Submitted by Looking Glass

First, to a former Press Secretary and those who dictated the critique to Using Economics For Political Ends. Morality, like integrity, is not served by politicians or party supporters serving their own personal ends. Dialogue requires socio-political responsibility, and at least a minimum of transitive consciousness which does not exist under conditions of immorality. The long rant, devoid of real substance and unfit for rumshop vituperation, appears to be the product of a paralytic mind(s) unable to adjust to the shifting sands of reality. A peacock flipping its intellectual plumage on audition would do a better job. Even the BLP columnist placed you in the backward category (Nation 22/11/2006)

Re the Senator’s utterances as reported by you: had you heard what was said about ‘you’ and the projected outcome, you would seek refuge in the Essequibo. Fear not, it is just a matter of time.

According to Mascoll those concerned about the growth of the national debt “which doubled from $2.5bn in 1994 to $5.5bn at the end of last December should not just look at the size but its structure….the recent increases have come from the domestic side of the equation and not the external debt.” (Nation 07/19/2006). Really? At last check the total national debt was about $45bn (why so low is another matter) of which about $36bn was foreign. The last regime’s share was $20bn including $16bn foreign debt give and take a few pennies. Are we turning peanuts into pounds? Am I to understand that most of the $3bn increase in the above stated period came from the public (domestic) sector? If so revision of the GDP may suggest that the country is in worst shape than indicated.

Yes the economy and country is in bad shape, some say approaching the terminal stage. And yes there is no easy solution. Meaningful recovery requires a radical downsizing in living standards (already underway) and socio-psychological standards. That said it is irresponsible, false, unjust and immoral to hold the present administration responsible. The economy didn’t move from bountiful to grossly negative in the last two years. All leaders make promises at election time—that’s the nature of the game—.Can you name one who fulfilled them from an empty bucket? Growth as you understand it cannot resume until the debt burden eases.

Senator Holder tells us that “in the span of less than two years the administration has presided over an economy that was left in good hands, but has allowed unemployment to rise from 6.7% to 10.5%. (Advocate 21/12/2009). A month later Mascoll tells us that the economy performed much worst than expected in 2009 because of “a difficult external environment and some poor policy choices…. The unwarranted heavy taxation created a larger working poor population who continue to live of the knife’s edge, given the mortgage commitments, car loans, rising costs of health, home and car insurance, the bemusing food bills and utility bills, to mention a few.”(Nation 1/15/2010)

Is government supposed to pay the household debt and support the living standard of its people? Are we the children of government? Take Old Year’s fete admission per soul: $400.00 plus at the DH, $300.00 at another. And no rum please I was told. Food prices high but we can’t plant two tomato or pea trees in the back-yard. Times are tough but we want a four day work week. Is this category of persons included in the “larger working poor population”? If so reality is exaggerated. Comic books make more sense.

“Mortgages are now forty year affairs.” That statement (and discussion) made some years ago led to a year long study. One of the findings was that a family of four with a maximum after tax spending income of $3000.00 per month, having to meet mortgage and car commitments and eat reasonably well couldn’t save $300 per month. The two “Powers” of the day requested the author not to publish it. Since then household debt has skyrocketed and a large number of the “big homes” sold to expats. Today more than 500 homes and chattels in St Michael, St George and St. Phillip are listed on Cariblist.com.

The IMF statutes require the Fund to adopt policies “that will assist members to solve their balance of payments problems…These clauses confer on the IMF a blanket authorization to organize its borrowers’ economies as its own lights.” (A Fate Worse Than Debt). The current recommendations are not really dissimilar to those given to the last regime. Had the last government been successful as we are led to believe the IMF would not have been around today. The present regime has no option than to comply. There is little left to privatize or sell beside land and a few buildings.

Under the IMF states are generally confined to infrastructural investment. The jobs generated by infrastructural development are mainly of the short term variety. Otherwise it is savings and investment not government or budgets that create real jobs and earnings. As per the dictum from on high government has no business in the private sector. The global meltdown required the advanced economies stimulate there economies, but note the industries involved. We have no industries to stimulate that would create work for the 4000 souls who lost their jobs last year.

Direct foreign investment is largely devoted the tourism side—hotels, villas and luxury accommodation—Much of the construction and related jobs are of the short term variety. Permanent jobs for a certain class of locals will likely be few in number. Countries like companies must compete in producing the most value at the lowest cost.

Where marginal cost of government is not competitive we will continue to experience lost of the remaining productive capital. There is no guarantee that social and other sacrifices needed to bring order to the econ-financial condition with will yield long term returns.

That said look around you. The die is cast. Resurrection and refurbishment of the “Sceptred Isle” is well underway. For whom the bell tolls.

44 responses to “A Jaundiced View Of Reality”

1. where is bonny ? is it over for bonny ? has bonny quit ? if that is so
    it would be………….

sad very sad !

2. Bonny Peppa // January 10, 2010 at 12:05 PM

Goodbye all. Bonny on she way ta South Africa. Will send back de weddin pics.

Bye, bye.

3. We are truly heading for harder times. No fault of the current administration. But it is very sad where we have found ourselves. The international environment has made it difficult but the last administration wasted resources which we could use now.

4. For those who continue not to take heed, the signs are clear that for the last 30 years or so, under both DLP and BLP Governments, this country’s political material and financial affairs have terribly terribly been mismanaged.

Since Errol Barrow died, no other prime minister or no government or no leader of any governing or opposition parliamentary party, has brought a long term vision for the further development of Barbados, or a proper and well thought out long term strategic developent plan to be implemented for the greater development of this country and the people who inhabit it.

As many of us in Barbados have seen Mr. Sandiford and his group fail massively to produce such a vision and such a plan; and Mr. Arthur and his bunch horrificly fail in those and other regards, so much so that the last BLP Government would have been so far clearly the worst government in the post-independence history of Barbados. But, look now what has happened to the country it is being hijacked by another bunch of DLP incompetents and misfits.

Moreso, as our country wastes away greatly, and when long time ago serious remedial action should have been taken by esp. the government to bring a halt this treacherous state of affairs, look how another political buffoon in Mr. Thompson chit chats nonsense about dual citizenship.

