George C. Brathwaite

It is with some disinclination that I enter the current political fray regarding matters surrounding the actors and actions situated either in the Barbados Labour Party, its internal constituents, and the general hullabaloo that has been playing out in the constituency of St. James North which is a seat considered to be a stronghold and held by the BLPโ€™s Rawle Eastmond. My disinclination stems from three key positions. Involved in this unmerited public spectacle is a political party that I remain a dedicated and loyal member; my friend is central to the ongoing debates; and thirdly, as a student of politics, I am a strong advocate for democratic traditions and the placing of the good of the collective people above the ambitions of individuals whose agendas are seldom fully known.

I turn now to the substantive though overblown debates. From the onset, I need to emphasise that most of the fuss relating to the allegations about a โ€˜padded listโ€™ and the future candidature of the current Member of Parliament for the constituency, Rawle Eastmond, are simplistic but divisive. On two counts the simplicity can easily be established and I will explain these before getting to the more critical aspect of divisiveness.

Read full article

157 responses to “The Politicking Behind St. James North Constituency”

1. Just to say that I found this article convincing UNTIL the section which criticises Wickham. Then it sounded too familiarly partisan. But I must say that I always shared the perception that there is a convention that the sitting member continues to be nominated and to serve UNLESS there is good reason, in the opinion of the constituency branch, that he should not. In the light of that understanding others do not normally seek nomination. Equally, I have no doubt that the ‘rules’ permit others to seek nomination. In that sense, I guess both Wickham and the writer are, well, ‘right’.

2. We all have to accept that in the case of Eastmond he signaled that he was packing it in and others joined the party.

Is is fair to those who worked during the period of disinterest by Eastmond to now step aside?

The issue BU has with the matter is the way it is dragging out in the public domain.

There is also the underlying politics which has made this issue more than a storm in a tea cup.

George is representing his party but all of Barbados knows that Eastmond is regarded as a Mia sympathizer and therefore he must go.

3. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Robert Ross

When you read the Sunday Sun tell me if not Peter Wickham is not on an agenda that has absolutely no good intentions. Can you imagine him even going public to suggest that the current Prime Minister and the former Prime Minister are in collusion. After stating such inaccurate detail about customs and tradition, Wickham is now looking for a ‘get out of jail’ card. He has become ridiculous.

4. Previously posted:
    “The recent alleged letter by the so called Eager 11 on the one hand, and the more recent outspokenness of Mia Mottley, on the other, prompts the consideration of the viability of a third political party.”

Looks like there is still time M..instead of misleading a sick man and causing strife…..options still open..you could rope in Wickham while you at it ..if he has balls …..cuz you both on weak premises….mouthing it off.

Do something positive you can call it Mia Mottley Political Party..as nothing else would do..show us your metal. MMPP

5. @ George C

Actually I don’t read the papers – well other than vicariously through BU and BFP. And, yes, I’m sure there are agendas I know nothing about. It is simply that I don’t think ‘spleen’, as distinct from reasoned argument (which I thought your piece mainly consisted of), is ever convincing unless delivered with the lightest touch possible and with humour.

Yes, you are absolutely right I think. I have the perception, rightly or wrongly, that Rawle is an honourable man who has served his party and country well. I hope he becomes the constituency’s MP at the next election. But he must know that there is no divine right to serve and what appears to be his inconsistencies – perhaps it’s his artistic temperament at root, his flair and enthusiasm, or simply his lack of guile – have clearly damaged him. Perhaps he listens to the wrong people or no-one at all. But, yes, David you are right – though, as I understand you, you wish him well too.

6. Now wait a minute maybe Rawle Stole a page out of OSA book politics A1A . about changing his Mind, Didn’t OSA walk around for months saying that he didn’t want to be LEADER of the BLP and changed he mind and the good ole boys in the BLP went along with it. bunch a hypocrities

7. @ac

By what fuzzy logic do you equate the two situations?

The constituency of the party provides for anyone to be nominated and to challenge the incumbent; in this case Eastmond.

In Arthur’s case he was able to command the support of the BLP parliamentary group. Where is the similarity?

