National Geographic has a good circulation worldwide.
Yes, but that rock is “Parlour Rock”, not Bathsheba Rock. Bathsheba has plenty rocks! He could have asked any local. All of our rocks have names.
pAT CAN YOU SAY MORE ABOUT THE NAMES OF THE ROCKS AND WHY THEY ARE THUS NAMED?
The late Dr Colin Hudson used to say he came to live in Barbados because of a 1950 edition of THE NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC that described Barbados as a nation with out weeds. This article described the well kept fields of what ever argricultural produce that was then found all over the island. I would really love to read that article some day.
@Pat,
I didn’t know the name of the rock either. I just remember it was close to a bay house and very picturesque on a moonlit night.
I used to call it “dah big rock in de sea down Bashebah”.
There is High Rock , Parlour Big Rock and the Basin big rock with a deep hole underneath and there is also Cold Hold which is behind the Basin.We use to jump off the Basin big rock as kids into the basin.This sure brings back wonderful memories
Why not call National Geographic or email them?
RESEARCH
Milton Dunton, Research ManagerPhone: +1 202 775 6788; E-mail: mdunton@ngs.org
Caroline Wu, Research Analyst
Phone: +1 310 477 2177; E-mail: cwu@ngs.org.
GP,
Look for National Geographic Magazine – March 1952 – Volume CI, No.3, Pg.363-392 in your library. The article is called โBarbados, Outrider of the Antillesโ.
I recall the article giving some interesting perspectives on early Barbados… like Bajans using shutters instead of glass windows and keeping them tightly shut at night to keep out the jumbies ๐
… always interesting to read how you are perceived by a foreigner.
The broken link to the PDF file is now fixed when you click on the image, sorry about that to those who tried.
I have seen a 1750 map/drawing in Griffith Hughes with a rock called The Pulpit.
Drive past Andromeda and it is at the bottom of the hill, at the corner which leads down to St. Aiden’s Church, more on the Tent Bay side.
The map has on other names as well like “Mancheonelle Bay”, “A Bathing Place Called Ladies Hole”, “Bellamores Rock”, “Grunt Rock” and “The Rock called the Three Boys”.
Tent Bay is between The Pulpit and Three Boys Rock.
There is another name which I can’t make out.
The bathing place is the beach with the small bath house on the rock.
I think there is another location possibly in Consett’s Bay called “My Ladies Hole”. I recall Julian Hunte saying he had come ashore there when he swam around the island.
The Pulpit, I believe, is so called because the parsonage for St. Joseph’s Church used to be where the Cultural Centre is today.
The Parish Church was temporarily put near “The Pulpit” after it was demolished in a landslide in 1831, maybe around the time of the great hurricane.
The Parish Church used to be in Frizer’s Valley and that’s why if you go into the little Chapel now a ruin, you will see a tombstone for Edward (?) Benny who was either born in or came to the island in the 1650’s.
Check, but don’t go at night, particularly if there is a moon and you are frightened for ghosts!!
Benny or Binny owned a plantation in the Easy Hall area in the 1600’s.
The temporary location close to the Pulpit was called “Little St. Joseph”. I have heard that when the railroad was put there in the 1880’s, the land slipped and Little St. Joseph’s was no longer used.
The Parish Church was rebuilt in Horse Hill and the Parsonage also relocated near the Church.
I have heard a story about three boys drowning in the area but this might just be a story or a possible reason Three Boy’s Rock gets its name. On earlier maps it appears as “The Rock Three Boys”.
No way of checking the drowning story with parish records as St. Joseph records start well into the 1700’s.
Earlier ones have vanished.
The rock has four smaller rocks on top so I doubt this is the reason, but maybe it has something to do with those rocks on top … or maybe not.
Three Boys Rock marks the end of the parish line dividing St. Joseph and St. John.
A very Merry Christmas to -David – and the BU family. To bloggers everywhere , particularly the Barbados diaspora seasons greetings. I hope the New Year brings what your heart wishes. . . because only “you” know what that is.
May love and kindness be with you at all times.
YB
@Yardbroom
Thanks for the wishes for the season.
All the best to you and yours.
The following is a note received from Charles S. Cadogan. On behalf of the BU household we extend best wishes to you and yours.
I am taking this time to wish each and everyone of my BROTHERS and SISTERS in Barbados a Very Merry Xmas. And may 2011 be the start of much better things to come.
