Submitted as a comment by BU family member Inkwell in response to BU Blog It Is Business As Usual In The PSV Sector Prime Minister

Hon John Boyce, Minister of Public Works

The Public Service Vehicle sector has for some time been the source of much concern to Government and the society in general. It has been accused with justification of uncivil, illegal and offensive behaviour and the โ€œminibus cultureโ€ has been deemed to have a corrupting and disruptive effect on the nationโ€™s youth. Many have called on the operators to correct this behaviour and all right thinking citizens agree that change in the sector is required. This article looks at the background to the issue and puts forward some of what I think, from many conversations with owners and operators of these vehicles, are the underlying reasons for the present situation and proposes some solutions.

Public transportation in Barbados is provided by the Government owned Barbados Transport Board and privately owned Public Service Vehicles (PSVโ€™s). The Route Taxi (ZR) pays road taxes of $4,500 annually for vehicles licensed to carry 14 passengers. The Minibus (B) pays $7,200 annually for vehicles licensed to carry 34 passengers. The Transport Board bus (BM) pays $800 for vehicles licensed to carry 34 passengers and $2,500 for buses licensed to carry 65 passengers.

Hino Rainbow coaches operated by some private owners, have a seating capacity of 31 and standing capacity of about 20, for a total of 51. Under the existing permit structure, the number of passengers allowed on these vehicles is 34 and the Police routinely report the operators for โ€œoverloadingโ€ if more are on board and remove the excess. The Ministry of Transport has been requested to amend the permits of owners of these vehicles to recognize the larger capacity, but has not seen fit to do so, much to the frustration of these owners.

Transport Board buses carry more passengers than permitted on a daily basis and the Police routinely turn a blind eye, while persistently reporting PSV personnel and ordering as few as one (1) excess passenger off the vehicle. Drivers and conductors feel that they are being unfairly targeted, while Transport Board drivers are allowed to break the same law with impunity. There is no transport system in the world that can accommodate peak period demand without some crowding and PSVโ€™s ought to be given the same leeway as that extended to the Transport Board, in the interest of efficiency in transporting the commuting public.

PSVโ€™s are refused access to the facilities of the countryโ€™s three major bus terminals, Fairchild St, the Lower Green and Speightstown, much to the inconvenience of the operators and traveling public, who have no shelter from sun or rain at these locations. The conditions which PSV crews and commuters have to endure, particularly at the River stand, are deplorable and unacceptable in any society aspiring to developed status. The two areas formerly used by the PSVโ€™s at Probyn St and Speightstown are now prohibited and PSVโ€™s are forced to park along the road, an action which many operators feel was taken deliberately to discommode them. In addition, PSV crews and passengers at these locations have no toilet facilities, the lack of which promotes unsanitary conditions.

Bus fares have been fixed by Government at $1.50 since 1991. The cost of vehicles, replacement parts, servicing, mechanical repairs, bodywork, diesel fuel, oil and lubricants has increased out of all recognition in the seventeen intervening years, but Government has consistently refused consideration of a fare increase or a reduction of other imposts and as a result, the profitability of the sector has been steadily eroded over the years almost to the point of non-viability.

The Transport Board has operated at substantial losses over the past forty years and Government has continued to subsidize it at considerable cost to the tax payer rather than increase bus fares. The corollary to this is that Government is forcing private transport providers to operate their businesses at an income level which it knows to be below the economic cost of providing the service and making it extremely difficult for them to survive. The Public Service Vehicle operator is very likely the only entrepreneur in any free enterprise economic system who has had his income base legally restricted, while his operating expenses have been subject to everyday inflationary pressures over a seventeen year period, in addition to the imposition of punitive taxes by government.

For many years up until the beginning of the new school year in September last, Government mandated that students in uniform or students of other educational institutions with identification pay $1 on private or public transport. The Ministry of Education paid the Transport Board a subsidy of .50c for each student carried. The PSV operator could not legally refuse to carry students, but was denied any reimbursement from Government and was in effect being forced to subsidize student travel out of his own pocket.

It is accepted that maintaining low bus fares is a part of Governmentโ€™s social policy as a way of easing the economic burden on that part of the population with the lowest income levels. While this policy is laudable, it does not take into consideration that private owners constitute a substantial part of the islandโ€™s public transportation infrastructure and that their operations are as a result negatively affected, in view of the fact that they receive no subsidy from government.

