Submitted by People’s Democratic Movement (PDM)
Turks and Caicos Islands

October 24, 2010

The Hon Freundel Stuart, QC

The Prime Minister

Barbados

Dear Prime Minister

Re: PASSING AWAY OF PRIME MINISTER DAVID THOMPSON

We as a people were deeply saddened when we learnt of the passing of Prime Minister The Hon David J.H.Thompson. The loss of such a young, vibrant and committed leader from this region is one that we cannot spare. Hon Thompson’s passing has sent shock waves throughout the Caribbean and the Turks and Caicos Islands included as we have always embraced Barbadians who are together here in these Islands mourning with their home nation.

In Hon Thompson’s all too brief period as Prime Minister we note his emphasis on unity for his homeland. Whilst I may not have had the opportunity to have met him whilst in this Office, his Speech made a few weeks ago which is now his Final Address, has been an inspiration to us as we face our battle as a people. The valiant call for unity was a great testament of his strong committed leadership which has spanned decades in his constituency representation and his focused leadership of his Party. This level of stability and commitment alone demonstrates that this region has suffered a great loss.

On behalf of the people of the Turks and Caicos Islands, my Party: the officers and members of the PDM, my family and myself, I offer our sincerest condolences to the people of Barbados, you and your Cabinet and the Former First Lady, children and family of the Late Hon David Thompson. As you mourn as a people, know that the region mourns together with you as we have certainly loss a great young mind.

Yours sincerely

Douglas Parnell

Leader of the PDM Party

1. It was with pride the BU household listened today to the United General Assembly opening the floor to pay tribute to the Late PM who represented this 21×14 island.

2. It should be clear to all that when Thompson made his last speech he knew that he was dying. Yet he had the courage to lay the ground work for a smooth transition.

3. It is unfortunate that PM Thompson has died. That is what makes the move by the gang of 5 who ousted Mia Mottley so vulgar. But the DLP must honour PM Thompson’s legacy and debate the Prevention of Corruption Bill.

No one will ever forget that it was the BLP power-hungry gang of 5 that made a mad rush for power by removing Mia Mottley because they felt that Thompson was dying.

The BLP removed Mia Mottley because they said that she should have called on PM Thompson to resign and to state who is paying for his medical bill. When she refused, they removed her as Opposition Leader.

In yesterday’s Nation, Arthur made the vulgar comment that it took a death the bring the HOuse together. What froath.

The House was meeting all along. Arthur would not know because he was not theree. He only came to get his name mark so he would be able to collect his cheque. This is the corruption Mr. Thompson wanted to stamp-out..

But did anyone see what Arthur has become? In order to get photo ops, he now has to pose with the same DLP M.P’s he referred to as wild boys and poor-rakey.

You see how Donville Inniss looked at him the other night?

Jerome Walcott told somebody that Arthur told the Parliamementary Group Monday night to make sure they go to Thompson’s funeral so that the BLP can be sure that they really putting him down in de dam hole.

You imagine that level of disrespect?

But what would you expect from a man who would call a press conference on the very day that PM Thompson died?

Arthur is disrespectful and there is no sincerity in anything he says about PM Thompson.

4. Bajan Panday
    I know how ya feelin but leh we leff dis sorta tawk till after my PM final farewell. Afta dat, de licks cud resume. Ondastan?

Right now I feel sa helpless bout he passin, I cannn rememba when I did feel dis badddddddd. I feel like a dog piss in my face.
    stupseeeeeeeeeeee, too painful man.

5. David
    I am overwhelmed to hear the kind of compliments from international organizations and well respected persons that are being paid to the late David Thompson. This showed we made the right decision in 2008. We big up a person who just wanted a chance to show what humility in public office means.
    I am paying my respect by waiting until after the funeral to go after some people that feel we have short memories

6. Hey guys , to go back and forth at this time is almost like breaking the moment of silence called for in honour of our great leader. This iron will be hot for a long time , and severe will be the tone of its strike.

