Submitted by Looking Glass

Professor Avinash D. Persaud

That the economy is in a precarious position and that it will continue is old news. The IMF in 2006 projected debt at 75% of GDP by 2011, and likened the situation to a “breeding ground” for social unrest and disorder. The 2008 report is anything but an improvement. According to the report “total debt rose to 95% of GDP or a stall high of 87% if earmarked sinking funds are netted out….A 75% likelihood that medium term debt ratio will exceed current levels…and predicts an average debt ratio of 106% by 2013.” Another report duly noted the “weakness” of our statistics. This suggests that 1) despite the privatization and sale of profitable assets in the last decade, the national debt is one hell of a lot more than was ever openly acknowledged 2) fiscal deficits are inevitable 3) we were in crisis before the global meltdown.

One would expect an economic analysis to address the root cause(s) of the economic problem. However, this appears not to be the case. The statistics offered are at best questionable. The ‘solutions’ offered suggest little understanding of the dilemma at hand and less about how the external world turns. Assumptions are made as to how a certain class of persons, corporations and organizations are likely to behave. Certain policies and practices successfully implemented elsewhere are deemed applicable to Barbados. In fact the world economy is not a rational system, nor does it operate according to theoretical models. In some ways it reminds one of a bad lecture to second year economics students.

We have no powerful additions to fuel development or growth, no defining force, culture or industries that would enable us to compete or even catch up. We need sustained expansion to take care of unemployment, generate jobs and generate revenue for government to reduce deficits and indebtedness. Rather than repeat myself I suggest the doctor have a look at least the following: On The Road To Perdition; Bajan Economy Not Doing Well; Indebtedness No End In Sight; A Blurred Image Of Reality

Government expenditure we are told “jumped by 25% in a couple of years, and public debt rose by a “massive $1500 million in a couple of years over and beyond the expenditure relating to the last government’s PPP projects…” As I understand it the Total National Debt (TND) which includes “off-budget” loan guarantees and contingencies, rose from around $56bn in 2007 to $61bn in 2010. The foreign and local components of the 2010 TND are around $41bn and $20bn respectively; the BLP’s share $28bn and $18bn, that of the DLP $3bn and $2bn. The $5bn increase represents the government contribution to the TND.

The 25% increase in spending is difficult to ascertain, invites misguided policies and needs to be reviewed. Does it mean that the present government spending by itself rose by 25% in the last three years? If so given what the government inherited and the state of the economy it should be applauded.

According to Dr Persaud the “rise in debt over the past two years is almost three times the cost of the prison, ABC highway, the new Justice building and the new Coast guard.” Now these projects cost around $800m, $1.2bn, $1.2bn and $300m respectively. Now the rise in debt the national debt (2007-2010) amounts to $5m. Perhaps the goodly doctor should explain 1) how a $5bn increase in debt becomes three times greater than the cost of the above projects b) the 25% increase in government expenditure in the last couple of years.

Contrary to popular belief Barbados is not classified as a developing country. The grants and concessionary loans are usually for infrastructural development and come with plenty conditionalities which include privatization. Foreign money wields significant power over recipient countries. For example: one IMF Report noted the need to liberalise both tourism and real estate. So far we have liberalized telecommunications. The “exchange” of Gems for a number of busses is in the works.

Those indebted to Multilateral Agencies (IMF, World Bank, IADB) are not permitted to finance from other sources because the Multilaterals are said to enjoy “preferred Creditor” status. For us infrastructural development covers the wound and puts us deeper in debt.

I do not know what he means by “revive inward foreign investment and democratizing capitalism.” How can we revive and democratize that over which we have neither access nor control? Intel and Donnelly came and left to set up shop elsewhere. That was in our good times. The former reasons for leaving will blow your mind.

There is more than a modicum of truth in Plastic Bag’s observation that we belong to Trinidad. That country took over the National Bank and BS&T among other things, none of which are job generating. That apart foreign investment has been devoted to hotels, golf courses, and homes for sale to foreign. This activity generates some high level employment for foreigners, little sustainable employment for locals, and the assumed benefits are grossly overstated. As stated elsewhere, the West coast and the Old North represent “harbingers of things to come…a restructured society with no place at the table for locals.”

