Here is what is being written on Kammie Holder’s Facebook Page about a speech delivered recently by new Minister of the Environment:
Ministers of governments must do research before just reading any speech prepared for them. The money we will put in a Waste to Energy plant can be better utilized in Renewable Energy. Where will the toxic dioxin be dumped and if the scrubbers breakdown? Tell the investor wheel and come again. Bhopal is still fresh in our minds and we will not survive a Dioxin spill or can we afford an accident. Why do we listen to investors who come and talk pretty with the only motive being profit. Enact legislation to encourage persons to sort their garbage and provide incentives for companies to recycle, reuse and reduce. When will our leaders learn?
I have tagged ministers of government past and present, doctors and an undertaker as he can expect more persons to die from cancer if we so foolishly accept a waste to energy plant in Barbados. Let St Lucia brag about been the first at least there a down wind of Barbados
Here is a press release released by Greenpeace in 2004 which appears still to be relevant.
Press release – January 8, 2004
Environmental group Greenpeace today warned the public in Chiang Mai about the dangers of waste-to-energy incinerators currently being proposed by the Ministry of Energy.
The government is planning to open garbage-burning power plants in the provinces of Chiang Mai, Lamphun, Nakhon Ratchasima and Rayong. The plan will be submitted to the Cabinet for approval on January 13.
Chiang Mai, the stronghold of social and environmental movements, opposed and successfully stopped the construction of an incinerator in Hang Dong district in 1995.
“These waste-to-energy and integrated waste management systems are fancy names for incinerators. If a right decision is going to be made, the government must learn from the experience in Hang Dong and implement zero waste initiatives instead of trying to justify inefficient technologies and waste our resources,” said Tara Buakamsri, Toxics Campaigner of Greenpeace Southeast Asia.
He pointed out that contrary to claims by the Energy Ministry that the incinerator in Phuket is successful, there is no success story of garbage power plants in Thailand.
A study of the incinerator in Phuket by the United Nations Environment Program and Germany Technical Assistance (GTZ) in 2001 has shown an increase in environmental and health threats. The study indicated that the Phuket incinerator releases a large amount of the toxic chemical Dioxin, which can cause cancer. (1)
“These projects will not help us clear a path for sustainable waste management policy. It is prohibitively expensive to build. Even with supposedly state of the art facilities, an incinerator’s toxic emission can not be controlled completely. Those living in the Chiang Mai-Lamphun basin must be concerned about living under toxic cloud if this plan materializes,” said Chainarong Setthachua, Director of Southeast Asia River Network (SEARIN).
Greenpeace has been campaigning against waste incinerator in Thailand since 1999 and successfully help preventing Japan Bank for International Cooperation’s (JBIC) loan package from financing the waste incineration project in On Nut, Bangkok last year. (2)
Greenpeace urges the government that instead of creating dirty energy from waste, it should implement environmentally acceptable waste management strategies and support zero waste initiatives to make local communities healthy
Notes: 1. The study conducted by United Nations Environment Program and Germany Technical Assistance (GTZ) in 2001 has found out that Phuket Incinerator releases 550 mg I-TEQ of Dioxin annually. Scientific evidence point out that Dioxin causes cancer. 2. Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC) has played an active role in financing dirty technology and controversial large-scale development projects in Asia since its establishment in 1999. Recently the institution has implemented the “JBIC Environmental Guidelines” in response pubic opposition to many projects it has funded.
This is probably the best thing I have ever read on the internet, ever.
Fortunately Kellman is just there for a short time, as soon as Lowe is fully recovered, he would take back his office. Kellman probably didn’t understand what he was talking about.
Technocrats in ministry write the speeches so it should matter little if Kellman is new.
I agree but the presenter has the right to question certain aspects of that speech. I’m asking if Kellman knows what he’s talking about, so that he can question it or is he just calling words. Don’t get me wrong, Mr Kellman is not a dunce but he may be ignorent to the subject to which he is speaking and the technocrat ( speech writer) can include what he/she likes and Kellman reads. It is called Square pegs in round holes.
Kellman talks rubbish and will Kellman report on his dismal failure on Trinidad fishing agreement.
The Kammie Holder boy is a pest.
Cowardice and parasite is synonymous with those who would anonymously attack those who advocate. Its better to be a pest in an effort to ensure you rights are not eroded!
Selwin Hart February 7 at 7:59am Report
Dear Colleagues,
We hope that you can join us in New York for this discussion, or watch online via webcast:
“Climate Finance: Ethical Considerations for Scale, Sources and Governance”
Monday, 7 February 2011, 10:00am-1:00pm
UN Headquarters, Conference Room 4 (North Lawn Building), New York
This multistakeholder panel discussion is co-sponsored by the UN Non-Governmental Liaison Service and the Friedrich Ebert Stiftung New York Office, and will be moderated by Mr. Janos Pasztor, Director of the UN Secretary General’s Climate Change Support Team. Following on the heels of COP 16, this event will provide an important opportunity to discuss ethical considerations for climate finance such as how scale, sources and governance reconcile with the principles of equity and common but differentiated responsibilities and respective capabilities.
