Chairman of Caricom and President of Guyana Bharat Jagdeo

Barbados has received a lot of licks from many quarters on the immigration issue. Come January 1, 2010 the much discussed amnesty will expire and illegal immigrants residing in Barbados before January 1, 1998 who have not processed an application will be deported. A recent poll by CADRES indicated Barbadians across the political spectrum were supportive of government’s new immigration policy. The Auditor General of Barbados confirmed the fears of many Barbadians that the system of managing people flows in and out of Barbados is inefficient.

One of the disappointments since the Barbados government rolled out its Green Paper on immigration has been the lack of serious feedback by stakeholders in civil society and ordinary Barbadians. It was embarrassing to listen to a callin program on Voice of Barbados yesterday (27 December 2009) when leading voices in Barbados asked if they had read the Green Paper on immigration admitted they had not.

Immigration matters continue to occupy many countries around the world especially those countries labelled as magnet countries. In all the emotion which has been attached to the issue of Barbados immigration, many of the players in the debate admit a managed immigration policy is a must; BU’s position all along.

One of the hot button issues which many Barbadians reacted to was Prime Minister David Thompson agreeing at the heads of Caricom meeting held in Guyana in July 2009, to include household domestics among the categories of workers allowed to move freely in the region under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas.  Many commenters on BU believed that it was a backdoor move to appease Guyana’s President Jagdeo and Prime Minister Ralph Gonzales of St. Vincent who were very anti-Barbados in their public pronouncements on the immigration matter.

It is interesting to read a report emanating from Guyana that the government is not yet ready to start issuing skill-certificates to domestics wishing to travel to other Caricom member states to ply their trade and none of the relevant agencies could give a timeframe for readiness. The report gives the certain impression that the Guyana government is not in a position anytime soon to be able to issue the Caribbean Vocational Qualification (CVQ) or equivalent which is requires for domestics to move freely in Caricom. Barbadians who disagree with the Thompson government for agreeing to the issuing of skill certificates to domestics maybe happy at the latest notes. Guyana’s as the main proposer of the activation of the new skills category makes their non-compliance laughable. Bear in mind Guyana has accused Barbados as being non-CSME compliant. It is clear our regional leaders and by extension the Caricom/CSME Secretariat is a joke.

The free movement of labour in CSME will not fly if the issues of trade and settlement are not discussed on the same agenda. Come next month some of us will be watching closely how the Barbados government delivers on its promise to rollout the new immigration policy to managed it borders.

58 responses to “The Caricom Immigration Mess”

1. I think it’s time that we have a period of Prohibition in Barbados. That’s right I’m calling for a ban on the sale of alcohol to some Bajans. I mean how else does one account for the statement by Sir Roy Trotman when he said the following as reported by the Nation “ We do not begrudge people the entitlement to visit and to compete for work.”. Oh Really? Can Sir Roy provide a list of countries that Bajans can visit and compete for jobs? Can a Bajan visit St. Lucia or the UK or the USA or Japan and compete for jobs against locals? I think that Sir Roy was under the influence when he made that statement, perhaps his sorrel was spiked with an alcoholic beverage.

Maybe its time that Sir Roy reverts to being plain old Leroy and talk something that makes sense to Bajans, otherwise he will be “competing” with Ossie Moore for the most nonsensical statement made by a Bajan.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/Treat-Migrant-Workers-Fairly-copy-for-web

2. Sargeant // December 28, 2009 at 2:15 AM. Correct. But make sure there is an exclusion clause in the ban so that I can still get my rum.

3. Good catch Sargeant. The statement exposes the agenda of the Knight. The BWU is open for business and the immigrants are the potential customers.

4. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Sargeant

I too saw this unbelievable crap coming from troman and wonder why bajan workers bother to pay the union dues.

Bobby morris too thinks this way.

