You cannot legislate the poor into freedom by legislating the wealthy out of freedom. What one person receives without working for, another person must work for without receiving. The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else. When half of the people get the idea that they do not have to work because the other half is going to take care of them, and when the other half gets the idea that it does no good to work because somebody else is going to get what they work for,that my dear friend, is about the end of any nation. You cannot multiply wealth by dividing it.

Dr. Adrian Rogers, 1931

Yesterday the Nation newspaper featured a story on the frontpage Baby John Doe. The essence of the story, to highlight the plight of a mother who is has been unable to register her baby, eight months now and counting. At the core of the problem is the fact the mother is an illegal immigrant, for over TWENTY TWO years and has become a statistic in the government’s new immigration policy. BU admits it is a good human interest story and we hope a solution is found to ensure the child and her mother are removed from the inhumane position they currently find themselves.

Our bone is not with the nuance of this case although the mother admits to having five children (including baby) fathered by three different men. The bigger concern is the carry cost to a country like Barbados which we are comfortably describing as a welfare state. Barbados unlike many developed countries heavily subsidizes education, health, transportation and ancillary services which are part of creating a social safety net for the indigent.  It is a huge financial commitment which successive governments of Barbados have subscribed. Back in May when Attorney General echoed the concern that Barbados was rapidly becoming a warehouse for the unskilled workers of the Caribbean his comment was labelled by the liberals as bordering on xenophobic and non-regionalist. Barbados being a welfare state MUST be very judicious about how it manages immigrants who cross our borders given our obligation to protect out the social fabric of our society. A loose immigration and human resource policy will have significant financial implications. The incident highlighted in the Nation provides the opportunity for us to appreciate the multiplier effect of hosting unskilled and irresponsible individuals who are illegal migrants.

For the ideologues, the current debate  may afford the opportunity to evaluate the long term implication of a socialist doctrine which Barbados has followed post-independence. The following missive from a BU family member is worthy of consideration.

An economics professor at a local college made a statement that he had never failed a single student before but had once failed an entire class.
That class had insisted that socialism worked and that no one would be poor and no one would be rich, a great equalizer.

The professor then said, “OK, we will have an experiment in this class on socialism. All grades would be averaged and everyone would receive the same grade so no one would fail and no one would receive an A.
After the first test, the grades were averaged and everyone got a B.
The students who studied hard were upset and the students who studied little were happy.

As the second test rolled around, the students who studied little had studied even less and the ones who studied hard decided they wanted a free ride too so they studied little.

The second test average was a D! No one was happy.
When the 3rd test rolled around, the average was an F.
The scores never increased as bickering, blame and name-calling all resulted in hard feelings and no one would study for the benefit of anyone else.

All failed, to their great surprise, and the professor told them that socialism would also ultimately fail because when the reward is great, the effort to succeed is great but when government takes the reward away, no one will try or want to succeed.
Could not be any simpler than that.

24 responses to “Count The Cost!”

1. Thanks Bentley!

2. That is a foolish law

3. Simplistic reasoning.
    Some people grew up with 2 parents and 6 or 7 siblings in a 2 room house with 1 toilet in the yard.

They survived and when they grew up and became Lawyers, carpenters doctors civil servants, they were educated enough to understand that it is better to have a house with a room for the parents and at least one for the boys and one for the girls.

Barbados is more like the 2 room house.

280,000 people on 166 sq.miles with another 500,000 a year for a week or two is like 8 people in a 2 room house.

Immigration must be tightly managed or there will de disastrous results.

4. b’dos is only so big. for years the tax payers were paying for her. she never saw fit to legalise herself. she should now seek to return to her country and contribute what she learn in barbados. no one seems to care too much about illegal immigration here but government. the people that it would affect are the ones that make life easier for these illegals. her case in difficult but govt needs to really root them out. they are destroy the social infrastructure of b’dos. why do they not complain US does it? we are unable to accommodate the influx and still they come. this is beyond ridiculous

5. Hants,Queenan
    Well said.

Hants,
    I lookin fa you in de Jokes Corner. Wah happen man?
    Come on over.

6. A foolish question, are we planning our society? Do we know what kind of country we want to nurture? Are we happy to be annexed to the cultures of the US?

7. This story is very troubling for a number of reasons,and the government responses even more troubling.

I find it very strange that she conveniently did not have her passport in time to apply for the current amnesty.

According to her someone took it to Jamaica to get fixed up – how did she get a passport anyhow,and is it a jamaican or bajan passport?

Have you notice these illegal immigrants hard luck stories all run to the Nation newspaper?

I suppose they know where to go to get front page coverage,unlike the prime minister who can hardly get front page coverage in the Nation.

hmmmm,very interesting.

8. In need of a Job Avatar
    In need of a Job

Well this is an interesting story. The situation described is a difficult one. However, I am of the belief that the child has all rights to status of being Barbadian, especially due to the fact that he is of Barbadian parentage. However, the debate that the debate which is being applied to this story is inappropriate for the circumstance described. An influx of immigrant workers from Guyana or any other Caribbean nations cannot be seen as akin to a baby born here to a father who is Barbadian citizen. The 2 situations are like chalk and cheese. Moreover, a woman living here for 22 years from the age of eight cannot be put into the same category of someone who came here as an adult to search for employment and only here for a few years.

