Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

The caller was adamant that it was the Leader of the Opposition who was behind a recent criticism of me that was carried in the political gossip column of the other publication.

He insisted that the concern about my absence from the country was consistent with laments that had emanated from the Leader of the Opposition in her tabling of a Parliamentary Question several months ago. I maintained on this occasion that it could not have been Ms. Mottley.

The temptation is great, I am aware, to direct criticisms of a party at its leader. Therefore the caller was well in order to suggest that my presence in the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis over the past two weeks was of such concern to Ms. Mottley that she would have articulated this publicly and it was from there that the authors of the gossip column would have gotten the motivation to write about my working outside Barbados while retained as an advisor to the government.

It is a subject I would welcome being put under the microscope. Firstly, the facts are that I have not signed on a new client since accepting a consultancy with the government of Barbados. Indeed, I have not renewed any of the contracts that expired since January 15th, 2008. I am currently in the process of “serving out” existing contracts, with the view of working full time in Barbados in the service of my country. That is the sacrifice I am willing to make at this time.

But my insistence that it could not have been the Leader of the Opposition who “squealed on me” was predicated on the fact that sitting across the political divide from me in the court of St. Kitts these past two weeks, in clear view, was none other than the Leader of the Opposition of Barbados. Indeed, some Kittitians joked that it was a “Bajan invasion”, because Barbados born High Court Judge, Francis Belle is presiding in the matter to determine if, how and when constituency boundaries in St. Kitts and Nevis will be altered.

Onlookers understood and never questioned the presence of Justice Belle pressing or Yours Truly, whose association with the ruling St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party dates back to 1993. However, it was mystifying to many that a sitting Leader of the Opposition and, one would assume, Prime Minister-in-Waiting of a sister island, would become so embroiled in a clearly partisan political matter, even though she would have been retained ostensibly as legal counsel.

What is even more confusing to Kittitians is that the former Prime Minister of Barbados and immediate past leader of the Barbados Labour Party, Owen Arthur, addressed the annual conference of the ruling party sometime ago and spoke glowingly of the work of that government and its esteemed leader, Dr. Denzil Douglas.

The fallout for the Barbados Labour Party from Mottley leading the charge for and on behalf of the opposition Peoples Action Movement is colossal. Still, that is a matter for Ms. Mottley and her Parliamentary colleagues to discuss and reconcile.

My interest in the matter stems from the relative silence of the Leader of the Opposition in Barbados over the past few weeks in the midst of several rather contentious issues being debated in public.

As a member of the public, I was looking forward to Ms. Mottley’s response to decisions taken at the just concluded Prime Ministerial meeting in Guyana, when the thorny issues of immigration and free movement of Caricom nationals were discussed.

Barbados and Barbadians came under heavy fire for what in the end turned out to be a misunderstanding of this country’s position and the stance it took on the matter of unregulated and undocumented migration. Prime Minister David Thompson was forced to lead the charge into Georgetown and silence the critics of this country. Just imagine how powerful the message would have been had the two principal political voices in Barbados spoken in unison.

For the first time in years, a serious deliberate attempt is being made to streamline the operations of the Barbados Water Authority and pursue a sustainable programme of water security. Rates to the customer were increased, but the central issue of water security was at the forefront of public debate. Other issues such as the start up of summer camps for 9 000 school children and final touches to Crop Over 2009 were all begging for intervention and input from the Leader of the Opposition, but what the country got was the constant serving of political trivia from two ex-DLP operatives who have now come to personify what the Barbados Labour Party of 2009 is and is about.

It is not part of my remit to advise the Barbados Labour Party on its current trajectory, but placing the party on auto pilot and in the hands of these two political personnas make absolutely no political sense. Interestingly, these said two individuals were ten years ago leading the charge for David Thompson as Leader of the Opposition against the then BLP Government. It’s anybody’s guess where their allegiance will be four years from now. Personally, I believe the BLP can do better!

I could have sat silent and permitted Ms. Mottley to be accused and blamed for criticising persons earning public funds and pursuing business interest elsewhere. But I do not believe that would have been fair to her. Definitely, not on this occasion!

