Auditor General Leigh Trotman

In  his 2009 report Auditor General (AG) Leigh Trotman listed several findings which not only exposed the inefficiency in many government departments but sadly exposed obvious cases of corruption. One such finding was in the Customs Department. He purports in his 2009 report on page 64 the following:

The audit tests showed that for the financial years 2007-09, in a sample of 67 vehicles, about 41 consigned to individuals were listed in the Customs computerised system ASYCUDA as having been released without the payment of duties.

This action would have resulted in a revenue loss of approximately $447 699 in taxes and would have shown a weakness in the controls established by the department to prevent such activity from occurring.

The finding refers to the Auditor General’s investigation using a sample of 67 cars. Was the AG tipped off which might explain the high number of vehicles in such a small sample found to have been released without duty paid? The AG was interviewed by the local media and assured Barbadians that his investigation will soon be completed and all evidence collected by his department will be handed over to the police if it supports further action.

This is welcomed news and BU looks forward to the prosecution of those within our trusted Customs Department who would have betrayed that trust placed in them by the government and people of Barbados. The matter of clearing vehicles from the Barbados Port Authority with the requisite documentation should be an easy trace for the AG’s department to determine who are the culprits. From where BU sits it appears to be a prima facie matter which should not tax (no pun intended) the authorities too heavily to determine proof. Then again we have become use to when prominent persons are involved in such matters how things can be mysteriously swept under the carpet. How can we forget the touted FBI Report which vanished under the last administration. If what we are hearing is correct the names of some of those who received vehicles without paying duties will make for interesting reading.

The revelation by the AG should be of concern to Barbadians. The Customs Department is not only responsible for collecting revenues for the state but also ensuring items entering the Barbados space are legitimate. In Barbados we currently have a problem with the number of illegal firearms entering the country. Who is to say the same crooked system which has allowed 41 cars out of a sample of 67 from paying duties is not also responsible for allowing shipments of guns to enter the Barbados space consigned as ‘apples’?

In an entirely unrelated matter BU is curious to what has happened to the equipment which was used by the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF) during CWC2007 as part of the security surveillance exercise. It is our understanding the police had in its control then equipment with the functionality to monitor telephone conversations, monitor Internet activity among other activities which many would consider a violation of privacy if used today. Again it would make for interesting reading if Barbadians were to find out this equipment is still being used below the radar.

Who is guarding the guards Commissioner Darwin Dottin?  Who is guarding the guards Prime Minister Thompson/Stuart/Jones?

46 responses to “A Matter Of National Security”

1. “The audit tests showed that for the financial years 2007-09, in a sample of 67 vehicles, about 41 consigned to individuals were listed in the Customs computerised system ASYCUDA as having been released without the payment of duties.” – derived from 3.82 ( Chapter 3, Paragraph 82), pg 57 of the Auditor General Report 2009.

“This action would have resulted in a revenue loss of approximately $447 699 in taxes and would have shown a weakness in the controls established by the department to prevent such activity from occurring.” – derived from 3.83 ( Chapter 3, Pragraph 83 ), pg 57 of the Auditor General Report 2009.

“The review revealed that the relevant release forms were presented to the Port Authority in order for the vehicles to be handed over to the importer. The number of vehicles exiting the Port without the payment of relevant duties suggests that there was either gross negligence or willful attempt to defraud Government by circumventing Customs procedures” 3.84 (Chapter 3 Paragraph 84), pg 57 of the Auditor General Report 2009

David, before we get to the substance of our contribution this morning, we wish to draw to your attention that the particular findings that you referred to in the Auditor General Report 2009, and of which you have reproduced in italics in the above lead thread, contrary to what you have so stated in the said above lead thread, have NOT been taken from page 64 of the same report, but have been taken from page 57 of the said report.

Anyhow, if what has been stated in those paragraphs -3.82 – 3.86 of the Auditor General Report for 2009 – did take place, then the government can get NO SUPPORT FROM the PDC whatsoever. NONE Whatsoever. TAXATION is wrong and evil. Plain and simple.

And if such things happen time and time again, the Government of Barbados WILL still NOT get any support from us no matter what. WRONG is WRONG and EVIL is EVIL, straight and plain!!!

