Christopher Sharon, Deputy CEO of First Citizens Bank

The woman who is leading First Citizens’ acquisition of Butterfield Bank says she knows there is anti-Trinidad sentiment in Barbados right now. But Sharon Christopher, the lawyer and deputy chief executive officer of First Citizens Group said the company wanted earnestly for the local public to trust the institution and accept it was not here to deprive Barbados of anything – Nation Newspaper

On June 07, 2007 BU posted a blog titled Is Trinidad The Hegemonist Of The Caribbean? The oil rich nation simply does not have the investment capacity in the domestic market to satisfy investors. A few islands in the Caribbean, Barbados especially, represent a receptive climate for asset picking. A passive business class, an accommodating government scared to offend its Caricom partners, and a people willing to toss away their identify all combine to make Barbados a play ground for T&T investors.

The truckload of T&T investors who have descended on Barbados create the opportunity for Barbadians to comment because they do not believe there has been a willingness on the T&T side to accommodate Barbados. The fishing agreement comes to mind. Most recent is Neal & Massy’s willingness to close Almond Beach Village (ABV) without a fight and in the process deposit 500 workers on the breadline. As a consequence of N&M’s mismanagement of ABV other investors are now fighting over the opportunity to purchase the property.

The news that yet another Barbadian company is to be purchased by a T&T concern is further example of the hegemony that is T&T. The number of key businesses owned by T&T interest in Barbados should have poked Barbadians to sit up and take notice a long time ago. A classic case of concentration of risk.

The comment attributed to Deputy CEO of First Citizens Bank Sharon Christopher in the context of the T&T occupation of Barbados is interesting. Despite her concern about anti-T&T sentiment it has not prevented First Citizen Bank from paying USD45 million for Butterfield bank. The question raised therefore:  can we define what is driving the anti-T&T sentiment or is this much ado about nothing?

By the way, it was announced today that Ansa Mcal which owns Brydens, McEnery and a few others have called a staff meeting for tomorrow.

1. If wunna Bajans prefer to keep wunna money pon de banks and in wunna pockets de what do wunna expect? Wunna want to be international? Wunna want to be 1st world? Wunna want to be in the top 50 countries in the world? Den what de rass wunna crying fuh?

2. old onion bags Avatar

Trinidad and Tabadoes…..Of course….it’s destined…. Oil $$$ to invest..Bdos ripe for the taking….another anomaly.

3. Bajans have become used to ready made clothes and instant gratification.

They want the same “MATERIAL” living standard as the so called First world countries like the UK,Canada and the USA.

Instead of slow sustained growth and real nation building, Bajans have opted for fast tracking by any means necessary.

Some of us overseas Bajans run and went chasing the first world dream and still chasing till we have enough assets to return an “cut style”.

Foreign Investors (including Trinidadians ) will continue to exploit Barbados because in the words of Kevin O’Leary “money has no conscience” and Bajans want a house in de heights with the ” toys ” parked outside.

Barbados is caught up in the first world whirlwind of materialism and greed.

4. When the T&T companies started their march to consume Barbados in the early 2000s, Barbadians were told how the acquisitions would allow Barbadians to benefit from economies of scale resulting in lower prices etc. There was even talk about expansion and the like. To be honest BU has not seen any extraordinary benefits, in fact we have seen the opposite global recession understood. T&T investors want to see ROI, if it means shutting down the companies in Barbados so be it. If BS&T (Bajan led) for example was still running things would we be witnessing the decimation of Barbados employee workforces and the economy in the process with the massive layoffs?

5. Talking about Almond, the Nation strikes again. It is all about selling newspapers for them.

http://downloads.pagesuite-professional.co.uk/clipspool/c9f242bf-356a-42c8-90c3-8f278511b292.jpg

6. The Trinidadians are capitalizing on the fact that most Black Barbadians are consumers and not investors. When businesses are placed on the market for sale, those who have the money should form a consortium and purchase these companies. Instead, we prefer to call the call-in-programs and talk nonsense.

