Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance

The government delivered the much anticipated Financial and Budgetary Proposal for 2011. The unprecedented financial support to the cultural industry in the amount of 50 millions dollars financed over fiver years, and the commitment to integrating an alternative energy solution are the notable deliverables.

We are told it is a tax free budget.

1. @Zack: “Somebody still has to run the country dude…how will that be decided?

If the electorate does nothing, then the “rulers” will simply flip-flop between two parties who appear to be, as BAFBFP correctly points out, is “six or a half-dozen”.

On the other hand, if a viable third party existed and received enough votes, then a coalition government could manifest.

Coalition governments can be far more serious about the needs of the electorate.

2. There are 30 M.P’s, let’s vote 15 each and see what happens.

3. @The Scout: “There are 30 M.P’s, let’s vote 15 each and see what happens.

You can’t control that exact result, beyond vote fixing.

But let’s say there was a very charismatic and honest individual who could run as an independent candidate and win a seat…

Well, then, that individual might find themselves with a great deal of power to determine what might be done.

Which, of course, if the elected was truly honest, would be used for their constituents’ advantage….

4. Join parties and ensure quality from the outset with the selection of candidates that can truly make a contribution to managing our country. Anybody can attend funerals, christenings and graduations; sponsor an activity or prize; write a letter of support etc. The ability to think critically and contribute to sound coherent policy however is a different kettle of fish. Unfortunately, too many of the current crop fall into the former category.

5. @Enuff: “Join parties and ensure quality from the outset with the selection of candidates that can truly make a contribution to managing our country.

So then, the question must be asked: ***EXACTLY*** how can a voter ensure that their vote matters.

Very specifically, does a voter enter into a contract with their votee for what the votee promised the voter?

Or must it be a “leap of faith”?

6. It is funny how politicians claim the glory for projects they only finish but the ground work was done by the other party. I remember Tom Adams being very critical about Harrison’s Cave when he was in opposition but as soon as he became P.M he was quick to rush down there and finish it and claim it as their project. Similar thing he did to Seawell Airport that he remaned after his father, now we have Stephen Lashley and the DLP claiming the Bushy park Project after the ground work of getting the property out of the hands of the British developers was done by the BLP. Politics can be a funny game.

7. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Enuff

Excellently spoken! I endorse your last comments.

8. @ Hallsall

Is it not already a 5-yr contract? Not so sure which vote you referring to–selection of candidate and or MP?

9. @Enuff: “Is it not already a 5-yr contract?

No. It was not a contract. They were simply promises.

And this is the fundamental point which is important to understand.

Promises are easy to make. And easy to break. (Freedom of Information — within 100 days. Anyone?)

Contracts have legal recourse.

10. @ Hallsall who wrote ” Why is it that I usually find myself as the sole “White Dude” fighting for the rights of Bajans.

You mean to tell me that not one white Bajan fighting for the rights of Bajans so we have to depend on a Canadian?

@ Hallsall who wrote ” insist that my team was comprised of Black people?”
    So you are proud of discriminating against white,red legs and indian Bajans.
    I guess a red fella like me couldn’t work fuh you neither.

I wonder who you would insist on working with if you were living in Toronto.

11. debt:gdp moving from50+ to 80+ under the blp is a bland statement which might make for good politiics but does not paint an accurate picture.whether we like it or not ; had not the the dlp administration provided the opportunity to make debt easily accessible to all those and not some who could afford , barbados’ boast of moving from a village to a developed country would not have been yet possible. i can’t understand for the life of me why we castigate debt when ownership of 90% of the vehicles and more importantly homes in barbados are acquired as a result of some debt arrangement. Can one imagine what life would be like if we still had to wait as our great-grandmothers did on meeting turn after meeting turn to buy not truss buy the lumber from manning or plantation ltd to put on the shedroof and then the middle section and then the front house.access to credit did enhance the quality of life of the average barbadian who had little hope of owning anything by purchasing cash. so debt is not the pariah we make it out to be if it is properly managed and not accessed for extravagance.or waste. i quote lisa drakes of the research dept of the central bank in relation to public debt ” accumulation of public debt is often necessary and acceptable, particularly when it is done to accomplish some growth or developmental objective” this notion is relevant to any kind of debt arrangement large or small

12. @Hants: “So you are proud of discriminating against white,red legs and indian Bajans.

