Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Ouch! Don’t know about you, but the economic storm clouds are beginning to scare me. The 6:30 radio news a few mornings ago gave me an instant headache. It spoke of public servants striking in St. Lucia for higher salaries and the government making clear that more pay would trigger a cut in employment.  Then up to Jamaica the newscaster went and told us of Bruce Golding’s decision to cut MP salaries and forewarn of steep increases in taxes.

Just when I thought it couldn’t get worse, he relayed the dreaded news of 100 plus workers at the Marriott in St. Kitts being sent home and of the Central Bank Governor of Trinidad AND Tobago warning that the bubble there is about to burst and the entire population will be called into action to stave off the menacing effects of a serious downturn in revenues.

Of course it can be said that Turks and Caicos, under Michael Misick, brought its current economic troubles upon itself, but the wailing of finance officials signal to all and sundry that we have passed the stage of an economic hurricane “Watch”. We have skipped the “Warning” and are at the stage of an “Advisory”.

Strange enough, civil society and more appropriately financial communities in those territories have taken this turbulence in stride. Even Opposition politicians, whom one would have thought would have been mounting soap boxes and apportioning blame, have been relatively quiet. They appear mindful and appreciative of the need not to exacerbate an already difficult situation.

Thus, in most of the aforementioned territories, there is the absence of the partisan, political warfare that has crippled countries and economies in the past. In Great Britain, North America and parts of Asia and Eastern Europe, there is manifested this aspect and element of bi-partisanship, where politicians across the political divide are keen to combine effort and energy in the fight to strengthen and revitalize ailing economies.

There was a time in the early 1980s when the late Right Excellent Errol Barrow was mystifyingly guarded in his language, in instances when one thought he could and should have gone for the jugular of some members of the then Tom Adams government. Barrow later explained to this writer that the national good was always foremost in his consideration and short term political home runs could often begat harmful long term outcomes for the country as a whole.

The late Sir Harold St. John as well as the revered Sir Henry Forde also practiced and reflected that level of maturity and national responsibility. Some may say they were soft or too easy on their opponents, but they loved their country and even though eager to impress and fill the eyes and capture the imagination of voters, they remained focused on the need to promote and protect the national good.

It is safe to say therefore that given the harsh realities of the current global economic meltdown and the grave challenges that confront local finance and economic planners, the prognosis today for national focus and unity of purpose would have been better had the likes of Tom Adams, Errol Barrow, Henry Forde, Bernard St. John, Dr. Richard Haynes or even David Thompson been sitting in the principal opposition chair at this time.

Were any or all of them faced with the task of replying to a Budget at this time or even participating in an ensuing debate, they could each be counted upon to advance suggestions and ideas for advancing the cause of the country as oppose to tearing it down. Those illustrious sons of the soil, together with the likes of Dame Billie Miller, Sir Lloyd Sandiford, Brandford Taitt and even Sir Louis Tull and Sir Richard Cheltenham, knew how and when to throw a political punch and when to stand four square in the corner of what’s good for the country. They never allowed malice or lust for power to cloud their judgment or perspective of what’s right and what’s best for Barbados.

This is the sort of leadership that built and preserved Barbados in the 70s, 80s, 90s and early twenty first century. Unfortunately, today, there is a new breed and brand of opposition politics that says ‘to hell with country. Take out your opponent at all cost’.

They are those today who believe they were born to lead and, it would appear, that if they are not in the driver’s seat, it matters not whether the vehicle goes over the precipice.

This country has an opportunity in the next few weeks to appeal to the world for a renewal of its ‘best little island to live’ status. We can show the region and the world how to rally and bandy together in times of adversity and crisis. Positive examples are being set by those around us.

The big question is, shall we collaborate and cooperate, or shall we undermine, brawl and destroy? Your guess is as good as mine!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

1. Is this fool trying to say that in the upcoming Budget debate, that the opposition should rubber stamp what ever the Government does without objection to anything?

