Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

Recently, the Government published a bill to repeal and replace the Holidays with Pay Act of 1952. This new bill is not vastly different from the law that is already in force. In fact it essentially re-enacts the old legislation with two major differences. Firstly, the penalty for an employer who breaches the Act will be increased from a fine of $100 or imprisonment for three months or both to a fine of $10,000 or imprisonment for one year or both. Secondly, at clause 3(5) it strips away the protection that workers had from unscrupulous employers who would force them to break up their annual holiday to the extent that it rendered the holiday meaningless.

Section 3(4) of the Holidays with Pay Act states:

The annual holiday shall be given and taken in one period or, if the employer and employee so agree, in two separate periods and not otherwise.

The employer is in the dominant position in the employer/employee relationship, and can therefore exert pressure on an employee to agree to break up his holiday. The present law affords the worker some measure of protection in this regard, since an employee could not legally agree to break the law.

The new clause 3(5) resembles the old provisions with one glaring addition. It goes on to say that the annual holiday may be taken in such periods as may be agreed which is a backward anti worker step. When the original legislation was passed in 1952, it provided that employees were entitled to two weeks holiday with pay. Several employers circumvented the intent of the law by giving their employees holidays two days at a time. The Act was amended in 1961to outlaw this abuse. The abuse of the worker is now about to be reintroduced by legislation.

I remember as a boy reading Oliver Twist where one of the characters said, “If that is the law: the law is a ass, a idiot!” Well here is another example where the new bill re-enacts a provision from the 1952 Act. Clause 14(1) of the new bill states:

A person who was employed on January 1st, 1952 and to whom this Act is applicable shall be treated as if his year of employment had begun on 1st of January, 1952.

Here we have Ministers being misled into bringing silly legislation to Parliament. When this bill was being drafted didn’t anyone realize that the person would have been working for over sixty years with the same employer?

34 responses to “New Anti-Worker Legislation Coming”

1. Is Minister Esther ‘under the radar’ Byer-Sukoo piloting this legislation?

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Minister of Labour is a medical doctor. She is not versed in labour matters: she relies on her officials to advise her. Unfortunately, as Minister she would only be parroting a brief that was prepared for her. Like most of her other colleagues, she is being misled by senior public officials. Forgive her, for she knows not what she is doing.

3. @Caswell

To challenge your point, it seems you are imputing improper motive to the public servants responsible for the redraft.

Also the clause which you have highlighted is not that onerous and a first prerequisite for the minister championing this bill would be to review the changes.

The clause when read as a standalone does not appear to be that onerous or wrapped in legalese for a medical head to understand.

4. Caswell, what about workers who prefer to take their holidays a few days at a time or in more than two separate periods during the year? Are you saying that this should not be permitted?

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am not imputing improper motives to the public servants responsible responsible for the re-draft. I am merely pointing out the facts. Ministers do not read the legislation, they operate on the basis of a brief. Sometimes what they say during debate do not even collide with anything in the legislation that they are debating.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Brutus

What you are asking has been against the law for private sector workers since 1961 because of the potential for abuse and actual abuse, since employers forced workers to take holiday in that manner against their wishes. If they didn’t comply, they found themselves out of work for some other reason. That was done to protect workers. Even though it is against the law, employers still force it upon workers. I recall dealing with two separate dentist that would wait until workers arrive for work and then say to them, I don’t have many appointments take today as a vacation day. The young lady who refused was terminated for other reasons of course.

7. On the other hand many people will take a day or a few days of vacation here and there to attend to personal business, to go on a short cruise, to go to cricket, to go on a long weekend overseas, etc.

Let’s take a poll and see which version of the law employees prefer.

8. @Caswell

On the subject of labour and against the background where the reputation of leading trade unions has taken a beating in the eyes of the public i.e. BWU backing BSTU and BUT sitting n the fence etc. What is this fracas about with BWU evicting CTUSAB from their offices?

9. To my mind you shouldn’t even need legislation for this – if an employee is entitled to three weeks holiday he/ she should be able to take that during the course of 12 months however he / she pleases within reason.

Sometimes you just need a couple of days off and sometimes you want a week – why should you be forced to take it all at once or in just two batches.

I have worked in environments where if you want vacation (a day, 2 days or a week etc) you just have to give a month’s notice and it will be approved (and if not there has to be a good reason). It is only since I came here that I have been made to take it in two batches.

I have also been told here that you can’t have vacation in certain months so that leaves only 7 / 8 months in which you can take leave. Then sometimes I just want a day off (for whatever reason) and I have to take it sick – ridiculous.

10. I am on contract with a company where employees are allowed 5 Personal days per year and 5 Sick days.
    A personal day is for if you need to do something like buy a car etc or just feel like taking a day off.

