Submitted by BAJAN TRUTH
Executive Chairman of CLICO Holdings Barbados, Leroy Parris

How enlightening was today’s Nation newspaper? Parris ignores Chairman of Oversight Committee William Layne and sends his request or command to the Prime Minister. CLICO across the region has been viewed as a key player even a kingmaker in REGIONAL elections.  Could this have something to do with a line item in their accounts – miscellaneous- $14m per year. It is alleged that Parris can call Prime Ministers in the region and instruct them as to what he will tolerate and not tolerate.

Imagine that POWER.  But where does this power emanate from. Word from Trinidad is that it is alleged that a very senior director in CLICO describes that power thus, they have money (to finance campaigns) and they have agents (political messengers), the most powerful combination for a political force to determine who wins and loses election. Now this puts into greater context Estwick’s explosive remark on a political platform about Parris’ control of the DLP, determining who and who would get a pick. Most revealing now we understand the greater regional political dynamics.  Look at the dynamic duo said one observer- Parris and Hartley, hand in hand across the region, establishing and controlling governments. One now needs to determine if Thompson makes it a trio or is he a pawn.

One can now more carefully analyse the CLICO FINANCIAL DEBACLE if the above is true.  Can it explain why Parris can write directly to the PM to continue to write business despite the injunction by Supervisor of Insurance and the Chairman of the Oversight Committee?  Why with impunity he does not submit information requested of him, with no apparent consequence? Why he is still Chairman of CBC? Note that negative info about CLICO is unlikely to be carried. Why he could hire his own firm to do business for CLICO, (conflict of interest, anyone?); Why he can cash in his policies while he ask patience of others, they can wait.Could Mr. Johnson say him nay?

What about Mr. Thompson, can this explain why he of all the Prime Minister’s in the region has not taken to this day a step to put CLICO under judicial management. Guyana, Bahamas, Trinidad, just to name a few, did it promptly.  He only mentioned that it might be done if an agreement cannot be had with shareholders, last month. This came after the IMF dictated that this issue could severely damage the Barbadian economy, and needs to be addressed immediately as a condition of getting loans, one suspects. P.M. Thompson has assured Barbadians and the OECS region that Barbados would protect their interests, a recipe for disaster. His reason, he wanted to protect the 1400 agents jobs, especially the main job, CEO & Chairman Parris. This could be at the expense of 40,000 families in Barbados who could lose pensions and investments to take care of their old age.  Imagine if half,as a result of being pauperized by CLICO issue, 20,000 of them  need assistance from Welfare and National Assistance Board etc from government because their interests were jeopardised for the benefit of Parris. What an economic and social disaster.

Not a word from the P.M. condemning anything CLICO or Parris has done so far? What a threat to democracy and the well-being of Barbadians. Whose interest is Thompson protecting, his opponents insist it is to protect the golden goose that will guarantee DLP political fortunes? You decide. Let us see what he says this week.

I just want to see this dealt with to protect us Bajans and our democracy.  I want to see the promised accountability, transparency and integrity.  So far DLP has interpreted this as being transparent about BLP behaviour and not their own.  I think however our expectations were that DLP promise was about how they would govern and take care of our interest, and bring prudent management of our affairs.

We are still waiting.

92 responses to “Who Is In Control Of Whom – Executive Chairman Leroy Parris Has The Power”

1. All things must be taken together. For P.S. Layne to point out the difficulties that he was experiencing, and no doubt one must assume that before he went public he would have sought his boss’ intervention to rectify the situation. One can surmise by the fact he went public, that he could get no redress. If any fallout occurs from ineffective monitoring by the oversight committee, and it would fall into Layne’s dish. He may not want to be the fall guy. So he probably decided to speak out .

I don’t think it is fair to try to label him, as operating politically, most public servants even if political operate below the radar. They would put a dociument on a truck to fall off, so they are not personally implicated, and get satisfaction from the resulting mess. There are ways to make you suffer even after you leave, such as take long to trigger payments for pensions, etc. This approach is not normal. He may simply want to cya, as he is chariman. it is possible he does not want history labelling him as the person who failed to do his job and cost Barbadians loss.

