Submitted by Yardbroom

The late great American writer Walter Lippmann said:

“The journalist’s role was to inform the public of what the elite’s were doing.  It was also to act as a watchdog over the elites, as the public had the final say with their votes”.

Within the above framework, ” journalism’s first obligation is to tell the truth”.

Why should journalists inform us: ” because an informed public is the only one that can correctly assess whether the society it inhabits is going off the rails”.

Perhaps I should say at the outset, this article has no political polemic, it is not for or against the BLP or DLP.  This should not be necessary, but regrettably a few of us, see every discourse through a narrow focus of political allegiance.

I put it to you, that a few too many of the major decisions, which have been taken in Barbados recently, were to the disadvantage of its citizens; and they possibly would not have been taken, had the electorate been better informed.  There was not the rigorous examination of proposals in the News Media, one would expect.  A couple projects, costing many millions of dollars were not properly examined, and because it was expedient not to “analyse” but to quietly “report” on what had been agreed, the almost empty cupboard, spewed out dollars with a haste that bordered on the obscene.

To be blunt the public were not “informed”, in the journalistic sense.

Without rigorous examination, journalists acquiesced to what history had taught them was a fait accompli.  The public accustomed to no more, accepted what they saw, as the engine turned in the background spewing tax payers dollars to the wind.

I mentioned earlier that a “journalist’s first obligation is the truth.”  However, I am not so cavalier in my thinking not to understand the shackles of restraint placed upon journalists in Barbados.  It is possible for a journalist who tries to be objective, for the public good, to be stymied, by no more than a phone call, from one of the elites to a well placed person.

Under these circumstances, we must understand a journalist has an obligation to the public, but he/she has a bigger commitment to his/her family.  On a small island where opportunities in the News Media are few, some would say it is not bravery to challenge the status quo, but stupidity.  Therefore, I seek not to lay blame but examine the situation, to discover why things are the way they are.

Major events that relate to Barbados and its citizens, can happen – sometimes abroad – be discussed abroad, settled and scarcely have a footnote in the local media.  It is as if they never occurred.  Particularly galling, is that  should some poor soul be brave enough to mention such an event, they are dismissively told……it is of no importance to Barbados.  Millions of dollars could be involved, hundreds of millions, it matters not.  This is not to argue the merits of the case either way, but simply to ask was it newsworthy?  and should the general population be informed of such events.

The veracity of what I write, can be confirmed by fellow bloggers here, who no doubt wonder as I do, why no investigative journalism?  Dare I suggest, that the point made by Walter Lippmann that “the journalists role was to inform the public of what the elite’s were doing,” is as relevant in Barbados as in any other democracy.

Perhaps they know of the unwritten and unsaid code, by which some journalists live in Barbados.  It is so inbred in the system that it has not got to be written down or spoken aloud.  It is just there, like an elephant in the room and everyone pretending it cannot be seen.  They know the rubric under which they are expected to operate.

How does this failure impact on society, to its disadvantage?  A typical example, someone comes to Barbados from the far North, he asserts he is starting a new venture, a score or more jobs are expected, funds become available, his mere “presence” secures that.  No one checks in his hometown in the North, to ascertain his business footprint there.  Has he satisfactorily completed similar ventures there?  has he been found guilty of fraud or similar misdemeanours?  Three years down the road he is in trouble, people are owed money and he is away back to the North.  A simple bit of investigative journalism would have discovered a charlatan, no! we have been conned again. . . . and the wheel grinds mercilessly on.

It is not for me, neither is it for “paid” journalists to tell others what to think, “but we must give them the unvarnished truth, so that decisions are made with a factual background.

The time has surely come, for journalists in Barbados to explore new avenues to discover facts, so that the Barbados public are better informed, and can therefore question decisions taken in their name, and save hard earned tax dollars.  If they fail to act, taxpayers’ money will be constantly frittered away, and many more grandiose Taj Mahals and other such hair-brained schemes will not be challenged, as the nefarious activities of the elite trundle on unabated, while the money spreading machine’s wheels grind mercilessly on in the face of an uninformed public.

1. @ BAFBFP | December 19, 2010 at 2:41 PM |

So dat is you I see in de Piano Bar de udder nite? Welllll ah gotta keep muh profile real low now. But ah dint know dat yuh was such a creepy ole man hmmmnn. Shuld olde acquaintances be remembered? Hmmnn yuh dint look too badddd too. Be careful Big sista is watching yah.

2. Anonymous

Please draw near as I whisper to u out of respect … Blogs like this work to some degree as a result of its ability to attract the occasional celebrity… Man don’ rock too hard an’ scare way na’body else…. as man …!

3. @BAFBFP

You make a good point, it is why we have a lot of respect for Dennis who is the only media person to have shown the guts to engage us lowly folk on BU.

4. @Anonymous
    You criticize DJ very harshly,saying that he only criticizes but doesn’t do anything. I’m sure he can defend himself. However, you realize of course that he doesn’t hide behind “anonymous”.

5. @Anonymous:
    Yes, I am a Talk Show Host. And no; there is no directive that Talk Show Hosts at Starcom Network cannot research and present issues that may engage the public.
    And yes, I was employed at the CBC as one of two presenters of the Morning Barbados show. Was not a journalist then, either.
    Did I research and produce programmes? Ask any of the persons there with whom you are acquainted. Maybe they will tell you what became of some of them too.
    But guess what; when you question the actions of Government when the DLP is in office, you are an agent of the BLP. When you question the actions of the BLP when in office, you are a DLP operative. Nastier terms are used too.
    Go back to your reference to “at CBC under the BLP”. The inference: A BLP supporter so he got a pick.
    Come with another argument. Tired of that one.
    Switch off if you want; that is your right.
    You challenge me to make a difference and stand up.
    And then what, my friend?
    You will stand in anonyminity and applaud?
    I doubt it!