8. All this mud slinging is needless.The fact of the matter is that Mia Mottleyโ€™s behavior is nothing but that of a spoilt child.Her demise as a party leader was her own bringing.Her behavior was( and is) far from becoming of prime minister-ship.Not to mention her association with the โ€œotherโ€ party.

The other members of the BLP took a vote..there was no revolutionโ€ฆno ousting..and sought an audience with the Governor General.He acted according to the Constitution of Barbados. Mia if you cannot except that..we other law biding members of Barbados have been all our lives ..its call the lawโ€ฆ.what you have sworn as a attorney general to uphold.The axe swings both ways..sorry. In sympathy ..while the matter could have been handled differently ..it was not..like many other faucets of life ..we the ordinary people of this land encounter dailyโ€ฆits called life’s mishaps.

I keep repeating…..drowning men will clutch at straws…so rightly you prove

9. @George

Is there the hint of a BLP PR strategy to link the liberal leaning Wickham and Mia the liberal minded?

Just asking!

10. Could it be that Mia has won a tactical battle in all this? She has ensured that Clyde Mascoll has been eliminated in the next elections as people were suggesting that if Rawle had walked gently into that good night, then Mascoll could have been persuaded to be the cmpromise candidate betwen the Skeete and Hinkson factions. Once Rawle stayed in the race at Mottley’s behest then Mascoll could not reasonalby get involved in the elective contest for he does not have the numbers and he could not be seen to be ‘placed’. In all this Mascoll is out and he could not challenge if and when there is a leadership run off in the future. One down any more to go? I reasoned this even though I think Mottley tactics are questionalbe she is playing for the future because she has lost the present. And as Owen said any future leader would have to deal with the others when he is gone right now is he is leader and she understands this but she must also understand tht she has to go back in the the parliamentary group and fight from there. Think on these things.

11. @Mia
    If this is any way comforting..do you remember David Thompson and a honesty articulate man name Clyde Mascoll ? Like you, he was once the so called” temporary interim leader” of a party.. who went through similar happenings in the DLP, remember ? ..One day at top next day not….all is fair in love, war and politics, which you should know and understand, coming from a well entrenched and highly regarded political family….please don’t drop the baton, all Barbados is watching, today is your day..show us the sense for which you were once lauded.

12. @Onions

Members of both sides have been ‘close’ over the years. Maybe not as close as Mascoll obviously was during his tenure as Opposition Leader but close nevertheless. Come on, don’t treat the BU readership for simpletons because you will be challenged on it.

13. That being the principle being same expect that in Rawle situation there was a huuried rush to push him out the door without giving him a second chance but with OSA all the good ole boys didn,t not think twice about giving OSA the leadership which now is proving to divide the BLP and to think there is more to come.

14. @ac

With respect, Eastmond’s issue is that the branch list is padded against him. If he has been the MP for the last 20+ years then he is better placed than many to highlight the ‘padded members’ on the list. Perhaps this is a case where Eastmond should put up or shut up! In a previous blog BU advised Eastmond to learn from the Duguid Ch CH West experience and run an energetic campaign included would have been using his helpers to identify the illegals on the list. He has allowed himself to be outwitted by those who prefer others to run.

15. @ David
    MascollThompson …Mia Owen..absolutely no difference….what simpleton you dancing about?
    But you are spot on with this one…as Rawle being ill was in no position to address.
    >>>>>
    “If he has been the MP for the last 20+ years then he is better placed than many to highlight the โ€˜padded membersโ€™ on the list. “

16. but with due respect . that is only oneof the many issues as also presented in the article. and alot of talk surrounding it ah lie!

17. @ac

George like you are entitled to your opinions. BU’s view is based on a holistic view of the issue fertilized by what we know of the political dynamic at play here.

18. I normally take wickham’s contributions seriously but like George I have to admit he’s shown gross bias on this rawle issue. Rawle stepped aside and handpicked somebody to succeed him, end of story. If he wants his cake he has to eat whatever else is on the plate or get his handpicked to step aside, which clearly isn’t happening. A padded list is a convenient excuse. Without facts or at least ONE name that’s on rhe list and not a party or constituency member Rawle’s a dead duck in the water. Not going to meet Owen didn’t help either. Bajans aint foolish.