When debating these issues, persons should bear in mind the concept of integration and the difficulties we shall face as a nation in implementing a model CSME migration policy, similar to that in EU countries. We should look to creative solutions to solve these problems instead of advocating that these problems on their own should cause us to avoid full integration all together.

9. In economic theory of resource distribution ( capitalistic vs central planning) no one model provide a complete unified theory that translate practically into a fair distribution of the resource.In the socialist model you get a absolute welfare state and an illusion of equality while in the free market you get a zero sum game that is characterised by a few that enjoy the fruits at the expense of the mass. In this illusion of grandeur it is only a race for the few to the top while the rest of us are racing in a perpetual state of dowward spiral to the bottom. The solution is to find the right balance of both system.I think the chinese model way be the right mix.

10. Wonder if Dr. Rogers would have applied his reasoning to the dirty bunch that’s occupying Buckingham Palace or to the Carnegies or the Rockerfellas or the Rothschilds or that group that just looted the US economy and by xtension the World’s economy?
    Yea, you can’t x wealth by /ing it but you can sure increase it by theft, looting and wholescale pillaging.

11. So, a child born in Barbados to a Bajan father has no citizenship rights?? That is nonsense.

12. Who are thesehalf of a nation waiting for people to take care of them.Where did the Dr. get those numbers from .If that is so why don”t the people overthrow their government or bare the people so stupid to sit around and be taken advantage of .I don”t think so.
    I would however say that most people who receive goverment assistance needs it and are not necessarily waiting for”the other half”” to help them.
    Had not for such programs the other option for some people would be stealing or begging.I know it is a very hard reality for any society but the
    alternative would be devastating .
    Not all people are lazy and looking for handouts .
    AS far as the immigration problem .That is a problem solely to blame at the leadership of of the country.The leaders continue to show
    noguts and tanasity when dealling with the problem of immigration and as a result it is hurting Barbadians in every way.

13. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I expect to see many more of these stories appearing now that the amnesty is coming to an end.

The jamaican government cannot find money to pay its government workers and is sending home 45,000.

What will be the implication of this for CSME and freedom of movement?

14. 3rd world poverty ain’t no accident
    2nd world divide and rule mentality
    now black man become slave masters
    just like white man exploiters rulers

15. What is happening and is about to happen can/will have deep deep implications for the kind of society we want to build going forward. There is a misconception that because something worked in a particular way in the past it follows we can should continue. The kind of revenue flows and capacity to grow GDP in the 70s, 80s and even the 90s does not exist any more. The preferential treatments and favoured nation status we had in the past have long since been eliminated in a world of globalization.

Time to wake up and smell the coffee and stop playing politics with the future of our children.

16. Man Hungry
    tell me why tell me why tell my why
    why can’t we live together
    why can’t we love one another
    it’s just the same thing everday
    it’s just the same thing everyday
    innocent one getting robbed
    said man him hungry
    said man hungry
    i mean get angry
    it’s because of the rich man administration
    it has polluted many nation

17. BU understands the illegal mother’s plight is figured prominently in today’s newspaper, again.

18. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Yup David,

Same ole same.

Remember the heart- wrenching stories earlier this year in the Nation about the poor guyanese being dragged off toilet bowls,or being rounded up in their night wear or being pushed off buses.

Yup the Nation and roxanne gibbs are at it again.

Stay tuned for more of the same.

19. @ David

The preferential treatments and favoured nation status we had in the past have long since been eliminated in a world of globalization.

The quote below is from a recent article in Asia Digest which takes a look at globalization and points out that there is a fly in the ointment, so to speak, if we are counting on globalization + free market capitalism to eventually spread prosperity and improved living standards across the globe.

THE POLITICS OF ECONOMIC GLOBALISATION

By Thilani Samarasinghe

SNIP

In theory, free trade is seen as establishing a level playing field on which rich countries and poor countries, huge transnational corporations and small local companies compete as equals. In practice of course they are far from equal. With the United States and other Western European nations at the helm at the time, post-war, post-colonialist world economy, was obviously shaped so that it would best satisfy the interests of Western Corporations. The ‘development ‘ of the Third World on the laudable initiative of fighting poverty and improving the economic conditions in the Third World in reality served the primary function of opening up Third World markets to American and other Western corporations to gain access to cheap labour and cheap raw materials. In this the promoters of liberal capitalism seem to be echoing the words of that arch imperialist Cecil Rhodes from over a century ago;

“We must find new lands from which we can easily obtain raw materials and at the same time exploit the cheap slave labour that is available from the natives of the colonies. The colonies would also provide a dumping ground for the surplus goods produced in our factories”

In all fairness there have been positive achievements through capitalism and free trade they included the creation for the first time of the possibility of a comfortable “middle class” existence for a majority of working class employees and many disadvantaged countries were beneficiaries of foreign investment leading to improvements in technology and expansion of export opportunities.

