Laurie King, Chief Education Officer

As promised BU produces the letter in its original form which the BSTU sent to the Chief Education Officer arising from a ‘secret meeting’ under his chairmanship. It does not matter how anyone tries to interpret the letter, to any competent person (counsel), the threat and inference is crystal clear. If one compares what is stated in the last paragraph of the letter attached to what was reported in the Nation today, “BSTU first vice-president Erskine Padmore said again yesterday that his members would resume work as scheduled pending the findings of the Waterman Commission Of Inquiry, set up to look into affairs at The Alexandra School.” The BU family can draw one sensible conclusion.

Can anyone explain anyway why the Chief Education Officer Laurie King held a secret meeting with the BSTU immediately following the COI – at a cost of $600,000.00 – which was expressly established to to make the AX Mess a transparent affair? Let us forget about the decision by Commissioner Waterman to hold the COI summations of counsel in camera.

BU raises AGAIN the question of conflict of interest by Keith Simmons, a member of the Public Service Commission – employer of those employed at Alexandra School – and also the chairman of the management committee of Alexandra School. When it was suggested to him by counsel that he was in conflict of interest in holding both those posts, he replied that he was not and if a conflict arose, he would recuse himself from one or the other. Why can’t he see his roles as being improper and that by holding both posts and being privy to confidential information from both, he is in conflict of interest? What manner of lawyer is entitled to wear silk in Barbados again?

• See letter sent to Chief Education Officer Parts 1,2

The other issue about the Commission of Inquiry which bears close study is to examine its remit, i.e. to investigate matters that occurred in 2011 (a) the refusal of Amaida Greaves to teach for a long period of time; (b) the letter from the Principal complaining of this; and (c) the conduct of the Principal at Speech Day. For some reason best known to Commissioner Waterman the CIO directed itself to investigate a matter since 2002 by introducing a document (transcript) which is highly suspect based on information posted by BU.

BU ask Commissioner Waterman AGAIN why has the COI not produced the transcripts for the last 7 days of the hearing, which covers the matter of interest to Bajans? The matter about which our Fourth Estate went dark. The matter which raises the occurrence of perjury.

See related link

1. @observing………Of course………………no wonder judges place gag orders you and amused and counsel or those representing broomes gives suffcient reasonand cause.suficet to say. you and amused are glaring examples for good reason

2. @ac re gag orders
    you missed one of amused’s points…
    The COI was public .

you also missed one of David’s points…

unions and persons entrusted with responsibility and power such as this have a duty to operate in a manner befitting the good people they serve and the good electorate that are 600K poorer. if files printed on soiled paper can fly off a moving vehicle and land on a BU sidewalk then that should encourage drivers of moving vehicles to always drive properly as they should do in the first place.

The truth (or at least a damned good airtight fabrication of it) will set you free!!! No need to fear.

3. @observing

and a child shall lead them…

4. @ac | September 12, 2012 at 8:26 PM. “never once did i ever infer that broomes does not deserve the best and yes the most aggressive counsel necessary. however when the BSTU does similiar all hell breaks loose by those who is supporting Broomes. and a kangroo court is set up here on BU by some of his counsel outside of my opinions i will wager a bet that no lawyer have contacted BU or any BSTU officer has asked any special privilege of presenting the teachers side through articles on BU but that shows the difference in the bstu and their professionalism , can’t say the same for broomes counsel”

I agree, ac, SHOCKING! Truly unfair. DISGRACEFUL! Let me break it down so that everyone knows how unfaired you and BSTU have been.

1. “…..never once did i ever infer that broomes does not deserve the best and yes the most aggressive counsel necessary. however when the BSTU does similiar all hell breaks loose by those who is supporting Broomes.” It is admitted that yours and your friends’ incessant anti-Broomes, pro-perjurous-old-hen-brigade harangue was not as effective as that of BU family members who came to the issue without preconception and prepared to rely on the evidence as it unfolded. Very unfair, I admit. One should always go in with an agenda and stick to it, no matter how fallacious it is shown to be.