Moreover, we dearly hope and pray that some, if not all, of those persons who the Auditor General alluded to in his 2009 report, that in audit tests carried out revealed failures by them to hand over portions of their incomes to the Customs and Excise Department, and that in checks with the Barbados Licensing Authority have revealed that there is no Customs documentation supporting the licensing of these individuals’ vehicles, are really the types of persons who too are strong enough politically intellectually so much that they should and would see it fit to be among the increasing number of people who are at this stage lending moral political support to our party.

This is just our earnest hope.

Furthermore, it would really be an unfortunate thing that these people would have done so WELL in the past at failing to hand over portions of their incomes to the government, but would now at this stage be found to be exposed and made to look shame for doing NOTHING WRONG if or when investigations are completed and their names become known to the public.

And it would be offsetting too to the PDC – given all that we have done to inform many about the wickedness of TAXATION, if these persons are persons who have long had knowledge of the PDC’s campaign to ABOLISH TAXATION in Barbados and could have in this duration joined us but have simply refused to do so and to thus bring greater strength and vitality to the PDC’s campaign for the Abolition of TAXATION in this country.

But, it seems in these cases where these persons have succeeded so far at failing to hand over portions of incomes to this thieving marauding government, that these persons would have preferred short term ephemeral one-sided money bribing personal victories rather than long term lasting systemic change-oriented national people-centered victories!!!

Worse too for the PDC would be if some – if not all – of these persons are members or supporters of these same damned crooked DLP Governments and blasted BLP Governments that have over the years been on a daily basis wickedly stealing and robbing and evilly dishonestly expropriating countless portions of the incomes from the general income of the relevant individuals, businesses and others in this country – ALL IN THE NAME OF TAXATION – when it has been clear for some while now that there are viable alternatives to this wicked evil anti-production, anti-investment, anti-masses anti-middle classes TAXATION system in the country, and when it is so patently clear too that these corrupt jackass parties MUST GO.

Worst would be if some if not all of these persons are persons who are perceived in any way to be in support of this same dreaded criminal TAXATION system.

Finally, though, how could the Auditor General be so stupidly believing that “the number of vehicles exiting the Port without the payment of relevant duties suggests that there was either gross negligence or willful attempt to defraud Government by circumventing Customs procedures”, when in truth and fact it is the government on whose behalf he works that is so barbarously wickedly demonically on a daily basis stealing from the many incomes of the relevant people and others in this country.

Mr. Trotman is a complete joker to be sanctioning such utter garbage in regard of the immediately above regard, and even when he is clearly dead wrong to have such contained in his report.

2. Donald Duck Esq, Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq,

BU

You need to run a story on clico’s action of withdrawing their 2008 financial statements. They are also late in producing their 2009 financials.

3. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Very good article David, you will remember the Comptroller of Customs reporting that an investigation was launched, I await the outcome but reports are that some very well connected BLP names were the recipients of some of these vehicles as well as the very top brass of a respectable organisation has been pointed out as a holder of one of these unpaid duty free cars, it stinks really it does.

4. Donald Duck Esq, Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq,

HH

Stop the unnuendo and state the names of the persons who received the vehicles.

5. To PDC

HOW WILL RUN A COUNTRY WITHOUT TAXATION

TAXATION by any other name is still Taxation so dont try to trick me and others.

6. @Donald Duck

What would you have BU write on the matter?

@PDC

Are you reading paper or online version.

7. Donald Duck Esq, Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq,

BU

You can quote the nation article of yesterday which said that the 2008 financials were being withdrawn.

You can also remind readers that mr parris promised to go shortly.

8. “TAXATION by any other name is still Taxation so dont try to trick me and others”

That is why we – as well as so many others – know that levies, duties, so-called NIS contributions, the various so-called licensing fees, etc, are TAXATION in Barbados.

There are viable alternatives to TAXATION – that the Government of Barbados can use to arrive at more of its own revenues.

But, no, the Government of Barbados wants to continue wickedly stealing on a daily basis from the general income of the relevant people, businesses and others in this country.

TAXATION is however used primarily by the Government of Barbados to brutally fascistically oppress and suppress the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country.

The primary thrusts of TAXATION are therefore political NOT financial.

