Erine Griffith,Chief Immigration Officer

The following was emailed to the Immigration Department today (20 September 2012). BU has withheld the name of the upset citizen.

I went for my pre-arranged appointment on the 20th September 2012 at 10:30am to renew my passport. I arrived on time and was asked by the Officer (a young man) at the desk to produce my documents, which included the old passport, my Barbados ID card, my British birth certificate, application and 2 pictures, he looked at my letter of Citizen of Barbados by Decent, which my dad did when I was 12 year old and asked for my certificate, I explained that I did not have that as my letter was done some 30+ years ago before electronic information ( I am now 45) and at that time the letter also has on the names of my two other siblings, he said go upstairs and get a replacement, I explained I never ever had a certificate that this is the 3rd time I have renewed my passport using the said same documents with no problems, once again he repeated to go upstairs for a replacement.ย  I refused so he got an attitude.ย  I explained I had a 10.30 appointment and told him in that case cancel my appointment and I left.ย  I called my sister who called the immigration department and spoke to a Ms. Smith the Supervisor.

I returned to the department as the Officer had not given me back the appointment letter and at the same time my sister called and Iย  was advised to go back to the immigration department and wait outside for a Ms. Smith to come to me, while on the phone getting that information the Officer was was discussing the issue, arguing with Ms. Smith who was trying to explain that he was wrong as I had the documents needed and it was not his place to make that decision as he does not have a computer at his desk and on checking she sawย  I am a citizen of Barbados and should not have been turned away and also that the Security Guard had no right getting involveย  in fact I heard Ms. Smith say ‘don’t kill the messenger’ to the same Officer. I was invited in by Ms. Smith to follow her and all the time the Officer was arguing I could hear every word he said.ย  Once inside Ms.Smith checked the letter, spoke to another Senior Officer who also apologized for the Junior Officerโ€™s behavior he saw the letter and recognized the signature of the previous Chief Immigration Office, he pulled my file and saw the same letter was inside. Ms. Smith than processed my application.

This was a Junior Officer, who was arguing with a Superior Supervisor to the extent that he told her in future he would send any body threw to the passport section.ย  This behavior is not acceptable, to treat the general public in this manner.ย ย  If he behaves like this now God forbid what will happen when he reaches (if he reaches) senior status.ย  He needs to be trained in manners and I would suggest a computer at the desk so that the Officer can check the details on arrival and for information sought by the public.

1. “… and I would suggest a computer at the desk so that the Officer can check the details on arrival and for information sought by the public.

They’ll only use it to update their Facebook status.

2. It is individuals like this junior officer that gives this department and other businesses a bad name.

This officer should be disciplined so that other officers know that type of behavior is not or will not be tolerated.

3. Perhaps Caswell will suggest how such the junior officer should be dealt with by supervisors.

4. TomDooley Hangs Down His Head Avatar
    TomDooley Hangs Down His Head

There is too much lax of customer service that is overlook in the workforce. If those in authority don’t buckle down and fix it, barbados is going to face some embarrassing moments by those who represent and act on its behalf.

Are these some of the same people who expect good service when the shoe is on the other foot?

5. @Opinionated: “This officer should be disciplined so that other officers know that type of behavior is not or will not be tolerated.

The problem is systemic.

I myself have sat in that waiting room. I was advised to bring a book. An hour later I was told to enter one of the interview rooms. I continued to read, but also observed through the thin window the officer I eventually met with joke with his colleges with his feet literally on the desk in front of him.

No computer was to be found….

6. And tell me the security guard had to get in the fray as well! I would send that officer on leave without pay! But then again we are dealing with the untouchables. The security guard will be sent to another location asap. Percy the pig was indeed there!

7. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

When I first saw the name Ms. Smith, I said, finally she will get things sorted. I do not know Ms. Smith personally except having dealt with her in having my passport renewed when there was a shortage of passports. The lady is a professional, approachable, and polite worker that does a very efficient job. I surely wish many more public workers operated like her.

8. One would think that government employees would act with a little more decorum. Come on people.

Let me ask… Does employees, in this case government, get additional training beyond the job process, or refresher’s training; that is customer service which includes effective listening and communication.

9. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

@ name withheld

I have first to say I know the immigration officer that you are speaking about. I don’t think that you are going to get any satisfaction from anyone at the immigration department because the said employee is very famous and even has an effigy put if in his honour out by the constitution river between the globe and the hospital – yes Percy the fu#king Pig

As you traverse the public service you will find a lot of Percy ‘s family in important positions yes as the security guard or receptionist you are going to meet Anita the boar sow his cousin and Darcy the old hog not to. E confused with Darcy de ole whore at the other ministry.

At twenty years short of a visit from de governor general I would advise you to do what I does do when I goes into dese departments at de end uh de month, fortify yourself wid four swigs of Alleyne Arthur dat is if de udder fellow Oh Arfur ent get to dem bottles befo you whichin once he apply he lips to dat bottle it all ovah I betcha you din used to notice dem six police men who used to prop he up when he was prime monster and had was to Mek speeches pun tall platforms man if it din fuh de six uh dem menses man many nights he wudda fall down befo he get to spit en slobber he golfballs all ovah de microphone!

Remember what I tell you fortify yourself cause if you expect dat Ermine Griffuth uman to come out en apologize fuh Percy de pig you could as well expect Freindy to resign de DLP leadership en give de DLP party a fighting chance. On de occassions when all de libations get consume by OSA I does employ annuder remedy – voltaren on de family jewels – dem does bun like hell but de end results is balls uh steel to wifstan all dem boar sows dat is called public servants.

You gine have a problem effi you is my alabaster white female friend from south Africa via Yorkshire via Dubai causing conjones

10. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

@ name withheld

I have first to say I know the immigration officer that you are speaking about. I don’t think that you are going to get any satisfaction from anyone at the immigration department because the said employee is very famous and even has an effigy put if in his honour out by the constitution river between the globe and the hospital – yes Percy the fu#king Pig

As you traverse the public service you will find a lot of Percy ‘s family in important positions yes as the security guard or receptionist you are going to meet Anita the boar sow his cousin and Darcy the old hog not to. E confused with Darcy de ole whore at the other ministry.

At twenty years short of a visit from de governor general I would advise you to do what I does do when I goes into dese departments at de end uh de month, fortify yourself wid four swigs of Alleyne Arthur dat is if de udder fellow Oh Arfur ent get to dem bottles befo you whichin once he apply he lips to dat bottle it all ovah I betcha you din used to notice dem six police men who used to prop he up when he was prime monster and had was to Mek speeches pun tall platforms man if it din fuh de six uh dem menses man many nights he wudda fall down befo he get to spit en slobber he golfballs all ovah de microphone!

Remember what I tell you fortify yourself cause if you expect dat Ermine Griffuth uman to come out en apologize fuh Percy de pig you could as well expect Freindy to resign de DLP leadership en give de DLP party a fighting chance. On de occassions when all de libations get consume by OSA I does employ annuder remedy – voltaren on de family jewels – dem does bun like hell but de end results is balls uh steel to wifstan all dem boar sows dat is called public servants.

You gine have a problem effi you is my alabaster white female friend from south Africa via Yorkshire via Dubai causing conjones is not a female appendage unless you buy it at de same place dat *** does shop

11. Public sector workers do not give a hoot about what you think about the service they are providing because there is zero consequence for those who provide bad service.

12. @Upset citizen “he looked at my letter of Citizen of Barbados by Decent, …and asked for my certificate, I explained that I did not have that …he said go upstairs and get a replacement,… I refused so he got an attitude. I explained I had a 10.30 appointment and told him in that case cancel my appointment and I left. I called my sister who called the immigration department and spoke to a Ms. Smith the Supervisor.

In this case while the immigration clerk should have instructed the citizen to go upstairs and get a certificate of citizenship by descent (and not a replacement) the citizen escalated the encounter by “refusing” the clerk’s instructions.

After that all hell break loose.

I wonder if I can offer to do some training for government.

Even while employees should always be polite, citizens should not escalate disputes.

13. And of course Immigration clerks, and officers should not be hostile to those Barbadians born outside of Barbados.

NONE OF US GET TO CHOOSE OUR PLACE OF BIRTH.

But some of us chose to become Barbadians.

14. Simple Simon ….And? They are even rude to the citizens born here…and pray tell what kind of training will you give?

15. @Simple Simon
    And of course Immigration clerks, and officers should not be hostile to those Barbadians born outside of Barbados

How about those that live elsewhere? I recall that you made some very strident comments about them back in the day when you blogged under another name.