Imagine the barbados workers union saying that they they don’t care if during this recession and shortage of jobs that vincentians,jamaicans and guyanese come in and take away the few jobs bajans are applying for.

Imagine.

David please check your article in your bold highlight,it should read green paper on immigration and not education.

5. On a different note the Nation newspaper is reporting the St.Leonard’s video is a hoax. We note the Nation was quick to name the blogs/website which posted the video. It highlights the leadership/responsibility which the Bajan blogosphere must subscribe to nurture credibility and integrity. The traditional media is waiting to pounce.

We cannot become like the traditional media and become a slave to the ratings.

6. David

I saw the Nation story too and if it was a hoax I will admit to be taken in by it. Now I notice that the Nation didn’t question the appropriateness of a teacher and parents condoning or taking part in this questionable attempt at humour. Didn’t the Nation also run a “blind” item relating to this story in their gossip column the past weekend?

7. I don’t think the BU family is serious about carrying this immigration crap into the New Year? These are serious times to reflect on serious matters.

That this matter is on this blog again is a clear indication that the Dems have fully digested their own propaganda. This issue started out as political red herring in the last election. On that occasion the charge was that there were thirty thousand Guyanese living illegally in Barbados. From the Prime Minister’s own words just fewer than ten were deported so far, that leaves a balance of twenty-nine thousand nine hundred and ninety something.

Come January we will see what happens. I wonder if the Guyanese that were building the lavish greenheart house up on Martins Bay on the property owned by MAFA are among those to be sent out or if they were pardoned.

In any event the state of the Barbados economy no longer renders it a country for which international travelers farlessmore Caricom nationals find attractive. I am reliably informed that the few illegal immigrants that we had here from Guyana have already gone back home anyway, on their own volition, since there economy has grown by 2.5% last year and 3% this year and is now better poise to develop further at the end of the recession.

Barbados’ economy is being managed extremely badly. It is clear that we need a Prime Minister of some economic competence and intellectual depth to rescue us from economic deprivation. Thompson is not the man for the times. Rather than occupy our time with this immigration trivia we would be well advised to concentrate on the poor state of our economy. Thompson’s “wait and see” approach is not working. Soon and very soon it will be Barbadians who would be running from Barbados to be illegal immigrants in another man’s country and I hope it wouldn’t be Guyana.

8. Interesting Sarge, it would be good to find that article to which you referred.

9. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

‘Come January 1, 2009 the much discussed amnesty will kick in…’. [From January 1, 2010 {note correction}, there will NO LONGER be an amnesty; that is what is in place now.]

10. David

CRICKETERS TAKE LASHES OFF PITCH
    SEEMS THAT TEACHERS at a certain secondary school are still not afraid to instil discipline on their charges with the use of a whip.
    A video making the rounds on Facebook shows a teacher at the school putting some hot lashes on three teenage boys from the cricket team who apparently went to a strip club and returned to their hotel room late at night.
    Apparently this took place while the team was on tour in a neighbouring Caribbean country.
    From the looks of it, the boys who got the lashes will never step out of line again.
    Wonder what education authorities would say this time around?
    http://www.nationnews.com/comments/guestcolumnists/pudding-and-souse-xmas-copy-for-web

11. Thanks Sargeant and LIB.

12. Is the newspaper now called the Guyana Nation,how many times do you need to see Norman Faria’s face & who cares if Guyana’s Government does a review of proposed Barbados Immigration law with regards to birthright citizenship!

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/brassy-tacks-immigration-FRONT-PAGE-LEAD

Norman Faria is telling a ‘tale of two cities’ first he said Guyanese illegal immigrants were complying with Barbados immigration law now he is saying,”Those undocumented, they would have had children born here. So there are ramifications for those Guyanese who would like their children born in that situation to remain in Barbados, grow up in Barbados and so on.”

Does an ILLEGAL immigrant

A.Comply with immigration Law ?

B.Have children when they KNOW they are illegal in the first place ?

