
    YOU ALSO HAVE A VOICE NOT TO VOTE SHOW YOUR DISSATISFACTION WITH OTHER PARTIES

IT”S YOUR CHOICE…..exercise it how you wish

23. @ ac Miller
    Back in the days of sitting in on interviews of new employees…..one of the questions we used to ask them was..”Given the fictitious opportunity, which would you prefer to be 1.a mighty river…2. an insignificant boulder on the bank..or 3. a spiraling oak tree also on the bank of the river…..AND WHY?”. I would love for ac to answer this one in all honesty, if I may be so forward. I will also.

Ps: all answers are good ones.

24. There are few White people who are now contributing to the blogs, but of all the White people in Barbados BU had to attract the most bigoted …? (I better hush because I is a bit of a bigot myself … Oh Gad suppose I did White, wunna would got to put me a jail … HA HA HA)

Caswell

The Contractor general would not be reporting on anything that would need teeth to follow up on, he would actually be making the decision. Now that is teeth. Now I am pretty sure that what happens in Jamaica is far from ideal, since lawyers and others who could make a living with Government contracts still clamor to hold office, BUT if we got an import, perhaps one that people like Harry or Guppy Lizard or Blue Eyes could point out, we might stand a better chance of doing it right … Wah you say …?

25. Barum Bailey BIG TOP Circus
    Presents :Ossie Moore Paradeโ€ฆ..
    Featuring Bare Blunders Extraordinaireโ€ฆ.
    1. Land for DUMP swap.
    2. UWI back pedalโ€ฆ.$150 Mil reconnection
    3.Blackette owning up about false Manifesto promises given.
    4.AG. back pedal on overly taking of NIS ded.
    5. Kellman plans to re-activate manuf. in 8 months.
    6. Alexandra fiasco (WIP)..in huff stages
    7.Deloitte missing documentโ€ฆdrop off
    8. MOF plan to payoff Barrack by June 2012
    9.Gymnasium fiasco with the ambassador from China.
    10.Redjet unkept promise..leading to demise
    11. The Myrie mandingo handling
    12. Catastrophe Fund non functioning
    13.NIS Fund bail bonds
    14.$120 Mil Bounced VAT Cheq.
    15. Recalled Legis. to make all Directors liable…oops
    16. Four Seasons concrete vines jungle.
    17.A walk-over to replace fly overs…..wait?
    18.MOF plan to payoff Barrack in Sept (again?)

26. Contractor General, new political party, constituency councils etc…nothing will change unless the persons elected/selected are of good character nothing will change…nada!

27. @enuff

You have been making this point like a stuck record and you are correct. Nothing replaces collaboration which add value to the agenda. But we all have a role to play. hopefully the interactions here can help to galvanize many into action.

28. The unethical Nation newspaper strikes again. BU posted the BWA Letter first which we also posted to Facebook. Of course the Sunday Sun quotes Facebook as its source without mentioning names. Kaymar, you start bad you will end bad. No journalistic integrity!

29. @ yardbroom
    Yes I asked how should they have laid a foundation, consolidated, left surplus forex and no debt?
    You should also tell us what did the BLP left besides the usually mentioned unemployment rate and forex.

30. @ Enuff
    I think what this thread is mostly about…to show that there is a need FIRST for the STRUCTURE….then your part…FILLING with one of character….think Caswell could meet the requirements …what do you say ?

31. Here is a perfect example (note the decision makers). Was the job even advertised?

SUN, SEPTEMBER 23, 2012 – 12:07 AM

A High Court is being asked to block the appointment of a Crown Counsel in the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP). In an unprecedented legal development, attorney at law Elwood Watts, who acted as Crown Counsel in the DPPโ€™s office for the past six years, is seeking an injunction against the Judicial and Legal Services Commission, chaired by Chief Justice Marston Gibson and includes Appeal Court Justice Sandra Mason and High Court Justice Maureen Crane-Scott.

Attorney at law Alison Burke, who was recently admitted to the Bar, was to take up the permanent appointment as Crown Counsel effective September 1. But in his court filings challenging the decision of the Judicial and Legal Services Commission to ratify Burkeโ€™s appointment, Watts has complained that the position of Crown Counsel was never advertised as required by law.

As a result, the former police sergeant who has been on secondment to the DPPโ€™s office, said he never had a chance to secure the appointment.
    Reports indicated that Burke, who was attached to the Ministry of Health as a staff nurse prior to her appointment, never had any experience in court proceedings. A date is to be set for hearing of the injunction.

32. Harold Hoyte does a good job today in the Sun to narrow PM Stuart’s election date option, December 6!

33. We all spending too much time on this date now….Basing on past indicators, and Caswell Stuart flying the kite til D baller….what the hell (good reason) for,.. we all don’t know……I personally wish he would pull the hand grenade pin …..end of nxt month as it is most logical…not bustering Christmas….

34. Hi millertheanunnaki, September 23, 2012 @7:14AM

. . . . “If you can’t wait then call them bluff and advise the DLP to call elections to catch them off-guard”. . .