Any how, say you, the average reader of this missive, were not in Bath, St. John, on the 21st January, to listen to Mr. Thompson, or you were there but you did NOT listen to him speak, but nevertheless you are at home in St. Michael on your way to your business place for opening at 9 am on the Friday after the 21 st, not having enough money to buy fuel for the car for the day, not having enough money to buy breakfast and lunch, having not too long ago – a week ago to be exact – paid a big portion of your regular income on the house mortgage, and you have got the only three children you have to take to primary school in the car, but unfortunately they are NOT so well uniformed and NOT so well presented, but still you have to go the business place, so you have to leave the wife at home because she had been laid off recently.

Well just imagine, as you are in the car waiting for those three children to take to school, that you look for the first time at the Barbados Advocate Newspaper of Friday, 22 January, and how as you are about to read the Front page story, headlined REGIONAL UNITY CALL too, you just begin to imagine as if you were there at Bath hearing him say to the crowd of people that were listening to him, and while at the same time before you get into the heart of the news story, you are so very very quickly beginning to recall that the Central Bank Governor had reported recently that this country’s so-called economy contracted by 5.3 % last year, that unemployment has risen to 10 %, that you doubt the Cenral Bank that the cost of living fell to 3 % at the end of last year, but you still know that the costs of living and doing business for the average John and Mary Doe in Barbados remains unbearably high, and that thousands upon thousands are suffering and living in pure misery, but nevertheless as you really begin to read, you start to imagine hearing Mr. Thompson say the following: “I find it somewhat flawed that we educate our children ( who the hell is he referring to anyway when he says we and our children, you ask), (when we) send them abroad for education to gain invaluable insight and experiences in other lands and then tell them that the legal steps” … and then you stop and pause a bit from thinking how is it you are really listening to his stupid mindless empty trash as if you were actually there; and somehow you begin to recall what he had promised in the election campaign of 2008 to do with those persons who were caught doing any criminal wrongs in regard of the Hardwood Housing Factory Inc Scandal, to deal with those persons who looted the UDC, if he had won the government, but of course you know that he has long won the government two years now; anyhow at the same time you are still waiting for the children to take to school you quickly remember what he had also promised you about Intergrity Legislation a Ministerial Code of ethics and why such things were needed and you remember quickly too that you had heard former Prime Minister Arthur say he would also deal with any shreds of evidence of corruption in government and knowing that he had done NOTHING ABSOLUTELY NOTHING POSITIVE to stop it, you expected Mr. Thompson to do NOTHING also; and quickly remembering that this stinking stupid DLP Government has NOT up to now caused the prosecution of any one who misappropriated monies and others things under the recent former BLP Government, you are here now getting mad and angry at this Prime Minister, the DLP, Arthur and the BLP, but you stumble out of that mood to as if then to hear the present Prime Minister continue to say from the stage to the crowd of people.. .. the following (and you continue to read too): “the legal steps they would have acquired while residing in those countries prevents them from serving in and helping to build their own countries as legislators”; and you almost after hearing such in your mind and mainly because your business is being seriously affected by this depression, since et al you cannot pay your rent bills properly for the store space you are renting in Bridgetown, have to ask of your self casually what kind of madman Thompson is – but you definitely know he is NOT a madman, but that he is NOT dealing FAILING TO deal with your and the plight of so many people; and then you imagine hearing him say as you read the same Advocate this most appalling part….”It gets worse, some existing constitutions also stipulate that even holding citizenships or having a passport from a sister Caribbean island disqualifies you from serving in your own country as a legislator”.

But quickly it comes to your mind that there is this very abominable disgusting feature – a very obscene benefit indeed, in the government’s laws – first passed under the Sandiford Government and later made worse by the Arthur Government, that says in effect: parliamentarians can only serve two terms, or only a total of that time that would amount to two terms only, and that would qualify them for pension, where as you the ordinary citizen would have to wait until 66/67 and whatever else in between there to qualify for yours..

And finally you continue imagine hearing the jack o lantern say this: “So I believe that the time has come for us ( but before you can proceed any further you ask yourself and then of the oldest of the three children who happens to be now getting in the car who did Thompson mean by us?) …….( but soon after you continue thinking ) and you repeat carefully in your own way to yourself what you are seeing in the newspaper …..and you continue to read him to say that, “the time has come for us to review these provisions as they will hamper and prevent us …from attracting vitally needed talent in the management and administration of these islands in the critical period of our development ..(but who the hell does he mean?, you again ask of your self first and then the oldest child as you continue reading what he was reported to be saying… Our development?, you ask. Our development?? you asked of yourself).

Now, you are beginning to drive off because all the children are in the car and you say good bye to the wife, but have to ask yourself (and by this time you are raging and seething with anger and fury) …as to whether he, Thompson, feels that this Constitution of Barbados is his, that it can simply be amended to suit his personal needs or the needs of a few parliamentarians in Barbados, or to be trifled with to accommodate a few selfish so-called politicians in Barbados? At the end of this question you drive off visibly heatedly wondering if you are a second class citizen in your own country, merely there to be a subject of the government. And the imagination stops there because you have got to go and take the children to school in the City and then to your business in that part too, through very congested traffic from your home in St. Michael.

But very seriously though now what it was that Thompson was clearly suggesting at Bath to Mr. Skerritt, Mr. Bird and the other foreign leaders who were there, was that constitutional changes to some of those constitutions of some other CARICOM territories – which now properly rightfully disallow dual citizenship for parliamentarians or legislators or Prime Ministers or Presidents in other jurisdictions, were the path to take rather than to have Judges in their respective territories tell them – after elections have been concluded – that some of their candidates’ elections to their respective legislatures were nullified owing to the fact that at the time of their election they would have had dual citizenship, which for candidates would have been outlawed by the government’s laws.

