Submitted by People’s Democratic Congress (PDC)

This week’s focus is on a type of political psychology that can be described as Machiavellian politics, and on the extent to which it does have relevance to Barbadian politics – using Robert Greene’s book – The 48 Laws of Power, as a theoretical fulcrum from which to  assess such relevance. The primary reasons why we in the PDC have decided so early in this series of articles to touch on this area are:

1) to highlight a type and method of politics/psychology in the body politic of this country in which at this juncture there is no specialized, evidence-based literature on the instances of, the causes/effects of, and the local political figures involved in these local political machinations and deceptions – the only literature that comes close are Angela/Gary Cole’s – the Khaki Boys, etc;

2) to educate and inform as many people in Barbados and elsewhere as possible – out of those who are unaware – as to the fact that it is ideologized and practiced – one one extreme – with brute force, and on the other extreme – with cunning guile – in almost every sphere and institution in every country, political parties, churches, families, masonic lodges, etc., and by countless people, esp. political leaders and other personalities, in those spheres and institutions;

3)to let as many people in Barbados and elsewhere as possible – out of those who are unaware – as to the fact that its counterpart in international relations is REALISM/the realist theory.

Wikipedia, in citing the Oxford English Dictionary definition for  Machiavellianism, states that it is the employment of cunning and duplicity in statecraft or in general conduct, deriving from the Italian Renaissance diplomat and writer Niccolò Machiavelli, who wrote Il Principe (The Prince) and other works. Wikipedia also puts forward that, in psychology, Machiavellianism is “a term that some social and personality psychologists use to describe a person’s tendency to deceive and manipulate others for personal gain.”

As for Machiavelli (3 May 1469 – 21 June 1527) himself, he was an Italian philosopher/writer, and is considered one of the main founders of modern political science (Wikipedia).

Robert Greene in the preface to the said book, The 48 Laws of Power, states that learning the game of power requires a certain way of looking at the world, a shifting of perspective; that it takes effort and years of practice, for much of the game may come naturally; that certain basic skills are required, and that once you master these skills you will be able to apply the laws of power more easily.

He goes on to say the most of these skills , and power’s crucial foundation, is the ability to master your emotions; that anger is the most destructive of emotional responses, for it clouds your vision the most; that love and affection are also potentially destructive, in that, they blind you to the often self-serving interests of those whom you suspect of playing a power game; power requires the ability to play with appearances – to this end you must learn to wear many masks and keep a bag full of deceptive tricks; that half of your mastery of power comes from what you do NOT do, what you do NOT allow yourself to get dragged into – for this skill, you must learn to judge all things by what they cost you.

He also states that power is a social game; to learn and master it, you must develop the ability to study and understand people; and that you must learn to take the indirect route to power – DISGUISE YOUR CUNNING – by training yourself to be indirect, you can thrive in the modern court, appearing the paragon of decency while being the consummate manipulator.

He finishes this preface by providing a statement from out of the Prince by Niccolo Machiavelli himself –

“Any man who tries to be good all the time is bound to come to ruin among the great number who are not good. Hence a prince who wants to keep his authority must learn how not to be good, and use that knowledge, or refrain from using it, as necessity requires.”

It must be realized by now that Mr. Greene was writing about personal power – as that they are different types of power – physical, natural, legal, etc. Anyhow we will quickly list for the benefit of persons reading this article, 24 of these “laws”:

