Andrew Nehaul

What is this madness I continue to read regarding Chinese tourism and Barbados? We have not been able to get the marketing formula right regarding Caribbean, American, British or European tourism and here we go talking about Chinese tourism?

All tourism pundits will agree that the major hindrance to increasing tourism numbers is adequate airlift at reasonable prices.ย  I am saying nothing new when I repeat that to control our destiny we must control some of the seats from the major markets. For example, if our major Caribbean market is from Trinidad, then identify the weeks that they travel mostly and see that there are enough air seats at the right price to suffice them. Extend this to other weeks that might also create demand.ย  Using this formula we can adapt it to other markets.

Another hindrance is local prices.ย  Car hire, food, restaurant, services and attractions etc. All of them are suffering from lack of demand. How do we overcome this? By recreating a local value package which is distributed to all visitors and locals alike during a specific time.

Festivals
Crop Over, Jazz Festival, Gospel Ffestival etc are all in place. Now is the time to add to these magnificent festivals by creating new types of original activities – for example;

• Sand Sculpture Festival at Cattlewash. Open to all families with a spade and a bucket
  • Undersea Art Gallery in Brandons Bay and Worthing Bay
  • Food festivals that move monthly from parish to parish and are directed firstly at locals not visitors. i.e.
  • April can be a fish festival in St. George
  • May a pork festival in St. Philip
  • September is a pasta festival in St. Peter etc

I do not think to have all the answers to our problemsย  but hope that these suggestions may open the door for others to expand and get Barbadosโ€™ tourism economy on top again quickly.

49 responses to “Barbados Should Forget Chinese Tourists, The Key Is Adequate Airlift From Traditional Markets And Creating Local Value Packages!”

1. Don’t be ridiculous! Are you calling on Bajans to be original…? and to actually use some commonsense to improve existing arrangements that WORK?

What sand sculpture what??!! you can be assured that some official will conclude that we will need to import special sand from Egypt and will then go on to show why the whole idea is too complex and expensive…

…far easier to look around to see who has money (currently China) and to put on our best mendicant face, while bending over…

These are good ideas – but they are better suited for a proud and industrious people –

2. The proud industrious people in North America and Europe are investing in the Chinese market.

Why do Canadians spend 18 hours to vacation in Australia?

Millionaires in the Asia-Pacific region overtook Europe in terms of population and wealth for the first time in 2010,
    The number of millionaires in China grew by 12 percent to 534,500.

The three German brands may beat forecasts for 2011. Audi has said it expects sales to rise 11 percent to 280,000 in China this year, while Mercedes projects growth of 15 percent. BMW predicts a โ€œdouble-digitโ€ increase in 2011.

The Chinese and Indians will travel to “exotic” destinations other than their own.

The problem is whether the Bajans will treat Chinese and Indians the same as they treat the White tourist from Europe and North America.

3. “The problem is whether the Bajans will treat Chinese and Indians the same as they treat the White tourist from Europe and North America.”

I won’t hold my breath on this one Hants. We all know the answer to that.

4. “Fish Festival in St George.” Skipper, we still waiting on the Conservative politician who promised ages ago to bring the seas to St George.

5. I find myself more in agreement with Andrew rather than Hants.(tough to side with one HC man over the other). I believe that I may have more insight into the minds of Far Easterners as a result of being married to one and having travelled and interacted with them on 9 sojourns over 30 yrs.

Generally, these people are very hard working and they play hard and fast ie they dont take 2-3wk vacations. Therefore, they are unlikely to travel to an island they have never heard of 24hrs flight time away and if they did undertake to travel so far for 2 wks they would spend 3 days max probably on an island they have heard of Cuba or maybe Jamaica. The majority of their vacation would probably be to the USA and / or Canada and more likely the West Coast.( Hawai would be their tropical island paradise stop)

This market should be penetrated as a derivative of advertising in upscale media aimed at wealthy Americans and Europeans primarily, but rich Orientals also form a segment of the readership.

I think marketing creatively and innovatively to our natural markets is the way to go.

6. Andrew’s good ideas not withstanding government’s tourism strategy has to do with shifting our dependence on traditional markets to mitigate risk. Brazil, China etc are emerging economies marching to the beat of a different GDP.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ANDREW

I have a lot of respect for you, but I think you are wrong on this one.
    Barbados needs to penetrate the Brazilian and Chinese markets, continuing to depend largely on the English and American markets is not wise at this time.

8. According to TIME Magazine China maybe in for a rough ride. Bottomline the government sees its short to medium future tied up with tourism and is seeking to diversify with its market strategy.

What must be taken from Andrew’s submission, it does not matter the source markets we need to develop the value packages.

Perhaps it is a job for the touted Product Committee of the BTA.

