Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

The phones were ringing off the hook and the text messages were coming through in a flurry. “Hartley your girl Mia is on your case in the House of Assembly”. “Boy, Mia putting some blows in you”. “Mia biting out your throat in the House” They all used different words, but said effectively the same thing; that the Leader of the Opposition was up to her customary ‘Hartley bashing’ antics. I then queried “what exactly is she saying?”

“Man she putting licks pon you and the Prime Minister. She even attacked Leroy Parris of Clico and Arni Walters at the BWA”

“But what exactly did she say?” “Man I dint really listening to she too much, but I hear she putting some blows pon you.”

Well, out of curiosity, I called and text a few individuals who I know, as a rule, follow the debates in parliament. I made contact with about 16 persons and of that grouping, only 11 were actually listening. Almost to the last man or woman, their initial response was “boy, she just put some licks pon you”.

So exactly what did she say? ‘Well, she was talking about you and the PM and other people and she put some licks pon you.” Okay, as no one could tell me exactly what the Leader of the Opposition had said about me, I then broadened the question by asking ‘so what else did she say in her speech? What did she talk about?’

“Man, she talk for long, long; almost half of the day”. “She aint say nothing new”. “She talked about how bad things are and how worse they gine get”. “She said we in for tougher times. She said wunnuh guys mashed up the country”. “She said poor people catching hell”.

These were general responses to the query of what the Leader of the Opposition said in her near five hour speech at the opening of the estimates debate. But, try as hard as I could, I couldn’t get anyone to give me specifics about the issues and initiatives outlined in the presentation of the Leader of the Opposition.

One old lady called to say ‘boy I was just listening to Mia and she getting on bad enough. She sounding angry and shouting hard, hard. Tell her to be careful she doesn’t burst a blood vessel”. Okay, I said, but what exactly was she talking about? “Child I couldn’t really follow, because she was sounding so angry, I stop listening. But I hear she criticizing the Prime Minister over and over”. And what else did she say? “Nothing really. She was merely criticizing the government and saying how bad things are since the change.” That is all she said for four and a half hours? “Yes, she cursed plenty people but didn’t really say anything new. “

Well, I said to myself, perhaps these are all supporters and well wishers of the government and were therefore not being objective in their analyses. So, I called a former Barbados Labour Party Member of Parliament, who, though not very active in politics today, is still very much wedded to Roebuck Street.

“Boy, to tell the truth, I was listening but nothing really stuck on me. She was putting some lashes in you fellows but other than that there really wasn’t anything new that was said.”

You can’t be serious! She spoke for nearly five hours and didn’t say anything profound or beneficial to the state of play in the country today?

“To tell you the truth, I did not hear anything that I had not heard before. She put some licks in you and a few others but generally it was the same line of attack she has been using from day one”.

Then, totally unsolicited, he went on to volunteer the following, as if to make sure that I knew where he stood: “I am really looking forward to hearing Owen tomorrow, cause he is the man that I know will take the fight to Thompson. Mia is alright, but Owen is the man you guys got to watch”. What do you mean by that? “Owen coming back; mark my words. The Labour Party going into the next election with Owen as Leader. If they don’t, they’re in trouble. I know you guys want Mia, but you better prepare yourselves for Owen.”

This information was totally unsolicited, but somehow this BLP stalwart wanted me to know. He wasn’t hot on promoting or defending Mia, but he made clear in whose corner he would be standing whenever the ‘battle royale’ begins.

But, leadership of the Barbados Labour Party was not my focus on this occasion. I wanted to know what the Leader of the Opposition said in her four and a half hour speech in Parliament. No one I spoke to, including known BLP supporters, could tell me definitively what Mia Mottley had said, other than that she had attacked a range of persons, including myself, and that she was angry.

Persons look to Parliamentarians for many things, but I am not sure that to the Leader of the Opposition in particular, they look for personal attacks and a venomous display of anger.

Twenty four hours after her major annual speech in Parliament, I am still at a loss to discover from anyone who heard the presentation, what of national relevance and significance did the Leader of the Opposition say.

