In the Barbados Advocate Business Monday of October 18, 2010 Professor Avinash Persaud was quoted as making the asinine statement, “being food self-sufficient is unobtainable and anyone who believes otherwise is not being realistic’”. Who was Persaud referring to? What BU has been hearing is the need for Barbados to develop a food security plan. In 2008 former minister of agriculture Haynesley Benn intimated such a plan would be introduced in 2010. Minister Benn has subsequently moved on to another ministry the result of a Cabinet reshuffle – the promised plan may yet be delivered by Minister of Agriculture David Estwick.

Whenever the debate what is the best strategy Barbados should adopt for agriculture surfaces, the proponents are accused by Persaud and those of his ilk as romanticizing the sector. Successive governments have allowed agriculture policy to become stymied by the indecision whether to commit to a service base economy and or develop a feasible agriculture sector. The argument as always existed if we commit to a service based economy the opportunity exist to combine a limited intensive agriculture production with the number one productive sector.

While our governments continue to vacillate on whether to subsidized the agriculture sector (many of the world’s developed countries subsidize agriculture), it should be of interest to learn of recent developments which on the surface seem to be tangential to the issue of food security. On closer examination one can reasonable conclude there is a potential threat to global food security.

How many people are aware a company which calls itself Monsanto is the world’s largest manufacturer of genetically modified seed?   It maybe ironic to some Monsanto is also the world’s leading producer of the herbicide glyphosate, marketed as Roundup.

Multiple Internet sources confirm Wikipedia’s posting:

‘”Monsanto’s development and marketing of genetically engineered seed and bovine growth hormone, as well as its aggressive litigation, political lobbying practices, seed commercialization practices and “strong-arming” of the seed industry have made the company controversial around the world and a primary target of the alter-globalization movement and environmental activists. As a result of its business strategies and licensing agreements, Monsanto came under investigation by the U.S. Justice Department in 2009.”

To validate the political lobbying capability of Monsanto it was reported last week 10 out of 15 candidates funded by them in the recent mid-term election in the USA made it all the way to the US Congress and Senate.  More scary is Monsanto’s willingness to hire “an arm of Xe (the mercenary company formerly known as Blackwater) to dig up dirt on anti-GMO activists.”

Against the foregoing BU is asking Barbadians and our policymakers alike to connect the dots. Yes we cannot be self sufficient in food but shouldn’t we implement an agriculture policy which seeks to mitigate our vulnerability?

93 responses to “Food Security Not A National Priority”

1. Cannot work. Bajans will starve or turn to Guyana to provide food for the bigots here to eat.

2. Professor Avinash Persaud

I admire his communicative disposition… he is eloquent, second to none. The teaching world must miss his ability to simplify complex concepts. But he is known to talk shite from time to time and the “being food self-sufficient is unobtainable and anyone who believes otherwise is not being realistic” comment is a classic example of this. There is this belief that Barbados is densely populated as well which is a load of rubbish. Barbados produces enough chicken and pork to feed itself and then some. Is this not an example of food sufficiency? Throw in a couple more cows, ducks, ostriches, farm tilapia, African snails, some rotation ground provisions and we good to go.

3. @David,

Barbados will only become self sufficient in food if there is a persistent economic decline and there is no foreign exchange.

Then you would see golf courses growing yam and potato.

That is what the Cubans plan to do with their golf courses if it became necessary.

4. Any nation that flaunt the notion of souverenity but yet still is incapable of being self-suffcient in its basic food requirements is suffering from an grandeur of illusion.Ihave said before that food security is a national security issue. Economist of Mr Avinash ilk is armchair theorist who are steeped in the Milton Frieman/Chicago School of Economics gibberish. The fact of the matter is that agriculture as a tradable goods represent a mere 3-5% of the total tradable goods of the world. That means that most agriculutre goods are produce for local consumption and only a small portion is for trade. We have be fooled by these Economist to abandon our agricluture import substitution policy on the notion of efficiency and other interatnal trade theory nonsense,while the European union common agricluture policy(CAP) subsidised farming in Europe to a tune of over $500 million US and the american farm bill equivalent is also quiet generous. They told us not to worry because the rest of the world would feed us and at a more cheaper price.Bull Crap! Basically what we got in the end is a humongous trade deficit bill ( after essentials).

