Submitted by Judy F. Clarke

There have been a few voices in the media recently, intimating that the qualities of managers operating in business here, leaves a lot to be desired. While this may be true, the real root of the problem is that the old model of managing no longer applies in these contemporary times.

The 19th Century manager was perceived as the only one having the capability to  combine the factors of production in order to achieve maximum productivity in the workplace,  however management styles have and are evolving from the ‘command and control’ system which finds its genesis in the plantation culture.

This model has always presented the worker with little recourse but to do as he or she was told, while creating a chasm between management and employees, where material gains, threats and coercion was the arsenal used to whip the worker into  shape.

Even though we have developed as a society this outdated model continues to follow us in spite of new players coming on the scene.

I proffer the view that this style of management has been a significant factor in contributing towards the low production levels we constantly complain about in the workplace, and while this model may give a measure of egotistical satisfaction to some in management positions, it does nothing to motivate the worker.

The dynamics between management and employees are changing to accommodate interaction between the two and to bring to the table the understanding that they both need each other. This new style treats to the fact that while the manager/owner offers the capacity to employ, the potential employee comes to the same table with skill sets that makes him or her employable. In other words they both have something to negotiate with, so that the relationship becomes a transactional one where they both understand their roles in reaching the objective of making the company a viable and profitable one for the benefit of them both.

This interaction gives way to a more participatory style of management and empowerment to both ‘players’. The focus for these two ‘players’ now becomes how to get the company to function at its most efficient, rather than the employee suffering through a week just waiting for payday, while the manager is frustrated because of low productivity. There must be a collective and collaborative input from both.

Barbados has a lot of catching up to do for the the 19th Century model which still operates today, will not function effectively in the 21th Century.

1. Many employees and managers are not trained and not told what is expected of them. Many managers are not hands on managers and many do not understand human interaction. Bad apples in many companies have been allowed to remain there for many years and nothing has been done to remove them. There is an underlying fear of employees by management.

Many employees who see the weaknesses in their bosses will exploit it. Many managers are prevented from practicing their skills and many times undermined by their bosses who feel that they will look bad if the new manager appears successful.

There is too much lip service about TEAM work. Many companies/managers are afraid to think outside the box . Anyone who attempts such is quickly pulled into the fold to conform or silenced.

We need brave men and women to become shakers and movers. Some/ many, companies continue to use archaic management practices that will continue to produce little or no results. Many companies continue to emphasize that they have training for employees , yet very little positive changes can be observed.

The recruitment process is conducted poorly, poor presentation and interviewing skills. Many do not understand that putting potential employee at ease will reveal more about that person. Interpersonal skills are scarce.

It is amazing how employees who leave Barbados quickly conform to the work ethic of their adopted country, yet their work ethic at home is piss poor.

If people would stop trying to keep their jobs and do their jobs perhaps productivity will increase.

2. Key to the issue of management in the Bajan workplace is the lack of an entrepreneurial skill set.

3. I am curious, what is an entrepreneurial skill set and why is it key to the issue of management?

4. @new

Many Barbadian managers are blessed with the theoretical and technical knowledge of how to do the job but the real challenge is to mentor and coach employees in your command to fully (optimally) explode their potential which should be parallel with that of the company. This is what we refer to as an entrepreneurial skill. Did you try to find it in the text book :-)?

5. I proffer the view that this style of management has been a significant factor in contributing towards the low production levels we constantly complain about in the workplace
    The above may be true but didn’t I read somewhere that Barbados has one of the highest rates of absenteeism in the Caribbean? Workers call in sick but can be found at the National stadium cheering on their charges or at cricket or the latest jump up at Farley Hill.

Try the above if you are looking other reasons for low productivity

6. @Sargeant

If we can harness the same energy which Barbadians directed at the Censorship Board for banning Black Swann to national productivity issues we would be in good shape.

We need to attack the current system which allows our people to take a day off to attend a funeral as an example. We need our managers to think, mobilize…do!

7. David

Do you know how many books on management/managing have been written?

I don’t have an answer but I know there are thousands and each author has their own theories or variation on a theme.

Speaking as someone who has had to attend literally dozens of management seminars/ or training modules, I had one simple philosophy when it came to managing employees in my area of responsibility.