Could China Be the Next Greece?
    Posted by Roya Wolverson Thursday, June 30, 2011 at 2:00 pm
    There’s a lot of finger wagging going on in the world about America’s profligate ways. And a lot of comparisons between the budget troubles of the U.S. and the horrors facing Greece. The West, the story goes, stupidly spent  beyond its means while emerging markets wisely saved their pennies for rainy days like these. But the West isn’t the only part of the world grappling with fiscal troubles. Growth darling China has its own debt problems, and some analysts think those could wreak far more havoc on the global economy than what’s going on Greece.
    Read more: http://curiouscapitalist.blogs.time.com/2011/06/30/could-china-be-the-next-greece/#ixzz1QvEQNB78

9. while dining with a chinese consultant, I engaged him in small talk . I was curious about a few things and asked him what was his salary like and other financial dealings. I was surprised when he told me “he dont need money in Barbados” all his finances are covered and his money is sent back to China to support his wife and family .
    The above is informative in this. if the largest paid chinese workers here are denied funds to spend here , then how does that leave the normal worker?. I realise that most Chinese are here for a few things. To invest Chinas large surplus funds . They offer deals in one hand , they fund projects and secure labour for their citizens. China gets it back from interest in the loan and securing labour for their citizens. They live on these sites (denying barbadians rent and service charges), eat their own food (sometimes site grown) and sell to their restaurants and citizens too, most of what they eat is shipped in forty foot containers. They don’t frequent local stores and bars and shops. Most of the time you see them they go for “a stretch foot” and site seeing escorted by enterpreters and supervisors.

There is no interest in Nelson, or any of our sites of interest, probably never eat coucou or flying fish or any local dishes. I am yet to see one eating peas and rice with pie and salad. They are miles different from our “regular ” tourists. Compare these with our regional brothers who we deny entry.

So tell me what type of tourist is this! Mr. Freundel Stewart you should be honest with us and let us know you want B.O.L.T. arrangements from them. To invest in Barbados projects where we have no funding . Give us low interest rates along with stretched repayment periods and possibilities of defaulting on payments for a while. let us know you are prepared to keep barbadian artisans on the breadline, while you tax us for not getting a job and frustrate barbadians when they try “a thing”.

There is little benefit in this move. Chinese support in any country is insignificant after calculating the payments and risks- ask those who have chinese citizens, no need to re-invent the wheel. let’s do “some decent work” in our embassies and foreign travel offices and get this country back to its “old friends”. If we can get a Chinese to be like our english tourists,then we can launch a man to the moon!

10. Chinese Tourist my behind! Why do Governments always try to spin shoite? Always trying to make fools outta people. Like barcitizn wrote above we will not gain anything because we do not have the language skills and the infrastructure to cater to this market. Chinese Tourist my behind!

11. For starters…food tourism is an important key….the given is we must ‘clean’ up our act here and be able to offer ‘clean, green (organic) food tourism. Not food tourism imported from the US but our very own food tourism. But that is so obvious that no one really, really wants to see dat. We try and land up still not being local. Not saying that the island cannot offer foods from other places, but hey! where is what is ours taken up a notch?…the van ladies are about the only ones who know how to leave Bajan taste in the food and make money like peas…ever see an unsuccessful van lady? Has anyone asked dat question? Duh????!!!! Street food is a big tourism pull, and again we ent seeing dat…we want to show that we have so-called five-star expensive restaurant ’bout hey that leave people blasted angry when de bill comes and it is compared with the offerings and service! Bon Appetit in 2006 in an unprecedented move dedicated an entire edition to street food in the Caribbean…I helped the procedure so know all about it…even took the editors around Jamaica and showed dem de real ting! and encouraged them to visit other islands and make it a great edition including all not just Jah land. What happened? We did not act on it and the whole idea when to waste in certain islands – Barbados being No. 1 dopes and Jamaica and Trinidad being No. 1 kings…now Food & Travel networks still scouring the islands that took heed making film after film to show de billions of people exotic foods from the Caribbean – dem forget even there are more than three islands ’bout hey! China got Shanghai…you tink dem Chinese coming to eat mediocre food in Barbados? Even de Chinese food here leaves a lot to be desired…one visit to Trinidad’s myriad Chinese food places where some even offer pure classic Chinese…or say Jade Gardens in Jamaica where service and food is top class, can show de way!! Please!!!

Another key is being able to offer the best Hip Strip/party place in the Caribbean and world – right now Berlin got more party places that look like beach bars (with real sand) along its canals – clean, fun, and boy! do they know how to rope ya in! We got St. Lawrence Gap so we have the spot. But after two/three clubs what else is there. Crackheads, The Hole (how come dat ent disappeared over de lass thirty years??), Druggies of other kinds, prostitutes, gigolos (not even good ones!) and dirt…plenty dirt. And perhaps only one bar that knows what how to serve a real Margarita – de ress is bare rum or beer. This whole Gap area needs to be fixed up…and anyone wanting a plan, call muh ’cause this is another someting that does not take a rocket scientist…it is not about putting down some concrete and plants and calling it a Hip Strip! Plus it is also not about hotels in this area accepting bookings from 80-year old people that complain to the tourist board, and it is definitely not about closing down at a certain time…it is about almost 24-7 party! Berlin one can go to a disco, stay till 6 a.m and then go to an after-hours club…why are we still living in medieval times????