At least what we need is a regional common agriculure policy. We are blessed to be in a region with year-round good weather,but yet still depends on another country who are at a disadvantaged in this area to feed us.I will not accept the notion that we cannot be self-sufficient in our basic supplies ( Egg, milk, protein, vegetables and starch) and economists who say otherwise are fools. But then again the discipline of economics is more of a religion than anything else because one has to take a leap of faith to really believe in some of the useless theory they hold dear to.

Common sense should dictate that you shouldnot outsourced your food requirement to others because we have seen in some countries recently the outbreak of food fights because of shortage and rationing in the supplier market caused by bad weather. Whenever their is a disruption in the supply chain caused by unforseen circumstances eg ( natuural disater, bad weather) the supplier nation has a responsibility to supply its local market first.Also the major staples in the form of wheat and grain are controlled by a few mulinationals . Maybe we in the caribbean need to start think seriously about altering our diets

5. That’s what Caricom/CSME was designed to do, the region come together as one and specialise in different areas E.G GUYANA in agriculture and timber; Dominica in agriculture, especially fruits and veggies; Jamaica, Barbados, St Lucia mainly Tourists. There are other countries that can do a combination, including eco-tourism, with each country still doing a bit of agriculture to supply loca needs where possible. The whole idea is for us to unite as one. The problem is mainly with the leaders who wants to go in their own seperate ways which causes the influx of migrants to countries who appear to be doing better than themselves. Without unity within theregion this Caricom/CSME idea will cause the demise of the entire caribbean.

6. Prof Persaud is way off center! Where on earth did he come up with this hog wash?He should bollicks off!

7. Remember, some very wealthy and influential people are involved in food importation. Never mind the Monsanto lobbying, it goes on here too.

8. @BU: November 16, 2010

“In the Barbados Advocate Business Monday of October 18, 2010 Professor Avinash Persaud was quoted as making the asinine statement, “being food self-sufficient is unobtainable and anyone who believes otherwise is not being realistic’”

Usually I do not agree with much of what the good “Professor” says because he comes across as attempting to simplify very complex issues. However, I think that it is BU who is asinine (sic) in this case. Most of the previous comments are “knee jerk” reactions to the idea of “food security” that lack any anchoring on the reality of Barbados as a very small country with very limited land resources, which is highly dependent on international trade. Just a little reflection on this fact will cause us to realise that PAP is stating an inconvenient truth.

We need to be clear about what we mean by “food security” in the context of 21st Century Barbadian socio-economic transformation (SET). In that regard the fact that Sir John Saint developed a programme to respond to the challenge of potential starvation in Barbados during World War II, should not be interpreted as a call to return to subsistence on yam, potato, and cassava. Even the so-called claim of self-sufficiency in poultry and pork fails to recognise that almost all the inputs into their production are imported.

Before we jump on our soap box and begin to castigate “economic theorists” or drag our smelly red herrings across the board table we should ask ourselves what should be the ingredients of a workable plan to achieve “food security” and what alternative choices we would have to forgo to effectively implement it. We must not forget that economic policy-making and implementation is about making choices, and sometimes those that we make [whether consciously or unconsciously] may not be the most intelligent ones!!

9. @Dr George

Can a food security plan for Barbados mean ploughing our limited land space only?

Don’t get defensive but instead peep over the fence.

10. A population of under a third of a million, over a half of which lives in an around St. Michael is still very small and very feedable. So much land in Barbados is left untended and the idea of preserving land space away from construction is some how seeing the light with the coming into vogue of high rise accommodation.

I know of four very recent graduates in aquaculture who have either left or refused to return to Barbados as a result of short sighted intransigent established public servants in authority.