2. “and a kangroo court is set up here on BU by some of his counsel outside of my opinions i will wager a bet that no lawyer have contacted BU or any BSTU officer has asked any special privilege of presenting the teachers side through articles on BU but that shows the difference in the bstu and their professionalism , can’t say the same for broomes counsel”. Three major bits of unfairness here:

(A) The BU Kangaroo Court requested input and information from all, regardless of agenda and bias, and it did not moderate the comments nor declare a position – it merely provided the forum for differing views and the airing of evidence. But, it was very unfair that Broomes did not rely on the Nation to accurately and fairly report his side of things – after all, we all know the Nation to be a paragon of probity, fairness and truth. Don’t we?

(B) As the COI was a public forum and not a court, no claim of sub judice or disrespect to the court could apply and it has to be pointed out that this was massively unfair as it allowed Broomes’ counsel to shine the public spotlight on matters that theretofore had been rampant rumour and innuendo and thus the BSTU was most unfairly deprived of one of its main and favourite tools…….GOSSIP!!!!;

(C) You ASSUME that Broomes’ counsel have taken up BU on its highly deplorable offer to air a public matter publicly, eschewing the gossip and innuendo tactic. And I can understand that you would wish to revert to gossip by suggesting, without foundation, that Broomes’ counsel has taken the matter to BU. I won’t embarrass you by asking for your hard evidence of this as it is not relevant (and you don’t have it anyway) but instead refer to the advice given you by Observing as, if they did, which is not admitted, it is really unfair to you and BSTU, but neither improper nor illegal.

@Observing (…) | September 12, 2012 at 9:54 PM. Beautifully put. But I would expect no less. Also loved your last comment and the way you phrased it. I missed Barbados Today. Will try to get that page. Maybe David could post a link. Am I correct in saying that the editor of Barbados Today declared a conflict of interest on the side of the BSTU? If so, then the conduct of his newspaper has been worthy of praise. Time that the Government, the Courts and all other advertisers cancelled their contracts with the Nation and handed them to Barbados Today.

@Gabriel Tackle | September 12, 2012 at 9:51 PM | May I, with great respect, state that your comment is too general and you need to specifically identify the unions that will ruin the country, starting with the BSTU. I say that because there are many fine trade unionists in Barbados who, while fighting for the rights of their members, first have a care to the country itself and its well-being. They are forward-thinking and realistic and pragmatic people. Therefore, like with lawyers, we need to not condemn them all, because of the actions and failings of some. To be even more specific, the conduct of the NUPW in this AX matter has been exemplary, would you not agree?

5. Here is the link to Barbados Today’s story. My question is from whom or what did Barbados Today obtain its copy of The Letter? Did they “mine” BU? If so, it would have been graceful to give credit.

http://news.barbadostoday.bb/2012/09/12/seeing-red/

6. No observing i recalled earlier in the inquiry that when all and sundry was commenting amused pulled out his bully whip and tried to whip those into submission as he implied that evedience given and received was similar to that of a court oflaw and people should refrain from giving opinions until all the evedience was presented .the key words “court of law” any how i wont quibble over that since at that time i knew better.but my point remains as to the lack of professionalism by broomes legal operatives

7. @amusedin reference to you last phrase in (C) “it is unfair” no it is not unfair it is “fairplay” and it is obviuos that BU with all the relevant information given it can be attributed to those representing broomes one does not have to be a rocket scientist to figure that out.

8. Back to the hastily arranged meeting post – COI. The Barbados Today article suggests the MOE/CEO has not responded to BSTU’s letter. What would King respond to say except to acknowledge receipt?

9. @David
    God bless children! regarding a response from King, it’s CLEAR that King never intended for this to be something that all those cc’s be in the loop with. The BSTU has deservedly received a middle finger and a scowl.

“my point remains as to the lack of professionalism by broomes legal operatives”

have any of the below persons acted professionally? If not, what should we do with them?
    Laurie King
    Mary REdman
    Mona Robinson
    Patrick Frost
    The entire BSTU executive
    Jeff Broomes
    Erskine Simmons
    Beverely Neblett-Lashley
    The retired secretary
    The current secretary treasurer
    Amaida Greaves
    Sophia Ifill
    Roger Broome
    Leslie Lett (re. Allman)

My unprofessional scoreboard:
    Ministry mauraders: 1
    Broomes Bombers: 2
    BSTU bombarders: 9

What’s yours?