Is this fool trying to say that the role of the opposition is to merely collaborate?

Is this fool trying to say that failure to agree with the Government means that the opposition is undermining and destroying?

2. Hartley Said….

“but the wailing of finance officials signal to all and sundry that we have passed the stage of an economic hurricane “Watch”. We have skipped the “Warning” and are at the stage of an “Advisory”.”

Maybe I’m mis reading him but isn’t “Advisory” the first and mildest stage, followed by “Watch” which means the storm is a real possibility, which is then followed by “Warning” meaning it’s coming within 24 hours?

He should get his metaphors right…..

3. I’m surprised at the comments coming from harley henry. The DLP promised the world of fancy things during the election campaign. I have gone on record as saying the DLP overplayed their habds during the campaign. Bajans have never given any government four terms in office, plus the BLP government had gone stale, arrogant and greedy. There was economic trouble looming on the horizon, yet the DLP made promises that I knew would come back and hont them. I agree that what this country wants now is a coming together of ALL players and put their heads together and find the best solution to this crisis. This can only be done if both parties display a greater level of maturity. For one, we MUST start beating a “home drum,” people like Normon Faria and Co must be silenced and Barbados MUST belong to bajans first. Then and only then would bajans really band together to ride the rough waves of this ctisis. We can do it but not with the influx of parasites who are draining the little foreign reserves we now have by shipping thousands of dollars out of the country every week plus depriving the locals from a gainful employment. We must get back to the basics, we weathered the economic storms before and bajans can do it again but not with the baggage we are carrying around

4. Uh oh.

The good news stops here.

We were often reassured that government debt is of little concern because it is domestic.

What does that mean Jepter?

Can NIS protect the vulnerable throughout a long depression?

Would you rather have the bailout to your former employers in your coffers.
    Can we expect financials from you before the cash dries up?

We need transparency and answers if we are going to pull out of this together, fighting as one nation.

5. @The Scout // May 1, 2009 at 9:27 pm

people like Normon Faria and Co must be silenced and Barbados MUST belong to bajans first. Then and only then would bajans really band together to ride the rough waves of this ctisis.
    THERE WILL BE NO-ONE WILLING TO WORK OR SHOULD I SAY, NO EMPLOYER WILL EMPLOY BAJANS-LAZY, LAZY.LAZY!!

6. Looks like Henry has given livinginbarbados, GP and others the opportunity again to share some licks 🙂

We do agree that the unprecedented challenges of the current times begs for a bipartisan approach, Opposition Leader Mottley has said as much but we all know that our politicians are firmly on the rhetoric band wagon.

7. Anonymouys
    I don’t know how old you are but for your information, this is not the first econonmic crisis Barbados have had to survive. In the 70’s we had a serious oil crisis and tiny Barbados, with the help of bajans banded together and not only survived but came out of it earlier than any other caribbean country. We were able to assist other caribbean countries to get out of their crisis. All this was done without the smelly guyanese but by the same LAZY bajans. My suggestion to you and Co; go home and assist your country to weather their storm, to remain in Barbados will only create a bigger and different storm (no hurricane) or you. As the crisis worsens, your visit to our shores would be more problematic and can result in serious unrest. It is not that all of us dislike non-nationals but when it comes down to “survival of the fittest”, bajans reaction can be harsh. Just a warning, after all “home drum beats first.”

8. @ The Scout // May 2, 2009 at 6:57 am

Noted! But you wait and see.
    All in time.

9. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

I believe opporutnity must be afforded to all people to seek greener pastures to improve their lives and that of their families. But I am sorry to say that I do not believe that allowing large influxes of Indo Guyanese to come into Barbados at the expense of a very fragile economy was a good idea. This is one of those decisions made by the last administration that I am afraid will hurt many poor bajans. Because those who made the decisions have accumulated the wealth to afford and maintain lifestyles in or out of Barbados. They, thus, do not have to care about the needs of the suffering and average bajan. i hope bajans would wake up and stop there meddling and start a tenacious attempt to be productive.

10. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

I believe opporutnity must be afforded to all people to seek greener pastures to improve their lives and that of their families. But I am sorry to say that I do not believe that allowing large influxes of Indo Guyanese to come into Barbados at the expense of a very fragile economy was a good idea. This is one of those decisions made by the last administration that I am afraid will hurt many poor bajans. Because those who made the decisions have accumulated the wealth to afford and maintain lifestyles in or out of Barbados. They do not have to care about the needs of the suffering and average bajan. I hope bajans would wake up and stop their meddling and start a tenacious attempt to be more productive than the lazy stigma now being conferred upon them.

11. Jukecheckedyshirt
    These guyanese come here and started this logan and it has caught on. If something negative is said about some-one often enough, people begin to believe it. Are these not the same LAZY bajans who developed a NATION that was the envy of the entire region? why are all these people trying to invade this country? the answer; these same LAZY bajans are the ones who built a NATION that was the GEM of the caribbean. Now parasites from all over, in particular indo-guyanese are converging on this country like bees to honey trying to rape and rob bajans of what they fought and worked so hard to develop. It is not coincedence then that the very reason why we are heads and shoulders above these people that they are now using our very success to spread negative remarks about us. The problem is that some stupid bajans are going along with the rumor. The facts are that many indo-guyanese who come here never worked in the jobs that they are trying to fool bajans that they did back home. Some of the worse work I’ve seen in construction, has come from guyanese workmen. Also, most of those in agriculture, are distroying our water system by over spraying and now even using the chemicals as prescribed. What they are doing is reverse psychology. If you look carefully, it is the indo-guyanese who are the ones destroying this country but putting the blame on bajan. Barbados wake up and think for yourself, don’t allow these parasites to fool you. The indo-guyanese would smile with you while trying to undermine you. They are a dangerous lot, it is better to play with a dangerous snake than to befriend an indo-guyanese, especially as a black person. GET THEM OUT. I call on any guyanese to refute my statement.

12. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

The Scout

I cannot say for certain if the Guyanese are responsible for this notion of bajan laziness. Or if they (the Guyanese) are the ones spreading gossip that bajans are lazy. I know before the Guyanese invasion, the notion was held by many afro Bajans and caucasians that the locals are notorious complainers and shirkers who charged exorbitant sums for work that cost a fraction of the costs they purport.

There are many stories from sons and daughters of the soil that Bajan workers’ work ethic have changed from productive to non productive to even greedy. However I believe there are reasons for this and it lies in a lot of unfairness and job segregation meted at black bajans. I know personally of one aspiring construction company, ran by a pastor, who opted to marginilized some of the very people who helped made a name for his company (in spite of the fact that some of those workers were members of his flock) for people of his own skin colour and cheap Guyanese. There was no indication that the bajan labour force was lazy or indifferent. Just that this pastor opted not to pay them for what they were worth but sought to put his own kind in high paying positions over those who had the qualifications and skills.

I also know that tensions are high amongst whites and bajans in construction because whites are very guilty of fueling and atmosphere of tension, segregation and racial divide, which black bajans respond towards with a high degree of indifference and pilferings. I mean we must understand that if a person is mistreated or unfaired on the job (failing not to mentioned overlooked) in any work environment that they ability to produce becomes quite affected. They will do that much and no more. Maybe this is why bajans are high criticised because they are standing up for their rights and as such are branded in many instances unfairly.

Indo Guyanese, on the other hand, came here with veyr little or nothing and found something to be had. As a result, they accepted the ills and isms because the money they made here is more than what they would make back in their native country.

Be that as it may, it would not be a surprise (but proof would be good) if the Guyanese are seeking to undermine bajan artisans and labourers in order to get the edge. After all, many Guyanese will lie, cheat and steal to gain the advantage as it is their custom to over exaggerate their cirumstances, rather negative for belittling, or positive to gain favour and respect with kin back home, ‘theres’ are to give the impression that they are successfully negotiating their opportunities.

