Submitted by Charles Knighton

waldo-waldron ramsey
Waldo is 5th from the left in the f-row

This writer did not know it was possible to become so engrossed in the writing of a letter to the editor that one could fail to maintain a therapeutic level of their medication, thus forfeiting the salubrious effects of same. In both the Advocate  of April 27th and the Nation of April 29th, Dr Waldo-Waldron Ramsay demonstrates that yes, anything is possible, as one notes his progressively rambling letter.

While several points are open to interpretation, the first three quarters of Dr. Ramsay’s letter offers brief glimpses of relatively laconic leaders who accomplished much in defense  of Prime Minister Stuart’s taciturnity. The last quarter of Dr. Ramsay’s letter, beginning with his description of the Prime Minister as “Demosthenes, Marcus Tullius, Cicero, and Abba Eban rolled into one” is so overwrought and permeated with hyperbole as to be nonsensical.

Just as in train wrecks, observers are left to ponder why the train came off the track.

Read the letter being ‘critiqued’ below

The speech of a prime minister

4/27/2011

Empty vessels make most noise. They are usually full of sound and fury signifying nothing! Upon the assassination of Julius Caesar in the Roman Forum, the citizens of Rome pressed his friend and Consul Mark Antony to “read the will; the will, read the will!” When Mark Antony eventually read the will, their hearts were moved to savage revenge and rage.

There are those nay-sayers and nabobs of negativity in our society; and we know them. We know their politics and we know their anti-Freundel Stuart political persuasions. They clamour daily – and nightly too – that The Honourable Prime Minister, Freundel Stuart, should just speak in public – on anything – just for the sake of speaking. What perverse political thought!

A statesman, a political leader, a Head of Government, or Head of State, speaks on public issues when he considers the occasion and the timing are opposite and in concert. Napoleon marched and took most of Europe in the early 19th century. He spoke very
little. Prince Von Bismarck unified the 300 or so Germanic states into Germany after Napoleon’s march. He spoke little. Count Cavour and General Garibaldi unified Italy at the end of the 1850s, without much talk. At the Congress of Vienna, 1814-1815, Prince Metternich of Austria and Prince Talleyrand of France engaged in diplomatic intrigue – action – behind the scenes in Vienna. They talked but little in the Plenary Sessions. President Obama speaks only when necessary.

It was necessary for Sir Winston Churchill to speak, on significant occasions as War-Prime Minister, to the British people who needed to be rallied to the cause and suffering of war (1939-1945). He was thrown out of office at the end of the war and a Labour Prime Minister, Clement Attlee, a solicitor by profession and a relatively silent man, came to power.

Sir Anthony Eden, like Errol Barrow of Barbados, spoke only when it was necessary on significant public issues. Indeed, Errol Barrow would repeatedly assert at Kampala that his speeches and declarations of policy are for the House of Assembly, but his policy-actions are to be seen in the public domain. Intelligent, serious-minded statesmen do not run about prattling about everything aimlessly. Apart from his “Mirror Image” speech, what else do you remember of his speeches? Little!

A government is made up principally of a Cabinet and other elements. A Cabinet is made up of several ministers and junior ministers, in our system. The Prime Minister is at the centre of this authority. But, he is not the only authoritative voice in the government. From time to time, even Permanent Secretaries and heads of para-statal institutions make pronouncements on policy. Why should the Prime Minister be called upon to make pronouncements about every single thing in Government. We have a Government Information Service! Even under the Third Reich, in the German War-machine, Goebbels was the Propaganda Minister, not Heir Adolph Hitler, who was Head of Government

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is easily the most profound, philosophical and articulate public speaker in the governmental arrangement in Barbados; and has been so for several years now. He has made many memorable, learned and instructive speeches on public matters – over the years before he was Prime Minister and since. As an orator – and I have had the duty and pleasure to read and listen to most of the great ones – Prime Minister Stuart is Demosthenes, Marcus Tullius Cicero, and Abba Eban rolled into one. His Philippics are devastating. He will read “the will” when he is ready! Why would the supporters of the Opposition and others who do not like Prime Minister Stuart, for whatever reason, clamour for him to speak? His speeches will be devastating for their cause. Remember, once Mark Antony read the will of Julius Caesar, all hell broke out in the Roman Forum. Brutus and Cassius, Casca and other conspirators had to take flight to nether regions beyond the city.