Just observing

10. @observing there professIonlism or lack therof who be determined by findings from The COI and in no way is the same applied for the blantant disregard and rule of law which lawyers in the legal profession are aworn to abide by. even given that the COI is nota court of law lawyers are guided by rules and boundaries are set to avoid interfernce and it obvious that broomes counsel has overstepped those bounds acting through their legal operatives

11. @ ac September 13, 2012, @ 8:16AM

. . . .”and it is obvious that broomes counsel has overstepped those bounds acting through their legal operatives.”

A serious charge “ac” do you have some concrete “evidence” of this?

12. @Sargeant
    “The age of “my way or the highway” is a relic ”

But Sargeant, isn’t this exactly the attitide of the BSTU? As we have seen from recent events, there are Muslim fundamentalists who are bent on threatening the whole world if they don’t get their way. On a more minute scale, is not the BSTU taking the same attitude?

13. @Yardbroom and Peltdownman
    relevant and incisive remarks.

“there professIonlism or lack therof who be determined by findings from The COI”

So why have you condemned, criticised, crucified, characterised, chastised and criminalised Jeff Broomes from DAY ONE until now, before during and after the COI, if this is what you believe?

Just observing

14. Well Yardbroom it wouldn,t be nice of me to reveal my sources or would it?

15. @observing as a lawyer or maybe one who dabbles occasionaly in legalities my point is that when one has sworn as with those whose proffesion is within the judicial syste one should conduct themselves accordingly as subjected to rules and guidlines i as a private individual is not in anyway connected to the judicai system and therfore my conduct would only reflect my personnal views and not be subjected to the guidlines of the judicial system

16. Hi ac
    It would not; I accept in good faith.

17. @Peltdownman: “As we have seen from recent events, there are Muslim fundamentalists who are bent on threatening the whole world if they don’t get their way.

What about the fundamentalist Christians which go out of their way to incite them?

18. The fact is, and BU is in a position to speak with authority on this matter, comments have been posted by actors from all sides of this issue,,,period.

ac is clueless on this matter.

Only BU can speak to our sources.

19. @ David
    “The fact is, and BU is in a position to speak with authority on this matter, comments have been posted by actors from all sides of this issue,,,period.”
    Is this not the very point of the blog?

ac is clueless……PERIOD!

20. Only BU can speak to our sources.
    as in straight from the horses mouth.

21. bush tea
    ac is clueless …PERIOD

Thank God for the full stop. because it comes in handy when persons like bush tea has nothing to say in this case i would pefer to use the EXCLAMATION !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

22. I rest my case.

23. Just tellin Just Asking,

“the school now had ten new teachers and most of last week was spent getting on the same page. The teaching staff has gone through a notable transition since three teachers were assigned to other schools, another two retired from the teaching service, having applied to do so before the school year commenced, and two were on long leave.”

Yuh see Just Asking? just be patient and eventually…………..

doan fuget de blog belong to David doh an he callin de shots.

24. @ Hants
    To close the saga pro tempore can you state the names of the two transferred teachers and the schools to which transferred?Secondly,the names of the two retirees?

25. It looks like the NUPW is about to flex its muscle now. It is also interesting the NUPW has interpreted the ‘letter’ highlighted by BU as hostile in the current environment.

http://www.nationnews.com/index.php/articles/view/clerk-sent-on-leave/

26. T-minus one day and counting!

Remember David that this young lady is Broomes’ cousin’s girlfriend.

Interesting days ahead 🙂

Just observing

27. Well, the wait is over. The bound report was handed in to the GG today.

We wait!