But, as this Barbados economy further crumbles, we in the PDC wish to tell Mr. Thompson that it is an entire amount of foolishness and disgracefulness of him to suggest that the late Errol Barrow could have qualified for citizenship in quite a few Caribbean countries and elsewhere, when the facts are such that that could NOT have happened because he was born in Barbados. Not only would Mr. Barrow NOT have entertained such nonsense – if he were alive – knowing the Barbadian patriot he was – but he would NOT have wanted at to any time suggest that he would simply be changing the Constitution of Barbados to simply allow for a few House of Assembly people to carry dual citizenship and to thus distort the real meaning of citizenship as it applies to rulers or a narrow ruling class group in Barbados.

And to make his point sound more filthy Mr. Thompson goes and suggests ( According to the Advocate Newspaper Friday, January 2010) that Mr. Barrow had in fact had citizenship of some other country, by asking: ” Can you imagine the void that would have existed in Barbados’ history had he been denied ( at this point in time Thompson could only be arguing a case for himself because he has dual citizenship) the right to serve in the Parliament of Barbados because he was a citizen of another country?

No wonder our so-called economy is worsening day by day and month by month and year by year owing to a severe lack of serious and enlightened intellectual and political leadership by NOT ONLY Mr. Thompson but also Miss Mia Mottley and their respective parties.

5. We (B’dos) are just another micocosm of the developed world; and having dug ourselves into the *pit* of secular materialism, humanism, cultural and moral relativism, etc, etc., as usual, passing-the-buck, blaming the other ‘guy’ started way back in Genesis, when Adam blamed God, ‘…that women you gave me…SHE mek me…’ (Gen 3:12a)

The point IS, BLP, DLP, it makes NO difference who is in power, WE were, building our NATION, i.e., Houses, Fancy Cars, Credit Card ‘spending’ going out of style, ALL on an entirely FALSE sense of *development* getting on in life, a devastating LIE, not based on REALITY at all…!!!

‘Except the LORD builds the house, (i.e., Nation) They labor in VAIN who build it; Unless the Lord guards the city, The watchman stays awake in vain.” (Psa. 127: 1) emphasis added.

Of course, the economists, admistrators, et al, DON’T want to hear this side of the equation, this is fanatical Bible nonsense!

Just waite and see!

6. I await comment from Looking Glass on what the current administration has done, should do, will do, should not have done, should not do and will not do to bring about recovery.

I am seeking a balanced analysis, it can not only be about what the previous administration did, and we are two years into a new government.

7. @Enuff

You need to change your old argument; read the last two submissions of LG and we can clearly see where he is coming from. He is putting some lashes in the BLP for hinging our model of development to one of debt creation which was not sustainable. BU is not sure he has absolved the Thompson administration from any responsibility because they have been in power for only 2 years.

Enuff are you saying the policies of the 2 year old DLP is totally responsible for the economic morass we now find ourselves. From where we sit both parties (based on the little we have seen from the DLP in 2 years) have not dramatically changed the way Barbados does business as far as re-engineering our productive sectors.

8. @ David

No I am not, but how can we continue to dwell solely on what the previous government did?

The DLP is the government, it therefore MUST be more about what they will do and is doing. Governments are elected to govern during times of plenty and in need. If they fail to function effectively during crises then they are undeserving of being a government.

Why should I believe the government can do nothing when our own history tells us otherwise.

My position on matters is based on what the government says and does, I pay little attention to the Opposition because opposition politics is a totally different ball game to being in government.

9. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Wonder of all wonders that I am able to agree with something the PDC says:

The PDC says you have to ask yourself:

“whether he, Thompson, feels that this Constitution of Barbados is his, that it can simply be amended to suit his personal needs or the needs of a few parliamentarians in Barbados, or to be trifled with to accommodate a few selfish so-called politicians in Barbados”.

This latest statement by thompson about persons from different caribbean countries being able to come to barbados and take up high office is another example of the misguided garbage that these young politicians like thompson and serritt are pushing.

This tinkering of the constitution to allow dual citizenship must be questioned – what is driving this?

Tell me which part of the caribbean except barbados will you see a prime minister of the region spouting this nonsense?

Thompson seems to be picking up where owen arthur left off and you have to ask yourself how serious is thompson about that immigration green paper.

When again is the town hall on the green paper,hearing anything from government on that?

Ha.

10. @Enuff

Don’t agree with you 100%.

The policies of the former administration interacting with the global financial crisis have put most economies in a tailspin. Criticism of the DLP government must be tempered in this context. What is interesting, and you have admitted it wouldn’t interest you, is the fact Mottley and the BLP seem to be mobilizing at the grassroots level. They had their first meeting this week. It will be interesting to see what traction Mottley and her team gets from these meetings while the DLP is occupied with the economy and Haiti.

11. PDC, well said. Very intriguing article to read and take in, absolutely vivid and BITING!!! Love it .

12. How are the economic policies of the DLP different from those of the BLP?

I notice another marina being built on the West Coast. I notice that the much maligned Jada and Rotherly construction companies (remember the BU thread “Wanted for the rape of the West Coast”?) have contracts with Government to build 10 story buildings. I notice that there is talk of building an airport in St.Lucy. I notice the Chinese are getting even more contracts to build Government projects. I notice that the Government has gotten involved with the Four Seasons project with the help of Ms Mottley’s law firm (surprise surprise!! Look what is happening behind the scene!!)

It would appear that there is only one game in town and that is to promote a tourism sector that is foreign controlled and to sell land and condos to wealthy foreigners. So whether BLP or DLP or even PDC in office, it is the same old khaki pants.

13. @Anonymous

It certainly appears to be business as usual. Avie seems to have toned down his political rhetoric directed at the government. Wonder if it has something to do with a golden share.

On another note the government and others in the region should be aware that people who should know have some concerns about the current global financial system and its capacity to prevent another financial crisis. Governor of the Bank of England has announced loudly that the G20 should effectively merge with the International Monetary Fund, under a radical proposal to overhaul management of the international economy.

Not too long ago we heard rantings about the best practices of the IMF and its capacity to solve the economic ills of Barbados. Be warned!

14. @ David,

We are too preoccupied with punishing the BLP even after January 15 2008, so much so that we are willing to accept any and everything the government does.

I maintain my stance, I am interested in the actions and words of the government.