Andrew Bynoe suggested that Barbadians should take a 10% cut in wages to help the country, and his suggestion was answered by people sending BB and all types of messages, asking for a boycott his supermarket. Yet, 500 Barbadians are going home from the Neal and Massy owned Almond Beach Village. Neal and Massy has systematically closed DaCosta Mannings and Knights Pharmacy outlets in St. Peter and Bridgetown, The Autodome in Warren seding home Barbadians; and not one BB message suggesting that we boycott DaCosta Mannings or Super Center Supermarkets.

7. Trinidadians own Barbados National Bank, whose name will soon be changed, and has merged it with Barbados Mortgage Finance, which resulted in the loss of jobs for Barbadians. They have boasted about their profits, yet we complain about who sold the bank, instead of sending a message to them by withdrawing our money and put it in the credit unions, we continue to do business with them.

The Ansa McCal owned Brydens is importing Stag Beer from Trinidad and there are being sold in shops and bars around the island at four for $10, giving Banks stiff competition. Barbadians continue to support foreign beers other than our own, and what is most interesting is that Guyanese love Banks beers. We complain about the other regional nationalities, when in fact Barbadians are generally not patriotic.

8. old onion bags Avatar

Pissin true dat….dun drinkin a shite from Them..stin kn mudda Frs
    Nah corncurls nuttin..ent want one shite….Gine fa my money just now too…

9. It is interesting to note that former banker Marino Brown has chided the credit unions in Barbados for not buying Butterfield bank. Instead the T&T interest won the bid. Based on media reports the credit unions did not show an interest.

10. The Credit Unions in a deep sleep with money as their bed

11. David I was wondering the same as to why the credit unions didn’t buy it.

12. The Credit Unions are in the process of establishing a bank.

13. We know they are formulating plans to form a bank but reading what Brown had to say he is of the opinion the credit union should have changed the plan.

Bear in mind he hinted in the article in the Nation today he is involved in the plan by the credit union to form a bank.

Also bear in mind he was ceo of Butterfield.

14. Artaxerxes | May 11, 2012 at 7:15 AM |
    Barbadians continue to support foreign beers other than our own, and what is most interesting is that Guyanese love Banks beers. We complain about the other regional nationalities, when in fact Barbadians are generally not patriotic.

So true, witnessed an Oistins stall owner forcing Stag beer on a tourist who was asking for local beer. The Guyanese only drink our Banks beer no carib or Stag for them. Bajans can learn from Guyanese about patriotism. We dont fly our flag enough Bajan entertainers and DJ’s are the worst offenders they big up every nationality except their own Bajan people.

15. It was interesting listening to Mac Fingall on Dennis Johnson’s show fireworks this week. He narrated how in T&T they push local soca moreso after the Bajan invasion. In Jamaica reggae rules of course but in Barbados anything that is foreign goes.

BTW congrats to Dennis for bringing focus to the core issues the artistes need to keep top of the mind.

16. @ David
    So what did we expect from CSME?…. Handouts?

CSME is nothing but a 21st century Trojan horse. Bushie has been cursing and abusing this nonsense from since caricom days…

Now we have welcomed the enemy into our gates and handed them control of our news, our banks, our companies….. The only thing left to hand over now are our asses…. Uhhhh ASSETS.

17. old onion bags Avatar

Is good to hear thoughts…Bushies & Co…..but we want ACTION too…
    Are we going do like Onions and piss on them three ? Don’t enjoy just criticizing like third parties…cuz dat is all we hear a lot of in here….. Like.Isgal…opening….”If wunna Bajans prefer to keep wunna money pon de banks and in wunna pockets..”.shit…dont just do manure talk..ACTION !

18. Well Bushie it maybe about to get worst if Arthur is returned to office given his pro CSME stance. He has the opportunity to shoot for completing his legacy.

19. old onion bags Avatar

PISS ….for a cop out..if there B one….no this is BU

20. old onion bags Avatar

When will we as a people get serious though…? or may be there is too much subliminal influence…?

21. Another trend that has developed, and seemingly deliberately un-noticed, is the fact that Sandy Lane Hotel and the accounting firm KPMG, have been advertising vacancies in the print media, and a few weeks after the application deadlines, they are advertising for work permits to bring in a non-national, because they have not received any suitable applications.