What bajan artisans need to do, is to show them up for what they really are. But would we do this? Unfortunately, we bajans of recent just talk and complain whilst all else continues in the same vain.

13. you can’t bIame Bajans for being Iazy when they see aII around them the weaIthy, Iiving the high Iife. AII over the isIand peopIe are seIIing off their Iand. That’s unIess the Government is just not snatching it off them to seII on. The immigrants couId be stopped in an instant but who wiII stop Bajans seIIing off their Iands? By the way, try to get a cIeaning Iady who is bajan.

14. I know of a large foreign white construction that tendered for a job that a local bajan also tendered for, unknown to the large company. That company got the contract and sub-contracted the local guy to build the house. The local built the house through the large contractor for more than he had tendered for in the first case but that price was 50% of what the large foreign contractor charged the client. Who ripped off who?

15. Victor

Are you referring to Pastor Andrew Shepherd a white bajan pastor?

If so I am not surprise somehow,although disappointed.

16. Scout:

Who cares?

The man got his price, if he wanted more he should really study marketing, cause he ain’t got NISE yet.

Why else would the customer pay over his odds?

17. The more and more Barbadians and non-nationals who we in the People’s Democratic Congress talk with on a daily basis about the political direction of this country, the more and more of them are becoming greatly more fed up, sick, tired and frustrated with the DLP and the BLP – two increasingly senseless idiotic factions that are doing this country far more harm than ever before.

Only a writer as mulish as that one above that heads off this thread would want the broad masses and middle classes to believe that Barbados has long had united, purposeful, bi-partisan national political leadership in times of national crises, esp. in those of so-economic crises.

Nothing could be further from the truth!!! For, a serious historical analysis of the post-colonial development of Barbados would properly indicate otherwise. For instance, we remember reading about the issue of the sales tax in the 70s that had created hell for the political leadership of the late Right Excellent Errol Barrow, and that had helped to give the then Opposition Leader Tom Adams greater political impetus. We remember reading, studying and listening to political stories from some older, more experienced members of the Barbadian masses and middle classes about the 1974 Constitutional Amendments, and the great opposition that the Dipper and the DLP had faced from many angles concerning them. And we remember also the Emergency Powers Bill that the late Tom Adams wanted to introduce in the 1980s that helped to bring about serious political divisions in the country.

And what about the period when the country was embroiled in serious political controversy over the fact that Tom Adams had taken the country to the IMF in 1981? And what about the greatest crisis the country has so far faced since independence – the 1991 political economic crisis – which had caused massive political, social and material and financial instability and suffering in the country, and which had helped to eventually bring about the downfall of the then Prime Minister Erskine Sandiford, but which had assisted in galvanizing political support for the BLP and the NDP (now defunct) in the early 1990s?

As a matter of fact, what can also be seriously argued is that national partisan leadership crises can point towards the need for the ushering in of a new and distinct political era at different times in Barbados. Hence, the formation of the DLP and the NDP primarily NOT ONLY came about through tremendous discord and rancor existing at the party political leadership level – before they were formed – BUT ALSO because the leaders of these parties wanted to see a different Barbados emerge out of utter political stagnation and decadence that has existed prior to. So much for the NDP’s former leader, Dr. Richie Haynes, later totally misunderstanding the role of the NDP in the national politics of the country just around the time the party came to an end.

And what about the fact that at national political level personal differences between leaders could also be played out and reinforced and can therefore lead to disruptions in the body politic? Hence, the great falling out between the late Tom Adams and Dr. Don Blackman – which was also evidence of the inherent tendency of national partisan political leadership to involve varying degrees of competition, conflict and disharmony among leaders.