C.Give birth to children for FREE using Barbados’ social services ?

The ‘clear & present danger’ is simple to understand enforce the immigration laws to deter situations as Birth Tourism.

13. Lets us see the evidence of the 30,000 Guyanese – David Thompson and the DLP said are here illegally:

++++++++++++++++++

This topic again highlights the fact that whereas the government of Barbados is bellyaching about the global financial crisis as an excuse for its dangerous mismanagement of the economy, the Guyana economy grew by 3% last year and is expected to grow by 2.5% this year.

The second point has to be that in four days time, Prime Minister Thompson and the DLP must show Barbadians the 30,000 Guyanese – they told the people of Barbados – are here illegally.

14. AF You and company have dug a grave and have been literally buried in your drivel.

We the people of Barbados are waiting and watching patiently to see what Mr. Thompson does and we HOPE that certain parts of the Green Paper are changed for the good of ALL Barbadian citizens!

Who gives a f### about NF and company! David Ellis: continue to sing for your supper – ASS!

The Fourth Estate is loosing its foothold daily. We bajans refuse to allow them to insult us to our face. As for VOB …… who gives a shit about them ….. they are loosing their stance by the minute ………. and the bell tolls on …….

15. Damn good thing (for some) that I’m not Prime Minister of Barbados, because so help me God, I would have chased ALL the illegal Guyanese, and other illegals, out of Barbados ever long time since, even if it meant that I would be a one-term P.M., and even if it meant that I got kicked out of the stupid CSME. Look how St. Lucia and Antigua did what they had to do as regards illegal Guyanese, without so much as a sneeze. But Jagdeo and Faria foamed at the mouth when Barbados mentioned deportation of illegals. ILLEGALS, mind you – not LEGALS. And what happens? Barbados trembles and goes soft. Too many damn wimps around here.

As to the Sunday Brass Tacks programme, the least said about that the better. An absolute shambles, and Oh! how Faria must have gloated.

SHUT TO HELL UP, ALEX FERGUSSON/ROYAL RUBMLE/PARO IN THE SUIT.

16. Alex Fergusson, Royalrumble who are obviously BLP surrogates BU hopes for your sake you will not trivialize this immigration business next election. To be warned is to be forearmed!

17. GET OUT! I agree wholeheartedly. It is past time that Barbados deport ALL illegal aliens forthwith. I will say it again, at the end of the day Barbados have to look out for itself. Barbados cannot accomodate an abundance of illegals. These aliens need to stay in their country and change their governments and the hell with Caricom. I think Barbados should join the OECS. The OECS is the only progressive regional organization. Caricom is a total waste of time and resources.

18. Some people just don’t get it.

Barbados is 166 sq. miles and with 280,000 people is one of the most densely populated contries on earth.

Jagdeo should be negotiating with Canada to increase the number of Guyanese immigrants to Canada.

Lots of room up here and there will be work for them after the recession ends.

19. The BU family maybe interested to know the Huffington Post, largest blog in the USA picked up the link to our blog The Caricom Immigration Mess. What interest the BU household is the ton of immigration stories on the Huffington Post Immigration page. Listening to some in Barbados and in the region one could easily imagine Barbados is a big bad wolf. We usually don’t highlight when other media string or scrape our blogs but we find this one satisfying given the local media position to ignore the new media.

20. It seems that our Prime Minister David Thompson has made alternative arrangements with Norman Faria & David Comissiong on his original amnesty proposal.

I was reliably informed that the original amnesty proposal was altered from the ten years from 1998 to 2004 by our Prime Minister with his secret meetings with Norman Faria & David Comissiong.David Comissiong close comrades Trevor Prescod & David Denny along with Gilbert Greaves & Comissiong himself were today at immigration department sorting out status for many Guyanese nationals who have now benefited from the now altered amnesty proposal.My source confirmed that many non-nationals who did not meet the ten year qualification requirement set in the original amnesty have now been given status in Barbados because of the revised amnesty.Everyone knows that when Negroman says something about immigration he is usually on the ball.Remember I am the person who indicated that amnesty was coming for non-nationals.However,on this occasion I want to be wrong and I hope I am wrong, but the information coming from my reliable sources is of such that I know that I am right when I say that Prime Minister David Thompson has altered his original amnesty.