This open market Capitalist model that Barbados has been trying to mimic is extremely wasteful of local resources as it is easier to import (not cheaper, for foreign exchange is expensive and very hard to create)

Water in the rainy season is left to find its way to the sea..

All of the offal from the fish markets find their way to a processing plant owned by a foreigner (Trini?) to create animal feed.

Uncontrollable numbers of African snails are an available and tasty source of food.

Loosely slapped together thoughts that with a little fine tuning will easily suggest that we do not have a problem here.

11. @George Reid
    “Even the so-called claim of self-sufficiency in poultry and pork fails to recognise that almost all the inputs into their production are imported. ”

I think that the professor was merely a bit overboard in his attempt to speak about interdependence to the point where he tends to negative any attempts at non-dependence. This going overboard to my mind is very dangerous and one which the economists have flogged to death; which is why companies like Monsanto can rule the roost. Why produce seeds when Monsanto produces them at half the cost and effort it would take for us to produce our own.

Indeed, we will hear that trying to produce our own seeds is not economical; and the spouting goes on. The fundamental element which economists have missed is the quality of life (IMF). We are now the amputation capital of the world; any relation to Monsanto’s seeds?

The biggest set of illusions can be found in economic theory; which is based on the false concept of “money” nowadays; it has strayed as a behavioural science and rather sets out, not to predict but to dictate economic behaviour.

12. The pegging of 2:1 to the US dollar is a convention. If the time comes that the only way for Barbados to earn US dollars is through the sale of land/property which can never be reclaimed, how do you attach an appropriate expense to the lost of the same US dollars for the purchase agricultural inputs. How do you determine that spending of US money in this circumstance is cheaper than producing your own inputs …

13. Information need to answer the question…

Theoretical maximum amount of calories producible per unit area (acres or other preferred measurement)

Amount of area available for cultivation in Barbados

An estimate of efficiency of sustainable production with and without foreign imports (high nitrogen fertilizers etc)

An estimate of calories sustainable obtainable from the sea.

And against this is the requirement of 2000 (approx) calories per person per day.

Unless you can at least guess at those numbers (or their proxies) you can’t really attempt to answer the question.

That’s a lot of information that might be very hard to obtain so instead you could attempt the theoretical maximum using wheat (A high efficiency crop) covering all of Barbados so see if were are anywhere near the ballpark.

14. @ROK

How is quality of life and health* important?

What is important is economic feasibility whatever that means. Go and exercise and buy the ‘goods’ which have acceptable levels of preservatives.

15. Today food security means more than just having access to food i.e how and when you need it. It also means having access to food whose genes have not been tampered with in order to purposefully retard its true nutritional value. Food security is also about total food independence. When the ‘powers that be’ decides that they will stage another false flag terrorist operation and impeded air and sea-transport which seems to be on the horizon again what should Bajans do?
    Shouldn’t they question their sanity?

And it is downright dangerous and deceptive to tell a nation which still has the means to secure its own food supply that….
    “being food self-sufficient is unobtainable and anyone who believes otherwise is not being realistic’” One has to wonder from which orifice such a statement could have effused.

But such a statement doesn’t surprise me today, because intellectuals like Prof. PerFraud come a dime a dozen and the majority of ’em ain’t worth 1 dime. I’ve come to realise that that higher up one is perched on the academic ladder, the lower their ‘UN’common-sense IQ. What solutions are his ilk offering to this problem of ‘WHOLE SCALE THIEVERY’ which has been initiated by those at the so-called higher echelons of our society or do they just sit back and wait until they get crumbs from ‘a higher authority’….

I’m sure that the ‘wise’ and the elderly in Barbados don’t give 2 flying monkeys about this man’s mouthings. It would be better if the GOB could employ some housewives who knows how to really handle a budget i.e. meet all their needs and then some, instead of these washed-up jokers who are duped into believing that having a phdi.d gives them unquestionable authority.