Micro things like internationalizing the legal system (our system is British to the core), recognizing equivalent qualifications, on line government licensing, and a Financial Services Authority are unlikely to generate much by way of revenue and jobs. How many jobs the private medical schools in Antigua and Grenada produced for locals? For sure the student fees do not go to the government. We already have what is now a private medical facility, a hospital apparently fully “staffed” by foreigners. Check how many locals are treated there. Barbados does not need second or third class institutions. Codrington College is destined to become part of Cambridge University.

Repositioning Barbados to benefit from the global turnaround assumes trickle-down. In fact the trickle-down will likely be directed to Europe and Asia. In my humble opinion Dr. Persaud’s solutions/suggestions will not boost spending without increasing deficits. There is little we can do to provide more “bang for our buck” and stimulate the economy without increasing both debt and deficits. The hole gets deeper, the climb more difficult.

Apologies for not responding to the many emails queries about Pickering.  I was away gathering information and will write part 2 of 3 shortly

24 responses to “A Look At Professor Avinash Persaud’s Analysis”

1. @ Looking Glass.

You appear to have the intellect and education based on what you wrote above.
    It would benefit Barbados if you and others like you would offer ideas and solutions to the “economic problem” Barbados is facing.

With my great intellect and limited formal education I will make a little contribution to the Save Barbados think tank.

Government should refurbish every public market to ensure and encourage the sale of locally grown produce.
    Farmers should be educated to sell more of their produce at retail directly to the public to make farming profitable. Nuh lotta long talk Haynesly.

People who own so called rab land ( I is one uh dum but I cannot legally do anyting bout it yet ) should be required to put it in production or lease it to a farmer who will put it in production.

Increasing the production of food will reduce the import bill.

Next suggestion.
    The BTA should produce all their Tradeshow exhibits in Barbados and stop buying and renting crap in North America and Europe.
    That could kick start a Design,manufacture and export industry.

Last suggestion.
    Some North American businesses get their products manufactured in China and package and rebrand those products in North America.
    Next time you buy something that says “Made in Canada” it could be a product from China but because the pretty package cost 51% of the total cost it will say made in Canada.
    So Barbados should do more direct buying of Goods in China and even India in Brazil.

Wanna see? I en got much formal eddication but at lease uh offerin suggestions even ef dum is bare foolishness.

Uh hope GP will step up to de plate an put in he very edicated 2 cents worth.

2. The good thing about PDC, is that while they are completely nutty, and getting more so once questioned about their nuttiness, they are independently nutty. Independent nuttiness has benefit: it reminds us of the fundamentals that constrain us.

Looking Glass has his knickers in a twist about the national debt, betraying a far greater ignorance than his normal cut and pasting.

I am sure Professor Persaud can defend himself if he needs to and so I am just going to rescue the problem we face from Looking Glass’ attempt to hide it. Looking Glass is up to that classic “Henrism” of when faced with a challenge (Clico, NHC, credit downgrades, rising debt, falling GDP, hospital, “Jesper Incisms”…) don’t worry about finding solutions, just argue (a) it is not a problem or , when that cannot work that (b) all problems were caused by the last lot. A critical part of “Henrism” is when people begin to smell the rat, like those at NHC, ignore the issue and swing into obfuscation mode.

So here are the stark facts with references about our fiscal position.

According to table 6, of the Governor’s last review of the economy, Gross Central Government Debt was $6,283m ($6.3bn) at the end of 2007.

Included in these figures, which were revised after the last election, were an increase in public debt in 2005/2006 of $288m for the ”Prison”, $165m for the “ABC improvement”, $125m for “Justice Improvement” and $59.5m for the “coast guard”, which totaled together $637.5m.

These numbers were inserted post-election, but DLP supporters will find them too low, because they like to add up all future interest payments on this debt and add it to the debt figure.

But the point is that in the official, revised, figures, the contribution of these buildings to the public debt of $6,283m in 2007 was $637.5m.

According to the same table (6) the size of the gross central government debt in June 2010 was $7,854m. A rise of $1,571m in 2.5 years. The rise in debt of $1,571m in 2.5 years, a rise in our debt of 24% in just 2.5 years, had nothing to do with the Prison etc which were included in the level of the debt figures before this rise in the level was calculated. Yes. Its shocking.

