Submitted by Laimas

I was filling up my car with gas at a SOL gas station and one of the attendants told me that after Aug 29, I might not be seeing her.  When I asked ‘Why?’, she told me that the manager on contract had resigned and SOL was taking back their station.

I have heard this same story at another SOL station as well.  She told me that they wanted to reduce the staff, cut wages of the remaining staff and raise the rent for the store.  In these harsh economic times can we afford to be taking food out of peoples’ mouths?

I wonder what SOL has to say about putting people on the breadline and/or reducing their wage.  The average gas station attendant earns $50 per day, any less and you might consider them unemployed anyway.

What is the government saying about this?  Are they going to allow large companies to indiscriminately put people on the breadline?

34 responses to “Working At SOL Gas Stations Not Bright For Some”

1. Hahahahaha …Laimas…yuh mekking sport nuh!!!

You don’t know who own Sol? Asking this Government to solve this would be like expecting them to sort out the Clico mess…and fire that ass Leroy from CBC….HAHAHAHAHAH!!!

Who pays the piper….

2. Ha ha the owners of SOL are Christian … yet ‘nother Western dilemma along with Democracy … And by and way, the Texaco station up on the sale too … no? I smell monopoly. Free trade in West very funny thing, laugh at it out loud. My family not interested in the Texaco. My family also note how owner of SOL NO have degree of any kind, NO O’Levels of any kind and sit on board of Central Bank and and force small island people to make right turn ‘cross two lanes of high way to enter his facility at Warrens … ha ha very funny thing …!

3. @BAFBFP

You mentioned his qualifications yet he is one of the richest men in the Caribbean. What is the point?

4. The dealers are on contract and they are who employ the attendants. If a dealer’s contract is at the end/terminated/void/not renewed and the dealer is replaced, that person hires their own staff. Current attendants may lose their job but a new dealer has to hire staff.

5. For the life of me, I would like to know why anyone even wants to run a Sol station.
    All the stock has to be approved by Sol, priced by Sol and counted by Sol.
    There is no competition amongst the stations other than closing times.
    These owners pay high rent, have to pay staff and bills but cannot even be innovative in their products or pricing. At the end of the day, they are all employees of Sol…so much for entrepreneurs.

6. Technician are you aware of the sales and profits that these SOL stocked, SOL priced and SOL counted locations rake in ?

If the dealers don’t want to be governed, then they can simply build and operate their own station.

7. @ Anonymous….

Yes I am aware.
    It is because of this that I made my comment. You are operating a station and your every decision is ‘governed’ by Sol. My question is, what is the point?
    Why don’t Sol just hire staff and continue to run the stations?
    How easy would it be to ‘build ‘ your own station?….that is the typical response I would expect from certain people on this matter, as I have heard those same words directly from the mouths of Sol managers.

8. I am also aware of the money paid back to Sol monthly….funny you didn’t mention that part.

9. @ Comrade David

Me not remember mentioning qualification of owner of SOL … but maybe there be some … no? Comrade David we are on same side … no? Man from East interested in serious people who DO, not those who just inform on HOW to do…! Maybe board of Central bank should contain all people like owner of SOL, but then small island have just cause to worry about doing flight of foreign exchange … no?

10. @ Comrade Techy

My intelligent agent inform that BIGGEST problem that affect cost of living in small country is attitude of Real Estate Owner … Land Lord … no? Even US Embassy on island have land lord, probably reason so expensive cost of visa … no? Modern day Feudalism … no?

11. So true BAFBFP….was just reading the covenant on the Coverly ‘Villages’ and smiled.

12. @ Technician

You ask..”You are operating a station and your every decision is ‘governed’ by Sol. My question is, what is the point?”

The point is that without SOL’s infrastructure or business setup then the dealer won’t have any chance at running a station since building a multi million dollar station isn’t within the grasp of the average individual entrepreneur. This is like doctors at the QEH, if they don’t want to work for the hospital then they need to go setup their own practice.

You then ask..”Why don’t Sol just hire staff and continue to run the stations?”

The answer to this is simple and logical. They simply aren’t allowed to by government. There is a wholesale and a retail side. They don’t want both 100% controlled by one entity.

The policy allows a business owner to come in and earn a share of the pie, how is this not advantageous to the broader Bajan public? Anyone with the right resources has a chance at being a dealer and a chance at being an entrepreneur and hiring a staff compliment.

Surely the terms and conditions can’t be that bad since I heard the application pile touches the roof.

I just don’t see how “big bad evil company” is being frowned upon for trying to turn a profit and providing a living for someone along the way.

