BU has been investigating a couple of matters which led us to a particular place we do not like. We have decided to release what we have discovered and leave the BU family to slice and dice the information as they see fit. What has been evident from the inception of Barbados Underground is that there are an important few in Barbados whose sole existence is to guard the status quo at any cost. Until ordinary Barbadians buy into a philosophy which says we have to contribute to the job of protecting our fragile democracy through participation, the establishment will continue to flourish.

At a time when the country is going through an economic recession, officials at the National Library Service appear to be squandering taxpayers money to the benefit of a few. Do you remember a little while ago there was the furore over the vast  sums of money  spent on a public bath and the cutting of an Ackee tree?

A BU source has exposed a little of what may be described as the tip of the iceberg occurring at the National Library Service:

• The son of an officer of the library was awarded a contract to cut the lawn at the St. Philip branch, and paid $2,200. In addition, the individual used the library’s equipment and to add insult to injury left over twenty garbage bags full of grass on the site. After being paid $2,200 to cut a relatively small area of grass, the job was estimated by others at approximately $500. The library then had to make arrangements to remove the grass. The eyebrow raiser is that the library employs a general worker to do   exactly what this official’s son was paid to do.
  • The same official paid her other son $6,000 to paint the Eagle Hall library on the inside only. Last time BU checked the Eagle Hall library was a tiny place.
  • Then there is the payment to the daughter of $6,000 to cater an event at the library. If one could smile at the abuse of tax dollars it would be that the food was delivered after the Minister and specially invited guests had long gone.

Our source admits that there is a lot more abuse of public funds taking place and if the minister responsible is interested it being a good guardian of the public purse he should order a forensic audit post haste!

The second issue touches the local media and the threat to freedom of expression and news manipulation given the concentration in the hands of non Barbadian ownership. Is it healthy for Barbados that a single group should greatly influence how news is being disseminated in Barbados? Bear in mind One Caribbean Media has adopted the Rupert Murdock approach to media acquisition in the region. To ensure a balance we need a few active whistleblowers to keep media operations ‘real’.

• How was The Nation valued at such a high number that OCM could write of $244 million in goodwill? Given that newspapers are closing globally this high valuation seems very strange.
  • Was this in fact a strategy by the board to artificially enhance its true worth and so woo investors in its initial IPO into paying far more per share;  over $6 than the company was worth?
  • Did such a questionable decision emanate from Trinidad, home of the CLICO debacle which continues to rage, and who was the audit firm to approved the goodwill valuation in the first place?
  • Was Chairman Sir Fred Gollop party to what appears to outside observers to be an overstatement? What about Harold Hoyte?

If our standard of education is at the level to which we always boast, there should be a reasonable expectation that queries such as those above be investigated and clarified for a trusting public. The tiny paragraph which appeared in the Nation newspaper will not do. Can Barbadians reasonably be expected to rely on the Barbados Advocate and the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation to provide balance in the Realm of the local Fourth Estate?

May God help us!

53 responses to “Forensic Audit Needed At The National Library Service And Why Did One Caribbean Media Value ‘Goodwill’ At The Nation Newspaper Ridiculously High Anyway?”

1. @ David[BU]

Happy new year.

De grands tek me to Englant so i did ovah and away. I is getting older an you know date any day now and de plane leffing, if you gets my drift.

AC gine probably wish dat dem did keep me deah fuh good or, more to her recent styling, she gine try to mek an arrangement fuh de udder plane tuh come fer me,

Two good articles like these should not have been merged but i gine comment briefly pun de second one.

De Spectre of Devaluation of the Bulbados dollar.

If deval come den, even at de discounted price dem Trinis wud still get a steal so you has to be visionary

2. @ Baffy

I gine ask David [BU] tuh ban you.

You know why?

You is a nex man who preaching sedition heah pun BU!!

Imagine you say dis bout Sir Erskine posting in China and i quote “And as an ambassador, is he not also entitled to a series of other expenses/emoluments (in USD) . What is the pay back for this job?”

Den you proceed to qualify why dem tek dis man wid dropsy en post he tuh China to sleep in front uh a billion chinese who gine post he face pun dem state sanctioned version of google under “talking monkey sleeps at diplomatic table”

baffy it is people like you dat want destorying man.

Hey you is offering de opinion dat, aftah de man getting pay a pension in Bulbados dollars, fuh sleeping heah pun all he cuntsultancies, dat dem cuntvert dat to US dollars, add ambassador $$ tuh dat and sen he way tuh China to sleep deah!

Sedition and anarchy will not be tolerate heah pun de BU blog in dis new year

Whu mek you feel dat a former prime minister who got de dropsy shud not get he part uh de fatted calf while in China?

Baffy, you know dat effin’ dem did sen he as ambassador tuh India dat all like now he wudda get lik up?

Yes sirree dem injuns doan mek no sport boy, sincing, once dem did find out dat he eating calf, given dat cow is a sacrd animal fuh dem, he and de rest uh de indolent embassy members wudday get lik up

Baffy you know anybody at One Media Corporation, I trying tuh get a job at de Nation, writing like dat Hoad fellow but sincing i does doan say nice tings bout Vivianne Gittens, I cyan get nuh pic.

I tink i gine ask David[BU] tuh open a blog called the DIP, no not DLP, DIP – De Ingrunt Post so dat i kin get tuh write summa de materials dat i been compiling all uh dese years dem

It is a book of short stories and poems, it titled “59 years uh Deep Lethargic Pup”

De publishers tell me dat i needs to change de name to “Many Years & Profound Thoughts” causing somebody might tek de book and amalgamate de leeter in an acronym and say 59 years uh de DLP.

Anyways Baffy, it is 5 a.m. and de insulin gotta get tek

Den you gone on to

3. Ignore de last line Baffy