Just ask those out there who produce food if security in that field has not been obtained?

16. “… intellectuals like Prof. PerFraud”

HA HA HA ….

Hopi yah sexy bitch yah … !

17. It should perhaps be pointed out that many farmers who have tried to grow local food for local consumption have been complaining for years about larceny.

They invest their time, energy and money bringing up a crop to be sold, only to have it stolen out from under them in the middle of the night a few days before it was to be harvested.

The “authorities” do nothing to prevent this.

Barbados, being 13.2 degrees above the equator, enjoy approximately 12 hours of sunlight year round. A perfect environment to grow food. (If the plants don’t like too much light, shade them — it’s done elsewhere.)

I have to say I am always amazed by our fascination and fixation with with sugar cane. We make how much international exchange from that?

Has anyone ever done an analysis as to how much it costs the local economy because of those who work in other (more profitable) industries have to crawl along to work at ~10 km/h behind the cane tractors?

18. I suggest to Bajans to grow food and keep their own seeds. Seeds collected from food originating from Monsanto’s seeds will not reproduce and if they do, it is minimal and of poor quality. Monsanto’s seeds are treated so that you HAVE to buy seeds in perpetuity. No collecting and saving until next year.

I, myself, grow ‘heritage produce’ and collect and store the seeds. It does not matter if my tomato vines grow ten feet – the tomatoes are sweeter. You can eat them half ripe and they still sweet. My corn may grow eight feet tall and not all the ears are covered in grain, but you know what? This is the corn my grandfather grew that we roasted over the coal pot.

Monsanto and other plant breeders have genetically engineered the Red Delicious apple so much that now, all you you get is a red skin all over the apple, big as a grapefruit and sawdust inside and little or no nutrients. I have one of the original non-modified red delicious apples growing in my yard and all the neighbours want some. They even take the bird-pecked, worm infested apples. One neighbour told me she grew up on a farm and that is how their apples were. Defective but sweet, tasting and smelling like apples.

A scientist from Agriculture Canada on TV last year warned parents that the vegetables they feed their children do not contain the nutrients that they used to and a vitamin supplement may be necessary.

When Henry Kissinger was Secretary of State, he allegedly advocated the elimination of populations to guarantee “food security’ for the great USA. Maybe HOPI can expand on this, as she is current with what those people are up to and have been up to.

Lets just say that Canada keeps enough grain in silos and potatoes in storage for emergencies. I remember Canada feeding the Russians in the 70’s and I think it was China in the 80’s. However, they cant feed the world and Canadians too in an emergency.

A friend of mine and his entire family became multi millionaires in the 70’s from their grain sales to the Wheat Marketing Board who sold at premium prices to Russia. The cold war was still on and Russians were starving, so they paid up. He who has the food sets the prices. Avinash has money, he can buy what he wants, or just up and move to another country.

19. @Pat……….You’re right. Kissinger the devil is a part of that gang that called for the elimination of ‘USELESS EATERS.’

@CH……Larceny ain’t nothing that a ‘legal’ cap in the arse can’t solve.

20. @Pat: “I suggest to Bajans to grow food and keep their own seeds. Seeds collected from food originating from Monsanto’s seeds will not reproduce and if they do, it is minimal and of poor quality. Monsanto’s seeds are treated so that you HAVE to buy seeds in perpetuity. No collecting and saving until next year.

But let us please not forget Monsanto v. Schmeiser.

In the short form… A Canadian farmer spent years naturally developing a resilient breed of Canola. A neighbour farmer planted a Canola seed patented by Monsanto.

Wind blew pollen from the neighbour’s crop onto Mr. Schmeiser’s crop.

Monsanto sued Mr. Schmeiser for patent infringement.

The case took years. Mr. Schmeiser was destroyed financially. The result of his years of work developing a natural product had to be destroyed for legal reasons.

At the end of the day, both parties settled out of court. (Monsanto got what they wanted; Schmeiser simply wanted to die in peace.)