13. Texaco (Barbados) will soon be up for sale ,and do not be surprised if it is not bought over by SOL. A few weeks ago a statement was made,by SOL, I believe, that they intend to build more gas stations ion the island,a takeover from Texaco would solve a lot of problems. SOL more than likely will be going the full self-service way which would eliminate a lot of the attendants.
    But many of the attendants have to take some of the blame, they act most unprofessionally. It has now become common practice to see petrol being pumped into a car while its headlamps are fully on, on other electrical equipment going. We also see the silly and dangerous practice by mainly ZR vans, rocking their vans at the pump in order to “get more fuel” in the tank. This is dangerous,in that shaking the vehicle can cause metal-to-met contact in the suspension or body parts ,resulting in a spark that could ignite petrol being deliver a a car nearby. All vehicle fuel tanks are fitted with vents to allow air bubbles to dissipate. Shaking the vehicle forms even more air bubbles and make the process of dissipation longer. These are things that should be known and enforced by the gas attendants/operators.

14. Well ah tell you all I am not working at any SOL Service Station in Guyana, working at such a job would disallow me to have seen Ne-Yo in concert in Providence Guyana on Saturday night. I tell you Ne-Yo rocked Guyana into the wee wee hours of the morning with his sexy love to a crowd of 28,000 now Guyana moves forward and I tell you working at Sol would not allow me to fork out $100.00 USD to see Ne-Yo. Has Ne-Yo ever come to Barbados,probably not.

15. Yes he-yo has come to Barbados. Saw him myself

16. @ anon…
    Are you the same?
    Re: The answer to this is simple and logical. They simply aren’t allowed to by government. There is a wholesale and a retail side. They don’t want both 100% controlled by one entity

Can you enlighten me as to where Sol is a wholesaler in Barbados?
    Other than cars which is a different kettle of fish, I don’t see where the service stations come under the same umbrella, as these are two completely separate entities.

Sol does not run the stations because of one reason alone…paying yourself rent is like masturbation!!

I don’t know where you heard that application piles sre through the roof…check your sources!!…because of the nature of my work, I am very close to the runnings of Sol and I can tell you, the dealers now have been there for years except Sol Wildey. There is, to my knowledge (which is very close) no high pile of applications, in fact, most dealers are looking to get out now. The reason being, the current contracts which deprive the dealer from being competitive and creative. Most of them have secondary income but those who have Sol as their primary source are smelling hell lately…check it out.
    I don’t see Sol as a bad, evil company…there are enough in Bim already…what I see them doing is depriving a dealer from his true potential.

17. Conversation between David and BAFBFP “David | August 23, 2010 at 1:24 AM | @BAFBFP…You mentioned his qualifications yet he is one of the richest men in the Caribbean. What is the point?”

But David BAFBFP did not mention the man’s qualificatons. The CHina man mentioned the man’s LACK of academic credentials. And What’s the point?

The point is that earning credentials is a waste of money. We should should down all the school from nursery to tertiary tomorrow and save ourselves a couple of billion dollars a year. And the young people can all go and found and manage big successful companies, and have subcontractors hire cheap labour to run them.

18. If many of the richest men in the United States had remained in college ,today they would be relatively low-paid, teachers, professors and professional squawkers.
    There was a time when the rich in this country had no need to drive a car.They bought a car and hire a chauffeur,let him do the hard work.. The same could be said of those industrialist and tycoons among us, who have no Phd’s or Masters.To them these are Surplus to Requirement.They just wait and hire people with these big up papers,who make a beeline to them for a job..

19. “@ anon…
    Are you the same?
    Re: The answer to this is simple and logical. They simply aren’t allowed to by government. There is a wholesale and a retail side. They don’t want both 100% controlled by one entity
    Can you enlighten me as to where Sol is a wholesaler in Barbados?
    Other than cars which is a different kettle of fish, I don’t see where the service stations come under the same umbrella, as these are two completely separate entities.”

SOL is a wholesaler of fuel to the sites, and the sites are the retailer to the public.
    “Sol does not run the stations because of one reason alone…paying yourself rent is like masturbation!!”

