Submitted by Yardbroom

The late great American writer Walter Lippmann said:

“The journalist’s role was to inform the public of what the elite’s were doing.ย  It was also to act as a watchdog over the elites, as the public had the final say with their votes”.

Within the above framework, ” journalism’s first obligation is to tell the truth”.

Why should journalists inform us: ” because an informed public is the only one that can correctly assess whether the society it inhabits is going off the rails”.

Perhaps I should say at the outset, this article has no political polemic, it is not for or against the BLP or DLP.ย  This should not be necessary, but regrettably a few of us, see every discourse through a narrow focus of political allegiance.

I put it to you, that a few too many of the major decisions, which have been taken in Barbados recently, were to the disadvantage of its citizens; and they possibly would not have been taken, had the electorate been better informed.ย  There was not the rigorous examination of proposals in the News Media, one would expect.ย  A couple projects, costing many millions of dollars were not properly examined, and because it was expedient not to “analyse” but to quietly “report” on what had been agreed, the almost empty cupboard, spewed out dollars with a haste that bordered on the obscene.

To be blunt the public were not “informed”, in the journalistic sense.

Without rigorous examination, journalists acquiesced to what history had taught them was a fait accompli.ย  The public accustomed to no more, accepted what they saw, as the engine turned in the background spewing tax payers dollars to the wind.

I mentioned earlier that a “journalist’s first obligation is the truth.”ย  However, I am not so cavalier in my thinking not to understand the shackles of restraint placed upon journalists in Barbados.ย  It is possible for a journalist who tries to be objective, for the public good, to be stymied, by no more than a phone call, from one of the elites to a well placed person.

Under these circumstances, we must understand a journalist has an obligation to the public, but he/she has a bigger commitment to his/her family.ย  On a small island where opportunities in the News Media are few, some would say it is not bravery to challenge the status quo, but stupidity.ย  Therefore, I seek not to lay blame but examine the situation, to discover why things are the way they are.

Major events that relate to Barbados and its citizens, can happen – sometimes abroad – be discussed abroad, settled and scarcely have a footnote in the local media.ย  It is as if they never occurred.ย  Particularly galling, is thatย  should some poor soul be brave enough to mention such an event, they are dismissively told……it is of no importance to Barbados.ย  Millions of dollars could be involved, hundreds of millions, it matters not.ย  This is not to argue the merits of the case either way, but simply to ask was it newsworthy?ย  and should the general population be informed of such events.

The veracity of what I write, can be confirmed by fellow bloggers here, who no doubt wonder as I do, why no investigative journalism?ย  Dare I suggest, that the point made by Walter Lippmann that “the journalists role was to inform the public of what the elite’s were doing,” is as relevant in Barbados as in any other democracy.

Perhaps they know of the unwritten and unsaid code, by which some journalists live in Barbados.ย  It is so inbred in the system that it has not got to be written down or spoken aloud.ย  It is just there, like an elephant in the room and everyone pretending it cannot be seen.ย  They know the rubric under which they are expected to operate.

How does this failure impact on society, to its disadvantage?ย  A typical example, someone comes to Barbados from the far North, he asserts he is starting a new venture, a score or more jobs are expected, funds become available, his mere “presence” secures that.ย  No one checks in his hometown in the North, to ascertain his business footprint there.ย  Has he satisfactorily completed similar ventures there?ย  has he been found guilty of fraud or similar misdemeanours?ย  Three years down the road he is in trouble, people are owed money and he is away back to the North.ย  A simple bit of investigative journalism would have discovered a charlatan, no! we have been conned again. . . . and the wheel grinds mercilessly on.

It is not for me, neither is it for “paid” journalists to tell others what to think, “but we must give them the unvarnished truth, so that decisions are made with a factual background.

The time has surely come, for journalists in Barbados to explore new avenues to discover facts, so that the Barbados public are better informed, and can therefore question decisions taken in their name, and save hard earned tax dollars.ย  If they fail to act, taxpayers’ money will be constantly frittered away, and many more grandiose Taj Mahals and other such hair-brained schemes will not be challenged, as the nefarious activities of the elite trundle on unabated, while the money spreading machine’s wheels grind mercilessly on in the face of an uninformed public.