By the way I heard Ms. Mottley has said that a number of directors have resigned from the committee and/or CLICO board recently. We need to check out which. But I understand that recently Leslie Haynes, Tony Marshall ( he went before this lot), Adrian Lorde, and Frank Alleyne? Please note, someone said this was shared at the BLP meeting last night, CBC has not carried it. perhaps they want to check the facts before. i agree there may be more to come out. We’ll be listening.

2. Donald Duck Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq

Any comments on the composition of the oversight committee which has two retired partners from the firm which audited the barbados accounts of clico

3. What a mess! Each day it seems to get worse with no solutions in sight. In some ways I hope it is irresponsible reporting and things are not as bad as they seem.

In my humble opinion David Thompson should have stayed well clear of this Clico fiasco and appointed someone else to deal with it….too late now. I’d imagine it is now doing some serious damage to his credibility.

If as Bajan Truth says that 80,000 Clico Life policy holders will be affected. I wonder at what stage the policy holders will get together to demand answers, solutions and their money?.

As stated in previous blogs 80,000 people have a lot of power in unity. It’s time they start using it, rather than on a one, one basis.

Also the younger people of Barbados should pay a keen interest in this saga. I can remember visiting the States and talking to a lady who had retired and had to comeback out to work because all her pension & savings were lost, I can’t remember where they were invested but needless to say the company had crashed. If the mature experienced people have to come out to work, that’s more people applying for the same job.

As for the other companies in the process of being sold if I was the buyer I think I would be re examining the books before I part with any money, to make sure I’m getting what I should be getting.

4. @ Atman // April 26, 2010 at 8:20 PM

I am not the one who stated or as the question if “$5 per lot” OK so you need to direct your question @ Enuff not to me Anonymous.

5. @ Everyone

$5 per sq foot.

@ Brutus

I was merely addressing the issue of procedure. I don’t know if anyone’s authority was usurped, manipulated or abused. What I know is that CLICO continued to sell policies.

@ Anonymous

I don’t know either and that is why I am asking. Maybe if the much promised FOI and transparency in government were legislated and practiced respectively, there would be no need for my question.

6. @ Everyone
    $5 per square foot

@ Brutus
    I was merely addressing procedure. I don’t know if authority was usurped, manipulated and or abused. What I do know is that CLICO never stopped selling policies.

@ Anonymous

I don’t know that is why I am asking. If the much promised FOI and transparency in government were legislated and practiced respectively there would be no need for my asking.

7. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Why are people unwilling to deal with some core issues? What was the PM’s response to the request?

8. Trained Economist says:

Mr. Parris cashed in deposit that had matured at CMFC. Also, as far as I am aware CMFC has paid all its obligations to all parties. If we accept that CMFC has honored all of its payments then why is Mr. Layne raising this publicly. For Mr. Layne to make a public issue of this serves to inflame the public and give the impression that Mr. Parris was paid while others have not (which is not true in the case of CMFC). CMFC is no longer a problem and Mr. layne’s comments seem highly improper coming from a regulator and do not help.”

Trained Economist is forgetting the small matter of $10 million of our money the Government, through the Central Bank, placed with CMFC in a show of support.

The Nation reported:

“Layne explained that the Oversight Committee had written Parris on the matter since CMFC was in receipt of public funding from the Central Bank of Barbados and was not in a position to repay the money.”

Mr Layne appears, rightly in my view, to be concerned at the ethics of the group chairman, Parris taking out his money, while CMFC cannot repay the people’s $10 million. Doesn’t send the right signal, does it? In the circumstances, Mr. Layne’s actions are not at all improper.

Further, the Insurance Act states the company (CLICO) should write the Supervisor of Insurance to appeal his decision. All who know Parris’ arrogance would see how easy it would be for him to go over the SOI’s head straight to the PM and in the meantime continue taking money from the public in contempt of the SOI’s directive. And don’t tell me that the letter was written by Thornhill. Thornhill can’t take a leak without Parris’ say so. Now the PM can’t even claim that he didn’t know about the letter. He has got to pee or get off the po. He doesn’t dare pull the rug from under Layne in public. And the BLP ent easing up.

9. Trained Economist

Yes it is a core issue. Chances and indications are that he did nothing and Parris took that silence as meaning consent.Seems like you know or have inside information. Why don’t you put us straight?