19. and so are others no one point of view is the totaltarity or summation of the issues their are a myriad of variables which can be been seen and are dightfully subjected to differening opinions for once i agree with Wickhams astute and vision on this issue one that others williingly or deliberately choose toignore because of partisian politics

20. @Observing

Your comment is on point. Eastmond made a political blunder by withdrawing and then trying to reenter. His best bet would have been to negotiate with his protege Hinkson.

It is the opening the non Mia faction would have hoped for. Eastmond loses.

@true to form

You last comment is interesting but of course there is the farfetched position that the party at the 11th the hour before a general election could ask the winning candidate this evening to step aside for Mascoll ๐Ÿ™‚

21. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Do you think Wickham’s assertion or suggestion in today’s Sunday Sun demonstrates an objective position of a pollster or political scientist? Imagine the man wants persons to believe that Owen and Freundel are in collusion simply to keep on Chris and Mia. What utter nonsense!

22. Maybe Rawle should be totally selfish and walk away quietly.

I think he is entitled to a nice big pension.

He could rediscover the joys of chillin with his old primary school buddies
    at Trents and in Holetown.

23. @george B

Peter linking the two leaders maybe a little farfetched but howver if one is political grounded in the science and physchology of a politician there maybe a grain of truth in effect what Peter is saying that one hand washes the other but what i see going on is that the game that OSA is playing Linking the TWo that is MIA and Chris on the Four seasons issue can be dividends for PM stuart. However i would disagree that is an”unstated pact”

24. Slips showing….Non Mia faction….Mascoll patronizers….

“the winning candidate this evening to step aside for Mascoll ”

wont happen but we need his sound input……but not so..

25. I believe that several different agendas are always played out in politics. That is why it is good when a process can follow the rules of the game. No hand-picking of leaders or cherry-picking of candidates. Let the best emerge.

26. If the BLP’s leadership had imposed either Mr Hinkson or Mr Skeete on the branch like the DLP did in St Thomas and Christ Church West against the wishes of the branch, you would hear the likes of Peter Wickham and ac saying what a dictator and every name they call Mr Arthur is. But he has said that the BLP’s constitution says and he is still being pillared.

I was at a function where Rawle Eastmond said that he was not running anymore and that he was endorsing Mr Hinkson and had introduced him to the branch as his replacement. Rawle is supposed to be Mr Hinkson’s good friend, how could he treat his friend like that?

Mia has now played her last ace, any thought that she had of ever leading the BLP again vanished last week with that public private request. The BLP is not Mia’s personal fiedom, she will not get lucky like her friend the dead king, to take back up her throne again.

She can now dust the dust off her shelved plans to form her own party, the Barbados Liberal Party and begin in earnest to see what political future she now has.

27. @Onions, no slips showing, it is BU at its best unmasking all possible scenarios. Of course the blind political partisans will always take umbrage in such a discourse.

28. thank you david! reference comment to my good friend ole onions.

29. @ David
    You mek me laugh.By this evening ..this post dun watch ! Who blind?
    Hopefully it will be back to real issues soon, instead of all this suggestive reasoning.Everybody knows what Rawle thinking and nobody stops to consider if he is really well. It is just a one circus,looking for media attention hoping to discredit..but slips showing ..and that’s all good too.

30. It only hit me today why the Dems have said that the CLICO policyholders will get back all their monies.

You know why???? The Dems have spent the CLICO policyholders monies given to them by Leroy Parris over the years like money was going out of style, the dead king flew the world in style on CLICO’s private jet, so the DEMS (heartless as they are) seem now to feel some kind of responsibilty for the poor policyholders.

If the taxpayers pay the policyholders and I wonder why should they since the government did not spend the money only the DLP, to recoup the taxpayers’ monies, will CLICO companies be vested in the taxpayers hands and will the monies in Families First be handed over to help ease the burden placed on the taxpayers????

31. @ac
    “If the BLPโ€™s leadership had imposed either Mr Hinks”…snip..snip
    “if one is political grounded in the science and physchology of a politician there maybe a grain of trut”..snip snip

Ac : Do you know what iF make a man do ??….F he self. Fa trute

32. @Apollo

There is merit in your interest in how the Family’s First Account was funded, allegedly significantly from CLICO funds.