Moreover, what we in PDC know is that this national dialectics is omni- present in the national politics of a country like Barbados, and as such is the essence of social life that is direly needed to help bring tremendous change, and for the better, to a country. But, while we acknowledge that agreement, consensus and harmony are also involved in national politics, we must state that any unscientific, naif narrative like the substantial folly of the person writing the lead article above that seeks to present a totally opposite picture of the true historical relationships between forces contending for national political power, control, status and aggrandizement in a country, must really and truly be totally seen as utter trash and must truly be rejected as such. One wonders how the Advocate fancies his column and writings!!

In conclusion, certainly this bid by this apparently dotish writer whose writings seem to be fast declining in quality ever since his party came to office, to help cover for two of the worst most decadent parties that exist now in Barbados, must also be seen for what it is – A NONSENSICAL BUT FEEBLE BID BY A FORMER MEDIOCRE JOURNALIST WHO SAYS HE IS NOW A REGIONAL POLITICAL STRATEGIST.Well, it is clear too that no amount of cheap, wishy washy writings by that writer will prevent those many thousands of persons that we talk with over time from recognizing that the days of the DLP and BLP being unrivaled contenders for general state power are over and that a new era in politics in Barbados has started. Down with the DAMNED DLP and BLP!!!

18. 1. “In the national interest and as a patriotic Barbadian – I have come to raise the standard of this debate.

This wishy-washy trash, even though consistent with the way the DLP and it highly paid Political Advisor ($155,000) hartly “the Klown” henry, a.k.a, Wishing In Vain, function – is way too substandard for Errol Barrow’s Barbados and is – in my judgment – an insult to the legacy of The Rt. Excellent E.W Barrow, on Education.”

In order to be relevant, hartley “the Klown” henry, has to bring everything done to his primitive, “uncultured” level.

It therefore has to be a “national disgrace” that a person who admits that he does not know anything about Math, furthermore economics; macro finance and sound economic forecasting – could purport to have the capacity to lead a serious debate on Economics.

His post therefore has to do with begging for sympathy and trying even at the last minute to solicit good ideas from the public, especially since the DLP does not have a clue.

Like “klowns,” the DLP is pointing to the global financial crisis – too stupid; “intellectually weak” and “politically incompetent,” to even remotely realise, that it is the global financial crisis that has done the DLP a favour.

Recognizing that it has a carrying-capacity, Barbados has traditionally gone after the high-end visitor.

That spending and arrivals are down – has more to do with the DLP’s incompetence – than any reluctance on the part of high-end people to travel.

As an example, while Barbados records a decline, countries which Barbados bench-marks itself against – have recorded increased arrivals. Even despite their alarming crime and murder rate.

Listen, Madame henry!!!

The global financial crisis has led to reduced demand for oil and commodities; hence prices on the world market have fallen.

This has taken the pressure of the Foreign Reserves. Otherwise, compounded by Barbados’ weak Macro Economic Indicators and the poor judgment and bad decisions made by David Thompson and his “clueless brigade” – Barbadians would already be rioting.

This is just commentary by the way!

The real debate must start by going back to 2007.

To set the standard, I will refer to Mr. Arthur’s 2007 Financial Policy Statement, what was said during the General Election Campaign and what is contained in the BLP’s 2008 Manifesto, as well as in the National Strategic Plan 2006-2025.

I will show that having inherited a “perfect batting wicket” and the most developed economy among all developing countries in the world, through share incompetence – it took the DLP less than 100 days to put the Barbados economy on: “The Pathway to Poverty.”

The reason: David Thompson is so “intellectually weak” and “politically irrelevant” to Barbados; the CSME and CARICOM – that it has taken Regional Heads less than a year to also recognise that fact!

They recently unanimously passed a “motion of no-confidence” against Prime Minister David Thompson by selecting the Guyana President to be their lead spokesman when they meet the US President later this year.

Why is this an issue?

David Thompson had lead responsibility within the CSME – for all of the areas where the region will engage President Obama.

Regional Heads have agreed with distinguished, and highly respected regional academics like Professor Girvan and Dr. Joseph, that David Thompson is “embarrassingly, intellectually weak.”