28. The following appears on the BSTU website. The language makes one wonder:

The Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union has instructed (not ordered) its members of staff at the Alexandra School to resume teaching duties with immediate effect. The Union will have written all the agents of the employer superior to the Principal advising them of this decision and indicating a stated expectation that all those agents will act so as to ensure there is no victimization, recrimination or other form of work place abuse, so that the teachers can perform their professional obligations in an environment conducive to teaching and learning. The Union’s letter also cautions that if there are any lapses in the practices required by the Government, as the model employer in labour management relations, then these will be met by an appropriate response. The Union wishes to make it abundantly clear, given its professional and trade union obligations, that its decision has been made entirely in the context of all that is implicit in the public announcement by the Prime Minister to the setting up of a Commission of Enquiry into all matters at the Alexandra School. Most important of these is the expectation, in keeping with what has been best practice and following our discussion, that the Principal of that institution will be sent on leave with full pay when the warrant establishing said Commission is issued. The union shall expect therefore that the agents of the employer will prepare in advance for this. We have made this decision to return, notwithstanding the absence of certain specific and relevant details in relation to a time-frame, from a position of trust in the office of the Prime Minister and with the assurance that he will act in the best interest of that statement of policy and of this country. The resumption of work is therefore being undertaken by this trade union, yet gain, as an act of good faith in the negotiating exercise.

The Union’s membership at Alexandra is conscious of its professional commitments to students, their parents and to the school itself, a fact which was publicly recognized, on more than one occasion, by the Prime Minister. This, along with a known increase of pressure on both students and parents alike in this examination term, has also played a major role in our decision. The industrial action taken by the Union was not intended to, in anyway disadvantage the school, but to bring sobriety and sanity out of the existing irreparably fractured situation that causes pain and suffering to those there. The Union abhors the time which has been permitted to elapse before any definitive attempt has been made to address the serious problems at the school. We are fully satisfied that senior public officers and successive Public Service Commissions, responsible individually and collectively in law for the administration of employment practices at the Alexandra School, including the industrial relations aspect, have for years allowed an untenable situation first to develop and then to fester. This has occurred under successive political administrations. Nothing that the Union has done has been driven by party-political politics and we have no intention of being drawn into any party political debate and divide. The Union offers the assurance that it proposes to cooperate fully with the process of enquiry and reposes confidence in that process. We fully expect that Commission both to vindicate the teachers and to produce recommendations for the Cabinet which we expect to be enacted with the priority that has previously NOT been given to the importance of the teaching/learning environment that the teachers there have always known should exist. Moreover, as expected in such matters the Union shall respect the circumstances and shall seek to keep out of the limelight on that aspect of the issue. We are expecting that similar instruction will be given to the Principal by his employers. The members of the BSTU have, without prejudice, resumed work today, and we hereby clarify that some of our members had been released, since last week, to undertake CXC oral examinations and other duties.Regrettably, when we did this earlier it did NOT mean that the Principal would discontinue acts of discrimination, mismanagement and workplace abuse. The teachers will however continue to work professionally while awaiting the expeditious establishment of the Commission of Inquiry. In these specific circumstances, the Prime Minister has publicly recognized the difficult environment in which they work and has validated their several complaints about it. The Union is therefore expecting that the PM will, with haste, provide substance to the generalities of his policy statement to this Union and the nation.
    http://www.bstu.org/bstu_page7.html

29. David;

re. the extract from the BSTU page above, evidently partly written soon after the establishment of the COI, I can only say

WOW!!!!!!!!!!

They are actually putting in writing the claim, as we all knew from his pronouncements, that the PM had given certain assurances to BSTU, to be implemented on the setting up of the Commission.

Since they fully expected action to have been taken to have Broomes separated it begs the question was the Commission truly a mechanism to justify a fait accompli?

Does the publication of this note on their web page suggest that things are not going exactly the way they had hoped?

Can we expect that the Commissioner’s report will be even handed and just?

This blog, that suggested that the Union was rattling sabres during and after the meeting with the CEO of the MOE, seems to have been fully vindicated out of their own mouths as well as that the PM might not have been acting as a typical honest broker in this case.

WOW again!!

dat report gine be earth shaking in more ways than one.

30. I wonder if the PM will read the report or will it be stolen?

31. @checkit-out

Did you read They have “instructed (not ordered)”. What is the difference?

It would have been too much to expect in 2012 that the report would have been transferred (FTP) to a government secure server and permissions granted to those who have to read it first. Instead it has to be bound in the fine tradition of medieval times.

32. Trade unions will have to be brought under control.Teachers,transport board,disciplined services,hospital,airport and seaport staff and all those essential services must have minimum standards to meet before labour can be withdrawn.The populace must be protected from union power.It’s too big,too loose,too evasive and must be brought under control by an Industrial Act.No union will like it; there must be central control by the elected government

33. David; Re. Instructed vs ordered; As far as I am aware, the Union has no power to order teachers to do anything. Similarly they can instruct but by themselves have no power to realistically sanction the teachers if they do not follow the instructions. The words essentially have the same meaning in the context given.

