Submitted by GoWEB Blog

Queens College Secondary School

The recently concluded Junior Duelling Challenge is a matter on the lips of most these days. Queens College was a announced the winner in what is unanimously described as an unfair conclusion. Coming out of the semis, the two schools with the highest semifinal scores would go to the final. In the semi-finals, Queens lost so much time, and hence points, that it was impossible for them to make it to the finals. When the other competitor was finished all four of their plates, Queens had not even finished one plate and the time was up.

Actually, they had not even finished cooking when the time ran out, and their competitor handed in ALL four of their plates. Actually, Queens lost so much time, that the public did not even get to see the conclusion of Queens’ presentation. Actually, for the first time this year, we NEVER saw the final plate from Queens and no scores were given. However, it was obvious that Queens had lost too much points to make it to the finals.

Imagine the surprise when Queens was announced the following week, as having made it to the finals, and then won the competition. Queens College seemed to be favoured from day one, and anyone who watched the show last year, and recalled a similar instance in which Alma Paris “somehow” lost a battle they had clearly won, would have expected such an outcome from the start. If this is what reality shows in Barbados have come to, they need to stop making them.

People have already started saying that they will never watch the Junior Duelling Challenge again. I am simply voicing the concern on the lips of people on the street. Was there cheating? Was the competition fair? Those of you who watched it, you decide.

1. I guess that favoritism at it’s best and it is on National Television for the public viewing this show?

If so, pull the plug IMO.

2. I used to watch the show and I too syopped watching the night they declared Q.C was into the semi-finals. I didn’t watch the finals. Same old, same old.

3. What would be the motive to be so blatantly bias?

4. No motive necessary. Barbadians are passive, even more so with “seemingly unimportant” cooking competitions that “only” affects kids. The furore from blatant bias wouldn’t be enough to dampen ratings. The disadvantaged go home sad, the winners end up happy, and another series will begin next year. Guess “corruption and bias” really is now a part of our culture. Sad thing is that our children are the ones who are being given the wrong view on life fairness and justice. We will continue to reap what we sow as a society.

5. Food for thought Observing!

Which body organised this competition?

6. Saying Nuttin Avatar

It is sad indeed. The thing is that these things sometimes favour the newer schools as well. We seem to have a problem with setting fair rules and guidelines and then letting things take their course.

I can remember when the National under 19 cricket competition disregarded seedings and ended up having harrison College and Lodge , the two finalists from the previous year, in the same preliminary group. Since only one team could advance it meant that only one of the heavyweights could make the semifinals. When questioned about the non use of seedings despite the rules one of the administrators steupsed and said “wait, y’all dont want to give the other schools a chance to win?”

7. I have only watched this program a couple of times but when I tried to figure out how teams won I always found it was alot of words and nothing specific.

I never understood how the judging was done and how many points were given for what.

I put it down to a subjective interpretation of what the contestants did.

Since I can’t cook, the nuances of any of the activities engaged in would be lost on me so I shut out the non stop talking.

However, everytime I watched it I thoroughly enjoyed the commitment to the job at hand and obvious savoir faire of the young people preparing food.

They took it seriously and did their best.

The audience also was heavily involved and enjoyed the performance too.

It would be a pity if subjectivity in any way hinders those young people from enjoying themselves.

At least it isn’t like Hell’s Kitchen where the head man gets on like a hog if things aren’t up to his subjective interpretation of what is good.

…. then again, taste and appearance are subjective so can’t see there being any hard and fast rules that could be applied without losing the essence of the competition.

8. I recall hearing that QC team was constantly very strong on creativity, flavours.

Because one team finished first does not mean the other lost. QC may have won by 1, indeed it may have been a tie broken by discussion will yet produce a winner.

I thought Qc’s plate was impressive given the range offered including 2 sauces and how the items were prepared/presented. I’ve never seen anyone else on the show ever do that.. most do the drizzle over the plate thing. Qc demonstrated greater range and creativity.

Why must something subversive be read into a simple win.. Would it have been different if it were CP vs St James or HC & QC?? Give the competition and the schools a break.

People have to stop blaming others for things, sometimes and yes most of the time we lose because someone was better – in one area or overall, or we just were not good enough. Thats reality! but we appear to be teaching children that its never their fault or just circumstances for things. I failed because teacher aint teach we nothing rather than I failed to learn enough or what I knew well didn’t come onthe test as I planned. These attitudes create messed up people and an even more messed up society.