Treat them like adults. You’ll be surprised how well that works

8. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

but Judy WAIT! EF u wants me tuh read dis article – FIRSE:
    how about ‘there HAS been’ an,
    SECON- how about in ‘businessES’ an,
    TIRD – doan begin a subjik bout events TODAY by immediately referring to the 19TH century. it’s hard to c the relevance n puts people off! Den, when u can korrek dose errors i might b prepared to read ur article. it’s a pity because you might’ve had some interesting and illucidating things to say. Now I’ll never know!

9. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

an FOURF- resis d Barbadian temptation to always ‘write a book’! i know it in easy cos ur a Barbadin but try hard, hard. quality over quantity Judy, quality over quantity. and thus sayeth TMWN! 🙂

10. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Many managers are not hands on managers and many do not understand human interaction.
    Islangal, dat could explain a lot of what I’ve experienced on these boards. However, I assumed it was limited to the small number of people occupying these boards but, you indicate it could be a national illness!

11. Many expect that a manager can transform a group of people who do not care one iota about the company they work for to become model workers. If workers know that their jobs depend on their performance you would see a drastic change from the top down. Yes I agree that a more open approach is needed and that an understanding that they need each other should be emphasized. Can one change the mindset from enemy to frenemy overnight? Many feel that they can’t be fired. The lack of respect attitude for people in many business is a huge problem. Look at the Barbados work ethic. We need to improve that first. We need to start in the schools to develop a healthy work ethic. Look at the quality of the employment pool that is out there. We have persons who can barely read and write. Many cannot understand basic English and this leads to communication problems at work. Interpretation skills are poor. Much of it reflects badly on the Education system. Absenteeism thrives because there are no consequences. If an employee knows they can get away with it they will continue to do so. Talking alone won’t solve the problem. Many employees feel that they are doing you a favour by coming to work. There is a notion that the customers are not important and that the paycheck grows on a money tree. Employers must let their employees know customers are an important part of the business and without each other there will be no jobs and no businesses.

12. I am interested in only one thing … How Does Barbados Produce Something That The Rest Of The World Will Have A Need For … continuously …!

All this talk about managing and sick leave and negotiating with the skills that you bring to the table don’ mean squat in this world… When dealing with services, predominantly retail by nature, the word productivity HAS NO MEANING…!

13. Many people believe they can manage from behind a desk. This so evident in Barbados, ask to see the manager and most times he is in his OFFICE. Many haven’t a clue what is happening on the floor. The owner of Marks and Spencers boasts of being a walk about manager. He spotted problems and corrected them on the spot. He observed and interacted with customers and employees. He found out what was needed to get the job done.

14. And by the way a CEO of a company is the cheapest person for the company to maintain. His participation in its operation is such that he earns money for the company that pays for his services with enough margin to support others that work with him. Dey go’ allotta men an’ women ’bout hey carrying dah title aroun’ with impunity …! ALL of them have not a clue as to what it takes to earn a red cent for an operation, far less to cover the cost of their salaries…! De women in particular feel that being able to pass eighteen academic examines in a couple of years gives them rights to a penis and a pair of balls …

15. @BAFBFP

Your position is coloured by what you perceive to be a flawed Bajan model. The reality is that while you are correct we need to transform our productive sectors the efficiency of the country must be safe-guarded by efficiently managing all sectors. Our policymakers poked by advocacy by the people must frame the vision and enable the environment, our managers must then step up and properly manage the resources to get the job done. Most private entities in Barbados have performance management systems in place which must* be managed by managers. Can’t say the same for the public sector.

16. When one is assessing the management of any organization the most vital aspect that should be considered is “what are the qualities of a successful manager?”. To this question the key should be leadership and the ability to be visionary for the people who work under them. Here in Barbados when people are promoted to management, most of them tend to adopt a very unapproachable style. They are no longer down to earth and they tend to want to rule with an iron fist. It would be better if managers adapt a situational leadership style to management whereby the style is adjusted based on the situation being confronted.