But one of the key tourism saviours that we all seem to be missing, is we own. We nevah ever think that those who live on the island could be our biggest tourists…we keep our prices and services outta their reach…(the campaign Staycation a flop – who gine to a hotel where (1) dem not welcome and (2) de price just a few dollars below the normal tourism price… when staying at home and travelling to dat same beach takes five minutes! Come on!.)

Second, comes the Caribbean…no proper inexpensive airlift, so we lose big time on this one. Jamaicans would come here and spend but to get here at nearly US$800 for a second-class product – when dem can stay home, go to their own fabulous hotels with local and international food offerings, first-class booze and 24/7 entertainment. Or go to Miami, New York for next to nutting? Hello? Same with Trinis…they used to flock here…but why not now…the product is tired and the crime rising to the same levels almost of their homeland. And hear me well when I say that every new opening of visitors – Brazilians, Chinese whoever – will be for a time only….and we back to square one.

Third, anyone who is motivated to come here, and in this group again we have not kept up with ‘offerings’ nor with prices…we are almost into “let-we-get-what-we-can-now-’cause-down-de-road- tings-tight” and we are not seeing the bigger picture of making Barbados affordable, happy to welcome people from all walks of life (that includes colour, religion etc etc. and forget dem pig advertisements up here and there…or the NISE program…they have done nothing to put a smile on anyone’s face ’bout hey!) We have become far too arrogant believing that sun, sand and sex ‘pun de beach gine do it. Gone are those days. And what is left behind in this area old, sad and doan know how to wukk it right…it is all about digging out de people eye and pocket!!

I agree with Andrew’s post…there is so much that can be done…but we are stuck in what we have and cannot seem to move outta de box.

Take one simple thing like agriculture. We trying to get rid of it, when there is a huge tourism product to tap into here. ‘Foodies’ who are the top travellers in the world, pay thousands of dollars to go a country to work in the fields, learn about our ‘exotic’ foods (by the way ALL our foods are exotic to others!), and then be taught how to cook by the farmer’s wife in the evenings. I’ve been pushing this to Tourism Ministers and Ministers of Agriculture for years…but….oh! no! why would we want to do dat for this becoming a top earner would show that dem have been raas wrong for years and not doing dem job…which ‘they’ do not realize we have known for eons of time anyhow..! Of course, Chefs in hotels can offer this too…but why would you want to show ‘foodies’ a bad interpretation of what Chefs abroad do for them already, using imported second-class food as ingredients too! Thinking local too much for the brain? On my ability to get tables at a late date for South Beach food & Wine Festival in 2007 (I think?) and my together with Michelle Smith Meyers (BHTA) insistence, that local food be used…good local food like pudding & souse…the Barbados booth was ram-jam packed with visitors! Duh????!!!!! what does this tell ya??? Duh???? Now our culinary team comes home with a gold and what did they serve gourmet coucou etc. what does this tell yuh??? Duh????!!!!

I despair as I’ve said over and over again…but there is simplicity involved in making the Barbados product bigger and better…and at the bottom of it all…it is all about great food, fabulous drinks!! The creative arts – could be a big come-and-see . Fantastic entertainment (and I doan mean only wukking up at Crop Over either) and certainly not the tired group of limbo & other dancers with the loud DJ and MC who screams every five seconds to give a no-rate shabbily attired troupe clapping hands from those forced to look on during less than the best buffets every five seconds! I would become a consultant with a great team like a flash on this subject…but unfortunately local creative people ’bout hey also termed “charity workers” – one person on our national television station even saying to a very creative person on the island: “the problem with you creative people is that you want to be paid.” I guess creative humans should create how to live on manna from heaven! So instead de powers dat be just tekk de ideas, do not implement them well…and soon they are thrown to one side, for something more than foolish to take its place that is invariably one big flop.

I love the good that Barbados offers and there is much…but makes no sense to praise and sit on those laurels all the time…we have to take the bull by the horns and look at the bad fully in the face – no holds barred or we will get nowhere! So do not get me wrong…it is just that it does not (again) take a rocket scientist to realize that one has to keep reinventing…and reinventing well. Even Disney that is successful adds in a little extra excitement every now and then…and it does not have to cost the earth!!

The tourism market in Barbados is now a dog eat dog business…Monkey see monkey do. If nexx door doing well with quiche…in no time at all half de island selling quiche. If a T’shirt design good, de whole island selling de same tired one. If a farmer sees tomatoes selling good, the whole farming community only growing tomatoes. One has to keep on top…not follow fashion…one has to always offer something new and different. When I travel around Barbados there are days when I look around and think the island looks tired, exhausted at the bad treatment its getting from those who purport to love it.