16. YOU -THE WRITER OF THIS POST –
    You should have been drawn and quartered, How come you refuse the orders to go upstairs. Man you should have been given three hard slaps and kicked upstairs,

17. John, Sept 20, 2012 @8:41
    “Public sector workers do not give a hoot about what you think…..” Very true!
    That;s the main reason why there is so much criticism of public sector workers in most or all public departments.
    The saying is that many of those workers got to that position because of ‘who they know’ and not because they are qualified for that post.
    Things will never change as long as the above remains the norm.
    Who can one complain to; his political buddy, his friend, his aunt/uncle?
    .When one enters a government building, one gets a feeling as if, ‘why have you come here to disturb me?’
    Many seemed to have not got a clue as how to deal with the public.
    To The Author of the Post:
    “……… and on checking she saw I am a citizen of Barbados…….”
    just spare a thought for those who are not citizens.
    I am familiar with people who were recipients of some unsavoury behaviour from the immigration office, which have brought some people to ‘tears’. Forms cannot be found; an arranged appointments not being met; waiting for very long hours before one can see the person he should see although the appointment was prearranged; then being told the person has gone home.
    How would this problem and others be delt with?
    Move him/her to another department or left to administer the same treatment to the next person.

18. Dear Sarge and island gal:

Let me rephrase “Immigration clerks should not be rude to anybody”

Let me be even clearer “Nobody in the world should ever be rude to anybody else.”

Ok

19. But since people are human, and humans are weak and rudeness happens, we ALL should try to decelerate the conflict when we run into Percy the pig, or Harriet the Hog, or Bernard the boar, or Stacey the swine.

That’s all I was trying to say. I wasn’t trying to justify rudeness, or stupidity.

20. What would I teach.

Oh boy!!!!!!!!!!!

In 40 or more years of work serving the public in several different countries, there has never been a complaint made about me.

So I think that I have it justright

21. My letter has served me to get both my barbados ID card, NIS card as well as driving licence and BARBADOS PASSPORT both new and renwal. Why would I want to pay $200 for a certificate when I have this offical letter sent to my father by the Barbdos Government some 30+ years ago???????

22. @Denise

Thanks for sharing your story, it is the only way our rotting system has a chance to get better. Service in the country as a whole is a challenge and especially so in the public service where performance is not properly evaluated and when it is appropriate action is not taken for one irrelevant reason or the other.

23. Ahhh!!!!!!!! so it is about the $200 why didn’t you say so in your original submission.

However unless the law says you must get a certificate, and I don’t know what is the law on this, the clerk had no business trying to force youto get one.

24. In the Tom Adams time that immigration officer with his Percy behaviour would have been transferred to the MTW or Metal. No disrespect but that was the measure on the totem pole.

25. It is up to the Immigration to upgrade that letter to a certificate if that is the new requirement. If the letter has been the accepted form of proof for the last thirty years NO upstart clerk can override that! He is totally out of place.

I would like to know how the security guard got into the fray. Denise tell us please.

26. David if our PM can come out openly and say that he sees nothing wrong with Leroy Trotman’s description of the Diamond International director as an “Egyptian Jew” what do you expect from the civil service he employs? We have a Percy at the top so it is filtering down.

27. All of us just beating around the bush, we all know what needs to happen, but does anyone have the balls to do it.

1) immediate restructure of the Public Service

2) the creation of a Public Service Institute or college, to focus on training and other aspects

3) a disciplinary committee that actually does its JOB

28. In any decent private sector company this officer gets a note to file.

29. The Public Service is in dis-array.
    When you make such a statement there are some who will want to explain it away because they are not seeing what you are seeing. Some people see deeper than other people but these other people put stumbling blocks in the way of improvement.

In situations of chaos , there are people who benefit and these people who benefit keep the loudest noises and are heard. In this part of the world most persons who are articulate and have flowery speech are thought of as saints who can do no wrong. Most of these people are sometimes cruel and unkind, self-serving and selfish; dictatorial and despotic and end up fooling people because people like ‘sweet talk’

The Barbados Public Service is in Crisis and the Ministry of the Civil Service and PAD -(Personnel Administration Department) got um so !

30. If you all think this is bad……why just consider the young lady who fell from City Mall recently. How you think her family felt. I understand one of them wanted to take their child by car to the hospital but was prevented…only to standby and watch the inevitable.What happens in incidents like this when death or deaths (campus trend) results from inaction……we only but hear another poorakey excuse…take it to another level and everyone know where I am at…..Boo upon BOO…its systemic.