However, the concept of the global free market, rooted as it is in the economic strength and expansion of capital has resulted not in equalising the global economic playing field but instead created even wider disparities in the financial power structure through the emergence of huge Transnational or Multi National Corporations (MNC’s).

While MNCs can provide valuable investment, encourage increased efficiencies and provide new technologies they may also reduce competition and threaten existing domestic industries. Large MNC’s are able to outperform local industries by virtue of economies of scale (i.e. increased capital costs and their more productive nature); product differentiation; and what J. S. Bain in Barriers in New Competition called “absolute cost advantage”. What Bain meant by “absolute cost advantage” is that larger companies are able to outbid smaller companies for resources, ideas, etc. and put more money into Research and Development and buying patents. Therefore they can have a technological and material advantage over a small company. They engage in predatory pricing and/or mount lavish promotional campaigns to gain larger market share or drive competitors out of the market. In addition, it is easier for large companies to raise external capital at lesser risk.

Thus the sheer size and market power of the dominant MNC’s mean that smaller firms face expansion disadvantages which in turn reduce competition – in fact most MNC’s can and do buy out their smaller business contemporaries – IBM paid $3.5 billion for Lotus in 1995, which was about equal to the entire annual output of Nepal, which had a population of 20 million at the time. Shell has assets of over US$ 100 billion, which is more than double the GDP of New Zealand.

SNIP

And what critics further claim is that while an open international system fails to contribute significantly to the local economic welfare of its host nation, it can and has undermined its national sovereignty. As international institutions penetrate more deeply into national economics there is a reservation as to the ability of host governments to pursue other national goals.

Most consensus of MNC’s are of a negative view that centers around the fears that MNC’s might erode national control of the host countries economy. It is also interesting to note that there is a major difference in perception of the US and European based MNC’s. The US MNC’s are viewed as typically powerful, dynamic and well organised but morally suspect, while European based MNC’s are viewed as socially committed and humane as well as more loyal business partners. This pessimistic stance with regard to MNC’s is not without reason. An MNC’s economic importance and resources give them the ability to influence host governments to introduce favourable policies – either directly, by funding political parties or lobbying politicians, or indirectly by investment decisions and either way to influence (if not control) political power and ensure state aid (both direct and indirect) to bolster the position of the corporation and allow it to expand further and faster than otherwise. MNC’s with sufficient economic power can

“…influence the terms under which they choose to operate. Not only do they react to the level of wages and the pace of work, they also act to determine them. . . The credible threat of the shift of production and investment will serve to hold down wages and raise the level of effort [required from workers] . . . [and] may also be able to gain the co-operation of the state in securing the appropriate environment . . . [for] a redistribution towards profits” [Keith Cowling and Roger Sugden, Transnational Monopoly Capitalism]

Full article at:
    http://asiadigest.sg/page/the-politics-of-economic-globalisation

20. Is this new to the region? Did’t Trinidad & Tobago have the same problem with illegal immigrants from Guyana, some time ago? They assimilated into the society and, from what I’ve heard, are now “respectable (Sic) illegal aliens. Correct me if I am wrong!!!

21. Does this mean that our laws would never be adhered to? I would like Gilbert Greaves to tell me why Barbados has evloved into a WELFARE STATE?

Although Gilbert Greaves is a decent chap, he must realise that he cannot take his softness and kindness into the critical role that he has as Permanent Secretary of Defence and Security.

Our immigration laws are paramount and MUST be respected. And if laws are breached, people should be prepared to face the consequences. For instance, this particular scenario in which a woman came here for over 20 years and REFUSED to regularise her status and now will be rewarded citizenship is simply HORRENDOUS AND CRAZY! Give me a break!

I know of a scenario in which a Guyanese lady was given her walking papers by the immigration department. Yet, when visiting Gilbert Greaves at his Office, she was allowed to stay. He told her that she would be allowed to stay for an unspecified period of time. This was so because her husband who is also an illegal guyanese (but should benefit from the amnesty because of being here for over 12 years) was allowed to stay. She said that Gilbert Greaves told her that the only reason that she was given a chance to stay was because of the amount of time her husband was in the island. Stupse!

Gilbert Greaves a person who is suppose to uphold our laws continues to BREAK OUR LAWS constantly! He continues to flout our laws by facilitating these types of requests from illegals ESPECIALLY the Guyanese.

I think Mr. Greaves (as nice as he is)needs to GO! Furthermore, David Thompson, Arni Walters and others need to resign if they know that they do not have bajans’ interest at heart!

Please stop being so weak and so willing to compromise to the detriment of US BAJANS!

The electorate is watching!

22. Hi everyone,I’ve been doing some digging on immigration laws around the world & trying to make the Green paper even better.

I was looking at the Australian immigration laws a little bit closer & they definitely have a steel trap of a system in place which I think should be replicated.It looks as though Australian Citizens or Permanent residents who sponsor someone would have to sign off IF the person sponsored can bring in extra family members.That would make the Green paper a whole lot more palpable including the two year marriage law.