If my information proves correct,I hope Barbadians would rise up in their thousands and demonstrate in no uncertain ways our total opposition to Prime Minister David Thompson reversal on his original amnesty.

David & BU,I want you to investigate this matter seriously and report to us & to Barbados what are your findings on the apparent reversal by our Prime Minister on his original amnesty proposal.

When I am told that the likes of David Comissiong,Trevor Prescod,David Denny & Gilbert Greaves were at the immigration department today assisting illegal non-nationals in getting status in Barbados,we in Barbados must prepare ourselves to demonstrate in no uncertain terms to the reversal of the original amnesty by Prime Minister David Thompson.

Finally,I hope that the DLP supporters & apologists such as Veritas,Carson Cadogan,Wishing in Vain & the rest would come and set the record straight and state rather the Prime Minister has reverse his stance on immigration & his original amnesty.

21. David suffice it for me to say that Bajans have an abundance of support from Americans, Brits, Asssies etc with regards to immigration. Don’t softened your opposition on account of the Nationnews or George Brathwaite-candidate for a PHD.

22. @Negroman

The government surrogates have REFUSED so far to speak with clarity on the matter of changes to the amnesty as originally communicated. Your former brother Carsom Cadogan has gone into hiding or so it seems. Time longer than twine. At least the government has a friend in the Opposition on the immigration matter.

23. Negro
    My hero. Like you, I smell a (dead) rat n it real stink too. So leh ‘DEM’ go ahead n commit political suicide. (pun intended).Bunch a jokers. Thompy n Commissiong head a de pack.stupseeeeeeeeeeee n pukeeeeeeeee.

24. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

David/BU

Have your investigations led you to any confirmation of negroman information posted above?

25. There are going to be four (4) Immigration consultation meetings beginning January 14,2010 at Solidarity House,Harmony Lodge St Michael.

BU family,please prepare yourselves properly for those meetings.We must address this matter on immigration with the urgency that is require.No pussyfooting on this matter.We must let that hum bug and poor excuse we have as Prime minister know that we mean business with the immigration mess we are in

Prime Minister David Thompson,your political career is at stake,deal effectively with this immigration matter or we the Black people of Barbados will deal severely with you and the bunch of political nit wits in your government.

26. @mash up

Our sources indicate the goverment is still committed to doing what is in the interest of Barbados and that there has been no deal. We shall see. We have been informed also that hundreds of Guyanese have left Barbados to beat the expiration of the amnesty. We so have another source who confirmed that knowing the right people at the immigration department helps to grease the wheels. So take your pick. All in all the immigration matter continues to be a vexing one for the government.

27. Norman Faria has reported that a large number of Guyanese have returned home, how did they get there? has LIAT or Caribbean Airlines report an increase of Guyanese travelling to that country? My belief is that they have gone underground, I was told that this would happen a while ago and I voiced it, now with just a few days to go and things have gone really quiet. I too smell a stinking rat.

28. Another matter we have to look at is the relationship between Britain and China and how it will effect Barbados. It woiuld be interesting to see which side this government will take. Just food for thought.

29. I understand the consternation expressed by some of you and agree that formalisation of the issue needs to take place in a timely manner.

Devil’s Advocate again,

Maybe the discussion will be moot. Reason being, most of the Guyanese here have jobs where? Construction, or am I wrong?

Construction is not going to increase anytime in the next year or year and a half.

Without a job, where does a man go?

Not home?

30. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

David/BU

Thanks for the info.

Like you I will wait and see because I find it very strange that commissong will just up and make that statement,plus negroman usually has his info correct.

