Submitted by Inkwell

Prime Minister David Thompson (l) Political Strategist Hartley Henry (r)

Hartley Henry, the political advisor to the Democratic Labour Party in his article published April 15th 2010 under the heading “Irksome Realities” stated inter alia:

“Scores of road contracts were awarded companies that existed only in name and they were some individuals who received contracts to build roads and repair bridges that had not the slightest concept of how such should have been done. The result today is a plethora of unfinished projects in rural Barbados, for which monies have been paid in full but which will now have to be completed by this administration.”

In response, I wrote:

“Now here, surely, is an area where we can move from the realm of innuendo and allegation to the safety of evidence and fact. If you are a government and you sign a contract with Mr. X for the building of a bridge at Y place and pay the full amount of the contract, stupid though that may be, and Mr. X does not complete the bridge, he is in breach of the contract and you have recourse in law. Take Mr. X to court. You have the cancelled cheques. Recover the money paid to Mr. X. Use it to complete the bridge. That’s really simple, isn’t it? Why after two years has it not been done? And why are you still complaining?

And who awarded the contract? Was it done in accordance with the rules? And if the rules were broken, is anyone accountable? Or will it be just another item in the Auditor General’s report? more grist for the politicians’ mill?

I’d like some answers, not just more slurs on the previous administration. Would anyone else? In fact, in our supposed democracy, I am entitled to answers. Or does the author’s commitment not extend that far?”

Two additional months have elapsed and of course I have had no answers. I will go further to state that since the evidence to support the allegations would have to be available and since the Government has done nothing (of which we are aware) to prosecute such corruption, it stands guilty of complicity in that corruption, in addition to engaging in willful wastage of taxpayers’ money in expending further funds to complete the unfinished projects as Mr. Henry claims, when such monies ought to be recoverable or the contractors held legally liable.

If there is no evidence to support Mr. Henry’s allegations, then they fall squarely under the offenses of lies and libel and he should be called to account for it. There can be no equivocation. One of two things must be true:

Either Hartley Henry is a liar or the Government is complicit in corruption.

Which is it? It is time we demand answers. One way or another, this nonsense has to stop.

66 responses to “Either Hartley Henry Is A Liar Or The Government Is Complicit In Corruption”

1. Straight talk Avatar

@ Bajan Truth

I have no agenda, exactly as you proclaim not to have.

“Once your argument is challenged you cannot adequately and honestly defend it.
    Please let us deal in facts and reason”

I have stated the facts as you requested, and you refused to counter these, even though you said “More facts and I will be with you. Who you think you can fool?”

I can back up my statements with facts, and you apparently cannot.

“If my contributions are untruthful, flawed in their reason, unfair in their conclusions argue that point.”

I have done and you refuse to offer the counter proof of larger companies operating through an unproved entityl or as I believe it may be one or two individuals capitalizing on an open ended multi-million dollar project.

“When you check a person’s reference you check the previous projects they have done.”

I did, you haven’t, check the facts, get the info and let us know, before making a fool of yourself.

“How you know it only got in a desk and chair, you work there.”

I checked them out, it took ten minutes, I don’t need the governing coterie of Barbados, or yardfowls as you to tell me what to think, I am a free man.

Once that is done well I am prepared to acknowledge and change my position. The question is, are you?

Well are you?

Now.

2. @ Enuff

Oh dear, is it a desk and chair company or is it a pipeline builder? Could it be they do construction in more than one area, or do construction in specialised areas. I once knew a company that built wooden furniture and did glass work too; another did chicken and also had a company that made clothes. Since that doing two different types of specialties is a crime, lock them up.

Mind you there may be a problem but you do not have the facts, get them. I knew a magistrate that was real anxious to lock up a lawyer, a politician or a policeman. So he would tell the defendants, those who are guilty sit on the left and those who are innnocent sit on the right, but bejinks if I find any of wunnah over on the right guilty, wunna going up today. A few would crawl over to the left. You need a magistrate like this when you find any BLP person you can get your hands on, or Veco, or whoever. If you look hard I am sure you will find some.

3. Truth is stranger than fiction,Check the above comments. Weirddooooooooooooo

4. @ Straight Talk

Sorry did not realise that was your compelling evidence. I now realise you do not know what an SRL was. You should reread your info. It is as you said a type of offshore company to limit taxation and liabilty of wealthy individuals, nothing sinster or dishonest. Perfectly legal. You need to show they are laundering money or something, yuh think; or that it is illegal for the go’vt to enter into contracts with them. They do not have to execute the function, they get their real operating company to do the work. Thousands are registered in Caribbean offshore jursidictions and I think quite a few in Barbados. Read below. Try not to follow HH he will mislead you and cause you to make a jackass of yourself, when you really want to be a thoroughbred. I am sure your mother warn you about the company you keep.Further reading on this matter will do wonders for your understanding.
    ====================================
    Excerpt taken from B’dos offshore website.