(Hartley Henry is a regional political strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com)

1. Living in Barbados Avatar
    Living in Barbados

I like this, as political punditry. Nice and punchy in many senses, and sufficiently ambiguous as to lead to some real questions. I particularly like the closing, “It is not part of my remit to advise the Barbados Labour Party on its current trajectory…” and then going on to give some advise. Knock out!

2. Living in Barbados Avatar
    Living in Barbados

Correction: …give some adviCe

3. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

There are a many within the BLP party that know of his plan of action, he no longer hides and plans, his actions are now becoming clearer for all to see, he has made up his mind to launch an assault on the post of leader of the BLP, maybe Dale Marshall although he to has wishes, will agree to step aside for the short man to have his wish to cast out Mottley.

But David I was waiting for you to let the Barbadian public know of the latest development going on within the BLP camp????

I have not seen you publish anywhere the very recent development from the BLP camp, as recently as yesterday the former leader was in recruitment mode and has openly stated his intention and desire to regain the leadership of HIS party, the first step to doing so will be his assault on the post of Chairman of the party and this will take place during their conference in September sometime, he has opening stated this to be his intention as in his view Mottley killing the party.

He has also made personal calls and visits to those persons trying to get them to sign onto to his program to regain his standing

4. WIV, Owen coming back isn’t necessarily a good thing for the DLP. If he does and he can address the concerns of Barbadians with regards to immigration, which the DLP and David Thompson have not put to bed (guyanese nanny’s as a skill catogory) as yet. He could once again become an attractive alternative to Thompy. Mark my words.

5. Submitted on 2009/07/16 at 9:09am

WIV, Owen coming back isn’t necessarily a good thing for the DLP. If he does and he can address the concerns of Barbadians with regards to immigration, which the DLP and David Thompson have not put to bed (guyanese nanny’s as a skill catogory) as yet. He could once again become an attractive alternative to Thompy. Mark my words.

Definitely agree that a rejuvenated Arthur can mount a serious challenge to the BLP leadership and the DLP. Arthur’s goodwill among the Barbados electorate is still high. The psyche of the Bajan is to want a leader who projects an aura of being the intellectual, it is how Bajans are socialized/educated.

Arthur would need to replace his strategy of politics of inclusion with some other to rebalance his overdependence on macro-economic policies. Prime Minister Thompson will have a Herculean task because he is currently forced to managed austere policies.

6. If Barbadian politicians are going to get embroiled in the political affairs of the regional countries; may I suggest that Mia next attend the General meeting of the PPP in Guyana. She can be the guest speaker and her topic should be “Barbados Immigration Policy” subtitled the “BLP’s suggestion for an open door”.

She would receive a warm welcome

7. So let me get this straight…..

After weeks of saying that the opposition should shut up and pull along with the government Hartley is now saying they are too quiet? LOL

Sorry I just have difficulty taking anything this man says seriously.

8. Man Anon dont try that one …. when dangerous Mascoll was quarelling about GEMS he was talking shite!

When D. Thompson was quarrelling people said he fretting about everything his reply was damn if I do and damn if I dont DONT FORGET!

Your problem is that the BLP is not in power so dont talk no crap!

9. The DLP has lost a lot of support amongst Barbadians and maybe it would serve WIV well to spend what time he has left as political advisor to Thompson to focus on how to rekindle the dimming light of the DLP.

I am on the ground every day and bajans are not shouting loudly in public, they are speaking quietly to persons that they trust and I am convinced that if elections were called now the DLP would have a serious challenge recapturing the government.

There are a number of issues that continue to resurface that have incensed Barbadians.

WIV you have your work cutout. The BLP could not seriously be your concern at this time.

I am in agreement with Ms. Mottley not to speak on to many of the issues surfacing. Bajans voted for change – the change they are receiving is, as a caller to Brass Tacks puts it, “killing the poor man”. The very things that the DLP cursed the BLP for during the last election they are now doing. Ms. Mottley should say very little, let the DLP continue to hurt Barbadians. On they current trajectory they will be in opposition in record time.

