Submitted by Charles S. Cadogan

I read on the last page of Barbados Today Online (13 January 2010) where Historian Trevor Marshall and Phillip Bostic are both very angry about the way the tourist industry positions are being filled by outsiders. I have mentioned something about this in a previous submission and was called a racist.

Mr. Bostic has a very good point. Why do we have qualified Bajans in Barbados who are able to find a job in the hotel industry outside of Barbados, but not in Barbados?  This makes no sense at all.

For as long as I can remember when I lived in Barbados the main hotel jobs were maids, gardeners, bartenders, waiters and others of this kind. However the top jobs were never given to Barbadians only in a few cases.  This is what beats me – how things have been going for all these years without any changes made for the betterment of qualified hotel Barbadian workers.  Something is so very wrong with this picture.

Mr Bostic said, the little man who you seem not to be willing to give the respect* that’s due to him, can in the long run cause you quite a bit of trouble. You need these people to keep working in you different hotels and tourist attractions. Have you really given it any thought if they all decided not to come to work what would happen?  Do you think it’s time that Barbadians filled these jobs instead of you constantly bringing outside help and giving them better wages than you would Barbadians? I think that you are playing with fire.

Judging from what I have read by Mr Trevor Marshall you need to give this very careful thought and make the changes that are needed to be made for the betterment of all involved in your master plan for tourism.  You have top chefs in Barbados who are participating in contests around the world, and doing very well.  What you really need to be pushing is more Barbadian dishes. I am quite sure from responses that I have gotten from friends who I suggested to go to Barbados for a vacation, the top complaint was not enough island dishes unless you went outside the places you were staying.

I am sure that you have many cooks in Barbados who are more than qualified to make it happen. You must realize that you have to give to get. You cannot continue to conduct business as usual and think that at some point the people who are working for you aren’t going to do something about it.

Why not try promoting from within, or sending people who you know who has the potential to fill a position to school?  You need to change before all hell breaks loose and you will be the ones holding the bag. You can call me anything that you want to call me BUT DO THE RIGHT THING.  Gone are the old time ways of having Barbadians doing mediocre jobs when they are qualified for better positions.

Pay attention Bajans!

45 responses to “Pay Attention Bajans!”

1. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

Every should support Trevor Marshall on this crusade.It is time this nonsense is stopped.

It is after all 2011 and not 1911.

A black country supposedly run by black leaders.

2. Agree with this article.

3. My friend yah fuhget de Banks who seem to think no Barbadians are good enough to be in top management, only Mr Horace Cobham at RBTT and Daniel Farmer at FCB we are fortunate to have to show for free education.

4. I support Marshall 100%, it is not only in the hotels but in many corporations in Barbados, I encounter some foreign accent in administrative positions, in many occasions, from their way of handling business they appear to be square pegs in round holes. In some instance, especially in the real estate business, they don’t even carry a barbados work permit but are suppose to be here on holiday.

5. How many barbadians have the qualifications for the advertised jobs?
    If the Hotels were legally required to publish the names and qualifications of all the applicants then we would know the truth.

6. Any statistics on the number of Bajans in senior positions across the hotel industry?

7. Ohhhh are we not about to elect a Lucian to be the MP for St.John?

8. @Enuff

St. John will be voting on 20 Jan for two candidates both of whom have dual citizenship.

9. @ Hants

To your point about publishing the names and qualifications of people applying for positions wouldn’t that be an invasion of privacy?

The onus should be on the employer to prove that there are no qualified locals to fill the position. Many of these positions are middle management and would take a minimum of training for an employee to become competent. Generally corporations acknowledge that very few individuals can step into a position and fulfill all the requirements of that position, for internal hires they would insist on about 50-60% of the requirements and for external hires the requirements would be higher. In these days of the “objective” interview it is more about “attributes” than skill. One may have all the skill in the world but is unable to function cooperatively with others.

If the company insists that there are no suitable applicants a work permit for a fixed period e.g. 2 years should be issued with the stipulation that at the end of that period the Company would have trained a local who would occupy the position.