This immigration matter is not rocket science so I can’t see why the government struggling so with this issue,but then again when you have yellow belly people dealing with these situations that is what you will get.

31. Mash Up & Buy Back
    This government is playing a very dangerous & deceptive game with the people of Barbados with this immigration issue.

David sources are telling him that the government is still committing but the reality is,many non-nationals especially Guyanese & some Jamaicans have benefited from the apparent revised amnesty proposal.I can name some Guyanese persons I know who have gained status in Barbados even though those persons were illegal and did not meet the qualification standard seT out in the previous amnesty.

I know the inept,traitor we have as a Prime Minister will soon come & tell us that his original position on the matter is the same,but I know for a fact that a compromise has been reached with Norman Faria,David Comissiong,& Trevor Prescod.

Mash Up & Buy Back if the need arises I can name many Guyanese & Jamaican nationals who have gained status & the type of status those individuals have.I would put my life on the line and say with out a shadow of a doubt our Prime Minister David Thompson & his government have gone into reverse mode with this immigration issue.I will say it again
    A COMPROMISE HAS BEEN REACHED WITH DAVID COMISSIONG,NORMAN FARIA & TREVOR PRESCOD ON THIS IMMIGRATION ISSUE BY DAVID THOMPSON & HIS GOVERNMENT

32. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Negroman

I believe you and I know david thompson will live to regret taking us for granted.

Losing elections at the poll is not all,but it is how you are viewed and treated with scorn afterwards.

Thompson is not a barrow,not even a grantley or tom adams,so there is no big pool of love and respect for him.

I want you to bring out the names of individuals,the countries and the time they were here in barbados from,and prove that shitey thompson is lying and that he pushed back the date from 1998 to 2004.

I will NEVER,EVER trust him again.

Brassbowl.

33. People open your eyes, or are you afraid to really look at what is happening?

The ability of the Chinese to remain invisible while working in the construction sector is simply amazing.

I suggest that GTs are no longer the problem.

34. Having faith in politicians is like believing that the limited edition three dollar bill you bought from the man behind the Olympic, will be worth millions someday.

35. 20+days
    So wait, you tryin ta tell me dat de 3 dolla bill dat I buy from dah man out by de Olympic in wurf nutton? You khan be serious.You mekkin sport?
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeeee.

36. So what wrong with that Negro Man ??

Man let the people live nuh

BTW-Thompson was always a liar

37. The only “compromise” that has been reached here is the compromise of money exchanging hands. The illegals know that the B’dos government is teetering on the edge of bankruptcy, which puts them in a very advantageous position. Money buys anything, including work permits and residency status. Nothing new here.

38. Given the downturn in the economy and with very few construction jobs, how are the illegal immigrants supporting themselves?

Where will they find work in the coming months or over the next 2 years?

The bigger issue is can Barbados continue to increase its population given its small land mass.
    What happens to the 4000 young Bajans who leave school or University every year.

If politicians had to ketch bus or drive a 10 year old small car every day they would understand how crowded Barbados is becoming.

It is a different perspective from inside an air conditioned benz or bimma with tinted glass.

39. Well today is D-day & the end of the Immigration amnesty,supposedly.We will see how this New Year highlights this issue & if Government truly are doing things according to the law or curtailing the law to further encourage illicit means.I also find it interesting what the Consul has said in Kaieteur news considering the amount of legal Guyanese in Barbados considering some of the rumors said here about the immigration amnesty time being shortened to 5 years,hmmmmm.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2009/12/31/d-day-for-illegal-guyanese-to-leave-barbados/