1) NEVER OUTSHINE THE MASTER (LAW 1)
2) NEVER PUT TO MUCH TRUST IN FRIENDS (LAW 2)
3) CONCEAL YOUR INTENTIONS (LAW 3)
4) ALWAYS SAY LESS THAN NECESSARY (LAW 4)
5) SO MUCH DEPENDS ON REPUTATION – GUARD IT WITH YOUR LIFE (LAW
6) COURT ATTENTION AT ALL COST (LAW 6)
7) GET OTHERS TO WORK FOR YOU – BUT ALWAYS TAKE THE CREDIT (LAW
8) MAKE OTHER PEOPLE COME TO YOU – USE BAIT IF NECESSARY (LAW 8)
9) WIN THROUGH YOUR ACTIONS, NEVER THROUGH ARGUMENT (LAW 9)
10) LEARN TO KEEP PEOPLE DEPENDENT ON YOU (LAW 11)
11) POSE AS A FRIEND, WORK AS A SPY (LAW 14)
12) CRUSH YOUR ENEMY TOTALLY (LAW 15)
13) USE ABSENCE TO INCREASE RESPECT AND HONOR (LAW 16)
14) DO NOT COMMIT TO ANY ONE (LAW 20)
15) PLAY A SUCKER TO CATCH A SUCKER – SEEM DUMBER THAN YOUR MARK (lAW 21)
16) RE-CREATE YOUR SELF (LAW 25)
17) KEEP YOUR HANDS CLEAN (LAW 26)
18) PLAY TO PEOPLE’S FANTASIES (LAW 32)
19) MASTER THE ART OF TIMING (LAW 35)
20) DISDAIN THINGS YOU CANNOT HAVE: IGNORING THEM IS THE BEST REVENGE (LAW 36)
21) DESPISE THE FREE LUNCH (LAW 40)
22) STRIKE THE SHEPERD AND THE SHEEP WILL SCATTER (LAW 42)
23) DISARM AND INFURIATE WITH THE MIRROR EFECT (LAW 44)
24) NEVER APPEAR TOO PERFECT (LAW 46)

Now having stated these “laws”, it is clear that many of them would have been learned – to varying degrees of success – by DLP leaders like the late Errol Barrow and Cameron Tudor, who was labelled by some as the Kingmaker, the present Prime Minister, David Thompson, and BLP leaders like the late Tom Adams, and former Prime Minister, Owen Arthur, or the particular Machiavellian political psychological behaviour synonymous with these “laws” – with a view to doing exactly or almost exactly what these “laws” require of them or to find vindication in these “laws”. Most of these “laws” would have been carried out by these and other leaders in the country, and by some of their underlings/followers, or through the same Machiavellian political psychological behaviour altogether designed to promote – almost successfully – the cult of the leader/ and the virtual maximum leader of the parties and governments concerned.

But, such events or scenarios as described just above must be placed in a wider global, political, social, historical, environmental, biological arena – meaning, then, that – whether we are here in Barbados or elsewhere, these “laws” will be relevant or made relevant owing to the fact that human beings almost everywhere, whether Black, White, Brown, Yellow, poor or rich, male or female, and whether found within  various institutions, processes and organizations, are filled with envy, jealousy, greed, malice, are power hungry, self-centered, controlling, etc. even if some of them pretend not to be so, such that by these very facts no human engineered laws any where would have been  able to on the whole stop these attributes from in whatever ways being directed against one another other than they themselves – thus endless conflict and tension.

But, even these so-called 48 Laws of Power – it can be argued – are based on the writer’s or by extension the human being’s foibles, fears, anxieties, and prejudices. However, to get back to Barbados – some commenters on here or readers of this article must remember the days when Tom Adams neutralized Don Blackman. They must remember too when Errol Barrow abolished local government as some said to get the “rid” of E D Mottley. When Barrow said after he was Sandi, then Richie, and how after them any other number can play.

Owen Arthur and his demoting of Mia Mottley after it was found in a so-called national public opinion poll that she was gaining in so-called popularity. And David Thompson’s fatted calf perspective and his undermining of Clyde Mascoll’s leadership in the DLP. And there are innumerable other instances of deceptive, seductive, manipulative, big stick Machiavellian politics being played out here in Barbados  – too numerous to mention here.

Finally, it is clear that Machiavellian politics plays a significant role in the political mystique and drama presented in some of the political power plays in this country; in the fomenting of political deceit, skulduggery and rivalry among political combatants in all political spheres, and in the manipulative conditioning of the political structures of this country.

So, it is high time that the broad masses and middle classes on the whole get to sufficiently understand these types of behaviours almost whenever they are seen or felt or perceived by them, and with a view to turning the tables on these so-called leaders, the damned DLP and the Blasted BLP, and any others that have long practiced this type of devious politics.

18 responses to “The Machiavellian Face Of Barbadian Politics”

1. The following was submitted as a preamble to the article above.

In our first article last Thursday, we did promise that "every Thursday on this BU blog, many fellow commenters and visitors alike can look forward to various articles on many issues and concerns and perspectives affecting or related to the broad masses and middle classes of people, or some sub-national group of individuals, or any individual in this country."