From what I know they wouldn’t mind going back to the agreement of running at least some of the sites theirselves. Don’t see how you would be paying rent to yourself if your directly controlling the site. That’s like saying you and your brother own a rental car company but you charge him to drive the car on weekends. SOL don’t own all of the sites either, rent is payable to a 3rd party regardless in some instances. I won’t lecture with authority though, I using common business sense. I may be completely wrong.
    “I don’t know where you heard that application piles sre through the roof…check your sources!!…because of the nature of my work, I am very close to the runnings of Sol and I can tell you, the dealers now have been there for years except Sol Wildey. There is, to my knowledge (which is very close) no high pile of applications, in fact, most dealers are looking to get out now. The reason being, the current contracts which deprive the dealer from being competitive and creative. Most of them have secondary income but those who have Sol as their primary source are smelling hell lately…check it out.
    I don’t see Sol as a bad, evil company…there are enough in Bim already…what I see them doing is depriving a dealer from his true potential.”

We will have to agree to disagree here. This is completely and totally opposite to what I know. The way you speak is like if the dealer is always right. What about dealers that run poor operations ? How can a dealer be lacking creativity and competetiveness when there are incessent and persistent staff issues which prevent some sites from running at full efficiency ? I for one have been to SOL stations where I have put my items back simply because there is one cashier working at snails pace and a long line of customers. I have also left stations for long lines created by having only half the punps available. How can a dealer cry out about a contract that limits creativity and competetiveness when some fall short of fullfilling their required roles? Do these dealers not know when they sign the dotted line that(as you report) they must sell SOL fuel and SOL approved products and pricing ? Where is the illigitimate behaviour in honouring an agreement ?

I do not disvalue your points, but you make it seem like SOL is doing the dealers a disservice by running a business as best as they see fit. Its their business! I can’t tell Mrs. Ram to take change her “no returns/no exchanges policy” even though I disagree with it. I simply shop elsewhere.

20. Petrol sales is very low margin for the retailer (station-owner), especially as prices are regulated.

The money is in the shops. That is, if you can get past theft.

If I were renting a place, I would have to set shop prices, to make my profits. Why you think a bottle of soda cost about 50 or 75 cents more in a station than the market?

Without that, it is very difficult to make money from gas stations.

But, Technician et al above are right, our biggest problem is not wages, it is the landlord prices, for any business.

Which is why food and clothes vans, if you can get the initial capital for a MECHANICALLY GOOD second hand van (if you cannot get into a Government market) make the most sense for a small businessman, as you pay for the vehicle and after five or six years of paying any loans your fixed costs are limited, not to mention that the asset is yours, aside from the bank, no one can close the door on you.

Rents, both residential and commercial, are too high.

21. “Petrol sales is very low margin for the retailer (station-owner), especially as prices are regulated.”

Yes this is true alround for all the stakeholders.

“The money is in the shops. That is, if you can get past theft.”

The staff are the biggest offenders in this area.

“If I were renting a place, I would have to set shop prices, to make my profits. Why you think a bottle of soda cost about 50 or 75 cents more in a station than the market?

Without that, it is very difficult to make money from gas stations.”

There are also gas stations who open 24/7/365, surely also their fixed costs are relatively higher than the market. You are also paying for the convenience of buying something any time of day or night on any day of the year. It is pricey partly because its convenient, not a supermarket.

But, Technician et al above are right, our biggest problem is not wages, it is the landlord prices, for any business.

Which is why food and clothes vans, if you can get the initial capital for a MECHANICALLY GOOD second hand van (if you cannot get into a Government market) make the most sense for a small businessman, as you pay for the vehicle and after five or six years of paying any loans your fixed costs are limited, not to mention that the asset is yours, aside from the bank, no one can close the door on you.

Rents, both residential and commercial, are too high.”

I don’t need to elaborate here. I agree, but that is how the capitalist system of supply and demand works.

I don’t think any dealer has an issue affording the rent though.

22. Is there a tenants association?

What measure does SOL use to determine how much the tenant pays for the right to manage the gas station? i.e. is it negotiated?

23. Yeah there is a dealers association.

Once again I ask why does it seem like if the dealers should have more power here?

SOL owns the brand and/or the lease to the property, why should they not be getting the sweeter deal ?

Yes the dealers pay staff and supervisors and buy the stock but do they contribute towards land tax, insurance, maintenance, initial startup etc. ?

When a taxi owner leases out his vehicle I am sure he says “bring me $500 a week” or something so, and either the driver likes it, or moves on.

24. There is not rule book here.

There is nothing to say a partnership model built on discussion couldn’t work?

How does the dealers association work? What role does it play? Has it been affective?

25. I know nothing of the association. Only heard about it once before when there was a serious point of contention.

26. Your contributions so far show that you are knowledgeable about this matter however as soon as you are asked about the dealers association you plead the fifth?

27. So owning up to not being knowledgeable in an area is now frowned upon ?

I can only talk about what I think I know or what I know. I know for sure I know nothing of the dealers association besides that it exists.