Let us not dwell on yesterday, because we can never regain a moment lost, take back a word that was said, a life that was taken, or any bad deed that was done. But we are able as long as GOD has given us our health and strength to see yet another day. The **POWER TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE** that can create change for the good of all. Let 2010 be yet another year in GOD’S CLASS ROOM and show HIM that we have learned well. Continue to give thanks and praise unto GOD for all things because man will fail us But GOD never will. Know that I have nothing but LOVE in my heart for each and every Barbadian and we **MUST** stick together and do what need to be done for one another.
GOD Bless and keep you all safe from all harm and danger during the Holidays, and through out the coming years.
Peace, Prosperity and LOVE.
Here is another note received from Kammie Holder. All the best to you Kammie!
The world would be a happier place if only for one day, if ever person in a privilege position in life offered either a gift or meal to the homeless or vagrant on Christmas Day! Remember true happiness is not defined by material things but by the smiles you bring to others!
Merry Christmas everyone and may your 2011 be filled with Godโs blessings.
Merry Christmas to all and a prosperous New Year.
Articles like this are so critical to our overall marketing efforts.
I am told that it will be read by 7 million people, and its not just the volume, its the type of reader that exactly fits our demographics.
In 1999, I persuaded Caribbean Travel and Life to run the first ever 12 page editorial/image feature on Barbados. Some of those readers are still coming back to Barbados year after year.
Perhaps, best of all it did not cost the BTA a single cent. Just a number of tourism driven private sector players giving up their time to spend with the writer and later the photographer.
Merry Christmas to all at BU
it is heart warming to see Barbados featured in such a prestigious publication like National Geographic. Another book just published and on the book shelves is Exotic Gardens of the Eastern Caribbean. Many gardens from Barbados, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and Grenada are featured including mine. http://benthamshouse.blogspot.com/2010/12/exotic-gardens-of-eastern-caribbean.html
This book is available here on the island and makes great reading for gardeners, garden watchers and plant enthusiasts.
I am buying copies of this issue to give to friends and family. This will encourage them to leave this freezer and into the warmth of one of the best places on earth.
Merry christmas and a happy new year to all.
tHANKS MME & DAVID FOR THE INFO
TO ADRIAN LOVERIDGE: THANKS FOR ALL YOU DO TO PROMOTE OUR ISLAND
TO ALL: A MERRY CHRISTMAS AND PROSPEROUS NEW YEAR
Georgie Porgie,
THANK YOU and wishing you, Hants, David and the entire BU family, a very Happy Christmas from our little piece of paradise.
To: T he BU Family
Continue to shine the light in dark places.
God’s blessings on every contributor and their family for 2011 and beyond.
Bonny Peppa a special merry christmas to you and yours.
To All the BU Family
Peace, joy and love to believers and non-believers alike! Have a Merry Christmas and may all your dreams come true in the New Year.
What would appear to be the “three boys rocks”, between Parlour and Tent Bay are now know as the Goat Rocks. Dont ask me why. I do not know the history of the names. My great grand mother used to talk about things that happened along the coast, so maybe she knew. In those days I was not interested in any rocks, just food for my belly. The goats are, up to today, a good place for lobsters, sea crabs, whelks, periwincles and sea cats.
@ Patricia
Which Patricia are you? You are my namesake. Are you from the area or the environs?
@ Dr. GP
Man, we got names like Scots Pond Rock, Powell Spring Rock, Grand View Rock, and bathing holes like the Yellow Heads, Cold Hole, Basin, Cleavers, Ginger shoal, Gutter shoal, The Musics, etc., etc.
merry Christmas and prosperous new year to all BU Family, especially GP, ISLAND GAL, BONNIE PEPPER, HANTS, CHRIS HASHALL, DAVID, ZOE, AC, PAPPY P, YARDBROOM, CHARLES CADOGAN and all the other members of the family even Terrence Blackett,.
Friends let me take this time to wish the entire BU family a healthy and a happy Christmas Season and a bright 2011.
Jesus Chr^&^… I up hey now five days and not a single drop ah snow… man ef nah snow don’ drop by tamorr lemetelya I gaing fah my money back… I spen’ all dis money fah a white christmas and not a drop ah snow… Taday I walk down Yonge Street wid my shirt back den, fah two hours out dey so warm…
The article is avery good Xmas present for Barbados and well so deserved Those who help to put this glowing article together should be proud of themselves. Loved it !
@Fran.
Thanks. Same sentiments to you and yourhousehold.
BAFBFP
Not cold enough for you? If you walk up and down Yonge Street and didnโt see any snow tell your friends to drive you North on the 400 to a little town called Barrie. Itโs only about an hourโs drive but youโll get your fill of snow.