1. Charles S.Cadogan Sr Avatar
    Charles S.Cadogan Sr

Excellent piece. I’ve noticed for years That in Barbados sometimes even if the have a clue as to what’s happening; Being loyal to that person,or party makes them go along;; The go along to get along mentality need to be a thing of the past;

2. Apart from being a collection of words, what does the final paragraph mean? There must be something wrong with my computer tho, the comment above makes no sense.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

We all know that what passes for journalism in Barbados is a joke.

4. โ€œThe journalistโ€™s role was to inform the public of what the eliteโ€™s were doing. It was also to act as a watchdog over the elites, as the public had the final say with their votesโ€.

The reality is, it is the “elite’s” who own and control the direction of all private mass media, hence control the flow and direction of information. Real investigative journalism would be suicidal for any journalist operating under such structure, hence the rise of the blogs such as BU. The bigger problem is not the so called “Journalist”, but the higher education system that qualifies people
    to be journalist. The education system does educate its citizens how to think outside the box, analyse information, or simply recognise truth from falsehood. Simply, your “typical” journalists are symptoms of a bigger mis-education problem.

The lack of effective investigative journalism is widespread across the entire Caribbean region, which again highlights a common problem, an education system designed and run by the “elites”.
    What the Caribbean people have just like the majority of people on the planet is a false sense of nationhood and independence. Welcome to the real world as it is today.

5. Correction: The education system does not educate its citizens how to think outside the box, analyse information, or simply recognise truth from falsehood.

6. No
    Not Today Yardbroom

7. There is no doubt from where we sit the agenda of the local media is significantly shaped by the influence that advertising dollars bring. This is more so a consideration in the current economic recessionary climate which has impacted the bottomline for all businesses. Do you think the Nation or media houses will be enthusiastic to publish an article which is harshly critical of LIME for example? The balance in media in larger markets come from the many players which operate which gives consumers the benefit of choice. We have been following the agenda of the online newspaper Barbados Today and their slip is beginning to show as well.

We will always have people with money in the shadows pulling the strings, perhaps we can compensate by asking our regulatory agency to give consumers the benefit of making choices.

The concentration of media ownership in Barbados continues to be a concern.

8. Nice topic and very pertinent. On non-political side is the wider problem of persons being selected for English skills but little or no background or curiosity in other critical topics so they can be investigative, impartial and thorough. So often when they do an editorial or opinion piece it reflects a lack of information to make a judgment but influenced by the popular notion. So the journalist does not lead in informing or educating but is easily influenced by thoughts oft repeated which he then prints or highlights as fact.

This impoverishes the community, it does not grow in its understanding and remains trapped in the propaganda of whichever group controls the message.

On the political side, when you have the ‘uneducated’ and the vocal or major writers have a political bias, the imbalance is only too obvious. This is not in reference to a journalist coming down on side or the other. Obviously if you examine a situation from all angles and get the facts, it will support one side or the other. Without the full and clear ventilation of all the facts and expertise they embrace a position for political advantage. This was clear from the prison cost 700m propaganda war, fully supported by media. True unbiased journalism would either do the same for all projects add the interest payments to costs to compare apples with apples or demonstrate that traditionally reported costs do not include interest costs for comparative purposes. But when journalists have not just a bias but an agenda, the exploitation of the position of influence to determine which party wins or loses becomes a serious matter.

By agenda I mean where only one side is put, but the other view is not put fully. By agenda I mean repeating party propaganda angles without the examination of all the facts. I mean silence when a critical objective analysis is required. Clico is a great example. Despite all the info coming from Trinidad, the actions of other C’bbean territories which media house was diligent to highlight the dangers to the situations and ask gov’t the tough unrelenting questions, even now. Moderators went out of their way to support the notion nothing is wrong, it is only a political agenda to destroy Clico; some when examining the question of responsibility did not emphasize the neligence of this gov’t even as things got worse but asked the question what was the role of the last gov’t in the matter. Was this a fair question? Yes, still need answers on it. But there were no equivalent or persistent questioning of the posture of this gov’t on the matter, which represents the more immediate and clear danger. So the alarm and energy with which Trinidad policyholders are moving to protect themselves, this awareness is not raised in Barbados.