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DENNIS
    Talk yuh talk already someone is trying to shut you up. You are being a thorn in someone’s side!

I bet you it is a Barbados Labour Party operative.

7. independent, you realise you are criticising me for using “Anonymous”, when you know full well that “independent” is nowhere on your birth certificate. You went school for the school meals alone? Moving along …

DJ, my last comment to you on this, as I don’t want to send up your blood pressure anymore.

There you go again with the EXCUSES. Fear of being labelled BLP or DLP, blah blah blah. That’s an occupational hazard of journalism. Get over it. With that argument you sound no better than the media colleagues you criticse, so now you see you have no reason to be so self-righteous. You are no better than them, no more professional, no more ethical, no more fearless. So don’t be mounting high horses and pretending otherwise.

Perhaps it would be unfair for me to ask for specific examples of some of these great pieces/issues you worked on while at BLPTV that didn’t see the light of day. I simply dont give much weight to the generalities you are spouting DJ. Seems like a big cop out and that’s not liek you. Nonetheless I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt on this, but I’m not convinced.

My anonymity is my choice buddy. Get over that too.

And finally, what is this silly talk about whether I will applaud your efforts or not if you stand up as a journalist of integrity and fearlessness? I thought your whole argument was that the purpose of probing journalism was to strengthen democracy and make the society better. That’s the objective you should be pursuing, but it looks like you’re more interested in getting applause and being bigged up. I see, so it’s all about ego then? That would explain a lot about you. Yes boy it really making sense now.

Nothing more to add. As David would say, you may have the last word.

8. @Anonymous
    I”m not criticizing you; just stating a fact! Don’t know the difference? LOL. Your response only shows me that I hit a nerve.

9. Chinnee Anonymous sound like you … Chinee come out man, I ain’ hear U fah a long time…! School done so now you pelting big rocks all ’bout de place … Chinee I los’ my dog two years ago and I notice since den you gain some weight …Chinee …!?

10. Wither our sixth estate ? Avatar
    Wither our sixth estate ?

If this is what is being offered as an alternative to traditional journalism, we need a sixth estate. Paragraph after paragraph of generalisations and then a veiled reference to an example that is barely concrete! This is the sum of our efforts of what is superior journalism? If this is excellence clearly we revel in the mediocre!

11. You journalists continue to compare. The Fifth Estate has its role which is not meant to replace Fourth Estate. Get on with the job!

12. Hi, Wither our sixth estate?

(1) You must know, many contributors to the blogs, are able to access news from a variety of sources, and they can easily compare the investigative component of what they read. . . comparing like with like. There is no reason to be defensive, if you are on solid ground, continue with what you are doing.

(2) I am not trying to replace journalists. Being not “paid” for my contributions here; I do not have the responsibility of those who receive a “salary” for what they are “paid” to do.

(3) I did not use concrete examples, as it was not my intention to identify Political parties, specific Ministers or even individual journalist; as I did not want political mud-slinging. The idea was to ask a question, to stimulate debate, having alluded in a “general” way to what I have observed. . . the response has indicated my observation is not a singular one.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“US diplomats stationed in the Caribbean voiced doubts as early as May, 2006 about the bona fides of now-imprisoned Texan billionaire Allen Stanford to the extent that Washington’s top envoy in Bridgetown avoided any photo opportunities with him.
    This was evident in a cable released via WikiLeaks and emanating from the US Embassy in Barbados May, 3rd, 2006.”

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados news media is reporting that a guy commited suicide by stabbing himself.

I would like to know how the Barbados news houses are so confident that he actually took his own life.

Don’t tell me that piece of “news” was handed to them and they just ran with it no questions asked.

15. Here is the Guardian report on the Stanford matter.It begs the question why would Antigua and the EC have acted the way they did by exposing ordinary people to the risk of losing their money.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“why would Antigua and the EC have acted the way they did by exposing ordinary people to the risk of losing their money.”

The simple answer, GREED AND A POOR NEWS MEDIA.

The same thing is happening in Barbados right now.

Think about EMERA.

Has any due deligence been done about EMERA by our news media or public officials other than to talk about the huge offer being made by them?

Again GREED RAISES ITS UGLY HEAD!

17. […] traditional media seem totally disinterested, Barbados Underground was running a blog asking: “Is the Barbadian Population being properly served by its news media.” But if the truth of the recent issue between Sparman, the Health Minister and Dr. Ishmael are […]

18. Some may ask if Assange’s read of the situation is relevant to Barbados. Even if it isn’t a threat to freedom of expression anywhere has implications.

US press should fear being targeted: Assange
    Thursday, December 23, 2010 9:00

AFP

WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange said Wednesday that a US government effort to prosecute him should serve as a warning to journalists in the United States.

Assange, in an interview with the MSNBC television network, said there has been a "quite deliberate attempt to split off our organization from the First Amendment protections that are afforded to all publishers."

The WikiLeaks founder said he considers himself a journalist and "we all have to stick together to resist this sort of reinterpretation of the First Amendment," which guarantees the right to free speech.

"We have seen these statements, that The New York Times is, you know, also being looked at in terms of whether they have engaged in what they call ‘conspiracy to commit espionage,’" he said.

"If they want to push the line that when a newspaperman talks to someone in the government about looking for things relating to potential abuses, that that is a conspiracy to commit espionage, then that’s going to take out all the good government journalism that occurs in the United States," he said.

Assange added that if the "Washington authorities target us and destroy us" other journalists should be worried because "they’re going to be next." 

Read Full Article

RELATED ARTICLE:

WikiLeaks Being Used to Justify "Patriot Act" Legislation For Internet