Barbados Societies with Restricted Liability
    The Society with Restricted Liability (SRL) is similar to the Limited Liability Company in a number of other jurisdictions – it is designed to allow US taxpayers to claim individual tax treatment ON THEIR PARTICIPATION IN AN ENTITY WHICH IS TREATED AS A CORPORATION IN ITS OWN JURSIDICTION

SRLs are formed under the Societies with Restricted Liability Act 1995, and have the following characteristics:

a maximum duration of 50 years (this restriction was removed by a legislative amendment in 2004);
    limited liability for the members;
    legal personality in Barbados;
    restrictions on the transferability of shares (called quotas);
    SRLs do not need to have any physical presence in Barbados, but must maintain a local registered agent and registered office; they are classed as exempt or non-exempt.

Exempt SRLs are subject to the same limitations on ownership and trading as International Business Companies (see above) and receive the same tax treatment (see Offshore Legal and Tax Regimes). A legislative amendment in 2004 permitted Exempt SRLs to trade within Caricom.

Non-exempt SRLs can trade within Caricom and Barbados, and are not subject to the ownership limitations that apply to IBCs. They can take advantage of tax treaties (not open to IBCs or exempt SRLs.)

============================================
    Now if VECO is registered in B’dos it would be against the law for the gov’t to enter a contract with them, offshore in B’dos is not allowed to do so. So if the address is not a Barbados address then you lucked out, but if it is reigstered here, man you got ammunition. Press on

5. @ Straight Talk
    Went back to get the exact website address for you. Better to read for yourself, won’t get hoodwinked. There are sad rogues misleading people with flawed arguments. Ac you could read it too. tell me how it strikes you.
    http://www.lowtax.net/lowtax/html/jbcos.html

6. Straight talk Avatar

Answer the questions, oh ye seeker of truth,

Was 3S an established company prior to thir award of the highway project?

Was their registered office not a serviced suite?

Had they no track record of any sort?

Were they references by any trade journals?

Were they even listed in their local Yellow Pages?

How did the GOB find these non-entities?

Answer any of the above truthfully, or change your handle.

You are a disgrace to your country.

7. Related articles for bedside reading:

Artificial pancreas breakthrough offers solution for health

Apr 16, 2010 Artificial pancreas breakthrough offers solution for health effects of eating artificial food.

http://www.naturalnews.com/028595_artificial_pancreas_diabetes.html

Confirmed: Steve Jobs Underwent Partial Removal of Pancreas in

Jan 16, 2009 Confirmed: Steve Jobs Underwent Partial Removal of Pancreas in 2004, May Need Total Removal Now.

http://www.naturalnews.com/News_000671_Steve_Jobs_pancreatic_cancer_ surgery.html

pancreatic cancer news and articles

8/5/2009 – (NaturalNews) Cancer of the pancreas, the large organ located horizontally behind the bottom part of the stomach, typically spreads quickly and

http://www.naturalnews.com/pancreatic_cancer.html

8. @ST

You have a solid position which can be defended easily.

A government entrusted with spending taxpayers dollars cannot* and should not* enter transactions with companies which have fly by night track records. In fact most companies which have to circulate ‘Requests for Proposals’ will have some basic criteria which companies hoping to win the contract are suppose to meet. Usually a key item in the criteria is a list of customers which the company would have worked for. Usually these companies are approached for references. 3S SRL would have been in no* position to deliver on this basic requirement.

9. Straight talk Avatar

Thank you David for your support,

I would really like “Bajan Truth” to come up with the facts, whicn would allay my fears that this was a set-up to fleece Barbadians.

If not so I would be interested in hearing his evidence to the contrary.

10. @ Bajan Truth

I was merely highlighting the hypocrisy of Sargeant.

11. @ Straight Talk

Are we at cross purposes? The questions about Veco & 3S were raised by others, making charges about their honesty or suggesting they are not above board. I did not make a case for their honesty or the BLP gov’ts honesty in dealing with them. I asked for the facts so I could ascertain whether there is a case or not. I am not claiming their innocence but in the interest of truth I cannot make charges without the facts. Can you? You needed to do the research.

What did you come up with.? It is an SRL. SRL is not equivalent to dishonest, shady, not competent to function or not bona fide. An SRL is an offshore special purpose entity whose sole function is to help wealthy individuals, who continue to make money through other companies executing projects to save on their taxes. It is known as TAX AVOIDANCE (legal) NOT TAX EVASION (crime). All that is required is a registered office -desk and chair – in a jurisdiction that offers registration of SRLs. America, C’bbean, Liechenstein etc. Go to Peat marwick ( where Darcy was a partner) or any of the other local accounting firm and you will see hundreds of names of offshore companies etc that are supposed to be operating from their office. It is a legal fiction to allow accounting procedures to take place, no production operations. None of these will be listed in the yellow pages in any jurisidction because they are not an operating company, just a legal convenience.