Panelists:
• Ms. Angela Anderson – Program Director, US Climate Action Network
•
• Mr. Michael Dorsey – Assistant Professor in Dartmouth College’s Environmental Studies Program and Director of the College’s Climate Justice Research Project
•
• Ms. Lidy Nacpil – Asia Coordinator, Jubilee South (video statement)
•
• Mr. Paul Watkinson – Head of French Delegation to the UN climate change negotiations and lead finance negotiator for the EU (via video conference from Paris)
•
• Mr. Selwin Hart – Counsellor, Permanent Mission of Barbados to the United Nations and AOSIS Lead Coordinator on Finance
•
• Mr. Mark Fulton – Global Head of Climate Change Investment Research, Deutsche Bank Climate Change Advisors
•
• Mr. Martin Lees – International Affairs Expert, The Climate Change Task Force; Former Secretary-General, Club of Rome (2008-2010)
Please find more information, including an informal background note, here: http://www.un-ngls.org/spip.php?article3208
* The event is open to representatives of civil society organizations and other interested stakeholders. Individuals not in possession of a UN grounds pass must RSVP to ngls@un.org by 3 February COB to ensure entry.
** For those not in New York, the event will be webcast live. You will be able to find the event at http://www.un.org/webcast
“Climate Finance: Ethical Considerations for Scale, Sources and Governance” – United Nations – Non-g
http://www.un-ngls.org
Monday, 7 February 2011, 10:00am-1:00pm UN Headquarters, Conference Room 4 (North Lawn Building), New York This multi-stakeholder panel discussion is co-sponsored by the UN Non-Governmental Liaison Service and the Friedrich Ebert Stiftung New York Office, and will be moderated by Mr. Janos Pasztor
There is no doubt that incineration has its problems. But so too does garbage.
Basic to the garbage problem are the three R’s.
Singapore uses incineration as it has done for years but even there critics point out much of what is said here. Singapore has created an offshore island where the ash is dumped. Yet, it is expected to be full by 2040.
Check Google Earth.
In the 1960’s Barbados was often likened to Singapore because of its not dissimilar land size but Singapore has developed way beyond Barbados.
A population of over four million and industrial development ensure water supply and garbage disposal are key strategic objectives which engage the Government’s attention daily.
We are into building houses with a limited water supply and promoting consumption which produces garbage.
We just can’t get to the strategic thinking level.
http://www.reuters.com/article/2008/05/22/us-waste-singapore-idUSSP9046620080522
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Water_supply_and_sanitation_in_Singapore
@ JOHN
“We just can’t get to the strategic thinking level…”
That is so SAD!!!
Who can disagree with your comment?
The lack of strategic thinking vision call it what you will is nauseating.
Kammie
Doan min’ J man, you look sa sexy you could ‘pesta’ me anytime. I knowz a good man when I sees one. Sum peeple jus jellus.mwahhhhh
Bonnie you back?
Have you ever heard Kellman say anything that makes sense?
Kellman has been making sense for years. That is why the people of St. Lucy has kept him in Parliament all these years and rejected the Barbados Labour Party all these years.
@Prodigal Son | February 7, 2011 at 10:32 PM |
Never.
Mr Kellman is a gentleman and was decent enough to respond and assure me he will speak to his technical people. He needs to be given a more substantive post in cabinet, actually he is one of the few who brings alternative views to problem solving.
Bonny Peppa, you like you want to propose! lol
One more piece of sense coming from Min Kellman as reported this morning, Mr. Kellman is saying that it was a grave mistake by successive governments to allow hotels to be built on the coast. Maybe, according to Kellman, all hotels should be inland, therefore all governments in the caribbean is guilty of committing the same sin as barbados’s governments. KELLMANOMICS. I think this gentleman should be promoted to a more senior ministry, for example, Min of Economic Affairs or better still Finance, he comes with something different and that’s what this country needs.
What Kellman says makes sense in some countries in the Caribbean the coast road separates development and the beach. This way many environmental issues are minimized.
“Mr. Kellman is saying that it was a grave mistake by successive governments to allow hotels to be built on the coast.”
This has always been my contention.
Is that practicable to Barbados? Let’s think sensibly, do you think that Barbados would be a very attractive tourist destination if our hotels were inland? We sell SUN, SEA and SAND, so we will put them in RAIN, MUD and WOODS? If we designate the inland for hotels , where will the locals live? on the beach? We talk about no being able to feed ourselves, so if we give up the limited agricultural land to tourism would we then only grow “sea grapes”?
@ Scout:
Not “inland” as in St. George or St. Thomas necessarily; just “on the other side of the road”. For example; if all the properties along Bay Street were built on the same side as Government Headquarters, just imagine what a lovely vista that would present to a visitor [and locals too] as you drove into Bridgetown.