Here’s an example:

Transport Board loses $142 million
    Date May 25, 2008
    Brief

THE TRANSPORT BOARD has chalked up more than BDS $142 million in losses over the past four years.

Speaking at the board’s first retreat at Queen’s College yesterday, chairman Pedro Stanford said the board had accumulated losses”in the region”
    of BDS$142.8 million for the period 2005-2008.

Stanford said unaudited financial statements for last year alone, ending March 31, 2008, showed
    a “whopping” BDS$44.7 million.

This trend must be reversed immediately, and to this end the board would be reviewing current marketing strategies, profit centres, ridership levels, routing and bus availability among other indicators,” Stanford told staff.

The board chairman said that while the transport system had been an essential input into the economic landscape of the nation, it had also been a “burden on the purse” of the Treasury. “The heavy Government subsidy of the operation has been a major concern to taxpayers of this country,” Stanford said.

How is it that two months later bus fares for school children are further subsidised, a group that provided a large chunk of the Board’s revenue?

The BLP is the opposition party and is entitled to have a right to capitalise on the errors/misfortunes of the government. Pray tell how did the DLP become the government if not via a similar strategy. They may very well gain traction too because this government has not lived up to the electorate’s expectations.

Just read the PDC piece, now that is unbiased commentary, and it addresses clearly what I mean about actions and words.

15. Ah wonder when the Government changes after coming elections, and the BLP brings Barbados back from the economic mess that the DLP has put this country in (not for the first time ) WHAT you people are going to say.

David Thompson and the DLP cannot handle the business and just like they did in 1991, they are implementing the incorrect policies and blaming other persons -(the last Government for everything) -check John Boyce and his recent mouthings for the ridiculous.

DLP supporters praise Sandy for 1991-94 and say that he maintained parity with the US dollar but according to them Arthur did nothing for the country thereafter.

In 1994, the BLP inherited an economy in jeopardy. We all knew the foreign reserves position at that time. We all knew the unemployment situation at the time. We all know who turned around that situation .

Now the DLP claims that after inheriting an economy completely opposite to WHAT the BLP inherited from them in 1994 they have been dealt a bad hand and that they cannot cope because the last Government was ‘so bad’. –

Man give me a frigging break ! –

In 1986 , the DLP inherited a country doing well. By 1988, the DLP had wrecked this country with a former Minister in the DLP Government describing the budget as a backstreet abortion.

MR ‘I WAS ADAMANT AND THEY WERE ADAMANT’ SANDIFORD and the DLP then continue to wreck the economy. The economy was performing like Garfield Sobers according to Sandiford but days after Sobers was run out for 33 ———-33 million dollars in regrading money to people that had retired and who spent the money to buy consumer durables–‘mottocars’.

Sandy paid himself and his goons increased salaries and then cut salaries by 8%—————-It became so BAD that men of conscience , his own men had to get rid of him.

These are the facts and nothing but the facts. Not stupid sentiment.

16. How can any commentator who expects to be taken seriously claim that the DLP inherited an economy that was in bad shape?

LG claims that the present government could not fulfill campaign promises… “All leaders make promises at election time—that’s the nature of the game—.Can you name one who fulfilled them from an empty bucket?

” Empty bucket? That simply is not true. Foreign reserves $2.7billion..an all time high. Unemployment, even with the 30,000 Guyanese taking away local jobs, at an all time low, Government revenues at an all time high. Compare that with what the BLP inherited in 1994. That claim is laughable. All the international rating agencies giving the economy a good pass mark. The national debt, because of its high local content was accepted to be manageable. What empty bucket what?

Does a lie become the truth if it is told often enough?

It is time for the government to start accepting responsibility for its own performance instead of continually griping about a fanciful empty bucket.

Yes, the reverses in the world economy have hurt Barbados, but that’s not the BLP’s fault. That’s just the luck of the draw. Get on with the job. Show Barbados that you have the resourcefulness to perform in adversity.

The voters are watching and they are getting fed up with the unfulfilled promises, increasing taxes and the rising cost of living.

17. It is my recollection that the DLP when in opposition excoriated the BLP for not addressing the rising cost of living. In fact, the DLP said that stemming the rising cost of living was the number one priority of its administration. Well why has the DLP not been able to work the magic that it accused the BLP of not being able to accomplish?

18. @Inkwell

All that you say is true in relative terms. In real terms the writing has been on the wall about the vulnerability of the Barbados economy and its ability to mitigate external shocks. The IMF in its Article IV Consultation discussed our lack of diversification in the economy and total reliance on tourism. When BU criticises the former government it is ion the context of totalling exposing Barbados to the vagaries of building its productive sectors on foreign elements. Relying on tourism, Offshore, FDI was and continues to be the easy way out i.e. not self sustaining. Let us develop our sports program, cultural sector, innovate in the agricultural sector etc.

19. If the BLP was given a fourth term which they rightly derserved , those things of which you speak would have been done.

Bajans made a goof when they voted the DLP into office and slowed the momentum of development in this country.It was a sad affair to hand the reins of Government over to a clueless bunch. There was no need for a change of Government in the past elections. Change to WHATand for WHAT ?

There are elements in this country such as a former Newspaper ‘personality’ who was committed to preventing Arthur from achieving a fourth term. The thinking is that such an accomplishment would have relegated the Father of Independence to a position, in the minds of some persons, beneath Arthur and interested persons were concerned that this would have given the ‘boy’ from St. Peter too much clout.

How could you allow Arthur , a skillful debater and presenter, ammunition to present an argument based on the ‘fourth term’ to say that he was one better than the Father of Independence ? How could you ? In the minds of certain persons: it could not happen.

Come the elections and certain big business interests, who thought that they had something to lose if such things as ‘flyovers’ came to Barbados, in conjuction with others injected considerable sums of money into a campaign of lies-(remember the lie that the BLP and its supporters had cut the wires at DLP Oistins meeting? ) .

This money allowed a bunch of ‘politicians’ who will never get the economy run properly in a hundred years to fool the people. The simple reason is that they dont know how to bat on this wicket or any wicket – Its just not cricket -for them.

