barbados_flagBU is aware the ongoing legal battle in the case we have dubbed The Other Side of The Kingsland Matter series continues to be of interest to some. The fact that this matter has tentacled to smear the government of Barbados and many entities which underpin the governance system of Barbados, although not covered in the traditional media, continues to concern BU as patriotic Barbadians.  We have therefore taken the time to blog an update on the matter for those who are interested.

On May 4 this year, Justice J. Bryan Shaughnessy of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice ruled that Ontario did not have the authority to try the case of Nelson Barbados Group Limited Vs. Barbados and others. He ruled that Barbados alone had such jurisdiction and he took the opportunity make some disparaging comments about the conduct of , Mr K. William McKenzie of the firm of Crawford McKenzie McLean Duncan and Anderson.

Justice Shaughnessy’s decision can be read on BU or CanLII .

BU family members can note the judge’s position when he stated, “[121] Mr. Ranking, who represents PricewaterhouseCoopers East Caribbean Firm, on behalf of his client and the other represented Defendants, attended at the commencement of the hearing of this motion and requested a date for the hearing of costs on behalf of all those represented Defendants against whom the Plaintiff filed a Notice of Discontinuance on March 23, 2009. Mr. Ranking further advised that he and the other represented Defendants would be seeking an award of costs on a substantial indemnity basis as against the principals of the Plaintiff Corporation and Mr. McKenzie, personally.” As we understand it the statement means that the defendants intended to take the highly unusual step of seeking payment of their costs against the firm of solicitors that represented Nelson Barbados. To our layman’s mind we find this position to be interesting to state it mildly.

In light of the above, the threat did not deter the Nelson Barbados side from filing a NOTICE OF APPEAL dated May 27 2009 against the decision of Justice J. Bryan Shaugnessy. Subsequently, on June 5, they amended this and filed an AMENDED NOTICE OF APPEAL.

Based on our understanding from legal minded members in the BU household there is the belief little is to be got from the appeal and Nelson and its counsel have clearly failed to do anything further about the their appeal, to the extent that on September 21, 2009, Hugette G. Thompson, the Registrar and Manager of Court Operations of the Ontario Court of Appeal, served all parties with the Court of Appeal’s NOTICE OF INTENTION TO DISMISS APPEAL FOR DELAY. Please note the documents attached are public documents which can be had on request.

Meanwhile, Solicitor Ranking’s threats to go after them, K. William McKenzie and the his law firm of Crawford McKenzie McLean Duncan and Anderson has had to come off the record as counsel for Nelson Barbados Group Ltd. and have obtained an ORDER dated September 15, 2009 from Ontario’s Madam Justice Eberhard removing them as Nelson’s counsel.

As Mr. McKenzie and his law firm are now themselves sued for costs, their position to that of their former client has now created a conflict of interest between them. Under Ontario law, they cannot now represent Nelson Barbados and Nelson Barbados has to hire new counsel (or represent itself “in personam”) if it wishes to continue the appeal. Personam” in this case would need to be its sole officer, Mr. Donald Best.

The Law Society of Upper Canada has an insurance arm for lawyers and law firms sued in this way. It will provide cover up to a reputed $600,000 Canadian and a lawyer to represent the lawyer and law firm. The insurance arm is called LawPro.

Mr. Sean Dewart of the prestigious (mostly specializing in labour) law firm of Sack Goldblatt Mitchell has been retained to represent Mr. McKenzie and his law firm – allegedly retained by LawPro for this purpose.

However, rumour has it that $600,000 Canadian will not be nearly enough to cover this costs bill (if granted) as it is said to be in excess of $1.8 million Canadian.

One of the requirements of coming off the record is that you must supply the court and the other side with full contact details for your former client. Given that Ontario in its Rules of Civil Procedure allows for service by mail, fax and personal service and, in special circumstances, by e-mail attachment, it seems reasonable to suppose that this Rule must be interpreted to mean that all these means of contact ought to be supplied, although judicial discretion may apply here.