Dennis
…. and no problem with “beach access” either!
Dennis
Scout I think david argument was that coast road be the last thing before the beach. So that visitors would have to cross the road to the beach. this of course would mean we would always have windows to the sea. The idea is sound if we enforce it for all new plants.
@The Scout | February 8, 2011 at 8:55 AM |
Right on Scout!!
And to besides, I’d love to see the tourists fighting their way through morning and school traffic to get to and from the beach from their inland Hotels.
Kellmatourism indeed! following Kellmadiplomacy and we know that led nowhere.
David; Dominica, Cancun, Belize, Guyana and Trindad and perhaps some other Caribbean destinationjs have some tourist developments inland but they are not based on “sun sea and sand” tourism but on rugged “adventure” tourism. I don’t think we have the land resources to compete in that area but we might. Anyone done a study?
Dennis. Excellent point! I hadn’t thought about that when I responded to Scout’s point above. Of course it would be applicable to new developments near the sea. I’ve seen such tourism plants in the Dominican Republic and Cuba and they are indeed attractive.
Lest you forget, Beach land was considered “useless” and nobody considered “the environment” 40 0r 50 years ago.
The West coast used to be Tenantry land because “yuh can’t grow cane an yam in sand.
Therefore when the Rich came and started developing Barbados, they built home an hotels pun de beach.
Hindsight is 20/20.
Dennis Johnson | February 8, 2011 at 9:12 AM | @ Scout:
Not “inland” as in St. George or St. Thomas necessarily; just “on the other side of the road”. For example; if all the properties along Bay Street were built on the same side as Government Headquarters, just imagine what a lovely vista that would present to a visitor [and locals too] as you drove into Bridgetown.
Dennis
Right.
…. but Peter Laurie said in an article that Government on Bay Street were taking up valuable real estate which could be used for an hotel.
His solution, and I think it quite fitting, was that Government HQ could be relocated to the now vacant Government property at Glendairy Prison to make way for tourist development.
.. I have always been a fan of Dennis Kellman because he says what is on his mind and doesn’t hide it like the many spineless MP’s we have.
@Kammie | February 8, 2011 at 7:13 AM
(1) Kammie, I totally agree with you that Kellie deserves a more substantive position in Cabinet. The DEMS treat him as though he is an embarrassment. That Caricom Ambassadorship was merely thrown in by Thompson as a reverse psychological move; it did not actually promote Kellman, but it had the same effect as keeping him quiet, “clipping his wings” so to speak.[Hartley’s description of Thompson’s method of disapproving or dishonouring his political adversaries]
(2)Re: “Bonny Peppa, you like you want to propose! lol”
Kammie, Bonny Peppa proposes to EVERY male on this Blog, including me!
She even hit on “Fondle Stroke”.
@John | February 8, 2011 at 9:28 AM
“Right.…. but Peter Laurie said in an article that Government on Bay Street were taking up valuable real estate which could be used for an hotel.
His solution, and I think it quite fitting, was that Government HQ could be relocated to the now vacant Government property at Glendairy Prison to make way for tourist development.”
Isn’t this discussion, “What should be built where” equivalent to Owen Arthur’s earlier suggestion that certain land in Barbados should be utilised in such a way that it accrues it greatest economic value? OF COURSE, when Mr. Arthur broached the subject, he was hammered with abuse and ridicule by the DEMS and their hacks, some of whom appear on this blog like double-minded men now full of praise for the same suggestion.
We Bajans are fond of “Monday morning quarterbacking” or closing the barn door long after the horses have fled. The hotels and homes have been built and except for an act of nature there are here to stay.
So rather than dwelling on the past lets focus on the future and how we can protect what precious little is left.
@John | February 8, 2011 at 9:28 AM
“Right.…. but Peter Laurie said in an article that Government on Bay Street were taking up valuable real estate which could be used for an hotel.”
Do you remember THE DEMS’ proposed low income housing to be located on VERY HIGH VALUE land at Sam Lords St.Philip?
Of course when voices of concern were raised, the subsequent language from the DLP became very emotive with talk about some places appearing to certain people to be too good for ordinary Barbadians. I wonder what would have been the eventual cost of that housing, and at whose expense, considering what would have to be necessary subsidization, so that low income Bajans could afford it.
Truthman
… except that O$A only seems to understand one UOM (Unit of measure) … the $ to determine Economic value.
It makes no economic sense to “develop” areas where the limited water resource will be impacted …….
… or where the topography or susurface conditions are more suited for agriculture or as a place of beauty to be enjoyed than concrete.
Wasn’t developing the East Coast one of the brainwaves ?
… and Sargeant, if you go down Speightstown side you will see massive construction occurring on the seaside …. now !!
I don’t think this practice will cease until all the possible land has be concretised and we are forced to build inland!!
Certainly the decision to stop won’t be as a result of any guiding principle, plan or any long term strategic thought.