Merry Christmas and prosperous new year to all BU Family& friend and rest of the world ๐
BUDavid! Merry Chrismas tuh u and evuhbody. Wunnah thought Pearlie dead and gone long nuh. I jess got a couple healf challenges, but by de grace uh God de ole girl gine be back wif a bang. After all, I got some licks tuh share uppin Sin John early in de new year. Tink I ent know bin sayin naughty or nice tings pon hey nuh. Neffin doan miss Pearlie. Anyhow, peace on earf tuh all fuh now. I gine hey and open my presents ef yuh pleas and see wuh my beloved wuns bring fuh muh, wuh I ent nuhboddy? Hey, wunnah memba tuh seh a lil pray fuh de soul of David of blessed memory tudday pon e birfday. I was planning tuh guh and spend a lil quiet time wid e up at de churchyard tudday, but poor me I ent 100 puh cent, so I aint able tuh guh too far. But de Lord knows best.
Merry Christmas tuh all, specially my dear heart bonnie and carson and Too Munerous Tuh Mention.
so some surfer that works for national geographic came to Barbados.
great.
the article does not show anything of importance in my opinion.
i am a 3rd generation bajan that has lived abroad for half of my 50 years.
when i return to barbados is see things that people who have never left for any significant time tend not to see.
i believe tourism is down because of such things as traffic.
who wants to take a holiday somewhere where the traffic is completely insane?
there are many other places as beautiful or more beautiful than Barbados that don’t have that problem.
give me this country to run for one year and it would be way better in no time.
are the politicians completely blind?
who is in charge here?
maybe they should get out of their air conditioned offices more often.
0k here is the answer to traffic as it is now.–
1]businesses are to open and close at different times.
thus making the rush hour non existent
some go 7-3/some go 8 to 4/some go 9 to 5/etc
this should be compulsory and a person put in charge of carrying out this, a computer could figure out the details.
2]school should start before or after the most busy time.
computer could figure that also.
3]buses and zr are to pull off road to drop off or pick up people.
i think we could make more pull off places for the buses and zr.
maybe the computer could figure out strategic locations.
how insane is it to stop 100 or 500 cars to pick up or drop off 1 person or even 3.?????
that my friends is the height of insanity.
ok start with that.
if you need any more help let me know.
by the way why are the road taxes so high?
i don’t see any pot holes being fixed .
hey where did that pot hole fixing equipment donated by Canada go?
did some one break it or sell it to another island?haha
so barbados tourism caters to European visitors mostly now.
[WHO SMOKE ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY DRINK]
so let us make a no smoking in bars etc so they just stop coming.
without making smoking areas for them even outside.
mean while let us drive diesel cars blowing carbon monoxide
all over the place.
wow.brilliant decision.
oh yea.
no smoking but you can drive drunk but wear your seat belt.
lol.
is any one in charge here .
ok last note.
hey maybe if the canals in holetown were cleared of sand once in a while it may HELP WITH THE FLOODING.
ANY ONE HOME?
MERRY CHRISTMAS.
To ALL my BU freinds and their family and friends, may you have a BLESSED Christmas and may your 2011 be one of GOOD HEALTH, LOVE and PEACE.
@ Harry,
Merry christmas to you too.
I will reply to you comments tomorrow. The BU family is being “nise” today.
Thanks Fran
Glad to see that Tonto’s horse is alive lol
A Merry, Merry Christmas ta all a wunna-all. Tanks fa all de special ‘shout-outs’ from my BU significant othas. wunna-all kno who wunna-all am. No need ta call namez. Mash-up, my Christmas gun be even specialah tinkin ’bout wah me n you could be doin unda de Chrismas tree. (wink,wink)
A special birthday greets to my beloved late, great PM, the one n only David Thompson. I kno dat ya lookin down n smilin. Ah miss ya tu badddddddd but evva time I tun on me computa, I does seee ya face pun me screen-sava. Um is only recently dat I stop kissin up de monita. My son complainin dat i leffin tummucha dribble pun de screen. stupseeeeee, he is a idiot, doan mine he. I tun on n kiss ya lipz early a clock dis mornin.
Perlixin
wah I tawt dat you did gone ova n away. you bin hidin or wah? girl, ya kno how um is wid de akes n panes when ya gettin ova de hillz? but wah ya kin do neh? we gotta got lil panes evva now n den ta remine we dat we breavin. so you tek um easy n injoy de ress a ya Chrismas, hare?
I doan open my giffs til bout a week or so afta de holidayz. de ress does be crawlin wid me fa ope-it-in dem but i does hah fa remine dem who name pun de giff-tagz.
So you tek um easy n ress de ol body chile. Bonny gine hay n pour one strate from de bottle. na chaser nor nutton sah. strate-up.