While The Transport Board imports its buses duty free and other operators in the transportation industry, tour coaches and taxis receive duty free concessions from Government, PSVโ€™s are subject to normal import duties on vehicles and parts.

In circumstances where they can get no increase in income or relief from other taxes and duties and in the face of ever increasing operating costs, the only means of survival for the PSV operators is in maximizing the numbers of fares collected, hence the constant competition among themselves for passengers, resulting in complaints of overloading, the breaking of traffic laws and general lack of consideration for other road users.

The official setting of an artificially low bus fare has other unrecognized or unacknowledged negative implications. The first of these is that the earning capacity of workers in this sector has been similarly limited for the past seventeen years. Their wages have been limited by the fact that their employersโ€™ income base has been set by Government mandate, whereas workers in the competing Transport Board have had increases in wages over the same period, increases which have been funded from the public purse and not solely from income generation.

A worker who has not had a wage increase in seventeen years and who has to work a fifteen hour day on average to maintain a basic level of income is a disgruntled worker.

This situation has led to an extremely high turnover rate in employees in the sector and indeed some of these employees make their way into the Barbados Transport Board, where they find better wages and relief from what they perceive to be unfair police treatment, but carrying with them some of their bad โ€œPSVโ€ habits.

The second implication of the seventeen year old $1.50 fare is that the low wages available in the PSV sector attract only a certain level of employee. The inability of owners to offer a decent wage affects their ability to attract a higher level worker and as a result, we are seeing the type of indiscipline and indeed hostility being exhibited.

None of the above is intended to defend or excuse loutish behaviour or condone the breaking of traffic laws, but to offer an explanation of some of the reasons why they occur. It needs to be recognized that the PSV sector provides an indispensable service to local commuters and is a critical component of the productive sectors of the economy of Barbados, transporting, as the records will show, a larger section of the work force daily than the Transport Board. They, however, perceive that they are being discriminated against, subjected to unfair competition and marginalized by the Government.

The playing field needs to be levelled and a more realistic approach to the pricing of transportation needs to be taken or conversely, the private owner should be subsidized at some level from the Government purse, if low cost public transportation is deemed to be an essential component of its social policy.

When the PSV operator does not have to fight tooth and nail and compete under adverse conditions for each passenger just to survive, is not subjected to blatant official discrimination and can earn a decent wage while working reasonable hours, then we can expect him to feel more a part of society and conform to its rules, rather than a pariah and behave as such.

The onus has been placed on the sector to be self regulating. This is extremely difficult, if not impossible, given current circumstances. The Association of Public Transport Operators, (APTO), the โ€œregulatingโ€ body, is technically non functional and will continue to be non functional as long as it has no authority over those it is supposed to regulate. The Association at present has no capability to organize, regulate or discipline PSV owners or operators. It has no authority and no teeth. There are over four hundred PSV owners on record, but fewer than one hundred are members of APTO. If the goal of regulation of PSVโ€™s is to be achieved, Government must give the Association the tools it needs to do the job. I suggest that this be accomplished by the following:

1) All owners, drivers and conductors must become members of the Association and carry valid accreditation.
2) The annual renewal of permits of owners should be made conditional on paid up membership of APTO.
3) Only members of the Association should qualify for the reduced diesel price being offered by Government at Transport Board depots.
4) Only members of the Association should qualify for any other concessions granted by Government.

In this way the Association will have the means whereby it could exert control over the sector and

1) Set and enforce a dress code for operators,
2) Establish standards of behaviour,
3) Establish a disciplinary committee to handle complaints,
4) Institute a program of training for operators and
5) Eliminate the loud playing of music.

The Association of Public Transport Operators can and should become a body working in co-operation with the new Transport Authority to regulate the operation of PSVโ€™s. The Association needs to be in a financial position to establish a permanent office to enable it to carry out its administrative function in an organized manner and in particular to respond to concerns or complaints from the public. A subvention from Government for this purpose might be considered appropriate to supplement proposed membership fees.

Another circumstance which severely compromises the ability of the sector to control its employees is as follows. Insurance companies in Barbados insist that drivers of vehicles covered by their policies be interviewed and approved by them. They insist however, that to qualify, the applicant must have been the holder of a driverโ€™s license for a minimum of five years and the holder of a hackney license for a minimum of three years. The effect of this stipulation is that no new drivers can enter the system. Owners therefore have no choice but to recycle drivers who have bad records or suspend the operation of their business if they can find no approved driver, an extremely unattractive option. The issuance of a hackney license to a driver by the Ministry of Transport and Works is meaningless if the insurance companies refuse to accept it and some accommodation needs to be arrived at with the insurance providers to change this no-win situation. I suggest that MTW conduct a meaningful course in the driving of PSVโ€™s prior to issuing the license, thus assuring the insurance companies that the driver is qualified to drive a PSV.

