Minister Ronald Jones, Parliamentary Representative, Christ Church East Central.

THE Nation Publishing Co., in its edition of the Sunday Sun on December 11, 2011, published an article which purportedly carried contents of a letter written to the Prime Minister.

The Friday, December 16 edition of Barbados Today, an online newspaper, carried a letter which it states is a letter similar to that of the Sunday Sun’s version. Readers should bear in mind that the Sunday Sun embedded the contents of said letter in their story and wrapped it in parenthesis. So, in fact, the Sunday Sun has already published the contents of the said letter.

The only difference was the Nation warping its interpretation of the contents of the letter. They alluded to the MPs’ intention: “Their main reason for doing so was to discuss matters of grave concern” pertaining to his leadership and “to chart a path forward for the retention of our party in Government”.

The Nation emphatically stated this in the context of its story of Tuesday last. This differs somewhat from their initial quotation when the article stated that the MPs wanted the meeting, “with respect to perceived weaknesses in our leadership of the country”. This is a variation to that quoted above.

It is the Sunday Sun story of Sunday, December 11 that is of particular interest. The Nation reported that 11 MPs affixed their signatures to a letter and immediately dispatched it to the Prime Minister. The article states “ELEVEN GOVERNMENT MEMBERS of Parliament (MPs) – including seven senior Cabinet ministers – yesterday affixed their signatures to a formal letter and immediately dispatched it to Prime Minister Freundel Stuart requesting an ‘urgent’ audience.” That means that the Sunday Sun had to be aware that such was already done at least some time on Saturday, December 10 so that they would have included their article in the Sunday Sun with such authority.

The Nation subsequently published the faces of 11 MPs in its Tuesday edition, whom they asserted were the persons who affixed their signatures to this letter and dispatched it to the Prime Minister. The article states, “THEY ARE THE 11 dissatisfied Members of Parliament (MPs) who have been seeking an ‘urgent audience’ with Prime Minister Freundel Stuart.

“They comprise eight ministers in the 19-member Cabinet and three backbenchers.
“Their main reason for doing so was to discuss matters of ‘grave concern’ pertaining to his leadership and ‘to chart a path forward for the retention of our party in Government’.”

This was a bold assertion. The Nation was emphatically stating that there were no other MPs who were implicated in signing such a letter. The Nation, by so doing, created an atmosphere in which 11 persons were exposed to intense public scrutiny and ridicule. The Nation Newspaper had no intention of stepping back from their position.

“Since the publication of the contents of a letter to this intent in the SUNDAY SUN, some of them have publicly denied any knowledge of the letter or any issues with Stuart, for that matter.”

In defence of their character and integrity, some persons immediately responded that they did not place their signatures on any letter and therefore the Nation should cease and desist from making such a statement.

The Nation, through its Editor-in-Chief, intimated that it would stick by its word – that is, that 11 MPs affixed their signatures to a letter which was dispatched to the PM.

The Nation further kept the charge going by asserting that it would keep publishing the faces of the persons in its daily publication until the 18th, when they would publish the letter. (One would believe that the letter would have 11 signatures affixed to it and not the mere mention of eleven names) If this is not done, then the Nation newspaper would have made a false accusation against the MPs – especially those who said they had not so done.

The Paper, as part of its continuing engagement of the reading public indicated in its article of Tuesday that they were sticking to their story, they wrote “However, the DAILY NATION is sticking to its story. The newspaper has further been informed that Stuart held private talks with individual members of the complaining group before leaving the island yesterday for New York.

Well-placed sources said while the leadership issue was not yet settled, it was likely that “common sense” would prevail and that the dialogue would continue internally.
Yesterday, one source close to Stuart further indicated that some of the 11, who came under intense public scrutiny following the publication of concerns, were now suffering from “cold feet” and had indicated to Stuart that they were not prepared to press him any further on a meeting to discuss his leadership style.

I am careful to note that the Nation continued to refer to his leadership style and that was not identified in either their quote from the letter of Sunday 11th or the Barbados Today story of Friday last.

Readers should not miss the point. The Nation made a claim. That Claim was in the Sunday Sun of December 11. We therefore await the publication of the Letter with the affixed signatures. A mere presentation of a letter, which they have already published, cannot do. They have already done that in their Sunday Sun of 11th December by inserting the paragraphs in parenthesis. These paragraphs are identical to the letter published in Barbados Today. Can we assume that the letter came from the same source?