31. I have a different perspective on this issue. Employees whether they work for the Govโ€™t or private industry are expected to deliver courteous service. The lady took her complaint up the ladder and the issue was resolved. If the Immigration Officer argued with his boss over the issue that is a matter for internal discipline.

Butโ€ฆ.. we are dealing with a 30+ year document and Govโ€™t regulations change over time, post 9-11 most countries have reviewed the requirements for documents which relate to citizenship, the onus is on the individual to provide current documents to prove citizenship. When I applied for my Barbados ID card I took my Birth & Baptismal certificate (originals) but was told those were not acceptable anymore, they had to have the certification stamp from the Registry. I complied and eventually received the ID card, but having worked at the Registry (in my salad days) I know that there was no requirement for those documents to be certified previously but times change and we must also instead of the attitude โ€œI have always done it this wayโ€, if someone made a judgement call that benefited her previously another person may not be so generous the next time.

Here is the big picture, the Canadian Govโ€™t recently imposed Visa requirements for residents of St. Vincent & the Grenadines and St. Lucia, a key reason was โ€œunreliable travel documentsโ€ which means that Sam Couchie and the Duppy who may have had criminal records were able to get passports under different names.

We may think that this is a minor incident but others are watching us and if our requirements are substandard you can be sure it will impact us negatively somewhere down the road.

32. @Sargeant

This is the Immigration Office and NOT a point of entry. The letter could have been verified as part of the process and the customer courteously advised by the officer upstairs of the current requirements.

33. @ Sarge
    Imagine I concurring wid this estoppel……mercy me onions

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ bk | September 21, 2012 at 7:18 AM |

” the creation of a Public Service Institute or college, to focus on training and other aspects”

The Public Service of Barbados since the 1970’s has always had a Training & Development Division. Many of these public sector workers especially middle and senior levels go on various courses (even overseas) as part of their career development path.
    A major expected outcome of training especially at the supervisory level is that the techniques learned and benefits acquired are filtered down to the junior levels.

The problem we have here in the wider public service is not one of training but a lack of manners, civility and basic decency that should have been taught in the home, schools and the so-called churches. Barbados has become a most uncivil place- a paradox of strange proportions when one considers the strong emphasis placed on education and religion in the society.

The nasty practice of politicising the public service has turned around and bitten us in the tail.
    It is said that people learn from and follow examples set by leaders.
    What do we expect when we have the CEO displaying examples of inertia, obfuscation, refusal to deal with urgent matters, lacking effective communication skills, protecting people from the course of justice, arrogant and dismissive of any constructive criticism or feedback and downright failure to discipline members of his management team for stark incompetence, breaches of administrative law and suspect corrupt dealings thereby perpetuating a governance atmosphere fouled by the broken promises of integrity and honesty made to the electorate who wanted the CEO & Team to make a difference and a break from the alleged sordid past.

35. Concerned Citizen Avatar

The original poster refused to โ€œgo upstairs and pay $200.00 to get a replacement certificateโ€ because the OP never had one to begin with. If the Barbados Immigration office now requires the letter to be replaced by a certificate, they should issue one free of cost, and if THAT one is lost, then a new one must be issued at a cost to the citizen.. The OP refused because she HAD the original documents that had served her well all of the years she had been through this process. done and done.. and if a junior ranking member of the civil service was arguing with a senior member of the civil service, some type of actions should be taken against the junior officer.. a letter placed on file, in the case of this happening again, etc.. but.. as said somewhere earlier.. get your foot in the door, it seems to not matter what you do once you are in, you donโ€™t get out, no matter what you do.. Shameful

36. We (Barbadians) over analyse too much. Maybe because of our vaunted intelligence fuelled by half billion annually in spend on education. Even if the junior office is correct in his interpretation of what is required, it is the how. No excuses for the how in this case and this is the point!

37. Islandgal2476……. Mr. Security Guard became involved because Mr. Percy Pig (junior officer) left the desk and on my return was not there initially. When Percy returned he was discussing the issue with his superior and turned to the guard and said ” am i not telling the truth’ to which Mr. Guard took it on himself to become involved, bearing in mind that he was licking his mouth with another employee at the time of my exchange with Percy. The senior made the said same statement ‘why is the security guard getting involved, he is there to do security?’ This is how people business is spread through Barbados, these people feel it is there right to get involved, but if they minded their own business at their own door step and not other people Barbados would be a better place.