Sadly we can no longer trust our media, they have failed us as a society. No questions or pressure on the tardiness of gov’t on bringing judicial management, no demands for the report from P.S. Layne, no demand to know what has transpired since there is no oversight of daily operations, not the yearly assessments by Supervisor of Insurance. If the SOI process was sufficient there would have been no need to establish the Oversight committee. Once bright intelligent and seemingly objective journalistic lights have shown their true colours and political agenda, but still think that people consider them impartial. But the sad truth the Emperor has on no clothes.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What is also important is the political angle.

I recall Owen Arthur refering to a Nation Journalist as “an indentured servant” and not a word of protest did I hear from the Nation Management.

The Barbados Labour Party also help to descimate Journalists. Before they could publish a lot of stories they had to be submitted to members of the Barbados Labour Party to be vetted first.

Then they are the midnight calls by the former Barbados Labour Party Prime Minister to Journalists cursing them because they dared to ask certain questions at press conferences.

As we all know the crooked Barbados Labour Party was not easy.

10. Question: Who are the “journalists” in Barbados? Where have they been trained? How long have they been practicing their craft?
    I know of reporters, who are sent on assignments, and who write/edit PR pieces.
    So, again, I ask: Who are these “journalists” of whom you speak?

11. @Dennis

Actually Dennis you have made a good intervention. It is one which has come to mind  many times, in fact it did again when BU read Carl Mooreโ€™s 600 word bi-weekly column of Sunday gone. Surely Carl you are deserving of more space in our national daily given your credentials?

Let us take the opportunity to communicate to Carl that citizen journalists as he described them do not compare themselves to โ€˜realโ€™ journalist. Of course Denisโ€™ intervention kind of tosses his position a little awry. The rise of citizen journalist have come about because of the immediacy of information which technology has facilitated.

12. First we need to change the libel laws. In additonal to the stalled freedom of information and transparency law we also need a whistle-blower law. These tools can assist journalist immensely.David, Imagine if we have these laws on the books, I am sure BU would have been a great beneficiary of such change.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party said that Mickey Waldron, who was chairman of CBC, was unfearing them and they came to office in the 90’s on a promise to change the libel laws to encourage more freedom of speech.

We all know what happen to that promise.

The sad thing about it, the people who would benefit most, the journalists and the people kept quite when it was not fullfilled.

14. The DLP also promised to change the libel laws, CC.

15. Political interferrence and libel laws are just two of the more talked-about challenges. The third, and perhaps the least acknowledged, is the withdrawal [or threat of] of advertising because of some story carried about some business entity or person.
    We quickly wade-in on politicians and the large sums they were paid to settle threatened lawsuits, but seem to have no opinion on the removal of advertising.
    We recall the stories of calls in the dead of night by political figures, but say nothing about Directors, Service Club Associates and Fraternal Brothers deciding to strangle the public’s right to information by witholding revenue through advertising.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

jack spratt

“The DLP also promised to change the libel laws, CC”

That would be nice if they did it. After all they do not have anything to hide unlike the Barbados Labour Party.

17. Journalists, reporters and columnists.
    Barbados has Reporters and Columnists.
    Reporters are expected to report what they see and what they know to be fact.
    Columnist write their own opinions about topics that might interest the readers.

There can be no true Investigative journalists in Barbados because you know, I know and Dennis Johnson know that you could be thrown to the wolves ( sorry pitbulls cause wunna ent got nuh wolves in Babadus).

Would any of us hiding (like me) behind a fake name dare to expose ourselves to the wrath of de likes of de short man from St.Peter?

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DENNIS

If we could get movement on two of the three problems which you mentioned in your submission, things would be better.

It would give us the strength to tackle the advertisers, service organisers, fraternal criminals, etc. etc.

Birds of feather really flock together. Crooked Barbados Labour Party members make up the majority membership of these fraternal organisations.

19. @Dennis Johnson,

You have nailed it.
    In Barbados, Power lies in the hands of Government and in the leaders of the big companies that can withdraw their Advertising dollars.

