62 year old Diane Davies the day after her alleged attack

When one of the leading daily newspapers in the UK run a story penned by a leading journalist, it translates to ‘widely read’. When the story is about a 62 year old who claims she was raped in Barbados while on vacation, it translates into bad news for Barbados. Right at the start of the main tourist season to boot, this does us absolutely no favours at all if the allegations are correct; if true Barbados is seriously at fault.

Barbadians are left to wonder this morning what the hell is going on? Why are we playing boo peep with our number one foreign exchange earner? Why have the authorities i.e. Attorney General, Barbados Police Force and by extension the government not given this matter the attention it merits? Why do we allow bureaucracy and officialdom  perhaps pride to ferment this matter?

BU has blogged too many times about the need to revamp our court system to ensure justice is seen to be done and also for the Police Complaints Authority to do its damn job. How can we be serious about tourism and continue to retreat behind statistics. Barbadians on the ground know that serious crime is trending upwards and to be honest the business as usual approach by the authorities is not cutting it.

188 responses to “Rising Crime + Tourism = Bad News”

1. What many of the bloggers like Le MULE and JUST ASKING they are overlooking how this woman was treated after being raped. She was raped all over again by our police force. It could have happened anyone of us, our mothers ours sisters and our sons. Why can’t some of you see where this victim is coming from? Why do so many of you say it is alleged rape? A rape kit was done a doctor was called why do some of you prefer to bury your heads up your behinds? We lack empathy as a society or it is grossly misplaced. Because we have a mouth that doesn’t mean we must spout out the first thing that comes to mind without carefully thinking. When we spout like Lemule and Just asking without care and concern we exhibit a morbid trait that is sullying the image of Barbados and Barbadians.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lemuel | November 27, 2011 at 1:58 PM |
    “Caribbean women are routinely raped while in the hands of the immigration in the US or Britain”.

I take your position about treating crime in a consistent manner across the board. Fair enough, I will grant you that one. But based on the above quoted statement one can assume that it is possible a similar act could take place here in Barbados seeing that we like to ape the British in our governance and law enforcement structures (Myrie claim springs to mind).

But I like your confessed association with homosexuals. Confession is good for the Christian soul as long as you are not betrayed by a kiss with the moral police looking through the Judas hole. The last man that openly recognised a “Pal” is now in a financial quandary caught between the BIPA c(r)ocks and a hard place. Should he compensate BIPA members and increase the “I(n)cy Physical” deficit or throw his pal to the bullying wolves at Dodds.

Now lemuel take this in the spirit it is intended. I know you have a broad back and it can carry a lot of weight. Now, is it true that birds of a feather tend to flock together, even those in the closet?
    Easy tiger, don’t jump on my back now! Just a little lightheartedness from my wicked sense of humour!

3. To Miller:
    I will say this. I only really understood the impact of HIV/AIDS on the homosexual community through discussions with my pals as you call them. I also was able to understand why historically most of our gay men in barbados hid within the confines of bisexuality. Why some people get their annual medicals, but do not push to see the results. Why the AIDS programme in Barbados does not have a clue about what is going on in that closed world. And for your infromation I would stand up any where in Barbados and talk to my homosexual pals, including Mia. Could not help that one.

Yes, i would admit that the Myrie accusation could have happened; she did cry rape though she cried violation of her person.

4. To Island Gal:
    I know that you have a deficit when it comes to the logical process. Again, I did not make any reference to the Lady or her accusations about rape. My position was to the reaction that I was seeing here on this blog. A reaction of mendicancy. Like chicken little a story is published in a brit newspaper so the whole world is going to end. My position remains the same treat all cases the same not one treatment for tourists and another for locals. But at times you need to have the cob webs lick off of you and you come to me to dust you out. I guess that that is my duty here on this blog .I read your piece on the Dominican musician who passed away, and I enjoyed it. Woman why don’t you leave me alone.

5. Le MULE ……we have already in place one treatment for locals (bad and unmannerly) and one treatment for Tourist ( smiling and helpful). When someone visits your home you treat them with great respect and you go the whole mile to make their stay a happy one don’t you? If something bad happens to them you would move the earth to make them feel better or comfortable wouldn’t you? You are exhibiting a very conceited selfish and uncaring attitude towards you fellow man. You have no duty here to dust anyone off.