I am also keen to note that The Nation Newspaper started to introduce a daily subtle shift in its statements by suggesting that the persons authorised their names to be attached to the letter. There is no more mention of signatures being affixed to the letter. That has disappeared. The Nation Newspaper is now proclaiming “The DAILY NATION will continue to publish all denials while holding on to the letter written on behalf of eight ministers and three backbenchers. Here, we reprint the photographs of the Eager Eleven as we will do every day until Sunday.”

On behalf of’ is the language used previously in the article of December 11. The Nation Newspaper has to deliver this earth shattering letter with the affixed signatures or they would have taken the standards of journalism to an all-time low.

– RONALD JONES, Parliamentary Representative, Christ Church East Central.

134 responses to “Minister Ronald Jones Clears The Air About ‘The Letter’”

1. Demons! Demons! 🙂

2. To David:
    I am not clear about who is writing this response here. I does not read like the Ronald Jones that we are accustomed to. Or is it someone again trying to put Ronald’s name to a letter he does know anything about.

3. @lemmie

The same letter appears in the Advocate and was received by BU from an authentic source.

4. The Minister ended his letter this way.”They may have taken the standards of journalism to an all-time low.” Please be reminded Mr.Minister of the saying that “He that is down need fear no fall”.Some journalists in Bim have no pride.The B L P for sometime now,it seems has been their guide. At this time of year Bajans have grown accustom to Staff parties and through the God given gift of Richard Stoute a “Rock Steady Christmas Party.” Today folks we bear witness to the advent of Barbados’s version of “The Tea Party.” In step,in tune and in concert with the Barbados Labour Party,nothing falls outside the realm of capability in their quest to return to power “De Master Tactician.” The greatest act of ingratitude is to bite de hand dat give we food.That has got to be the motto of the Barbados Nation,the bajan tea party.Lets remember how one Barney Lynch was permitted to cut off government’s advertising dollars to the Advocate to the benefit of whom?De Tea Party.The most vile and openly racist comment about a barbadian Prime Minister (an inbred sense of entitlement)emanated from where?De Tea Party. We saw where on more than one occasion their journalists in the execution of their duties were roughed up by police,and mind you—on at least one of those occasions it was a female journalist,yet they never sought outside intervention.One phone call in the eyes of De Tea Partiers constituted an obstruction to freedom of the press,and the requested assistance of their caribbean brothers.These are the same people who took after hour phone calls at home and on their cell phones where the cussing became commonplace.Who was it on the other end of the line?The one they now seek to foist upon the people.Why? It is ingratitude to bite de hand that give you food.

5. I totally agree with the above as I said earlier. The Nation, Kaymar has to print the signatures not a list of names.

Also, they said that the letter was ‘delivered’ to the PM this is a statement of finished action – therefore the original has to be somewhere as the Barbados Today says that it was not delivered to the PM.

The Nation foul up big time – I am surprise that Kaymar is still Editor-in-Chief.Men without a lapse in memory would know if they affixed their signature to a letter.

Government should not only let the heads roll in the party – it should send the Nation Publishing a message that false reporting will not be tolerated by the Government by not renewing contracts with them.

6. The Nation and KAYMAR is and was in 24hr. damage control after insisting that they will stand by the contents of the article which they printed along with false information thrown out in the public arena the only card they had to play was that of CHRIS. failing to deliver some thing of value would have left them to more ridicule and public scrutiny The fact that they have not deliver what they had openly promised still leaves them open for criticism and distrust. Kaymar SHOULD BE FIRED No one wants to read a story and question its accuracy. .

7. BU and others have already predicted that there must be some bloodletting – it seems Chris maybe the one to fall on his own petard?

8. Chris Sincler is a big idiot, writing a letter was stupid; Freundel is a big liar, and a PM without a mandate; one that will not lead his party to victory, and one that cannot be counted on to secure his own seat; he sould take stock of these things as he acts out the role of “Leader,’ which he seems to be in love with. I have him on record stating the dangers of the then largest cabinet -16 members- and the fear of it being a prime ministers cabinet. He now sees it fit to lead a 19 member cabinet.

I have said before that those women down at the nationnews are up to know good!

9. de PM is who gave de letter to de ppl study it

10. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Adrian Hinds

You wrote: “I have said before that those women down at the nationnews are up to know good.”