Having refused to accept superior help from the competent and caring BLP Opposition and having hidden economic; cost of living and other critical information for the BLP and the public (despite promising “freedom of information;” “accountability” and “good governance”) the DLP is therefore totally and exclusively responsible for Barbados’ Economic Mess and should be in an “Economic Mismanagement Jail,” serving a life sentence and without any chance of parole.

That the DLP now seeks to incriminate the BLP Opposition for the DLP’s “intellectual weakness; ” “political incompetence and irrelevance” – highlights why a recent poll shows that the DLP is already loosing five seats it held in St. Michael and three in Christ Church.

Peter Wickham did say: “One Term Government.”

How could he have known?

19. 2. David Thompson; the DLP and its Big Business Accomplice are to blame for this Country’s Economy Mess:

Consistent with my earlier post and to demonstrate the fact that the “MESS” which the Barbados economy is now in – is precisely because the DLP has made a predictable; challenging international situation, extremely difficult – I now turn to pages 2-5 of the Barbados Labour Party 2008 General Election Manifesto:

Here is the caution given by the BLP:

“Now, as we enter the closing years of this eventful first decade of the twenty-first century, the world faces daunting challenges; with intimidating implications for nations, large and small.

We face the escalating threat of terrorism; climate change; spiralling oil prices; and increasing diversion of grain from food to fuel, with mounting demand for these commodities from the rapidly expanding economies of China and India.

These perspectives are formidable for industrialized countries, as well as for the developing world.

The challenge for Barbados is not only surviving in the impending international environment but rather for excelling, simply to sustain our present place.

The Barbados Labour Party has so managed our country’s affairs and so natured the human capital in our society, that few would challenge the assertion that it is Better Than Ever In Barbados.

We now move to the next level, Only The Best For Barbados.

This calls for visionary, trusted and proven leadership as we face a gathering storm of rising global prices, unprecedented effects of climate change and the sequential impact of terrorism.

What may now be the best of times for Barbados can well become the worst of times if we make the wrong decision when we go to the polls on January 15.

A majority of Barbadians have expressed the view that Leadership will be the key determinant to their voting decisions when they go to the polls.

The choice and character of this country’s government should not be a matter of chance, charity, or change for change sake.

I ask you to make sure than your vote will ensure only the best for Barbados.”

It is obvious that Barbadians were “enticed” not to listen, hence the Economic Mess the DLP was allowed to create and the suffering Barbadians are again enduring.

But while the DLP blames the global financial crisis for it incompetence, it is too silly to recognise that the global financial crisis is really serving as a temporary salvage bay for Barbados.

What has happened in Barbados is that with the assistance of Clico, COW, Simpson, David Seale, Jada; Rotherley, Mapou and others – the DLP was able to “buy the government” but now lacks the intellectual capacity to manage the economy.

Therefore, those companies mentioned are as guilty for the Economic Mess Barbados is now in – as David Thompson and the DLP.

Barbados’ Macro Economic Indicators is the proof.

20. 3. As promised, I now turn to the National Strategic Plan 2006-2025:

The most intelligent people in this country agree that David Thompson’s 2007 Budget Reply contained a set of loose, reckless proposals – aimed at back-raising and therefore bore no relevance to Barbados’ development needs, neither were they clearly though out.

It is widely accepted that were they implemented they would have broken the Treasury.

As regards the BLP’s unmatched economic planning, budgeting and forecasting, Item 1.11 of Page 167 of the National Strategic Plan 2006-2025 confirms that the BLP had already:

“moved from a single year approach to a multi-year approach to allow for more effective planning and budget programme implementation.”

Unfortunately, as evidence of his “share intellectual inability” and “political incompetence” and as if – to be even more outrageous than he was in 2007 – despite promising to reduce the cost of living – David Thompson presented an inflationary Budget in 2008 and Estimates in 2009 that are “un-implementable,” because they cannot be finance.