There are some bad apples among the drivers and conductors and there are some owners who tolerate their irresponsible behaviour, mainly because they have little choice. The industry must be able to rely on the Police and the judicial system to control or remove these individuals. Owners cannot reasonably be blamed if the system allows drivers with large numbers of convictions for traffic offenses to continue to hold hackney licenses and operate PSVโ€™s, and they need to be assured that the Court system will do its part in cleaning up this aspect of the industry. In the great majority of cases, fines imposed on offending operators by the Courts come indirectly out of the pockets of the owners, exacerbating their financial position.

The months since April this year have been particularly distressing for PSV owners. Before the removal of the Government subsidy, diesel cost $1.46 per litre, having arrived at this level by a series of increments over the years. Owners at that point had been unsuccessfully lobbying Government for an increase in fares or a reduction in other costs for several years. Then came the increase in the cost of diesel by 77% to $2.57, impacting even more disastrously on the bottom line of the sector. The recent reductions, while welcome, have gone little towards improving the finances of the sector. Since April several owners have been forced out of business because of an unsustainable level of losses.

The provision of free travel for school children in uniform by the Transport Board
from September this year is accepted as a positive development for which the
Government should be lauded. However, even at the fare of $1.00, revenue
formerly generated by the PSV sector from this source was important and its loss
has had an additional negative impact on profitability.

It is unreasonable to expect the privately owned PSV sector to absorb seventeen years of increases in operational costs without an increase in revenue. It is unfair not only to the owners, who for the most part are locked into the industry financially, but also to the workers, of which there are approximately one thousand, who have been unable over the years to earn an income with any reasonable relationship to the increasing cost of living. In my view, these circumstances are in large part responsible for the illegal and anti social behaviour that is the cause of current complaint against PSV operators.

It is also impractical to expect self regulation among such a disparate group of individuals who comprise the owners in the sector (over four hundred), in the absence of some formal organization with the power to regulate.

The sector, in view of all the circumstances outlined above, is appealing for a change in Governmentโ€™s approach to its problems, relief from state imposed financial hardship and for empowerment with the tools to self regulate.

1. @Inkwell

A very vivid account of the challenges which the sector face from someone who is obviously close to the action. The only point you did not cover is the belief that the sector is populated by people of influence in the society and this maybe causing some confusion. We have to admit that you account causes a few members of the BU household to take pause. The fact is the sector has been allowed to deteriorate to such a low point the social implications on society added that that the solution may be now out of reach.

2. David,

That belief is a mis-conception. There are few PSV’s owned as you put it “by people of influence in the society”. The great majority are owned by ordinary middle and lower class Barbadians who are struggling to make ends meet and have found themselves caught between a rock and a hard place, the authorities, who generally think that black people ought not to be making any money and the employees, who, because the system restricts their earnings, steal from their employers, because there is no way of veryifying daily income unless the owner sits on the vehicle all day.

In the present circumstances, the owner who decides to remove amplification from the vehicle, in the interest of those who object to loud and bawdy music, finds that he cannot get a driver or conductor and therefore has to “park” his vehicle…. not a viable option, given the need to make a living and pay the bank.

3. @Inkwell: “…the owner who decides to remove amplification from the vehicle, in the interest of those who object to loud and bawdy music, finds that he cannot get a driver or conductor and therefore has to โ€œparkโ€ his vehicle

So Inkwell, you’re actually claiming that the loud music is needed in order to keep employees?

What a load of crap!

4. No Chris,

I am saying that the mentality of the level of worker in the sector, given the wages that are available, is such that if you do not give them what they want, you will not be able to get anyone to drive or conduct your vehicle and you will be out of business.

They tell you straight : If it ain’t got no “set” I ain’t working it”.

5. I’m disappointed, Chris,

Why don’t you address some of the more fundamental points in the article. Your response is typical of those who resort to the ploy of using a minor point in an attempt to discredit an entire argument.

6. Kenny Best got nuff gear boxes

AAAAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhhhh

7. @Inkwell: “They tell you straight : If it ainโ€™t got no ‘set’ I ainโ€™t working it.