Barbados is only 21x14miles, we are not talking about hotels on the inland side is pure fancy talk. Right now there is one hotel that stretches from h,way 1 to h,way 2a, imagine if the actual hotel was on the inland side. Also there was a clay tiled pavement joining the actual hotel and the other side, these had to be removed because the residence at the hotel thought it was their RIGHT to cross the road at will, do you know the chaos this would cause if hotels were
on the inland side? it would have been better to close off that highway alltogether and this is just one area join south coast to that and see that this would just be fancy talk.
…. pedestrian crossing and traffic lights
… kind of like at Rockley.
We in Barbados know how to interpret green and red lights around a pedestrian crossing ……….
…… well …… am … er …. ok …… there are always exceptions to the rule!!
Those who fail to plan, plan to fail!!
Imagine if there were pedestrian traffic lights in front of every existing inland hotel on the west or south coast, plus any further constructed hotels on that inland side of the beach. Then pedestrian crossings will also have to go in front of the major businesses and marls; total chaos for drivers
@ Scout:
Tourists cross the road to get to the beach at Mullins. They have to cross the road to get to the Riviera. They will have to cross the road to get from the new Marriott Courtyard.
Barbadians are [and always were] an organised people. We know how to cooperate with visitors to this lovely island. I do not think there would be chaos with traffic if tourism development was restricted to the land side, as opposed to the seaside of the road.
Dennis
I am thankful that I lived in Barbados in the fifties,sixties and part of the seventies.
It was a wonderful place to live (for me) back then.
While I own a couple pieces of “the rock”, there is one place in Barbados that I “hang out” all day,everyday I am on vacation.
As long as it remains an oasis in the concrete jungle I will continue to enjoy visiting my “homeland”.
There is no stopping “progress” so expect more concrete pun de beach..
@The Scout
You are misunderstanding what is being proposed. A visit to Nassau illustrates what would have been possible if we had vision. As Sargeant suggest we need to protect the few windows to the sea remaining.
Dennis
I respectfully disagree with you, maybe we now live in two seperate Barbadoses. Police right now cannot control the driving practice of bajans, crossing on the regular pedestrian crossings available now is a risk, it’s very dangerous, drivers barely give you space to walk/run across their vehicles before they move again with you still on the crossing. Imagine a large increase of pedestrian crossings to satisfy tourists? Yes, it sounds good but it is not practical.
Dennis
I respectfully disagree with you, maybe we now live in two seperate Barbadoses. Police right now cannot control the driving practice of bajans, crossing on the regular pedestrian crossings available, crossing now is a risk, it’s very dangerous, drivers barely give you space to walk/run across their vehicles before they move again with you still on the crossing. Imagine a large increase of pedestrian crossings to satisfy tourists? Yes, it sounds good but it is not practical.
One thing being in a paramiliary organisation has taught me is to be observant. I realise that discussions/ blogs on the matter of the new C.J has dropped out of circulations, it’s not even listed in the section labelled “recent articles or popular articales.” Given the recent looooong talk about this matter, I deem it strange that such a dicussion was taken; was this done under duress? or has he been appointed and it makes no sense discussing it anymore?
@The Scout
Nothing stopping you from commenting on the CJ blogs. We have had opinions posted on both sides of the issue and we know the government intends to change the law. BU was the first to raise the matter in the public domain, what duress what?
@John | February 8, 2011 at 10:19 AM |
“Truthman… except that O$A only seems to understand one UOM (Unit of measure) … the $ to determine Economic value.”
I am sure that the expression “economic value” in the context Mr.Arthur used it has a very broad meaning. You have clearly come to a myopic assumption that Arthur would not have considered some of those elements you mentioned.
By the way, do you believe that all of these various impact studies you mentioned, and which I agree are necessary prerequisites for infrastructural development, were carried out for that PREMATURELY and elaborately “OPENED” Pickering project (another soother for Kellie) in St.Lucy?
Random Thoughts
yes, i back fa now but will leave within a few weeks time to have surgery done on me eye. Den I will be able ta see you betta, hopefully.
Prodigal
Just like you, he n all a we does tawk junk sometimes, sum mo offen dhan sum. Wah you in na Road Islan Schola needa so offa Kelly fa ma. He’s a good fella.
Mr.Kammie
I kno ‘good’ when i see it. ahemmmmmmmmm.Doan mind Truthman, he does get jellus quick so. You is one a my sweet-p’s pun BU Kammie darling. smoochhhhhhhh
Truthman
So you would kno beyon a shada of a dowt, dat I am not a wikka. I just loveeeeeeeee my menzzzzzzzz.
I hope Fondle Stroke does live up ta dah name. Intristin.Fondle, Stroke, Fondleeeeeeeeeee, Strokeeeeeeeeeeee.Not bad a’tall. I gone befo I get a organism bosey.
John
your points are very good. People in general don’t like to adapt to change so they protest, protest, protest without even giving it a try. But inland hotels sounds good to me.
Plus, I would get ta ‘block’ traffic in my two or three-piece swum-soot. Lawdddddddddd, mek peace.