38. the inconclusive immigration laws, policies and procedures leaves the door open for unscrupulousness in having immigration business facilitated professionally and often leaves one to the mercy of the immigration officer. the laws, policies and procedures under which they operate have alowed them to promote a culture that they are doing the public whom they are supposed to serve a favour and the public is indebted to them. no wonder that charges of bribery unsubstantiated or not is prevalent. clear, concise, definitive immigration policies would eliminate skulduggery to some extent.

39. WHAT is BARBADOS coming to ??
    Nobody seems to be listening
    It is fairly scary

40. If the Barbados Immigration office now requires the letter to be replaced by a certificate, they should issue one free of cost

The Barbados document is under no obligation to replace any document free of cost. It cost something to produce a document, especially a modern (we hope) tamper proof document. The cost of these documents should be borne by the people who need them.

We Bajans have become accustomed to too much freeness.

All this “freeness” is hurting (badly) those of us who pay taxes.

I rather suspect that in this case the junior officer was right, (even if a bit of a ruffian) and that senior officer simply pacified Denise.

Note that Denise withheld the bit about the $200 from us originally. She did not tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help her God.

41. “In the Tom Adams time that immigration officer with his Percy behaviour would have been transferred to the MTW or Metal. No disrespect but that was the measure on the totem pole”
    i respectfully beg to disagree david and posit that the already inadequate management practices at the immigration department were escalated by political buse during the time mr nigel barrow was in charge.

42. Simple Simon…โ€ฆ Guess you have no idea about what happens on this small rock, it is who you know not what you know. Two senior officers were involved and both said he was wrong as the document I produced was correct, bearing in mind that I have used this letter, likewise my siblings, to get my Barbados ID card and the Barbados Passport which I gave him. I only learnt about the certificate fee when after my application was processed by the Senior Officer (at her desk) and I was sent to pay and saw it written on a paper and posted on the glass at the cashier. I refuse to pay $200 for a certificate when I have the official letter from the Barbados Government. If they decided to change the rules than all those Citizen by Decent letters issued to children of Barbadian parents should be officially notified.

43. Many like you Simple Simon don’t really get it. That letter was paid for 30 years ago when the father applied for naturalization for his children. The cost at that time was around $100.00 If that letter is no longer acceptable by the same people who issued it they should upgrade it automatically without cost! Do it and send it out by post or call her to collect it. I could understand if it were lost then she would have bear the cost of replacing it.

44. Barbados is severely overpopulated ! that means no one except returning nationals or wife or husband of a born bajan [over 3 years]should be allowed to live in barbados .full stop period. it is the reason barbados is the way it is
    overpopulation and we keep letting in people especially the ones that buy their way in to contribute to our own demise.
    what are we complete jackasses.he haw

45. the queen needs to be removed as our monarch.!for one.
    screw her and all the millionaire former slave owners.
    barbados is still owned by the former slave owners.
    are you all so stupid as to let in more.
    back for a another go.
    where is the maid and the gardener today dear the toilet needs cleaning.
    well off to lime grove to buy a 1000 dress.
    too da loo.

46. @David
    This is the Immigration Office and NOT a point of entry. The letter could have been verified as part of the process and the customer courteously advised by the officer upstairs of the current requirements.
    One of the points I was making in my submission was that the letter was used as a foundation document. In this case since the applicant had a number of passports issued subsequent to the letter then common sense should dictate that the Immigration Officer proceed with the application but what if another applicant turned up with a 30 year letter as basis for securing a passport or other documentation confirming naturalization?

47. So Harry….. what am I and many other Citizens by Decent classed as in your eyes?????? I have lived and worked, paid taxes and NIS since I came here 16 years ago. We are entitled to CITIZENSHIP threw our parents. It is that type of thinking that holds BIM back, returning national, citizen by decent etc all have something to offer this island. But This is not the issue, the issues is the Percy Pig is a dam fool….full stop.

48. #vexatboublestandards Avatar
    #vexatboublestandards

It is amazing when people train persons to do a job and then double standards come about just because of who a person knows. As a worker its frustrating when you are taught a certain way to do or handle a certain situation and then you are made to look stupid because of who a person knows which means that those rules don’t apply to them.