Just my opinion. Caswell should have a better take on it.

Re. the modernisation of the transmission of information, what do you expect from a judge and a lawyer who often doesn’t read conventional paper documents? operating in a decadent system? I suspect that if the info was presented on the internet all the official recipients would only read it if their secretaries printed out the document.

34. @David
    @ Checkit-Out | September 21, 2012 at 10:38 PM

“Instructed” and “ordered” in this context both mean the same thing and, with respect, I certainly don’t need Casewell (or anyone else) to rule on that for me. The word this illiterate union was looking for and should have used (and there is a choice) was “requested” or “advised”. But why should they, representing as they do teachers of our young, bother to get something as mundane as language right.

I have long thought that the report from the COI was written (or at least drafted) even before the COI was convened. It seemed to me that in the course of the hearing, every effort was made by the Commissioner and the Fourth Estate to follow a pre-determined course leading to a pre-determined outcome.

It seemed to me that “spin doctors” had been involved to deal with the now critical threat of the blogs. Not the best or even professional spin doctors, of course, because officialdom still clings desperately to the myth that the blogs don’t matter and no one reads them. But this blog has been widely read and discussed by all, as it has produced documents and information carefully edited out of the newspaper reports……explosive documents and information. And only a group of people so far removed from reality that they exist in a world of fantasy could possibly imagine that the average Bajan’s instinct towards gossip has gone dormant on this issue.

Therefore, citing 3 days of holiday as the excuse, the report was delayed for 21 days. If government had wanted a believable excuse, it would have made more sense to say that the Commissioner was accustomed to the judicial delay and sloth of the bench he has so recently retired from and needed to get up to speed on how things are managed in the real world. They might even have said that the evidence was unexpected and needed more careful scrutiny before a report could be formulated. OR, the likely truth – that the report already drafted would no longer do the job and they had to re-write. But, with typical Barbados-governmental disdain for the electorate that put them into office, the government cited three days of holiday.

And I agree with David and would be most interested to know why this report was not produced in electronic form and made generally available to the PUBLIC, since this was a PUBLIC hearing, except for the totally unacceptable and disgraceful in camera hearing of closing statements. I do not believe that even counsel involved have seen the report. And I am dismayed that after a delay of three weeks to compensate for, allegedly, three days lost in holidays, we, who have paid well over $600,000 for this Commission and report and whose children and grandchildren are directly affected by this report, have no clue what this report actually says.

35. Amused;
    I agree totally with your post above.

36. “Instructed and ordered”
    There is a difference.

The gun is loaded and the safety catch is on, but you can “guess” who is in the cross-hairs. There are as many secrets yet to be told, as there are threats to be backed-up.

37. Yardbroom.
    There is a difference but in what context?
    Wonder if the report and the manner of its provenance might turn out to be designed to conceal a few secrets.

38. @checkit-out

The report cannot conceal secrets, we will find out.

39. Hi Checkit-out”,
    in “context” there is more force in ordered, as to disobey that “firm Union directive” would be to go against the Union with all that implies. In context instructed sets out the Union’s position, but there is more freedom for the individual to act.
    That is the way I see it anyhow.

40. The “conspiracy theorist” are at it again. check out……check-it-out. it

41. @Yardbroom

To discuss context, if we accept that a trade union speaks for its members in instances of industrial disputes then to instruct or order becomes immaterial.

42. Yardbroom;
    Semantically, “instructed” is just a method or conduit for relaying a directive or an order. (PS’ and Senior Public Servants do it all the time to buffer themselves from any fallout from the action implicit in the instructions – many public servants will know the phrase “I have been instructed” implying someone else made the order. Thus “instructed” is part and parcel of the ultimate action ensuing from the instruction. The instruction is therefore a necessary part of the order as the order has to be communicated to the persons carrying out the order through the instructions. Therefore the Union might be actually saying that it is only suggesting a particular action, not ordering it. It was therefore perhaps seeking to provide itself an excuse for if the Teachers went ahead with an action which it later intended to dissociate itself from.