20. It is said: There are many ways to skin a cat. The threat of a lawsuit is just one!
    Look at what happened at TV6 in Trinidad, as an example of how political influence can affect the practice of journalism.
    Since the change of government in T&T, the following has happened at TV6: Andy Johnson, the Head of News, resigned to be the Head of the Government Information Service.
    Carlisle Hinckson, the Deputy Head of News, resigned to be the Head of News at the Government-owned station.
    Journalists Sasha Mohammed, Keisha David and Jamelia Alexander resigned to become Special Advisor to the Prime Minister, Communications Specialist in the Office of the PM, and the Communications Officer, also assigned to the Office of the PM, respectively.
    In addition, Yolanda Morales resigned to join the Ministry of Education as a Communications Specialist, and Alicia Busby joined her there as a Communications Management Advisor.
    My point? How can the public be assured that the information dispensed by all these people was unbiased, in light of the mass exodus at the change of Government?
    Now, I am not suggesting that it was not; I am only pointing out the questions that may arise when “journalists” move swiftly from newsrooms to high-paying positions in government, immediately following an election.

21. The threat of losing advertising is real, President of the Barbados Association of Journalist stated as much on a local TV program recently during what was a ‘silent’ week of activities.. Against this scenario should the media houses compromise on their journalistic principles or should they stand up? If they compromise in their role as the Fourth Estate by extension it means a compromised in democracy. Remember the Fourth Estate is a key stakeholder of the realm.

22. @Dennis

Do we have to look as far as T&T?

23. Looked at T&T so as not to have the focus of this excellent piece [thus far] shifted to a BLP/DLP argument.

24. Come, come Dennis this is not about BLP/DLP we are discussing political and corporate pressures being brought to bear on media houses/journalists. We all know it happens. How can we make the system better to militate against these forces?

25. I understand, David; but sometimes we argue about WHICH party should have fixed it when they were in office, as opposed to WHY it needs to be fixed, and HOW we can fix it.
    My fear is that once our media houses depend on advertising dollars to pay salaries, and our Community College train reporters [as opposed to persons with a desire to be journalists], and our business leaders see support for the media tied to their desire to colour or control public opinion; I fear we will be going nowhere.
    In small societies, we have a miniscule percentage with both political and financial power. They secure their future by exploiting our conservative nature; our natural inclination to “not rock the boat”; and our dependence on their businesses for our livelihood.
    The growth of small businesses were seen as a way to break that starnglhold; but some of these small businesses also depend on the larger institutions for supplies, so the yoke is not broken.
    Journalists are a part of this chain. They too, want to see their children employed, their mortgages paid, and to “get ahead”; whatever that means to them.
    When better paying jobs come along, off they go.
    Look at the list of Corporate Communications Specialists in Barbados:
    Banks Holdings Ltd, FirstCaribbean International Bank, The Central Bank of Barbados, The Caribbean Development Bank, The Embassy of The USA – all were formerly employed in some media house.
    And that’s not the full list.

26. *starnglhold* should be *stranglehold*

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Dennis Johnson | December 18, 2010 at 12:08 PM |

A similar thing happen in Barbados after the Barbados Labour Party came to office.

28. @ Carson:
    Correct!

29. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lord Sugar. Lord Sugar said: Is The Barbados Population Being Properly Served By Its News Media? | http://bit.ly/dGQp0k […]

30. So it begs the question, when people get promote in de profession .. Ca dear… Iffin de profession mock to begin wid, what dat say ’bout de men and women dat get promotion tah top positions …? Dat don’ signify dat dey know how to spin betta than de res’ …?

31. When a top boy in de mock profession could repeatedly refer to his trade as a “business”, you got to admit that that top boy know how to turn sardines into caviar…

32. @BAFBPF:
    It is not the profession that is mock! It’s just some who are IN it …. until something else comes along.
    Those true professionals would explore who benefits from put-through transactions on our Stock Exchanges; they would question if we HAVE effecient Stock Exchanges; [just two examples]
    Would the citizens not benefit from an expose on [you should like this one] the benefits of High Commissions and Ambassadors to the various nations where they are located?
    Recently I saw an article on under-invoicing. Now, an in-depth look at the effects of this practice on prices in Barbados would be an eye-opener.
    BUT … WHO will undertake these stories? And WHERE would they be published?????