We have debated on this blog before what has caused the rise in public debt – it was not as elsewhere a collapse in tax revenues, because unlike others we increased our taxes, but a jump in expenditure. According to Table 4, of the Governor’s report current expenditure by the Government rose from $2324.9m at the end of 2007 to $2879.7m at the end of 2009, or a rise of $554.8m or 23.9%. Has it ever in our history risen by 23.9% in 2.5 years?

Government supporters like to mimic Prime Minister Thatcher in the 1980s when she was plunging the UK economy into a deeper recession than elsewhere and saying “There Is No Alternative”. But we have made a choice to follow a different policy path. Other countries allowed tax revenues to fall as a result of falling economic activity and this has made up 90% of the increased deficits around the world. The other 10% have been made up of targeted, temporary, employment/stimulus programs or industrial rescues which were launched to fanfare and face parliamentary scrutiny (financial support to Detroit, Airlines, etc).

Our path has been to raise taxes so that there has no shortfall in tax revenues. This is quite unique and was avoided elsewhere because it was felt this would serve to worsen the recession. This might have been the right thing to have done if the revenues were then used in an explicit and carefully calibrated employment/investment strategy. (There is something called the balanced budget multiplier.) Is that what we have? It would be believable if there was any analysis or forethought behind it. Where is the analysis which says an extra $ spent in one area has greater/lesser employment/domestic expenditure/import impact than a dollar spent elsewhere? Where is the plan/strategy presented and debated in parliament? This is just an attempt by clever people to justify after the fact. The proof of the pudding of course is in the eating. Despite increasing current Government expenditure by 23% (permanently, not through temporary initiatives or one-off capital expenditure), GDP has contracted at an unprecedented rate. Did the employment plan work? Would it have been worse otherwise? Did something go wrong with implementation that can be fixed? We have no idea because there was no plan to assess performance against. It was just a general largesse awarded no doubt to friends and family as all governments do, some worse than others.

I want to vote for the DLP. It is a party with a history for bold action. Free public education being one of the most important and a policy that has defined our development for 40 years. This is a time for similar bold policy decisions. But Henrism is not about policy policy choices. It is all about electioneering, obfiscation and denial. The DLP old guard needs to reassert itself, shake off the Faustian Bargain, ditch Henrism, examine the fiscla problem manfully, take leadership and come up with some radical solutions.

3. How to start a ‘Homegrown Revolution’, and grow your own food (as much of it as possible anyway), like this guy did:

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mCPEBM5ol0Q&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xd0d0d0&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1]

Path to Freedom is a grassroots, family operated, original urban homestead located in the midst of Pasadena

Surrounded by urban sprawl and just a short distance from a freeway, the Dervaes Family have steadily worked at transforming this ordinary city lot into an organic and sustainable micro-farm.

This website documents the many steps the Dervaeses have taken and hopes to inspire fellow travelers on their own life-changing journey. Be inspired to take the first step…

http://urbanhomestead.org/

4. Ok Conrad will yo be contributing to the” Save Barbados Think Tank or you only writin high falutin economic convolumacations?

5. @hants:
    Contact me thru David and I will have your rab land producing in six weeks.

6. Dear Hants,

The reason why we do not produce more of our own food is not because there is a shortage of agricultural incentives or inadequate facilities. There is every incentive you can imagine, and a long list of tax exemptions and tax concessions. The next time you read them you, like me, would want to be a farmer yourself. And while the market facilities are not the best, they are not non-existent either and the Government has some plans in this area, though I do not think they have been acted upon as yet.

There are a number of ancillary reasons, of which marketing and standardisation are just two, but the fundamental reason why we don’t produce more of our own food is that the average person makes far more money as an office worker than as an agricultural labourer. In agriculture we are competing against the exports of countries where the agricultural workers get pittance relative to our own wages.

We could lower our wages to Guyanese levels to make agriculture more attractive, but this would seem to be rather counter-productive to development. We could subsidise some agricultural production on the grounds of food security, or environmental protection. But it would be a susbidy that would be a drag on our economic growth – a price worth paying perhaps – rather than a spur to economic growth or a growth strategy. We cannot grow our income and wages by investing and subsidising activities with lower wages than our current average wages.