WHAT we saw during the past elections then was an advertising blitz by the DLP with illegal billboards and full page newspaper advertisements, and other multimedia productions fooling the people into thinking that the DLP was ready. Ready for WHAT ? To take this country right back to 1991-94 and finish WHAT they started then—-the jeopardising of the Barbadian economy.

20. David,

Tourism and offshore business have been and will continue to be the main engines of the Barbados economy. With the decline in the sugar industry, they were been what was used effectively by the past administration to transform the economy from the ruins of 1991 – 1994.

They are what we do best and we must do what it takes to ensure that they are sustainable. The present administration, to its credit, appears to be in tune with this philosophy given its major effort in resuscitating the Four Seasons project and its support for the new marina.

Just imagine what condition we would be in after two years of recession if the economy had not been developed to the state the present administration found in 2008.

Granted that our future still relies on these two engines, there is no reason that other generators of foreign earnings should not be developed or expanded.
    What initiatives has the present administration taken in two years in the areas of sports, the cultural sector and agriculture to give hope to those engaged therein?

21. I do not know what compelled me to read the PDC’s post but I must say that as long as it is, it made for some good reading. I hope that the past and present powers and those who are embarking for the future read what the PDC wrote. For me I believe the sentiments are also opine by many Barbadians. Both the DLP and BLP still seem to think that all Barbadians are brainless baffoons still influence by a massa mentality and fear. Its time they both wake up.

22. Four Seasons. I do not like government involvement in these types of projects.

With private sector projects that have public sector components,ways are usually found by bright people to milk the tax payers.

It is easy to spot what is going on but impossible to convict anyone for corruption

23. To: mash up and buy back, Young Bajan, and Enuff

The PDC wishes to thank each of you for the very encouraging and positive remarks that you have made about the above PDC post and does look forward to greater interaction between yourselves and us on this blog.

And to all those others who would have read it, we wish to say thanks for having read it as well.

You see life, esp. for the many many thousands of people from the broad masses and middle classes of Barbados must surely be becoming very increasingly miserable and wretched at this time of political economic depression in country.

Indeed, we have seen and are seeing it with our very own eyes how many of our own people – whether we are workers, small business people, contractors, Christians, non-Christians or agnostic, family or not family, friends or not friends, whether we live in board or board/wall houses or wall houses, or whatever else, how forlornly immensely we have been and are suffering and struggling and eking out a living at this time in this country in which we were born and raised or migrated to, damn it, and in which so many hundreds of years would have been expended building this same country off the backs of our enslaved brothers and sisters right up to our own broad masses and middle classes of people, and this is where it really hurts and pains, to see and realize that as we struggle struggle and struggle – and this happens through no fundamental fault of ours, as that it must be now realized by so many lower class people that no matter how hard and long we try and we aspire to achieve many things in life in Barbados , this elite driven state political financial system is deliberately making general life here more and more burdensome and treacherous for the broad masses and middle classes; there have been or there were little or no real material, financial and other rewards for our descendents, and how now there have been or are little or no real material, financial and other rewards for us, even though altogether we have built or have been building and continue to build this country, even as we struggle on with so many hopes and fears. Thus, we dare say in this present generation that were are not much further away from the stage when our forbears were enslaved and sold as property far less being able to own property!!

But, it must be no wonder why many of our people have already given up hope for a better and brighter tomorrow or have been found saying or doing some very extra-ordinary things to take our minds, even if it is temporarily, off the rigidities and the cruelties in life in this former British colony.

So rather than the vast majority of our masses and middle classes in the 70s and 80s seeking ideologies and philosophies and practices that helped to make us owners of productive and income generating assets and lands in the long term so that we would have had greater control our destinies, we remain stuck at educational religious spiritual ideas and practices.

Moreover, there are times really when we in PDC have heard and seen many of our own people in Barbados just thinking seriously about and just pondering and pondering deeply about the real purpose or meaning of human life, esp. when they could look back nostalgically especially and realize that they came up in poor but well knit communities in the country, and there was this great sense of being more or less cohesive, one, more or less stable in times of plenty and in times scarcity, in times of festivity and solemnity, through all the changing scenes of life in trouble and in joy.

But still look at how there was this one fundamental theme, which was so poignantly persistent recurrent in those earlier days ( of the 70s and 80s ), but which has now grown so offensively robust today: of that of no matter how hard and long we have tried, and in whatever ways and circumstances, we have not been successful in catching up with the rich and better off. No doubt this theme was often seen reified and patternized in many ways social political: our poor parents – esp many adult women setting off for work in the early mornings, working as domestics (home helpers) in many of the homes of persons in the middle classes whom they got to know either on their own or through some others; as agricultural workers going to work inside and outside of the crop season in nearby plantation estates; as workers in garment factories in nearby housing estates; or as hucksters ( vendors/small entrepreneurs) in Bridegtown – and then having to come later in the evenings and still clean much out of the homes, and or go to church and prepare their young children, if they had young children, for school or nursery the next day; and then, on Fridays mainly, receiving very puny incomes to spend on their families – with whatever little they could have save some of it going into friendly societies or bank for others to mainly make use of.

And esp. with regard to many adult men setting off for work inside and outside of the crop season early in the mornings too as workers in the agricultural fields and the sugar factories; as road builders with private contractors like Rayside Construction; as shop assistants or truck drivers in retail outlets in Bridgetown, say with Courts; as casual or general workers in the government in Parks and Beaches Commission, in the Ministry of Communications and Works; as vendors in Bridgetown or in their own communities or as small shop owners inside and outside the communities and who altogether would set up and close or open and close their businesses when ever they like – and then, if so, returning home to get meals that were prepared by their spouses – then later to go and relax and play some dominoes or cards or draughts with the boys in the rumshop or under the street lights, or simply to drink some rum with the same boys in the rum shop or play some football or cricket or go to church or to some social club or go dancing; and then, for workers, on Fridays mainly, receiving meagre wages, and for those small business people whenever the time came, receiving meagre revenues – albeit not being able to save as fast as the elites were investing in businesses.