“There are no exact figures on the number of Guyanese who have been asked to leave Barbados under a Bajan government policy to regularise immigrant workers.
    Today is the last day for Guyanese and other nationals of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) to leave the island if they are not legal.
    Last May, Prime Minster David Thompson announced an amnesty for thousands of undocumented CARICOM nationals in Barbados. He said, however, that they must meet certain qualifying standards to regularise their immigration status, among them proof of employment, passing of background security checks, and substantiating a claim that they had lived in Barbados for at least eight years prior to December 31, 2005.
    Three months ago, Thompson said there was a backlog of up to 6,000 Caribbean nationals seeking immigrant status in Barbados. He explained that Barbados had no choice but to regulate its immigration policy since the social services simply could not cope with a flood of immigrants.
    Contacted yesterday, Norman Faria, Guyana’s Consul in Bridgetown, said that he could not comment on any questions about the amnesty.
    “This is a Barbadian government initiative. I am restricted by protocol considerations. What I can say is that those undocumented Guyanese nationals in the island would have taken note of what the Barbados government has announced. They would have considered their options. They would have made their decision on what to do before the deadline arrives at year end (31 December 2009),” said Faria.
    As with other CARICOM nationals, Guyanese were up to yesterday applying to the Barbados Immigration Department to regularise their status. The Consulate, as with other Guyana government missions, is there to provide advice and practical assistance such as filling out the application forms and renew passports and help in obtaining Police Certificates of Character and other documents from Guyana, Faria stated.
    He said that the Consul has also provided some amount of counselling “because some Guyanese, as with other nationals, such as Barbadians in North America in the same situation, would be suffering from a certain amount of anxiety and, even stress at this time.”
    “This is understandable as everyone wants to know about their (residential) security both in the short and long terms,” Faria stated.
    Since Thompson made his statement on immigration, the Consulate has seen an increase in inquiries.
    Faria said that the Consulate is in regular touch with the Prime Minister’s office so as to be properly informed to better inform Guyanese nationals.
    The Consulate, had received assurances that the Guyanese may take in their application forms themselves rather than going through lawyers.
    “Disappointingly, intelligence reaching the Consulate is that some unscrupulous parasitical intermediaries, including some lawyers, have, following the PM’s Statement, upped their ante. They are charging exorbitant fees for unnecessary so-called services.
    “One lawyer is charging B$2500 (US$1,250) for filling out an application form and writing a covering letter…,” Faria stated. He said that that lawyer will soon be struck off the Consulate’s list of approved lawyers.
    “While the Guyana government recognizes the right of a sovereign country like Barbados to enact and implement its laws and regulations, Guyana will be looking…to ensure that the fundamental rights of Guyanese in Barbados are not infringed upon,” Faria stated.
    “While the Guyana government, and the Consulate, encourages Guyanese to stay in Guyana and continue to contribute to the ongoing progress and development there, we recognise their right and freedom to travel overseas to work and live while respecting the laws and regulations,” he added.
    He said that a sizeable number of legal Guyanese nationals remain in Barbados, mainly those on work permits and who have attained residency and citizenship.”

40. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Jay

Could you please explain what you mean by :’you find the consul general comments interesting…’

What are these comments and why do you find them interesting.

41. Until Faria states who this lawyer that is charging $2,500.00 to complete an application we will take it with a lot of salt. If he has evidence to mention to the press he should be prepared to name the lawyer. BU is tired of the bullshit games these people are playing.

This is a serious matter.

42. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

So true David,so true.

The media and the government in barbados treat faria like if he is somebody.

Ole musty, communist, illiterate idiot.

He got a platform to say whatever he wants and nobody like they can’t question he in any serious way.

Steupes.

43. The old people would always say” every day got a end”, the amnesty is now over so we would show how our P.M playing his cards. HEALTHY NEW YEAR.

44. @MU BB

I meant the last statement, “He said that a sizeable number of legal Guyanese nationals remain in Barbados, mainly those on work permits and who have attained residency and citizenship.”

I always thought the majority of Guyana’s nationals were illegal in Barbados.How does that now become a,”sizeable number” unless I’m missing something only Government can allow a person to become legal !