To implement those Estimates would immediately put Barbados in the hip-pocket of the IMF.

The simple point I am trying to make is that, if the DLP cannot even plan Estimates or a Budget – how then can they do it for one year furthermore, implement a multi-year approach or fit the Barbados economy with a regional economy, hence the DLP share ignorance, as regards the importance of the CSME to Barbados, as highlighted by recent comments from respected regional academics such as Professor Girvan and Dr, Joseph..

There is an abundance of evidence to prove that under “DLP rule,” Barbados has again been D’valued.

The DLP has triggered a meltdown of the Barbados economy.

It has created such a mess that this country is again in peril.

Instead of accepting its limitations, the DLP is in denial.

It blames the global financial crisis, the BLP, the Private Sector, Barbadians and the Media for not criticizing the BLP.

Thompson even went as far as saying that Arthur did not tell him what he was working on.

Meanwhile, thousands continue to go home, the cost of living keeps rising, so too crime.

21. President Obama has recently announced that the US will coming down hard on US companies who do not pay taxes whom have their money hidden in “tax havens”.

Potentially,this is a huge problem for Barbados economically since the US government is using the following report & Barbados is listed.

http://www.gao.gov/new.items/d09157.pdf

22. 4. Attempt by the DLP to Bribe Barbadians with their own Money:

It is clear than in the up coming Budget – David Thompson will do exactly what the Rt. Excellent Errol Barrow warned about: he will try to bribe Barbadians with their own money.

How?

He will seek to downplay his “intellectual weakness” and “political incompetence” by offering “political hush money” to those whom he caused to loose their jobs and to those on whom he continues to inflict severe economic pain, having started last year.

As a political ploy, he will extend the amount of time persons who lost their jobs can claim unemployment benefit, and also – purport to be offering them payment for training for jobs that do not exists and which he cannot guarantee – are likely to evolve.

He may even – by stealth – attempt to undo the damaged he has already done by reviewing his harsh taxes or make cosmetic adjustments to the Reverse Tax Credit.

But while he does “trifling things” with the NIS Fund and without an Actuary Review, thereby undoing all of the work done by the BLP to put the fund in good health, the most intelligent in our society are of the view that the DLP should instead – return “severance payments” to their pre-1991-1994 level.

The question which each working person must seriously ask him/herself is: given all of the tinkering with the NIS Fund, compounded by the alarming rate at which people are loosing their jobs – will there be money to pay your pensions by the time the DLP is finished.

Let me put that another way: left to the DLP, will you be able to get a pension when you retire?

Already we are hearing that at a time when old ladies cannot get their pension cheques, the DLP is taking up $400 million of their money to pass to people who put campaign funds in the DLP pot. A

nd while this is happening, Pastor Durant; Pastor Lucille Baird; Pastor Holford and the Reverend at the Christ Church Parish Church, are silent.

Ignoring the issue of conflict of interest – is also remains a mystery and a closely guarded secret – exactly how much money the new NIS Chairman Jepter Ince (the man who worked for Clico as the Manager of it Fund) has invested in Clico.

We are talking about NIS Funds.

So much for integrity, freedom of information, good governance and the promised that the DLP will not keep any secrets from the people!

Oh what an incompetent bunch!

23. Dark Knight, you are doing the Barbados Labour Party a great disservice with your inept, long-winded diatribes.

Don’t you realise that elections are four years away and we are not interested in your political claptrap (with apologies to Gabby).

The people of Barbados overwhelmingly elected David Thompson and the Dems – not Owen Arthur who you are consumed with – to be the leaders of this nation.

What I am interested in is the stability of our country and David Thompson has created that element of stability in a climate of great economic upheaval.

I pray for him every day and, if he were to come to my door tomorrow, he has my full support.

He has been open, compassionate and accessible.

24. Barbados is not and has not functioned as a Tax Haven for the past 14 years. Low tax yes but certainly not tax haven

I therefore think you got it wrong.