7. I miss this morning session of the United Nations Special Assembly, but just before I left the office I turn my lil radio and the River Road people repeat the broadcast. I heard de speaker that represent the African states, I think he was from Malawi. But then I had to rush out fuh my ride home, and I switch the station in the car to start listening. Normally my transport home is full uh talking and ting but this evening yuh could hear a pin drop as all of we listen to each speaker, our hearts bursting with pride and water in we eyes. Listen, if de last speaker – Mr. Goddard did not spell out the initiatives that the late Prime Minister put on de table in dat short two years plus some people bout here would mek you think that he did do nutten. I don remember ever feeling like dis and like Bonny Peppa, dis feeling it ain’t going no way fast. From early Saturday morning until now I feel so bad like my father, uncle mother, brother, sister all my family gone and left me alone. I feel so bad and the ting is everybody I talk wid tell me the same ting dem feel bad can’t get nutten do just going tru the motions. Anyways, we got to put we trust we in God and pray for strength to carry on. Before I go, one thing dat touch me, Mr. Thompson first daughter is quoted in the yesterday Nation as saying she did not know her father was so well loved. Yuh see what could happen when negative comments are allowed to prevail for so long. I know she probably wont see this, but Girl, you and your sisters got every reason to walk tall, head held high anyway in dis world but I too love yuh little sister, she is a darling.

8. What does the BU family think about Rhianna not making it to the funeral?

9. Its unfortunate if she is unable to make it. Maybe JZee and the mgmt team had scheduled a prior gig for her way in advance (maybe overseas) and they do not want to cancel. She is not her own boss. I would think the decision lies with her but then she could be fired.

I don’t want to say it is a cultural thing, but I admire how Caribbean businesses operate and handle situations such as death, especially when it comes to their own dignitaries. In some islands businesses close for at least half a day when an employee passes; that is not a happening in the USA as far as I know. In the USA, $$$ first.

Rhianna may just surprise us and put in an appearance on the day of the funeral.

10. Life gives us very few natural born leaders. David Thompson, was charismatic, stylish and he was from my generation. I enjoyed bragging about my Prime Minister, to folks here in Washington. I remember how both he, his wife and children, brought life to the official Prime Minister’s residence. I don’t know about most of you who write on this blog, but I’m proud of all of you and your Babadianess. I enjoyed learning from late Prime Minister Thompson, when I would follow his parliamentary speeches, and yes I must confess, felt endeared by his charm and eloquence. Forgive me, if I too am teary eyed, for unlike some who are within each other’s embraces, I am residing in Washington State, and sure could use the hug of a bajan right now.

11. @David,
    Rhianna sent a message of condolence.That should suffice.

12. Often where giants walk, you will see mice squabbling in their footprints. We have had some brilliant men/women in this island but we have failed to recognize them, or fully acknowledge their talents. We allow partisan politics to blind us to reality, as the narrow prism of party affaliation dulls or sense of reality.

It pains me to have to say these things, but say them I must.

“The question of leadership, has already been comprehensively dealt with, as David Thompson has shown by his management of the DLP’s campaign, that he has the ability, not only to plan but to execute. Perhaps one of his most important attributes, is he has a skill which engenders confidence in others, therefore they will follow him”.

I wrote the above words more than two years ago; on January 14, 2008 on the DLP blog, before he was elected Prime Minister of Barbados, in the heat of the election campaign. I felt there was was just something about the man.

There are others no doubt who will come to the fore, may we have the wisdom to see and acknowledge them for what they are; and not to be blinded by popular speeches and treacherous deeds.

13. @ Bajan Panday. You are trouble maker indeed. Leave out the politics for the time being until the people in Bim say their final farewell to David. @ David. I honestly believe if Rihana wanted to even pop up and show her face for just a few minutes it wouldnot have been a problem for her. Rihana is not on tour per se. David had a fondness for her and showed her much love, she could have at least “borrowed” a few minutes out of her “busy” schedule and show the PM some love. You have a lot more important and busy people than Rhi Rhi in the region and all over who are making the trip out of marked respect and fondness for we the Bajan people. I am sorry but I am not buying Rhi Rhi excuse.

14. David, my few cents worth is Rhianna is an employee and does not have her own business where she can do as she pleases. She might have been caught between a rock and a hard place with simply no room to wriggle.

I would agree however, there are exceptions and the PM should have been one of the names on her priority list no matter what it relates to. As Ambassador to the Youths of Barbados, I think exceptions could have been made even if it meant her coming in for one of the viewings and taking off right after, or doing likewise for the funeral. It’s done by celebrities and entertainers all the time.