Another issue is the interview process, whereby some of the interviewers do not have a clue what qualities, skills or attributes should be sort after with respect to the intended post. For instance one year ago I went to an interview at a prominent company where the two persons conducting the interview were far from professional. They conducted conversations pertaining to their daily commute to and from work. During the interview I was only asked two questions . When the interview was finish I asked myself what was really the object of the process given that dialogue with the candidate was limited to two questions. One can only assume that part of the criterion was to establish if the interviewee had look the part. This being said and done it only enforced my point that because of flawed interview processes they will always be square pegs in round holes.

The first step in trying to remedy some of the ills we have in the work place would be to engage managers as well as subordinates to get on board with the Dale Carnegie Program, where principles such as How to Win Friends and Influence People, Be a Leader,Win People to Your Way of Thinking and Become a Friendlier Person to name a few are intensively explored.

17. BARBADOS Management philosophy is generally established by the government and it’s civil service, remember they employee at least 25% of the population and are paid 36% of the entire countries revenue. If the government and it’s civil service FAILS to lead by example what can you expect. Philosophy is to protect workers jobs at all cost, I’m beginning to think the Barbados Government is just another Trade Union.

18. @Willie

Agree with you to a point.

Do you agree that to achieve culture change in the civil service is a treacherous task which will call for careful planning?

Do you disagree with the government protecting jobs in the prevailing economic climate?

19. @ David

What is the point of protecting jobs when they are not productive. It seems we are trying to squeeze blood out of stones.

20. @David

I agree that attempting ANY changes precieved
    as negative within the civil service is like jumping off a high building without a parachute. However you can not continue to employee 25% of the population and pay them 36%(PM’s Quote) of the entire nations revenue. Underlying the problem is STRONG LABOUR UNIONS which first have to be reeled in. Look whats happening around the developed world, the strength of trade unions has been on a downward spiral the last 15+ years. Unions have/had their place and achieved great things for employee’s however they have lost their way and are now viewed as a significant a detriment to effective and economic business operations.

Protecting jobs in the prevailing climate is not BAD, however when you are the majority employer in the entire nation you must lead by example. Protecting jobs has to be taken into context, Barbados Civil Service is by no means representative of a other countries civil service. Typically a countries civil service makes up less than 1% of the workforce, not the 25% as in Barbados. Barbados has allowed it’s civil service to grow to astronomical levels in the guise of protecting/providing jobs. This idea works as long as GDP is growing(inflation) at significant double digit rates. This philosophy is similar to that of deficient financing, ie: you cannot spend more than your making. This type of philosophy will eventually, “bite you in the ass” as the saying goes.

21. @BU.David: “Do you disagree with the government protecting jobs in the prevailing economic climate?

I know this question was directed to Willie, but if I may please speak to it also…

There is a saying in the software development / engineering disciplines: “That doesn’t scale.” Meaning, while it may work in the short term / on the small scale, it doesn’t work over the long term / as things get larger.

At the end of the day government must pay its expenses by way of taxation. Borrowing is often used to bridge.

Thus, if government employs so many people, it must tax heavily its own employees, plus those of the private sector, plus any companies which operate within its domain in order to pay them.

And/or borrow against future taxation…

Some countries are blessed with coveted natural resources which can be leveraged.

Barbados is not such a country….

22. @Willie and islandgirl

The issue here is whether it is advisable to allow unbridled unemployment in a recession which will lead to social fallout.

We have to ‘change’ but it must be ‘managed’. The point should be added that the Bajan model of commerce is public sector led. The private sector is heavily built on retail/distribution.

23. @BU.David: “The point should be added that the Bajan model of commerce is public sector led.

The model is broken.

@BU.David: “The private sector is heavily built on retail/distribution.

Mostly providing products to Bajan consumers…

It doesn’t have to be this way.

As an example, I consult for three different call centres who employ over 250 Bajans (aggregate). They all provide services to non-Bajan companies (one also provides services to Bajan companies).

Interestingly, all three are owned and managed by non-Bajans…

Bajans are smart. We can produce intellectual property products, and provide high-quality services, the world wants.

But don’t wait for the government to do it….

24. @Man with no name,

I perceive that you are a prophet, how did you know that I was writing a book. Leave your name and number at the ‘front desk’, and I will give you a call, so that when I have completed putting my thoughts on paper and have added my two cents worth to the development of mankind, you can read it and inform the queen I misused her English., oh! and thanks for reading the article.