Here is why:

WASHINGTON — President Obama presented a far-reaching set of proposals on Monday that are aimed at the tax benefits enjoyed by companies and wealthy individuals harboring cash in offshore accounts.

While most Americans paid their fair share of taxes, President Obama said, “there are others who are shirking theirs, and many are aided and abetted by a broken tax system.”

These steps, he said, would be the first in a much broader effort to fix a “broken tax system.”

His remarks echoed the sentiment he voiced again and again during the presidential campaign when he pledged to crack down on overseas tax evaders.

The proposed tax overhaul, which will be detailed later this week when the White House presents its formal budget, could help raise $210 billion in revenue over 10 years, the administration estimates.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/05/05/business/05tax.html?_r=1&hp

Source: Today’s New York Times.

25. There is none so blind as those who would not see. You see what want and let others see for themselves.

Over the last few years Owen Arthur and his cabinet was cuo-cou and flying fish for many. Now the foot is on the other shoe wunnah can’t bear to hear another opinion. You can’t tek the truth. Let others determine for themselves. Whats wrong with putting your views? Free speech nuh!!!!!! Fit on your cap and wear your shoes.

Truth is intolerable.

26. Let’s face facts.

International companies register here to avoid domestic tax.

We offer them rates ( max2%, usually 1%)
    that are very attractive.

We get money for nothing and the companies get their tax for free ( or as near as damn it).

This worked fine until the need for increased tax revenues by their near bankrupt domestic governments exceeded the need for political donations to maintain the “blind eye” status quo.

Let’s get real, we benefitted from a legalised scam and, now things are getting desperate, the party’s over.

27. Straight Talk
    That’s right. Straight talk. Home drum must beat first. i hope the BWU understand that. Every turkey felling for he own crop and bajan leaders seeiung we should share. MADNESS.

28. Jackie // May 4, 2009 at 5:37 pm

“Dark Knight, you are doing the Barbados Labour Party a great disservice with your inept, long-winded diatribes.

Don’t you realise that elections are four years away and we are not interested in your political claptrap (with apologies to Gabby).”
    ……………………………………….
    What does the Barbados Labour Party have to do with Dark Knight?

There is – and has never been any connection between Dark Knight and the BLP.

Dark Knight is neither a Member; a blogger for or the PRO for the BLP.

What “Disservice?”

Do I bring drugs into Barbados? Do I ran with a gang? Am I responsible for money laundering?

For your information, I do not post on this blog to save the world or anyone but merely to point-out the DLP ignorance and why it is imcapable of bringing the change it promised.

For years the Ministry of Health has been warning about the dangers of HIV/AIDS – yet people are reckless.

People drive their cars at 120 m/ph and then blame the QEH for not having an ambulance on standy.

Look Sir, I could care less if Thompson is Prime Minister.

He being Prime Minister makes absolutely no difference to the people of St. John – as it does not to the rest of Barbados or the CSME.

Ask Professor Girvan or Dr. Joseph.

If Thompson were to go to the moon now for the next million years – his contribution to Barbados after will be the same as it is now.

The issuse is not Dark Knight but the economy, cost of living, jobs, the reserves, $128m and no flyovers; escalating crime, price gouging on land tax and petroleum prices and increase poverty.

Is Dark knight responsible for the thousands who have lost their jobs and will go home between now and October this year?

Jackie! Look for another scapegoat and distraction tactic.

Let the DLP accept responsibility for its mess and stop blaming others.

In my next post I will address the DLP’s “gimmick” of reaching out.

Talk about cultural penetration!

That the US is having so much influence on Barbados – a sovereign state – is alarming, but shows the distance the party has moved away from Mr. Barrow’s vision.

By the way Jackie – where is the evidence to support your allegation that the DLP was elected “overwhelmingly?”

You must have access to a source other than the credible stats. from the EBC.

Then, share it!!!!