That being said, I wonder if it would have made a difference if she was asked to sing at the services.

It’s up to the citizens of Bim including the Government how they want to treat Rhianna after all is said and done; from a immature perspective or not.

15. Perhaps Rihanna wants to remember the PM as he was and doesn’t want to attend the funeral for those reasons. Come on let us not stoop to petty speculations. This whole thing is becoming rather morbid. It is really none of our business whether Rihanna comes or not. I know someone who said that she will never attend her grandmother’s funeral because she wanted to remember her as she was. When she died the granddaughter never attended and I fully understood. We have to be careful of not making a pappy show of the PM’s death.

16. Partisan politics has its place, this is NOT the time nor the place. Bajan Panday you are totally out of place: classless and crass.
    Bonnie Pepper, thank you for pointing that out in your own style.
    Stay strong girl and make sure you don’t let people get to you.
    About Rhianna: a non issue. The funeral is about the late PM, we don’t need any distractions and she might very well be. Not she perse,but there’s always a media frenzy around her.
    I strongly feel we should all show the necessary decorum, befitting the funeral of a beloved PM , regardless of our political leanings.

17. Flavour of the Month Avatar
    Flavour of the Month

Eating Fruit – an eye opener.
    Dr Stephen Mak treats terminal ill cancer patients by “un-orthodox” way and many patients recovered. He believes in natural healing in the body against illnesses. See the article below.

Fruits and juices offer one of the strategies to heal cancer. As of late, my success rate in curing cancer is about 80%. Cancer patients shouldn’t die. The cure for cancer is already found. It is whether you believe it or not. I am sorry for the hundreds of cancer patients who die under the conventional treatments.
    God bless.
    Dr Stephen Mak

EATING FRUIT…

We all think eating fruits means just buying fruits, cutting it and just popping it into our mouths. It’s not as easy as you think. It’s important to know how and when to eat.

What is the correct way of eating fruits?

IT MEANS NOT EATING FRUITS AFTER YOUR MEALS! * FRUITS SHOULD BE EATEN ON AN EMPTY STOMACH.
    If you eat fruit like that, it will play a major role to detoxify your system, supplying you with a great deal of energy for weight loss and other life activities.

FRUIT IS THE MOST IMPORTANT FOOD.
    Let’s say you eat two slices of bread and then a slice of fruit. The slice of fruit is ready to go straight through the stomach into the intestines, but it is prevented from doing so.

In the meantime the whole meal rots and ferments and turns to acid. The minute the fruit comes into contact with the food in the stomach and digestive juices, the entire mass of food begins to spoil….

So please eat your fruits on an empty stomach or before your meals! You have heard people complaining � every time I eat watermelon I burp, when I eat durian my stomach bloats up, when I eat a banana I feel like running to the toilet, etc � actually all this will not arise if you eat the fruit on an empty stomach. The fruit mixes with the putrefying other food and produces gas and hence you will bloat!

Graying hair, balding, nervous outburst, and dark circles under the eyes all these will NOT happen if you take fruits on an empty stomach.

There is no such thing as some fruits, like orange and lemon are acidic, because all fruits become alkaline in our body, according to Dr. Herbert Shelton who did research on this matter. If you have mastered the correct way of eating fruits, you have the Secret of beauty, longevity, health, energy, happiness and normal weight.

When you need to drink fruit juice – drink only fresh fruit juice, NOT from the cans. Don’t even drink juice that has been heated up. Don’t eat cooked fruits because you don’t get the nutrients at all. You only get to taste. Cooking destroys all the vitamins.

But eating a whole fruit is better than drinking the juice. If you should drink the juice, drink it mouthful by mouthful slowly, because you must let it mix with your saliva before swallowing it. You can go on a 3-day fruit fast to cleanse your body. Just eat fruits and drink fruit juice throughout the 3 days and you will be surprised when your friends tell you how radiant you look!

KIWI: Tiny but mighty. This is a good source of potassium, magnesium, vitamin E & fiber. Its vitamin C content is twice that of an orange.