45. Hants you really do spout some rubbish

46. @Enuff
    Don’t read my rubbish. There is enuff good material on this blog that is probably more to your liking.

Happy new year.

47. Hants
    Prosperity n good health to you too.
    But wait, ya bowling bouncers very early. Only one allowed in each ova doe hear. LOL.
    Luv um.

48. Here is the official position of the Barbados government according to Arni Walters.It seems like a waste all imo of course.Time to deport the Minister of Immigration & the PM from his job.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/arni—no-roundups-FRONT-PAGE-OTHER

“GOVERNMENT WILL NOT be rounding up any illegal immigrants still in Barbados but will continue to crack down on undocumented CARICOM nationals involved in criminal activity.

This is the latest on the country’s new immigration policy, announced via a six-month amnesty last May and scheduled to end last Thursday.

Minister of State with responsibility for immigration, Senator Arni Walters, told the DAILY NATION yesterday that any crackdown following the deadline five days ago would be “on those who haven’t applied to have their status regularised and are caught in any illegal activity”.

“If you have a work permit it’s no problem, but we won’t go rounding up anybody,” he said in an interview yesterday.

The minister added that even those who had applied but had not qualified “can go to the Immigration Review Committee to see if they have reasonable grounds” in terms of their expectations of staying. This, he explained, would include matters relating to family, children born in Barbados to illegal immigrants, as well as issues of gainful employment.

Walters stressed that if there was indeed any “roundup”, it would target undocumented people who became involved in criminal activity.

Noting he did not have exact numbers of applications or estimates of people expected to be leaving Barbados, he said “a number of people (had) left on their own in late December”, because many had recognised they would have difficulty remaining in Barbados undocumented.

The senator also promised that Government would seek Barbadians’ views on the issue and the Green Paper on immigration via a series of town hall meetings from January 14.

“That will be an opportunity for people to look in some broad way at the whole immigration policy,” he said, adding this would involve matters relating to legislation and the offspring of illegal immigrants.

Walters reiterated that Government was not targeting any particular nationality since there were a number of Jamaicans, Trinidadians, Vincentians and Guyanese residing here illegally, including people who had arrived here under CARICOM status but had overstayed their allotted time.

He also pointed to “a couple thousand applications in the Immigration Department on which nothing was done prior to the policy being put in place”; noting that these were now being processed.

“The policy was one that looked at undocumented CARICOM nationals, so anyone who is documented should have no fear, and this includes people who have been visiting for years and not breaching their times.”

Prime Minister David Thompson officially notified undocumented Caribbean nationals last May 5, that Government would be fulfilling its pledge to address the issue of immigration and overcrowding. He told Parliament then that the new policy had resulted from recommendations made by a subcommittee looking into the level of illegal immigration, and it had concluded that the current levels of illegal immigrants were “unacceptably high, increasingly difficult to control and posed potentially negative socio-economic challenges for the country”.

He also disclosed two months ago that Government had received about 300 applications for amnesties for illegal immigrants but that the process had suffered delays in the issuing of police certificates of character.

“When the amnesty period is over on December 31, then the sanctions, if you want to call it that, or the second part of the policy, then kicks in, which is the removal of those who are here illegally. Nothing has changed. That is still the Government’s policy,” the Prime Minister said in November.”

49. Caricom nationals seem to be the ones on the hit list for deportation, but what about nationals from “developed” countries… are they also to be rounded up and sent back from whence they came? What’s good for the goose is good for the gander!

50. VOR
    Yes, what’s good for the goose is better for the gander and that is why if there are thousands more caricom nationals here, especially G.T Banna, as opposed to the others, it will seem as though only them are being deported. This is not the case.
    Are you aware that Bajans are deported from these places too? This is their home and we have to accept them when they return without questioning the powers that be so why all the fuss n frolic if these persons are deported from B/dos too?
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeee, much ado about nothing.
    Wunna try n ga long home do.