Just a story. The other day a friend and I decided to pretend we were two tourists (one black and one white) and leave from the Grantley Adams in we car to specifically look for great “beach bars” along the south and west coast for a day…need not tell you what we got! Pure unadulterated sadness. First of all what is available now looks dilapidated and dutty…and no we were not looking for concrete but what one terms a good beach bar…colourful with a great barman who knows how to mix a simple Pina Colada for instance. Imagine that at one bar – Malibu Centre to be exact – a security guard, a huge woman, was sleeping and snoring on two plastic chairs, the barman offering rum & coke or beer as a cocktail!!! Please! But then what do you expect from a society that when I got Tony Abu-Ganim (top mixologist in the US who charges usually US$5,000 a seminar) to come here for free and put on three or four seminars again for free…they were almost all empty or filled with ‘tourists’…hardly a local barman in sight looking to improve his craft…one told both of us much to my horror that (a) she could fix the best Tai Mai in the world (a what??) and could not come to the seminar ’cause it was her day off, and unless she getting paid she ent coming to nutting de hotel offered! Charming!

Needless to say our day (just a day!) along the coast produced more anger than happiness…what a catastrophe of huge proportions. This post would become a Monty Python book if I was to describe all that we went through…one particular incidence right now in the hands of a lawyer to be honest so will be able to talk about dat one when the matter is settled!

Last but not least…we do not have to look to government to do all this work. We always make dat mistake. The suppliers of alcohol and food could play a much greater part in this ‘new’ look. Manufacturers of local foods should understand that consistency and ability to supply all year round is a must, and if a fruit goes out of season, how about just simply diversifying by using another to make the same product not just stop or import to continue. Farm to processor contracts can also be put in place (lots to write about here….lots we are not doing!). Then we have..just to make another example… painting all rum-shops with the same various logos – big mistake. Now dem boring to look at…thank God that few have retained their inner sanctum! There’s an answer as to how even this ‘branding’ can be changed but I tired talking for free and getting nowhere, so if anyone want to pay me and me team (I repeating for those who hard-aise) a foreign consultancy fee ’cause it seems dat is de only way we does wake up and smell de spirits, we hey! David knows how to get in touch. Secondly, this business of giving bars/restaurants/party places two mat, one straw, three cloth to wash with is archaic…where is all the stuff going to that the big companies abroad give away… dem does even build your bar for ya…they invest in your bar if you give them a proper plan distributors!. I built two fabulous ones in Jamaica completely sponsored by Appleton…have a friend who almost built his whole restaurant and bar on Bacardi money!! Sponsors…you get it back in business…duh???!!! You promote employment…duh???!!! You use creative minds so that not every one looks like a carbon copy of the other duh????!!! But our suppliers seem to think that their cousins and sisters/brothers/aunties etc. more deserving of all the paraphernalia and give-ways dan their suppliers – I know one bar who does big business but because he get his stock from a small entrepreneur who gets it in bulk from the big guys…dem not giving he a cent to improve his lot…!!! One million proposals later, de man still get no help. Buh some squeezy little brukk dong rumshop off the strip in de back of somebody home, get it all! Man oh! Man…how we lack in good understanding of the sponsorship deal….big time loss! But then when a rum producer asked for 8 bottles of rum as sponsorship for an art show says that their “charity” budget done, what do you expect eh????

Anyone interested should look at the Nevis product…if 16,000 people could achieve what Nevis has in such a short space of time with proper planning that involves strict adherence to the rules of ‘local can produce what is necessary’ and motivating signs here and there that do not command but rather give people something to think about…where crime is also non-existent and where all are happily employed and children educated from the age of two in uniform….where agriculture is the mainstay that supplies the tourism and the local product….etc etc…we can all do it. Anyone can type Rosemary Parkinson on Nevis on the internet and get an idea…wrote an article about this for The Gleaner Food in 2006 or 7…but there is much more information out there and what should be almost a prototype of what is required to begin to ‘re-build’.

And I have only just touched on some of the problems…drugs, petty theft, rubbish, houses either all looking like pigeon-hole boxes or brukk down relics…telephone and power poles with millions of wires that just make the island ugly (why not undergound all of this..”we pay ya enough money…what all ya doing with all dat money – I guess ensuring investors get great dividends at the expense of the country eh?” Most of all…there is also the problem of a sort of divided people…unhappy people…always ‘hating’ and putting out bad vibes…crabs in a barrel people….everything seems too much for them right now…even a smile! Thank God that at least one can encounter every now and then a super-great Bajan – one who has retained what Bajans used to be…sweet, friendly, open, welcoming….that certainly helps the not so great parts! Ah well….

….There is more, unfortunately, so much more to deal with. Another major concern being of course how can a government that knows that an island that thrives for tourism to survive, not see the importance of duty-free goods across the board to lure in ‘shoppers’ and no-taxes on those providing bonafide tourism products….hmmmm…..