Are you a male chauvinist; contortionist, or are you more inclined to be on the other side? Your comments are not favourable to a non-discriminating climate of honourable people. But then again, to pull you up on this, you will no doubt draw your knife and try to cut out my tongue forgetting that I am a man. Bi-bye!

11. @Adrian

Maybe the unravelling events explain why the PM has insisted on a ballon Cabinet.

Perhaps recent events allow for a haircut of Cabinet.

12. Why should the Prime Minister create more confusion in his party leading up to an election by firing people?
    The DLP still has the upper hand in this fiasco. The Nation said it had eleven signatures which it did not? They are guilty of misleading Barbadians. They have shown that they will go to any length to install the GENIUS who collected $75000 for campaign purpose and put it in his personal account. The Prime Minister should be upset with the Nation for trying to destabilize his Government. He should withhold advertisements from them for 2012.
    Mr. Prime Minister do not take the bait of the Nation or Blogs and follow a Sandiford path of causing the DLP to back in opposition for the next twenty years

13. @David
    Indeed David; he is no different than Owen on that. Any PM who manufactures a cabinet larger than 15 members is intent on overcoming the “check” of parliament and the constraints of first amongst equals; in effect becoming a Dictator; added to this, Freundel’s ambivalence to the needs of his ministers, parliamentary colleagues, party and a significant number of Barbadians is very telling. Seems like he cannot come to grips with being PM, and is still in reflective mode. One term only.

Um is early morning and as I respond to George Brath, the mental construct of an early morning face -George’s face- is very unsettling. I hope you are in the habit of massaging, and washing it first thing when out of bed, before presenting yourself to anyone. So you know, I never attempt to separate a message from its author. I have had to on many occasions take the nation-news to task and if it were headed by men during those times on which I reflect, my style of writing would have been the same; however, the word men would replace women. So guh was yuh face!

14. Yuh hear muh Brath? “guh wash yuh face”

Stuart is out no matter what! He will not retain his seat, Sincler will and will become the LOTO. I am still hoping for a 15/15 stalemate results in the next elections. 🙂

15. @Adrian

Such a result may help Barbadians to call for the reform we obviously need.

16. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Adrian and David

The weakest possible government one can achieve under the Westminster system is that of equal or near equal distribution of elected persons within a predominant two-party system. Hardly anything would get done by the side that assumes leadership and the reins of power. We must be very careful what we ask for.

17. @George

That is the exact point!

18. Who is advising Chris?

In today Sun 3A he states “I will not be interested in putting my name in any race for any Prime Ministership, period.”

Wasn’t it just over a year ago Sinckler’s name was voted for to succeed the late PM Thompson?

As he suffered an about turn on aspiring to be PM?

Again, who is advising Chris!?!

19. Fractured BLP Party Avatar
    Fractured BLP Party

The Nation News is a pathetic symbol of journalistic folly.

For the past few days the Nation News promised Barbadians an earth shattering letter ( with signatures affixed ) addressed to the PM of Barbados.

On Sunday 18th Dec 2011 the same newspaper :
    1. Produces an undated letter !
    2. No letterhead is shown !
    3. Poorly addressed to the PM !
    4. Names of 11 MP’s without the promised signatures affixed !

But, surely the Nation News created enough euphoria for them to sell 200,000 copies of the Sunday Sun on 18th December, 2011.

Phew, now that is the epitome of the highest journalistic standards !

20. I am a DLP supporter. We have good politicians but we need a leader that can win an election.

We have a PM who can manage a Government, is a competent intellectual but we need a political thug with a brain to win the next election.

If Chris Sinckler was party to the drafting of the letter he is not political leadership material. Political thugs don’t make that kind of mistake. This whole fiasco is juvenile.

Will we have a new political thug or a backroom strategist to battle with the political thug and vagabond on the other side.

21. Indeed David; and George isn’t thinking on this one, he is still caught up in perpetuating our deliberately “centralized-concentration-of-power” adaptation of Westminster. What are we getting done under the current system? talked about reforming the economy, talk about 25 year strategic plan, talk about law and order; even had a commission on it, integrity legislation, freedom of information, on and on the list of not yet done goes.

And we talk about leadership, and who Barbadians want to be leader, but we have not yet started in a serious way to discuss, letting Barbadians say who they really want by way of a popular vote, and that cannot happen unless there is reform of governance, including our electoral process.