Look at the different major Governmental institutions, ministries, departments, incorporations, that are involved at different stages in this inhuman uncivilized enterprise – from the planning and maintaining of TAXATION laws, to the designating of government run buildings to collect them, from the enforcing of TAXATION laws to the meting out of punishment for failure to comply with them – are:

The Parliament of Barbados
    The Cabinet of Barbados
    The Judiciary/Magistracy
    The Central Bank of Barbados
    The Ministry of Finance
    The Ministry of Economic Affairs
    The Treasury Department
    The Inland Revenue Department
    The Land Tax Department
    The Customs and Excise Department
    The VAT Division ( part of the immediately above)
    The NIS Department
    The Barbados Licensing Authority
    The Immigration Department
    The Barbados Port Authority Inc.
    The Grantley Adams International Airport Inc.
    The Public Prosecutions Department
    The Royal Barbados Police Force
    The Prisons Department

All of which – plus more – will either be ABOLISHED OR REFORMED to bring them in line with the implementation by a future PDC Government of a regime of NO TAXATION in Barbados.

To simply show that the primary thrusts of such are political – aimed at suppressing and marginalizing the masses and middle classes locally – rather than so-called financial – stealing income – just these two pieces of circumstantial evidence – and realize that all of the above referred to governmental institutions, ministries, departments, etc play devious roles – in respect of TAXATION THOUGH – in the evidence pointed to –

1) The government’s use of its power and authority to greatly control the life blood of the material production distribution and financial system in the country – the localized money supply – local Barbadian money notes and coins in circulation. This then shows the broad masses and middle classes being stopped by the government from exercising their own initiatives to create and circulate much of their own money – which leads to a substantial lack of money in circulation.

In a roughly eight billion dollar economy just under 800 million dollars in Barbadian money notes and coins in circulation is the height of madness – and worse when the government steals almost half of that eight billion dollars or makes use of just under half of the 800 million dollars in local Barbadian money notes and coins in circulation. Some results – less overall physical activity, travel, less bread and butter, less clothing and shelter, etc – and mainly for the masses and middle classes.

2) The refusal of the government to produce all of its own non-loan non-grant income, even though its has the amounts of lands in its possession, the resources, assets, the strategic presence, the great number of people with great skills under its wings to do so.

The major companies in Barbados have far fewer lands in the possession, resources, assets, less strategic presence, fewer personnel, etc. yet are able to earn their own revenues without TAXING ANYBODY.

TAXATION MUST GO!!!

So, freedom and liberation from TAXATION for the people of Barbados.

We read such information on the pages of that document via the same on-line link you provided in the above lead thread.

9. @PDC

BU has asked you before and we will ask again. Can you cite any existing models or frameworks which your proposal for the abolishment of taxation? You seem to be a big fan of academia yet your repeated calls for getting rid of taxation lacks the robustness of academic review.

In the case of Barbados the model is quite simple.

We have a public sector led economy.

The public sector is dependant on direct and indirect taxes and other for the bulk of its revenue.

The government in turn uses those revenues to commit to certain key expenditures e.g. education, health, transportation, security (police, prison, judiciary etc) and other.

To maintain the current level of life style which includes servicing debt brought forward our brightest economists supported by the Central Bank of Barbados agree there is a shortfall between the level of revenue and our current level of spending.

To bridge the shortfall successive governments have followed a model of debt financing.

Here is our question to PDC:

If you remove the system of direct and indirect tax what will you replace it with and be very specific. Your submissions before when asked this question borders too much on untested theories. If it is a home grown theory you have developed, say so, if you can cite successful models where your proposal has worked, say so.

10. WHO OWN THESE CARS

11. Why waste time with PDC? Did they not also promise to “abolish”exchange rates? As if these are of our making.

How many votes did they get last election with this attractive theory about no tax?

12. David, David,

You head like it really hard. I have explained it all to you before in March, but either you don’t believe that I know what I talking bout or this level of PDC economics is too high for you. I will repeat for your benefit and the benefit of A nonemus above,as you all obviously weren’t paying attention the first time.

Since PDC refuses to do it, I will do my best to explain some of their announced policies for running the country after they win the next election.

1. ABOLISH TAXATION. Boy, things gine be sweet. No income tax, no VAT, no road tax, no land tax. Cost of living coming down by 50%. Government gine provide all the services, free secondary education, free medicals, fix and build new roads, pay the civil servants by printing money with the new printing press they ordering from the New Nighted States. (How they paying for it explained below).