If you were a REAL MAN and enjoyed the piece I wrote on the Dominican musician how come I am now hearing about it? Couldn’t you have admitted that in that post? I can’t read minds and by giving me a backhanded compliment does nothing for me. It tell me that you are very covetous and that even though you like something someone wrote it is very HARD for you to admit it. It is clear that you have the mannerisms of a boor pig.

6. To Island Gal:
    I did start to write something, but remember that your reaction may not have been the best, so I discontinued. I do not have a problem with what you are saying about visitors; I never did. But when you see the Mule like the bull you see only red, and start charging.

7. P.S. …Lemule …come with a pure heart and you will shine.

8. To Island Gal:
    Must remember that. Until we disagree again, which is likely to be the next minute. LOL.

9. “I did start to write something, but remember that your reaction may not have been the best, so I discontinued”

Do I detect FEAR of a little islandgal from Le MULE? Is this a story like David and Goliath? Fear me not I am human like you! LOLLLL

10. CANT you unsighted persons see that I only ask questions and genuinely do so ???
    WHY dont you just answer the questions that I asked of you ???
    IS it too hard to ‘JUST ANSWER’ (hint) the questions.
    HAVE I made any statements , comments, taken any positions ???
    SHOULDN’T I take offence to someone mixing up my gender and trying to insult me ???
    DO you know that I am willing to take myself off this blog if I think that I am offensive ???
    DO you know that ?
    CAN you all JUST ANSWER my questions and stop taking them as statements please ???

11. GEEZE>>>JUST RASTOLE ASKING …..SHUT YOUR GOB! YOU ARE TIRING!

12. @Just Asking. Your question was that offensive.

13. sorry yuh all! i am not always quick to jump on the bandwagon on what is printed in the News media ! a story is only true in my opinion when it has corroborating facts and verifiable information until then i keep my hypersensitive emotional rants in place. BTW i email The police Chief in reference to the story since he is the person in charge and he should told as to how we feel about the mistreatment of the victim if it so happens to be TRUE

14. This allegations whether true or not, can hurt our tourist industry particularly at a time when Barbados is most vulnerable economically. In that regard, I expect the BTA to be working on damage control. Either refuting the allegations or making the requisite apologies or putting whatever spin on this story to minimise the potential loss of income.

15. @ac

The Commissioner has spoken to this matter publicly already and considers that his force did all it could in an effcieint manner.

16. David this is another incident that occurred since the first one.

17. @islandgal

Thanks!

18. Can’t we have a civilized debate without resorting to name calling and insults? I think that Lemuel was stating a general position on crime in general but he is going about it in a ham handed way without acknowledging or expressing sympathy for the victim. Before you know it everybody is calling each other names. Are there any adults on this forum?

Rape is a very sensitive subject and even the best trained police forces in the world can run up against accusations of maltreatment or disrespect when victims of rape are interviewed by them. I don’t think that there is any disagreement that the RBPF doesn’t have a protocol on dealing with victims or rape or domestic violence for that matter. Many other Police forces have learnt the hard way that specially trained Officers are best equipped to handle these situations.

If people are untrained what are the expectations? If an untrained teacher is responsible for educating your offspring are they likely to do well? The same applies to untrained police personnel in Barbados, they have not been trained to handle these situations and that is where we need to focus whether the issue is sexual assault or violence against women (tourist or not), the current bout of name calling will achieved zero results or understanding.

19. @Sargeant

Expect emotions to rear when discussing a subject like this one.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Sargeant | November 27, 2011 at 5:08 PM |
    “The same applies to untrained police personnel in Barbados, they have not been trained to handle these situations and that is where we need to focus whether the issue is sexual assault or violence against women (tourist or not)”

We would agree with you. But do you think that the values of sympathy, understanding, respect and sensitivity to rape victims are attributes that need to be taught through special training sessions? These appear to be qualities that any decent human being in any vocation or walk of life should possess since these values ought to be instilled in the home, religious houses and schools. One of the basic problems of the Police Force is its failing ability to attract competent, motivated people with a drive for law enforcement and integrity in service. The compensation package, to start, is a downright turnoff in light of the risks and major inconvenience to be undertaken in the course of duty in a crime rising society.
    Make Policing a very attractive vocation with high standards and await the results or the fruit of this investment!