10. @West Indian

The fact that only China is enjoying some economic buoyancy does not factor in your equation.

11. This would be a interesting development, if Owen comes back and publicly admits the mistakes he made and state that the break he had gave him room to be regenerated and reflect on where he went wrong, people would start to take note. Owen is still or can still be very popular and can pose a problem to Mr Thompson. Like Owen, David has some people who are hanging on to his coat tail, while owen was brash enough to shake off most of his David is more diplomatic about his and as such they are weighting him down. If I hear anything negative from Owen about Jagdeo’s behaviour, then I would think David should take note and gear up for a fight. Don’t forget owen could have called elections when the DLP was in shambles during the rift between David and Mascoll and win. The problem is Mia would not take that sitting, but she doesn’t have a firm backing within the party. Even Liz, her good friend, would back Owen because she is still scared of him.

12. WIV
    You may think I’m attacking you but this is just my suggestion. You talk too much and too many controversial things. To some extent, you are driving a few wedges in the DLP’s coffin. Maybe it is time for you to backoff, and get down to the “man-in-the-street” form an unbiased opinion of what you’re hearing on the street, then plan strategies to compete with 66a regenerated Owen. I might sound stupid but think about it.

13. These people are so out of touch with poor people’s issues.

Is this the best they can do with this space?

I hope BU charge them, at least light bill money, for posting this every week.
    After all they have a blog too.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Owen Arthur’s shelf life expired a long time ago.
    Why would he now want to inflict himself as leader of the Barbados Labour Party or Barbados for that matter. He had his fifteen minutes of fame and now he is out to pasture, that is where he ought to remain. Injecting himself into a leadership battle in the Barbados Labour Party can not be good for the party, it will only split the party down the middle and muddle its chances of doing well at the next general elections.

As a Barbadian I would not like to see Owen at the head of any future government in Barbados. We are at this time grappling with a huge mess which he has left behind. That is the question of illegal Guyanese here in Barbados which a government he led engineered. Barbados needs to be spared the ravages of Owen Arthur.

One thing I would be happy to see him do, is to take his family and relocate to his beloved Guyana.

15. well Owen coming back would do wonders for Barbados Free Press! Lately they almost seem like a solution looking for a problem LOL

As far as the article is concerned as a BLP supporter I’ll only really get worried about Hartley when he says the BLP is doing a good job.

16. CCC
    I would prefer Owen coming back than Mia becoming P.M of Barbados. If Owen comes back and there is a split for leadership, this would give David an easy victory next elections.

17. return of Owing? what return of Owing? any of you seen him recently? the man looks like dead man walking. it looks like a strong wind would blow him. he wants to rescue the BLP but, from the way he looks, it looks like he more needs rescuing than the BLP.

18. sylvan
    You’re right, I saw the man a few days ago and he looks terrible, he has aged a lot over the last year or so. Maybe, he will try a Compton special.

19. But then, Oh My God, can you image Mia being P.M of Barbados? That would be the darkest day in Barbados history. open door to guyanese and whosoever else may come, legalising prostitution, homosexuality, lesbianism, and men would have to learn to “tek a horn” could be from another woman. Oh Lord, come fa ya world.

20. What do you mean, “men would have to take a horn…” , Scout? What do they do now?

21. Themis
    The horns men take now cannot compare with what Mia would sanction. Barbados would become a modern day Sodom

22. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

“The fact that only China is enjoying some economic buoyancy does not factor in your equation.” [Asia is growing overall, less than in recent years, but not negligible. See IMF’s updated World Economic Outlook published last week, http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/weo/2009/update/02/index.htm.%5D

23. Livinginbarbados // July 17, 2009 at 4:59 am

“The fact that only China is enjoying some economic buoyancy does not factor in your equation.” [Asia is growing overall, less than in recent years, but not negligible. See IMF’s updated World Economic Outlook published last week, http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/weo/2009/update/02/index.htm.
    ————————————————-
    I thought Canada’s economy was hold up as well? Well at least their banks don’t seem to be in trouble like thoses i the US and Europe. Uh wonder why?