2. INTEREST RATES. All interest rates getting abolish. The new interest rate gine be 0%. That mean that when you deposit you savings in the bank, you getting 0% interest rate. But since inflation also getting abolish, that don’t matter. If you borrow money from the bank, they got to charge you 0% interest rate. No, that wrong, if you borrowing money for productive purposes, you getting 0%. Wait, they can’t LEND you money for productive purposes, they have to GIVE it to you. I forget, you don’t have to pay back a loan, (which is really a grant) which you use for productive purposes. Wait, I getting confuse, since nobody aint depositing nuh money in de bank because they getting 0%, the bank aint got no money to lend (give). No,no, no, that wrong, we gine mek them lend (give) their own money. We passing a law for that. Better yet we gine let them import their own printing press from the New Nighted States so they can print their own damn money. Solve that problem.

Let me skip to number five, since three and four are so simple, any idiot can understand them, and number 5 is really the one that got people confuse.

5. ABOLISH EXCHANGE RATES PARITIES WITH THE BARBADOS DOLLAR.

Now, dis is de biggie. Doan mind all dem foreign countries wanting to sell we tings in Euros or Pounds Sterling or US Dollars. All o dat we abolishing. Let me explain how it gine work as I promise in Number 1. to tell you. When we order the printing press from the New Nighted States to print the money to run the country and they tell we it cost $250,000 New Nighted States Dollars, we telling dem. “Right, doan tell me no shite, we paying you in Barbados dollars, 250,000 of dem, and if you will wait until after we get the printing press, we will pay you IN CASH. You can’t want it better that dat.”

You see, PDC have all the country problems solve.

Down with the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

VOTE PDC

Hope you understand now, David.

What? You waiting for PDC to tell you de same ting before you believe? Steupppse

13. Ha ha ha ha…Inkwell you are right on the money…no pun intented. LOL

14. @Inkwell

Thanks for the explanation must have missed it the first time.

15. @ Inkwell // May 29, 2010 at 3:52 PM

You did an excellent job helping me and hopefully many other viewers to understand PDC’s rationale. Are you their Senior Adviser, or Political Protector?

I must however let you know that the approach makes me nervous. I suggest going back to the table and rethinking your strategy.

16. @ Inkwell

You also have the bushman’s thanks.
    Why could PDC not come out ever since and let us know their strategy? and here I was thinking that they had some idiotic plan……

…..from the bushman’s perspective, the PDC plans (as articulated by Inkwell) now appear to be about as viable as those of the BLP and the DLP.

Right now they have a 33.3% chance of getting the bushman’s vote……. unless of course the PDC now come out against Inkwell and say something REAL foolish…… or real longggg rotfl

17. You all have fallen for the the PDC’s trap: Publicity and Debating.

To even respond to them is a waste of typing

18. @ David
    I have to say that the bushman really has nuff time and respect for the Auditor General Mr Leigh Trotman.
    It has been a while since I have seen such pure GUTS displayed by any official – far less a public official.

It is not difficult to imagine the pressures that are brought to bare on this man,,,,, yet he appears to be unfazed and resolute in standing by the principles of his office……

We need a few more men like that.

Personally, I think that he has done his part. Maybe now BU should have a close look at some of his SPECIFIC findings and invite those ‘in the know’ to expand on the circumstances.

Bush Tea was skeptical about the Fire Service blog for a while – but one wonders if it is not serving a very useful purpose after all…..

…perhaps a few blogs like this based on the AG’s specific findings can be of great national service…..

19. Indeed, the special report on the 3S project which is contained in the report should be required reading for my friend ru4real as well as for Minister John Boyce – if he is indeed looking to take a similar route in dealing with the rumored $50 Million Warrens road upgrade.

20. @BT

What is amazing abut the AG’s findings is the lack of a serious response by the media, callin moderators, her majesty’s opposition (Mia Mottley) and others. Not only has he identified, revenue leakage there is the reasonable conclusion to be drawn this corruption extends in other areas, say guns and drugs for example. We rest for now.

21. Wuhloss, look wuh I gone and do. Now PDC gine really cuss me back up in my muddah.

22. Corruption is ingrained in our system and there is nothing that can be done about it. We will eventually become another piss poor third world country once the borrowing and begging for money is over. We lack the ability and the systems to efficiently utilize the resources we have been able to acquire.

23. @Anonymous

What a damning assessment!