21. TO ALL BAJANS AND RESIDENTS OF BARBADOS, BTA, BPF DLP BLP Church Leaders, Hoteliers, Minitry of Education, UWI

Please read the following comments made by persons who have lived and visited this island. There is alotta lotta truth in what they are saying. Stop trying to find plasters. Find solutions, we cannot afford this type of publicity. PLEASE DO SOME SELF INVENTORY if we do not change how we do business we will be in a worst place. Remember we have all our eggs in one basket and that basket is leaking.

“I can tell you this, Diane, having lived in Barbados for a few years while my husband worked (on social issues), it is an outwardly beautiful place but without a soul. –The only place where I’ve lived in the world that I’ve experienced full on racism –A place that has 350 Christian churches but where the people, especially the women, are hard as nails, arrogant, etc –Small island mentality, as befits a place 14 miles wide and 21 miles long, yet they think they are the top place in the Caribbean –The only place actually where my (incredibly modest) house was continually burgled by men/boys running through while I was hanging out the washing (for instance) grabbing what they could as they went Sometimes, my hubby says let’s go back for a holiday. But I’ve lived in hardship places in Asia and Africa and I’d go back there before I’d go to this smug, corrupt “little” island.”

“I’m so sorry ofr these women. My experience- A male friend and myself (female) were assaulted and robbed on the beach just feet from the resort gate on Rockley Beach in Christ Church Barbados in Jan 2009. The police were thoughtless, incompetent and blamed us for being on the beach at sun-down and having valuables with us. One police officer even told us that New York City was more dangerous than Barbados so we shouldn’t really complain. This was my first and last visit to Barbados- please go elsewhere.”

“I was raped in Barbados about 15 years ago. I never told anyone, and had to go through the indignity of visiting a GUM clinic to be tested for AIDS and other STI’s in the UK. The doctor I saw said that I had severe internal injuries and should go to the police, but I never did. The scars healed, but I didn’t. I still feel ashamed although I know it wasn’t my fault. I became separated from my friends and was walking the short distance back to our villa alone when I was attacked. Like Mrs Davies, I went to Barbados thinking it was safe. The people are really friendly and welcoming. I was shocked to find that many women travel to Barbados for sex. The young Barbadian men behave like gigolo’s accepting gifts and money in return for sex. Unfortunately, some of them feel that all white women are the same. They have a joke that the inbound flights from the UK are bringing ‘fresh meat’ supplies. Many women travel there year after year. My heart goes out to Mrs Davies and the other women.”

‘I am of course horrified by the way this poor lady was treated. Sadly however, I have to say this kind of attitude is all too common. The staff in the hotels generally are very helpful and friendly but that is where it stops. The work ethic on the island leaves a great deal to be desired in many sectors and that is tragic. My thoughts a prayers are with Diane. I hope in time she is able to get over this and find some peace.”

22. WHY dont you all answer the questions and stop attacking me ???
    WHAT is wrong with JUST ASKING ?
    WHY you all behaving so ???
    CAN anybody say that I made statements ??
    WHY IG265 behaving so ???
    HOW can a question be offensive ???
    IF the Police ask you a question , you dont like, will you refuse to answer just because of what you think of the Question ??
    IF the judge ask you a question, will you do the same ???
    DONT you know that you all need discipline and patience when dealing with situations , questions etc that are not to your liking???
    DOES my style of questioning irritate ?
    DO you know that there are people on this blog who irritate me?
    DO you see me attacking anbody unless they attack me and not even then??
    DO you all know that it takes all kinds to make the world ??
    DO you all think that wunna got the monopoly on comments , questions, blogs, words, call in shows, innuendo, sacarsm, computer, keyboard, ???
    DO you all know that in this world you have to be tolerant and not curse people because of different colour of skin, political views, religious persuasion, sexual orientation, social position, job, educational level, mode of dress, diet, size, height, male , female, beggar, vagrant ????
    I AM JUST ASKING

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ JUST ASKING | November 27, 2011 at 5:52 PM |
    I like your all-embracing perspective on tolerance and giving everyone a chance to prove his or herself. Very worthwhile indeed and magnanimous on your part!
    But don’t you think that rape is a rather harrowing experience and sensitivity with appropriate support mechanisms ought to be the first response in order to reflect your eclectic mix of tolerance?
    Just Asking????