Prime Minister Stuart will speak when he wishes; and he can speak! Beware, ye Sons of Levi, ye take too much upon yourselves! Mr. Stuart may well speak at your behest, and interpret the hand-writing on the wall for you.

Mene, Mene, Tekel, Upharsin! Your days are numbered; you have stabbed an excellent and erudite leader in the back like Julius Caesar in the Forum of the People. You have eaten sour grapes; and your teeth are now on edge! Resurrexit Non Est Hic – He is not here, he has risen!!

DR. WALDO WALDRON-RAMSAY

79 responses to “It Boggles The Mind”

1. THE END OF THE WORLD IS
    ALMOST HERE !
    HOLY GOD WILL BRING JUDGMENT DAY
    ON MAY21, 2011
    Judgment Day is feared by the World and is the day that God will destroy the world because of the sins of Mankind. The world is correct in believing that Judgment Day will come . The Bible gives us the correct and accurate information
    ——–
    Seven thousand years after 4990B.C THE YEAR OF THE FLOOD IS THE YEAR 2011AD

reference : 2nd Peter 3.8

The 17th day of the 2nd month of the Biblical calendar of our day is MANY 21, 2011
    ————
    TO ALL PEOPLE HAVE A GOOD JUDGMENT DAY !

2. Ms Roach, does this mean you won’t be contributing to this blog after that date? Oh happy day!

3. @ Miss Tina Cockroach,

Will you please go back to the grease trap you have just crawled out of and await your fate?

4. It boggles the mind that this made it to BU.
    Is there no mercy left in the hearts of the BU household?

Charles Knighton, is the goodly doctor entitled to an opinion or not?

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Man every one knows that Waldo is a purveyor of bovine excrement par excellence who likes to let us know that he has read the Scriptures, Skakespeare and Sheridan.

Everyone knows also that he loves to approximate his labiae orae to the adipose tissue overlaying the glutei maximorum [ i.e lick the ass] of any incumbent DLP leader using irrelevant biblical references. Once he admonished Sandy to go up to Ramoth Gilead. Not sure where that is in Bim.

However, Waldo’s prose is much better than most who attempt to use English on BU. Let Waldo talk and just enjoy the BS he puts together.

6. @GP

Do you prefer prose that is BS or comment with content?

Note Prime Minister is next to PM Stuart when this lot got their ‘silks’ back in 2009.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DAVID
    Of course I prefer comment with content to prose that is BS, but every body not Yardbroom or Bushtea or Amused or MME etc. So we have to bear with Waldo at his level, endure his BE and squirm at his labial approximations. LOL
    Keep up the good work David & BU family.

8. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Cheeze!!! on bread Tina Roach:

You don’t have to be so happy that all o’ we going up in smoke 3 weeks from now. Ain’t Christian Tina.

And since you won’t be needing your stuff can you meet me at my lawyer’s office at 8:00 sharp Monday morning so that you can legally sign over all of your stuff to me.

9. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting David “Just as in train wrecks, observers are left to ponder why the train came off the track”

Nobody ain’t in the cab of the train David. That’s why it ran off the track.

10. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting the letter writer “Napoleon marched and took most of Europe in the early 19th century. He spoke very
    little”

Ya idjit Napoleon didn’t have radio, telephone, television, nor a website nor a blog, nor Twitter account, nor a Facepage book page, no Utube, nothing so, and to besides most of the French and other Europeans were illiterate and ignorant as shite.

The writer needs to take his head out of the a*s* of ancient Europeans and get into the 21st century.

11. GP good to see you are still around. Hope your ‘venture” was successful.

12. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Waldo “Mr. Stuart may well speak at your behest, and interpret the hand-writing on the wall for you…Mene, Mene, Tekel, Upharsin! Your days are numbered”

But Waldo the PM can’t number our days. The PM ain’t God even though you seem to think so when you wrote “Resurrexit Non Est Hic – He is not here, he has risen!!”

It is the PM that has to beg us for a vote not the other way around. And maybe it will be our pleasure to put a full stop to his political days.

Hee!!!, hee!!!, hee!!!

Hi Dr. Georgie Porgie. Glad to see that you and your wit are back.

13. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

And besides on the first Easter morn the working class Palestinian disciples weren’t speaking Classical Latin “Resurrexit Non Est Hic

Very likely they were speaking a working class Aramaic dialect.

14. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting the letter writer “President Obama speaks only when necessary.”

I invite the writer to look at the website of the White to see President Obama’s many,many, speeches:
    http://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-room/speeches-and-remarks

The White Huse is also connected to the American people (and the world) through Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, My Space, You Tube, Vimeo, itunes and Linkedin.

15. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

I just went to the White House website and U.S. President Obama made 39 public speeches in April alone. Most of them short, sweet, simply elegant prose.

Waldo and our PM can learn a lot from Mr. Obama.

The problem is that we Bajans worry that if the P.M doesn’t speak to us does it mean that he thinks we are not good enough to speak to (and then wants to vote doe him and the DLP? ) or we worry about what he is thinking (or not) and planning (or not) He is after all our PM. WE PAY HIM. So yes since he is our employee we expect him to speak to us, or yes indeedy if he does not think we are good enough to speak to, then WE WILL FIRE HIM.

You happpy now letter writer?

21st century Barbados aint’ ancient Rome?

16. What else do you expect from a fossil, but an obsolescent view void of any recognition of people’s increased access to information via the internet. Just look at his references!!!

“Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is easily the most profound, philosophical and articulate public speaker in the governmental arrangement in Barbados; and has been so for several years now.”

One wonders if he possessed these traits on the two previous occasions he lost as a sitting MP. If the answer is yes, then it proves that being a ‘profound, philosophical and articulate public speaker’ is not enough to guarantee success at the polls; and further supports my previous position that Dr.Ramsay is stuck in a time when the electorate was impressed with the use of words like “florescence”.

17. What has boggled my mind is that Leroy Parris has been replaced as chairman of the CBC Board with absolutely no fanfare. On thursday the Nation tucked the news away at the bottom of the back page. Oh how have the mighty fallen. Waldo Ramsay would have some fancy latin or greek for that.

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Any man who regularly walks about in the hot sun in Bridgetown routinely in a three piece suit needs his head examining.

Once in a murder case in the early 90’s Waldo asked me in the court, “What was the state of the accused when the police brought him to your office?”
    I responded “HE WAS AMBULANT?
    Waldo asked “Did you say ambuLANCED?”
    I replied “AMBULANT—– YOU DO REMEMBER AMBULO AMBULARE AMBULAVI AMBULATUM, TO WALK DONT YOU? THE MAN WAS WALKING!”

Later in the same case Waldo argued “My client informs me that instead of examining him, you went upstairs and drank rum with the police.”

My response was “Sir I believe that alcohol is to be used for dermatological applications as in cleansing the skin, but i do not use it for gastric lavage!”

Man I lick he up wid he big word talk! Great fun.

Once in a rape case, Waldo suggested to a police officer that rape was intimacy. The officer dismissed Waldo with ” YEAH VIOLENT INTIMACY SIR VIOLENT INTIMACY!”

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hants boy
    I am holding on here……..but this admin on an ego trip and they not learning much……..nor are they learning quickly. I am trying to learn how to keep quiet and draw the salary, difficult though it is.

Random Thoughts Thanks for your welcome back, but with poor internet service I dont get here so often these days.

20. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

GP… came across this article in my archives the other day and you crossed my mind… island without weeds…

http://filejumbo.com/Download/201B96124B8EB839

Quality isn’t great, but it’s the best I could do.

21. GP and MME

speaking of that which “boggles the mind”, any comments on Harold Camping and his 21 May, 2011 prediction for the “end of the world”?

22. Hey Georgie nice to see you here with us. Waldo is a prime example of when education has been wasted and could have been put to better use. Has he ever won a case? Do people actually hire this fool to defend them?

23. Hey you mother suckers
    Take a hike with your shike

24. @Dr. GP “I am trying to learn how to keep quiet and draw the salary, difficult though it is.”

Focus on the salary GP. You can’t do much about the slow learning ego maniacs.