24. “BU has asked you before and we will ask again. Can you cite any existing models or frameworks which your proposal for the abolishment of taxation? You seem to be a big fan of academia yet your repeated calls for getting rid of taxation lacks the robustness of academic review.” David – in the above 9.33 am, May 29, 2010

We the members of the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) believe strongly in the fundamental principle that Barbados – and as many Barbadians as possible – must be seen by many other countries and many other peoples in those countries as leaders, path breakers, standard bearers, etc. in so many areas and endeavours of this ever evolving, more complex global dynamic.

That whether it is in common sense, education, academics, history, politics, law, medicine, engineering, business, finance, spiritualy, the esoterics, humanities, science, technology, arts, culture, sports, entertainment, etc. Barbados and Barbadian people must seek to excel, lead, break paths, and set world beating higher standards in regard of whatever aspects of these global dynamics, no matter who or what are the sources of inspiration, imagination, instrumentation, implementation, and involvement, and from whatever levels of income and wealth categorization, and social, professional, religious class status ranking.

So, therefore we in the PDC have NEVER believed and will NEVER believe in the feckless misconception that we in Barbados have got to look elsewhere to the rest of the world for actual no-TAXATION models, when in truth and in fact what we have long consistently adumbrating producing right here in Barbados and right before your very own eyes and those of so many others in Barbados has been A THEORETICAL MODEL OF A NO TAXATION REGIME FOR BARBADOS.

Very importantly, too, David, if you so desire to, look back and see the sum total so far of what we have long been establishing in so many of our contributions on BU on the subject of NO TAXATION for Barbados – and you would see – in a very historic way ( simply because never before in the history of Barbados has this been ever done), the five (5) following aspects of model development prevaling in this very divine-indigenous relevant rational theoritical model of alternative income generating for the Government of Barbados:

1) The central themes/premises/propositions
    2) The central/underlying assumptions
    3) The fundamental illustrations
    4) The fundamental, destructive flaws of the existing TAXATION model
    4) The conclusions

Furthermore, if you or anyone else understands what theoretical scientific modelling is all about, and, still, you and they would have been in the very least way following our many NO TAXATION related contributions on here, you and they would have realized by now that these five (5) aspects – and even more – would have been at different times welded together and run through in all of these contributions that have been made thus far on here.

And too if you and they would have been following our other activities elsewhere in this country, you and they would have been able to realize that these five (5) aspects would have been also set out in so many of our relevant flyers, platform speeches, our 2006 Pre-Election Manifesto, and in other relevant performances and documents.

So, we have NOT been less than robust in our academics as you so suggest!!

Moreover, too, if you and they know what scientific modelling is all about, you and they would have known also that because the PDC has NOT been in government as yet to put in place this model and to carry out the necessary controlled tests ( experiments ), we have been as a consequence of where we are right now veritably unable to see, to measure, to qualify, to monitor, etc. the imagined real actual overall results ( intended or unintended ) of the revenue alternatives to TAXATION ( some alredy exist just need to be built upon) that will be put in place in the future in this country.

This, therefore, means that we would have had to be unavoidably relying upon theory – which though is necesary if we are to follow the maxim that theory without practice is barren and practice without theory is blind – to convince many persons about our NO TAXATION ideology philosophy .

So, David, what we would have been hoping right now is that you would have been dealing with questions surrounding the mechanics, the operationalisms of the alternative strategies that will have been undergirding such a NO TAXATION, the monumental benefits that will accrue to Barbados and people in Barbados, the entire repositioning and development of Barbados versus those TAXATION jurisdictions, etc. rather than your attempting to thrust much of your argument related to our vision of the ABOLITION of TAXATION weakly towards rendering personal bias, uninformed sentiment and unpedagogic irrelevance

Finally, any of those serious academic review people that you so posited earlier in the above mentioned blog would NOT ONLY agree with us that we have been robustly academic intellectual political informative in putting forward what we have been putting forward on here and elsewhere, but that also many of their kind have been totally unimpressive, wholly weak and absolutely infantile in the entirety of many of their responses – non responses even – to our NO TAXATION MODEL.

But we know that one of the reasons why we have been getting these kinds of reponses and non-responses is because of the fact that they are so indoctrinated with westernism and westernism’s economic TAXATION principles that they are unable to deal properly satisfactorily with this NO TAXATION model, and in public.

Another reason is because these academics are intent on helping keep many of our Barbadian people – esp. the masses and middle classes – in subjection to a lot of Euro-centric filth and garbage.