And we did promise as well that "as part of its substantial desire to broaden its political social focus and base – the party ( will be) submitting for publication socially oriented articles, ones dealing primarily with so-called economics, finance, legal issues, the youth, the elderly, the disabled, history, health issues, cultural happenings, entertainment, sports, etc, whether they are based on events taking place sub/nationally, regionally or internationally."

So, here we are again at 9.:35 pm, on this wet Wednesday night, at our political base, and on this BU blog site, chiselling and chipping away at this article to be submitted to David/BU for publication later.
    Honestly, we don’t know what time we are going to finish, but we will finish nevertheless.

But, before, we proceed to the focus of this week’s topic we must formally thank David, Jeff Cumberbatch, Yardbroom, Crusoe, Jokers, Carson C. Cadogan, Bush Tea, Tell Me Why, Fireman, Anonymous, Raymond, Fair Play, Chris Halsall, Flavour of the Month, St. George’s Dragon, Sargeant, Political Party, Eric "Fly" Sealy and ac – for playing very special roles in the aftermath of last Thursday’s historic achievement – our very first column in any print media outlet.

For, without all of your ensuing contributions – nevermind the differences of opinions – the thread would NOT have been such a moderate success.
    We want to express thanks also to those who would have been simply reading that first article, but who for whatever reasons up to this time have not posted or blogged anything under this thread.

So, sincere thanks to you all.

2. St George's Dragon Avatar

“Say all you have to say in the fewest possible words, or your reader will be sure to skip them; and in the plainest possible words or he will certainly misunderstand them.”

John Ruskin (1819 – 1900)

3. @PDC, ask David yo tell you how many persons read your post and the length of time they spent. Why, dont you listen Mark ? You would be a dictator if ever you became elected. Sorry to say but true. Now respond with a whole book

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Thanks for the mention.

5. THE PHILOSOPHY BEHIND MACHIAVELLIAN POLITICS

By any means necessary -do whatever it takes to keep your power and extend your power-base..

George H. Sabine in his book – A History of Political Theory, 3rd Edition, (New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, Inc., 1961), p. 339 states that:

“This is Machiavelli’s most conspicuous quality. He writes almost wholly of the mechanics of government, of the means by which states may be made strong, of the policies by which they can expand their power, and of the errors that lead to their decay or overthrow. Political and military measures are almost the sole objects of his interest, and he divorces these almost wholly from religious, moral, and social considerations, except as the latter affect political expedients. The purpose of politics is to preserve and increase political power itself, and the standard by which he judges it is its success in doing this. Whether a policy is cruel or faithless or lawless he treats for the most part as a matter of indifference, though he is well aware that such qualities may react upon its political success. He often discusses the advantages of immorality skillfully used to gain a ruler’s ends, and the most part he is not so much immoral as non-moral. He simply abstracts politics from other considerations and writes of it as if it were and end in itself.”

6. CHAPTER 28 of “The Prince”: CONCERNING THE WAY IN WHICH PRINCES SHOULD KEEP FAITH – Machiavelli writes:

“Alexander VI did nothing else but deceive men, nor ever thought of doing otherwise, and he always found victims; for there never was a man who had greater power in asserting, or who with greater oaths would affirm a thing, yet would observe it less; nevertheless his deceits always succeeded according to his wishes, because he well understood this side of mankind.”

“Therefore it is unnecessary for a prince to have all the good qualities I have enumerated, but it is very necessary to appear to have them. And I shall dare to say this also, that to have them and always to observe them is injurious, and that to appear to have them is useful; to appear merciful, faithful, humane, religious, upright, and to be so, but with a mind so framed that should you require not to be so, you may be able and know how to change to the opposite.”

“And you have to understand this, that a prince, especially a new one, cannot observe all those things for which men are esteemed, being often forced, in order to maintain the state, to act contrary to faith, friendship, humanity, and religion. Therefore it is necessary for him to have a mind ready to turn itself accordingly as the winds and variations of fortune force it, yet, as I have said above, not to diverge from the good if he can avoid doing so, but, if compelled, then to know how to set about it.”

