Austin

In order to be competitive in a post recession world Caribbean public and private sector professionals need to improve overall “email responsiveness”.  This observation is made as a professional from the US doing business in the Caribbean region and is unfortunately shared by many of my colleagues in the US and UK.

Getting an email response days or weeks later from regional professionals is normal, in many cases senior professionals don’t even check email or know how to, and still require their staff to print their emails for them to read, this is simply ridiculous and totally inefficient.

I am of the opinion that the laid back Caribbean lifestyles has somehow made its way into daily business lives, which totally ignores the concept that “time is money”.

1. If only it were tardy Email responses that are the only affliction of the Easy Boys from Limeland. Singularly I’ve often had similar comments made to me in addition to my own experiences which are in stark contrast to dealings with other parts of the world.

2. Interesting observation against the background Barbados enjoys a high Internet and mobile penetration. Suppose it shows the importance of modifying behaviour, technology alone will not do it.

3. This is a silly comment. Govrenment has not yet changed its policy regarding the official use of email. some people do put them on files but the poicy is to get a hard copy as soon as possible. In this day and age with all kind of fools parading around the internet should public officers do business mainly on the internet.

4. I also do business with people in Barbados and don’t have that problem because if it involves money or a “mission critical decision”, I will call within 15 minutes and tell them “I sent you an email”.

Works every time.

5. Lemuel

Respectfully >>> Email usage globally has been around for donkey years as I see it, and “yes” we should have had a policy on email usage by now like in other parts of the world. For example, in the U.S email in its “electronic form” is considered a formal record (by law) with sendresponse timelines as a key record component.

Additionally the process you reference above is simply ”old school inefficient” and “costly”. Remember a key benefit of the technology world we live is to obtain “efficiency” not “inefficient”, “lower cost” not “increase cost” (paper cost, printer cartridges cost, printer maintenance cost), “improve productivity” not “reduce productivity”.

And finally I am not suggesting public officers do business mainly on the internet… What I am suggesting , as David as stated above is that “Unless we in the Caribbean change mindsets like your and shack off ineffective colonial thinking/norms we will not fully realize the true value of the Information Technology age.

6. To Austin:
    You need to look before you leap. Never once did I say that this should not be adopted. I was saying that lowly public oficers cannot implement this new approach. Please find someone else to beat up on.

7. Hants if you have to call to say I’ve sent you an email it means that there is a problem. The best email responses I have had in the Caribbean were from Jamaica. Trinidad is now and then and Barbados can be a waste of time at times. The UK is another backward country when it comes to doing business via email. If you send 10 emails to firms you may get 4 of them responding. So far the US and Canada have been prompt in replying.

8. Islandgal246

You hit on another good point.

As long as we keep running behind the “UK” way for doing things (which you have accurately dercribed as “backwards) we will continue to miss out on national improvements in a wide range of business and economic areas.

9. Wasn’t Hant’s comment tongue in cheek?

10. Having grown up in Great Britain and lived virtually all of my life there and used to efficeny and a business-like way of doing things, that is why I could never live in Bim again, and steer well clear of dere!! 🙂

11. Do you know that some people are proud to say that they avoid computers ?
    Do you know that in this day that some people dont have an email address and actually think that you must own a computer to have an e-mail ?
    Dont these people realized that the computer is a technological jump like everything else that we use ?
    Dont they understand to get a visa -its a computer—file income tax –you need a computer and that this list will grow and grow and include the paying of all of bills for groceries, utilities etc?
    When it is the Government going to sensitize the adult population ?
    Dont they know that the time is coming when

12. LOL! Just Asking, that reminds me of an ex- JA friend uh mine who I bumped into the other year. We were friends as kids but hadn’t seen each other for ages. After some catching-up chat, to my utter amazement, he asked me if I was familiar with computers because, and I quote, “I keep well away from them myself”! LOL! J, I couldn’t believe either the question OR his reply! To think that in the 21st century ANYBODY, EVEN A JA, could be computer-illiterate, just blew my mind! Then he had the audacity to tell me that, “he’s in management now”! LOL! I jes laugh inside n keep quiet! I thought, “yeah? management n you keep well clear of computers”? LOL! Anyway, I let e guh long n believe that i think he’s a manager if he want to – I thought, “manage wuh”! a pig-pen?!! LOL!! – some people!!

13. ‘JA’ and everybody else, did u hear the bro at Microsoft announce the other day that, “the computer’s dead, n that apparently, everything’s “in the clouds” now! I had tuh laugh n say, well, it can stay dere as far as i concern. A basic computer n mobile phone is all I need. ent got time fuh all this i-pad, n e-pad nonsense! they’re fuh the youngsters who’ve nothig better to do! I’ll send a link if u don’t know what i mean!

14. Off topic: Looks like BFP got the scoop before BU on the latest news in Barbados, the Wickham wikileaks and his sacking from CBC.

15. @Austin
    “I am of the opinion that the laid back Caribbean lifestyles has somehow made its way into daily business lives, which totally ignores the concept that “time is money”.
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Just to emphasise the importance of time, time is actually more valuable than money. One can lose money and make it back, but not so with time. It’s gone forever.

16. You are correct …