De rinkles n krinkles but Bonny strollin leisurely by in she swum-soot.
John, murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhh sumbody call de Police.
The Scout
Re the CJ issue, it never fails, Bajans talk about things for nine days!
I understand that the acting CJ has been appointed until sometime this month, so the government has to bring the amendment to the House by next week if the new CJ is to take up the appointment from March 1, 2011. The PM has said that they will change the law with or without the BLP. The poor guy has been packed up for quite sometime now ready to come down.
We have been asking on this blog whether Fumble Stuart as AG advised David Thompson on this matter or if David Thompson took his own counsel as I am not convinced no matter the rhetoric that Fumble and David Thompson had anything in common. I think David Thompson was advised by Hartley Henry, hence Fumble now has to clean up the mess. DLP style!
Oh what a tangle mess the Dems have made of this! If only their hate and spite for David Simmons hadn’t clouded their vision.
@Prodigal Son
How do you respond to the government’s explanation a validation order had be brought to parliament to address a deficiency in William Douglas appointment to the CJ chair?
David;
Could you tell us the nature of the deficiency in William Douglas’ appointment to CJ that required a validation order? If you can’t could one of the Lawyers who post to this blog do so?
@checkit-out
It must be a matter of record. Minister Sinckler mentioned it in an interview with VOB earlier this week. He stated in order to ensure decisions by Douglas were protected the order was done, a position he used obviously to defend what will be done to protect Marston Gibson.
A USA court is trying to get the WICB to repay a gift Allan Stanford gave to them. I’m not a lawyer but that sound strange to me in our commonwealth type system. In case a expected respectable person bought my house and then it was realised that he was a fraud and the money was ill-gotten, will I have to give him/her back the money and take back my house? If I had invested the money elsewhere would I have to retrieve that too? I hope our new C.J don’t try any of those mad USA laws down here; stay on the left side of the road not the right.
@david
Is the william douglas that was made Chief justice in 1965 ?
Hi David; I’ve been trying to check on the Sir William Douglas validation order referred to above. But with no success so far.
But I did find the following extract from Sir William Douglas’ obituary in the Guardian newspaper;
“Douglas was born in Barbados but his parents emigrated to Canada when he was four years old. He was educated in Quebec at Bannatyne School, Verdun high school and McGill University in Mon treal. His links with Canada were to be lifelong. He read law at the London School of Economics. Following his call to the bar he returned to Barbados in 1948. In 1959 he became Jamaica’s assistant attorney-general and was appointed solicitor-general four years later. Then came the appointment as chief justice of Barbados in 1965, a year before independence.”
The above would suggest that Sir William was practicing in the region between 1948 and 1965 and he might have practiced in Canada earlier. It therefore appears that the validation order might not have had anything to do with his not having the 15 years practice in a commonwealth country required for a Barbados CJ.
It would be useful if one of the legal people who post here could put us straight on this matter.
Found similar news articles checkit-out
This being beyond my age i have no idea if the regulation where the same at the time of his appointment. His appointment would be save via chapter 81 (3) . So as long it was valid appointment in 1965 and meet all requirement his appoint couldn’t be challenge.
So this bring the question what exactly are they validating and how can this be use to make a case for the Cj designate. Seeing as the Acting CJ appointment run out on next week monday they should be announcement on friday about the extension in the acting CJ position.
Quoting checkitout “Douglas was born in Barbados …emigrated to Canada when he was four years old…educated in Quebec at Bannatyne School, Verdun high school and McGill University…. He read law at the London School of Economics…The above would suggest that Sir William … might have practiced in Canada earlier.”
checkitout’s quote form the Guardian suggests no such thing. Sir William did not become a lawyer until after his graduation from LSE.
Dear Bonny:
My prayers are with you as you go for your eye surgery.
The Scout,
I certainly wish too that the judicial manager whenever he or she is appointed will go after Leroy Paris’ assets and David Thompson’s assets. They should also look at MY FAMILY FIRST account and the dummy companies David Thompson set up for Leroy Paris to hide CLICO monies.
@Random Thoughts | February 8, 2011 at 10:45 PM ;
read my post again, carefully this time.
Truthman Burton
Isn’t this discussion, “What should be built where” equivalent to Owen Arthur’s earlier suggestion that certain land in Barbados should be utilised in such a way that it accrues it greatest economic value?
When did Arthur broach this subject? In year 14 of his mandate? That the man who was at the helm of a Gov’t that presided over the greatest land sale in Barbadian history to outside interests is concerned about land utilisation is news to many of us.
Did his Gov’t ever introduce or pass any land use legislation?
In the local parlance “wheel and come again”
Did the BLP government ever had land which they sold to foreigners? Or was it Barbadians who sold their lands to get the highest prices? Many Bajans became instant millioners from selling their lands on the west coast to foreigners. I knew a colleague who became one!
The Dems fooled Bajans with this rhetoric that “the BLP presided over the greatest land sale in Barbadian history” and people believed these DAMN LYING PEOPLE.