Should I make up something instead?

28. @Anonymous

Made an observation which you have addressed. Readers can form they own conclusions.

29. @ Anon….

Can you explain what the serious contention was?

Someone spoke of reducing theft by the employees. I can tell you that Sol stores, because of the stock system used(Ruby and Sapphire), has the lowest occurrence of theft by employees.
    Most dealers as I have said before have secondary sources of income so we may not be seeing the true impact of running the station as they can seemingly meet their agreed commitments.
    The dealers association tries their best to get a fair deal but as Anon says, true to every word, when Sol says this is it, it IS it. If the dealers don’t like it, then move on and we will find another. That is what they face daily.
    The one area where Sol shows they truly care is in the maintenance of the pumps, as for the actual stores, that can always wait.

30. @Technician

Seems we have a dealers association in name only. No wonder SOL can act the way they do.

31. David, that is why some of his (Anon) words rub me the wrong way. I am not saying that I don’t see his/her point but anyone who come across with that ‘do as I say ‘ or ‘like it or lump it’ reasoning, in this case,Sol, could only be looking to dictate and do not have the interest of others at heart. We know they are the land lord but come on man!!

32. @Technician

Maybe what we need is for Texaco and Esso to go and be replaced with new entrants like a BP, Total or some others. Esso and Texaco provides little competition for SOL. Maybe some of the locals dealers can form a consortium to buy Texaco.

33. “David, that is why some of his (Anon) words rub me the wrong way. I am not saying that I don’t see his/her point but anyone who come across with that ‘do as I say ‘ or ‘like it or lump it’ reasoning, in this case,Sol, could only be looking to dictate and do not have the interest of others at heart. We know they are the land lord but come on man!!”

But if you sign a contract dictating certain rules how can you expect otherwise?

Lets not talk about the gas stations here, lets talk about life. If I seek employment and sign a contract saying my work hours are 8 am to 4 pm, and after 3 weeks I decide ‘man this is foolishness, I should be able to set my own time’ then how can I blame anyone but me for agreeing those terms ? Yes, its only fair that I be able to be heard if I wish to negotiate the terms of my work hours but if I have signed a contract then I am not ENTITLED to a change. If me and my colleagues decide we will approach management with an idea about changing work hours then I would hope they address us accordingly, but if it does not suit them, then I should continue to drag my feet?

I once again get the feeling here that the owners of the land and infrastructure like they should be getting out second best and not the dealers.

If I come across as “you should accept everything I say because I am the boss” well I am sorry for the misconception, but if the dealers have a problem with the terms and conditions, I just am left wondering who put the gun to their head to accept them.

“Can you explain what the serious contention was?

Someone spoke of reducing theft by the employees. I can tell you that Sol stores, because of the stock system used(Ruby and Sapphire), has the lowest occurrence of theft by employees.
    Most dealers as I have said before have secondary sources of income so we may not be seeing the true impact of running the station as they can seemingly meet their agreed commitments.
    The dealers association tries their best to get a fair deal but as Anon says, true to every word, when Sol says this is it, it IS it. If the dealers don’t like it, then move on and we will find another. That is what they face daily.
    The one area where Sol shows they truly care is in the maintenance of the pumps, as for the actual stores, that can always wait.”

I don’t know the contention, it was an article in the paper at least a few years back.

Once again, it seems like the people renting the location should get to call all the shots. Are Subway and KFC allowed to sell non-franchised items? Can they say “well I done selling subs/chicken, I need to be able to have more liberty in what I am selling.”? You must realize that the dealers are not only representing themselves, but another company as well.

When you build your house you can manage it how you please, when you rent you must share your rights because you don’t own the place. You can’t decide “well the kitchen is too small so i am going to knock down a wall and make it bigger”. That kitchen belongs to someone else. Seek discussion with the owner and resolve it. If the owner says “I do not want to change the kitchen” then that is it.

I am dying to know what SOL is doing here that a typical business place looking to make money doesn’t? I went to FCIB a time to open a savings account and they told me it would cost me $10 and stationery fees per month and I would need to maintain a minimum balance. I DID NOT LIKE THE DEAL on the table, so I did not sign up, I asked for all my money out of my account and I took my business elsewhere. They DO NOT HAVE TO GIVE ME WHAT I WANT because I say so. I can only ask. If I agreed to the terms and conditions, then how can I say “man this is a raw deal and yall shouldn’t do this”. I accepted !

34. The SOL chief is a qualified lawyer..his step daughter and son are United states university graduates. I once worked with them.