Amused’s prescription of “advised” would have been much clearer and better and would have adequately fullfilled the Union’s objectives.

Anyhow, it really doesn’t matter very much now as it will only inform the public re. the solid and steady transigence of the union in this matter, whatever the consequences.

Will await the publication of the whole or part of the COI with great interest.

43. I expect very little , very very little from the crap . The COI was a waste of tax-payers money !
    A TOTAL WASTE !!

44. @ David
    Sometimes a Union in an Industrial Dispute speaks with a” forked tongue” because of Legal ramifications if they are seen to be giving directions as Union Policy, which they are legally restrained from doing. I am not saying that is the case here but such a situation often arises.

A lot depends on the area concerned, in the Military a soldier might refuse a command – which he should not do – but then he could be told: “I am giving you a direct order”, the stakes immediately become higher and he will know that.
    — – – – – – – – – –

Hi Checkit-out
    I take on board the comments of Amused you have high-lighted. . . . . which have given clarity. I focused on what was actually written.

45. @Amused
    I have long thought that the report from the COI was written (or at least drafted) even before the COI was convened. It seemed to me that in the course of the hearing, every effort was made by the Commissioner and the Fourth Estate to follow a pre-determined course leading to a pre-determined outcome
    Seems like you are bracing for some disappointing news then you can say “I told you so”. Which branch of the Fourth Estate is in league with the COI? Since when has any relevant information on any issue been fully ventilated by the Fourth estate?

46. @Yardie. I am in complete agreement with Checkit-out. I will tell you why he is correct in terms of context. Such a communication from a union or any other public body, has to framed in (quasi) legal terms. There is no option on that. It has to be done that way. The same would apply if you are a company (public or private) writing to your shareholders. There can be no plausible argument there. When you go to an attorney, you “instruct” that attorney – in other words, you order them. If someone writes to the secretary of a company, likely they will get a response – “My instructions are…….”. That means that “I am ordered that…….” Therefore, when a union “instructs” its membership, it orders them. And the caveat that this is an “instruction” and not an “order” is transparent……because, if it is not an order, why waste time making this point, instead of simply using “request” or “advise”? There is no dearth of words in the English language to ensure that there is complete accuracy of intent and I have provided two alternatives. Therefore the way the union has phrased it is an unsubtle threat to add to the plethora of threats it has already issued.

@Sargeant. I really have not a clue what the commission report says. Not even the slightest idea. Apart from the GG and, presumably, the PM, no one has as far as I can discern. Not being directly involved in it, I am not exactly “bracing” for anything. I am merely speculating, based in equal parts on the demeanour and conduct of the Commissioner, the subsequent conduct of the MoE that produced The Letter, The Letter itself and the general conduct of the BSTU, not to forget the extraordinarily stupid conduct (whereby he confirmed Errol Barrow’s stated opinion of him) of Keith Simmons and the rumblings emanating from both NUPW and from counsel generally.

47. I see Mr Hallam King has spoken out on the Alexandra issue and some of the attendant problems which he perceives in our education system . Among some of the statements he said was the claim that he was THE FIRST PRINCIPAL TO INTRODUCE STUDENT COUNCILS TO BARBADOS SCHOOLS IN1983 . Let me disabuse Mr King’s mind in respect of this boast . I entered into into employment as a teacher at the PRINCESS MARGARET SCHOOL in 1967 and found that the principal , the late MR REGINALD LEWIS had already established a students council at the school . Mr King might care to check this out . Historian Mr Robert Morris was then a teacher at the school and might be able to give him some guidance in this regard .

48. Barbadians continue to wait as has been the case under this government on the report of the Alexandra Commission. We wait, wait, wait, always damn waiting.

In the meantime BU understands that two AX teachers have been reassigned and also some of the support staff.

49. This website is truly valuable and the content is very information. I’ve bookmarked is please keep up the good work so I can share with others

50. The PM has promised to say something about AX next week according to the Nation. Apparently all parties will be pleased with the outcome. So can we predict that Broomes is in the process of being separated but on very lucrative conditions which he would have negotiated and obviously something which could have been done without the expensive COI.

Wonder if a copy of the report or at least the recommendations will fall off a truck?