The optimists would say that we could try and make agriculture a high wage activity through high capital intensive activities (hydroponics etc) but by definition, high capital intensive activities will be a drag on our foreign exchange reserves and one should wonder that if the private sector has not already invested in this in a significant way, perhaps government would do no better.

We need to act on all those long-standing ideas on education and health tourism, protecting and expanding a financial service sector that on average contributes 60% of corporate tax revenues, and we need to make it easier and cheaper for local Barbadians to be entrepreneurs and to market their exports abroad, whether it be in the cultural industries, agriculture, agriculture-related like rum, or anything else and whether it be through lowering licensing costs or legal costs or a whole set of other costs. But this is sounding like the list of stuff Looking Glass was so dismissive of. What did he propose we do instead?

7. @ Conrad,
    I am the son of a farmer and have in depth knowledge of farming food crops in Barbados.If my dad was alive he would be surprised that I paid a lot of attention to the business of food crop, chicken and pig farming in Barbados.

I have always said that small farmers working say less than 20 acres must sell most of their produce directly to the public.

It makes no sense for a farmer to sit in a chair collecting farm gate money while people in their Suziki and Nissan vans take the same produce they buy from you and sell it for 4 to 5 times the price they paid you.

Farmers are somehow conditioned to think they must be in the field from sun up to sun down.
    Wrong. Take one day a week. Dress in your best clothes and drive around to hotels,restaurants and Supermarkets and offer your best produce for an optimum price.
    There must also be a high ownership component in farming if cheap labour is not available.
    Nobody is going to work land in Barbados unless they are getting a share of the profits.
    Note that I am only dealing with small farmers because I know nothing about food production on a plantation.

@Straight Talk,
    At this time there are legal impediments to me making my land available to you.As you well know, Some Lawyers in Barbados have difficulty walking and chewing gum at the same time so it could be years before I have control.

Jeff C. is not included. He is a professor so I don’t count him as a lawyer.

I hope the Government will seize it and enforce food production but that is not likely to happen anytime soon.

8. @Conrad,
    Keep the ideas coming. This is how we make progress. If one good idea comes out of this discussion it is worth it.

9. Interesting to read Conrad’s view on the inert state of agriculture in Barbados. Conrad seems to be on the same page as Clyde Mascoll i.e. Barbados does not have the land mass or the will to make it happen. Clyde when pushed on the matter recently believes a joint venture arrangement with Guyana for example is the way to go. What about the forecast for economic and political stability in Guyana?

Under the previous administration it became committed to building out an economy on services, tourism and FDI (real estate). In the boom period before the global recession it was an easy model to work. It will not work going forward. In the same way 911 has changed the way we travel forever so too this global recession will change the way open economies reliant on tourism and services.

The day of cheap oil is gone and the US position in the economic world now ensures that having our currency pegged to the USD will make for a volatile ride going forward.

Discussion about agriculture must come into the conversation.Of interest should be food processing.

10. So David, I see you get taken for one big ride with the purported letter from Chris McHale. I suspected all along it was not from him. The Chris McHale that I know is a highly articulate individual and any writing of is would never contain so many spelling and grammatical errors. Ha Ha!

11. Some do. some don’t.

There ain’t no such thing as rab land in Bim.
    All land is productive.
    Yours ain’t?
    Sorry all your previous posts are now blowhard projections of the idyll you left for cooler, greener pastures, and now you say your own land lying idle whilst your countrymen are left at the mercy of our
    (super) marketeers.
    Get real man, rent it, let it feed us.

12. @Ha Ha

It appears that way.

There are always inherent risks in what we do.

We are currently investigating, if as it seems there is identity theft BU will have to review its policy on future submissions.

13. Perhaps, David, you should have “investigated” first before publishing. A simple anonymous phone call to Mr. McHale would have saved you the embarrassment and possible legal action.
    It never occurred to you that a man with Mr. McHale’s business acumen and education would not be guilty of such poor grammar and spelling? Chuuuupes!

14. @HAHA
    You are so silly!for all we don’t know !What do you know . It could just as well been you silly you!

15. @ac

Thanks for your support. We are investigating and if we made a mistake we will apologize. Lets move on.