APPLE: An apple a day keeps the doctor away? Although an apple has a low vitamin C content, it has antioxidants & flavonoids which enhances the activity of vitamin C thereby helping to lower the risks of colon cancer, heart attack & stroke.

STRAWBERRY: Protective Fruit. Strawberries have the highest total antioxidant power among major fruits & protect the body from cancer-causing, blood vessel-clogging free radicals.

ORANGE : Sweetest medicine. Taking 2-4 oranges a day may help keep colds away, lower cholesterol, prevent & dissolve kidney stones as well as lessens the risk of colon cancer.

WATERMELON: Coolest thirst quencher. Composed of 92% water, it is also packed with a giant dose of glutathione, which helps boost our immune system. They are also a key source of lycopene � the cancer fighting oxidant. Other nutrients found in watermelon are vitamin C & Potassium.

GUAVA & PAPAYA: Top awards for vitamin C. They are the clear winners for their high vitamin C content.. Guava is also rich in fiber, which helps prevent constipation. Papaya is rich in carotene; this is good for your eyes.

Drinking Cold water after a meal = Cancer! Can u believe this??

For those who like to drink cold water, this article is applicable to you. It is nice to have a cup of cold drink after a meal. However, the cold water will solidify the oily stuff that you have just consumed. It will slow down the digestion. Once this ‘sludge’ reacts with the acid, it will break down and be absorbed by the intestine faster than the solid food. It will line the intestine. Very soon, this will turn into fats and lead to cancer. It is best to drink hot soup or warm water after a meal.

18. Sir
    There seems to be a contradictory remark in the physiology in your statement below . And could you kindly outline the pathophysiology and the biochemistry of your thesis below?

“Once this ‘sludge’ reacts with the acid, it will break down and be absorbed by the intestine faster than the solid food. It will line the intestine. Very soon, this will turn into fats and lead to cancer.”

it will break down to what?
    if the food is absorbed faster how can it still line the intestine?
    how is fat made?
    how does fat lead to cancer?

Also explain Drinking Cold water after a meal = Cancer! ??

19. @Flavor

I got some limes here , ah does drink nuff limeaid, when mangoes in season, ah does eats mango fuh brekfus lunch and dinna, ah does eat dem till ah pass dem out hole, ah now finish eating some guavas but ah hear dem seeds does cork yuh eff yuh eat too mucha dem. Doan talk bout golden apples, ah does drink dem eat dem and bite dem. Bonny ah hope yuh tekking some notes, we gotta outlive somma dese wicked brutes dem got here LOLLLLLLLL Bonny we gotta eat we fruit pon a empty stommukk to stop dem gray hairs in certain places yuh knows whatta means. LOLLLLLL Muh five finger got on flowers so dem gine be reddy bout christmas or January. De oranges and grapefruits gine be reddy by christmas doa.

Tank yuh Flavor of de month

20. islandgal
    Have you read the ‘Fit for life diet’ book? It’s based a lot on fruit. Posits you should not take any solids before noon only fruit and water. Had a particular patient who lost some good weight on it.

Followed it a bit in the early nineties. Did some serious manual work from about 8 to 5 on Saturdays on the strength of 6 oranges.

21. @Georgie

I want to lose 10 lbs cause ah doan feel to good at 133lbs. I gine get de fit for life. Some days I will only eat fruit when I have them, don’t talk bout bananas ah too luv dem. Thank you Doctor Georgie.

22. @islandgal. You doing good with dem fruits sista. You must just top dat off with some rasts ital juice. Guinea hen weed, aloe vera, lemon grass cleansing juice and sea moss .

23. @Zion1971

Like yuh want ta kill muh ded now LOL ah got nuff aloe, lemon grass dat ah does mek tea wid when ah does got some methane boddering muh. Butt ah neva hear bout dis guinea grass weed, dat is de weed dem guinea hens does eat? Ah hope it won got me crowing lika guinea fowl after drinking dat …… but anyways tanks ah gine try dat too.

24. @Zion1971

Oh ah foget de sea moss, but dat ain a man drink? ah aint got nuh pointers yuh know to put de black lead in. Ah gine give some to muh husband…..wuh loss ah gine be in real trouble den……murrrrdah LOLLLLLLLLLL

25. The following article appeared in the New York Times

David Thompson, Barbados Prime Minister, Dies at 48

By THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

Published: October 23, 2010

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (AP) — Prime Minister David Thompson of Barbados died early Saturday of pancreatic cancer at his private residence in St. Philip, according to a government statement.