LOL…

Let me please tell you the results of the sole “White Bajan” who applied for the job…

I have an unusual review process — I present challenges, and want to see how the candidates respond.

I hired the first candidate because he argued with me. I didn’t care that he had no formal education nor certification.

I hired the second candidate because he had qualifications.

The only White Bajan who applied couldn’t even log into a Linux server. It was the only time in my life I ended an interview early because the candidate was obviously not qualified.

Amusingly, the White Bajan called me and yelled at me, because he felt he should have got the job because he had a degree….

13. @ Halsall

The contract is a five year term the votee gets on ‘appointment’ by the voters based on promises made during the interview stage. The contract is renewed or terminated prior to 5 years elapsing.

14. @Enuff: “The contract is a five year term the votee gets on ‘appointment’ by the voters based on promises made during the interview stage. The contract is renewed or terminated prior to 5 years elapsing.

Can you show me that it writing?

15. If the argument by the Opposition regarding the real impact of the so-called “land tax ease” is true then it brings into question again the competence of the Minister of Finance and the soundness of the government’s policy. Every Budget now seems to have policy measures that are miscalculated or based on the misinterpretation/application of the law.

16. Halsall.

You ever hear of a verbal contract?

17. @Enuff: “You ever hear of a verbal contract?

Yeah. It’s worth the paper it is written on….

18. Are there written contracts in Canada?

19. I assumed the change in bands of land tax up to $190,000 at no charge was to accommodate persons who have been given houses (rent to ownership) and those who were encouraged to purchase low income houses.

However I was trying to listen to part of George Payne speech and am I correct in that he seemed to infer that most people will be worse off regarding land tax? I’m confused. Can someone clarify?

Regarding other points in the budget I would of liked to have seen more money being available to assist those elderly etc persons with electricity bills. $5 million dollars sounds a lot but in fact it may not stretch very far, especially as we have a large elderly population, as well as those in need. It would also of being interesting to be told how they will select who will be eligible and who will not. I hope the money really gets to those that need the help.

I also would have liked to seen the basket of goods increase to include items such as nappies, adult pampers, sanitary products etc. as these are fairly expensive products and are more of a necessity than a nicety.

Re the land use at Deacons for the cultural center. Doesn’t that area flood? If so how will that affect the homes of the people living in and behind that area because there will be even less room for the water to run off?

20. @Enuff: “Are there written contracts in Canada?

Why do you ask?

Are you scared of the answer?

21. Honourable Chris Sinckler mash up Arthur in the Budget wrap up like Muhammad Ali beat up Sonny Liston! Licks like fire ! TKO

22. Zack

Continue with a nonsense process because there is no alternative … Dude shut up and do something different for a change. Not running a country with 33% of its citizenry already employed in the service of so doing. You put too much significance of two parties which exist only for the sake of feathering nests. DO NOT F#CKING VOTE!

23. Pat girl, after that ass-cutting from Chris, If I wuz Owen, I wud be so shame, I wud han back over to Mia tomorrow

24. Please tell me that the UWI lecturer did not say that he had neither heard or read the budget.

25. Sandra Husbands He did not say that. He had an e-copy of the budget summary, but he was unable to give detailed study of the actual proposals. Therefore he did not comment on the proposals themselves but the glaring absence of initiatives to really deal with the real problems of the fiscal deficit, and the crisis in waiting that this presents to the barbadian economy. The things that he expected to hear based on his close analysis of the Barbadian economic situation Economists like to use their econometric tools to assess potential impact of specific policies, so obviously there was no time for closer analysis.

26. Since when has closer analysis meant econometric analysis.

Did he say he had read the Ecopy?

27. This is where the local media can do their job.

A reporter needs to question Doctor Francis on the preparation he did before he issued his comments on the budget presentation.

Especially so since VOB generously carried his views

28. @David

Sandra Husbands coming to the defense of this “economist” tells me all I need to know about his partiality or should I say lack thereof

29. I found the bit on Global Masters and Barbados’ real gdp ranking interesting. I checked and in 2002 barbados was 181 out of 191.