16. @Straight Talk,

You are right. All land is productive.
    So is mine.It is producing Bush and Grass.

Drive by and see for yourself.

17. Ha ha:
    Well lets hear the complaint from the perfectly grammatical and syntacticly perfect Mr McHale.
    WTF else would have posted such a ridiculous, self-serving article.
    Pull the other one, you plonker.

18. Looking glass, UWI needs a course in how to get stats tell a lie. I vote for you as tutor. Please show the interest rates and loan periods so we can verify the amortization. Your presentation suggests that DLP got cheap loans. Please add the implications of the different time periods over which these debt amounts were accumulated to compare apples with apples; and compare what it was spent on and you would see the massive recklessness of the Dems in handling the fiscal debt and the economy. After all those billions in 2 years no decent stimulus package for the economy, stated otherwise, all that debt for little economic benefit. What did tourism get, manufacturing, agriculture, culture etc, I mean over and beyond normal budget amounts. What will they defecate on next?

19. @ Conrad

The proof is in the eating. Peter Boos candid assessment of our economy, and all but called Darcy Boyce a liar. Apparently some professional accountants and economists are disgusted with Darcy’ betrayal of integrity, and the business community is pissed off.

20. Send back the Guyanese and kick out the Trinidadian businesses and get their products of the shelves. But make sure you do not send back the Europeans and Americans and keep American products on the shelves and ask no questions. That seems to be the Bajan formula for success. See the rock sink.

21. Dear David,

I think you are right to assume that high and rising energy prices are hear to stay. That is why we need to export “weightless” products (that can be downloaded down a broad band) like professional services: music production, medical diagnostics, para legal, architectural services etc. At the centre of such a development plan would be an investment in education. This doesn;t mean pouring money into UWI, but making our investment more performance related in some way.

You should note that agriculture is highly dependent on nitrogen-based fertilisers. These can come from many sources, but are linked to the price of gas, which is linked to the price of petrol, so agriculture is not automatically made more profitable by the increase in energy prices. At the end of the day you have to focus on wages. I am not against encouraging agricultural production in a modest way, spending a little money to support marketing and standardisation and support small farmers etc. But we cannot build an economy on it. You cannot, cannot, grow an economy by taxing high wage activities to subsidise low wage activities. If agriculture will become so profitable that it can pay competitive wages then supporting it (beyond support for basic food security and rural environmental protection). Of course at that point you would not need to support it.

However, I would not throw away tourism. It remains even in this high energy world a very large industry and one of the few that we could be one of the best at – deriving some of the highest profits and delivering high wages. But we should diversify our exposure to it. Education tourism is hot business, generating substantial tax revenues, employing many teachers. Medical tourism is also becoming like that. And the advantage of these industries is that it will mean you can also serve the local population with more teachers and doctors than a small country would otherwise support.

By the way, try and name me one small country with more or less our land mass and population that has made it as a developed country, without a captured market, by investing in a labour intensive (to employ people), non-capital intensive (so less dependent on foreign money), non-land intensive (because we do not have a lot of it) agriculture…….I know of none.

22. Dr. Brian Francis, Lecturer in the Department of Economics, University of the West Indies, Cave Hill, started the latest contribution ( Monday, August 16, 2010) to his column – AS I SEE THINGS – in the Barbados Business Authority, by stating the following: “Since the collapse of classical economics in the early decades of the 20th century, the economics dicipline has witnessses several revolutions in economic rapadigms leading right up to the new economic models of recent times. As fate would have it, professional economists are yet to find a model that works with some degreee of flexibility for most countries”

Having analysed Dr. Francis’s piece, the PDC must -first of all – tell Dr. Francis – in no uncertain terms, how the economics discipline, that helps to earn him a living right now, is the worst of ALL the social sciences disciplines in Barbados and in the wider world, as that, it is NOT ONLY NOT A SCIENCE ( inspite of the pretensions of some of its title carrying practitioners that it is so) BUT it is ALSO essentially patently WESTERN/IZED ELITIST TOP DOWN POLITICS, POLITICAL IDEOLOGY, POLITICAL PSYCHOLOGY, AND so-called POLITICAL SCIENCE, ALL COMBINED, and which, as the de facto essences that make up this economics discipline – are the things that are and that are still generally dastardly NOT honestly NOT acknowledged by those almost same title-carrying practitioners(economists).