@LIB:
    Asia does a lot of the worlds manufacturing (cheap labour) is this a factor? A lot of western economies Barbados included took to refitting to become “service economies” which did not make long term sense to me. Wuh uh saying mekking sense LIB?

24. The Scout // July 16, 2009 at 9:23 pm

sylvan
    You’re right, I saw the man a few days ago and he looks terrible, he has aged a lot over the last year or so. Maybe, he will try a Compton special.
    ————————————————-

Wuh we bajans like to call looking terrible, and aged is to be healthy and fit in other parts of the world. If yuh don’t have a face full of fat and a matching body, you are said to be starved out, looking bad, and probably have aids. I am not surprise that diabetes, obesity, and lifestyle deseases are at epidemic proportions in Barbados (Mia leading the charge in that area). That is why Cow Williams gine out live all uh wunnuh. Talk about a man that look bad by bajan standards? Some uh we gine find out de hard way,…lose a limb to diabetes, heart attack, cancer, etc all from our over weight and eating habits and laziness. I hope Arthur’s weight lost is from eating properly, exercising regularly, and not from alcoholism. Indeed he did hint at changing his eating habits when he did his photo op with an oversize fork in a kitchen garden full uh youg plants.

25. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@AH
    “I thought Canada’s economy was hold up as well? Well at least their banks don’t seem to be in trouble like thoses i the US and Europe. Uh wonder why?” [Banking problems were not as severe, and financial regulation amongst the best. Recession not as deep as US, though car manufacturers’ woes gave a nasty hit, and looks set to rebound better. But, much depends on commodities (oil price rise tends to mean Can $ fall) which can be destabilising for exchange rate. High unemployment is also a major problem as is political fighting about whether the deficit spending is the way to go. Eh.]

“Asia does a lot of the worlds manufacturing (cheap labour) is this a factor?” [Things are relative rather than absolute.]

“A lot of western economies Barbados included took to refitting to become “service economies” which did not make long term sense to me.” [Barbados is likely to be hurt more by the type of services it has focused on. I’m one who believes that tourism will take a bigger hit as some enterprises that fail now cannot be revived when the world starts to roll again.]

“Wuh uh saying mekking sense LIB?” [I said little but to challenge the statement on China.]

26. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Financial irresponsibility

Can you imagine that after 14 years at the helm of a Government, Opposition Members of Parliament are asking questions about unfinished projects?

The question from Member of Parliament for St. Thomas, Cynthia Forde, regarding an unfinished road in Jackson, revealed the untenable position that the Rural Development Commission (RDC) has found itself.

Minister Sinckler was quick to point out the problems associated with the completion of that particular project, along with 43 other road projects.

The decision of the Arthur administration to “jump start” 44 road projects at the same time has compromised the financial integrity of the RDC.

The irresponsible financial action on the part of the former administration assisted in helping Barbadian voters to rid the country of their inept political management style.

What would compel a Government to simultaneously commit taxpayers to 44 road projects at the same time?

These roads have millions of dollars outstanding that led to an investigation in funds disbursed and owed. It is this type of action that has led to the disintegration of state institutions and a break down in the morale of public servants.

This irresponsible financial action of the Barbados Labour Party defined their priorities.

Their action was located in political expediency as they sought to give voters the impression that they were busy.

The reality is that there is currently “no money to finish it” or other roads as left by the last administration.

This follows on the heels of the Ministerial Statement on the St. Joseph Hospital Commission of Inquiry, which the Barbados Labour Party engaged over a decade ago.

Yet again, we have witnessed the financial irresponsibility of the Arthur administration.

A sum of 1.6 million dollars was allocated by the then Cabinet in 1998.

Ten years later and some 3.5 million dollars down the road, the Report is completed.

This was done in an effort to show up and ridicule a gentleman who has come to be known as the best Minister of Health this country has ever had.

Senator Branford Taitt has lived to see the fruits of his labour pay dividends.

He continues to serve this country in the Senate as President and is a mentor for many of our young Democratic Labour Party Members of Parliament.

There can be no doubt that financial irresponsibility was the hallmark of the former administration.

They have left a financial mess that we are now asked to correct and restore financial appropriateness.