24. Millertheanunaki

The values of “sympathy, understanding, respect and sensitivity” to anyone or about anything other than money, food and sex are apparently not commonly found among Barbadians. As exhibit one in support of my charge, I present NISE. Imagine a state institution is needed to train adult persons to be courteous and helpful in dealing with customers. It is clear that the “home, religious houses and schools” and employers failed to impart these values.

25. “The values of “sympathy, understanding, respect and sensitivity” to anyone or about anything other than money, food and sex are apparently not commonly found among Barbadians. ”

Ping Pong well said……for a country that depends on an industry where these qualities are a prerequisite and is sadly lacking tells me that we are in BIG TROUBLE as a society and and as a Nation.

26. “It is clear that the “home, religious houses and schools” and employers failed to impart these values.”

How many of these people will own up to this?

27. @Ping Pong/Miller etc.

The values of “sympathy, understanding, respect and sensitivity” to anyone or about anything other than money, food and sex are apparently not commonly found among Barbadians.
    That’s a generalisation and you know it, I’ve encountered Bajans with sour attitudes and I’ve also met many Bajans who are pleasant and helpful. If an arm of the State is involved with a national program such as NISE then the Gov’t is only doing what private companies do all over the world. If you go to McDonalds and the hostess greets you with a smile and tells you to “have a nice day” where do you think that came from? They certainly didn’t learn that in Church or school.

Barbados is far from perfect but I’ll take the gruff responses from some of its people rather that the forced, fake, phony interactions that are part of everyday life in other places.

28. well i guess that does it for the NIS and our money! how quickly we forget! Just a crazy bunch of yahooS! on to the next story . like anybody really care !.

29. St George's Dragon Avatar

Click on the link below and look at the picture of the victim to see Lemule’s idea of the result of what he thinks might be consensual sex:
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2066672/Barbados-rape-victim-British-grandmother-Diane-Davies-tells-brave-story.html
    Have you no heart?

30. It seems that many are losing the plot on this story. Yes people can say anything but it is how we respond that will do it. Given the competition nowadays Barbados cannot contiue to take this beating and don’t expect fallout. This is what we have to focus on.

31. Sargeant | November 27, 2011 at 6:50 PM | …Sarge do yo live in Barbados? Have you worked in Barbados recently? to say
    “Barbados is far from perfect but I’ll take the gruff responses from some of its people rather that the forced, fake, phony interactions that are part of everyday life in other places.’ is really surprising from someone like you. I don’t care if someone say to me at the end of my patronage to enjoy my day and doesn’t mean it after I have left their premises. But at least my patronage has been acknowledged in a pleasant manner. You obviously are used to roughness but I appreciate it when I get good service. Fake or Real !

32. To St. george dragon:
    Are you a total ASS? Where in any piece did I make any references to the incident or indicate that I believe what transpired to be consensual sex. You need to tell Just Asking why he can not ask his pointed questions. I have been trying my damnest to stay out of this kiss botsy circus that is being displayed here. But still I find myself being accused of all sorts of nefarious things.

33. IG246

Note I said the island was far from perfect but there are many repeat visitors who obviously had good experiences otherwise they wouldn’t return. I also said that we shouldn’t generalize what’s wrong with that? Why should the whole island be tarred with the same brush?

No I don’t live in Bim but was there in April/May this year.

34. If one of the largest newspapers (Daily Mail) has this story as a centre spread and front page news one does not have to be an Eeinstien to know that it will create a negative perception of the island. In fact one just has to read the comments under the article.