“For this reason a prince ought to take care that he never lets anything slip from his lips that is not replete with the above-named five qualities, that he may appear to him who sees and hears him altogether merciful, faithful, humane, upright, and religious. There is nothing more necessary to appear to have than this last quality, inasmuch as men judge generally more by the eye than by the hand, because it belongs to everybody to see you, to few to come in touch with you.”

“Every one sees what you appear to be, few really know what you are, and those few dare not oppose themselves to the opinion of the many, who have the majesty of the state to defend them; and in the actions of all men, and especially of princes, which it is not prudent to challenge, one judges by the result.”

“For that reason, let a prince have the credit of conquering and holding his state, the means will always be considered honest, and he will be praised by everybody because the vulgar are always taken by what a thing seems to be and by what comes of it; and in the world there are only the vulgar, for the few find a place there only when the many have no ground to rest on.”

“One prince* of the present time, whom it is not well to name, never preaches anything else but peace and good faith, and to both he is most hostile, and either, if he had kept it, would have deprived him of reputation and kingdom many a time.” * (Maximilian I, Holy Roman Emperor)

7. William L. Shirer, in his book “The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich”, (New York: Ballantine Books, 1960) p. 345-346 argues that “Machiavelli, “openly sanctioned the use of cruelty, perfidy, murder, or any other means, provided only they are used with sufficient intelligence and secrecy to reach their ends”

On p. 344, Shirer further contends that Machiavelli advocated that it was actually good to have opposing forces in conflict within a society as long as they were kept in check by the power of the ruler. He argues that:

“The rivalry of patricians and plebeians in Rome, Machiavelli regarded as the secret of Roman strength. From it was born the independence and sturdiness of character that supported the greatness of Rome. When directed by wise rulers, having great but lawful authority, the virility that made turbulence possible became a chief reason why the Romans were a war-like, conquering people. For this reason Machiavelli stated again the ancient theory of the mixed or balanced constitution… The balance which he had in mind, however, was not political but social or economic – an equilibrium of competing interests held in check by a powerful sovereign.”

8. Oh Lord, KH presumptuous enuff to give somebody – albeit lowly PDC – writing tips. Lord come fuh yuh worl’, do!

BTW Dave, the Nation like they write u a nasty letter ’bout reproducin the offerings from KH on BU cos I don’t see them litterin’ this site anymore. Meantime, PDC mekkin the best use of the opportuity u gi’ dem.

Lord de irony too sweet, nuh!

9. @Anonymous

No letter received as suggested. Can’t speak for KH.

@TB

To bring it home can we say that the politics of The Prince is practiced in Barbados?

10. Green & Elffers’ – THE 48 LAWS OF POWER based on Machiavellian philosophy in my opinion is missing an additional [2] LAWS AS ESPOUSED BY 50 CENTS…