They are required to give a few weeks notice of the dates they intend to take their vacation and they can take it one day at a time or all at once if they choose.

This is possible because they employ 400 people.

A variation of this could work in Barbados. Reasonable Employers and employees usually create a successful business.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“…force them to break up their annual holiday”

Wake and smell the coffee

This has been happening for years now. All this means is that it now has force of legislation.

12. Imagine what would have happened if Barbados did not have Trade Unions.

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

A vacation is meant to give the worker time off to rest and recuperate. When a worker is forced to take the holiday, under the guise of agreeing to the arrangement, he does not have time to get the appropriate rest. He starts out being tired when he starts the new employment year.

Government is under a duty to protect workers. They should not be proposing legislation that would exploit workers. Right now people breach the existing law and when employees object, they are fired. Government should enforce the law, not capitulate to law breakers as they did with minibuses and jambusting. There must be something very wrong when Government changes the law to accommodate wrong doing. Will they change the law to accommodate smoking marijuana just because many people are doing it.

14. “Government changing law to accommodate wrongdoing” ..ha ha …
    Right now it is perfectly legal for a person to shove something down another’s throat or ear or nose, but it is illegal to shove something up that person’s rectum even with consent … I tell yah. Government protecting a lotta asses ’bout here …

15. @Caswell

whats wrong with employers and employees agreeing when vacation should be taken. The business has to be staffed and the employer would know the best time emplyees should go on holiday so that prouction etc can be scheduled to meet the demand. A humane employer would recognize that the business’ success depends on a productive workforce.

in the public service General Orders requires an officer to take at least 5 consecutive days vacation in the year, it does not specify how the other days must be taken, except that you must take at least 14 days in the year. Those unappointed officers must earn their vacation. The said G O allow an officer to carry forward no more than x days or else you would lose them, unless u get peremission to carry forward more than the stipulated amount.

Didnt you say both parties must agree, in the public service, you leave can be refused based on the exigency of the situation, or it can be cancelled. i believe that in this modern day and age, employers have recognized that a demotivated workforce is an unproductive one.

Please note i have not seen the legislation, so i am responding to your reasoinig. Futher, i dont agree with you that ministers dont read the legislation, in fact, sometimes it is the minisiter who initiates that legislation be drafted, amended etc, thus for you say that they dont read the legislation is stretching the truth a bit.

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

BAFBFP

How did you get a discussion on holidays with pay turn around to be dealing with shoving something up someone’s rectum. I have my doubts about you, even though you claim to be 100% male, I detect a measure of bi-curiosity on your part.

17. ‘Cause I jut lookin’ to piss you off Cas … Ha ha ha

18. IT is true that they will soon abolish some bank -holidays too in the interest of productivity ????
    CAN we have a suggestion as to which holidays will or should be terminated f it comes to that ????
    DID I hear someone say that Errol Barrow Day and Heroes Day, two foolish political Bank Holidays should be the first to go???
    CYAH CYAH

JUST ASKING along with my GRANNY
    JUST OBSERVING

19. @Caswell, I don’t envy you taking on the task of trying to educate the (m)asses. To suggest that is all right to take it two days at a time, well well. Does anyone have a list of these humane employers? But you know,they already get around the vacation requirement with the rolling one year (or shorter) contracts.

20. Caswell Franklyn | February 4, 2012 at 4:52 PM | A vacation is meant to give the worker time off to rest and recuperate.

A vacation should be for a worker to do what ever he chooses to do.
    Rest,recuperate or do like Hants and “party”.

There is a difference between a worker and a slave. Bajan employers must be reminded of that.

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Scorpio

Thank you. I know that I will not open the eyes of everybody but, I hope to reach a significant number. Don’t be put off by the negative comments on this blog. I am not. I regard them as part of the cost of doing business. However, I would like to remove the scales from the eyes of the political directorate enough for them to see that they are being manipulated into passing legislation to benefit only a few with agendas, not the masses who have the greater number of votes. Unfortunately, votes, notwithstanding, they need money to run campaigns and the masses can’t provide that. You know what they say: He who pays the piper calls the tune: workers are not calling this tune.

My next concern is the watered down version of the Employment Rights Bill that is now before the House of Assembly. Over the years, the Employers Confederation has been able to outsmart the unions, particularly the Barbados Workers’ Union, so that the resultant bill does not worth passing. The workers would only realise that they were duped when the bill is passed and goes into operation.

22. @Hants

Yes and no, an employee who parties in his vacation and doesn’t get the requisite downtime to recuperate physically and mentally is no help to the employer to being a productive worker.

23. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

@Caswell Franklyn
    “The employer is in the dominant position in the employer/employee relationship, and can therefore exert pressure on an employee to agree to break up his holiday.”

i don’t see how that could be a problem…that’s why i have caller ID

24. @Caswell

You are correct of course and employees are even more vulnerable in the prevailing climate.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Smooth Chocolate

Sorry, apparently I did not make myself clear. I am not referring to a situation where a worker is on holiday and the employer calls him/her out. I am referring to a situation where the employer says to a worker: you are entitled to three weeks vacation and I want you to take one week off each month for the next three months or something like that. In my experience, I know of two dentist who would say to staff, after they have reported for duty that they did not have enough appointments for today so take today as a vacation day. The propose changes would allow an employer to pressure a worker to accept those types of arrangements.

26. David the tourists who come to Barbados and Sail,water ski,jetski. and wine an dine at the hotels and night clubs are workers too.

I guess they return to work and are un productive.

I have lived in Canada most of my working life and Vacation has always been for my enjoyment. Travel and party hard.

27. The Unions must be vigilant because Barbados is a small country and people cannot change jobs easily.
    Employers have a captive workforce.

28. @Caswell

It seems Minister Byer-Suckoo was at pains to point out in her press conference yesterday that the building is maintained by the Land Tax Department with final ownership by the ministry of transportation and works.

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

By now you would realise that I believe that everything should be in its place, similarly, everybody should know their place. Minister Suckoo was out of the spotlight for a while so she squeezed in a little opportunity to show that she is effective. It is the permanent secretary’s duty to ensure that the health ans safety legislation is observed. Section 10 of the Public Service Act states:

10. (1) Notwithstanding paragraph (f) of section 8, it shall be the duty of every Permanent Secretary to ensure that the provisions of any enactment in respect of the health, safety and welfare of persons at work are observed in relation to the Ministry or Department to which the Permanent Secretary is assigned.

(2) A Permanent Secretary shall be regarded as having discharged the duty of a Permanent Secretary under subsection (1) where the Permanent Secretary has taken all actions that are necessary or appropriate in the circumstances.

Worse yet the National Employment Bureau (NEB) is a section of the Labour Department which is charged with the responsibility to ensure that workplaces are suitable for workers to occupy. They fell down in protecting their fellow workers.

I don’t care who is responsible for maintenance, the Labour Department and the Ministry of Labour should be the last places where workers are forced to walk off because of unsafe working conditions.

The Minister of Labour should not be on air trying to make herself look good. She should be ashamed to be heard on radio explaining this mess. Any where else but not the Labour Department. Minister should have publicly apologise to the workers and the country for this failing.

30. @Caswell

It appears the PS select the power moves they want to make.

On another note it was interesting to listen to the NUPW spokesman (Wayne Waldron) suggesting the problem has been ongoing for 10 years but a letter was only written to the relevant ministry/department this time around. What is the purpose of the union that it would allow the matter to deteriorate to the point of walking off the job and only one piece of formal communication sent in the period?

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

In all fairness to NUPW, the problem might have been going on for 10 years, but the workers could very well be prepared to endure in silence. And there are many reasons for this: some workers elevate politics over their health and would only complain when their party is out of power; some are fearful of victimization; and temporary officers fear losing their jobs. The union will only act on the basis of a complaint from its members.

I remember going to the Welfare Department to investigate a complaint, I took a ruler and pushed up a ceiling tile and loads of stuff poured out on my head. I had to go and get a shower, from head to toe since little bug were crawling through my hair. I told the workers that I cannot instruct them to leave, as I did not have that authority but they were within their rights to leave, but if they wanted to meet with me it would have to be on the outside as I was not prepared to remain in that building. A majority of the workers refused to go back into the building. That was in 2009. Only last year I was approached by one of the people who remained inside and abused because she saw what I did as trying to mess up her party. Thank God she is now retired and unable to terrorize junior staff to the point where they would remain in unsafe conditions.

I will maintain that this is a shameful situation, mainly because the workers involved are employed in a section of the Labour Department. Didn’t any senior person in the Labour Department notice that the conditions were deteriorating. If those conditions existed in a private sector workplace, the Labour Department would be duty bound to close that place of work, but they did nothing when it was happening to themselves.

32. Caswell you are saying that employees would suffer in silence for years where there are obvious signs of occupational hazard and suddenly decide to walk of the job with the blessing of the NUPW?

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It happens all the time

34. Cas
    You like you holding out on me, man. I hear that BWU has got not 1 but 2 new Deputy General Secretaries. 1 because Bobby retired & the other because Trottie ready to go sleep so he taking off he pajamas.

What happening Cas?