Harry
I doan even kno whay to start to ansa you so I gun just stupse, fart n poop. Today is Christmas.
You really pattin youself pun you shoulder fa dem suggestions? stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.I would hope not. You in say one fart dat has not been said befo. Okay?
I doan kno if you spent you time in U.S, Canada, Guyana or where but when referrin to traffic, ya gotta be kiddin me. I was in NY earlier dis year and spent over two hours one day trying to cross de George Washington bridge. Cud crois n you complainin bout traffic hay? Anywayyyyy……………..
A Merry Christmas to you too Einstein.
typical bajan mentality bonny pepper.
lot of stupid talk and no real coment.
thanks for nothing.
carefull how you fart cause you could shit you self.
ass
@Harry
Be careful Bonny Peppa will burn yuh tail real badddddd LOLLLLL when yuh go to shoite.
@Bonny Peppa….wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy and Healthy New Year……….tek it easy girl chile. When yuh coming fuh a piece of great cake and a drink? I will give yuh a personal tour of de gardins.
@Fran Thank you and all the best to you and your family.
Hi, Rumpelstiltkin
I have not seen you post for a long while, you have not been forgotten; here is hoping you are hearty and well.
Fran thanks for your Christmas greetings and may I extend the same to you and your family. JC, it would be remiss of me not to add a little note to you and your family- your thoughts were appreciated.
Best wishes to everyone.
YB
Sargeant
If dey gotta strip joint or a piano bar in this lil’ town called Barrie lemme know now before I mek up my mind to cuss my travel agent … ja ja
Careful Bonny,Careful,the mistress might be reading this yuh know.
Good to hear from you ole girl,thought you were under the weather,but it seem like you were under something else.lol.
Merry xmas .
I am Patricia from the area born and bred .I live just up the hill in Hillswick
So then you live near the Brethren Cemetry
Harry
typical bajan mentality?wunna so does feel cause wunna spen a few cold nites outside a Babadus dat wunna kno evry shoite, got de solution to evry shoite and evryting wunna sah is mek sense. Looka doan mek ma sin ma soul dis blessed Yuletide. All i tell you is dat you in bringin nutton new ta de discussion so come wid sumting ‘new’ and you ready ta eat me.wah wrong wid you,you got a problem or wah? I doan mind ya ‘eating’ me but not so. I ready fa de ‘eat’. Cum.
fart n poop in ya face. stupseeeeeeee.
islandgal
de ol dog still hay hardly barkin. i gun saprize you onea dese dayz but i frighten fa lizards n frogs hare. so mek sure ya put dem in a cage or sumting when i get day or um gun be blue murdahhhhhhhh. LOLL
mash up
wah um is de mistress dat gimme de pamission ta ga unda de tree wid you in de fuss place. LOLLL
Yuletide greets ta you n de mistress dawlinks. Luv ya.
BAF
LOL. I use ta get a free ‘show’ almos evry nite in Germany from my next door neighbours in dem pool.. I just had ta go in my bedroom at a certain time n look ova by dem. boyyyyyyy, i almos had a hart attack one nite. de tension went strate ta ma head. but um din stop ma de nex nite. LOL, ya baddddd.
No no Bonny Peps… somehow I don’ t’ink we lookin’ for or lookin’ AT de same t’ing …
BAFPB
There are โpeeler barsโ all over the place so I think that you will some in Barrie but I donโt know if there are any piano bars there. Instead of relying on a Travel Agent to predict the weather next time you should employ the services of a soothsayer.
@ Georgie Porgie
Yes thats right just across three houses up
BAF
but when ya find wah ya lookin for, den ya start lookin at. LOLL
Patricia | December 25, 2010 at 6:11 PM |
I am Patricia from the area born and bred .I live just up the hill in Hillswick
@ Patricia:
So, I do know you. If you are who I think you are, you must be Patty G. Me, I from Bathsheba proper, but spent lots of my youth right across from the Cemetery Dr. GP is talking about.
Georgie Porgie | December 25, 2010 at 9:25 PM |
So then you live near the Brethren Cemetry
@Dr. GP
Everyone in Hillswick lives near the Cemetery. The street only about a kilo long wid the graveyard in the middle.
@ Perlixin Pearlie
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Nice of you to remove yourself from “yuh window looking out”, tuh cum and gif we a holla. We tanks yuh. Nice tuh kno yuh din pass way pun we.
@To All Christmas bloggers,
Wait, wunna kun miss a day from de blog? Wunna like wunna addicted too. Must be someting David put in the wata. he, he, he.