35. Typical Barbados —- Be quiet and hope it disappears.

Latest statistics have Barbados murder rate approaching that of Trinidad & Jamaica. Do you see anything significant reporting in either of the Barbados daily newspapers about break ins, robberies, home invasions etc., only the occasional report when some local Bajan native was the recipient.

It’s GOVERNMENT POLICY that anything detrimental to the islands tourist industry is NOT TO BE REPORTED. This includes robberies, break ins, rapes, muggings, corruption, environmentally negative and anything that hinds at anarchy.

The ostrich may have his head in the sand but the tourists still pick up on the negative vibes. The ostrich should get his head out of the sand as the economic wolf is on the prowl.

36. @ SARGE

You don’t have to defend your stance on the issue. what you say is clear and precise, One doesn’t have to live on the island to have an opinion on Crime and violence which is epidemic worldwide and which Barbados for so many years had been immune to. However when Barbados is cat spraddled all 166sq . miles of it. it makes me wonder what was the purpose and who are the real villains.If the incident with the police is true rightfully so question should be asked and seek from to those in charge,But carrying on as if Barbados only has such incidents and nothing is ever done about it is ridiculous. i have read here on BU where many say that the Foreign Tourist is treated much better than the locals but then again how quickly we forget.

37. @WILD CAYOTE
    and as long as people like you keep beating the Drum of gloom and doom the tourist will stay away Carry on smartly lot of people think that they are being very intelligent when speaking about such matters and interjecting a lot of hostility when in fact the level of negativity about the island doesn’t do anything to repair what harm has been done all it does is to inflamed more hatred towards the island and its people.

38. It is Bajans living on the rock who will have a sense of what the crime level and mood of the country is at. For those on the ground the crime situation is definitely slipping and needs to be addressed headon or more and more crime on tourists will occur.

39. islandgal246 | November 27, 2011 at 4:54 PM | David this is another incident that occurred
    ==============================
    And the British tabloid made sure that the first case is not forgotten by embedding it into this latest report.

40. My heart goes out to the lady that was raped. This should not happen to any woman let alone a grandmother. I, for one, believe that rape should be a capital offence.

I do not believe that the policewoman meant any harm. You must realise that police officers are not recruited from Mars: they are recruited from within our communities, so the reported behaviour is part of a much greater societal problem. More and more we lack empathy, but this is who we are becoming. Unfortunately, we do not see any real steps to curb bad behaviour in this country because bad behave or not you can vote and the politicians do not want to offend their constituents. Rather than provide opportunities for young people to find work, politicians from both sides could only come up with football competitions: but I digress.

The reported behaviour of the policewoman also shows the need for a procedures manual, and if there is one, then it shows a need for the officer to read it. Maybe, there is also a need for more training. You cannot take these young ruffians out of the communities and expect them to be professional police officers without the necessary training. A lot of young people lack the training that should be provided at home and that is also part of the problem. I must repeat, this behaviour show who we are becoming.

41. LISTEN TO 2 BAJANS AND A VISITOR below posting on the Daily Mail comments…. The Bajans sound like many here on this board, one is sympathetic and defensive and the other defensive and unsympathetic.

We are a 2×4 island and if we cannot admit that we have a serious problem and not willing to do anything about it, then we deserve whatever we get. WE DO NOT TAKE CRITICISM WELL and instead of being apologetic and stopping there we become defensive. It is the same when locals receive bad service, we say something about it and are treated with disdain and told that we like to complain. Unions and Employers MUST CHANGE this mindset. We cannot force people to come here as some seem to think they will come regardless of what they hear. There are too many other places to go to than to settle for RUDE and COLD Barbados. If this is the end product of our FREE Education then it is true that some free things are no good!

“I suppose then most of those commenting negatively about Barbados are under the impression that rapes don’t take place in England? Crime takes place everywhere, and at least we don’t get riots here…”

– Joe, Barbados, 27/11/2011 10:45
    Click to rate Rating 2755

“I am Barbadian and extremely sorry and saddened this has happened. I pray justice is served for your sake and the sake of others who have endured this awful deed. However, to you guys who are saying “Don’t go to Barbados” and the like, please to shut up because rape or any crime for that matter can occur anywhere. Diane, I will keep you in my prayers and I truly hope you can overcome this horrific ordeal. Although I am a mere cashier, I would to apologise for the cold harsh treatment you received from officials. it is truly sickening.”