Be very very careful dealing with a company like Monsanto. Not just directly, but also those around you.

21. Chris personally I feel that we get a little more than 12 hours of sun light each year ..

22. ROK | November 17, 2010 at 10:05 AM |

You quoted my comment on the import content of the “local|” food items in which Barbados is supposedly self- sufficient, which you did not dispute. However by trying to “explain” PAP’s motivation, you, and all those who made subsequent comments are avoiding discussing what the concept means to you, and what can (must) be done to realise it.

Duh did open up a crack in the discussion by referring to calorific intake, which is an area in which the Caribbean Food and Nutrition Institute (CFNI) did some pioneering work in the 1970s. Isn’t there a link between poverty and poor nutrition, and should not poverty eradication and food production be our common focus? It’s a pity that all the red herrings that the bloggers are producing are not edible!

23. @Hopi: “Larceny ain’t nothing that a ‘legal’ cap in the arse can’t solve.

Are you suggesting that the local farmers should “shoot to kill”?

Wouldn’t it be better if the local farmers were able to trust the local law enforcement officers to protect them and their production?

24. @BAFBFP: “Chris personally I feel that we get a little more than 12 hours of sun light each year ..

LOL. Sorry, I made a mistake. That was meant to read 12 hours of sun light per day each year.

Thank you for calling me on my mistake, rather than some others we won’t bother naming.

25. @David,

I hope that Hopi’s answer (in my absence) satisfies your question.

26. No sweat Chris…

BTW Congrats ..! I hear that you and ROK gettin’ t’ousands ah dollars from the BL&P people for professional input. Of course it only translates to me as a consumer paying ultimately paying. But I wonder if your fees compares in any way to that which was dispersed to the commissioners themselves. Poor Malcolm who could use the funds didn’t put in fah a cent… Both ah wunna share lil’ bit wid he yah know, at least make the offer …

27. @BAFBFP: “I hear that you and ROK gettin’ t’ousands ah dollars from the BL&P people for professional input.

You have obviously not actually read the decision.

ROK and I have been denied our claims for time spent.

And to think it only took the FTC a year to make this decision….

28. Man it was all over the news this afternoon … You telling me that Starcom got it wrong .. ?

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFFTOPIC

Check out this new facebbok page.

“Bajans against the return of Owen Arthur is on Facebook”

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Bajans-against-the-return-of-Owen-Arthur/169948913020250

30. @George Reid………”It’s a pity that all the red herrings that the bloggers are producing are not edible!” Watch your mouth, you talking smack!

“We need to be clear about what we mean by “food security” in the context of 21st Century Barbadian socio-economic transformation (SET). ?” This coming from a man who usually disagrees with the other prof. because he tries to simplify complex issues……who’s kidding who?

Food security then is the same as food security now… 20th/21st C is irrelevant. Food security is simply to ability to feed yourself and not depend on others to do that for you, whether it be beans, rice, chicken or grass. And to do so without monster seeds. And very soon we will see that all the ‘foods’ they tell us we need for nutrition is just baloney. As a matter of fact we eat too damn much anyway. When we eat to feed our cells as opposed to our guts one would see how easy it is to secure our food supply.

So you GR, pls don’t try to complicate the issue with your red-herring, eat them.. they’re loaded with protein.

When you look at poverty there is absolutely nothing complicated about it. The poverty that so many in this world face today could be eliminated in a minute..not so? Isn’t it poverty by design? Look at how many in today’s society have access to so-called highly nutritious foods, aren’t they still dying at the same rate as those in ‘poverty?’ Didn’t some of our fore-parent eat the same yams and potatoes, yet they out-lived many of us and didn’t suffer with as many diseases as we do today? Did they have anyone counting their caloric intake? Didn’t they know how to balance their nutritional intake? HOW MUCH FOOD DID THEY REALLY IMPORT?

31. @CH……..No, just to maim.. as a reminder not to become a repeat offender.