In earlier days – 70s and 80s – there were actually few or fewer middle class people in these really poor but cohesive communities, but whenever they resided within them they were nearly always the ones who had so-called own the lands on which those parents who were poor and did not have their own lands used to live on and pay rent for; they were almost always small farmers and agriculturalists with their own small and medium sized portions of land on which they grew ground provisions or on which they raised livestock for themselves and for sale to others, and of which many were later subdivided and given or sold to relatives and friends or business people, or willed by them to their relatives and later subdivided and sold, or were kept as a whole by the relatives; they were the police who you hardly saw in uniform in the villages in which they resided; they were almost always the teachers and pastors whom you respected very much, there were many times the nurses; and the next generation of non-traditional business entrepreneurs; and the truth is that they were were not very big money earners either although they certainly earned more money than their poorer counterparts in these villages and communities – yet their individual savings were almost always more than the masses – but which were often used to help get them loans to buy NOT mainly productive assets like many elites but to build or purchase homes, cars, etc – and for which repayment meant hellish times.

And the truth is that there were hardly seen any black doctors, lawyers, engineers, so-called politicians etc. of the middle classes living in these poor rural and suburban villages and communities in those days but many of whom obviously were born and raised in these said villages and communities but who left to live elsewhere in the heights and terraces.

But a serious analysis of those types of underpinning or overarching social political relations that existed then in those earlier times in those poor villages and communities, and which today, damn it, still exist similarly – nevermind the net slightly to moderately improved material and financial changes that have come about for the masses and middle classes ( the latter of which has grown much since the same 70s and 80 s ) and for which since the same 70s and 80s these two segments of people would have had to pay dearly to obtain these improved material and financial changes, would indicate that the primary reasons why we the broad masses and middle classes have been trying so hard, day in and day out, and getting no where or making it thus far and no further in relationship to the upper class – to the real social political elites in Barbadian society, is primarily because of the fact that there has been at the core of these relations two very severe and profound and lasting elite/state political exploitation of the masses and middle classes of people of this country by ideological political material and financial means and the elite/state social political marginalization and disspersification of the said people by political economic dispossession means. These are what the hell are mainly keeping us down and helping become so pauperized!!

But, finally, in order to break the vicious most disgusting cycle of human degradation that happens at the behest of others – and which is something that earlier villages and communities failed to do seriously – we need to break the backs of the DLP and BLP which have been vigorously but wickedly promoting such degration in sometimes overt ways and in sometimes subtle ways. By breaking the backs of the DLP and the BLP, we herein mean VOTING AND VOTING UNTIL WE THE MAJORITY OF PEOPLE IN BARBADOS VOTE THEM OUT OF PARLIAMENT. And another thing we need to do is to VOTE FOR other people centered national developmentalist parties that will make sure that there is PARTNERSHIP OWNERSHIP OF THE BUSINESS ENTERPRISES IN WHICH WE OPERATE.

Certainly, one of the greatest reasons why we the broad masses and middle classes have not been able to make it thus far socially materially and thus be able to fundamentally redefine reshape the various social relations among ourselves and to fundamentally redefine and reshape those that exist between ourselves and the state and elite, is because that with the elite ( check er CO Williams being allowed over the years to purchase so many lands space rights and to own so many buildings and machinery and equipment) and with the state aggregating so much land space rights and owning so many buildings, equipment and such like, than all of us as individuals do, that with such things and more relevant things happening have effectively meant that we have been prevented from owning many more productive income generating assets and lands, and in cases where we have sought to do so these same DLP and BLP factions ( really the leaderships and principals of these parties not the rank and rile members) have worked together to put stinking rules and mechanisms to block greater ownership by us of such productive income-generating assets and lands. Just remember what that fool sometime ago did to the small new used car dealers in Barbados in support of the traditional car dealers, and you would see evidence of this right before you eyes. Remember!!

24. It will be the same shit if and when PDC were ever elected —MATERIALISM.
    Everybody says that they are for -the small man –ughhhhh !!! until they start getting money , they feel they are more than the same small man –PDC just want an opportunity to get their hands on the MONEY ! MONEY ! MONEY !

25. Inadvertence: insert in paragraph 10, line seven from the bottom, “things” – and with a “:” following, between the words “lasting” and “elite”.

Johnny Postle,

Thanks for your very pointed and encouraging and true words.

No doubt the wider membership and supporters of our party will be told about the outpouring of support for this particular blog and for the arguments contained there in.

Thanks again to one and all.

26. @Inkwell

BU disagrees that offshore banking and tourism is where we have to focus our productive sectors. That model has been shown to be unsustainable in the new global market. Our governments in the last decade have become fat and lazy like another commenter alluded to earlier. We have the E-economy which because of our level of education remains an unexplored opportunity. We have the opportunity to bill out a new economy driven by the renewable energy sector-shall we go on?

We live in a world where the G20 countries will now restrict capital outflows compared to the good old days which does not augur well Barbados. The volatility of fossil fuels because of rising global terror alert (manufactured or not) will make air travel a challenge. Why wait until we got not choice to change the model?

27. @ David.
    “E-economy which because of our level of education remains an unexplored opportunity.”

http://www.cbc.ca/canada/toronto/story/2010/01/19/samsung-solar-wind-farms461.html

28. @ David

You can’t develop new industries without the requisite human resource skills. There is a need for more applied and technology based educational programmes in Barbados. Instead the government is building office space at Sherbourne.

29. David,

I don;t know what gives you the notion that we can compete successfully in the technology intensive renewable energy field. What are we going to do, sell water heaters to China?

And why do you keep deluding yourself about our much vaunted educational level? We still feel that basic literacy and numeracy constitute a high level of education. 90% of our teachers and teaching are at best mediocre. We are far behind the developed countries as well as developing countries like India and China in this regard and don’t look like catching up any time soon.

I ask again, what initiatives has the present administration taken in two years in the areas of sports, the cultural sector and agriculture to give hope to those engaged therein?

We are a small country with limited resources and therefore need to put them to best use. Tourism survived 9/11 and will recover from this recession. This sector is where we can best compete.

Come on David, do the foreigners who invest in tourism (FDI) have more faith in your country than you do?