25. @Georgie Porgie | April 30, 2011 at 7:03 PM | Hants boy
    I am holding on here……..but this admin on an ego trip and they not learning much……..nor are they learning quickly. I am trying to learn how to keep quiet and draw the salary, difficult though it is.
    Random Thoughts Thanks for your welcome back, but with poor internet service I dont get here so often these days.
    =====================
    Maybe you haven’t been paying your telephoneinternet bill GP…lol.
    It’s ironic to hear you accuse someone of being on an ego trip considering your relentless, flawed, and outdated argument regarding St. John’s Wort.

26. Don’t be too hard on Waldo, believe he made his reputation in the world of diplomacy when he served as UN Ambassador.

27. THANKS MME!
    I CAN NOW APPRECIATE HOW THIS ARTICLE CAPTIVATED THE LATE COLIN HUDSON

@ Ping Pong

I personally believe that the second coming will occur soon [i.e the Rapture] , as many events predicted to occur in relationship to the Tribulation seem to be occurring. However, whereas Jesus in the Olivet Discourse suggests that we can have a good idea with respect to the general time of his return, he specifically said that no one knows the day or hour…i.e the exact time. Consequently, I do not take folk who offer specific dates too seriously. I tend to treat such with the same disdain as I treat Waldo and illiterate would be pharmacologists.

28. @ GP
    GONE TOO LONG!!!
    Man skipper – you have been sorely missed from BU….. …especially by the bushman LOL.

…so to welcome you back, may the bushman question your conclusion above, about what Jesus said…?

Now if circa 2000 years ago, the man Jesus is reported to have said that “no one knows the day or hour…i.e the exact time” of his return, how exactly do you deduce from that statement- that 2000 years later, the same would equally apply…?

40 years ago, one of my legendary teachers said to the then bush boy “…no one knows if you will end up in Glendairy or Illaro ” …and of course he was right. 40 years later that matter is much clearer….

In time, many unknowns become known to man. Some of us now even know that we will likely die of cancer / heart failure in the next few months / weeks etc – Something that would have been unknowable 10 years ago. (except of course by BBE who operates beyond the limitation of time…LOL)

The Bushman’s point – do not be too quick to dismiss those who claim to ‘know’ in 2011….. unless of course you have additional information that you can share….

29. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Ping,

I think Mr. Camping is demented… although he seems to be doing quite well for himself with net assets of $122M from the contributions of his victims.

30. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“…no one knows if you will end up in Glendairy or Illaro ”

man BT, tell de truth… you know what he really said was “Glendiary or Jenkins”.

31. @ MME
    “I think Mr. Camping is demented…”
    LOL, MME, since you started construction of that personal concrete bunker you have become quite judgmental haven’t you…?
    You are aware no doubt that this is also what the intelligentsia and the highly learned, thought of the carpenter ‘nut’ who arrived on this earth talking about being THE Messiah…..
    ….but then again you probably have some more solid basis for your contemptuous attitude to Mr Camping- besides the fact that he seems to have accumulated almost as many assets as you have…. LOL

32. man BT, tell de truth… you know what he really said was “Glendiary or Jenkins”

…end up in Jenkins???
    No he did NOT MME!!
    …he was actually quite convinced that I CAME to school from that address everyday….

33. Will you all make up your minds?

When GP here wunna cuss him.

Boy a case of absence making the heart grow fonder?

34. @ David
    Will you all make up your minds?
    When GP here wunna cuss him.
    Don’t you get it David?
    Without GP….
    Who you gonna cuss….??

35. “The Bushman’s point – do not be too quick to dismiss those who claim to ‘know’ in 2011”.

Hants “knows” that no human being can KNOW when Jesus is going to return.

GP wrote “I personally believe that the second coming will occur soon.”
    The operative words are “believe” and “soon”
    That belief is based on his study of the Bible.Reasonable.

“Harold Camping and his 21 May, 2011 prediction for the “end of the world”?”

If God spare life, I personally believe I will be blogging on BU on the 22 May 2011.

36. @ Hants
    Appreciate the feedback; ….. but you KNOW, and the bushman has deduced, – that (…… how can we put this Hants… ?) you don’t know squat about BBE and his plans.

In any case Hants, you can only know that YOU do not know! (and some persons do not even know that they do not know) …. On what basis can you determine what OTHERS (like Mr Camping) may or may not know? LOL … if I were you I would leave this issue to GP and MME….

37. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

David all o’ we dun make up we minds already . We love Dr. GP but at the same time we love to cuss him (and we reserve the right to continue to do so from time to time)

38. ok Bush Tea, did I not make myself clear!( quoting Gibbs on NCIS tv show).

I know that you know that I believe that Camping don’t know when the world will end.
    Just so you know, I believe we (current crop of bloggers) will all die before Jesus returns.

39. @ Hants
    LOL … since you have caught the Bushman in ‘that’ kind of mood…. you said:
    “I know that you know that I believe that Camping don’t know when the world will end.”
    ….That is NOT exactly what the Bushman knows.

In fact, Bushie knows that you know full well that you DON’T really BELIEVE that Camping don’t know when the world will end….
    ….and BT further knows that in fact, you FEEL (and hope) that Camping don’t know when the world will end….

to illustrate the vital difference…
    Bushie FEELS (and hopes) that when the action starts really heating up, MME will give the bushman a ‘lil pick in his fancy bunker… but to tell yuh the truth the bushman cant honestly say that he really BELIEVE that it gwine happen…

You also say….”Just so you know, I believe we (current crop of bloggers) will all die before Jesus returns.”
    Of course you know that this is not necessarily mutually exclusive to Camping’s May 21 date….. LOL – except MME of course…

40. Ok Bushie. I am stating here for a fack dat de world is not coming to an end on May 21st 2011.

But wunna betta buil a Ark cause Babadus gettin flood way turbull.

Stay way from MME bunker cause dah probably gine get flood out tuh.

41. WITH RESPECT TO MAY 21

Let me say that I submitted that comment about predicted events of May 21 but I did not come from me as such. I was handed a flyer, (religious tract) with the information and just wanted to share the information for reaction-Island gal and the rest –! dont cuss me —please dont !.

However if it is true or not it does not mean that people should not settle their accounts with God.
    You agree with the necessity to do it but you think that you should not do it now.
    I t will cost you nothing in dollars and cents. Eternal life does not cost you anything. Jesus Christ paid that debt. Whether you are Rasta , Muslim or whoever please acknowledge that you have the duty to yourselves and management.

Dont want to sound like a preacher which I am not. Just a lay person seeing things in this way.

Thank You all

Tina

42. Upon hearing the information that May 21 , 2011 is Judgment day, many in the churches immediately refer to a Bible verse such as: Matthew 24:36 But of that day and hour knoweth no man no, not the angels of heaven, but my Father only
    “you see’ they say after quoting this verse. “the Bible tells us that no man can know.” They might even add , Not even Jesus Himself knows the time; therefore , your date of May 21 is all wrong.”

The argument is that even though the passage says that there are other parts of the Bible that say when.

The argument continues that because these are the Last days, information will be released because it has been always God’s plan to reveal information from the Bible concerning the end of the world, including the exact timing.

Therefore :

Daniel 12.4 But thou , O Daniel , shut up the words , and seal the book, even to the ime of the end: many shall run to and fro , and knowledge shall be increased.

TAKE IT HOW YOU WANT IT PEOPLE !

Tina Roach
    Barbados

43. Tina Roach “I was handed a flyer, (religious tract)”

Next time give credit to your source of information and you will be treated with less hostility.

44. David are you following the “Flooding” situation in Barbados.
    Nationnews has photos

45. Nationnews”several young men from the district went from house to house in a small plastic toy boat and a small fiber glass boat, using pieces of wood, shovels and rakes as oars helping distressed residents secure household items and their vehicles and even ferrying some to and from their homes.

They also dived into the murky water removing grills from the drains and attempting to clear them – but this did not help.”

Well done fellas. De yute still go courage and care bout people.

46. @Hants

Barbadians are reaping the result of a lack of respect of the environment. We drop houses all over the place, no serious plan as far as physical resources go.

47. Agreed David but there are remedies to the problem.

48. sorry
    that was my intention and I actually did with one comment about the same issue .
    (www.familyradio.com)
    thought I had done so here but obviously did not

anyhow the message is valid

Tina !

49. @ David
    That was not the impression we were given by the late PM and his government, the flooding was attributed to the failure of the previous administration leading to the Ministry of Drainage.

50. The Drainage unit needs to be proactive.

Flooding is a serious problem in Barbados and we have enough brainiacs and brawniacs to work on clearing the wells and waterways.

Don’t wait till people drown to act.