Nevertheless, we are still eagerly looking forward to collaborating with any positive politically progressive minded academics and intellectuals on the furtherancing of many of our programs.

So, there you go, David.

25. My vote goes to the PDC in 2012.

Brilliant scholarship!

Down with the cursed DLP and BLP!

Up with the PDC!

Theses men should be in Washington. Surely their vision is too much for this small island of Barbados.

26. I’ve now changed my mind.

After looking at all the PDC’s theses on this blog, I haven’t seen ONE proposal for a solution.

Down with the PDC!

27. “To bridge the shortfall successive governments have followed a model of debt financing.” – David in the said 9.33 am, May 29, 2010.

Now our questions to you:

1) have you ever studied very seriously the relationship between this model of deficit financing and TAXATION?

2) are you not seeing vicious cyclic regressivity in that relationship – meaning, then, that the more TAXATION there is, the worse the gross government debt is and that the worse the latter is the more the former?

3) does NOT that tell you too there are clear-cut correlationships between our positing that TAXATION will be abolished and some aspects of our program which speak to making sure that under a future PDC Government INSTITUTIONAL LOANS FOR PRODUCTIVE PURPOSES WILL BECOME NON-REPAYABLE ( for Government and anybody else that qualifies), which speak to making sure that there are MASSIVE REDUCTIONS IN THE PERSONAL, INSTITUTIONAL AND GOVERNMENT DEFICIT DEBT LEVELS IN THIS COUNTRY, and which speak to making sure that there are GREATER LEVELS OF EFFICIENCIES IN THE MONEY SUPPLY FUNCTION in the country.

The fundamental reasons why this model of deficit financing has come about is NOT through a short fall in the so-called revenues and expenditures of the government – as you so suggest – but paradoxically through DLP BLP Monetary Authority dogged but irrational political governmental legal pursuit of this foolishness called Neo/Keynesian economics which has itself failed to address and resolve for:

1) the brute malignant social, political, material, financial and other problems directly caused by the ever expanding size of the government in the country,

2) the massive social, political, material and other problems directly associated with the artificiality the myth of the scarcity problem in the Barbadian society,

3) the horrendous social, political, material and other problems that correlate with broad misunderstanding and broad non-rejecting of the bewilderingly foolish principle that money can NEITHER EVER MAKE MONEY NOR EVER COST MONEY – another myth of tragic epic proportions that is wickedly suggested in Interest Rates Policies on financial instituional loans, institutional bonds, etc in Barbados,

and,

4) for many of the intractable social and other problems caused by the fact that unseemly elitist factional politics largely dominates the broader Laswellian question of who gets what where and how in Barbados.

Thus, so-called Neo/Keysenian economics, the politics, the bureacracy and other things that underpin it have contributed immensely to those many problems.

Also, David, a shortfall (negative) CANNOT CANNOT EVER produce deficit financing ( positive).

You have made an error in logic that too many people often make.

28. I think I’m changing again.

Even if PDC doesn’t have any solutions, at least its representative writes with academic finesse.

29. Ha ha ha ha…Paul, you is a real clown.LOL

30. Long live the PDC!

PDC forever and ever!

31. Thanks PDC!

BTW BY do try to stay away from the jargon, we use words and terms likely to be understood by the ordinary man.

32. Anonymous //

“Corruption is ingrained in our system and there is nothing that can be done about it” This don’t have to be so, if good people keep pushing at the door of good practice and asking for transparency eventually the door will come ajar and from ajar it will fully open but yah have to start somewhere even the FBI had difficulty in being formed, it was not an overnight success, if good people support the auditor general some cracks will appear in the system, you could be surprised as to how much support he might get

33. We have just decided to reproduce for the benefit of the understanding of David, Bush Tea, Paul, A nonemus, EyeSpy, Stephen, Atman, and even our opponent – Inkwell – respectively, and likewise for the benefit of the understanding of all others who post on this BU blog as well as those who simply visit it, an earlier post ( unedited ) which was originally done some time ago on this BU blog in response to a question from Young Bajan on how without TAXATION being in place in Barbados would organizations like the Barbados Water Authority be funded.

This response though dated January 20, 2010, will for a long time remain relevant to us given that the ABOLITION OF TAXATION remains one of our very fundamental axiomatic philosophical ideological planks.