9. @ Bjan tease

The article hasn’t questioned the performance of the schools in the finals. But questions how Queens got into the finals after what happened to them in the semis. In the semis, Queens lost so much time that their final presentation was NEVER even shown. They lost at least 9 minutes at the end. When the time ran out they had NO plates finished and they weren’t even finished cooking. Aside from losing points every minute, the judges usually punish teams for bad time management. Teams have lost in the past because they failed to finish cooking within the time. The factors against Queens that night were just tooooooo great for the public to believe they got more points.

10. All persons from the Newer secondary schools suffer an inferiority complex. They blame the 11+, colour, CXC, teachers, parents, sun, moon, rain, dust, leaves, ants, wind,…. get the point?
    Listen work hard like QC people and you will achieve.
    Obviously QC got into the finals because they compensated for the time in all the other categories that were tested in the semis. If the newer secondary schools think they were disadvantaged, you have 2 options: Boycott the next series or Come even stronger next year.

11. QC Boy get over yuh self. Quite a sweeping statement to make against everyone at the newer secondary schools; but the focus of the post was the lack of clarity in the judging system of the competition. There would be no need for the writer(s) to question the outcome if there was some explanation from the judges as to how the results were tabulated. If finishing the dish and presenting it in the allotted time counts towards the final results the writer(s) were commenting on what they saw and it was obvious from the original post that QC was unable to finish theirs.

All the writer was calling for was some transparency you know what that means don’t you?.
    Incidentally, don’t be so quick to put down the newer Secondary Schools one of their graduates may be your boss when you enter the work force.

12. Another characteristic of the newer secondary school product is their bitterness as is seen in the previous post by Sargeant.

Get serious, do you want grantley adams to represent Barbados and when someone from overseas asks them a question they say things such as ” I is do da cah it luk gud” or “gimme de meat and i gine cuk um”. If you want to put Barbados on the world stage we must have the most intelligent minds bearing the flag and making Barbados proud. Dame Elsie Payne, Mia Mottley are two prominent old scholars. Call a grantley adams name? HMP 6723??

13. Another characteristic of the newer secondary school product is their bitterness as is seen in the previous post by Sargeant.

Get serious, do you want grantley adams to represent Barbados and when someone from overseas asks them a question they say things such as ” I is do da cah it luk gud” or “gimme de meat and i gine cuk um”. If you want to put Barbados on the world stage we must have the most intelligent minds bearing the flag and making Barbados proud. Dame Elsie Payne, Mia Mottley are two prominent old scholars. Call a grantley adams name? HMP 6723??

Are you being facetious?
    You must know that we have Barbadians who represent Barbados to the max who have been schooled at newer Secondary Schools?

14. It’s amazing how a simple cooking competition with unclear criteria for awarding points can raise the ire of older secondary school supporters and bring the debate of newer vs. secondary schools to the fore. This debate needs not be had because a person’s worth and value to this country has nothing to do with where they went to school. The reality is that our educational system fails many of our young people, not because it fails to provide them with the tools and a measure of equal opportunity, but because it doesn’t provide alternatives for those who will need them (and we all know who will need them after common entrance results are released). Society has propagated and pushed this notion of one school being better than the next into the psyches of parents and children alike rather than the “be the best that you can be, whereever you are, doing whatever brings you joy” mindset. This is reinforced by the “I am better than you” because “I know more” or “where I come from” falsehood that many educators subliminally and unknowingly pass on to their charges. Herein lies one of the basic problems that we have as a country and one that seems impossible to solve or alleviate given the contentment of those at the top, the ignorance of those at the bottom and the nonchalant attitude of those in the middle. We willingly perpetuate the class and academic status quo subtly and overtly, while trying to “fool” our young people that “such a thing doesn’t exist”, and that “all you need to succeed is to get an education.” Hypocrisy in the highest, but a vestige of our current state of societal existence and interaction.

As for the competition, just another case of the perennial “Bajan” no accountability. If QC won based on “non-visible” criteria, then the organisers should be able to state what they were without compunction. One cannot be upset with the persons who were upset and judged based on what they saw. But then again, in this society it’s not what we see that’s important, it’s what happens behind the scenes or under the table. Just another Barbadian reality.

15. I think QC Boy is nothing but a class conscious jackass.

If the government would staff ALL schools with properly educated and qualified teachers, this nonsense of my school better than yours would cease. He even suggests that people from Sir Grantley Adams cant speak English. If so, it is not the students fault but the teachers.

I taught at Sir Grantley when it was West St. Joseph and we put out excellent students with many certificates. My brother who went there studied Business Administration at a Canadian University and now owns a very successful business.

Another lady from West, who I know, is now Manager of a Bank of Commerce Branch in Toronto and I can go on and on.