Nelson Barbados has not yet retained new counsel, nor has it responded to the Notice of the Court of Appeal through its sole officer, the illusive Donald Best.

Mr. Best has, reportedly, visited Barbados on over 40 occasions in very recent years. While here, he is said to have stayed variously at a (not the) Long Beach hotel and a Chancery Lane private residence. And the hotel would, of course, require that he provide his home address on checking in to the hotel. At least, it the hotel is supposed to require that he does so. And Mr. Best is also obligated to provide an address in Barbados to our immigration – so the name and address of this hotel would be known to immigration.

As for the address of Nelson Barbados? It will be remembered that the address formerly given for Nelson Barbados was the same as that of Mr. McKenzie and his law firm. This has now been replaced……BY A UPS POST BOX IN KINGSTON, ONTARIO.

We also have to wonder if this UPS post box is the same address that was given by Mr. Donald Best to the Barbados Immigration Authorities on the form he would have been required to fill out when entering our country. Or maybe he just gave the address of Mr. McKenzie’s law firm.

Depending on the answers to those questions, we may need to ask when the UPS Post Box was rented. Is it a long-standing rental, or is it recent and established solely to conceal the whereabouts of Mr. Best, Nelson Barbados and its backers and shareholders?

If so, how far can (or will) the Ontario courts go to ensure that Barbados and its citizens who have been sued in this case are fully remunerated for what the Ontario courts themselves have determined to be a blatant attempt at forum shopping in order to go behind a fully litigated decision of the Privy Council in which Ontario has no jurisdiction.

We wait to see. Not for long, though. The dates set for the hearing of the costs motion are in early November, having been adjourned from the August dates originally slated.

30 responses to “A Matter Of Cost – The Other Side Of The Kingsland Estate Court Matter Part XIX”

1. Anybody who has been following this case or who knows the Deane family knows that Marjorie Knox’s children and the chap who owns the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary are on the ‘other’ side of the sale of Kingsland Estate.
    They have lost every single court case right up to the Privy Council and now this one in Canada too. In the process they have dragged Barbados’ name through the mud and frankly I am fed up of reading about their frivolous and vexatious lawsuits.
    It is at the stage now that if the Lord himself in Heaven come down and tell them they are wrong they would appeal to a higher authority.
    It is time they get a grip on reality. I am sure that they now owe more in legal fees than any money poor Mrs Knox has earned from her share of the sale of Kingsland. There appears to be a fair deal of compulsive/obssesive behaviour going on here. Time to call in a counsellor and start the process of healing and leave Barbados out of it.

2. David

Did anyone related to any of the parties in this ongoing saga write this article?

3. @Moburt // October 10, 2009 at 3:13 PM.

Completely agree with you. Leave Barbados out of it.

4. True, Moburt, and furthermore, the same “Graeme Hall man” is …. guess what? Heavily involved with Barbados Free Press, so that’s why BFP are constantly battering BIM and giving us a bad name. Case of sour grapes.

5. It seems to me, and I may have stated this previously, that this is a never ending case.

It is my understanding that that $600,000 is insurance to assist the plaintiff with payment of his lawyer’s costs. If the Plaintiff (McKenzie cannot or do not pay the Barbados defendants, then they can apply to the Law Society for redress. I am not sure, but it may be possible to go to the taxing officer and have an order placed of sale of his residence. They do it to their clients, dont see why it cant be done to them.

@Moburt

I think we are dealing with bullies and megalomaniacs here. Counselling will not help these types as they are never wrong.

By the way, Marjorie Knox still owns her shares unless the Courts in Barbados ordered her to hand them over to Iain Deane to pay costs she owed him from a previous failed case.

This poor lady has highly educated children, yet she has received bad advice from the get go. I am no legal beagle, but I could have done better by her.