Can you imagine that they now sit on Opposition benches giving Barbadians the impression that they care about transparency and accountability?

They have bastardised the image of the public service and its institutional fabric in the name of political expediency.

We appreciate that we must continue to deliver in the face of the financial mayhem left for us to clean up.

It is clear that the Arthur administration was good at camouflaging reality.

They performed excellent on the world stage with little care for the consequences of their actions.

We intend to restore financial prudence in our political actions as we go about strengthening our safety net. We will continue to deliver as we have done since coming to office.

Our policies will help to create Pathways to Progress as we build a better Barbados.

27. ” It is true that the commission also had much blame to share in the management of the awarded contract and proper oversight in the renovation of the St Joseph Hospital. Indeed, it thought it relevant to even criticise Taitt for failing to observe what it deemed certain “acceptable ethical standards”, by allowing the principal contractor for the hospital project to engage at the same time in construction work at his private home.”
    Nation, September 23rd, 2008

Unethical behaviour by public officials is unacceptable. To support such behaviour negates any government’s claims of transparency, accountability and good governance.

28. Agree to this comment and while the St. Joseph matter has become immersed in the political games of the day the question of ethical behaviour by our public officials should remain front and centre to this discussion. We understand the Freedom of Information Bill will be debated in parliament soon, the time table for the Integrity Bill remains a mystery. BU suggests PM Thompson must be cognisant of the political fallout his party will suffer if it falters on the introduction of the Integrity Bill.

29. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

We understand the Freedom of Information Bill will be debated in parliament soon.

That is indeed a fact of life stated as such by our Prime Minister The Hon Mr David Thompson.

As most of you will agree the gov’t has been busy addressing many social issues as well as providing housing for our people, something that was sadly neglected by the former blp adminstration.

Oh by the way I understand that we will have yet another forensic audit to be done in yet another gov’t department as part of the dishonesty of the previous blp cabinet dirty work campaign.

30. @WIV

The government must be aware by now that the public has zero tolerance to this talk about forensic audits if the outcome will be a report which gathers dust after millions have been spent.

31. WIV
    You don’t seem to understand, the public/voters of Barbados are begining to get restless. There is too much talk and no action on a number of matters that were highlighted during the elections. The honeymoon is over, yet you are still talking about the wedding reception. Get real, tell the P.M to bring the Integrity Bill to Parliament, or at lease say something about it. The voters of this country are still firmly behind thew P.M but I’m begining to see cracks in the armour.

32. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

The government must be aware by now that the public has zero tolerance to this talk about forensic audits if the outcome will be a report which gathers dust after millions have been spent

DAVID HAS THIS GOV’T HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO HAVE A REPORT GATHER DUST?

Audits will happen for one reason or the other and you and every other taxpayer will be updated on the findings as they become available, but no millions will be spent as the blp did and then hide it from the public for years while spreading mistruths and lies.

33. @WIV

That’s our point, who wants to read the report? We want the systemic issues FIXED but more importantly guilty parties at DODDs!

34. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

We want the systemic issues FIXED but more importantly guilty parties at DODDs!

I am in full agreement with you.

35. Yes we are being serve…..yet another smorgasbord of shite week in and week out. GIGO! Different day same ….! Man you give a whole new meaning to the word strategist.

36. WIV, keep quiet!!!

You said:

“Senator Branford Taitt has lived to see the fruits of his labour pay dividends. [and]…continues to serve this country in the Senate as President and is a mentor for many of our young Democratic Labour Party Members of Parliament.”

How can someone deemed to have acted unethically while a Minister of Government be elevated to the presidency of the Senate?

You people are hypocrites and clearly not serious, so spare me the audits and the continued rumour mongering.

For example, an audit was done at UDC but was never released. Instead the MP (who was responsible for that institution for over 5 years during which the ackee tree saga etc occurred) resigned from the opposition and is now in charge of government’s summer camps.

An individual who recently claimed that the DLP is doing a far better job on social policy than the previous government, despite the fact that he was the first and longest serving Minister of Social Transformation–truly an indictment on his own ministerial record.