BU would do anything to get our hands on their statements ๐Ÿ™‚

33. Have to agree that Peter Wickham’s extrapolation by suggesting some ‘arrangement between current and former PM is a surprising one.

34. @ Appollo 13
    That will never happen ..first..DEMs won’t be there…(thati why he taking his time=EasyBoy. Seconds, marahh and Zelroy wifey got a co. in St.luc name ****..it got on $10 million D golden parachute….hushhhhh.

35. @ole onions

Spoken like a “true politicians” IF your name is on the ballot i will mark my x next to it. that is a “big IF” fah trute!

36. @ ac
    You sure you could see to mark X? Hear onions election song>

Vote fa onions and get some bunions.
    Vote fa ac and get some Tracy
    Vote fa Scout we bust ya mout
    Vote fa Ramdom and get F dun Brandons
    Vote fa Hant and start ta Rant
    Vote fa David and get Raided .

37. I only partially agree with Apollo 13 about Mia”s future.I say that Mia has got her wish of Mascoll not running in this election. Mascoll cannot now be a factor in the next leadership contest. I think she has accepted that Owen is the leader, but there must be a leader after Owen and based on her reading Mascoll would most likely be that person but with Mascoll out of the way she could make her move after Owen gives way. The protest in St James was a minor skirmish and I believe that Mia will line up fully in the near future. She woud see it as an imperative and she would treat her involvement in the party as automatic and condined. This was the last hurdle except I cannot see down the road. Think on thesed things.

38. @true to form
    What is there to stop Mascoll from winning a seat on his OWN?
    All this whole charade would have shown who is the ASS and who got lil class.How Mascoll get in this whole fiasco boggles the mind.

As I told ac..TOO many FFFFFF’s

39. Instead of being abused politicians………

Mia takes Hants advice. Resign from political life. Buy a condo in Miami and one in Toronto.
    Enjoy life.

Rawle I already advise you to chill with your homies at Maple and in Holetown. Pass up by Lowdown every now and again and buy some of his organic goat milk.
    The quality of your life will improve.

40. Playing games.

by Wade Gibbons

Opposition Leader Owen Arthur has a short and convenient memory, says former Cabinet minister Rommell Marshall.

Marshall, who was a member of Arthurโ€™s administration between 1994 and 2008, told Barbados TODAY that his political leaderโ€™s public insistence that embattled St. James North MP Rawle Eastmond had to face a nomination process on February 5 was not consistent with his stance when he sought to challenge incumbent MP Dale Marshall for the St. Joseph nomination just over a year ago.

The former Minister of Transport and Works said though the constitution of the BLP was clear, it was the same convention and tradition now being denied Eastmond, that Arthur had used to publicly admonish him when he sought to challenge his namesake.

โ€œHe lambasted me at St. George Secondary and said Dale Marshall was already the representative and I was accused of acting hostile to the party. I was threatened with expulsion from the party. I said I would run as an Independent and that was a problem. Now he is quoting the constitution. He did not quote it then and say that I had a right to challenge Dale Marshall, whether for the BLP or as an Independent,โ€ Marshall said.

At the January 30, 2011 meeting to which Marshall referred, Arthur said: โ€œMr Rommell Marshall, I will speak clearly. The notion of you going to contest a nomination as an Independent in St. Joseph will have to be regarded as an act hostile to the interest of the Labour Party and the [BLPโ€™s] National Council will have to take action against it.โ€

Arthur said then if the former St. Michael West Central representative could be publicly stating his intentions in St. Joseph, it meant he was only trying to bring the BLP into disrepute. At the joint St. George North/South branch meeting, Arthur told party supporters that he was also โ€œtroubledโ€ by reports of a pending challenge to BLP incumbent Ronald Toppin in St. Michael North.

41. And one more piece of advice.
    Blogging on BU is like one a day vitamins.
    Really good for your health unless Dr.GP advises differently.

42. Peter Wickham thinks that he is the brightest political analyst ever and what he thinks must be done and come to past.