33. Lewe tek off wid your line Dennis.

Last year an involved piece by Professor Hans G. Machel on the back ground leading up to the Arch Cot Tragedy was actually actually published by the main stream media (Advocate)… an wah result from it …? An inquiry where nuff lawyers and other experts get to make little extra, and de promise that at some time in the future a continuance that will lead to nothing actually happening wrt bringing wrong doers to “justice”… Man why bother nah …?

Is there any truth that when evidence is introduced in a inquiry that it cannot again be used in an official trial …?

34. Saw the piece; read it too. They [the lawyers, opinion-shapers, and intellectuals] say it’s all about “the public’s right to know”. Doesn’t mean the public will do anything, once they know.
    Why bother? Because every generation throws up someone who says, after ingesting all this information: I will change the world!
    Some do; most don’t.

35. I went to a Piano Bar, yah know the place where yah get to sing along to a lot of old white people music, man real sweet, and all de girls, I mean serious looking Bajan White chicks real looking fah money big time from the top end end men who just looking fah a good time. So I tek a stan’ and talk to number of them about not letting the side down, and not letting these women know that yah drunk by keeping yah mout’ shut, and so on, basically helping some of the old guys to go out with some dignity …

… De hookers, many of whom would know my face fah years as a poor boy in a beat up car complain to management and I get pelt out !!

36. what’s ur point here BAFBFP?

37. @BAFBFP

It was all about locals jamming the place not buying drinks. Could have been solved by introducing a cover charge.

38. I am certain that a journalist and a reporter is one in the same. They present unbiased facts without interpretation based on the following tenets: who, what, when, where, how, why.
    What I think Mr. Johnson might be getting at in his first offering on this particular blog is basic reporting/journalism versus investigative. I would agree that our practicing journalists/reporters do not do much more than scratch the surface and media house might self censor for all the reasons previously articulated.

39. I would enjoy doing investigative journalism for any Bajan media house, and I would do it for free. I really would. ๐Ÿ™‚

40. I came on here to post on an issue, surprised that a national issue is not at the top of the lists here.

But, this situation with the Hospital’s only locally resident pediatric expert being suspended with no alternate, is past ridiculous, smacks of bruised egos,childlike reaction and no commonsense.

I had thought that the management of the hospital were trying to dig out from the depths of unsatisfactory service, no plumb the depth further.

Absolute nonsense. Along with certain other mistakes, I have come to the solid conclusion that 2013 is a coming fast and furious and will be a battle for sure, no walk ins to Parliament.

41. So then, Oh Self-Righteous one, DJ, tell us what great pieces of investigative journalism you have done, when, and where they were broadcast/printed. No excuses. Just answer the question, or shut up.

Sick of your self-serving frothings from atop your high horse, and the double-speak/contradictory actions of your hypocritical “network of stations”. Thankfully, I realise Bajans starting to see wunnah fuh wuh wunnah really is.

Just an ordinary member of the public.

42. CCC – asinine as usual.What about the three year blitz against the BLP in their last term by call in programmes, moderators, majority of which hold positions now with DLP gov’t. Nation also carried a sustained negative campaign without balancing with the full story from other side. You only had to listen to parliament and listen to news on VOB, CBC Nation to see lopsided coverage. We got caught in the daze and went for change. Look where we are now. That is why I make a point of listening to parliament for myself. Later Nation joined by the Advocate. No freedom of speech there? Where was the ‘power’ to hush the negative campaign? If the BLP agenda was to quash all dissent then they were piss poor at it. I think they were too damn arrogant to answer the charges. What is happening at CBC does not bother you?

There are ways to say what you have to say without slandering a person? Calypsonians have done it well for years and despite negative comments about the then BLP gov’t I still remember calypsonians who lash the gov’t got crowns – Kid Site, Adrian, RPB etc Gov’ts need lashes sometimes but you cannot scandal a person, or tell lies. The people you lie on also live in the society. Neither should a PM scorch people nor a political consultant.

Dennis thanks so much for joining the discourse. How do you see the rise of the online papers and social media helping with the discourse. Of course there is lots of political bias there and at times ungovernable. But is there a way a society can get to the place where citizens get the truth or at least a full variety of views so they can decide for themselves? I am sceptical about our chances given my local observations and int’l observations of CNN, Fox etc. How can we educate the population so they do not have to be dupes of politicians on either side or the media bought or caught by a political or business cause. I would appreciate your input on this?