30. Hants,

Even if you move all the people out of St George, St, John, St Phillip and Christ Church (and I’m not moving), and create a wind farm, it will not be big enough to meet the energy requirements of Barbados. Not to mention that the neighboring parishes will suffer from the “second hand smoke” emitted by the farm.

Solar energy has to be our thrust. We had a twenty year head start, but were brain deficient in developing the industry. We will now have to pay mega bucks for the technology.

31. And now we have the BWA saying reduce the zoning areas so we can build more houses, hhhhhmmmmmmm.
    Weren’t they a few weeks ago saying something along the line of “water scarce…….import water from Dominica” ???
    See this money, get rich scheme that these people perceive as their saviour will come back to bite them in their backside when the water rates and electricity rate go up. So maybe we will pay double for electricity and triple or more for imported water.

Feel as though the living in outer space or something. Everyone crying for water and WE have soooo much, let up build some houses and get rid of our excess. STUPSE!!!!

Any body’s water was off this morning like mine??!!

32. Inkwell, I totally agree with you.
    After so many years, we are still ‘stuck’ at solar heaters. No solar clothes dryers, washing machines, ac units etc

33. Sylvan Greenidge Avatar

So Looking Glass has finally built up the courage to respond and what a pitiful piece it was. I have concluded having read it that the story about the jackass and the man is truly possible in the DLP.

It would be a waste of my time trying to get you to understand some of the basic economic principles. You do not have the capacity to grasp such technical information. I would recommend that you stay in the realm of the esoteric where you seem to have carved out your niche.

You simple do not a have a clue about the Barbados economy and it works even your attempt at poetry in language is feeble at best. I repeat my request to BU that you should be barred from posting your unintelligent and unrealistic folly on this blog for people on the WWW to read. My greatest fear is that persons around the world who read the farrago of nonsense post by Looking Glass may use it as a gauge to measure the intellectual ability of other Barbadians.

Looking Glass writes, “At last check the total national debt was about $45bn (why so low is another matter) of which about $36bn was foreign”. For Christ sake David and BU stop letting Looking Glass belittle the intellegence of this country. Please stop him from reducing Barbadians in the eyes of the international community.

Barbados’ GDP 2008 at factor cost is $5.7 billion and at market prices is $7.1 billion. How on God’s earth could we have a national debt at $45 billion? What an outrageous display of stupidity and crass ignorance of the country’s economic situation.

As I search for the right political description to define Looking Glass I didn’t have to look too far. As I steered at the collection of books on the shelf, the book – America’s Quest for Global Dominance by Chomsky jumped out at me.

Chapter 1, under the title “Prospects and Priority” has a beautiful piece that I think best describes Looking Glass. It reads, “The “responsible men” who are the proper decision –makers must live free of the trampling and the roar of the bewildered herd.” These “ignorant and meddlesome outsiders” are to be “spectators,” not “ participants.” The herd does have a function to trample periodically in support of one or another element of the leadership class in an election”.

So you see Looking Glass as one of the DLP’s bewildered herd your role as a spectator and not a participant may well explain why the ignorance you post on this blog.

34. Slyvan, I feel like I am listening to Owen Arthur

35. Brother Inkwell

Let’s agree to disagree. The point about building a new economy around renewable energy has to do with weaning ourselves from fossil fuel and particularly reducing foreign exchange outflows. As our population increases as well as consumption it is a problem that will not go away and one which successive governments have ignored.

36. As a result of this feckless incompetent DLP Government having for the past two years to be making some very, very fundamental errors in its so-called macro-economic policy, thousands upon thousands of the poor masses, the marginal masses and middle classes of people in Barbados can look forward to their and the country’s material and financial circumstances deteriorating greatly over the next year or so.

Right now as it stands this joke DLP Government has been pursuing two very terribly flawed political economic policies, (1), of illogically reprehensibly continuing to maintain too high employment/expenditure levels in the government sector, and, (2), of blindly aiding and abetting the social partnership – as a member thereof – in its use of layoffs as a last resort.

But, as the DLP continues with these very misplaced and inappropriate political economic approaches, it faces a very massive problem that it helped to create: national output continuing to fall tremendously ( 5.3 % last year).

Indeed, the national output of Barbados is simply continuing to fall for the very major reason that aggregate demand in the country is contracting substantially owing to so many factors, but first among these factors, because of the TAXATION/unsound fuel pricing policies of the government etc. and the pricing/lending policies of the relevant parts of the private sector too, which have helped to lower drastically the disposable incomes of the other persons and other businesses and which (these policies and their mathematics) in turn have been and are helping to cause national output to fall severely.

So, in this situation of national output continuing to fall massively, there CAN BE NO long term reconciliation between this government’s approach of keeping its own employment levels and, by extension, that of its own operational levels so accustomarily high and its helping to keep the private sector employment levels so high ( e.g. vis a vis NIS loans ), and its approach of attempting to secure as much TAXATION and as much earned government revenue as it would like, even in the face of falling national income.

Therefore, as national income and national expenditure decline substantially excessively, the amount in wicked evil TAXATION must also decline ( e.g. so-called VAT fell by 18.1 %, so-called Corporation Taxes fell by 3.6%, so-called Import Taxes dropping by 15.5 % altogether last year – the Central Bank’s Economic Report for last year ).

So, with this DLP faction having had foreknowledge of these declines in national income and expenditure since 2008 – and with the extent of the fall out ( negligible for Barbados ) from the sub-prime mortgage crisis, the credit crunch in the USA on the rest of the world unravelling then, and this is certainly where this gross and reckless mismanagement of the affairs of government by this errant DLP Government comes in again, the ugly sight still of a very outrageous and reckless ossie moore DLP Goverment going ahead and proceeding nevertheless still with its increasing of government expenditure ( by 3.4 % last year on top of the 14.1 % for last year ) – AND NOT for many reasons of ensuring counter cyclical dynamics because in cases where they they were mentioned there were NOT intended to work – BUT mainly for narrow political purposes, must be said to be and is revolting to us – the PDC and many other people in Barbados – primarily because of the fact that NOT ONLY would this government have been helping to make the fiscal deficit more untenable unsustainable ( it increased it by some 2 and 1/4 % or BDS $ 180 million ( our estimate ) to a whopping 8 and 3/4 % or BDS $ 700 million ( our estimate ) ( and it was heavily financed by enormous government external and domestic borrowing), BUT ALSO because this government at the same time would have been making NO, NO SACRAFICES AT ALL, AT ALL, AT ALL, in this time of severe localized depression, where ONLY in some parts of the PRIVATE SECTOR would this have been done, at the national level.