Owen has argued that he can do better with the economy, but it seems to me that when the US and UK catch a cold we get something much worse, whoever is minister of finance. I grew up hearing something like that.

Economics can just piss you off. It is just so opinionated.

30. @Sarge

Dr Francis is entitled to put his view out there but he must expect that he will get counter comment. The fact he is reputed to have read only the budget e-summary when aligned with his public critique opens him to some questions. It is up to him to shore up his credibility.

31. At best it seems that Dr. Francis commented on the budget he would have liked to see rather than the one that was presented.

Oh well.

Will local banks give loans for solar panels on your house?

32. @old school

It is commonsense, our economy is externally driven and those two markets you cited are our significant source markets for tourists, remittances and fdi.

If they are performing sluggishly Barbados will be affected. One does not have to be an economists to make such a conclusion.

33. @Old School

Given the lending policy of banks over the years in Barbados only applicants who quality for unsecured credit are likely to be successful.

34. I think the global masters ranking in 2002 puts a serious dent in the argument that domestic policy has made the recession worse. Mascoll, Owen and the BLP as well as Francis, and harry Russell have been at the forefront of this argument.

If my memory is correct the global recession of 2001/2002 was rather mild compared to this one.

35. I thought the BLP was doing very well in this budget debate until Clarke melted down, and they went steadily downhill from there.

I think Owen was less than convincing on the prison matter and the Global masters revelation must have hurt one of his core arguments

36. Here is the 2002 ranking

Showing values for 2002. Select another time period: Most recent 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 Rank Countries Amount Date
    # 1 Turkmenistan: 21.1 % 2002
    Turkmenistan Economy