* Law 1 Never Outshine the Master
    * Law 2 Never put too Much Trust in Friends, Learn how to use Enemies
    * Law 3 Conceal your Intentions
    * Law 4 Always Say Less than Necessary
    * Law 5 So Much Depends on Reputation. Guard it with your Life
    * Law 6 Court Attention at all Cost
    * Law 7 Get others to do the Work for you, but Always Take the Credit
    * Law 8 Make other People come to you, use Bait if Necessary
    * Law 9 Win through your Actions, Never through Argument
    * Law 10 Infection: Avoid the Unhappy and Unlucky
    * Law 11 Learn to Keep People Dependent on You
    * Law 12 Use Selective Honesty and Generosity to Disarm your Victim
    * Law 13 When Asking for Help, Appeal to People’s Self-Interest, Never to their Mercy or Gratitude
    * Law 14 Pose as a Friend, Work as a Spy
    * Law 15 Crush your Enemy Totally
    * Law 16 Use Absence to Increase Respect and Honor
    * Law 17 Keep Others in Suspended Terror: Cultivate an Air of Unpredictability
    * Law 18 Do Not Build Fortresses to Protect Yourself. Isolation is Dangerous
    * Law 19 Know Who You’re Dealing with. Do Not Offend the Wrong Person
    * Law 20 Do Not Commit to Anyone
    * Law 21 Play a Sucker to Catch a Sucker. Seem Dumber than your Mark
    * Law 22 Use the Surrender Tactic: Transform Weakness into Power
    * Law 23 Concentrate Your Forces
    * Law 24 Play the Perfect Courtier
    * Law 25 Re-Create Yourself
    * Law 26 Keep Your Hands Clean
    * Law 27 Play on People’s Need to Believe to Create a Cult-like Following
    * Law 28 Enter Action with Boldness
    * Law 29 Plan All the Way to the End
    * Law 30 Make your Accomplishments Seem Effortless
    * Law 31 Control the Options: Get Others to Play with the Cards you Deal
    * Law 32 Play to People’s Fantasies
    * Law 33 Discover Each Man’s Thumbscrew
    * Law 34 Be Royal in your Own Fashion: Act like a King to be treated like one
    * Law 35 Master the Art of Timing
    * Law 36 Disdain Things you cannot have: Ignoring them is the best Revenge
    * Law 37 Create Compelling Spectacles
    * Law 38 Think as you Like but Behave Like Others
    * Law 39 Stir up Waters to Catch Fish
    * Law 40 Despise the Free Lunch
    * Law 41 Avoid Stepping into a Great Man’s Shoes
    * Law 42 Strike the Shepherd and the Sheep will Scatter
    * Law 43 Work on the Hearts and Minds of Others
    * Law 44 Disarm and Infuriate with the Mirror Effect
    * Law 45 Preach the Need for Change, but Never Reform too much at Once
    * Law 46 Never Appear Perfect
    * Law 47 Do not go Past the Mark you Aimed for; In Victory, Learn when to Stop
    * Law 48 Assume Formlessness

Source: Perdue University

* LAW 49 BE AS CUT-THROAT AS NECESSARY TO EFFECT THE DESIRED ENDS
    * LAW 50 “GET RICH” OR “DIE TRYING”

This is the world ruled by the philosophy of Machiavellian politics…

11. @ DAVID

To answer your question in one word – “YES”!!!!

12. HERE IS A PIVOTAL EXAMPLE OF POLITICS GONE COMPLETE, STARK, RAVING MAD!!!

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/video/2010/jul/29/afghanistan-war-us-military

13. Give Us Your Lavishly Rich, Your Xenophobic by Paul Buchheit

Immigrants. Taking our jobs and public assistance. The cause of all our problems.

But it’s not true. We’re blaming people who are struggling day-by-day to survive on their own or support their families, while we applaud a system that allows a financial expert to make enough money to pay the salaries of 50,000 police officers.

Here are some facts:

The Census Bureau and the World Wealth Report 2010 both report increases for the top 5% of households even during the current recession.

Based on Internal Revenue Service figures, the richest 1% have TRIPLED their cut of America’s income pie in one generation.

In 1980 the richest 1% of America took one of every fifteen income dollars. Now they take THREE of every fifteen income dollars. That’s a TRILLION extra dollars a year.

Some ultra-rich individuals, like hedge fund managers David Tepper and John Paulson, made $4 billion in a year (on most of which they paid only a 15% CAPITAL GAINS “TAX” RATE).

This is enough to pay the salaries of every public school teacher in New York City.

But we blame the immigrants instead of the people taking unimaginable amounts of money from society.

Howard Zinn wrote about the petty thieves who go to jail for crimes averaging $1000 per offense, while sophisticated financial insiders get probation for swindling millions from the system. The only difference now is that it’s “legal” to use financial trickery to divert funds from education and infrastructure to a few well-positioned money managers.

The way it’s supposed to work, say the free-market tax-me-not supply-side trickle-down tea-party advocates, is that the rich will create jobs and stimulate the economy by investing in new production.

But the richest 1%, who used to take $7 of every $100 of America’s income, have increased that to $20 of every $100 in just one generation.

To put it another way, if the bottom 90% had shared in America’s prosperity at a level consistent with 1980 incomes, the average middle-class family would be making $45,000 a year instead of $35,000.

And it’s not just the rich individuals, but also the corporations that are taking money meant for jobs and public needs. Fareed Zakaria noted in Newsweek that the 500 largest non-financial companies are sitting on $1.8 trillion in uninvested cash.