Year after year, many students graduate from The University of the West Indies and Pom Marine of The Barbados Community College with the requisite qualifications in management studies, accounting, and tourism and hospitality management. Many have gone on to pursue the accounting designations, such as ACCA, CGA, and CMA, yet Barbadians are finding it very difficult to obtain jobs at these organization

As it relates to Sandy Lane, recently they had a vacancy for an Executive Housekeeping, and subsequently applied for a work permit to bring in a NON-NATIONAL after non receiving suitable applications. It seems that Barbadians are only good for waiter, pool maintenance, housekeeping, security, and kitchen steward jobs.

22. We do not trust each other nor do we trust ourselves to take chances. Yet we want someone else to take the chance for us. That is not how business is done. We are always looking at what can lose and not how much we can gain.

“When will we as a people get serious though…? ”

When we realize that Caribbean is a big place and when we decide to spread our wings and stop peeping out from behind the curtains.

23. @Artax

Sandy Lane and organizations in that peer group operate at a high level and there is nothing wrong with bringing in personnel who are experienced in this sphere. However we need to take on board what Singapore does not only in law but in practice. The person issued with the work permit MUST mentor a local person to a level of proficiency until the work permit expires.

24. Those who constantly criticize Barbadians for not investing and taking chances or putting their money under the bed, do not really understand Barbados.

Barbadians – the majority ethnic group – for many years have been excluded from business by a variety of methods, refusal of loans, conspiracy by others to cheat them – including the black middle classes – denied a presence at the top table despite years of honest endeavour at work. They believed that business in Barbados was a cartel from which they were denied a presence at the top table.

With years of that treatment and other subliminal messages, they kept their money in banks where they could see it. Not wise in the long term but they were cheated enough.

Those who have “suddenly” become rich have done so in the most part riding on the backs of fellow Barbadians.

Now others have come here to tell us all that is bad about us Barbadians and what we should and should not do. Yet they are “HERE” to tell us after they have made a mess “THERE”.

25. @ Yardbroom

Thank you very much.
    Absolutely correct and on point.

26. Must we spend our lives being afraid then? Must we allow our own to rob us as well? Can’t is a man who has never tried.

27. What we must do is to build our society OUR way.
    While we do need to overcome our fears and our hesitancies, handing our whole future over to strangers is NO SOLUTION.

Unfortunately, the realities of group dynamics dictate that this requires a visionary, strong, upright and focussed leader…. And a significant dedicated following.

As we have been saying on BU now for years, this is why LEADERSHIP is so vital to whether we live or we die…

Even genuine strong leaders are subjected to BRIBES, THREATS, INTIMIDATION and sabotage at all levels…. It takes BALLS and WIT to succeed in this wicked society as a righteous leader…. LOL even Bushie would be seriously challenged to succeed…

The cooperative Government model, with a Caswell overseeing the National Supervisory Committee ( senate) is still our best bet….

28. old onion bags Avatar

Bushie ..Yardie…so wait I can’t get in da do….I got pestban mixed wid diesel. ready.for Igloo.

29. barbadians are the ones who owned the companies that they sold for quick cash. barbadians are to blame for sellng their shares and not purchasing when IPO’s are issued. Even Mutual funds and other investments are shunned. therefore as others see good investments in barbados businesses we dont.

30. old onion bags Avatar

Tedd
    Play you en’t know how wealth distributed in paradise…..majority of so called ‘ wid lil money’..but a small lot…..You see Mugabe….lol
    From the time Lynch just up so …..let go BST….we were exposed….but we got to know the man…to continue

31. Evidence of the lack of intereest in investing is the dormancy and eventual closure of the barbados stock exchange from a lack of activity. 2 or 3 firms drop off each year and now we have less than we started with a few decades ago. i think that firms that own large chunks of our economy should be required top list on the exchange. ansa mcal( Brydens, trimart standard etc), first caribbean, OCM (Nation & starcom) and trinidad cement ltd are listed but neal and massy (BS&T, Almond, G4S, Illuminat), Republic bank (BNB), Scotia Bank, Guardian Holdings, Musson (The jamaican owner of Facy/ Alamac, Barbados Business Machines) and Presteige Holdings ( Marriots, TGIF, subways, Pay less, pepsi etc) are not even though they are public companies trading on TTSE and JSE

32. old onion bags Avatar

Last time Barbadians up and invest within themselves …CLICO ERP plans… they got burn’t…..by home drum too….How we could expect people not to remember this ? Sampouchie n the duppy is who we should be rousting….our Laws want amending to suit…especially trust laws.