He was 48.

Mr. Thompson, who became the youngest ever elected prime minister of the Caribbean nation of 270,000 people in January 2008, had been ill since March and traveled to New York several times for treatment. He would not discuss his condition until last month, when his doctor announced that Mr. Thompson had pancreatic cancer and was undergoing chemotherapy.

In a radio address to the nation last month, Mr. Thompson said he was shuffling his cabinet to pass many of his responsibilities to other ministers. He said he chose the radio for his speech rather than television so islanders would focus on his message, not his appearance.

Mr. Thompson’s attorney general and deputy, Freundel Stuart, was sworn in Saturday as the new prime minister after his nomination by local lawmakers and his appointment by the governor-general of Barbados, Sir Clifford Husbands.

The prime minister of St. Kitts and Nevis, Denzil Douglas, called Mr. Thompson’s death “a loss to not only the people of Barbados, but also the people of the Caribbean.”

Trained as a lawyer, Mr. Thompson led his Democratic Labor Party to victory in 2008 elections, defeating an effort by the Barbados Labor Party to win a fourth consecutive term. The party holds 21 of the 30 seats in the Parliament of Barbados, the easternmost Caribbean island.

The next elections are scheduled for 2012 on the island, which won independence in 1966 and has overcome the decline of its once powerful sugar industry to grow relatively wealthy through high-end tourism, light industry and offshore financial services.

Mr. Thompson is survived by his wife, Marie-Josephine Mara, and their three daughters.

26. @David,
    Perhaps you should put a storm warning message up. Seems like Thomas could do some damage.

27. @Hants

It looks like a big one dat Tomas

28. @ Islandgal, you real funny too bad eh. noo noo yuh wont become a guinea fowl . Yes, you can blend the sea weed or stew it down as a veegetable.

29. Uh went to the High Commission today to sign the Condolence Book for the late PM. All the staff was dressed in black! Very nice touch. I like the First Secretary, Miss Coreta (nice name that) White from Newton, Christ Church. Me tell she, me from a resort – Bathsheba!

30. David
    I think that our ‘ambassador’ Rihanna should be here to attend the funeral. Business schedules my ass. People from all ova de world dat in had na connections a’tall ta Babadus gun be present. Dem in had business schedules too? stupessssssss. Now wunna-all see why I cannnn tek dis lil ungrateful bitch? Home drums beats first n loudest man. Doan tell me na shoite. She coulda slip in fa de funeral n slip back out jus so. But anyway, he gun get a grand send-off wid our widout she day.
    Klown.

31. Bonnie Peppa you is a real JOHNNY!

32. Web
    A backra johnny or one like you? I respecting my PM or I would really ‘buse you ya klown. Check me afta Wensdee. Ya parro.

Rihanna should be hay fa de funeral doan tell me na scunt. No excuse is good enuff. She is jus anudda ungrateful bitch like some bout hay. She contracts doan got in a clause fa sudden death nor emergencies? stupseeeeeeeeeeeee. She is a klown n you is a klown. Wunna-all should meet.(Nabody in gun miss de cannn-sing-ass anyway). I tawkin bout principle man.

33. Bonny Peppa ?
    From the little I have read of this Bonny , she seems to have
    Psychological issues. Probably an attention seeking individual.
    Cant take her seriously/

34. Fumble Stuart
    Luv de name. Ya rite. I seeking attention but from Donville Inniss. Nutton whun pleeze me moe.Tell he fa ma, hear?
    Luv ya.
    muahhhhhhhhhhhh.

psttttttttt, tek me serious doe hear? I is a idiot.

35. David

Is it possible to reproduce the column by Harold Hoyte titled “Remembering David Thompson” in its entirety? The online column was truncated and I’m sure other Bajans who are “over and away” would appreciate it.

36. @Sargeant

The dead tree edition of the newspaper is reported to be coming late today.

37. @Sargeant

What appears in the paper edition mirrors that of online. Part 2 is promised for tomorrow.

38. David

Thank you

39. david was a very very good man he was kind and loving