Remember it was he who told the dead king to go after the position of Opposition leader after the king had defeated Fruendel Stuart for the Presidency of the DLP. But Mascoll refused to resign and then all hell break loose in the party. I dont know if it was coincidental or not but soon after Wickham’s urging to the king to go after the leadership, I saw them both on the same flight going to London, I wondered??? was this just by chance or were they going away to plan strategy??? The rest is history.

I know why he favours Chris Sinckler but his fascination with Mia baffles me. He treated her so badly on a call in program after the then government had won the fishing agreement case against Trinidad and lambasted her for spending taxpayers money and wanted to know if the agreement was worth it and now all of a sudden he is her biggest supporter.

I never knew him to say a good thing about Mia when he used to host the call in programs, so why the sudden interest?? I know of his hatred for Owen Arthur, is this the reason??? Is he advising her? Whoever is advising her, she better dump them as she is not being served rightly.

43. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

David BU Bonny P dead fuh true? Anybody know when de funeral is?

44. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Sorry I know that don’t have nothing to do with de BLP ting wunnah talking bout. Sorry but I just trying to find out.

45. Poor Rommell, how unkind, you who were a nobody, Owen Arthur made you a minister when you know that you were not even clerical material and this is how you py him back???

Tell Barbados Today why you are so angry with the man who made you somebody!!!! You were a lap dog for him, when he said jump, you did not even ask how high, You just jumped! Now you want to kill the man. Do not follow Mia, she knows how to get out of situations, you are now in the dog house. Poor Rommell, no longer relevant. You had hoped that Mia was to be your saviour! Poor Rommell.

46. WOULD you believe that I dont even have a question to ask on this one ???
    WHY cant I find a question to ask ??
    IS this tellling you something about this post or not ???

47. I remain incredulous that a relatively small constituency such as St James North can have 719 REGISTERED BLP PARTY MEMBERS . If this is indeed the case , then whoever wins this nomination should walk away with the seat come the General Election .
    Eastmond missed the boat when he sought to blame the padding on the infiltration of DLP members into the group ; he should rather have concentrated his efforts, as a long-standing representative of that constituency , on what , in all practicality, must be a fraudulent list . As a shrewd observer of Barbados electoral history I will challenge anyone to bring to me a constituency list ,of any party in any constituency, that would show that kind of membership.
    On the matter of Peter Wickham’s comments, I agree wholeheartedly with his observation that the CONVENTION to which we have become accustomed, has NEVER exposed an incumbent / sitting member to a reconfirmation of his status as candidate for a coming election and i must ask the fundamental question..who else among the other eight SITTING members from the BLP has had to undergo such humiliation ?
    Even more fundamentally..WHEN HAS IT EVER HAPPENED WITHIN THE RANKS OF THE BLP?
    The recent justification provided by the leadership of the BLP has exposed us to a spurious ranting that may well come back to haunt the party.

48. @Eagle-Eyed

Usually agree with your clear eyed interventions but in this case Eastmond has himself to blame. He created the opportunity and good politicians don’t squander opportunities, except PM Stuart when he failed to call the general election after Thompson’s death.

49. @Eagleeyed

you like you is my brain. I was thinking just like you. Wow over seven hundred registered members. I was told that it has been established that people with no interest of joining the party realizesthat they had suddenly fully paid members, including persons who support the DLP.

In common law, convention ater a while is tantamount to a law. I agree that so sitting memer should have to go through the process, if he or she inidacted that he/she was still interested in representing the constituency.

@George

Dr. GEORGE BRATHWAITHE (I EAN SOON TO BE). You accused Peter of ranting and being bias, Cant the same thing be said of you? Too much learning is dangerous.

R u not feeding us with misinformation and lies, something you have accused Peter of. Lord have mercy, Chrsit have mercy.

50. @Apollo 13

Poor Rommell, how unkind, you who were a nobody, Owen Arthur made you a minister when you know that you were not even clerical material and this is how you py him back
    Why attack the man? Attack the veracity of his statement, looks like Arthur is speaking from both sides of his mouth, there is a word for thisโ€ฆ..hypocrite but politics have never been short of hypocrites.