33. @ onion bags

i understand where the big money is, and i know the links of these ethnic groups to trinidad families. but that aside trinidad citizens of middle income backgrounds ( teachers, civilservants, etc ) own large chunks of trinidad public companies, not individualy but when you add them up.
    1+1+1+1+1+1+1= Nuff
    trinidad state owned enterprises , when privatised were sold to the public to have a stake in their country. this was encouraged and thus occured. Barbados prefers to sell to one large buyer. Trinidad thus maintained local ownership of its former statutory corporations, we did not eg ICBL, BNB, Almond( it was originaly sold to local BS&T)

Trinidad also has a publicly traded comany called National Enterprises Limited, half owned by the government to run commercial state investments such as National flour mills, Electric company, telephone company (i think) , Republic Bank (i think), First Citizens ( i think)
    . this alllows small investors, trinis, to have a stake (and Profit) in the heights of the economy.

Different culture, different Priorities, Different Approach and different results

34. @ Onions
    i must say upfront that investment has risk, and profit.

one of ourr weaknesses is the lack of regulation, both legislative and follow up. Executives are also not held accountable legaly, socialy or otherwise so they do as they please and tell you like it or lump it.

saagicor is another example where the board and management benifit from the firm with fat salaries and perks and then give the shareholders 2 cents per share no matter how well the company does . not a percentage of the profits just a flat 2 cents. but i must protest that even though i am here puting in my 2 cents worht of complaints, i know i wont get my share of the profits.

shareholders need to hold the boards and management of firms acountable for their actions and demand as the owners their piece of the profit pie.

35. @ Bush Tea & David (Thanks)
    Hi Old onion, You know as well as I do it is the “Onions” in black pudding and souse that gives it the ZING!! man you included.

36. @ Ted
    What you are saying is the theory….the way it is supposed to work. but as Yardbroom explained, Barbados is different….probably due to our small size, the slaves were never really able to get at arms distance from the whites – and likely developed a strange kind of coping mechanism…
    As you yourself said, investing as a minority shareholder is just a scam. They keep all the sweets, live high off your dividends, and then sell out the Company from under you to outsiders when it suits their purpose.
    Look at light and power, that was 60% local owned BUT FULLY CONTROLLED BY THE 38% majority shareholder from overseas….through the complicity of the ‘local’ directors. Then the whole thing was sold to EMERA for well under its real value – due to the high retained earnings, that rightfully belong to those shareholders who for years had their shares deliberately undervalued.

Even the foolish government sold out – and then took that money to invest in Four Seasons….a wise government would have acquired majority shares, even if it needed to introduce a special tax to do so…

Is it not SMART in such circumstances to put your money in the CREDIT UNION where funds are used by BAJANS and dividends belong to EVERYONE? And where you at least get to keep it…?

Don’t even talk about the upper class black professionals…mostly they are just uncle Toms who join the various Lodges to be indoctrinated as Lackies who enthusiastically support the crooked system. Read the Everton Cumberbatch case here on BU….

Dont mind IslandGal, As old Bajans used to say… “When yuh see a man fishing in a dry pond, don’t call e a fool”

37. @Bush Tea

Your reference to EMERA is interesting from another angle. Surely BL&P executive must have been in some communication with EMERA during the FTC rate hike session? The role of our regulatory bodies don’t inspire the masses.