Is it not reasonable to conclude that this kind of attitude is *exactly* what a society concerned about the “greater good” *doesn’t* want on the roads?

@Inkwell: “Why donโ€™t you address some of the more fundamental points in the article.

I’m sorry to disappoint. But, on the other hand, perhaps this is actually the fundamental point…

If the ZRs refuse to follow the laws, then perhaps the ZRs shouldn’t be….

8. Th epublic deserves better.. ZR, Mini buses and Taxi stands should have public rest rooms available.

However I find the connection between bad driving, general bad behaviour and public restrooms.

Fact the operators and their employees break the law. If there is a set it should be removed. If you claim that you need a set to work then work else where.
    Routes are congested in some cases and in others the workers are foolish, how many times I’ve stood a abus stop having just missed two vans which can be seen racing each other to town fighting for passengers.

9. David,

Just as I thought. No one, including the Government, wants to engage in a serious discussion on the PSV problem with a view to improving the situation. Government goes through the motions of bashing the sector because that is what the people want to hear, playing to the gallery, but does nothing to implement solutions, when it has in its hands the ability to be a catalyst for effective change.

The only thing I can recommend to the sector to demand a hearing is to pull their vehicles off the road en mass. See what would happen if 60% of those civil servants, industrial estate workers, hotel staff, agricultural and construction workers using public transportation cannot get to work or about their business generally for three days.

10. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar
    Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-‘why should I wear a jacket and tie’

I find that the music is enjoyed more by the workers than it is enjoyed by the passengers.

I find that music and driving go well together.

I remember when I was a ‘likkle’ boy (jamaican dialect) people i.e-church people beat cymbals and sang lustily during trips on the buses to ‘outings’ to River Bay and Archers Bay. It still happens !

I went to school at a time when the music first came onto the minibuses and I would not catch any minibus that did not have music and if the music was not contemporary, I would frown on it and call for something contemporary (dub) now called old dub; soca, hip hop and R+B.

So music on the buses /ZRs/minibuses is important to some passengers. The type of music that is presented might be a problem because some people will go to extremes: playing the music loudly; playing offensive lyrics and playing noise (not music) .

I want to suggest that passengers bring their own earphones and that he PSVs provide the means where they can plug in and listen.

But this will not satisfy the conductors and drivers who need the drum beat of the jamaican dub music to keep the adrenalin levels up to provide that energy that allows them to hustle from 5 am until 8 pm

did someone say —ban the music ?
    you just cant !—-

11. @Inkwell

Another thing you didn’t mention is the inspection policy. Minibuses pass inspection one week, and then are pulled off the road for an unscheduled inspection which they fail, even though they had just passed IN THE SAME STATE. There seems to be no accountablity on the MTW to classify what is against the law and what is not. If you passed inspection with your windows tinted, and then fail shortly after for that very reason, it would mean that the law changed in that short period of time.

I further want to ask the question, who does an airbrush design on your mudguards make your vehicle un-road worthy? It makes no sense. Some of the things people fail inspection for should be challenged in court. I see Transport Board buses driving around with advertisements covering the ENTIRE back of the bus, including the back glass, and that is legal, but it is illegal for a PSV to have 1/3 of the windows tinted to keep out the sun.

12. I’m not a regular traveller on a PSV but the few that I have travelled on had some very lewd music and also very loud. Personally, I would mind if they were playing easy listening music but this loud lewd amplified music gives most people a headache. Plus the way they drive on the road is very dangerous. I feel if the PSV’s clean up their act the administration would favorably consider reducing their taxes

13. […] Barbados Underground has published an article, contributed by member “Inkwell”, which seeks to give an explaination for some of the behaviour exhibited by Barbados minibus and route taxi operators. You can read that article here. […]

14. This sector is yet another area where the DLP has failed to bring about “change” and therefore yet another in a never-ending-series of DLP failures and broken promises.

There was no certainty of incidence. In this regard – a clear DLP policy failing.

The point is: some parents still prefer to let their children catch ZRs and Mini-buses.

This is therefore more of a cost of living issue, than anything else.

We should be talking about Barbados’ declining foreign reserves and the impact on the Barbadian quality of life.

If the reserves continue to drop the problem will not the ZRs and Mini-buses because they too will be at risk.

See what I tell you about the DLP being – as lost on social issues – as on the economy, where they do not have a clue?