6. Sarg, Eric Ian Deane, one of the principal defendants in this case lived in Toronto for 15 years. He now resides in England but maintains a “talent agency” called Phoenix Artists Management Ltd. in Toronto. His lawyer, Andrew Roman, also has his offices in Toronto. The only way you can gain access to court documents is either to go physically to the Superior Court of Justice in Ontario and request to see the file and then photocopy the documents or they would be in Andrew Roman’s file as the solicitor of record. Clearly these documents are being supplied by and the articles on BU are being written by someone in Eric Ian Deane’s camp.

7. Further to the above, or Eric Ian Deane himself.

8. Anonymous // October 10, 2009 at 8:25 PM

Further to the above, or Eric Ian Deane himself.

Strange, strange, strange, that you are naming Eric Iain Deane or his solicitor, when the case had almost 70 defendants, including Barbados, all of whom I assume had lawyers.

So, why pick on Eric Iain Deane? Why not the plaintiff or their solicitors? Ahhhhh, I get it. They would not want to share the “Other Side”. he, he, he.

You must have some beef Eric Iain Deane. Did he get his hands on your “inheritance”?

9. If Eric Ian Deane owns a talent agency in Toronto, it is not revealed in any of the documents we have seen so far and I contend tyhat if there was the slightest proof that this was true, it would have been announced from the heights by Nelson Barbados and its toadies, including in the affidavits of John Knox.

This comment by Anonymous // October 10, 2009 at 7:58 PM is unsupported and out of the blue. Therefore, that ‘information’ is highly suspect and very likely totally untrue. Care to comment, Mr. Deane?

Also, if you sue a man in Ontario Canada, surely it is reasonable (and prudent) that he retain counsel in Canada to defend himself. So, Anonymous, why are you trying to read something sinister into the fact that Mr. Deane has Ontario counsel to represent him?

In fact, in looking through the postings of Keltruth and one in particular that gives a long list of who represents whom, the ONLY defendant who does NOT have an Ontario lawyer is Madge Knox, who is represented by Alair Shepherd. But then again, we have seen posted on Keltruth letters from Mr. McKenzie that makes you wonder if it is not he, and not Mr. Shepherd, who is representing Mrs. Knox. A question that has been raised by none other than the Ontario Superior Court of Justice itself in one of the published decisions I have read here on BU.

Finally, once documents are filed with a court here in Barbados, anyone can obtain a copy. The same is true of Canada. In a case with 77 defendants (including one that encompasses an entire people of over 250,000 souls) you cannot accuse one party to the case of supplying the press with documents that they might easily have obtained for themselves directly from the registration office of the courts concerned. Anyone could have or BU might well have obtaioned them itself – there is nothing illegal or disrespectful there. From what I can see, there was an appeal and it now stands dismissed. The fact that Keltruth/Nelson/BFP and many others, would prefer that this NOT be known is completely irrelevant.

So, are we now to assume that the bullies have bought off employees of the ontario registration office of the Court of Appeal so they know who ordered what documents? This is, as Chris Halsall would say, ‘bovine excrement’.

Pat, you are right. Highly educated people with serious problems with perception advise Madge Knox, poor old woman.

However, I think we all have to agree with Moburt // October 10, 2009 at 3:13 PM. “It is at the stage now that if the Lord himself in Heaven come down and tell them they are wrong they would appeal to a higher authority”.

But Anonymous aka Keltruth, tell me something. What has Mr. Deane done you? Rhetorical, of course, because we expect no answer – as usual.

10. @Pat // October 10, 2009 at 6:46 PM. Is that how LawPro operates? Thanks for that. I didn’t know.

I have done a little checking, since I know some of the parties involved. I hope this will answer your questions. Otherwise you will have to rely on Anonymous aka Keltruth/BFP.

On the matter of Madge Knox’s shares in Kingsland, she continues to own the shares. However, Mr. Eric Ian Deane and the estate of Colion Deane do hold a charging order against those shares the the appeals against this charging order have been exhausted.