Yet, disgustingly this DLP government, the present Governor of the Central Bank, and some of their supporters would have been observed by many people including the PDC ever so often seeking to place the blame most wrongly for this localized depression on the economic and financial crisis in the industrialized countries. What ignorance of the highest degree ? Esp. when it can be seen that in 2008, this intellectually bankrupt DLP Government also increased evil wicked TAXATION by at least BDS $ 150 million, severely increased the cost of fuel in this country and increased so-called land tax values – with the consequences of these kinds of impositions on those persons and businesses and others helping to bring about this severe contraction in the so-called economy of Barbados.

Finally, for this band of political bandits to be seen to be implementing these very foolish, archaic and damaging approaches to the running of the fiscal and financial affairs of government and, by extension, to the running of the so-called economic affairs of this country, they would certainly have to be thought – in regard of these same approaches – as certainly mainly asininely carrying forward from where those people of those same wretched vile former BLP Administrations ( 1994 – 2008) would have left off – excessive domestic and foreign borrowings, a skyrocketing government debt (80 something % of GDP), big fiscal deficits, huge external deficits in the balance of payments, highly unsatisfactory rates of production growth.

And, too, as the Prime Minister, Mr. Thompson, recklessly and negligently carries forward another of those two failed miserable BLP approaches, (1), of using the highest levels of employment possible in the country to help bring about lower levels of production ( check the theory of marginal dimishing returns), and, (2), of the Government being in partnership with the private sector and trade unions and wilfully suppressing wages and salaries to achieve higher levels of employment ( so, the BLP bragging about 6.7 employment rates is foolishness ), it has been seen by the PDC that these two inane approaches would have been contributing to the making of an already bad national political economic financial situation worse, whereby instead of using many fiscal and financial incentives, concessions and opportunities to boost production and investment in the country and to create more income generating opportunities to counter loss making ones, so that, et al, higher levels of employment ( CERTAINLY NOT WHAT WE PREFER EMPLOYMENT – WE PREFER PARTNERSHIP STATUSES ) can come about and greater levels of national income be derived therefrom in the long term, this failing DLP Government has been trying to use – with no real long term success – these said two already failed approaches to help prevent national production and incomes from plummeting and to prevent the money circulation process from reaching critically low levels stages. What a way!!

Down with the DLP and BLP!!

37. @ Enuff

There is probably very little wiggle room to operate now. That 142 million in debt for the TB started in 2005. bus fare hasn’t been raised in almost 20 years yet Owen vetoed it when it should have been done. Now the DLP will probably be a one term party if they should raise it.

We Bajans don’t seem to understand that there is no free ride. We always had subsidised busfare but not increasing it for so long has raised the level of subsidy to a ridiculous amount. The thing is when we subsidise it in the manner we have we subsidize tourists, illegal immigrants and other groups who should never benefit wholesale from subsidies.

We cry out about road tax being raised for the first time in decades. even if we only factor in inflation and wage increases the services that government provide have to have their rates increased.

Then Maybe bajans will understand that you have to pay for what you use and therefore you should only use what you need.

38. @ Sayin Nuttin

“We Bajans don’t seem to understand that there is no free ride. We always had subsidised busfare but not increasing it for so long has raised the level of subsidy to a ridiculous amount.”

Who asked the government to further subsidised bus fares for school children? Was it even an election promise?

39. Read that again…

“bus fare hasn’t been raised in almost 20 years yet Owen vetoed it when it should have been done……

We Bajans don’t seem to understand that there is no free ride. We always had subsidised busfare but not increasing it for so long has raised the level of subsidy to a ridiculous amount.”

It is interesting that commentators can speak so easily about Government’s subsidy of public transport and not acknowledge the fact that there is a private sector component to public transport that is being forced to subsidize it out of the owners’ own pocket by having to provide the service at an income level that is well below the economic cost.

Has the bad behavior of the operators so hardened the hearts of the citizens that they don’t care about the injustice being being perpetrated on that section of the society? Has it occurred to anyone that the injustice might be the cause of the bad behavior?

PSV owners are being screwed because the politicians don’t want to compromise their electability…. and the people are loving it.

40. Down with BLP /DLP ?
    and bring PDC
    ——-WHY dont PDC join one of the parties and contribute
    Is PDC suggesting a one party state ?
    Be careful PDC , YOUR SLIP IS SHOWING.

Get real PDC.
    I will be on your case

41. Water rates were just increased, by monday we would know how big an increase the BL&P is going to hit us with, the items in the stores are increasing. with all of this bajans are losing their jobs and very often to non-nationals. Everybody is going to come out of their crisis and Barbados are sinking further and further in theirs. There are even some staunch DLP supporters who are very worried

42. The Central Bank Governor’s report confirms that this is a Government up a creek without a paddle.

An aimless Government, directionless and without compass. The economy is on auto-pilot in the middle of a perfect storm.

What is it that the Government is trying to do? They said that they wanted to deal with costs; and they failed.

They said one year later that they wanted to deal with jobs; and they failed.

This Government has developed the habit of setting targets; but having no strategy to achieving them.

We need to know what they are doing to protect Barbadian households, Barbadian jobs and Barbadian businesses.

The primary purpose of Government is to protect the people. They cannot just say this is what they want to do and hope or wait and see if it will happen by accident.

This government has no growth strategy

43. DR. POOPERTALLIAN Avatar
    DR. POOPERTALLIAN

YUH LIE !
    Alex Fergusson

The Government has a growth strategy

–BLAME THE LAST GOVERNMENT–
    Thats the Strategy———-