43. @Anonymous

You would add value to the discussion by attacking the message and forgetting the ad hominems.

44. David or whatever your name is it may be your blog, but you can’t tell me what kind of contribution to make. There are times when an ad hominem argument is perfectly valid, such as this.

DJ is doing a fine job of criticising the state of the industry and his colleagues, but I wish he would use half of that energy, especially as a senior person in the industry, to actually DO something tangible to change things, i.e. put up or shut up. Dis self-righteous washing of hands while profiting from the very thing you criticise don’t wash wid me. There’s a very nasty word for that.

But yuh see, that’s the problem with people like DJ and you too BU David… nuff pretty talk, because that is what does tititllate wunnah, and mek wunnah feel important, but not one bit of useful action to actually do something to change things fuh de better.

I still waiting fuh DJ to answer me, because I genuinely interested to see his body of work of investigative journalism and exposes in Barbados. And remember no, excuses, DJ. None.

As for you David or whatever your name is, I, Anonymous will make my logical arguments as I see fit whether you want me to spin my argument another way or not, buddy. It’s called independent thought, OK? Merry Christmas.

45. @Anonymous

That is OK, thin skinned we are not.

We are sure Dennis can defend himself but from where we sit he is an announcer, read, not a report/journalist. As always we are open to be educated by any anonymous out there.

46. @ Anonymous
    I am not a journalist. I work at a media house/radio station. THAT is precisely the distinction I was making when I asked to define “A Journalist”.
    I do not gather news; I read what is gathered. I do not go on assignments to question Prime or any other Ministers.
    I have put up.

47. Dennis Johnson was alluding to the fact that eventually someone comes to the fore and makes a stand … My point was that at the Piano Bar, I made a stand. I got tired of these pretty ass Bajan White chicks tekkin’ advantage of us older guys and I created a union of understanding members against this. The chicks were the enemy of the state, we the old men were the spenders at the bar, I stood up, made a stand (discretely of course) and the chicks turned the state against me … ja ja..

Point, thou shalt not stand up …!

@Anonymous

I like Dennis, and I like David too, but leh me tell yah, as a perpetual victim of ad hominem myself, I got tah say that I like you bad bad bad … Hope you is a female …(Oh no, you might be a Bajan White chick …)

48. No DJ, you haven’t “put up”. Putting up is ACTION, not TALK. Poor fella, you just don’t seem to get it. And the talk you bring is just EXCUSES. So I guess you were only a broadcaster/presenter when at CBC under the BLP too, right? How convenient. Great EXCUSE not to do some of the actual hard-nosed journalism you profess to be yearning to see, but sit back and smugly criticise others. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not picking on you. There are a lot of your colleague who deserve some serious stick. But, you bound in where angels fear to tread.

Here is where my issue with you really lies DJ. What I do know for a fact is that you are an occasional talkshow host/producer. So answer me this:

DOES STARCOM HAVE A RULE THAT TALK SHOW HOSTS/PRODUCERS CANNOT RESEARCH/INVESTIGATE STORIES OF NATIONAL IMPORTANCE?

It’s OK buddy. I already know the answer.

Look, your EXCUSE just don’t cut it buddy. If you claim to be so passionate about good journalism, claim to know so well what is required for probing journalism, and to then on top of it you sit in a position where you have seniority and influence and can make a difference, then guess what, DO IT and stop making empty noises. Give yuh mout a rest and show de fellas you criticising how it’s done. Show dem that in your case it’s not a matter of those who can’t do, choosing to criticise. Mek Gladstone Holder proud. I dare you.

Let that be your challenge for 2011, because trust me, I for one don’t want to hear you anymore wid yuh lamentations, always crying but not getting out there and making that difference. Tired of that sorry old tune like you is a stick record man. Changing de station.

49. @Dennis

Looks like you are mashing some corns, you need to mash harder. Here we are discussing global issues which continue to affect the Fourth Estate in Barbados and we have Anonymous wanting to place the problem on your back. The glorious Fourth Estate which continues to hit roadblocks to even launch a vibrant BAJ.

BTW, has there been a resolution to the Henry/Martindale matter?