In addition, there is a matter, now part-heard, before the Barbados courts in which Mr. Deane and the estate of Colin Deane have sued Madge Knox for fraud seeking to have her attempted transfer of the shares set aside. We will now have to await the outcome of this action to see if Mr. Deane will be handed her shares.

Maybe it is because of his attempt to force Madge Knox to pay him his court-ordered costs that Anonymous and Keltruth and BFP et al have such a hatred against Eric Ian Deane. After all, why should they be forced to do what all the rest of us have to do – pay court costs when they lose a case.

Bovine excrement!!!!! (with credit to Chris Halsall for the phrase).

11. The information was taken directly from the court document available on Canlii. Phoenix Artists Management is a named defendant in the action and here is a direct copy and paste from that document:
    “The Defendant Eric Ian Stewart Deane has resided in Great Britain since September 2006. He is a theatre producer and director. The Defendant, Phoenix Artists Management Limited is a corporation which is related to Eric Deane’s theatrical work and it is where he has his mail sent. Otherwise, this Corporation has no connection to the issues in this proceeding apart from it being an asset of Eric Ian Stewart Deane.” Furthermore, I never said in my post that he “owned the talent agency”. I am not in any way shape or form related to the Coxs or the Deanes and don’t need either of them to support anything that I have to say.

12. I think it is really comical that anytime someone mentions Eric Ian Deane’s name, even in the most neutral way, the Deane yardies start clucking like a bunch of crazed hens “it’s Keltruth!, it’s BFP!, the sky is falling!” bawk bawk bawk bawk. !

13. Wishing In Vain Avatar

I have said from very early in this case that it was always likely to be a waste of time action after all this case was taken to our highest court and heard there and a decisiongiven why in heavens name would they expect a Canadian Court to become involved in this matter was always beyond me.

Maybe the feeling was to keep the matter in the public’s eye and hope for support.

14. It has always amazed us whenever BU puts the other side of the Kingsland matter how the debate descends into squabbling. Let us reiterate BU’s position.

This is a family matter which has mushroomed to tar the reputation of Barbados and many of its prominent citizens. As patriotic Barbadians we (BU) feel obligated to expose this matter for those who have eyes to see to decide for themselves. The silence of the traditional media remains a mystery.

Similar to the Graeme Hall matter it is clear successive governments will NOT be brow beaten or cower in the face of tactics bordering on intimidation to achieve decisions some may want. At this stage and sadly so is seems irrelevant whether which decisions should be made, what has happened is there has been hardening of positions which will see these matters go on ad infinitum.

BU has posted several blogs about the merit of ADR. Money, time, peace of mind and other priceless intangibles and resources can (would have been) be saved. Life is not only precious but very short. It seems blasphemous at a time when many people are suffering in Barbados we read of the senseless millions of dollars (some Barbadian tax dollars) being frittered away on a matter which could have been resolved by any member of the BU household for FREE.

15. “Maybe it is because of his attempt to force Madge Knox to pay him his court-ordered costs that Anonymous and Keltruth and BFP et al have such a hatred against Eric Ian Deane.”

Perhaps you could show me where, in my post, I have expressed anything remotely like “hatred” towards Eric Ian Deane?

16. “But Anonymous aka Keltruth, tell me something. What has Mr. Deane done you? Rhetorical, of course, because we expect no answer – as usual.”

It is, in fact, not a rhetorical question as I am more than happy to answer your question. Mr. Deane has done nothing to me but logic would dictate that there was some purpose in posting this latest installment and this is a blog, where it is expected that people would comment and share their views on the article.

17. I agree with David 100%. It seems to me that what is reported here is that the appeal against a decision affecting Barbados’ sovereignty in a foreign court was filed and then amended then forgotten and then dismissed. Barbados and its citizens, as a defendant in this action, had to outlay some millions of dollars to defend itself. Any patriot would take exception to such a waste of our time and resources and the mud slinging at Barbados that has accompanied it.