# 2 Equatorial Guinea: 20 % 2002
    Equatorial Guinea Economy

# 3 Armenia: 12.9 % 2002
    Armenia Economy

# 4 Azerbaijan: 10.6 % 2002
    Azerbaijan Economy

# 5 Rwanda: 9.7 % 2002
    Rwanda Economy

# 6 Macau: 9.5 % 2002
    Macau Economy

# 7 Kazakhstan: 9.5 % 2002
    Kazakhstan Economy

# 8 Angola: 9.4 % 2002
    Angola Economy

# 9 Tajikistan: 9.1 % 2002
    Tajikistan Economy

# 10 China: 8 % 2002
    China Economy

# 11 Turkey: 7.8 % 2002
    Turkey Economy

# 12 Mozambique: 7.7 % 2002
    Mozambique Economy

# 13 Bhutan: 7.7 % 2002
    Bhutan Economy

# 14 Iran: 7.6 % 2002
    Iran Economy

# 15 Chad: 7.4 % 2002
    Chad Economy

# 16 Albania: 7.3 % 2002
    Albania Economy

# 17 Vietnam: 7 % 2002
    Vietnam Economy

# 18 Ireland: 6.9 % 2002
    Ireland Economy

# 19 Lithuania: 6.7 % 2002
    Lithuania Economy

# 20 Sierra Leone: 6.6 % 2002
    Sierra Leone Economy

# 21 Moldova: 6.5 % 2002
    Moldova Economy

# 22 Korea, South: 6.3 % 2002
    Korea, South Economy

# 23 Tanzania: 6.1 % 2002
    Tanzania Economy

# 24 Latvia: 6.1 % 2002
    Latvia Economy

# 25 Estonia: 6 % 2002
    Estonia Economy

# 26 Benin: 6 % 2002
    Benin Economy

# 27 Laos: 5.7 % 2002
    Laos Economy

# 28 Uganda: 5.5 % 2002
    Uganda Economy

# 29 Georgia: 5.4 % 2002
    Georgia Economy

# 30 Thailand: 5.3 % 2002
    Thailand Economy

# 31 Kyrgyzstan: 5.3 % 2002
    Kyrgyzstan Economy

# 32 Peru: 5.3 % 2002
    Peru Economy

# 33 Burma: 5.3 % 2002
    Burma Economy

# 34 Croatia: 5.2 % 2002
    Croatia Economy

# 35 French Polynesia: 5.1 % 2002
    French Polynesia Economy

# 36 Sudan: 5.1 % 2002
    Sudan Economy

# 37 Samoa: 5 % 2002
    Samoa Economy

# 38 Jordan: 4.9 % 2002
    Jordan Economy

# 39 Romania: 4.9 % 2002
    Romania Economy

# 40 Ukraine: 4.8 % 2002
    Ukraine Economy

# 41 Tunisia: 4.8 % 2002
    Tunisia Economy

# 42 Bangladesh: 4.8 % 2002
    Bangladesh Economy

# 43 Bulgaria: 4.8 % 2002
    Bulgaria Economy

# 44 Belarus: 4.7 % 2002
    Belarus Economy

# 45 Qatar: 4.6 % 2002
    Qatar Economy

# 46 Morocco: 4.6 % 2002
    Morocco Economy

# 47 Fiji: 4.6 % 2002
    Fiji Economy

# 48 Burkina Faso: 4.6 % 2002
    Burkina Faso Economy

# 49 Ghana: 4.5 % 2002
    Ghana Economy

# 50 Mali: 4.5 % 2002
    Mali Economy

# 51 Cambodia: 4.5 % 2002
    Cambodia Economy

# 52 Burundi: 4.5 % 2002
    Burundi Economy

# 53 Philippines: 4.4 % 2002
    Philippines Economy

# 54 Slovakia: 4.4 % 2002
    Slovakia Economy

# 55 India: 4.3 % 2002
    India Economy

# 56 Russia: 4.3 % 2002
    Russia Economy

# 57 Botswana: 4.2 % 2002
    Botswana Economy

# 58 Uzbekistan: 4.2 % 2002
    Uzbekistan Economy

# 59 Dominican Republic: 4.1 % 2002
    Dominican Republic Economy

# 60 Yemen: 4.1 % 2002
    Yemen Economy

# 61 Malaysia: 4.1 % 2002
    Malaysia Economy

# 62 São Tomé and Príncipe: 4 % 2002
    São Tomé and Príncipe Economy

# 63 Cape Verde: 4 % 2002
    Cape Verde Economy

# 64 Cameroon: 4 % 2002
    Cameroon Economy

# 65 Serbia and Montenegro: 4 % 2002
    Serbia and Montenegro Economy

# 66 Lesotho: 4 % 2002
    Lesotho Economy

# 67 Greece: 4 % 2002
    Greece Economy

# 68 Mongolia: 3.9 % 2002
    Mongolia Economy

# 69 Guinea: 3.7 % 2002
    Guinea Economy

# 70 Indonesia: 3.7 % 2002
    Indonesia Economy

# 71 Belize: 3.7 % 2002
    Belize Economy

# 72 Syria: 3.6 % 2002
    Syria Economy

# 73 Australia: 3.6 % 2002
    Australia Economy

# 74 Djibouti: 3.5 % 2002
    Djibouti Economy

# 75 Somalia: 3.5 % 2002
    Somalia Economy