My impression is that the Gov’t is not really interested in the “middle management” employee that a company would wish to hire from abroad but is more interested in the senior executives but even at that level Gov’t officials can be misled about the availability of qualified Bajans.

10. @Sargeant,
    “minimum of training for an employee to become competent.”

That is not what is done in Barbados. They prefer to bring in expatriates who can then move back overseas after gaining experience in Barbados.

11. @Hants

You are stroking the cherry like Lawrence Rowe today.

12. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I was actually at the Solidarity House White Paper Town Hall Meeting and heard both Dr. Marshall’s submission and what can only be described as Mr. Bostic’s ranting.
    As a small hotel we have NEVER applied for a work permit for a non-national and do not see the need to.
    The question that should be asked is if ANY of the hotels (and other tourism partners) that have applied for non-national work permits receive TIRF (Tourism Industry Relief Funds)?
    We did NOT apply, therefore did not benefit.
    The other question is, one of the biggest beneficiaries of TIRF funds is about to re-furbish their largest hotel. WHAT proportion of the cost of this refurbishment will be spent LOCALLY to help reduce the quoted 11 plus per cent unemployment?
    ‘We’ are still focusing on minor issues while allowing the big ones to get anyway.
    Another major beneficiary of TIRF funds simply closed their hotel down and laid off over 100 workers, surely some explanation should be forthcoming?

13. @Sargeant, “To your point about publishing the names and qualifications of people applying for positions wouldn’t that be an invasion of privacy?”

That is why Barbados needs FOI act.

14. The question that should be asked is if ANY of the hotels (and other tourism partners) that have applied for non-national work permits receive TIRF (Tourism Industry Relief Funds)?

Well i remember sandy lane placing work permit adds and they received tirf fund so I think people already knew the answer to that question

15. @David,
    This is an easy batting wicket.

16. Let the record show that one of the TIRF hotels, Silver Sands auctioned most of their stuff from one section of the hotel last month. Furniture and equipment was had by all dirt cheap.

One thing which has always been puzzling about Silver Sands is the pristine conditions of the grounds which starkly contrasts with the hotel rooms. The rooms can only have been described as ‘flea bag’. Yet the Wards were able to squeeze sufficient earnings to invest in a yacht.

17. It sad to see what barbados has come to, you hardly hear a bajan person on the radio, all the people speaking with an english accent. were are the bajan people. stand up for what is yours & be proud. stop letting non-nationals take away the jobs, land & whatever else they can get them hands on.

18. OFF TOPIC

Dear BU family, you can watch live streaming of Mara Thompson’s youth function at Martin’s Bay St. John online now http://www.dlpbarbados.org

Good, wholesome fellowship for the entire family!

Enjoy and God bless.

19. @ Hants | January 15, 2011 at 11:24 AM |
    “If the Hotels were legally required to publish the names and qualifications of all the applicants then we would know the truth.”

Are you serious? Since when do you know or have you seen in Barbados where the names and qualifications of applicants for ANY job are published? It will not happen!!

Many people are qualified but what about their work record in terms of attendance, tardiness, etc. Qualifications play an integral part but it’s not the complete package.

20. So what’s new CSC? You can take the man out of the Plantation but you cannot take the Plantation out of the man.

21. Why is it that parties don’t take politics to a higher level? It seems everything must be some big-bang, wuk-up session. There are some many serious matters that need to be discussed, the DLP should be showing the public the mess the BLP left, I’m still waiting for the court charges against the Hardwood Company and all the other accusations that were levelled at the BLP including the ABC h”way, tell us when these cases are coming to court. The BLP should be asking about the Clico affair and the promises made by the DLP during the last general elections campaign that are still just promises. Instead, we are getting a big jump up, keys handed over to a few new house owners in Six Rds, a big jump up, a youth retreat, big jump up; incedentally, the last retreat was without the music and few youth came, maybe all they do come for is the music. Politicians laughing at we

22. @David

St. John will be voting on 20 Jan for two candidates both of whom have dual citizenship.

How can you even compare the two? You are no different to the newspapers you criticise; you are performing your justificatory function well.

23. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Martell Thornton, Barbados Underground. Barbados Underground said: Pay Attention Bajans!: http://wp.me/p41kz-3Pd […]

24. I support Mr. Trevor Marshall 10000 percent. This is 2011 and there is no place for such racists practices in our country. Some are afraid to call a spade a spade but institutionalised racism is a big problem in this country of Barbados.

25. David re. your post of January 15, 2011 at 2:29 PM

I really can’t understand why so many people are presenting the non-barbadian place of birth (or dual citizenship) of the two candidates as being equivalent. Both candidates are fully eligible to represent the St John constituency if elected. One candidate was reportedly born in a caribbean country of Bajan parents who were doing missionary work in that country. The parents returned to Barbados with the candidate when he was 4 years old and he has apparently lived here every since. The other candidate was reportedly born of non-barbadian parents in another caribbean country. She married a Barbadian as an adult and presumably became a naturalized citizen.

There is little to compare in the two cases. One is a bajan by parentage the other is a naturalized bajan by marriage. Both are fully eligible to be MPs or PM’s of Barbados. But don’t present their eligibility as equivalent.

26. Bajans no longer want to work and are ably supported by their unions.
    Foreign workers are much more productive, that is a simple truth.
    Given the chance, most employers would hire more non- nationals.
    Racism discuised as patriotism is all that Trevor Marshall is capable of.
    He is fundamentally a half wit…which makes him ideally qualified for UWI’s low low standards.

27. @checkit-out

In the context of the argument and until the law is changed their eligibility is the same. Do you remember some questioned David Thompson’s right to be PM although he was Bajan by descent? It will always be a subjective issue resolved by the will of the people.

28. Instead of being critical of the work permit process why not see to it that the Ministry of Foreign Affairs have a discussion with the EU and others to see if Barbados can have an exchange program whereby our chefs and hotel personnel can work for a period of time abroad at hotels to get experience.

As more and more Cruise ships enter Caribbean waters, there will be more entertainment possibilities opening up. Can we get our entertainers onboard on a cycle rotation?

There is a very developed solar industry in Barbados but not in other Caribbean islands. i.e. Cayman Islands, Bermuda etc why are not our local companies looking abroad?

29. I wish to answer some notations made by one commenter ‘Lazy Tiefers’ as follows:
    1) Lazy Tiefers | January 16, 2011 at 3:11 AM | Bajans no longer want to work and are ably supported by their unions.
    —————–

Nonsense, many and indeed most bajans work very hard. You may have a silver spoon in your mouth, daddy may have given you a company to run, but most of us leave early every morning to work hard for a living.

2) Foreign workers are much more productive, that is a simple truth.

——

xullxhit. Some foreign workers come here for the ‘life’ and I personally know instances where foreign workers did not produce near as much of some locals in the company I worked.

—-
    3) Given the chance, most employers would hire more non- nationals.
    —————

Maybe you are right, but that is what comes from having a plantation legacy that leaves most inherited wealth in the hands of a few who have little regard to the general populace, whether white, black, indian or chinese and selling out most assets to overseas interests, who also do not have due consideration or care.

4)Racism discuised as patriotism is all that Trevor Marshall is capable of. He is fundamentally a half wit…which makes him ideally qualified for UWI’s low low standards.
    —————-
    That Professor Marshall will have to answer himself, I do not speak for others.
    But in terms of your refernce to ‘UWI’s low standards’, it is clear from your other references, that you have little use for anything local. Maybe if you feel this way, Grantley Adams airport is a wonderful starting point?

Have a nice day.

30. As usual pure emotional ranting.
    FYI policy formulation MUST be based on evidence not on pure emotion. We also need to stop behaving as if B’dos and only B’dos has a tourism product or land for building. Someone about mentioned racism, but is it really racism? Are they hiring white Bajans or only white non-nationals? Why are they hiring chefs with international experience? What is Barbadian cuisine?

I like the idea very much of venturing off site for local food–it means spreading the tourist dollar.

31. Same kind of crooked thinking has Owen Arthur sounding like a bigoted 19th Century character.

32. At the end of the day, for those who traverse the region, will tell you that bajans are the most disliked people in the region, yet all these same people want to come here and deprive bajans of jobs. Until bajans wake up, we will become fifth class citizens in our own country.