If the BLP had brought legislation to stop Bajans from doing what they want to do with what is theirs, you would hear the Dems shouting down the airwaves aided and abetted by the implanted DLP moderators at VOB that Owen Arthur taking away their rights!
Alright, the Dems have the government now and things are so bad that now that people should have the opportunity under dem to buy land and the “chicken coups” that they are building to pass for houses, poor bajans, they are now barely surviving! So the houses are just being built to say that they built more houses than the BLP. Nobody is qualifying to buy them because they are too expensive and are not good value for money!
But wait, isn’t it the same Dems who are now selling the St Joseph Hospital property to foreigners!
What hypocrites!
Gov’ts don’t always have to pass legislation to get things done. There is something called “moral suasion” which can be used as a tool to get members of the community to act in a manner that benefits the larger society.
If the BLP was unwilling to pass legislation to stop Bajans from selling land they had the moral authority to speak out about the issue and not wait until they were about to be shown the exit door to engage in a photo op and start lamenting that Bajans “need to grow more food” etc.
The great economist didn’t need a weathervane to tell which way the wind was blowing, he had access to all the facts and figures over the years and should have known that the Island’s food import bill was not something that was sustainable over the long run but did he use his mandate to exercise any moral authority?
I suppose that would have been done in his fourth term.
The Central Bank reports since the Dems came in clearly shows that direct foreign inflows have drastically fallen since the change of government. Despite the world situation, the previously hostile stated policies of this government have clearly been the cause of lack of investments here. This is one of the route causes of our economic problems.
Do happen to have record of the interview can’t find it anywhere. It will be interesting read the validating order since it would predate independence and as such his position should be saved when the change of to independence took place. One must wonder what it actually speaks to now.
@anthony
You may have to contact VoB think it was Monday morning 7.30am.
Random Thoughts
Dear Darling:
Thanks for your prayers and concerns.
Yours truly.
Mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Anything on the rumored changes to the Cabinet
@A.Freeman
One does not need a rumour to know the changes must come soon. It is time for Stuart to step up.
I will wait and see but I do not think PM Stuart knows how to step up. He seems to think that he is still keeping house.
Apollo
stupseeeeeeeeeee, you doan give up do ya? leff my husban nah. when he step up n gih you a hart-attak now, who ya gun blame?he capable man, he capable. leff he man. he too swoiteeeeeee.
David, the validation to which you refer (Feb 8 @5:16 pm) is in respect of the appointment of Sir Denys Williams as NIS Commissioner, not Sir William Douglas as CJ.
@Jeff
Thanks, obviously did not listen well to the report. BU apologizes to all for the missinfo.
jeff
Do you have insight as to why we would need the validation order ?
@ anthony, it seems that the post is reserved for the retired CJ but Sir David declined the post and Sir Denys continued even tho his term of office had expired. I am not knowledgeable on precise dates and times, but that is the gist of what happened.
Very Interesting. thank Jeff for the info will look and see if i can find anything else.
So how exactly does this bring any case for the new cj to be installed? If that was what Sinckler had argued on vob
The thrust of his argument is the BLP allowed the illegal appointment of Williams which required a Validation Order therefore the action next week to do similar is not unprecedented.
But David;
Jeff Cumberbatch wrote;
David, the validation to which you refer (Feb 8 @5:16 pm) is in respect of the appointment of Sir Denys Williams as NIS Commissioner, not Sir William Douglas as CJ.
How does having to make a validation order to allow Sir Denys Williams to continue acting as NIS Commissioner justify making a validation order for Marston Gibson to be appointed CJ de nova? Or will they appoint Marston Gibson, illegally and in breach of the current regulations, and then immediately validate that appointment using the precedence of the Sir Denys Williams’ appointment to avoid changing the law for one person? Couldn’t these legal manouverings be challenged?
I wonder if Jeff Cumberbatch would care to elucidate this?
Jeff Cumberbatch
If there is any validity in my above query, wouldn’t it suggest that the AG or whoever is responsible for the appointment, will deliberately appoint Mr. Gibson knowing that the appointment would be illegal prior to taking that action?
Would the same have been true for the appointment of Sir Denys as NIS Commissioner? Would this then be a true precedent?
Anyhow, I most likely misread the whole thing and it is not as tortuous and complicated as it seems?
I wonder if Amused would like to comment on this other solution to the problem. It seems just a tad less elegant than his solution.
David; re your comment above, viz;
The thrust of his argument is the BLP allowed the illegal appointment of Williams which required a Validation Order therefore the action next week to do similar is not unprecedented.
I’ve been looking for the dates of Sir Denys holding the post of NIS Commissioner without success so far. But, given Jeff Cumberbatch’s intervention above, It seems very strange that it would have been under the former BLP Government that Sir Denys tenure as NIS Commissioner would have been extended after Sir David declined the post (which was reserved for former CJ’s).