They just can’t see the connection between cost of living and the likely social fall-out, even though causing hundreds to loose their jobs from this sector.

Man!!!

We really do have a national crisis!!!

15. Oh, for fsck sake Dark Night… Give it a rest…

The DLP will be in power for at least another three years… Deal with it!

Your job, as the opposition, is to ensure that things *happen*.

Introducing Fear, Uncertainty and Doubt does not achieve this…

The BLP were in power for exactly how many years?

The ZRs, empirically, went out of their way to break every law for how long? In order to maximize their individual returns, to the detriment of every other road use.

@Dark Night… This is a serious question: What have *you* done to the benefit of the average Bajan?

16. Christopher Halsall // April 9, 2009 at 3:28 pm

Oh, for fsck sake Dark Nightโ€ฆ Give it a restโ€ฆ

The DLP will be in power for at least another three yearsโ€ฆ Deal with it!
    ………………………………
    The fact that the national debt increased by $1.4 million in 14 months has absolutely nothing to do with me.

Neither the fact that the cost of living has doubled or that over 3,000 lost their jobs since Januray 2008.

I did not cause the global financial crisis, neither did I vote for the DLP.

Do not target me for your anger.

Did I increase your land tax bill?

Did I move the price of diesel from $1.46 to $2.57?

Was it me who raised the price of bottle gas?

Did I increase your road tax or the price of beer and cigarettes?

Did I promise teachers, nurses and police increased pay?

Did I promise to build 2000 houses every year for the next five years?

Leave me!!!

17. @DN… Sigh…

I believe, on this particular forum, we’re discussing the issue of the PSVs. Or, to be mostly accurate, the ZRs…

I am trying to argue that perhaps the ZRs shouldn’t be, because of their dangerous behaviour…

You feel it your right to blame the DLP for the failure of mananaging the behaviour of the ZRs.

I am trying to point out that this behaviour was (and is) conducted under both the current, and the previous, watches.

And that little actual process has been achieved under either…

18. @GoWEB ePress: “Diary Of A Mad PSV Operator (Cross-linked above…

As was first said by Benjamin Disraeli, and then popularized by Mark Twain: “There are Lies, Damned Lies, and Statistics

But a few dimensions of the question you haven’t spoken to is the following:

1. What is the insurance charges for each type of public transport available here in Bim?

2. What are the insurance claims for each type of public transport available here in Bim?

3. What are the infractions recorded for each type of public transport available here in Bim?

4. What are the injuries (and deaths) recorded for each type of public transport available here in Bim?

With respect GoWEB, an independent observer would not be able to draw a reasonable conclusion without having the above information….

19. @Christopher Halsall

No offense taken. I am not trying to give answers because I don’t propose to know them. I am just asking questions. Believe me, I would LOVE to have such information at my disposal, and I believe the relevant ministries should publish such information. I would also love to find out exactly what the law says about customization of PSV’s and the advertisements wrapped right around Transport Board buses, but until the Integrity Legislation is finished, we have to accept what we see.

20. The DLP will be in power for at least another three yearsโ€ฆ Deal with it!
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ
    The fact that the national debt increased by $1.4 million in 14 months has absolutely nothing to do with me.

Neither the fact that the cost of living has doubled or that over 3,000 lost their jobs since Januray 2008.

I did not cause the global financial crisis, neither did I vote for the DLP.

Do not target me for your anger.____________________________________________________
    @Chris

Dont mind Dark Knight I agree with you 100% and I do have my favourtie party too but I will not be blinded by the truth.

YOU AINT LYING!

I think that the minority in this sector are the culprits; they do play a significant role within the country.

21. Inkwell has hit the nail squarely on the head this time.

I wonder………how many posters actually ride on ZRs.
    It is ok to sit and judge from the comfort of your SUV but people need to take a ride to really understand the issue.
    I had a friend a few years ago, who went to court for doing 120km/h on the highway. His fine was $250 and his licence was taken away for a year. This was his first offense also. ZR drivers and conductors sometimes have 125 reports and still work every day!
    This issue will need the collective effort of ALL powers to ever have some sense of order in this sector.

22. And they still work every day……

Wow they are the true hustlers.

23. @Technician: “how many posters actually ride on ZRs. It is ok to sit and judge from the comfort of your SUV but people need to take a ride to really understand the issue.

For the record, *I* ride the ZRs….