I wonder if QC Boy knows that the Headmaster at HC wen to Richmond’s?

16. The number of prominent people from Grantley Adams School can be counted on 1 hand with fingers remaining. However, if you were to count the number of them in HMP Dodds, you would need several hundred fingers to count them.

Why cant you newer secondary school people work as hard as QC students. When I go home form school, I see all of the newer secondary school students playing, riding around their bicycles, while I go and do my homework, research projects and SBA. Why blame QC for their lack of commitment? They deserve to lose. They are losers.

17. QC Boy, you are a symptom of what is wrong with this society. I would advice others to save their energy and not respond to you any more. I will pray for your siblings, children and grandchildren for they will have to interact with “newer secondary people” at some point in time. God bless. Continue on your errant path.

18. The present principal of QC is an alumni of……Parkinson!!! Irony of ironies ain’t it QC boy?

Now Pat wrote “If the government would staff ALL schools with properly educated and qualified teachers,…” Well Pat has been away a long time so I will excuse her this time but it must be said that ALL schools are staffed with properly educated and qualified teachers. The overwhelming majority of the leading teachers (in terms of experience, pedagogical skills, subject content knowledge and promotion of professional development) are actually in the so called Newer Secondary schools and many are themselves graduates of the said schools. Critical thinking is obviously not engendered at QC if ‘QC boy’ is to be used as an example. Many of the newer schools were established in the late 70’s and 80’s (less than 30 years ago). Most of their graduates would be under 40 today so it can only be in recent time that these persons will start occupying leading positions in Barbadian society. So we are now seeing people like Hartley Henry, Chris Sinckler and Michael Lashley coming to the fore and in fact represent the future leadership of this country.

19. You have confirmed what I have said earlier- you can count those prominent people from newer secondary schools on 1 hand with fingers remaining.

‘observing’ you shouldnt get upset, there will always be stratifications and classism in the world. In fact this dates back to biblical times. But let us get serious and truthful and if we are to generalise, the majority of girls at newer secondary schools get pregnant sson after leaving school and the majority of boys end up running afoul of the law.
    It is the reality so stop making exceptions and using it as the rule. QC students put in countless hours of work. I am on my way to getting a scholarship and i had to work hard. Why blame QC for these self-made underachievers?

P.S To ‘Anonymous’ one of the criteria you are tested on is critical thinking at CAPE, but then again you may not know because you are more than likely a product of the newer secondary school so you probably completed school after CXCs and ran afoul of the law.

20. QC boy

I believe that you are being deliberately mischievous and provocative (not even a QC student could be so stupid). By the way, as a QC “boy(?)” how do you feel about the fact that the school isn’t named Quee(r)n’s College for nothing?

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Little stupid QC boy

As an ex HC boy, the drivel that you are posting is an embarrasment!

It is an embarrassment to all the QC girls that I associated with at Sunday School, in The Bus Stand limes in the 60’s, and those who came over to study Science & Maths, or join us in the performance of THE MARK OF THE GOAT in early 69.

BTW, any doctor who does abortions in Bim will tell you that QC girls get abortions too. A bet you didnt know that did you?

As a QC boy, so called, you ought to be exhibiting a much higher level of intellogence than you are doing on this forum.

Are you merely a clown? Or are you a whole circus?

And what on eareth is a QC boy any way? REAL BOYS GO TO HC LODGE CAWMERE CP BOYS FOUNDATION etc

Now shut up and go ask your momma to wash out your dirty mouth with bluie soap!

22. I hope you see what happens when older secondary school folk mix with newer secondary school folk. A
    ‘Georgie Porgie’ is produced. Enough said…

And what if QC girls get abortions? at least they are putting their careers first and foremost and will get a child(ren) later when they are ready. You knwo what that is called? careful Planning for the future.i.e Common senses which you Georgie Porgie seem to be void of.

And to ‘Anonymous’, Have you ever heard the saying: it takes one to know one? Go figure…

23. To teh Public: Have you boarded a bus with newer secondary school folk and one with older secondary school folk? Guess which one smells foul.

Answer: n_w_r secondary school folk.

Please fill in the above, if you newer secondary school folk have enough sense.
    Hint 1: it is the vowel which comes between ‘a and i’.
    Hint 2: It is the fifth letter of the English alphabet. Okay I know you still cant figure it out so Hint 3: It is the letter between ‘d’ and ‘f’.
    well well well, Hint 4: Georgie Porgie has 3 insatnces of this letter in his name. Sorry ‘instance means occurrence’ sorry occurrence means repetitions sorry ok I tired the Letter is ‘e’…

24. QC Boy

Do you know that Georgie Porgie is a doctor, and that he won a Barbados Exhibition, and that he made a contribution to National life.