By the way, Scout, the voters ARE restless!!!!!

37. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

By the way, Scout, the voters ARE restless!!!!!

You are right even your formerly most vocal and ardent supporters are now supportive of this gov’t for many reasons but to a very large extent at least THIS GOV’T HAS HAD THE BALLS TO ADDRESS THE ILLEGALS IN THIS COUNTRY SOMETHING THAT YOU LOT IGNORED, the children are in exciting and worthwhile summer camps and when schools reopen they will travel to scholl and back FREE OF CHARGE COMPLIMENTS OF A WORKING AND CARING DLP GOV’T.

I saw one of your former card bearing members last week and he was overjoyed at the social caring measures that this new gov’t has delivered and continues to deliver.

There is finally a housing program that is working and people can see unfolding in front of their very eyes, so unlike your parties non effort with housing.

The Hoteliers are extremely pleased by the attention and consideration that has been shown to their industry, remember the relief fund that assisted right down to watersports operators and small bars.

You and your lot spoken much and offered the world but delivered ZERO, cast your minds back to the lack of service persons like Liz Thompson, Blarney MM Lynch, Mottley, Clarke, Walcott offered to Barbadians lots of flowery chatter and no delivery, no delivery whatsoever, all of them owe the taxpayers half their salaries back to the treasury.

38. Will someone please buy this man a new cd? This one is scratched and keeps sticking.

39. Enuff
    You’re so wrong, it’s not scratched it warped too.
    WIV
    May I suggest you have a little talk with your P.M. Ask him who I am and then you can destroy that cd too. You slip is showing, you are doing more damage to your party than good. Once more, let me suggest that you keep your trap SHUT. Like Owen Arthur, you have expired your shelf life. People like you and Peter Wickham, will soon be placed on the shelf. To take you out of your misery and stop embarrassing the party, I am and was always a supporter of the DLP, even when you were still in short pants at school. The difference is people like you are looking for handouts, that’s why you keep flapping your mouth to keep the spotlight on yourself; I’m the complete opposite, I call a spade a spade and therefore everyone who knows me accepts my comment as genuine even though they don’t agree with me; they call that demoracy. I don’t say what people want to hear but what I consider right. So go ahead, cuss me if you want but I’ll still be a supporter of the DLP but if the price is right you , like a weather cock, will jump ship; a true POLITICAL WEATHERCOCK.

40. Scout

what is this filthy site doing associated with your name?!!! I didn’t realize that you are swing bowler.

41. Anonymous
    I’m just as surprised as you are. I know nothing about it, I just signed back on and saw it there.

42. B.U
    Please explain why the attachment to me posting July 20th @ 2.43 P.M. This is the second time this has occured. I am quite capable of speaking for myself, if this occurs again, I will stop contributing to this blog

43. @The Scout

All you have to do is email us or raise the issue as to why and we will take care of it. Implied in your tone is the fact that BU allowed a spammer to use your name.

44. David
    What I’m saying is that some-one, and I hope not WIV, has attached a site on to a posting I made. It therefore appears that I am the one who did it. I hope WIV would not stoop that low, or be so juvenile, or immatured to do such.

45. If he does and he can address the concerns of Barbadians with regards to immigration, which the DLP and David Thompson have not put to bed (guyanese nanny’s as a skill catogory) as yet.

Adrian, the facts are that Guyana does not issue CVQ’s! Therefore there can be no benefit to Guyanese “Nannies” – what you really mean is “Household Domestics.”

Truth to tell, I think David Thompson scored heavily because he agreed to a category for which Guyanese don’t qualify! And there is little inward immigration of Trinidadians and Jamaicans into Barbados.

He can have his cake and eat it too! He has not lost his commitment to CSME and has not given away anything!

Arthur simply caved in and allowed this country to be overrun by illegals. That is the point. Bajans won’t forget that easily.

From what I read by Hartley Henry some time ago, there is more in this mortar than the pestle. I genuinely feel that Arthur had a design that the Dems have discovered and are timing their plays.

One thing about David Thompson: he is neither hasty nor impatient. He has Arthur’s number. He showed that in the Budget debate.