38. You know what would get us a fishing agreement? A trade war. Just check the imbalance of trade between the two countries and tell me who would be hurt most. Brydens have foisted upon Barbados the most foul tasting beer called Stag. Why do the bar owners try to push it to tourists? Because Brydens are bribing them to do so, with case upon case of free Stag and unlimited credit. In the meantime, I understand that the same Ansa McAl is bribing Trinidadian bar owners to hide Banks beer from their shelves. Get it yet? But our government won’t do anything because we want Trinidad’s gas and loans. So it’s up to us as individuals to boycott the Trini horse piss and other goods that are inferior in quality that come from “that place”!

39. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar
    The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall

@BU.David: “The role of our regulatory bodies don’t inspire the masses.

Oh, come on David. The regulatory bodies are often in the media talking about the good job they are doing.

Surely we should believe what we are told…?

40. @Chris

The FTC talking in the media and the reality of how prices of the utilities impact the consumer are two different situations.

41. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar

@David: “The FTC talking in the media and the reality of how prices of the utilities impact the consumer are two different situations.

Really?

Who would have thought….

42. @ David
    What FTC what??!
    Don’t you know a scam when you see one?

Look at the individual’s on the commission! A collection of lackies paid to sit there and pretend to understand and to decide…. In reality they just do as instructed.

Don’t mind EX Chris. He only helped to legitimize the process by going through the motions of objecting.

When Bushie see someone like Caswell or BAFBFP or even the current auditor general Trotman on that commission Bushie would begin to take it seriously.

43. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar

@Bushy: “Don’t mind EX Chris. He only helped to legitimize the process by going through the motions of objecting.

Thanks for that Bushy… Nice to know the effort was so very much appreciated.

BTW, where were you during that process?

44. old onion bags Avatar

Sharon Christopher, the lawyer and deputy chief executive officer of First Citizens Group said the company wanted earnestly for the local public to trust the institution and accept it was not here to deprive Barbados of
    anything
    Lady …had a bank BCCI ( Arab Bnk)….yrs back top broad St. ( them did op.differently doa ML)…said the same thing…..if it had 200 Bajan accounts it had a lot…..if Bajans can’t see what gine on……we going wake up one day wid deep regret.

45. LOL @ Ex Chris
    Bushie was laughing at you and your partner ROK and saying “that egg ain’t got no right at rock stone dance….”

46. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar

@BT: “Bushie was laughing…

Meanwhile, ROK and I et al managed to get The Company to release information it really would rather not have publicly known.

Who did the public the most good?

47. No disrespect but is Sharon Christopher a man or a woman I cant tell from your pic Davd.

48. It was interesting to listen to the CEO in a press conference today stating that First Citizen couldn’t guarantee any jobs would be loss. This comes one day after the deputy CEO admits there is anti T&T sentiment in Barbados. Is this a way to start a new journey in Barbados? Sure inspires a lot of confidence.

49. Now comes the merger of Stokes and Bynoe, Brydens, and A& R TEmpro, again the posibility of job loses. T&T is gradually taking over Barbados and causing us to dance to their music.

50. @ Yardbroom
    “Those who have “suddenly” become rich have done so in the most part riding on the backs of fellow Barbadians.”
    The Syrians, Lebonese and other Arabs, as well as the Pakistanis and Indians have also become rich MAINLY riding on the backs of Barbadians, through exploitation and ignoring workers rights (we continue to work for them) and selling of inferior products (we continue to buy from them).
    You also stated that we do not not understand Barbados. My friend, the way you understand Barbados is quite different from the way I know it. I know it this way:
    • Those of us who venture into business are confronted by Barbadians who want your goods and services free or cheap. Yet they will buy from the other ethnic groups at any cost.
    • If Barbadians patronise your shop, they say “Man, I dun coming in hay, we does buy drinks and he don’t even put down one”, yet they go into the Boatyard to impress their friends by drinking high priced drinks and none coming free. Patronise Chefette everyday; no free chicken from Haloute.
    • They stop supporting your business if you change your 1991 Mazda to get a 2009 Toyota, but do not have the same sentiment when the other ethnic groups buy a 2012 BMW. You hear, “My man Mahmood got a big ride”, and they continue to buy Mahmood things.

I could go on and on.