I can wait, it matters not, but am I to believe that you the shrewd operator that you are, will give advice that is of benefit to the DLP Administration. The fact that you and others have so advised is reason enough NOT to call a general election. . . and it will not be called until they – the DLP – decide the time is right.

If you are so confident of victory tarry awhile your/The BLP’s manifesto will be published – no doubt all is ready and just waiting for the bell, and you will be assured of victory!!! but you don’t seem that confident to me.
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _
    @ David (BU)
    I believe it is important to communicate, but there is a difference between communicating and “effective communication”. We have become accustomed to a Prime Minister popping up after every cock-fight in a sort of one man show.

When the Prime Minister speaks it should be of “major” import which will be listened to. He has a Cabinet of Ministers who have delegated responsibilities through their ministries. We have allowed a system which has down-graded the status of a Minister of Government. This means everyone wants to speak to the Prime Minister in the belief this is the only way for things to happen.

It is not the best way to manage human resources.

35. @Yardbroom

If the PM wants to change the mode of communication as far as how it has historically been delivered he should have called election last January. He does not have the wriggle room to unfreeze the expectation of the public at this eleventh hour.

36. Good Suggestion — more ineffective bureaucracy for the poor taxpayers to support, flushing the toilet into the SUCK WELL would be more effective if not environmentally sound.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Yardbroom | September 23, 2012 at 10:47 AM |
    “The fact that you and others have so advised is reason enough NOT to call a general election and it will not be called until they โ€“ the DLP โ€“ decide the time is right.”

We are not advising the DLP to call elections, we are challenging them to call and let the electorate decide whom they want to carry this country forward in 2013. The same way you want the electorate to tarry awhile to see what the other side has on offer we would suggest to you to advise your party to stop making things worse for themselves. A repeat of 1998/99 is not what the electorate currently has in mind but can result in a similar outcome if the present path is threaded without heeding the warnings and reading the smoke signals from the populace. They are NOT happy with your style of governance and performance.

Your arrogance will be your undoing. The DLP has up to January 2013 to decide. Any time beyond that would make you guys look like a bunch of insecure and vacillating bunch of idiots totally indifferent and insensitive to the realities on the ground.

We, the electorate, can wait. The longer your delay the worse will be the chances of being elected given what is ahead of us in the fiscal and forex outcomes for the third and fourth quarters of 2012.

As the old people used to say: โ€˜Ya can hide and buy land but ya canโ€™t hide and wuk itโ€™!
    Time is certainly longer than twine and both the electorate and BLP have much on their hands, (time that is) unlike you.

38. Man Miller,
    Stuart got certain men real frighten ya…..Ya mean they got to hold meetings in Constituency Offices….what D hell is going on? SOMETHING IS IN THE MIX…as they not mixing…….what is going on DLP ? Something smells like Oistins……WHAT ?

39. @ David (BU)

Perhaps you are right, it could also be that we think a general election will solve all our problems. . . it will not.

We expect immediate rebuttals to every statement from the other Party. May I suggest we need logical strategic thinking with a view as to how our actions will be manifest in the “long term”.
    Then what does Yardbroom know, not much, as old onion bags is always quick to inform.

40. Be fair Sir Lancelot…I never said such a thing……..I never attempt to belittle a friend…..but a knave….that’s different. esp. of the dirty type….

41. @Yardbroom

The point here is that he would have had more TIME/mandate to oversee the different way of managing he proposes which up to now remains uncomfortable for many.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Yardbroom | September 23, 2012 at 12:11 PM |
    “it could also be that we think a general election will solve all our problems. . . it will not.”

It certainly will NOT solve all our problems. Neither did the 2008 elections. What it will do is to give the winning party a clear mandate to implement the much needed changes and restructuring to our economy and social institutions to save this country from going the way of Guyana and Jamaica as in earlier times. We do not want to become a banana republic in just 7 short years.
    Whichever party wins the medicines will be the same. The question is:
    Do we trust a non-Barrow type DLP quack of recent vintage or a BLP physician? Both track records speak for themselves. The decision is that of the electorate!

43. Hi old onion bags
    A “common knave”, I am hurt, ha ha.
    – – – – –
    @ David (BU)
    I dare to predict, the general election result will be closer than many believe. We will see.

44. QUOTE———–
    The law: Section 61:3 of the Barbados Constitution sets out โ€œsubject to the provisions of Subsection (4), Parliament, unless sooner dissolved, shall continue for five years from the date of its first sitting after any dissolution and shall then stand dissolvedโ€.

(The exception in Subsection 4 deals with the condition on which Parliament may sit beyond the five-year limit โ€“ that is โ€œat any time when Barbados is at warโ€.)
    ————————————-END QUOTE

The above quote is from a column by mealy mouthed Harold Hoyte who is one of those anti-Owen Arthur mealy mouthed deceitful ‘persons’ who were opposed to Owen getting 4 terms .
    I reference the quote because I am convinced that there is nothing in the Constitution that says that Prime Minister Stuart has to call elections. There is nothing definitive and all is left up to interpretation. Stuart can argue that Barbados is at war , he may even argue that the DLP is at war and if he reasons that the DLP owns Barbados he might reason that Barbados is at War.