10. I am predicting that Leroy Parris actions at CLICO and his closeness to Prime Minister Thompson will bring down the DLP government. He may have worked hard to get where he is today but Barbadians are very concerned with his closeness to the Prime Minister and still involved with CLICO which is in financial troubles.
    Any actions he takes will be scrutinised and then be reflected on the Minister of Finance. The opposition will use it at every occasion to let the public know that he is the Prime Minister close friend and things are being done to favour him.
    A politician once said that perceptions in politics matter more than truth.
    Why can good friends of politicians not stay in the background and work for the good of the country instead of getting all the benefits that governments offer them because of friendship.
    If the DLP once to maintain any credibility they must bring the Integrity legislation and FOI that they have promise.
    Do this and win the government hands down next time.

11. @Checkit-Out

It is inconceivable that Parris would have written to the PM on this matter and in light of their known close relationship not call him on it.

12. @ Anonymous -They need to do better cause it is my f#####g money!

I supported the DLP last election since they PROMISED persons would be locked up ….. it is now 2010 Not a fellow has been!

Mr. Thompson the ball was in your court for quite a while.

I could not agree with you more. For two years, threats and accusations, BLP corruption, squandermania , somebody gine lock up. Emotional claims, that any decent barbadian listening would have to conclude that DLP had facts that could lock up somebody. Day upon day, the public waiting for the details, only broad sweeping statements. Then after the prison issue, you realise that this could be part of a campaign to play us Bajans like fools. Is this going to be another BLP St. Joseph hospital scam , sweeping charges, and when done nothing. Played for a fool.

If the DEMS have embarked on an even bigger enterprise of scandal-mongering, then so much for integrity, transparency and accountability. Do not come back next election with charges if you have not locked up somebody, and no small fish, a big fish. don’t come back without integrity legislation. Don’t come back without the specific facts of corruption, cost overruns are bad management not corruption. Don’t come back without the results of the forensic audit, for Hardwood. Don’t tell me you do not have documents, you put them on a screen; you had people working there in management positions who were willing to tell you about the issue, let them testify.

I am listening to Peter Wickham,the second political consultant employed by Thompson at CBC to mix the political koolaid for the citizens. Wickham is on Talk yuh Talk. Wickham was saying how good Parris/Clico is to still be concerned about his staff, as they are paying the agents even though things are difficult. He called it noble and honourable. How would he describe, Parris act of cashing in his investments at CMFC, while the company has received gov’t money, 10m.

13. David; Absolutely correct.

Therefore the action that Parris took to continue writing policies either had the tacit consent of the PM or Parris considered that he had the upper hand and could ignore the PM’s wishes with impunity. In either case there was probably no formal official reaction by the PM. If the PM officially took Parris’ side the SOI would have had to rescind the order. Obviously that was not done. If the PM officially took the SOI’s side, Parris could not have continued writing policies unless he considered that he had some leverage to use to bring the PM around to his position. Therefore the reaction by the PM must have been unofficial.

As I said before, this situation is extremely important for the governance of this country. I think some things we have to watch for in the near future (none being mutually exclusive):

Layne retiring or being transferred
    More talk (information) on former senior CLICO auditors being on the oversight committee
    Some fairly equivocal statements by some members of the DLP who have in the past not been fully supportive of the PM
    Further orchestrated attempts to try, counterintuitively, to equate the situation now with that when the BLP was in power
    Parris losing power
    Parris being removed from CBC
    Parris’ move from the chairmanship of CLICO being hastened
    Parris reacting to the actions of the PM by disclosing some current and historical facts
    Some more documents falling off the back of a truck
    some important info on how IMF conditionalities might be related to the response or otherwise of the PM – the budget might have some surprises on this matter.
    The BLP getting more aggressive on the situation.

14. There is some fireworks in the House of Assembly as this message is being typed. Not sure we understand the cause of the filibustering strategy of the BLP but it is causing some interruption to the flow of Parliamentary proceedings. Possibly caused by a request for an emergency debate on the CLICO matter. Hopefully we can get an update shortly.