As an ex QC boy, myself, I must agree with GP that the drivel that you are posting is an embarrassment to QC students!
    I must agree with GP also that as a QC boy, so called, you ought to be exhibiting a much higher level of intelligence than you are doing on this forum.

Like GP, I also ask “Are you merely a clown? Or are you a whole circus?”

Your persistent ranting and raving is big embarrassment to QC students, and seems to indicate that you have no class, and just do not know how to behave. You are a very ignorant and arrogant twit!

When GP gets so annoyed as to tell you “Now shut up and go ask your momma to wash out your dirty mouth with blue soap!” that speaks volumes of what an irritant you are.

25. Dear boy, I am not upset. I agree that “stratifications and classism” exist. My problem comes when we try to fool our young people that they do not.

I pray that in the years to come your book knowledge will be complemented by common sense, social awareness, an ounce of humility and the ability to be recognise when to be silent. Without those you are no better than a walking encyclopedia…facts and no substance.

26. @GP

Could it be you have muddied the waters here? How could you say that the older schools are only equipped to teach boys!?!

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Said no such thing Mr David Sir! Neither explicitly nor implicitly. Neither overtly or covertly.

Seems you need to check your Concordans and rightly divide the words.. LOL Be good friend!

28. @Anonymous

No offence meant my friend. What I should have said was that the teachers be qualified in the subjects they teach. It still does not happen in all schools. I know personally of teachers in the newer secondary schools teaching CXC’s with high school and Erdiston, while in the older schools they require university graduates. Why should QC or HC have a graduate to teach English while The Garrison has to make do with some one from Princess Margarets or St. George Secondary who has a few CXCs and Erdiston?

29. Pat

try again. The regulations for appointment require that the teacher have a degree in the subject or a related degree e.g. someone with a degree in geology or environmental science may teach geography. The regulations apply to ALL schools. There may be a few teachers of many years service or a temporary teacher for which this may not apply but by and large MOST teachers in ALL schools have the same basic qualifications i.e a first degree in the subject or a related subject. The only groups of teachers as a rule who may not have a degree are the teachers of industrial arts and other vocational subjects as degrees in these fields were not previously available locally. This situation would obtain in ALL schools.

It is important to note that ALL schools are similar in terms of infrastructure, teachers, and curriculum and associated resources (labs, workshops, computers etc ). The difference in educational outcomes is related to the student intake but that is a story for another day.

30. irene sandiford-garner Avatar
    irene sandiford-garner

QC person please stop. Now. You are an embarassment to the school. The QC I went to did not teach pupils to be arrogant and insufferable. I also am beginning to think you are attempting to be provocative. Attempting. Your articles are offensive and insensitive. Stop. Or probably change your name by dropping the QC.

31. @ Anonymous

Come again Anonymous. Check with Gloria Green who teaches at St. Leonards. Ask her when she got her university degree. For your information, she got one in 2005 with with son. She is not yet 50.

I, personally, went to the library here last winter and borrowed tapes of a Shakespeare play and copied it to send to another of those partly qualified teachers who was teaching English Lit. at CXC. She wanted her students to hear the actual play. She either could not get a copy from the Ministry or the sound was bad. Dont know which. No degree. Richmonds Girl and then Erdiston.

The High Commission always send out news letters with the vacancies listed. Invariably the qualifications are lesser for the newer secondary schools.

32. Pat

One person or one school does not characterise a whole system. I challenge you to produce a notice of a vacancy in a “newer” secondary in the last ten years that was in any respect different than that for an “older” secondary school.

Anyone interested can check any of the notices in the press inviting applications for teaching posts. In yesterday’s Nation there was one such a notice for the Deighton Griffith School. The posts advertised were for teachers of French and Spanish, Art, Metal Work and Technical Drawing, and for Fine Arts. The required qualifications as stated are “Candidates should have a degree in the relevant subject area from an approved university or suitable advanced certification. Teacher training would be an asset.”

I think it very important that these silly and erroneous notions that the teaching staff at “newer” secondary schools are somehow less qualified, or are inferior in terms of certification than those at the “older” secondary schools be dispelled. Such myths contribute to the problem of motivating students to take the opportunities afforded them and to get the support of parents for these schools.

33. Without being controversial it is known that newer secondary school recruit Erdiston trained teachers more so than the older secondary schools if at all.

Not to say that Erdiston trained teachers are inferior of course.