# 76 Congo, Democratic Republic of the: 3.5 % 2002
    Congo, Democratic Republic of the Economy

# 77 Taiwan: 3.5 % 2002
    Taiwan Economy

# 78 Ecuador: 3.4 % 2002
    Ecuador Economy

# 79 Algeria: 3.3 % 2002
    Algeria Economy

# 80 Canada: 3.3 % 2002
    Canada Economy

# 81 Hungary: 3.3 % 2002
    Hungary Economy

# 82 Saint Lucia: 3.3 % 2002
    Saint Lucia Economy

# 83 New Zealand: 3.3 % 2002
    New Zealand Economy

# 84 Mauritania: 3.3 % 2002
    Mauritania Economy

# 85 Sri Lanka: 3.2 % 2002
    Sri Lanka Economy

# 86 Slovenia: 3.2 % 2002
    Slovenia Economy

# 87 Egypt: 3.2 % 2002
    Egypt Economy

# 88 Trinidad and Tobago: 3.2 % 2002
    Trinidad and Tobago Economy

# 89 Nigeria: 3.2 % 2002
    Nigeria Economy

# 90 Ethiopia: 3 % 2002
    Ethiopia Economy

# 91 Antigua and Barbuda: 3 % 2002
    Antigua and Barbuda Economy

# 92 South Africa: 3 % 2002
    South Africa Economy

# 93 Brunei: 3 % 2002
    Brunei Economy

# 94 Bahrain: 2.9 % 2002
    Bahrain Economy

# 95 Niger: 2.9 % 2002
    Niger Economy

# 96 Togo: 2.9 % 2002
    Togo Economy

# 97 Bolivia: 2.8 % 2002
    Bolivia Economy

# 98 Costa Rica: 2.8 % 2002
    Costa Rica Economy

# 99 Grenada: 2.5 % 2002
    Grenada Economy

# 100 Honduras: 2.5 % 2002
    Honduras Economy

# 101 Réunion: 2.5 % 2002
    Réunion Economy

# 102 Senegal: 2.4 % 2002
    Senegal Economy

# 103 United States: 2.4 % 2002
    United States Economy

# 104 Zambia: 2.3 % 2002
    Zambia Economy

# 105 Namibia: 2.3 % 2002
    Namibia Economy

# 106 Bosnia and Herzegovina: 2.3 % 2002
    Bosnia and Herzegovina Economy

# 107 Hong Kong: 2.3 % 2002
    Hong Kong Economy

# 108 Maldives: 2.3 % 2002
    Maldives Economy

# 109 Mauritius: 2.3 % 2002
    Mauritius Economy

# 110 San Marino: 2.3 % 2002
    San Marino Economy

# 111 Guatemala: 2.2 % 2002
    Guatemala Economy

# 112 Singapore: 2.2 % 2002
    Singapore Economy

# 113 Oman: 2.2 % 2002
    Oman Economy

# 114 El Salvador: 2.1 % 2002
    El Salvador Economy

# 115 Chile: 2.1 % 2002
    Chile Economy

# 116 Virgin Islands: 2 % 2002
    Virgin Islands Economy

# 117 Lebanon: 2 % 2002
    Lebanon Economy

# 118 Liberia: 2 % 2002
    Liberia Economy

# 119 Comoros: 2 % 2002
    Comoros Economy

# 120 Eritrea: 2 % 2002
    Eritrea Economy

# 121 Spain: 2 % 2002
    Spain Economy

# 122 Czech Republic: 2 % 2002
    Czech Republic Economy

# 123 Sweden: 1.9 % 2002
    Sweden Economy

# 124 United Arab Emirates: 1.8 % 2002
    United Arab Emirates Economy

# 125 United Kingdom: 1.8 % 2002
    United Kingdom Economy

# 126 Malawi: 1.7 % 2002
    Malawi Economy

# 127 Cayman Islands: 1.7 % 2002
    Cayman Islands Economy

# 128 Swaziland: 1.6 % 2002
    Swaziland Economy

# 129 Finland: 1.6 % 2002
    Finland Economy

# 130 Denmark: 1.6 % 2002
    Denmark Economy

# 131 Central African Republic: 1.5 % 2002
    Central African Republic Economy

# 132 Brazil: 1.5 % 2002
    Brazil Economy

# 133 Colombia: 1.5 % 2002
    Colombia Economy

# 134 Seychelles: 1.5 % 2002
    Seychelles Economy

# 135 Tonga: 1.5 % 2002
    Tonga Economy

# 136 Poland: 1.4 % 2002
    Poland Economy

# 137 Suriname: 1.2 % 2002
    Suriname Economy

# 138 Dominica: 1.2 % 2002
    Dominica Economy

# 139 France: 1.2 % 2002
    France Economy

# 140 Tuvalu: 1.2 % 2002
    Tuvalu Economy

# 141 Libya: 1.2 % 2002
    Libya Economy

# 142 Malta: 1.2 % 2002
    Malta Economy

# 143 Kenya: 1.1 % 2002
    Kenya Economy

# 144 Nicaragua: 1.1 % 2002
    Nicaragua Economy

# 145 Austria: 1.1 % 2002
    Austria Economy