Communication is message delivered, message received, message interpreted. I am not sure what message was delivered but that which was received and interpreted by many, suggested yet another wasted opportunity to portray oneself as Prime Ministerial material.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

34 responses to “Exactly What Did She Say?”

1. Well done, Hartley. I salute you. Gave me a very good laugh and, of course, got across the truth – she said absolutely nothing new and since she is always angry, even that is a bore. And certainly Owen will lead the Bs into the next election, otherwise they will be obliterated. However, I personally find it difficult to believe that the PM’s spin doctor would have failed to listen personally to such an important speech by the Leader of the Opposition. I have no doubt you canvassed for opinions afterwards, but I am sure you listened to that speech. However, a small amount of artistic license, as long as it does not obscure the truth, is an excellent thing in politicians – and that is something Mia does not realise and has not the ability, wit or humour to put across. Sadly.

2. Mia definitely needs to develop some wit in her presentations.

It would be interesting to know how her tussle with the newly appointed Chairman of the House James Paul is viewed by the commenters.

3. The issue of the renting by many locals of commercial, residential and other properties in Barbados must be of utmost concern at this time of severe political economic depression.

At a time when many workers are losing their jobs, when many business people are going home with meager incomes, and when many more are finding it absolutely difficult to make certain ends meet this issue must be of great concern to so many thousands of the masses and middle classes of people who do so rent many of these properties on a weekly/monthly basis.

As is known to these renters and so many others the costs of the renting of almost all of these properties, esp those that are residential, are and have for a long time been so alarmingly high for many reasons.

One such reason is the great costs of borrowing from financial institutions to construct newly built apartments, homes, and the amount that is then charged – in the form of rent to these tenants – by the owners of these properties to ensure that these financial institutions are repaid. And, of course, there are other costs such as property insurance, wicked evil taxation in many cases, etc – that the owners of these buildings face on an ongoing basis and which are passed onto many of these tenants.

So, added to the great cost involved in purchasing many land interests in Barbados, the tremendous costs of building in this country, the matter of the alarmingly high rents of many of these properties must be of a great and horrific problem to these renters, their families and some others – many of whom are of the middle classes and masses in this country.

Finally, this is one aspect of society’s malfunctioning that must make so many of the masses and middle classes stand up to these two jackass idiotic DLP and BLP factions and say to them that you have had your time – your time has passed – you have failed – when you were or have been the government – to institute serious rent control policies and programs in this country, for the benefit of those who would otherwise have been or are renting such properties, and to institute other policies and programs to coincide with those serious rent control policies and programs, in order to make those same, as it were, rent control policies work effectively .

So, Down with the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!!

VOTE PDC!!

4. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Does HH ever have anything to say????

5. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

It is disgraceful that these clowns behaved in the manner that they displayed to the public yesterday but as a sitting member related yesterday you need to understand that Muttley is not in a happy place and is feeling tremendous pressure to appear as the leader even though she has no support for her group, even the sitting members on her side now speak about when Owing returns to lead the party things will be better.

So her grandstanding in Parliament is her last stand to appear in control which she is not so once again plenty empty devoid of substance mouthings but behind it there is nothing typical Muttley in true form.

6. To David and WIV: I live outside of Barbados, and do not have the luxury of listening and our viewing the goings ons in parliament. Could you give some context to what you are both talking about?

what was the exchange between Mia and James?

what about their behaviour WIV???

7. Absolutely scary that our parliment has as a leading member such a personality. It is as if the country is forced to have to deal with the opposition leader not matter how ridiculous she is. Additionally it appears that many are even afraid of she, both friends and fo of the blp party. I am about what is best for Barbados and Mia.M is not it, now or in the future… “Frig She”