24. Hey CH…..it wasnt directed at you but as Bob says……who the cap fit….

25. Hey Technician…

No problem…

You asked a question. I answered (honestly)….

So, might I reasonably question the current ZR situation?

26. @ CH…
    anyone has every right to.
    Just that …..oh well.

27. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

The ZRs are a great help !
    Many people are helped daily by the ZRs .
    Some people are offended by the ZRs
    and we seem to have a problem.

If we have a problem, we should look for a solution.

WHY IS THERE STILL A PROBLEM ????

28. busdriver/owner Avatar
    busdriver/owner

it is my opinion that inkwell covered most of the major points in his article i however think there are additional factors relating to the deterioration of the psv sector. the media has for years negatively portrayed all operators for many years leaving a negative image in the eyes of the public towards us. it is true that there are some bad apples in the industry but it is not a high percentage the problem is no one sees when you are doing good for the public. i personally laughed at the free bus fare system because we have been doing that for years for children who loose their bus fares or whose parents just dont have it further more adults board our buses to get home when they are in tight positions financially and i personally have never refused to take them home, you cant do that on a goverment bus. on the issue of driving yes we get into accidents but so does every other road user. most drivers work on average 15 hours a day 5 days a week 52 weeks a year. there are about 500 psvs on the road, you would expect something to happen at sometime it is my personal belief we have some of the best drivers but once again yes there some bad apples. the sector as it is is not profitable to an owner who might owe the bank as is my situation but we still have to fight to make ends meet. for a driver to take home 75-100 dollars and a conductor only 35-50 dollars after working 15 hours is a disgrace but that is what most workers end up with if they aren’t stealing money from the owner. how possibly much better can you expect the behaviour to be under these circumstances. our greatest critics would end up find himself/ herself doing the very same things if they had tide out here for one month and had to do it to support their families pay rent and buy food. its a hustle until government changes their policies or we all go bankrupt. and i personally ain’t too far from that.

29. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

@GoWEB
    You asked about air brushing vis a vis roadworthiness. Look at this , Some years ago the Mimister of Transort brought legislation to bear on the ZR Vans and the Minibuses m requiring both categories to be painted in a standard specific colour. Today we see many of the Transport Board buses, moving away from the traditional yellow/blue with a bariffle of multi-coloured advertisement emblazoned around the entire body.This is not only blatant double standard, but gross disrespect for our National Colours.

30. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

@ch
    Perhaps the ZR plate designation is incomplete.
    Really it should read “IQ=ZeRo

31. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

After a certain time at nights, commuters who otherwise clamour for the ZR and Minibus have no choice but to resort to the Transport Board.Many hotel workers ,especially those whose routes are serviced by the private PSV’s and who leave work late at nights, have to catch one of the Transport Board buses and walk along deserted streets to get home.People living in the Brittons Hill area are a classic example,where they have to walk across Britons Cross Road or Fordes Road from Collymorerock.

32. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

Please stop the ZR bashing

We know that there are problems with some and I repeat some ZR drivers/conductors.

Please fix that particular problem and please do not tar all of them with the same brush. Would someone wantto put these worthwhile ZRs off the road ?

ZR 240 -; ZR 46;- ZR 82; ZR131; ZR 108; ZR 235; ZR 225; ZR 232; ZR 119; ZR 75; ZR 164; ZR114; ZR 44; ZR 145; ZR84- and the one ZR on the Eden Lodge route——– to identify a few

Whenever Blacks in this country attempt enterprise, it is always frowned upon by those who feel that we should forever be hewers of wood and drawers of water

33. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

I remember when private concessionaires like Mrs Rock,Mr Coward and Mr Trotman to name a few were operating buses throughout the island. We never had anything near this level of indiscipline that we see today on the ZR’s and Minibuses. And the pay was not that great, back in the early “60”s a driver got about $24.00 per week and a conductor $18.00. But this dis not prevent them from presenting themselves to the public in a respectable way, both in attire and manner.Discipline and respect started with the owners of these bus companies.

34. @Wright B.Astard: “Perhaps the ZR plate designation is incomplete. Really it should read ‘IQ=ZeRo

I would instead argue the plate should read :’ROCK & HARD PLACE

So the question then becomes, how can *we* solve this problem?

35. busdriver/owner Avatar
    busdriver/owner

Wright B.Astard should consider the fact that $18.00 thirty years ago was worth a lot more than it is now nothing but a mint don’t cost 25c any more.