Zinn said change will occur only through direct action by the people, as occurred in the 1960s and 1970s. The poor foreigner is not the enemy. It’s the person or corporation who siphons money away from the rest of us while supporting our irrational fears through the media and the military.

Give us your tired, your poor.

Give us your manipulator of finances.

Paul Buchheit is a faculty member in the School for New Learning at DePaul University.

14. @TMB… It’s amazing, isn’t it?

We are constantly told by the media to be scared. That we should be afraid.

Immigrants will take your jobs! The “terrorists” just killed “x” number of people in “y”! The financial sky is falling!!!

And, yet, somehow, the rich just keep getting richer, and the poor keep getting poorer…

[A call-out to Kiki] There’s a song in there somewhere… Perhaps by Leonard Cohen?

15. G.C.Brathwaite Avatar

Wow! It seems as though the PDC writes for the brilliant or those who pretend to be that way. Now after the lengthy the piece, give me an analysis because I got lost in the reproductions of renaissance and the actualities of contemporary times. Bring it home Mr. Adamson. What is the point? What are the implications? If it could be done, what do you propose to influence changes? I am an avid reader, brilliance I leave for others.

16. I have some Laws of my own that stop all that psychotic thinking and thinkers in the tracks

Machiavelllian Principle only on works with those who subscript to relativity logic

The Solution

Exterminate immediate the Prince him self

take no fear , has he is human too

THAT IS

CLEAN HOUSE

Accommodate No excuses

17. To: Mr George Brathwaite

First of all, thanks to you for making a contribution under this thread.

Secondly, though, we are FAR FROM writing for the brilliant or for those who pretend to be so.

We are really writing for those who have the necessary wisdom and understanding, and the will power to be that way. Thus, all and sundry on here.

But, with so much knowledge at our people’s finger tips esp. ON LINE, with there being in existence – as well – ON LINE encyclopedias, dictionaries, many ON LINE text book issues, many commentaries by so many people on so many subjects ON LINE; with there being the National Library Service in Barbados to be accessed and used by “all and sundry” for purposes of reading, researching and writing on an abundance topics; with so many scholarly people – like yourself – around to accept invitations by certain local radio, tv station representatives, to come and participate whenever in certain on air discussion events, say via the call in program on a structured discussion, or say via the People’s Business, or simply around to be approached to give answers to certain questions – with so much formal education indoctrination still being provided in this country, from the primary to the secondary to the tertiary; with ON LINE or distance learning programs ( local/external) available to a great many people in Barbados, more now than before; with the informal education process in the country ( featuring more information – less indoctrination) involving, say, the distribution of things like DVDs/CDs that provide plenty information data on very important topics, and involving things like the provision of a fair amount of content that is put on BU blog by people going by pseudonyms like Georgie Porgie, Terence Blackett, Green Money, wherefore much important valuable information on many health racial political issues is found; still itself – this informal education process – playing a very important role in the education of a host of our Barbadian people; and with so many more sources of providing and analysing knowledges and information on various areas of human and other animal life, plant life, etc. with multifarious techniques and methods present to help source, evaluate and present these knowledges/information – altogether now more than say 50 years ago, must mean therefore that we in the PDC are NOT writing for the brilliant or those who pretend to be so.

Mr. Braithwaite, there would hardly be the idea of any person being/ really brilliant anywhere, anytime, if many others were to really see/define brillance in a very broad liberal manner but still in a relatively restricted sense.

So, for us – the PDC – the noesis/ideation of who is NOT as brilliant as first or later thought, or the idea of who is NOT as brilliants as others in the latter’s own time the latter’s own areas of skill expertise when contrasted with the former, and more definitely the accepting by us of noesis of the learning curve in human lives generally – NOT who IS brilliant – are becoming more and more EVIDENT, and becoming learning points to us in PDC, with the popularization of knowledge/information/means/methods and the understanding of and meaning given to such knowledge/information/means/methods across the world, especially.

Therefore, with the coming into existence of this process of the popularization of these things, there would have also been the necessary and certain inclusion of the obvious propagation of countless, counter-displays and demonstrations globally that have – in many ways and types – been signifying the essentialily of the fact that much of what has long been put out there/here ( theories, models, perspectives, themes) – well, before this process of the popularization of those sources/means (esp alternative ones) would have been started – would have been so put out there/here mainly for ideological personal POLITICAL CONTROL purposes in satisfaction of the informing/indoctrinating/educating of the essentialist perspectives, agendas, schemes of those of “a few” as against those of the masses globally.