32. @ROK

Hopi is making a lot of sense. It seems the economists are ganging up on this issue.

33. @ CCC
    Man, it looks like Owen tek sumpting from you, hear! Why yuh doan gih he a call an tell he wuh um is so he could gih yuh back, nah man?

34. Carson;

Nice idea but look who initiate it … Not me and dem people … You gah long … bre’k a leg do!

35. @ CH

I remember that case very well. Canadian farmers are still up in arms about it. I also read where Mexico was about to sue Monsanto because some pollens from the US crossed the border. Remember Mexico farm lots of corn, white, yellow and black for their tortillas. Corn and tortillas plus canned beans are big exports for Mexico. They do not want any form of Monsanto corn crossing the border. I do not know what happened to the alleged case. India was also taking Monsanto to court for tampering with their “basmati” rice, suggesting that the genetically modified grain grown in the US was better, but it seems that was settled out of court.

36. @David

The economist must gang up on the issue. It is the strategy at work. Like pawns in a chess game.

You see David, when you speak of wielding power, you have to structure it in such a way that all roads will lead to Rome. In this system it is created as a culture which permeates the educational system; actually it is a good place to seat your power and control over people.

Those who create the theories guide our education system. It works well. First you train the theorist to think in a particular way and to adopt and teach some basic myths or assumptions which fashion behaviour.

For example you teach the economists about comparative advantage and teach them to take it to the hilt. That empowers the big industrialists like the one you mentioned. You train the doctors to scoff at our bush and hold up patented medicine as the way to go.

Then you train your lawyers to see through particular eyes and create a whole fraternity in the profession that observe certain practices; for example, the definition of “costs” which has a legal definition totally out of sync with the normal meaning of the word.

In every area of the society, this culture permeates which allows the haves to keep their wealth and the poor to remain poor. These goal posts don’t change, all other goals posts just fit around them.

But the most salient part is that when you train all these people, who are looked up to by the society, they are not going to do anything to stop the dollars from rolling into their pockets. For example, if doctors turned to bush medicine, maybe in the not too distant future they would be out of work. If you dispel the myths of economics and start using money to push every person to the same level or quality of life, the economist would become obsolete.

Finally, if you allow people to get costs when they represent themselves in court, then the lawyers would have to look for holes.

So you see, none of these things can happen, otherwise the most-favoured system practiced under capitalism would collapse. The incentive system would become useless and people will work for a reason other than to obtain money so that they are like the Joneses.

The system protects itself by these simple mechanisms that manipulate the mind and ensures that the cattle don’t stray from the task at hand; which is for the large industrialists and monopolies to earn mega profits. Sadly, the culture even affect parts for which it was not designed to affect, but these sacrifices must happen in order for the system to remain intact.

37. Barbados will not consider food security as long as Bajans have money in their pocket to spend on imported food.

Life can be “funny.”

I live in Canada and I eat mangoes,avacadoes,plantain,eddoes,casava,sweet potato and yam.
    My Bajan friends buying grapes,peaches and plums.

go figure.

38. Reading the many links to this story there is the report that the Bill Gates Foundation purchased 500 000 shares in Monsanto recently. Gates fiundation is reported to be very active in Africa helpg with farming.

If true …

39. Yes David, helping with agriculture by giving out GM seeds. It is creating a lot of friction between the African technologist and farmers too. What he is doing is targeting women’s groups to engage them in small farming projects. Of course, these women are singing Bill Gates songs. The problem is that by using these women, he is contaminating national stocks. Soon all the farmers will have to turn to Monsanto.

There is one agricultural academic who is running a campaign against the projects.

40. @BU.David: “…the Bill Gates Foundation purchased 500 000 shares in Monsanto recently.

Let us please never forget that B.Gates made his billions by selling flaky software which was almost immediately compromised by hackers.

His company was about to be broken up under antitrust laws for abuse of monopoly position in the “great” US of A.

But then the government changed….