# 146 Cuba: 1.1 % 2002
    Cuba Economy

# 147 Guyana: 1.1 % 2002
    Guyana Economy

# 148 Jamaica: 1 % 2002
    Jamaica Economy

# 149 Norway: 1 % 2002
    Norway Economy

# 150 British Virgin Islands: 1 % 2002
    British Virgin Islands Economy

# 151 Micronesia, Federated States of: 1 % 2002
    Micronesia, Federated States of Economy

# 152 Saudi Arabia: 1 % 2002
    Saudi Arabia Economy

# 153 Korea, North: 1 % 2002
    Korea, North Economy

# 154 Panama: 0.7 % 2002
    Panama Economy

# 155 Mexico: 0.7 % 2002
    Mexico Economy

# 156 Saint Vincent and the Grenadines: 0.7 % 2002
    Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Economy

# 157 Belgium: 0.7 % 2002
    Belgium Economy

# 158 Macedonia, Republic of: 0.7 % 2002
    Macedonia, Republic of Economy

# 159 Bermuda: 0.5 % 2002
    Bermuda Economy

# 160 Italy: 0.4 % 2002
    Italy Economy

# 161 Luxembourg: 0.4 % 2002
    Luxembourg Economy

# 162 Portugal: 0.4 % 2002
    Portugal Economy

# 163 Gabon: 0.2 % 2002
    Gabon Economy

# 164 Germany: 0.2 % 2002
    Germany Economy

# 165 Japan: 0.2 % 2002
    Japan Economy

# 166 Netherlands: 0.2 % 2002
    Netherlands Economy

# 167 Switzerland: 0.1 % 2002
    Switzerland Economy

# 168 Bahamas, The: 0.1 % 2002
    Bahamas, The Economy

# 169 Puerto Rico: -0.2 % 2002
    Puerto Rico Economy

# 170 Vanuatu: -0.3 % 2002
    Vanuatu Economy

# 171 Iceland: -0.6 % 2002
    Iceland Economy

# 172 Nepal: -0.6 % 2002
    Nepal Economy

# 173 Israel: -0.8 % 2002
    Israel Economy

# 174 Haiti: -0.9 % 2002
    Haiti Economy

# 175 Montserrat: -1 % 2002
    Montserrat Economy

# 176 Aruba: -1.5 % 2002
    Aruba Economy

# 177 Côte d’Ivoire: -1.6 % 2002
    Côte d’Ivoire Economy

# 178 Saint Kitts and Nevis: -1.9 % 2002
    Saint Kitts and Nevis Economy

# 179 Kuwait: -2 % 2002
    Kuwait Economy

# 180 Paraguay: -2.7 % 2002
    Paraguay Economy

# 181 Barbados: -2.8 % 2002
    Barbados Economy

# 182 Iraq: -3 % 2002
    Iraq Economy

# 183 Papua New Guinea: -3.1 % 2002
    Papua New Guinea Economy

# 184 Guinea-Bissau: -4.3 % 2002
    Guinea-Bissau Economy

# 185 Venezuela: -8.9 % 2002
    Venezuela Economy

# 186 Uruguay: -10.8 % 2002
    Uruguay Economy

# 187 Argentina: -10.9 % 2002
    Argentina Economy

# 188 Madagascar: -11.9 % 2002
    Madagascar Economy

# 189 Zimbabwe: -13 % 2002
    Zimbabwe Economy

# 190 Gaza Strip: -15 % 2002
    Gaza Strip Economy

# 191 West Bank: -22 % 2002

37. @David

The reputable thing to do would be to preface his remarks by noting that his comments were based on limited information, that they were based on an “e summary”. Instead he went full bore in his criticism to the Chamber of Commerce, how would he have graded his students if they wrote a paper based on incomplete data?

38. THE FACTS AS THEY ARE Avatar
    THE FACTS AS THEY ARE

Pat, that was the most brutal attack launched against that RACIST ONE GLYNE CLARKE, OWEN ARTHUR, GEORGE PAYNE and MIA MOTTLEY That I have ever heard or seen

We have been told for a very long time that this group was the most corrupt ever to run the affairs of this Nation but tonight proved it beyond any shadow of a doubt, for Arthur to tell the Nation that he was not part of the group that awarded the VECO Prison contract and did not chair Cabinet only to have the PM pull the files and to have shown him to have attended ALL of the meetings and then for Sinckler to produce the Letter Of Comfort for the same prison and VECO signed by the same liar crook Arthur blew him out of the water.