– iamabajan, BARBADOS, 26/11/2011 23:26

“So still no-one appears to have shown this poor lady any sympathy. It IS a dangerous island. My friend woke to find a man going through her bag. He told her to give him some money and her jewellery so he could go. He was cold and matter of fact about it. Worst of all he got her mobile phone number and kept ringing her to send money after she came home, saying he knew where she lived. The police there did nothing. My friend who is from there said that’s why they have bars at their windows. Disgusting place.”

42. Crime is a problem. But this story has taken on a life of its own” Bajan Bashing” Only two weeks ago NBC Today Show did a wonderful piece on Barbados . which was seen worldwide , Now on the heels of or 45th anniversary a newspaper finds it necessary to to print an article to tarnish the country image . o.k. so what are we seeing a here an intent to hurt and harm the country Tourism and for what purpose and why now since this incident might have happened about a year ago. i am not going to be blind sighted.i know what is happening on the island and i don’t need an article which is doing its best to exploits or shortcomings toi let me know.

43. @All

While i believe her motive might be economic, it appears that she is still hurting. Because of the importance of the tourism industry to our economic development our high commisioner in london should be on the ball.

We must recognize the big countries will sensationalize this because of the importance of tourism to us, they wont do it to America, Canada or others. I am sure that Bristish have travelled and have been raped and even killed in other countries. The point i am making is all raped victims should be treaty with dignity as they would have gone through a harrowing experience. They should be treated equally, locals or fx ones.

44. @uneducated

Have to say you comment is not correct. If you read the British press on a daily basis to pick up stories which are very much anti America.

45. What disgusts me is that the Barbados authorities had full knowledge that this story might blow up into the international press since February this year and yet they did NOTHING to apologise to Mrs Davies or to offer her comfort, consolation or any sort of decent and humane treatment. They also, through our useless judicial system, dragged their heels in bringing the perp to justice. ALL of these measures that might have at least allowed Barbados the defense that, the rape having happened (and rapes happen all the time all over the world) it had acted in a timely, humane and responsible way to deal with the situation.

http://www.people.co.uk/news/uk-world-news/2011/02/27/brit-gran-raped-in-barbados-near-simon-cowell-s-hotel-102039-22951711/

What a magnificent opening to a tourist season that relies on visitors all of whom live in countries under severe financial restraint.

And BRAVO the Justice System for demonstrating, once again, why foreign investors are dropping off and finding alternative destinations for their money. OH, WELL DONE!!!! And we can all now look forward to the people in the Justice System telling us that, “It en we fault……um is de global financial climate. Dah is whu wrong. Dat is why we does don understan why dis new foreign Chief Justice vex wid we. But we en gun tek e on. Dis is Barbaydus!!!!! We cu do whu we like!”

Great. Meanwhile, if you google the story, you will find it has now been taken up by over 40 news outlets internationally, including, I see, Nigeria. BRAVO, BRAVO and BRAVO!!!!! Well done, our public servants!

46. I am sure that all cilvilse people would agree that any victim of any crime be their native or foreign be btreated with respect and dugnity . However this story goes beyond that given the responses or comments to the article the article indeed did do what it set out to do that was to “Bash Barbados”. and some Barbadians are out front leading the charge .As a barbadian i am proud of my country and the success it has made over the yearsalong with growing we will experience pain that is not to say that we would not learn from our failures and try to improve. However i refuse to join hands with those who see intent on destrying our reputation worldwide we have ourproblems and what we need are solutions not anachry.

47. HAPPY 45th ANNIVERSARY BARBADOS! I LOVE YOU BARBADOS.

48. BTW did the Daily Mail; Highlt the NBC Today feature on our wonderful island BARBADOS!

49. While we all love Barbados some of us are pragmatic and accept that our services like the police, judiciary and general customer service need some work. If we don’t make them more efficient we expose ourselves to all and sundry taking potshots. This is a dog eat dog world and sentimentality will not cut it.

50. David you have said exactly how I feel. We have settled for mediocrity and now it is coming back to bite us!