That is the thrust and purpose of the BU article. To advise that an appeal has been dismissed and that the costs of the case run into the millions and there is a motion before the Ontario courts to reclaim that money from the plaintiff’s lawyer, which he rightly claims to be of high interest, because it is so unusual.

The Barbados press has failed to report this, even given the millions out of our public purse. David wants to know why and so do I.

What business interests Mr. Eric Ian Deane may or may not hold in any business in any other country is of no relevance to this discussion. I can only conclude that it is of such interest to some in order to (uselessly in my opinion) in a vain effort to try to suggest that Mr. Deane has in some way ‘attorned’ to the jurisdiction of the Ontario courts. It is, in fact, another attempt to use the blogs as a fishing ground. Like the previous such fishing expeditions, it is likely doomed to ignominious failure.

18. Anonymous // October 11, 2009 at 7:08 AM

Anonymous I, too, read the same statement when it was posted. I, however, understood it to mean that this is the company (Phoenix Artists Management Limited) Mr. Deane is associated with up dere in Hingland. I never understood it to mean he was working out of Ontario.

One of us must have problems with comprehension.

19. Well that must be you then Pat. Did you not take the time to read the decision on Canlii or are you just “winging” it. Let me summarize for you. Phoenix Artists Management Ltd. is located in Toronto, Ontario. Eric Ian Deane domiciles, according to court records, in England. Nowhere has it been stated that Mr. Deane works in Ontario but in the court record it stated that Phoenix Artists Management is an “asset” of Mr. Deane’s. It’s really very straightforward.

20. Anonymous // October 11, 2009 at 7:43 PM

In that case Anonymous, I am the wrong party. Imagine an old hen like me making a silly mistake like that. I apologize.

Well, I guess he could be taking a leaf out of Nelson Barbados’ book. Monkey see, monkey do.

From a tax standpoint, it would be beneficial for him to deposit his monies in this company and then withdraw dividends, which in Canada are taxed at a lower rate than personal income. Lets face it the man is legally trained. If this is the case, I take my hat off to him. Others have been doing it with Bim for decades. Even our former Prime Minister, Paul Martin.

21. But here is the interesting point Pat. A man who lives in England, has his mail sent to an office in Toronto, Ontario Canada.

22. I have no interest in Phoenix Artists Management. Phoenix represented me as an actor from 1978 until 1982. They got me work and I paid them commission. I never owned any shares or other interest in Phoenix. As I was frequently travellening, my mail was sent to me in care of Phoenix ONLY WHILE IT REPRESENTED ME, which is a standard proceedure for actors who, in the days before e-billing and even fax, had to make sure that all accounts were paid during their frequent absences from home. My connection with Phoenix, including my mail being sent to them, ended in 1982 when I moved to England from Canada to live and work. That is 27 years ago and Phoenix has not represented me since. My mail is not sent to me in Canada, but at my residence in the United Kingdom.

23. Well then Mr. Deane, if I were you, I would be concerned about what you claim to be inaccuracies on the public record. The Motion heard on Apr. 6,7,8th still very clearly refers to Phoenix Artists Management Ltd. as an “asset” of yours. That entire paragraph, already copy and pasted above, speaks in the present tense not the past. You were deposed Mr. Deane and if your sworn statements were misunderstood, they should have been corrected immediately.

24. Thank you so much, Anonymous. Please supply me with your LSUC number and I will forward your comments to counsel as an unsolicited legal opinion provided me by blog. Naturally, we will know from your LSUC number who you are, but please be assured that we will keep you Anonymous.

25. Nutter of the bollocks Avatar
    Nutter of the bollocks

Cuh dear. De body only make a valid suggestion, why he got now tuh give you a numba? The suggestion is what it is, e right too, dat court records should be accurate, so why yuh need e numba?

26. Forgive our ignorance but what has Phoenix Artists Management Ltd got to do with the case at hand? We are discussing the name of Barbados being dragged through the mud!