But, the very real tragedy of such old tactics and trends in intellectualism and pseudo-scientifism universally is that the authors/creators co-authors/creaters/producers/co-producers/publishers/co-publishers would have been strongly believing – and in many many ways, falsely so – that they themselves would have been speaking with significant real or imagined supposed authority, or speaking on the bases of or from positions of real or supposed authority – notwithstanding there being no real legitimacy for or a real legitimate basis for doing these things from the broad masses and middle classes.

However, with the internet and so on becoming more and more entrenched in the minds of billions across the world and with there being the pervasiveness of social interaction among hundreds of millions, the masses and middle classes in Barbados must make greater political use – at this juncture (early 2000s) – of the opportunities/advantages afforded by those developments, to really do so much more to CHALLENGE AND OVER THROW SUCCESSFULLY these mainly FAKE and SPURIOUS intellectual informational educational authorities ( local ones) who have largely been about their own personal ideological social financial agendas schemes and those of the elites/few, and who have CLEARLY NOT been ABOUT REALLY AND TRULY SUBSTANTIALLY TRUTHFULLY EDUCATING THE MASSES.

Examine the RECENT WIKILEAKS’s “informational put through” to the world involving the release by WIKILEAKS/Dr. Julian Assange of mounds and mounds of so-called classified sensitive US military information on the war in Afghanistan!!!! and you will see the point that we are making here about using the available technological advances in information acquistion, collation and information communicaton to tell “the world” the TRUTH” wherever possible.

And thirdly, the latter point brings us to your question about what was the point of our lead article: entitled the Machiavellian face of Barbadian politics, journeying through Europe’s renaissance era, right up through contemporary Europe – we suppose??

Mr. Brathwaite, the point of the artcile – if we get you correctly – was in fact summed up in the last paragraph of the article itself – re the statement that “it is high time that the broad masses and middle classes on the whole get to sufficiently understand these types of (machiavellian) behaviours almost whenever they are seen or felt or perceived by them, and with a view to turning the tables on these so-called leaders, the damned DLP and the Blasted BLP, and any others that have long practiced this type of devious politics.”

So, the TRUTH elements embraced in the 48 Laws of Power, and the TRUTH PROPOSITIONS about Machiavellian politics on the whole, and in particular the TRUTH about its role in a variegated multi-sectoral Barbados politics, and the VERY IMPORTANT SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGICAL VALUE that is or can be arrived at, or derived from, in finding ways and means to establishing and revealing them as much as possible in the eyes of the average Barbadian, must be situations that must first be properly understood and rehearsed and learned, and thereafter then that must be very much seen and used by the broad masses and middle classes as ways of helping to greater define and strengthen our CRITICAL THINKING POWERS, our SIXTH SENSE SPIRITUAL POWERS and our wider knowledge base, such that when there is or in anticipation of behaviour synonymous with Greene’s 48 Laws or Machiavellian political pychology, we the traditionally non-esoteric minded broad masses and middle classes would know how to respond experientially with some ALMIGHTY SWORDS of our own FOREVER against those practitioners of machiavellian political psychology in the old traditional DLP and the BLP, in the churches, in the masonic lodges, trade unions, in corporations, etc. in Barbados, who have traditonally been using this machiavellian political psychology to NOT ONLY blatantly violate many of those standards of decency and fairness and many of those moral ethical religious traditions, teachings and principles that have been long found in Barbados, BUT ALSO to therefore ABUSE and MISUSE their power and authority to secure greater money, material and other advantages for themselves and a few others – whilst disadvantaging and depriving so many others, and to construct, or worse yet to concoct, their own hollow, tension-filled edifices of liedness and deceit, conspiracy, corruption and manipulation.

So, the ultimate design is building a newer, better and more informed, educated and responsible political education culture in Barbados – minus the defeated vanquished old DLP/BLP churchical social order, and one that is greater conditioned by the masses and middle classes making effective use of greater wisdom and understanding, of greater knowledge of light and darkness, and of greater use of the greater values of right and merit and excellence.

Thank You.