I am passionate about our islands – love them all to death…never really wanted to leave them (as I am almost nearly close to wanting to do now). My first book the 460-page Culinaria:the Caribbean was the precurssor to the interest in Caribbean food…my second 425-page Nyam Jamaica addresses that island and its people…both were written with love for our people and our lands…a documentation of what we had and barely have now so that perhaps we can at least savour thru the written word and photos in years to come. Barbados is being written as we speak, and I cry daily…! To say that I have taken on a most difficult task is but a drop in the bucket! Whilst many are willing…most accuse me of wanting to make plenty money on dem recipes, or using their photos on the internet to make millions…why I want to know their business and and and…doors slammed constantly in my face, sponsorship has been difficult too because no one sees the need to document what is really ours for our children’s children and their children through the mouths of the people but will give to a one-night fete of boozing….but I continue mostly with a strong will and a smile on my face because I know what I do is necessary… and I will finish this project against all odds but it is truly sad at what I have encountered on this beautiful rock (not even felt on any other island) that I have loved for so very long. However, I will do my best to pick out the good things and leave out the bad…for this just might hopefully help to do some remedial work later.

Perhaps we can sum it all up in one go..and that is that… a certain type of greed has become normal and mediocrity appears to reign. May we decide soon to rectify all of this before it is too late. And please, do not take my words as being negative…I only want positive to come out of truth. I also apologize for not making this short, sweet to the point but I have written it as it has come out of me head…fast and furious! Because we need fast and furious to save us! I think. Bless Barbados. Bless this rock. We sure need someting so blessings is all I am hoping for!!

12. The title of this blog says it all …. As a bajan living in Washington dc for over 10 years I have never seen an adequate tv commercial advertising Barbados. We need qualified folks working on the forefront of the ministry of tourism, a problem we have had for donkey years … Folks in the ministry need to be fired and true talent brought in to properly introduce Barbados to the markets referenced in this blog …..

13. @Rosemary

Guess we don’t have to guess your vocation ๐Ÿ™‚

A link to this blog was forwarded to Chairman Adrian Elcock as an fyi.

14. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Rose

I am trying tp develop a concept on home tourism, any views on that?

15. @just only asking….re home tourism – great idea and one that has been implemented with good results in other Caribbean islands…I am off to cricket to watch our West Indian team “mash-up” de Indians like they have “mashed up” de ress o’ de cricket world. Contact me on rosemaryparkinson2004@yahoo.com or visit my wesbite http://www.rosemaryparkinson.com so you can see what I am all about! Will answer tomorrow ’cause whatever which way you look at it, we having a girls lime and we gine lick up some Banks or Heneiken all day long…best way to get through W.Il cricket these days…still love me boys but wish I did not have to get quite so drunk to watch then play!!! Ha ha haaaa…Just joking!
    Another big tourism pitch…put in a proposal once to the Minister – think it was Lashley in those days…involving community centres…sure dat was put straight in a drawer never to be seen again…we real chuped you see! So much to offer and we just thinking concrete jungle and US foods! Bless! Keep healthy by the way…beer is good for the kidneys…

16. Speak that truth Rosemary Parkinson! Your post was awesome and I agree with EVERTHING you said 100%.

Can I also add that we tend to make a caricature of our culture too much, and when the tourists laugh at us, we actually feel it is a compliment. Why must we always have a Mother Sally, for example, at every tourist event for example, teaching tourists how to wuk up?

NB: I am not criticising the actual women who take on the Mother Sally role, I am criticising the concept itself.

It is demeaning and like limbo, has its roots in slave culture – nothing to be proud of really. It’s always about laughing at the lowest common denominator. Why can’t we promote things that tourists want to go back home and try to emulate. Trust me, none of those tourists want to go back home being a Mother Sally – it’s all a big joke to them. And for the Chinese tourists it will probably just feed into the racist stereotypes that many of them already have about black people.

Lack of pride in our culture, in my opinion, is one of the reasons our tourism industry is such a mess.

17. Just a hint.
    In the first 10 months of 2010, Mercedes-Benz sold 90,306 cars, BMW sold 102,916 cars, and Audi sold 172,180 cars in China.

BMW buyers are โ€œtypically young business people โ€” entrepreneurs who have made a lot of money,โ€ according to Yang Jian, managing editor of Automotive News China. The BMW 5-series is the most popular model in China, according to Mr. Yang.

18. @RP
    Excellent post. We Bajans are too damn complacent! Our tourism product is under serious attack from Cuba, Dominican Republic et al. We need to clearly define our segments and exploit the opportunities by differentiation.
    Regarding bars, I clearly remember ordering a Rum Punch at Bert’s Bar which turned out to be worse than Rum and Water, I refused to pay!