@Islandgal,
    I agree with you that the recruiting process is conducted poorly. Firstly, many interviewers have no idea what they are looking for in the potential employee and cannot effectively place the individual in the position that is well suited for their skills.
    Secondly, an individual might have the skills but their attitude is bad, many interviewers do not know how to handle this type of situation. Do you employ the individual and work with them on their attitude, or do employ an individual with a great attitude but has no skills. It’s a catch 22.

@ David,
    What are entrepreneurial skill sets? An individual has an idea, is able to access funding and he or she becomes an entrepreneur, without the skills of those he employs he is just an individual with an idea.

25. When I was working and in managerial position, I found a little book entitled ” The One Minute Manager,” this book was my little guideline to good management and it worked for me. It was simple, praise your employee when possible and correct or disciline the person when necessary. I used to call any of my employees at random, and have a casual talk with him/her, many times not even discussing work at all, therefore when I call that same individual in my office on a serious matter, they feel a bit more comfortable talking to me even when it means discilining the person. I also used to go among the workers and assist in their duties or even use my entertainment allowance to award my employees for a job well done. I find this method also worked well with my own children.

26. @Judy Clarke

Have a reread entrepreneurial is being used in the context of a manager’s skill set.

27. There will always be the employee who is not interesting in giving a day’s work for a dya’s pay and that employee will be dismissed after being given adequate time and assistance to improve. Many times the problem employee is castigated by his/ her own work colleagues for their behaviour. A manager’s job is made easy by the way he/she communicates with the employees.

28. Judy F Clarke
    I’ll prefer to employ an individual with a good attitude and poor skills, than one with poor attitude and good skills. The reason is, with a good attitude that individual can improve the skills, this happens most of the time, the one with the poor attitude usually believes he/she is above being spoken to or corrected and is very difficult to work with other employees or even management.

29. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

LOL! Judy, i’ll do that! mind u, i in red d article yet but i will, jes fuh u! x

30. islandgal246

Governmen is a Service … It or no part of it can be Productive … The term DOES NOT apply nere…!

Wha I ain’ know how to respond to you …!

31. David @ BU

On the TOPIC* of “entrepreneurialism” – do you fancy some “baby-milk ice-cream” as a connoisseur treat for those ‘avid ‘ taste buds of yours, given your eclectic acquired taste?

But it’ll cost ya’ around BDS$$$45.00 a pop!!!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-12569011

32. @TB

That is as entrepreneurial as you get!

33. When we speak of Managers who cannot manage and leaders who cannot or do not lead, lets not,as share holders, forget our 30 “illustrious”employees in Palmetto Street.

34. What can make a weak manager is one who is not confident in his job, one who is the creature of one of or the majority of his superiors, namely the directors or simply one who has not been trained. However, we do have some young managers who just came out of university with all the letters behind their name but no experience but many are too arrogant to learn from the person who was on the job for the last twenty or thirty years but has no degree, for me experience beats academic qualifications any day

35. Do you recall that back in the 60’s , the Captains of industry were also “Captains” in the Barbados Regiment. Just a few days ago the Government was demanding a ransom from the taxpayers, of some $49 Million to keep the Transport Boards head above the sewerage. Back in the 60’s ,Captain Colin Hugh Hill, General Manager of Transport Board, realised a $1 Million profit, something that has never been repeated. Even in the Public Service, men like Colonel Dowding, Major Leonard Banfield , Lionel Moe, and Major Daniel, the Chief Establisnment Officer gave this country some sterling service. Many of our managers and leaders need a bit of exposure to military discipline.

36. @ Judy F Clark
    ” Do you employ the individual and work with them on their attitude, or do employ an individual with a great attitude but has no skills. It’s a catch 22.”

A bad attitude is always a no but a good attitude alone is not much better if you need a person with the skill immediately. I would do neither frankly, I’d look outside the country first. But, if recruitment is generally a problem (and you have the resources) it would be better to plan ahead and set up a management trainee program so it is more likely competent people, who know the organization will be available when you need them.