8. Mr Henry instead of engaging in meaningless political ramblings you should attempt to address the Clico issue which hangs like an albatross around Prime Minister David Thompson’s neck.
    On this issue Thompson has once again been forced to eat his words.
    During the no-confidence motion which was tabled in the House of Assembly last year by Opposition Leader Mia Mottley, Thompson and other DLP spokespersons gave Barbadians the solid assurance that Clico and its subsidiaries were properly managed. At that time he accused Mottley of being a prophet of doom and gloom and engaging in scare tactics.
    Responding to suggestions from Mottley that Thompson should follow the lead taken by other regional governments and place the Clico operations in Barbados under judicial management, he argued vehemently that such actions were not necessary.
    Thompson later injected a substantial sum of money into the company claiming that the action was taken to protect the jobs of Barbadians employed at the local operations.
    It must be noted that in tabling the no-confidence motion Mottley had sought to protect the investments of the over 30 000 policy holders at Clico.
    Thompson subsequently established an oversight committee which was made up of senior government officials and Clico personnel.
    However, on Monday, March 15, during the Estimates Debate Thompson told Barbadians that Clico International Life and its subsidiary, British American Insurance Company have been prohibited from writing new business by the Supervisor of Insurance and that they were both set to be be placed under judicial management.
    What an about turn and an acknowledgement that Mottley’s analysis of the situation was correct . She deserves the highest commendation for her vigilance in the face of much vilification.
    In closing I would like to ask Henry these few questions:
    Is ther any truth to the claim that several policy holders have faced challengers when they sought to cash in their insurance policies? I am told that the policy claims are in the region of Bds $100 million.
    Is there any truth to claims that Clico has accumulated substantial tax arrears over the years and that prospective buyers are finding it difficult to get tax clearances from revenue departments?
    Is ther any truth to claims that Clico officials disputed every tax evaluation in an attempt to slow the process through referral to arbitration? It is thought that arbitration could take as many as five or six years before a case could be heard, hence the presence. sizable tax arrears.

9. HH says, “I made contact with about 16 persons and of that grouping, only 11 were actually listening.”

HH, you come across to me as if only a few of the 16 people you called were listening. Am I correct in assuming that out of those 16 ONLY 5 were NOT listening? Would that not mean that the majority, nearly ¾ of your contacts had a listening ear?

Now let me ask, HH what exactly is the point you are trying to get across in that sentence?

10. WIV you just give me my laugh for the day. Muttley, ha ha ha!

11. Responding to suggestions from Mottley that Thompson should follow the lead taken by other regional governments and place the Clico operations in Barbados under judicial management, he argued vehemently that such actions were not necessary.

Is Clico under Judicial Management anywhere other than in Guyana? The point you should make is that other regional government’s followed the Minister of Finance in Barbados and signed MOUs and debt work-out solutions!

Both you and Ms. Mottley appear to be wrong.

12. Until Hartley stop milking our trrasury for thousands and thousands each month under the guise of being the adviser of the PM, I will not vote for the DLP again. Hartely your childish article made me sick. Enjoy your position as Defacto PM of Barbados while it lasts. Enjoy your millions now. It won’t be forever.

13. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

Just a minor correction gadfly, British American is not a subsidary of Clico International Life it is a subsidary of CL Financial. Clico International Life is a subsidary of Clico Holdings Barbados which is also a subsidary of CL Financial. But your points are well articulated.

14. How is it, with an economy deemed to be in the doldrums and three years away from constitutionally due elections, that an Opposition party is constantly the focus of attention?

It is clear that the ‘strategy’ of the government, as is evident in the weekly diatribes scripted by their political adviser and fomented by the multitude of operatives here, is to engage in diversionary tactics. Rovian in nature, we are now even hearing that the Opposition leader is unpatriotic. The same statements are repeated on every single government-related thread on this blog, ALL!!

We are also led to believe that internal divisions and power struggles are endemic to the BLP and even more insulting that the DLP is and has always been immune to such, yet after three attempts Kellman still sits on the back bench.

In Trinidad, the Maharaj-Warner-Bissessar-Persad triumvirate just brought down Panday et al after a long and public battle for leadership of the UNC within the ruling PNM the ongoing Rowley-Manning war rages on with the recent resignation of Calder Hart; Portia Simpson fought bitterly with Dr. Phillips to lead the PNP; months before a general election Gordon Brown in England was still being asked to resigned by members of his party; and we are all also well aware of the vicious primaries held in the US.