Secondly, we must tell him this: that economics – as is presently packaged and promoted – is really an art, and that – having regard for that – it must therefore be reclaimed by the so-called POLITICAL SCIENCE DISCIPLINE ( yes it must be seen as the “prodigal son” of POLITICS, so-called POLITICAL SCIENCE – which really is essentially an art too) less the title, ECONOMICS, and minus MOST OF MEANINGLESS/IRRELEVANT mathematical and statistical stylings and inputs, in order for its TRUE political essences and artistries to be really reaffirmed by experts in political theory and analysis here in Barbados and globally, and ulimately with such demands/requirements being enforced by many across the world, and therefore seen as a fundamental part of those changes that must be brought to the economics discipline.

Thirdly, we must tell him how the ECONOMICS DISCIPLINE – even though it contains a few good concepts and principles – had – long long before this present juncture of so-called international economic financial crises – become the MOST DISCREDITED and DISGRACED of ALL the so-called SOCIAL SCIENCES, through no fault of its own largely, BUT through EVIL POLITICAL FORCES AND SPIRITS WITHIN AND WITHOUT GOVERNMENTS being able to hide behind it and – some times in its own name – do the crazy underhand misrepresenatative things that they have been from time immemorial doing a la these so-called international economic and financial depressions, recessions, crises and other turbulences.

Too, the fact is when this dull and antiquated ECONOMICS DISCIPLINE was started (evolved) by Adam Smith and others in the 18 th century, it did NOT then and later give recognition to some very elitist very evil narrow minded political consciousnesses and spirits, nor did NOT then find itself having been designed/made by Smith and those other earlier founders, and then later having been developed by later economic theorists and developers of it including John Maynard Keynes, having to give recognition to these evil narrow minded political consciousnesses and spirits.

As well, economics was first the prime academic intellectual transporter of a combination of different strands of capitalism, manorialism( feudalism), conservatism, free trade, workism, enslavement, etc. but really and truly today it ( along with its sister Western Finance) has become essentially the political intellectual psychological bane/anti-thesis of further capitalist development acros the world.

Therefore, it can very convincingly be argued by the PDC that this economics discipline itself was NEVER, is NEVER and WILL never be able to METHODOLOGICALLY THEORITICALLY DESCRIBE, EXPLAIN AND PREDICT, on one hand, the social political behaviours the psychologies the ideologies of these political forces and spirits that instigate these so-called international economic and financial crises – including the present one, and, on the other hand, the present social political behaviours the psychologies and ideologies that are necessary to take capitalism through a higher more socially redefined phase of development .

Anyhow, Dr. Francis goes on further in his column to write about the US $ 750 billion stimulus package in the USA: “Despite all the promises made in relation to the importance of the over US $ 750 billion stimulus package to keeping unemployment below eight per cent, the unemployment rate in the United States continues to hover just below ten per cent. Further, in July alone the economy lost over 130 000 jobs.”

“What is even more bewildering is the fact that despite the clear failure of Keynesian-type spending policies, President Obama has now secured an additional US $ 26 Billion of expenditure designed to keep teachers employed.

One can only conclude from this behaviour that either the Obama Adminstration is not getting the message that huge government spending has never and will not cure the country’s economic woes or that political and economic ideology trump common sense and reality”

And towards the end of this missive he writes too that: “Clearly whether we look outward or inward one thing is evident: the recycling of old economic paradigms that have brought little benefit to the world economies. In short, despite the billions of dollars of “stimulus” spending all around the world, the global economy remains in an uncertain mode”

In response to those reported comments, we do wish to tell Dr. Francis, that having recently ourselves skimmed through information on the internet concerning the last stimulus package in the USA which was titled the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, there is a big fundamental reason why it is and why it will continue to so-called fail (fail?) to bring down unemployment in the USA and really lead the USA on a path to recovery: the bulk of it was directed to benefit – directly or indirectly – governments across the USA at the federal level, the state, local and other levels, governments that themselves are already terribly wasteful, disgustingly inefficient and woefully unrational and unproductive in their operations.