Well, with regard to that particular response this essentially outlined some of the strategies that will undergird a NO-TAXATION regime in Barbados.

Before we actually get to this reproduction however we would like to express our very fervent hope that all these said individuals – BU commenters and visitors alike – will treat to such matters with a greater degree of seriousness, perspecacity and civility primarily because TAXATION is and continues to be a very very serious and dangerous matter in this country called Barbados.

So, here we go

Young Bajan,

You asked the following: PDC, without taxation to fund organisations such as the BWA, how would Bajans get and purify water????

Here is our response. Critically analyse the following briefly outlined theoritical aspects which have been wholly taken from the Barbados Allegiance blog ( of course, with a little editting done), and then tell us and some other commenters on this BU blog what you think.

So, here we go.

There are at least eight strategies ( herein very briefly outlined ) that a PDC Government will put in place to support a NO TAXATION regime and for which ALL other countries across the world will do well to properly understand and accept and to thereafter put in place as perhaps suitable for themselves:

1) A massive reduction in the size and operations of the state – which will mean fewer inefficiencies and duplications and wastages and fewer state expenditures and borrowings – and which will also mean that most of those operations and people that were once part of the state apparatus will have to be conditioned or reconditioned to become part of the private enterprise system of Barbados and thus to become capable or more capable of producing goods, services and income in this sector of the country;

2) The necessary greater use of its partners (formerly workers) and the land, resources, technological and other capacities it would otherwise have under its jurisdiction, as a means of helping it to earn so much more of its own income than presently obtains, within a market framework;

3) The offering of shares to the public in many commercially viable attractive state managed business ventures or commercially viable state/private sector business ventures – this equity financing approach will most likely be a better approach than seeking loan financing as a significant part of start up capital for these ventures;

4) The state having the capacity like Barbadian citizens and Barbadian entitites in this country to borrow money for productive purposes from the core financial system and then later not having to repay such monies. There shall be maximum limits placed on the amount of unused/underused money/value the state will borrow from core financial institutions to finance its activities in any one fiscal year – this being 3 and one half of tenths of GDP at certain rates of annualized growth in real GDP itself – which itself will be in operation between 3 to 7.9 % of real GDP growth – and in most other cases being three tenths of GDP where annualized GDP growth rates exceed 8 % of real GDP, and in very rare circumstances being just above 3 and 1/2 of tenths of GDP but no more than 3 and 3/4 of tenths of GDP, where GDP might fall beneath 3 % of real GDP growth itself.

5) The frequent publication of accurate and reliable financial statements and accounts on the every day business of government, whether in the social, commercial, security or other facets of government. Such will assist in bringing about greater public confidence in government’s managing of the affairs of the state and will greatly assist in the public deciding whether to continue supporting or investing in government programs, generally;

6) The increased usage of sheer accounting and financial values as a means of preempting the use of actual money in cases where many state/private trading and commercial transactions are set off one against another;

7) The implementation of a fairly rigid policy that the state will NOT do business or borrow for unproductive purposes any where beyond its means and capacities to properly engage in such business conduct or to repay such monies quite successfully;

The state by way of the fact of its strategic presence, say, like in the Barbados Port Authority Inc, control of the industrial estates in the country, etc. in relationship to many other productive sectors of the countries will be properly repositioned to benefit financially and otherwise from the substantial growth that will take place in the country’s GDP with the removal of TAXATION and other financial and administrative scourges.

Young Bajan, you also asked: and whom are these parties that should be elected that you refer ???

And, we respond: we are simply asking you and so many other people to help grow the PDC, the PEP, or some other newly formed party that is really different philosophically, ideologically, programmatically and otherwise from the DLP/BLP, and that like the PDC has the interest of the people of Barbados – esp. the broad masses and middle classes – and the further development of the people of this country at heart/first and foremost.

But, David we would not let you get away it, though, you have not answered the questions we put to you in our last blog!!

34. @PDC

Please clarify point 1.

You stated one of your strategies would be to massively reduce the size of the operations of the state. Can you be SPECIFIC those operations you would retain and how you would FINANCE them?

35. By now if something could have been done about the obvious corruption it would have been done. Even if taken to court or put before a commission of inquiry the thieves will always get away. There is always some technicality to provide an escape route for the crooks.