More importantly, however, numbers, statements and other factual pieces of information don’t lie and over the last two years the government has been wrong on many fronts–the ABC Highway, projected budget deficit, CLICO, NIS relief etc. It would serve us well if the same attention is also paid to what is happening in government (apart from immigration). This week the estimates of expenditure are being debated and all we have seen is criticism of the Opposition; no one has commented on the details of the document especially after last year’s deficit was so vastly under estimated. Moreover, there has not been one single comment on the dissonance between the Estimates and the Medium Term Strategy which is to commence this year as well.

The government is now into its third year and I doubt broadcasting the handing over of keys to new home owners would be enough to secure a second term. As I have said before, time will tell.

15. But HH did write a witty, amusing piece and he did right – Mia aint say nuttin. All she do is set up she face and sound vexed like **** – as usual. And if wunnah didn’t get a laugh out of what HH say, wunnah deserve Mia. You don’t have to take HH seriously if you don’t want to, you know – but what is wrong with having a laugh with he at the Leader of the Opposition? She not gone be there long, you know. Then she may have to go and practice law. She may even be made Chief Justice by Owing as a consolation prize.

16. Interesting – I listened and I heard quite a bit of information being communicated in parliament. I also heard the current government ministers using the same baseless personal attacks on the opposition and using the usual “blame them” tactic.

Haven’t they realised that DEM are in power and should step up to the plate and actually provide the information that Barbadian public need to hear?

Do they realise that the more they slander and make themselves public disgraces, the more voters they will lose?

When can we see decorum in the parliament?

When can we see and end to the personal attacks and bickering?

Stand up and do your job with pride. Let your work and actions speak!

17. @Adrian

There was a period late evening when Mottley kept rising on points of order when Sincler had the floor. Although the Chairman James Paul ruled Mottley kept challenging to a point when it could be interpreted by some that she was adding nuisance value to the proceedings. It seems she was intent to embarrass the newly installed Paul as well create a situation by making noise on the opposition side.

18. Wait David i thought only me saw that! She was AWFUL!!!!!!

19. @ Amused

To say she said nothing is in parliamentary parlance ‘an attempt to mislead’ the blog. Similar comments were made of her presentation during the CLICO no confidence motion, yet this week the PM announced that the same company is to be placed under judicial management. Likewise, she was right on the 2009-10 deficit during the estimates debate. It is one thing to hate a person, their attitude or even style of delivery but to wilfully deny the substance of their contribution is being dishonest.

There is nothing wrong with staunchly backing your party of choice, but we need to at least be honest. Sadly, there is a tendency to resort to innuendo, outright nastiness and demagoguery which portrays the blog as a political campaign rather than constructive debate.

You noticed any other members behaving in a way that could be interpreted as inappropriate or merely a nuisance? Have you ever watched Kellman in action?

20. @Enuff

BU stated on another blog we thought Minister Stephen Lashley was one of the few who made a serious contribution.

Regarding your comment on CLICO, please note CLICO Mortgage Company has bee sold to BArbados Public Workers Cooperative Credit Union and CLICO General has been sold to Consumer Guarantee Insurance (CGI). CLICO Life is under pressure because of those high-priced annuities approved to be sold by the Supervisor of Insurance during the period of the BLP tenure. BU’s position that the government did the right thing to sell CLICO as a going concern was better for all. By placing the company under judicial watch we have already seen 100 agents going home shortly and the liquidation of the assets or sale of the company at a bargain price will probably take place.

21. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Anonymous // March 19, 2010 at 8:40 PM

Wait David i thought only me saw that! She was AWFUL!!!!!!

She is AWFUL on her average day she here was down right DISGUSTING AND UNCOUTH, nothing more nothing less.

22. @ David

What about those people that invested when re-assured that it was okay to do so?

23. @Enuff

It is easy to monday quarterback isn’t it? What about the other argument that the constant harping of Mottley by bring no-confidence motions etc would have helped significantly to make the situation unstable? This Clico matter would not have been a straight forward matter.