33. Do non-nationals need a work permit or not?

If people do need work permits then why is it not enforced? Do these people pay the correct amount of tax etc.?

If permits are not needed then why is this allowed?

Most countries would specify something like below, where a non-national is one of the following:
    – on holiday (therefore must not work)
    – short stay for another reason (e.g. for private medical procedure, therefore no work allowed)
    – a resident and allowed to work (with a permit of some kind)
    – a resident and not allowed to work
    – stateless (i.e. a refugee who may or may not be allowed to do limited work)
    – a student (number of hours worked may be heavily restricted).

Seems Barbadians allow any Tom, Dick or Harry to turn up and do what they like.

34. There is merit in the view that as Barbadians WE have to decide how we want our country to develop. It is a discussion we need to have free of agendas. There is a certain inevitability to how Barbados is progressing.

35. Sometimes it is reasonable for a job to go outside, however, are there real, effective training schemes in place across these organisations to ensure that local people are skilled up?

36. Expat | January 16, 2011 at 11:46 AM | Same kind of crooked thinking has Owen Arthur sounding like a bigoted 19th Century character.
    ———————-
    And you EXPAT sound like an uninformed ‘person’ (I nearly call yuh another word but today is Sunday)
    You are just like the other DLP SYNCHOPHANTS.
    YOU TELL LIES AND CREATE IMPRESSION TO WIN AN ELECTION .

37. Slightly off-topic we read that Almond Hotel will be investing 10 million in expansion. Bear in mind Almond is one of those hotels whose Chairman is also Chair of the Barbados Tourism Authority and whose hotel got TRIF monies.

Almond kicks off Barbados growth

Friday, January 14, 2011

Almond Resorts is to invest $10 million in Almond Beach Village in Barbados and is eyeing further expansion in the region.

A new kids’ club and reception area is to be added to the all-inclusive resort, while two of the restaurants and all 395 guest rooms are to be

refurbished in 2011.

“It is a case of bringing the Beach Village in line with our other three resorts,” said Peter Hopwood, UK vice-president, sales and marketing.

“The look and feel of hotels has changed, and consumers want something more modern.”

Almond Resorts now has three all-inclusive properties in Barbados and one in St Lucia.

A second St Lucian property, Almond Smugglers Cove, separated from the group to become Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa at the end of last year as the resorts were “competing for the same business.”

Full Article

38. Good news for Barbados Tourism,

“Almond is a partner in the Barbados British Airways Football Legends International, which will see eight English six-a-side teams featuring former Premiership players including Alan Shearer, Andrew Cole and Gianfranco Zola, play a tournament on the island in June.”

39. And Hants was that a contact Mr Taylor made while negotiating for the BTA. A bit of insider trading – ish if u ask me

40. But did not the Goodly Knight pointed out to us that only people with this, …(pointing to his skin),are able to run businesses in this country, or words to that effect. And he has proven himself right.Have you seen the number of Bajans flocking to his new store over Christmas?

41. Off topic:

Dear Sir/Ms.:

I’m researching family ancestral roots in the Barbados regarding my Cumpsty lineage. A William Cumpsty, appeared as a witness in 1823 in a Court of Vice-Admiralty in the Barbados. At least one Cumpsty lineage remains this day in the Barbados …apparently in community government in Reading Borough. Can you possibly refer me to an individual source or contact in the Barbados who may be able to direct me to a Barbados connection for researching ‘William’ and possible Barbados roots?

THANK YOU,

Rob Cumpsty Charleston, S. C.

42. BU UK bloggers. Have any of you seen “The secret Caribbean”series on the BBC?

43. Trevor Snuffy Marshall is so full of crap—–if bajans cant do the job, and they cant, you have no choice but to bring in professionals.
    He is a so called Historian, not an economist or buisnessman—
    Snuffy should stick to his dribbling crap and let Hoteliers do their job.
    What a joke he is

44. […] scratch our heads and wonder wuh really goin’ on ’bout here? (see here, here, here, here and […]