41. Isn’t it great what the blogosphere in a a few short years has achieved.
    Here we are now addressing on a local forum the sinister influence of Monsanto and Bill Gates.
    Would this have happened without the internet?
    Would we be having this wider analysis with the “press release” type information received from VOB, The Nation and CBC?
    Can we ever have a true democracy without unfettered access to all the facts?
    The internet may come under attack soon from those threatened by its power.
    As all other media becomes centrally controlled, we must protect this vestige of free thinking at all costs.

42. Somedays I really don't know why I bother Avatar
    Somedays I really don’t know why I bother

I had a problem with Mr. Persaud’s statement! I thought it was asinine, not least of which because he had de gall to invoke a reference to France’s agriculture to make his point. I see a whole lot of commenters here have ignored the aspect of food security that speaks to the importance of persons having access to NUTRITIOUS foods that contribute to individual health and well being.
    Therefore food security is not only about acreage of land, or hectares or eddoes or yam, or the number of cows, swine or sheep!!! With the epidemic of chronic non-communicable diseases that my people have we need to discuss food security in a broader perspective that examines its role in the health of our people!!!

43. Hants | November 17, 2010 at 7:47 PM |
    “Barbados will not consider food security as long as Bajans have money in their pocket to spend on imported food.”

Yes Hants, you got it!

If you have the money to buy food, whether imported or “locally produced” you don’t have a problem. My question, still, is can a very small vulnerable country like Barbados ever be secure in anything?

I feel that many persons would prefer to avoid the question rather than think about it.

44. @George Reid
    “If you have the money to buy food, whether imported or “locally produced” you don’t have a problem.”

That statement is so full of myths that when the food crisis hits, you will have all the money in the world and can’t get food or you will have no money at all which boils down to the same thing; no food.

Your second statement: “My question, still, is can a very small vulnerable country like Barbados ever be secure in anything?”

Now that one cuts the cake as I demonstrated earlier. The philosophy is, if we can’t be secure don’t even try; not even to supplement.

This is the kind of thinking that leaves us as a backward people. We are to be left at the mercy of the big industrialists, the IMF and the illuminati. How pitiful! Barbados could as well fold up and die, right?

45. @George Reid

Is this the mettle of our leaders and intelligen(cia)

46. @George Reid

You need to speak to Edward Cumberbatch before he passes away.

47. ROK

Ah want some ah dah money dat you an’ Chris now get from de Light and Power… You got uses fah it?

48. @ST
    “Can we ever have a true democracy without unfettered access to all the facts?”

Never. In today’s world the smart-word is “fear” and fear-mongering is the strategy to turn falsities into truth. I remember when every gas station had up a sign disallowing thye use of cell phones in gas stations. Could you imagine such an untruth being turned into policy and even law? It demonstrates how far lies can go and the fact that those responsible do not give the public the facts from which they could make their own decisions. The decisions come packaged; like smoking and worst of all, Hemp, that use to be the basis of the world economy until a few greedy bastards ran campaigns against marijuana to outlaw it by driving fear into people that this was a dangerous drug so that they could profit from oil and the trees on the large acreage of lands they acquired.

There was a time in England and USA when you could pay your taxes in hemp and it was against the law for farmers to refuse to grow hemp on a portion of their land for the crown.

Now, our jails are filled because it has been outlawed. What folly! What ignorance! Yet our people (Christians, etc.) uphold this untruth and people are still spending money in campaigns against its use. How clever, they were able to get people to do their lying and deceitful campaigns for them, thus saving them money whyile hauling in the mega profits.

49. @BAFBFP
    Man, we ain’t get a cent. The money that we got was for Douglas Skeete and the taxi money we put out getting to the hearing. That came to $8,035.00 and included only part of what Doug claimed.

BANGO’s full claim was about $35,000.00 in total and that would have covered all of us. BARP was hardest hit, I think. I am not sure but their claim was probably about the same as ours and the FTC only gave them $4,651.95. On the other hand SBA got $33,100 for Clyde Mascoll. Ask him for some.