One thing indicated by mealy mouthed Harold Hoyte’s column is that we dont know what kind of man Freundel Stuart really is. Mealy mouthed Harold Hoyte suggested December 6 as election day. Mealy mouthed Harold Hoyte should really shut up. He talked enough shite leading to the 2008 election and I will not forget his crap.

Stuart is not going to call no elections in December because Stuart wants to spend Xmas at Ilaro Court where he can have sleepful nights, fantasize about sucking bubbies until the nipples are sore and ignore reading reports , this would include the AX report which might very well not reach him,
    ———————
    On another note , Hallam King says that the AX -COI was a waste.
    I said the same thing weeks ago and yeaterday I said it again. Either King is reading BU and seeing my comments or Hallam King is a mind reader

45. The Independence Forum of Barbados is compiling a list of infelicities by governments for the past thirty years as uncovered by the Auditor General . In alphabetical order lets begin with the BLP.
    ac, clone, bushie et al dont be shy. All now onion rushing down to Roebuck Street to commence shredding and dig up dirt on the Dees.

46. Kamla is firing ministers left right and centre (center) depending on your spelling-English or American English.
    Freundel cant even reshuffle the Cabinet —JOKER !!!!!

47. @ Yardie
    My gran mudda did always warn to watch out for strange ….fowl cocks that comes into the yard to eat our yard bird’s scare corn ……she also told us if I shud hold one …..to brek it neck quick and bring it inside to cook (as times were mostly hard)….see that strange bird one Trapper dat now fly over D palin….lemme get 2 big rocks quix…..that is a knave….. Yardie you causing me distress now….You and check-it are two of the most gentlemanly gentlemen I have met ever online…and that’s gospel. Just dat you BOTH backin the wrong people my friend…As to Bushie, bring 3 big rocks lol…

48. I remember the times during the last administration, when persons contributed to the call-in-programmes and the blogs about supersession and other employment related grievances in the civil service, especially those supporters of the DLP.

Over the past three and one half years, we have been informed about similar cases at:

โ€ข CBC, supersession in the form of promoting Michelle Arthur, which caused strike action; and the wages review situation that is now being investigated by the BWU; as well as the Board cancelling the launch of the Socaholics fete because they chose the colour red;
    โ€ข National Sports Council, where a number of persons who recently joined that statutory corporation being promoted to senior coach, ahead of persons who were there before;
    โ€ข The Police Service Commissionsโ€™ handling of RBPF promotions and the subsequent injunction filed by those officers who were over looked for promotion;
    โ€ข National Assistance Board, where strike actions was taken by staff on a number of occasions, and more recent in protest of Home Helpers who recently joined the Board being promoted to Team Leader or Acting Supervisor, ahead of those persons who have the requisite qualifications and experience;
    โ€ข National Cultural Foundation and the autocratic leadership style of the Chairperson, Monique Taitt, which has seen the non-renewal of Donna Hunte-Coxโ€™s contract, and the prevailing tense employment situation, the non-signing of payroll cheques; someone needs to tell Taitt and all those other Board members of quasi-government organizations that the role of Chairman is to rubber stamp policy and not that of administration; there is a director and human resources officers for that purpose;
    โ€ข Transport Board โ€“ pending industrial action as a result of a number of outstanding issues; to date the only thing that these people can brag about, is the fact that the DLP is the first government to appoint a woman as general manager (check the TB website), and to date, she has done a terrible job;
    โ€ข Drainage Unit โ€“ and the lack of necessary protection that would enable the staff to work in safety;
    โ€ข Director of Public Prosecution, which has seen supersession raise its ugly head, where a new person was appointed ahead of the six year veteran and former police officer, Elwood Watts;
    โ€ข The Geriatric Hospital, which has seen a number of newly appointed temporary workers being paid their salaries ahead of those other long standing workers;
    โ€ข Summer Camps โ€“ workers not being paid for their services, and the ministerโ€™s excuse was that those persons who were selected for employment submitted โ€œnick namesโ€ to the department; if this is so, who the heck were guarding our children; usually, when persons are selected for employment, they have to submit their identification and national insurance cards, which serves to verify their identities; hence, Lasleyโ€™s comments can be dismissed as nonsense.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ JUST ASKING | September 23, 2012 at 12:31 PM |
    “On another note , Hallam King says that the AX -COI was a waste.
    I said the same thing weeks ago and yeaterday I said it again. Either King is reading BU and seeing my comments or Hallam King is a mind reader”

Stop beating your chest like a male silver back gorilla chasing away a junior male from his harem.

David BU could confirm you were not part of the early ones who saw right through this scam to put money in lawyer friends pockets.

50. YOU would have to be joking right ?
    BY the way :it is interesting that you seem to conclude that I am male.
    Leh muh tell yuh sain inspite of your view, I will beat up my chest if I want to and especially so when
    BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT

are the results of the next election whether Freundel call um in January or April 2013
    Serious !!!!