24. What about the argument that the PM’s indecision and misstatements added fuel to the issue even before the no-confidence took place? Is there any proof that the no-confidence motion exacerbated the situation? Did requests for withdrawals intensified thereafter?

In the age of the internet coupled with the long known FACT that CLICO was ‘owned’ by Durpey, how could local policyholders not become aware of the situation in Trinidad, where it first came to the fore in a very negative portrayal.

I am convinced more people will lose their job, unless both CGI and BPWCCU were previously heavily under staffed.

25. It looks like your own speculative position cancels ours and that is the point.

26. No sale has taken place in both cases CMF and Clico General. The companies are exploring the possibility of buying the clico subsidiaries. A process of reviewing the books and the necessary due diligence now has to be undertaken in Clico General. There is always the option for the companies not to buy if they don’t like what’s in the Books. In any case the nature of the General Insurance Business is more short term I year renewable business and hence easier to sell. The CMF was regulated by the central Bank and therefore would have been monitored closely. The life Insurance company was always the problem due to the long term nature of its business.

To blame Mia on the run on Clico is unfair to her. I am not a fan of Mia and I think she has been a poor opposition leader but she has been correct on the Clico issue every time. Once the news broke on the collapse of CL financial there was always going to be a run on Clico despite the feeble attempt by Thompson and the illiterate Parris to distance Clico Barbados from CL Financial Trinidad. In the insurance industry there have always been doubts about Clico solvency. So the news of CL financial demised spark the run on Clico. Remember there was also a minor run on BNB when people found out that there was a link to CL financial through Republic Bank.

27. @ David

Exactly, you clearly got my drift.

However, as highlighted by Fair & Balance, there has always been an air of suspicion about Clico and that is neither speculative nor biased, simply factual.

28. Which other Caribbean country put clico under judicial management? That question cant get answered at all!

Enuff got a problem with Parris and should say so, but Parris is one man. Only Guyana got it under JM and nuff confusion. The frist JM got shot by a policy holder and left Guyana. The whole ting still in court and nobody aint get nuttin!

What advice you really giving? Enuff, you aint bright at all. Get some sense nuh.

29. I speak subject to correction, but I think that Clico operations in the Bahamas and Belize were also placed under judicial management.

30. You are wrong. BAICO was put under judicial management not Clico.

31. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

Carol you are dead wrong. Clico Bahamas was placed in liquidation part of Judicial Management process and its subsidiary Clico Belize also place Clico under Judicial Management in Belize. Not BAICO in this case. Please check: http://www.caribbean360.com/index.php/news/14473.html
    or
    http://www.caribbeannetnews.com/news-16850–27-27–.html

The only reason the OECS countries did not effect Judicial Management with Clico is because there were following the lead of our Prime Minister Thompson. I think they will regret that decision but then again they may not if they got some guarantees that the Barbadian tax payer will foot the bill if Clico international life collapses. Thompson needs to provide answers as to what Guarantees did he provide if any.

The main purpose of judicial management is to protect policy holder’s interest and that in my view should be of paramount importance

32. @ Carol

You have all the sense but no facts as Fair & Balance has shown. I’ll remain nonsensical.

33. I dealing with Clico Barbados. Full stop.

Go and check the Clico Barbados website and see if Belize or Bahamas are under Clico Barbados. Clico Barbados owns the Eastern Caribbean operations not Belize or Bahamas. Um dere! Read it.

Dont get tie up, as Mia does tell wunna all the time.

Thompson does’t have to offer anything to any OECS policyholder. The modern law of Barbados that Owen and Mia passed covers obligations in outside of Barbados including the OECS. That was established a year ago! We gone past dat.

The Trinidad law does not cover policies not issued in Trinidad! Go and read it!

That makes nuff of difference, Enuff.

Enuff, ya wrong.

And Fair and Balance always wrong anyway!

34. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

@ Enuff
    Don’t worry about Carol. Clico is like a noose around Thompson neck and getting tighter and tighter each day.
    Clico money brought him to power and Clico collapse will bring him down. Wait and see.

@ Carol
    I did not see Clico Guyana either. You asked the question which other country put Clico under judicial management. You need to check the facts.