Often times we stumble upon the true; pick ourselves up and carry on as if nothing has occurred.

22. The Chris Sinckler interview in the NATION today confirms BU source info.

That is a ‘draft letter’ unsigned was delivered to editor in chief and the decafinated one last Friday.

The letter was delivered by the two PSs of different vocation.

The NATION exhibited a level of unprofessionalism unheard of by a reputable newspaper by going to press advising the world that 11 DLP MPs had affixed their signatures to a letter to PM Stuart requesting an audience.

Another titbit from the interview Sinckler confirmed that only about 3 people saw the draft, the others were not canvassed.

For going to press with such a sketchy position the NATION owes Barbadians an explanation.

23. …..and such reformation isn’t going to occur without serious denials of power to our political class -they benefit way too much from the current system to give it up so easily.

24. No wonder Chris gave the interview to the Nation. They need each other right now. Disgusting lot they are. I heard you David and others in here singing this Kaymar person a lot of praise when she got de pick at the rag, which I said was undeserving. I AM CORRECT. These people are of the firm view that in order to fully integrate Barbados into one-caribbean they will have to destroy its culture, and things Bajan.

25. @Adrain

BU will take our cutass on Kaymar. By this latest yellow journalism she has flattered to decieve.

26. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Sinckler also confirmed their discussions (the eager 11). Are you wondering who will now replace Sinckler since he has unreservedly stated that he never wants to be PM and would decline if asked to rethink on that; and his reply was that his not wanting the position stands ‘forever’. I feel sorry for him, but sounds like a politician who was whipped with the rod he handed to his whipper. I must also wonder what are the people (old and young over 18 years old) in St. Michael North West saying? Sinckler is now referencing the making of contributions outside of the cherished corridors of parliament. Is he planning on vacating or does he believe he will be forced to vacate (either from within his party or from the electorate).

27. Sinckler’s interview is saying to the PM to fire him and he will pick up the pieces.

It is clear based on his revelation and occupying the position of MoF his participation in the inner circle has become unacceptable.

A pity!

28. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Not “a pity!” An example of why I like the man. He is robust, can be clumsy, but at some time he faces up to the music. I do feel somewhat sorry for him and I shall not try to beat him down, but the people of St. Michael North West will have many many questions. I hope he answers them all as forthright as he has answered the Nation’s questions.

29. Sincler was reluctant to be a candidate in the last election, I don’t think that he has had any personal motivation to be the PM; however, the way he was received and the flattering comments made during and since the election may have caused him to reconsider. This blunder no doubt seemly has caused him to return to that familiar position. Popular persons who I think will do this country well will not be looked upon kindly in our current governance systems where kingmakers believe it is their right to call the shots in determining who shall be PM. I don’t understand why a people who have no say in who shall be their leader would continue to support their exclusion.

30. @Antz

Was it deliberate no mention was made of the alleged meeting at Sapphire?

31. If the people of St.Michael North west still wants him, he should continue to be their representative. Freundel aint gine make it back to parliament, that is certain.

32. It would be a pity to lose Chris from parliament which should make the matchup with Nicholls interesting.

33. @ DAVID.
    ” it seems that Chris may be the one to fall on his own petard”
    You have made a slight error in your assessment, David. He has already fallen ON HIS SWORD…

34. Ezra Alleyne’s piece today makes for interesting reading.

35. @ George Brathwaite.
    Did I read that you attributed FORTHRIGHTNESS to the manner in which Sinckler answered the questions posed to him by the Editor? Well George you have a very cockeyed view of the full import of that word. There was no greater display of DISINGENUOUSNESS given in any interview in recent times…you called him being FORTHRIGHT ???????

36. @clone
    Are you an idiot? Admission of the deed by one of the ringleaders will forever damn them to infamy. Whether The Dems advertise with The Nation or not will not affect the Nation . It will affect the Dems. Accept the folly of the members and take the consequences The dilimma or perplexity is what can the PM do?. He has effectively lost his majority in the House and he is no a position to do much.Those who ratted will never be trusted andf even though they may want to curse the Nation everyone will see them for what they are untrustworthy. slippery,contemptible and unbecoming. I believe that men who did not sign that Stuart is unelectable and will make a counter move. The PM does not have the cards and he is bluffing and the men will call his bluff. He is weak and they are weak and this whole episode has made him weaker.let him attempt to make heads roll and we shall sff what we shall see.
    .Stuart is not an eminently successful politician and no one can say he is a political winner so he has no cards. We have had two stronger PMs who have lost their seats and the belief by his members that he is unelectable as leader must therefore make him weak..He will be damned if does and more damned if he he doesnt. He is without options.I am sorry for him. He does not deserve this. Think on these things

37. The interview appears to be contrived.

Maynot have been but so it appears.

38. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Eagleeyed

Yes. Given the circumstances, the questions posed, and his answers, I believe that he is (was) as forthright as one could expect. He is still a member of the party, he is still a Cabinet Minister, and he is still among the Eager 11. That means his answers had to reflect more on his role than on anyone else. That is the political nature of things and I accept that. It may not reflect well on him either in terms of loyalty or integrity, but it is my humble opinion that he spoke as directly to the questions as he could have given the sensitive nature of all that transpired.

39. I had promise not to comment any longer on this topic until after Christmas, however, to those DLP supporters who still linking Owen to this letter. please listen to what the P.M said. He was quoted as saying he expected that destabilation coming from the BLP (owen) but it HAS COME FROM WITHIN HIS OWN PARTY. Stop blaming others for your own backstabbing. Whether there were signatures or not, Sinckler admitted the only reason the others did not sign is because the letter was leaked to the press. That leakage could only have been done by one of the same eleven. There is a Judas or Judases among them and there is discord among them and Stuart either should step down or sit with them let them express themselves and then chart a way forward. Any P.M from now on should do like the old man Eric Williams, have all the M.P’s write an undated resignation letter, he will put in the date.

40. @The Scout

Even if PM Stuat steps down as Yardbroom opined on another the greater damage may have been done.

Who to trust given that Chris has been left alone to face the music?

41. Who made a PM God in Westminster? David where can I find Ezra’s column? Often times his pieces have no bearing on what is going on here; he had a tendency to speak about Westminster proper as if we are in England.

42. Was it an attempted Coup or Coop? Bajans have no fear, there will be no shortage of chickens this Christmas. There are eleven big fat ones shivering in a coop, crowing , or eating crow ,somewhere in Palmetto Street.

43. One of those who said “NOT ME” is most likely the culprit who leaked the letter. There are a lot of M.P’s right now in the political SICU unit with stabs in their backs, P.M Stuart and all those who got frieghten and disassociate themselves, don’t blame Sinckler alone, they are all guilty.

44. I suspect I know who it is because “time longer than twine.”

45. David giveth and he also taketh away.; that is the nature of politics.

46. @Boy Blue, that was so funny. Now I don’t want to eat chicken this Christmas because I’ll keeping thinking about fat, egg head politicians. Thanks Boy Blue, you’ve made my Christmas!! Lol.

47. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Scout

And yet there is another twist. Who wanted to get Sinckler out of the way? That is the real person that wants to become PM. Sinckler was sunk; the unravelling has truly started. Not Sinckler for PM, then who? Be careful the polsters, pranksters, and kingmakers.

48. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Sapphire meeting is very real and the plot has not been foiled. It is still on the cards.

49. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

If you can hum a tune or go, la-la, you may eventually reach the correct destination. Brought to my attention that ridding themselves of the ‘popular’ Sinckler had to be done in order to elevate the dangerous outsider who is seldom noticeable as a key contributor to any debate in parliament. What a ruse! Darn, I did not even conceptualise that the plot could have been this deep. Some people keep a Jack up their sleeves and some hold on to their Queen for political and financial security.

50. I am an Idiot, True to Form but old enough to know that worst things were done by politicians and they went nowhere into infamy.
    Owen Arthur and the gang of five conspired and removed Mia Mottley because of some notion that she was not fit to lead the party because of some lifestyle trait. He is today waiting patiently to get Mia to back him so that he can become the PM again. You true to form believes she will back him because that is the nature of politics.
    The said man who speaks today in the Nation about constitutional matters was a politician, went to a VERY LOW POSITION IN TERMS OF HIS LIFESTYLE AND TODAY HE IS REPECTED CONSTITUTIONAL EXPERT.

The PM is in a very difficult position and he must recognize that any party can win 16-14.He should forget about all this Machiavelli talk, call his team together work out the problems and go on to win the election. No one should be fired because the letter called for a meeting and nothing is wrong with that.
    Your friends are the ones who should tell you that things are not looking good