Perhaps you might have got it wrong and the validation of Sir Denys’ extension as NIS commissioner was by the DLP itself (rather than the BLP) after Sir David’s tenure as CJ was not extended and that this would have occurred in 2009 or 2010, In which case it would be this DLP Government doing both validations. Which is quite OK, I suppose.
http://barbadosparliament.com/htmlarea/uploaded/File/Act/2010/National%20Insurance%20Commissioner%20%28Validation%29%20Act,%202010..pdf
seem it for The National Insurance and Social Security (Determination of Claims and Questions) Regulations, 1967 (L.N. 46) regulation 14. I have look for awhile and haven’t found any copies. it deals with the Sir Deny appointment as commissioner of NIS. Anyone having the leglislation could you make a copy avalaible for us to read
http://www.caricomlaw.org/docs/National%20Insurance%20and%20Social%20Security.pdf
that should be the document but i have no access to the website or know why it locked up so tight. If any could get it that would be great.
On Feb 7th @ 5.53 a.m., I stated that Denis Kellman is only in that position as Min.of Environment and Drainage until Denis Lowe is fit to take back that position. Lowe was granted three months leave, now it was on the news today that he said he is taking back his office from the beginning of next month. The question is, since it was approved by parliament of a grant for sick leave for six months, can he return before that period is over? If Denis Kellman was appointed Min of six months, can Lowe take back position before the period is over? If Lowe takes back the position, will Kellman be paid Min salary for the appointed six months? These are questions that needs to be answered. I just hope that both men don’t appear at the ministry’s door on the first of next month, both claiming to be THE minister.
Lowe has been removed as Minister of the Environment. He will have to be re-appointed. It is not his to “take back”
@Scout
Standing order 72
4 A member who attends the house while he is one leave, shall forfeit the remainder of his leave.
So yes he can return before leave is over. Once the PM is fine with lowe coming back then kellman appointment with be revoke via public seal of GG. Kellman will be paid for time at the post at not more. . It not up to lowe to decide when he is grant back the ministry that is the pm job. via 68(2) ,68(3) of the constitution.
@ scout & jack sprat
Lowe is still the minister of environment. Kellman is only the acting minister of environment.
March 1, would be the best time for PM Stuart to announce a cabinet reshuffle don’t you think?
David; I agree with you re. a reshuffle. But I think a few days before March 1st might be the best time for that reshuffle to avoid any possible confrontation on 1st March. I think PM Stuart should save Lowe from himself and give Kellman a little time to make something out of BWA and the Environment.
Anyone else felt that there might be a bit more in this mortar than the pestle after hearing Lowe’s interview today?
David;
Remember the Barbados Today article that suggested that it was a done thing re. Kellman being appointed as the Substantive Minister and Lowe being appointed Minister without Portfolio? Could Lowe be reacting to that?
@anthony
Kellman is not an acting Minister. He IS Minister of the Environment. Lowe has no portfolio.
@jack spratt
There was no notice in BGIS of kellman being made the minister or that lowe a minister with portfolio. Up to the end last week they still refer to him as the acting minister. The report in Barbados today suggested that this was to be implement but it hasn’t been as yet.
http://www.gisbarbados.gov.bb/plugins/p13_download_manager/getfile.php?categoryid=33&p13_sectionid=3&p13_fileid=480&p13_versionid=481
Jack made you should reread the article. It in the barbados today jan 31 edition page 7 bottom right corner.
FULL POST FOR KELLMAN
Former CARICOM Ambassador
Denis Kellman appears set to be
confirmed as substantive Minister of
the Environment, Water Resources and
Drainage.
Reliable sources told Barbados
TODAY that although the official
documentation was yet to be delivered
to the St. Lucy MP, there was “no
doubt” that it was a “possibility”.
Kellman was sworn in as a minister
in the Freundel Stuart administration on
January 4
Sources said that Dr Denis Lowe, who
was released from the Queen Elizabeth
Hospital last Thursday after spending
almost a month there, is set to be a
minister without portfolio.
He is currently on sick leave.
A statement issued over the weekend
quoted Lowe as saying: “I am feeling
great. It should take a couple of weeks
for me to rest and get prepared to
return to work.” (DS)
I am sure I heard the announcement one night on DLPTV that Mr Kellman was appointed the Minister of the Environment, Drainage etc and that Dennis Lowe would now be Minister without Portfolio.
I queried it on this blog why this DLP government had 19 ministers and 3 parliamentary secretaries, the highest in Barbados history. No one picked it up. I was surprised when I heard the media still referring to Kellman as acting.
I was therefore surprised to hear Dennis Lowe saying he returning to work as the Minister of Drainage etc on March 1. Does he not realise that he served at the PM’s pleasure and PM Fumble took it away. How comes VOB was able to flush him out to get such an extensive interview, they dont tell the media anything.
Well, if the details of the muted reshuffle are correct, he may have to look elsewhere or be glad he is still getting a ministerial salary for doing nothing!
Here is what Stetson Babb reported on his FB Page.