10.46 AM: MP George Payne ignores the Speaker’s voice and is asked to leave!

15. Fireworks in the house. Tune to 100.7 for live action

16. Mia Mottley and George Payne were asked to leave the house. Opps….put out of the house

17. iI was following the discussion from the beginning of parliament. Mottley brought a point of privilege to discuss the CLICO ISSUE, posssibly the illegal status of Clico writing business, we will ahv eot check. However the speaker denied her the right to riase it. She rose on a point of privilege to get clarification, which the speaker disallowed her to even say what clarification she wanted, and then rule on whether he would allow it. He constantly denied her the right to state the privilege. he was ruling before the point of privilege was heard. They tried to point to the standing orders that you can raise a point of privilege, if on hearing what it is the speaker determines that the point cannot be heard. He cannot rule before he wheres what it is. That is he cannot arbitrarily state you cannot rise on a point of privilege unless you what the point is. You rule on the point not on whether you can rise on a point of privilege.

Mottley kept rising, and the speaker kept telling her to take her seat. Payne rose to explain to the speaker what the standing orders were and was rueld out of order. Payne said but a three or four year old could read and understand the difference between ruling on the right to rise versus ruling on the point of privilege . It got hot, and then the speaker said he would put all of them out of Parliament, and Arthur said, what have I done and you are threatening me. Speaker asked the marshall to put Payne and Mottley out.

18. iI was following the discussion from the beginning of parliament. Mottley brought a point of privilege to discuss the CLICO ISSUE, posssibly the illegal status of Clico writing business, we will have to check. However the speaker denied her the right to raise it. She rose on a point of privilege to get clarification, which the speaker disallowed her to even say what clarification she wanted, and then rule on whether he would allow it. He constantly denied her the right to state the privilege. he was ruling before the point of privilege was heard. They tried to point to the standing orders that you can raise a point of privilege, if on hearing what it is the speaker determines that the point cannot be hear, then he so rules. He cannot rule before he hears what it is. That is he cannot arbitrarily state you cannot rise on a point of privilege unless you know what the point is. You rule on the point not on whether you can rise on a point of privilege.

Mottley kept rising, and the speaker kept telling her to take her seat. Payne rose to explain to the speaker what the standing orders were and was ruled out of order. Payne said but a three or four year old could read and understand the difference between ruling on the right to rise versus ruling on the point of privilege . It got hot, and then the speaker said he would put all of them out of Parliament, and Arthur said, what have I done and you are threatening me. Speaker asked the marshall to put Payne and Mottley out.

19. Even if the Speaker makes an incorrect ruling, members do not have the right to be unruly. Based on what I heard on VOB news, the Speaker was right to expel them. The Opposition is clearly playing political games. This seemed like a plan – I heard Mottley say to the others, “you all now get up and object too”, which it seems they did.

20. Donald Duck Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq

The PM should do us all a favour and tell his friend that he needs to leave and to do so forthwith. Otherwise the hole thing will collapse faster!!!

21. Donald Duck Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq

I missed the “w” from in front of hole.

22. Bad man saying nuttin Avatar
    Bad man saying nuttin

@ Donald Duck You are a LIAR

you said:
    Any comments on the composition of the oversight committee which has two retired partners from the firm which audited the barbados accounts of clico

As I have read the oversight committee is made up of PS finance , Solicitor general, 2 clico reps and one other person who i cannot remember.

Commentators seem unable to reason. Does anybody even realise that Parris attacked Layne’s integrity and professionalism by insinuating that Layne carried a grudge against him from his days as SOI and because of that the Oversight committee had treated him and CLICO unfairly?
    Layne then chose to elaborate to the country the difficulties the oversight committee has had with Parris and gave examples to show that Parris and CLICO far from being treated unfairly deserved any censure they received since they simply did not adhere to lawful instructions to cease sale of policies and acted unethically in withdrawing funds.

23. @Bad man saying nuttin,

You are incorrect – the oversight committee does include two retired partners from the firm that audited Clico. One was appointed by the government and the other by Clico.

You are right though that Layne was responding to criticism from Parris. Is that the only way we can get information from senior civil servants on matters of national interest and importance?

24. Humm is seem Parris finally retiring now.

25. @Anthony

It was announced on the news Parris has resigned as head of clico companies in Barbados.

Who can say that public pressure did not bring this about? His affinity to clico is strong and to resign before he is ready would have been difficult. Round one to the BLP.

26. Donald Duck Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq

Isn’t this the third time he has announced his retirment? He must go forthwith. Another employee in his position would be shown the door long time.