27. David, excellent question. Maybe Anonymous would like to stop trying to give Mr. Deane frivilous, irrelevant, gratuitous, uncredited and (so far as we are aware) unqualified and almost certainly self-serving legal advice, focus on Barbados’ name being dragged through the mud and answer your question.

Calling Anonymous. Anyone there? If so, we all want to hear your answer to David’s question.

28. It seems there is a similar thread between the Nelson Vs Barbados case and the article below. The good name of Barbados is being sullied in an international forum.

Canadian Alleges Treaty Violations by Barbados

It seems there is a similar thread between the Nelson Vs Barbados case and the article below. The good name of Barbados is being sullied in an international forum.

Canadian Alleges Treaty Violations by Barbados

Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:12am EDT   OTTAWA, Canada, Oct. 28 /PRNewswire/ – A complaint filed by the Canadian ownerof Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary, an eco-tourist facility in Barbados, allegesthat the Government of Barbados has violated its international obligations byrefusing to enforce its environmental laws, thereby allowing increasedpollution and land development to damage the Sanctuary.Notice of the dispute was given to Barbados in accordance with the AgreementFor The Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments between Canada andBarbados.The complaint alleges that Barbados has consistently refused to enforce itsdomestic environmental laws and to abide by its international obligationsunder the Convention on Wetlands and Convention on Biological Diversity. Thishas led to a radical escalation of polluted runoff into the Graeme Hallwetland that serves as a Caribbean flyway stop for migratory birds betweenNorth and South America. The Sanctuary is located entirely within the wetland,is home to some of the heaviest concentrations of biodiversity on the island,and has been a major environmental education center for children, adults andvisitors.Increasing fish and crab kills have been observed in recent years in thewetland along with unpredictable water levels and toxic algae blooms allegedlycaused by years of government-run sluice gate and pollution mismanagement,dumping of raw sewage by the South Coast Sewage Treatment Plant, and otherfactors.According to Peter Allard, chairman and shareholder of the Graeme Hall NatureSanctuary, over $35 million (US) has been invested in the 35-acre Sanctuary topreserve the last significant mangrove woodland and wetland on the island. TheSanctuary is within the last 240-acre green space on the island’s South Coastbetween the Airport and the capital of Bridgetown, and is also part of theRamsar wetland recognized by the Convention on Wetlands of InternationalImportance.In 2008 Barbados formally reversed the original protective land use policiesembodied in the 1988 National Physical Development Plan that showedenvironmental buffers and low-impact recreational lands around the Sanctuaryinvestment and the wetland.New zoning for the area calls for commercial and residential development forthe majority of the 240-acre green space at Graeme Hall, despite a 6,000signature petition by citizens of Barbados to create a national park.A copy of the complaint can be viewed at: http://www.graemehall.com/legal/papers/BIT-Complaint.pdfBridgetown, BarbadosComplaint copy: http://www.graemehall.com/legal/papers/BIT-Complaint.pdfArchives and Art: http://www.graemehall.com/reference.htmwww.graemehall.com/pressAdditional Information: http://www.graemehallnationalpark.orgSOURCE Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary, Inc.Stuart Heaslet, ghns@heaslet.com

29. Peter Allard never gives up. He hitting out at Barbados and the pollution by the sewerage treatment plant. Well, let me tell Allard, to just look at Ottawa. Everytime there is a large rainfall, hundreds of millions of gallons of raw sewage is pumped into the Ottawa River.

This is disturbing because towns downstream – Wendover, Hawkesbury, Alfred, etc. get their drinking water directly from that same river. The City was fined last year by the Province, but the practice has not stopped. This means that all the beaches are closed for weeks at a time because of the high e-coli not only in the water, but in the sand as well where the water rises when it rains.

Allard should also look at the Alberta Tar Sands, where oil is being extracted to feed the American behemoth. He should go document the environmental damage being done from those opertions.

30. […] Nelson Barbados versus many prominent Barbadians court case has been covered exclusively by BU. We understand the blackout by the local media has to do with […]