@RW
    I am expecting a huge CRASH in the Chinese Stock and RE markets at some point. They created twice, 2X, as much money out of thin air in 2008-09 as a % of GDP than the US did! Ridiculous! This money was used by speculators to shove up RE by 50% in like 9 mths. There are people in China who own 43 condos etc and NOT ONE PROPERTY IS RENTED! It is true that the locals prefer to buy new never lived in properties BUT this is madness. The Govt has raised credit requirements 8 times recently and interest rates on 4 occasions. They know that they have a big problem. Also more than half their quoted stocks are old BANKRUPT state run garbage repositories.

@Nia
    Questionnaires should be used to survey whether the “cultural” shows are viewed positively or not. We should not intend to hide our historical past BUt present our history and culture in a creative show that spellbinds the tourists. Shows probably need to have an element of audience participation.

A comprehensive review by all constituents to the tourism product should be conducted asap. Strategies must be developed after the competitive landscape has been intensively analysed, tourists consulted and travel agents queried. We should then pursue profitable segments where we have a sustainable advantage. Naturally, we should be fixing the ills based on the feedback received eg there should be a standards board with a seal of approval so that a Rum Punch or whatever MUST meet certain minimum standards, like the Zagat or Michelin ratings for restaurants.

19. @Moneybrain

to you last point the government recently undertook several town hall meetings to discuss the White Paper on tourism.

Have not heard much coming out of it though.

20. @David
    The question is how comprehensive and properly designed the effort is?
    GIGO…garbage in garbage out! In these tough times we have to get it right since we dont compete on price we have to focus our efforts in the right areas.

21. @Moneybrain

The question is how comprehensive and properly designed the effort is?

Perhaps Adrian can answer.

We have two tourism experts who differ on the issue of the Chinese, Adrian believes it is a market we can’t ignore and Andrew believes we need to milk our traditional markets more efficiently.

So where do we go from here?

22. @David
    First we conduct the comprehensive research, with emphasis on what segments and interest groups we are potentially not serving as yet from our natural markets in Europe and NA. Once we are sure there is no profitable niches for Bim to exploit we then consider somewhere relatively close to home like Brasil. Please note that Brazil is benefitting mightily from China’s massive demand for agri crops eg PORK, Soy,etc They are much closer and we have the advantage of Bdos being a Portugese word. What top flight consultants are involved with Bim’s research, strategies etc???? We must all remember that our emphasis should be on pulling in $$$$$$$$ not too many bodies.

23. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

Ladies and Gentlemen

We must remenber that our tourism product can be diviided into the high end tourists and low end ones. Those that stay at the Snady Lanes and the Hilton would be considered the high end touirist amd those that stay at the the two and three star hotels will fit into the other category. The high end tourists are the ones who spend like there is unlimited supply of meoney, while the other ones watch their money.

If we are targeting the Chinese we would no doubt be looking at those in the first category. i am not an expert on tourism. If we are looking at tourist from China, we would first have to consider airlift. Are we going to guarantee the airline a certain load factor and compensate it, if that factor is not reached. Do we have enough knowledge of the Chinese culture, which has almost remain pure from the days of the European escapade inot the new world. Thus, before we can talk loudly about bringing the chinese to our shores where the blacks comprise 95% of the population, we need to understand the psychological make up of the chinese before we embark on any marketing strategy, thefore I would expect that Mr. Erskine Sandiford and his team would undertake marketing research to guide the policy makers.

eh

24. Tony Springer Avatar

To Andrew Nehaul,

You are so correct. These people are patriotic and don’t spend money lavishly. They are too far away, anyhow. I don’t know how people who work full-time in the industry can make such foolish plans, and we on the outside can see the folly.
    The same applies to the Brazilian pipe dream – a waste of money!

FACTS

25. your comments do make a lot of sense, mr nehaul.On another note, have we noticed the proliferation of chinese shops slowly unundating our already scarce business landscape manned by chinese personnel seemingly all meeting immigration requirements? further, have we ever seen a chinese clearing goods in customs? i am wundering to know how do these goods get in chinese stores? just askin

26. Chinee eye gal is trouble to a man
    Chinee eye gal is a trouble to a man
    She want did she want dat
    She want everyting

Chin chong makahiho!

27. A quick work to advise the BU family that Chairman Elcock acknowledge receiving the link.

Let us all continue to feedback to ensure Barbados’ success.

28. The truth is that Barbados has very little to offer the Chinese Tourist .The Chinese tourist is not much interested in sun and sea .Spend very little in luxury Hotels and on lavish meals. They are most likely to visit a country if it has a venue of Historical sites and yes “CASINOS” Not to mention the language barrier with which barbadians would have to cope. Right now the BTA is not prepared and equipped to handle the Chinese Tourist Market. Yes the Chinese Tourist market can be good for our country but our country has very little to offer in terms of Historical sites and material goods locally made which would be of interest to the Chinese Tourist.There is plenty of work yet to be done before Barbados can secure a repeat tourist from China. Also take a look at our street signs which needs to be upgraded to accommodate any tourist in trekking their way around the island. God help the chinese tourist who should so venture !