27. well it seems for CMFC he going immediately. for the rest its is may 31 at least according to the news. So that bring to the question when he called for his deposits was he acting as chairman of the board of cmfc, executive chairman of clico or as policyholder. which was it ? as chairman of the board he does have the power to fire the ceo and president.

28. So Parris tek’ he money and run, after decades of living high off the hog on the company’s income (I cannot say earnings)

In the meanwhile those 800 new policy holders, labourers, cantonneirs etc. will again see their money.

I don’t know if it is illegal, but it is certainly immoral as hell.

And the DLP will pay for it in the next election.

And no I am neither “B” nor “D” I’ve voted for both parties (many times) and I hope to continue voting for both parties.

But this troubles me.

And I expect that it troubles a lot of Barbadians.

29. CORRECTION: will never again see their money

30. Could someone who knows correct me?
    Would there be a very substantial financial loss to the 800 seemingly misguided individuals who bought CLICO policies within the last 3 months? If not, wouldn’t the principle of fighting this injustice be based on the illegality of the sales despite the ruling of the SOI rather than the financial damage it has caused to the new policy holders?
    Of course, if the majority of the new owners were offered new policies as a means of recovering monies from current claims that the company could not meet it might be a different story.

31. @Checkit-Out

Were the 800 policies sold over the last three months, or in the first two months of the year?

First of all we need to know what type of policies these were. If these include annuities of any type where the policyholder paid a large sum to provide for future pensions, then that was just a bad decision to put nuff money into Clico at this time.

However for any standard life insurance policies, remember that the premium is paid annually so they probably would only have paid the first year’s premium. Perhaps someone else can clarify.

It probably would not be very costly to rescind the transactions and refund the premiums collected – if Clico does not have the cash then govt could advance it since they are partly to blame for this. I am assuming we are talking about less than $1M – does anyone know what the annual premium would be for example on a basic $500,000 life insurance policy?

Anyone who has a policy that is securing a loan would just have to get a new policy from another life insurance company. There will be some time and effort involved, and no doubt some bank charges, but hardly “substantial financial loss”.

32. Donald Duck Esq Avatar

Brutus

Don’t forget the order to cease writing new policies was given in august 2009. Therefore it is not only the policies in 2010 but those from when the order was given.

On another issue, we all know that the insurance companies should publish their 2009 audited accounts in the press on or before april 30. I doubt very much that given clico’s record in this area that this will be done by friday.

33. Donald Duck Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq

on a point of clarification,

The notes to the 2007 accounts of clico life says that clico life has a defined contribution plan for its admin and sales staff. Does that include the current chairman. if not will he be paid a pension and if so by whom and how much?

34. Hi Donald Duck

For what little its worth, I really don’t think that the quantum of CLICO’s employee pension plan should be our concern, just that it will be administered fairly and equitably, vis a vis other pension plans.

The implicit suggestion that Parris’ pension entitlements be put in the public domain is going a bit too far.

35. @enuff

The lands in St. John that you were enquiring who owns them…Clico is the answer.

36. Donald Duck Esq Avatar

check it out

Whenever any of the ceo’s here at Disney retire we always get to known what pension he will receive and how many share options he was granted.

37. The CLICO MOU is now a public document. Can anyone point to a link in PDF or some friendly format which we can upload to BU for reference?

38. Donald Duck Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq

The one laid in parliament has expired!!!!

39. I don’t often agree with Donald Duck but based on what I have read in the press, I am not convinced that the govt is dealing competently with the Oversight Committee and the MOU.

40. Interesting statement from the Chairman of the Oversight Committee William Laynein the news today. He expects to have a report from Ernst and Young on Monday who was commissioned to do an audit on the CLICO assets. The extent of the deficit in the reserve fund will be known then. He also made the interesting point that with the problem of the flexible annuities it has created, an asset liability mismatch i.e.short term liabilities used to fund long term assets. This statement suggest we will see as the Governor of the Central Bank suggests a restructure of the portfolio which means Clico annuity holders will have to wait for funds.

The truth is it could be a lot worse.

41. I guess all will be revealed soon with that report. we know the short term assets where toxic. just how toxic are they now?

42. Donald Duck Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq

We will never get to see the report. I wonder what Ernst & young will have to say about having certain retired senior partners from the auditors on the oversight committee!!!!