Can anyone please tell me how the Central Bank Governor in his report a few weeks ago told the nation that the economy would decline further by .04% and a few weeks later Chris Sinckler upstage the CB governor and said that the economy will instead GROW by .03%?
This means that the governor was .07% off? Wont it? I am happy that the economy is growing according to Sinckler who dont know “buggerall” about economics but I seems strange that the persons who should know tell you one thing and because the DLP is believed to be making a mess of the economy, all of a sudden Sinckler is using the Accountant General’s figures instead of the CB.
And to top it all off, Andy Armstrong aint wait, he start praising the minister. This man is unbelievable. Sinckler get up in St John and said the merchants price gouging, before he check with his merchants, he agreed with Sinckler. Then the merchants came out and made Armstrong shame.
Much as I would like to see growth, I fail to see how this will come about based on the building industry reports in Sunday’s Sun. From all reports, contrary to what Sinckler said, the Brazillian GOL is not performing and with things still on the bleak side in the UK, call me pessimistic, but I dont expect much to happen this year! Fumble better get up and do some work!
David;
So what is the true situation? Who is the real Minister, Kellman or Lowe?
checkout-it
On what we know the government appointed Minister Kellman to replace Lowe. The flaw in communication to the public remains the issue.
Anthony
Denis Kellman is NOT the ACTING Min , just like Adriel Brathwaite was APPOINTED A.G during David Thompson’s illness, Kellman was appointed Min of the Environment and Drainage,and this was all over the news, Kellman himself has it on facebook, therefore how can Lowe announce that he is taking back up his office at the beginning of March? This announcement will have to be made by the P.M, after notifying the G.G
checkit-out
I smell a rat, it appears Lowe feels threatened and believes he is losing his little pick and therefore is claiming his job. Remember he was shifted all over the place already and now he has somewhat established himself in the post he is now in, that’s why this sickness came at a wrong time for him. Plus having appointed Kellman in that position, Kellman is not going to give up so soon after being appointed and with the belief that it is for at least three months are probably longer. What happens if Lowe forces his way back into office so soon after his serious sickness, and experience a relapse, would Kellman accept the post again? This is a new development within the DLP which the P.M will have to resolve sooness to avoid a party squabble and burst the bubble they now have following the massive victory at the last by-elections.
Apollo 13
I too am at a lost as to the true position of the Barbados economy, the Gov of Central Bank made a statement to sure up the image of the DLP during the St.John’s campaign. Remember the Labour Minister had announce that there will be further decline in the economy, almost immediately, the gov refuted this by saying that the decline will not be as bad as anticipated, now the Finance Min. has upstage the Gov of the Central Bank by declaring positive growth. While I hope this was true, these announcements are very contrary and boggles the mind how Barbados could have rebounded so repidly, yet their is no such signs among the powers that be. I would like to hear from Prof. Howard and some of the other economic gurus, they take on all of this
Why is it that there is always this sense of uncertainty and indecision in everthing coming out of this government?
Nothing happenning reassures Barbadians that this DLP government know what they are doing or that they are in charge and on top of things. How can they expect people to invest and therefore employ people if the investors have no confidence in what is happenning? We have a government of amateurs, no one knows what they are doing. A caller to VOB last week noted that the cabinet is made up of ELEVEN persons who are in parliament for the first time.
My own feeling is that Lowe is feeling that he would be left out and feels threatened now so he comes out and tells VOB exactly what happened to him which is unlike this government, they deal in secrecy.
Now the debate is whether Kellman is the minister or acting! But it was announced on DLPTV that Kellman was the minister and Lowe was minister without portfolio. How can Lowe come back to take up a ministry just so and oust Kellman, that aint right now Kellman only get the pick since Thompson dead cause Kellman would have never gotten a ministry from Thompson.
Now after reading Albert Brandord and Al Gilkes this weekend, we are now reading today that there will be NO reshuffle. Fumble continues to stumble and fumble.
In light of the fb post & david comment I retract my statement that kellman is acting and lowe is minister of environment. I have a sent a request for bgis to confirm he is the minster. hopefully they can be up-to-date as starcom is.
If lowe been made a minister with no portfolio then he has no work to come to march 1. He is indeed minister @ the pm pleasure. Now this makes the current government the biggest cabinet barbados has ever had as such spit into their own remark that the blp cabinet was too big at the time.
Given the current report i can only assume they haven’t taken constant prices in consideration when calculating growth, We await the governors reply to new figure until such time. Also onto the construction sector slump. new car sales are also down so is foreign real estate investment.
Any hesitancy by PM Stuart to delay a reshuffle of cabinet means a couple things:
1. The PM is not confident his centre of influence is wide enough.
2. He is happy with the cabinet he inherited and maybe had a had in determining in his role as Deputy PM.
In the case of #2 PM Stuart maybe questioned about he limited responsibilities compared to others. It might be he prefers to be free to manage by delegating.
Sruart seems to be too passive…