These entities are linked to other corporations that have the operations you were looking for, a factory, administrative office, equipment etc, which has a DIFFERENT NAME. Usually it is persons associated to linked entity that create the SRL when they are making too much money and therefore get taxed hard. The linked entity has the track record not the SRL. it has all the things you would be looking for to feel it is a bonafide company. It is that company that would execute the work and the one that the due diligence would or should be executed on.

To make it simple. It is like this blog. We all have our names GP, ST, Sarge bonny, but that is not really us. It is a special purpose vehicle to allow us to discuss, vent and for some curse freely about issues we care about. If someone wanted to do a due diligence on GP as he is the only person so far I heard what his business is, could I check the blog for his reference as a doctor, or find his track record? No. Can I then automatically conclude that he is a fraud and dishonest and no doctor. I cannot check your references on this blog. I would need your real name and base of operations, name of the firm you work for, and there I would see you in action. But you are not a fraud. Similarly neither is an SRL a crime or a fraud by virtue of its existence.

Now having said that, it neither confirms or denies Veco’s honesty.Only the linked entity can be investigated for that. I do not have access to its name or functions, so I have to limit my conclusions on the only facts available to me here in B’dos – did they do a good job; was there any dishonesty or incompetence in its execution? if we have proof of that, then I would help you tear up the earth to find out who they are to get at the criminals who took cookies from the cookie jar.

Now you may still be convinced that it represents a shady deal by the BLP administration and want to base it on the quality of the ‘evidence’ you have before you. Now let us reasonable the BLP will not come out and claim it is a fraud, so it can only come from the DLP. Now seeing that Darcy Boyce was a part of this BLP selection process, and as chairman of BTI under the BLP, approved their selection for the project outlined by David BU, he would have to be deep in the doo doo if you are correct. DLP came to office on the basis of accusing the BLp of corruption in such projects, squandermania etc what does it say about them to have chosen Darcy Boyce to look after our cookie jar? Given your evidence/logic, is it to perform for them what he performed for the BLP? Now that should give you sleepless nights, because the hand might be in the cookie jar while we all are engrossed in the plight of our Prime Minister. It represents gross dereliction of duty, and making a mockery of their campaign, the intelligence of our people and taking the passion and commitment of good Barbadians like yourselves to defend something that is ##^#*** My mother taught me don’t swear for a fellow. I cannot swear for the BLP, but I can tell you to date the evidence has not been presented to lock up somebody, but give it time, what does not happen in a year can happen in a day.

12. @ Enuff

Sorry man. I got carried away.

13. @Enuff

• I was merely highlighting the hypocrisy of Sargeant.
    Just saw the above as I was celebrating July 4th with some of my American family.

Enuff , do yourself a favour and look up the meaning of “hypocrisy” via an online dictionary.
    If seeking to understand the reasons why the B’dos Gov’t provided contracts to unknown foreign entities is “hypocrisy” then your understanding of the word differs substantially from what is generally accepted.

Did I condone the hiring of any “radio personality” to rebuild any industrial factory?

If you want to toady up to Bajan Truth that’s your business, but try to submit a logical coherent argument

14. true… not sure who said this, but it still rings true: It has often been said that power corrupts. But it is perhaps equally important to realize that weakness, too, corrupts. Power corrupts the few, while weakness corrupts the many. Hatred, malice, rudeness, intolerance, and suspicion are the faults of weakness. The resentment of the weak does not spring from any injustice done to them but from their sense of inadequacy and impotence. We cannot win the weak by sharing our wealth with them. They feel our generosity as oppression.

15. We cannot win over the weak by sharing our wealth with them… This is assuming, of course, that we did not accumulate our wealth by stealing from the weak, because, ultimately, there is a price to pay – as recently witnessed.

16. http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/ex-sagicor-manager-off-to-dodds/

Ex-Sagicor manager off to Dodds
    printshare0 comments Roger DaCosta Smith (centre) being escorted to court yesterday to answer theft charges. (Lennox Devonish)
    By Tim Slinger | Sun, July 24, 2011 – 12:11 AM
    FORMER SAGICOR MANAGER Roger DaCosta Smith was remanded to Dodds Prison yesterday when he apppeared in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court on charges of stealing over $1.6 million.

A stoic Smith stood in the dock as Acting Magistrate Manila Renee read out 18 counts of dishonesty, dating from as far back as 2003, and including offences of fraud, money laundering and theft from Sagicor Life Incorporated.

Some of the charges included the purchasing of several thousands of dollars of household furniture and appliances from Courts, DaCosta Mannings and Designer Decor.

An application for bail was set aside when defence counsel Sir Richard Cheltenham, QC, along with Shelly-Ann Seecharan, conceded that prospective bailors for Smith were not able to satisfy the required documented proof of sureties’ assets and worth at the time.

As a result, an agreement was reached for an adjournment until Tuesday for the next hearing of the matter.

Full story in today’s SUNDAY SUN.