37. Nationalist

“.. Back in the 60′s ,Captain Colin Hugh Hill, General Manager of Transport Board, realised a $1 Million profit…”

You should add “Off the backs of exploited Barbadians …” Since when is it honorable to exploit Barbadians to the point of realizing a huge profit by providing as ESSENTIAL service ..? Nationalist my ass …

38. Christopher Halsall
    “Some countries are blessed with coveted natural resources which can be leveraged… Barbados is not such a country….”

Hmmm, how then do you then refer to beach front property?

39. BAFBFP with great perceptiveness wrote on 24 Feb, “I am interested in only one thing … How Does Barbados Produce Something That The Rest Of The World Will Have A Need For … continuously …!” It reminds me of the sage words of American economics professor Walter Williams who wrote “People are poor because they cannot produce anything highly valued by others. (or) They can produce things highly valued by others but are hampered or prevented from doing so. Or, they volunteer to be poor.”

40. @Mr. Pong

Nobody is disputing BAFBFP’s position, we need to create foreign exchange generating enterprises. Where we differ with him is that we should not be efficient in the other areas which are non foreign exchange generating.

41. Oh dear David,

Why not just go along with the concept that EVERY once of energy, starting from the type of education that we offer, to the type of activities that we promote, to the types of successes that we acknowledge and reward, should be placed behind a productive continuum that focuses on Research, Design, Production and Selling effort. Everything else is a supporting gesture at best and hardly worth all of this discussion… it earns us nothing.

42. @NEW,
    What you say about setting up training programs is all well and good but generally Barbadian businesses are not known to train their staff, because of the fear that the worker will leave after being trained at the company’s expense and that money which the company invested will be lost.It is the old saying many of them tell you about ‘not planting ground fa monkey to run pun’. Many of them wouldn’t even allow the worker the time to train even though the worker is prepared to pay his own cost.

@The Scout
    What you describe in your post @ 24th 1.15p.m is that of a participatory manager where respect for employees and their efforts fuels corporation and production.
    We all want to be appreciated when we do something well which motivates us to continue and excel.
    Our society ‘thrives’ on beating down each other and that presents itself in the way we interact with employees, customers, our children, and our spouses.

@David,
    reread your post, I misunderstood, sorry about that.

43. Judy I agree we have a punitive way of managing in businesses, government and education. It seems that it is the Bajan way of doing things. That is why it is clearly seen how children express themselves. Many are afraid to speak when asked a question. In training sessions I have attended many participants are afraid to ask questions or give an opinion. Some may say it is shyness, but I beg to differ. They are not used to participating in any decision making at their workplace, not used to exchanging ideas in a frank open atmosphere.

When firms are reluctant to train because they fear the employee leaving them, they are putting themselves at a disadvantage. As a former manager, I encouraged my staff to go ahead and better themselves and usually let them know that I expect them to go after better positions in the company if they are capable. If they leave because of better jobs, it is because someone else had seen something the company had missed. However there is nothing wrong in rehiring that individual at a later time. We have to cease believing that positions are permanent, and that we can effect change rather than being forced to change.

To be honest I agree with Scoutie , I would prefer to hire a person with a great attitude and train them than hire someone with a bad attitude with good skills. Usually the ones with great attitudes are eager to learn and this is where good training will benefit both the company and the employee.

44. The issue of companies skipping on the training budget is myopic because the same companies will be the first to be critical of the pool of skills available to recruit from.

The other observation is you can have many employees who become disengaged if they are not ‘managed’. However you dice it managers must manage.

45. @ BAFBFP , this is the first time that I am hearing of exploitation of Transport Board workers, back in the ’60, although I was an employee back then.
    How history is easily twisted.

46. Exploitation of Transport Board workers? Yes, the WORKERS are exploiting the system, there are many former ZR and Mini -bus drivers working at Transport Board now and the standard has fallen drastically. It is now the norm to see passengers on the bus eating, a friend up front standing and talking to the driver while the bus is in motion, drivers flashing lights and coming through even though their side of the road is blocked and ALL the nasty behaviour these guys are accustomed too is now being protrayed within the Board. The exploitation is not coming from management to worker but from worker to management as many managers are afraid of some of the workers, especially the drivers.

47. Nationalist

Welcome to the real world of the Capitalist machinery. Workers and consumers have been exploited for as long as mankind has been around. At least lesser animals eat each other… the suffering is no way near as drawn out …!