The systems in place will have to crumble under their own weight and this will take sometime or there would have to be a revolution to shake things up. The control of the courts and the public service by the lodges makes orderly change impossible in the short run. The second option is not likely or desirable.

We will just have to wait for the place to become piss poor before the electorate catches on.

36. David,

In terms of all of those public sector institutions, ministries, departments, statutory corporations, government run companies, etc. that exist now we have a very good plan on which ones would go and which ones will be kept and restructured but we dont want to prejudice or compromise on certain future strategic political and other outcomes now or in the future by saying things which ought not be said now, so we would prefer at this stage not to say anything much about those plans which certainly speak to which of those entities would go, suffice it to say though that for sure all evil TAXATION Departments WILL HAVE TO GO.

We imagine that there will be some more government entities outlandishly created – in between now and the time when a future PDC Government comes into existence – to simply make sure that the size of the government gets absurdly bigger and to make sure the burden of the government on the Barbadian society’s further progress and development gets far more untenable and objectionable.

So, therefore, we are NOT now referring to such future entities, although, yes, such entities – if they would be in existence at the time when a PDC Government becomes a reality – will be eventually then incorporated into the final plans of such a PDC Government.

Moreover, some of the many persons who would have been hitherto part of these to-be former evil TAXATION Departments will be given the opportunity of being redirected and kept on to be part of the very rational transformative agenda of a future PDC Government.

This agenda will also include making sure that NOT ONLY some to-be former workers in TAXATION Departments of Government BUT that ALSO many to-be former workers of all pre-existing government entities will – at specific points in time in the future – become part-owners of a new entity that will be brought into existence by such a government to manage the entire affairs of the state.

Also, the buildings which would have been housing these particular former TAXATION entities and other real properties and also certain movables will be used by the then PDC government for far more meaningful purposes.

37. PDC
    You left out a vital word in your all-embracing vocabulary – gobbledegook!

38. ahhahahahahahahahaaaaa

39. @PDC

You inability at this time to provide specifics makes it an impossible task to accurately review your submission to abolish taxes.

40. Friend of David Avatar
    Friend of David

PDC talking nonsense

Get off the people blog do !

41. David,

Did you read the first paragraph of our last submission properly?

It is clearly inappropriate and unwise at this stage to let you know the specifics in relationship to which governmental institutions, ministries, departments, statutory corporations, government companies, MUST GO and which MUST STAY and still be reformed.

We have also to be fair too to the many other people that we have been telling the same thing to.

But, that you have come to the very invalid and flawed conclusion, for you, it is “an impossible task to accurately review your submission TO ABOLISH TAXES” (our capitals for emphasis), as a result of our not providing specifics on 1, is nothing short of disappointing and bewildering.

However, notwithstanding our not being able to furnish the specifics in regard of 1 at this stage, it still does not mean that you can not begin to think – for yourself – which ones should go and which ones should stay and be reformed in line with our fundamental commitments to the preservation and, furthermore, the modernization of the social, welfare, physical, security, and foreign affairs infrastructures of the country, and which ones should go and stay in line with other significances indispensibles like the greater commercialization and entrepreneurialization of some governmental affairs.

Moreover, David, there are also some other important, crucial strategies that form part of this greater income generating earning model for government, that you yourself can properly assess, evaluate, judge and draw the right conclusions from, and that hopefully will lead to your having a better understanding – like many others have – of this model.

All we are asking you at this stage to do is to think and rationalize deeply and profoundly in relationship to these matters.

42. @PDC
    Don’t disclose your hand left or right. Keep it close fist. Let the people wait in anticipation the same way they wait on other magicians to see the surprise.

Continue to work on your magical skills. For you it might be too late, but don’t give up.

43. @PDC

Our position stands, if you are asking for feedback about your proposal you will need to be more specific. Which government departments will you rationalize/revamp. It has implications for how conclusions are made. If you can’t appreciate this then we will have to agree to disagree.

44. Back again after being away for a few days.

Didn’t I tell you those PDC boys were bright? But you all didn’t believe me.

Read all their “specifics” above. I mean, to even think up those ideas shows that these boys are geniuses; forward thinkers indeed!

The abolition of taxes. They will do something no other government has ever done.

Do like me, and vote PDC.

Long live the PDC, forever …, and ever….and ever…., and ever….and ever… and……..

45. How the PDC attracts so much attention is beyond human comprehension.