Could any one seriously imagine any stimulus package in the USA that will steal so much income from the relevant people, businesses and other entities in the USA that are themselves far, far more productive and efficient than the governments in the USA (federal,state, local and others), and that will then divert this stolen income towards the benefit of these governments and their provinces in the USA, and that having done such and more, that will ever be so successful in regards of bringing about success in helping to bring about lower levels of unemployment inthe USA, and success in terms of so-called economic recovery in the USA, other than success in racking up more SHORT TERM AND LONG TERM GOVERNMENT DEBT??? Huh??

Dr. Francis must also have been AWARE that the first US $ 700 billion plus stimulus package under the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act 2008, that George W. Bush had signed off on – and which had been, as was said by its chief sponsors, intended to primarily buy up TOXIC assets, and to bail out many financial institutions, and that was intended to stabilize the USA economy; that many of the funds that were disbursed under the Act were used for other purposes, that no governmental oversights were given in respect of any expenditures, and that many of the financial institutions that took money, as was reported by different media in the USA, could NOT account to TAX VICTIMS or to the federal government in the USA for the money.

So, while it is so clear that the last stimulus package in the USA was intended to politically protect to stealthily advance the interests of the governments in the USA in times of recession, the fact of the matter is that Dr. Francis cannot reasonably attribute the lack of success in the particular stimulus package in bringing about serious reductions in the unemployment levels in the USA, to stark failure on the part of old recycled economic paradigms, simply because this particular package was really never intended to do so and therefore could never reasonably have been seen to be so – smokescreens and mirrors, charades and facades removed, since it was really intended to preseve the paramountcy of an already financially bankrupt very unproductive USA federal government over other considerations.

And, finally, we wish to little tell Dr. Francis – in response to the final comments contained in his piece that tenor that it is his firm belief that there is no better time than now for change in ECONOMIC PRESCRIPTIONS FOR COUNTRIES ALL AROUND THE WORLD, that he had better rethink part of these particular comments ( the ones that we put in capitals), since as stated here already this old barren economics discipline is essentially now the bane/the antithesis of greater capitalist development throughout Barbados and the rest of the world since it CANNOT SENSIBLY RATIONALLY DESCRIBE AND EXPLAIN the great politics, the political ideology, psychology that is associated with things like the ABOLITION OF TAXATION, THE ABOLITION OF INTEREST RATES, THE ABOLITION OF MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE, THE ABOLITION OF REPAYABLE INSTITIONAL LOANS FOR PRODUCTIVE PURPOSES, THE ABOLITION OF WORK/THE WORK CULTURE – which are political ideological psychological paradigms that are necessary to help further develop capitalism across this world.

23. David:

I’ve been away from a little while, getting a patient-eye view at what the QEH looks like from the inside-downside. I am constrained not to say more on that matter since I may not have prompt access to medivac facilities next time I need acute medical care.

However, I am responding to LG’s contribution, using my own name since I have nothing to hide, and to point out that his analysis is really not about Avanash Persaud’s strengths and weakness as an analytical economist (whatever may be the capabilities and competences of such an individual). It is about the lack of a clear vision of the future of Barbados by those who believe that their crystal balls are better than anyone elses. Incidentally, if their CBs are between their legs they should try to avoid getting mumps, for people with glass balls should be careful how they juggle, and jiggle them!

One further point. When LG says:
    “Contrary to popular belief Barbados is not classified as a developing country. The grants and concessionary loans are usually for infrastructural development and come with plenty conditionalities which include privatization. Foreign money wields significant power over recipient countries. For example: one IMF Report noted the need to liberalise both tourism and real estate. So far we have liberalized telecommunications. The “exchange” of Gems for a number of busses is in the works.

Those indebted to Multilateral Agencies (IMF, World Bank, IADB) are not permitted to finance from other sources because the Multilaterals are said to enjoy “preferred Creditor” status. For us infrastructural development covers the wound and puts us deeper in debt.”
    I would like to see the empirical evidence that he /she would adduce to support those statements. Or perhaps, he would wish me to reexamine the material I had to review over the 15 years I served as an Executive Director on a number of MFIs.

Sorry, but I have an urgent toilet call!!