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Just to clarify, I am not against trying to develop the Chinese market but want to try and do it in the most cost-effective way.
    There has been lots of criticism over the Brazil link, but I remain convinced it was the very best option and given time it can be made to work for us. My disappointment has been the seeming lack of developing the route in a holistic way by exploiting EVERY option with trade links, freight and with the reverse seasons trying to use this route to develop more home porting cruise ship possibilties. I also think we should have worked with our neighbours (St. Lucia, SVG etc) more to build the route. This is going to be essential IF we ever attract a direct flight from China.
    I am really glad you copied this to the new BTA Chairman and I would offer one tiny constructive observation.
    Let the industry and others have a facility to feed ideas and comments directly to you. Of course it would be impractical to respond to everything but you may get a better ‘feel’ about what is going on out there.
    Secondly, in my humble opinion you have been making some far overdue comments which have reported in the media.
    Make a list of the changes you want to see, put them in priority and lets see in six months or a year which ones have become a practical reality.
    My two cents worth!

30. The BTA has a mindset and an agenda of their own and for over the years they have stuck to it even though it wa not work out. Why hasn’t more emphasis and resources put into the funding of of the arts . Tourist like diversity. It is all about seeing and doing something different
    Instead of the BTA looking out inside they should be looking and turning to the people who skills on which a country depend on to attracting people to its shores. The Question would always be the same in the mind of a Tourist 1.e any tourist “What do we have to Offer” There is so much that our country have to offer in the Arts that would be beneficial in getting repeat tourist here but for one reason or another BTA is not very interested in tapping into it. I can go on forever listing the various untapped

or under resource and appreciated industry here we have on the island

31. Chinese from China will most likely visit places where there is resident Chinese population, where they can eat their own foods and speak their language and where they have relatives. Like many who have stated that Barbados has very little to offer. They will visit London, Paris, San Francisco, New York and where there are large numbers of Chinese residents. Why come here? The truth be said we have nutting except for our beaches, where many are still harassed on a daily basis. We need to clean up our Tourism product. The island needs sprucing up, more flowering trees planted, garbage dumps cleaned up and litterers fined. Buildings need to repaired and spruced up and an awareness campaign for citizens to clean up their surroundings or be fined or jailed. We have let the horse out and now it is difficult to reign him in.

32. If the government is hell bent on bringing the Chinese tourist here , why them alone? Why not the Saudis,(they are wealthy) the Pakistanis, the Omanis, the Iranians and the Egyptians?

33. We Bajans in Canada and the USA eat Chinese food. Some of it we like some we don’t. It is fair to reason that Chinese Tourist will like some Bajan food.

Hint. I have eaten souse in a Chinese restaurant. It was a little different than ours. The meat was chicken,beef and pork on a plate and you dipped the pieces of meat in a bowl liquid that had salt,lime juice and hot pepper.

The Chinese Tourist will come as soon as soon air lift is put in place.

34. The chinese have utlised their people talents .So why can’t we. Miillions of people travelled as tourist to China it is estimated that by 2020 they would atrract 50.9million people to China. just to see places of history and shop for the local chinese made products and visit museum ,Maybe we should take a page or two out of their handbook in learning how to draw people and keep them coming to our island shores

35. The saddest thing about this whole non-debate is that supposedly intelligent people involved in the tourist industry take these idiotic fantasies of Chinese tourists arriving by the plane load seriously.
    Charitably, one might think they feel they have nothing to lose by supporting any initiative to increase tourist, however insane.
    Regrettably I think they genuinely do not understand their very own tourism product.

36. BTA needs to through out the old hand book and rewrite one that is inclusive of all people world wide . However promoting Barbados not only as sea and signs but a place where people can enjoy our true culture and mahificicent culture in Language ! arts ! local dining! History and music. Needless to say The BTA has a lot of work to do. In essence the root of it all and lies within the people. HEY PEOPLE!.But the way they are good artist . Writers and people who we see as insignificant liming on the Block!Go take a look! So much overlooked in giving Barbados the necessary transparency and attention worldwide it is sad to see it overlooked

37. the andrew Nehaul boy was around tourism criticising left and right for years he brings nothing practical to help Barbados tourist indeustry unless its something to enrich him alone, check Butch Stewart about the Nehaul boy,

38. @sunhaven?

There is absolutely no need to get personal.

Attack Andrew’s message if you want!