34. What time period are you referring to? In the last 15 years or 30 years ago? In the past when the “newer’ secondary schools were established many of the teachers came from the Primary/Comprehensive schools. Many of those teachers possess the Erdiston Certificate and then attained a Bachelor’s degree while teaching. For at least the last 15 years, newly recruited teachers in all schools would have a bachelor’s degree except those in the technical/vocational subjects.

The professional qualification for ALL teachers in ALL secondary schools is the Diploma in Education which is done at Erdiston or a similar qualification e.g PGCE (from the UK) DipEd (UWI). The other professional qualification is the Certificate in Teaching for Primary School teachers and the Certificate in Educational Management for senior teachers and administrators in all schools.

35. So as not to lose sight of the focus of the discussion at hand: Pat suggested that the “newer” secondary schools are not staffed with “properly educated and qualified teachers” TO THE SAME DEGREE as for “older” secondary schools. It is my assertion that across the system teachers are very similar in their level of certification and that further many of most experienced, effective and certified teachers can be found in the newer secondary schools.

36. Look…

Though QC Boy was rather arrogant in his summary, he does raise some valid points. I will admit that quite a few people from QC, HC, St. Michael’s , Combermere, et al. do work hard while they see other out there playing & having fun. I’ve seen it personally, because I did it (studied) as well. I’m NOT saying that that is ALWAYS the case, but more often than not, this is the situation.

It depends on what priorities you choose to look at. Everybody makes mistakes, regardless of the school one went to . There are some who do well naturally, some who work at it, and some who just can’t cope. In reality it is survival of the fittest.

I wish it wasn’t, but it is.

The resources given to people also have an impact. Maybe QC in the semis had such a creative & tasty dish that it may have beaten the other schools. In cooking competitions, it’s NOT all about getting plated first. It’s also about WHAT you plate, HOW you plate it & ultimately, HOW TASTY it is at the end of the day! A cooking contest WITHOUT taste? Hmmmm…I think THAT may be more subversive than the “School Bias” classification!

But QC Boy, realize this…there ARE exceptions to the trend, and you have to recognise this. Not everyone who comes from an “older” school will be a genius, and not everyone who comes from a “newer” school will be a delinquent. There are folks of every type in BOTH schools, it is up to the individual to decide for themselves what they will do.

Education is one thing, but what use is it if you don’t apply it in the right way?

I await the backlash…. 😀

37. @ QC Boy
    I admire you naivety. I attend the UWI and I am almost embarrass when I interact with students who have recently left an older secondary school. their writing skills are extremely infantile to say the least. they cannot express themselves with clarity on paper and most of all they love to ‘latch’ on to someone who they perceive as making their studying easier. a prof. in my physics class had to make a stern comment once on the grades of full time students in comparison with that of part time students. an english lecturer constantly comments on their written english. i could go on. of course not all are like that.

‘QC boy’ does not know any better. I hope his naivety does not turn into stupidity when he reaches the real world. Most of my family members were and some are still QC students but not one of them has that attitude. the reason is their family upbringing – what they are taught in their homes – because we all know what is implied at the school. I missed out on QC as a ‘fluke’ and ended up at a newer secondary school but i would never trade places. I sit in class with students my age and younger who attended the older secondary school who look to me for answers and explanations. I do not hesitate to help QC boy is being taught one thing, that is to get the very best grades possible. getting these grades shows how intelligent a person is. he however knows nothing about having a well-rounded education. if he did he would not lack intellectual ‘peripheral’ vision. As it is he is mature enough only to see one thing. His Principal and HC principal should explain to tell him the saying ‘there is none so blind as he who WILL not see’

it might be true that newer secondary school students make up the population of Dodds but that cannot be taken in a vacuum. look at the people’s past and one would see students who went to school hungry, students who were raised with a mother who got no help from the father; children who were molested and abused; children whose parents struggled and continued to struggled because of low paying jobs. yes when these students became adults, they should have been strong enough to withstand all the vices out there but not everyone is strong. when a child is hungry and poor, he is susceptible to drug lords and whoever because all he wants is something to eat.

‘QC boy’ may be privilege or have mature parents or his home life is such that it is conducive for good studying but he is old enough to know that not all children have it easy. if he understood that, he would NEVER make the comment about prison and newer secondary school. it’s a shame to make such statements. he is sheltered today who knows what his life will be like in the next 10/20 years when he would be on his own? heaven forbid but his very arrogance could lead him to make some really immature decisions too.

38. The name of the school is Queen’s College not Queens College or Queens College Secondary School.

The principal of Harrison College is considered an embarassment to students who go there because of his frequent use of green verbs.

If real men go to HC, Lodge etc what does that make the girls who attend those schools.

QC boy…sigh you disappoint.