39. it is common knowledge that Mr Darcy Boyce , Mr Arthurs,s henchman at the time was on the committee set up to award the prison the contract and he gave the most points to VECO.

40. Look how the BLP trying to pin the VECO fiasco on Darcy Boyce, did Arthur have a sign on his desk saying “The Buck stops somewhere else”?. There was only one vote in the room that counted and that was Arthur’s and he didn’t brook any dissent (this from someone who was often in the room with him).

Darcy Boyce makes a convenient scapegoat, but who had control of the Gov’t purse strings? Good luck trying to unload that pile of pig manure on him, but we will not be fooled.

41. Observing closely Avatar
    Observing closely

Who is the boy Francis? Having heard a bit of what he said he’s obviously not Bajan, his nationality is relevant from the standpoint you seldom hear anything positive on Barbados coming from our so called Caricom neighbours. Its the international world outside the region who rates Barbados as a remarkable small island state. Its the international community who rate Bdos NO1 on Human Development Index. Our so called Caricom neighbours dont like that.

Kofi Annan remarked we punch above our weight. The UN. UK, US etc rate Barbados so highly they reckon we are closest to First Wolrd in the Caribbean. You dont hear such unbiased plaudits from our so called Caricom neighbours.

The Francis boy is a so called Caricom neighbour living off Bajan taxpayers money at the mansion on cave Hill so him dumping on the budget without reading it is not surprising. One must ask if the likes of David Ellis and the Vic Fernandes cabal at OCM network are in cahoots with our so called Caricom neighbours to villify Barbados. Its high time Bajans tell vermin like Francis where to get off.

42. Sinckler’s reply was full of useful insights. I paid a lot of attention to his statement on the real vs Nominal GDP thing.

Mascoll and Arthur had managed to make me uneasy about the data coming out from the Central bank, but Sinckler was able to reveal that in 2003, the nominal gdp growth was negative but the real gdp growth was positive. Please don’t ask me to understand that. However, if it happened in 2003, is it fair for Mascoll and Arthur to claim slight of hand if it happen again in 2011? I noted that Arthur did not contradict

You see Mascoll and Arthur’s have sought to potray themselves as trained economists who are seeking to bring fair, unbiased economic analysis to bajans. The main stream media have also allowed them to assume that posture. It now seems to me that their economic analysis is very selective in nature and generously coated with political posturing.

43. I’m glad that the minister of finance has stated that the insurance policy holders and Al Barrack would be settled before the end of the year ( I hope it is the year 2011). While this is good news, why wasn’t that statement made during his budget presentation? I believe that this along with the return to 15% VAT was to form part of the give-aways in the general election budget. The impact would not now be was forceful.

44. Check for the main stream media to now paint Francis as a victim.

45. In a climate made for opposition politics it appears the BLP took a bloody nose in the budget debate. What went wrong?

46. Depends on who view point. The B;s say they came out rocking the D’s same thing while ordinary bajans happy the budget gone but still hurting form the measures last year. They still in place and have cause inflation to rise. Did they find the medicine appropriate or harsh will be found out in polls or general election. I think its the latter but we must wait and see.

47. @David
    methinks Owen is what went wrong. The political “vibrancy” and “party position above self politics” mindset seems to have evaporated from him. That plus some lackluster “individual” contributions from the opposition side equals a lost chance for them this week. I still think it’s their election to lose but if they get caught up in trying to defend their 14 years or trading barbs on who has the most “honesty and integrity” they will lose. If the election is fought only on performance, competence, issues and the way forward for the country, then they will most likely win. If nothing else the budget debate showed that all is not lost yet for the DLP and there is no writing on the wall as yet..

48. The Opposition waiting to get on the political platform….lol

49. I don’t like the tone of Min Donville Inniss’ speech, Dr Francis gave his view and it seems Mr Inniss is threatening his job because he was critical of the budget. Whether I agreed with what the man said is not the point, it shows some level of thinskin in the minister. I also realise that other colleagues of Dr Francis is backing him. In fact I understand they sent a message to government saying “touch one, touch all.” I believe this country is still a democratic one, and freedom of speech is one of those rights.