39. I reading statements that is keeping with the marketing mentality of Caribbean governments; just throw a net and you will catch dolphins. The problems is we continue to use the same failed strategies over and over again. When tourist travels to Costa Rica they eat Costa Rican traditional foods and experience their culture. How may hotels have traditional Carribean dsshes on the menu? Where can the touris go to experience the our culture and unique way of doing things? It seems that Caribbean people are ashamed of their culture! So we have failed in. The traditional markets so let’s go in invest bring in Chines with the hope that it works! How much will the average Chinese visitor spend? Will it cost of brining in Chinese be greater than their returns? We need to do the Maths and crunch the numbers as a practice before taking hard earned public funds and investing in projects that are already marked “Fail”

40. Oh! and one more thing…as I go over my visit to Kensington Oval yesterday. Cricket. Glorious cricket. How about adding a once every two months, or once every month cricket match…a one day cricket extravaganza at the Oval? This could attract tourists on the island and off if well marketed. Plus it could bring back the fervor we had for the game and provide opportunities for all those interested in same…from young kids to older folk. And the details of how this could be pure entertainment, from food to celebrities, to a game of cricket like no other, history involved and and and….well…I’ve decided it is time to shut up and just say….you want my team’s help…call muh! But remember one thing….the British may have invented cricket but we perfected the game…and that is not just the game itself I talking ’bout…but the whole atmosphere of the game…total fabulousness…a real show! Even though our team is playing the worst cricket ever in the history of cricket…it is this West Indian team that attracts crowds to this day…Do we really, really see this fact as a money-earner. Nope. Our Oval remains idle most of the time. Devoid of the game it was built for.

The more I think of our tourism product, the more I realize how much umph it requires…and how much more could be done….by the way bet no one thinks that Barbados can attract bird watchers/photographers….you only have to see some some of the photos all over Facebook from avid bird photographers here on the island to see that here is a niche totally untapped. You all would be surprised at the eco-system that we have and what it could offer…unless it is all soon concreted and lost – like what they plan to do at one of the most important of all – Chancery Lane – unbelievable just unbelievable what the love of money does…who the hell came up with the idea to allow such a development is beyond my understanding! And then there is Graeme Hall Sanctuary…with proper planning that could become a sort of ASA Wright (Trinidad’s biggest attraction to lovers of nature all over the world). This story is a sick one especially when I heard that hotel developers want in there too…hell must be close by let me tell you.

This whole blog has had my head churning for two days…so going to fix myself a pure organic meal (organic roast chicken, sweet potatoes and veggies) then take to my bed and try and meditate meself back into some sort of level peace. It is so frustrating to know that one good concerted effort by a great team of creative thinkers and doers could rectify all of this!

David…you make me head hurt with some of these poignant blogs you put up!!

41. This is a fact. The only person who ever complained to me about Barbados was a Toronto Guyanese businessman who vacationed in Barbados last year.
    He said “he expected more”. I think he expected Miami or Fort Lauderdale.

The canadian COO of a $100mill a year company went to Barbados last year,this year in March and already booked to go next year.

The CEO of a company I do business with went to Barbados on cruises twice last year.First time him and the wife. Second time with his 4 sons and some friends.
    They loved it. The youngsters spent the day on the beach. Dad and Mum were in a bar in Bridgetown. I got a message from his blackberry that read “we are having a cold Banks in your honour”.

There are many more positive stories like the above.

What Barbados has to do is make a concerted effort to do everything better.
    Cleaner safer beaches.
    Improve the quality and presentation of food.
    Treat tourist with courtesy.

Treat the whole of Barbados like a living room and keep it clean.

42. @ Just only

Spot on post.

I can assure everyone that the Chinese will eat good Bajan food! My wife use to murder my mum’s split pea soup, jugjug, souse, fish etc.

While I highly doubt that the Chinese will venture this far to Bim, another point of serious note is the effect the Chinese have had on Real Estate prices in Singapore, Vancouver et al. Be very careful for what you pray! The Vancouver RE market is absolutely ridiculously priced with the average home more than TWICE, 2X, Toronto which is far more economically important. Bajans will not be happy when rich Chinese BUY at 50%+ higher than where the Eurocentrics finished.

43. @ Sunhaven
    “He brings nothing to help the Barbados Tourism Industry…..”
    You’re right! He brings nothing – but common sense!

Facts

44. @ Adrian Loveridge
    “There has been lots of criticism over the Brazil link…” – Not true! I think I was the one in the vanguard doing the criticizing. Well… me and probably one or two others.

Based on the tenor of comments, I am heartened to know that you have now “seen the light.” Now, will you please go and use your influence with the BTA and do the right thing?

45. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Facts,

You will have to tell me what you think is the ‘right thing’ and I am afraid that I am a bit short of ‘influence’ in that department.

46. Send RedJet to China …. … no?

47. @rosemary
    So what you are saying
    IN A WORD please??

May I suggest “FKUCED”
    ๐Ÿ™‚

48. Barbados is the like the whore you meet on a dark night after some shots of ESAF.
    You get back home,
    and she takes off her wig,
    then she takes of her makeup,
    then she takes out her teeth
    Then she takes off her ?.
    SHOOT woman!! Wrap up whats left and I take it with me.