36. ” Rock & hard place”…you seem to be getting the message.

Now tell me why the Police and MTW have not enforced the law relating to the playing of loud music on PSV’s.

At present, amplifiers and speaker boxes are removed for annual inspection by MTW, the vehicle passes inspection, the equipment is replaced and the vehicle proceeds merrily along its way, breaking the law until the next year’s inspection.

MTW went about solving the problem the wrong way once before by forcing an owner to remove the standard equipment on a vehicle as a condition of renewing his permit and lost the case when he took them to court.

The law is against “amplified” music and this is the route they should take, (with the full blessings of the owners, I might add). Starting with Route 1, place inspectors, supported by the police along the route and..

1. Stop every PSV and perform an on the spot inspection.

2. Advise the operators that the vehicle is in breach of section blah, subsection blah blah of the Terms and Conditions of the PSV Permit.(Amend the Terms and Conditions if necessary)

3. Advise the driver that the vehicle will not be permitted to proceed along the route until the infraction is rectified.

The following will occur…

1. The driver will get on his cell phone and call the owner.

2. The owner will get in his car, with the necessary tools, proceed to the location and remove the offending equipment, amplifiers and speaker boxes and cart them away so that the vehicle can resume its journey. Standard equipment remains.

Simple as 1,2,3. Repeat as necessary. This will soften one of the hard places the owners are between and remove a major irritant to the traveling public and then “we” can start to deal with the others as recommended in my original article.

37. Wright B.Astard Avatar

The ZR and the Minibuses are the major original dispensers of indiscipline in our society.Obeying the law of the land is not optional. If a bus or van is violating the laws of Barbados, after a couple of warnings that vehicle should be impounded,and not released until it is made right and the driver charged. Furthermore ,if it is not done already,the Owners of these PSV’s should be issued with a meaningful special Operators License, and this too should be revoked in cases where his/her drivers and his vehicles continue to flout the law.
    But for the life of me I cannot understand why the governments of the day had seen it fit to nationalise the island’s transport system, relieving the private, disciplined concessionaire of the responsibility, only to put it back into the hand of rabbles a few years later. This is one stick that the government has chopped down to cut its own arse, and that of much of the travelling public.

38. Wright B.Astard Avatar

@Asiba-The buffalo soldier.
    Blacks have been running a disciplined transport system successfuly for many years in Barbados with little complaint.The Race card is not applicable here.
    @bus driver/owner
    I noticed that you only responded to the money bit, ignoring the part of discipline.

39. Most PSV drivers and conductors are uncouth, unkempt and lawless. I am not guessing, I am stating a fact…. I travel every day to and from Deacon’s Road on a ZR Route 4. There are almost 20 vehicles which service this route and only 6 drivers operate within the law. They are Michael, Sammy, Kinch, Ratto, Foreigner Man and the driver of ZR163. Unfortunately Michael seems to experience periods of depression and during these times he is smelly.
    Anytime that there isn’t a police presence in the van-stand, chaos is the order of the day. The drivers I mentioned above, all have radios installed in their vehicles but they are tuned to FM 92.9, 95.3 or 100.7. Passengers would have to request an increase in volume for anyone else apart from the driver to hear the broadcast. They are gentlemen. I can sing their praises. The others will do anything including drinking alcohol or smoke marijuana openly while operating the vehicles. The lyrics heard on these vehicles are lewd and very suggestive. Three weeks ago I heard little children from Deacons Primary
    singing along to one of the lyrics which included a line “A friend in need is a friend widout weed”. Is there anyone in the BU family who would honestly support this kind of lawlessness?

40. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

Far from me to try to defend indiscipline in any form or by any group of people. The indiscriminate eating of junk food and the ever growing FAT in our country is a sign of great indiscipline and I am on record as opposing that-so even there I am opposed to indiscipline——something that people take for granted.

Indiscipline in the PSV sector will get no support from me but we must be careful that we do not throw out the baby with the bath water.

I was driving my car down University Hill one time when I saw a ZR in front of me. It took me some time -(seconds) to realise that instead of travelling in the same direction and going away from me the ZR was actually reversing towards me. That was a very hair-raising experience but I would not condemn every ZR because of that experience. There have been other experiences.

In the past I have left my car at home and caught the Transport Board buses, minibuses and ZRs to see how things were going as passenger. I went to school by PSVs and use them before I had a car at a fairly early age (-20-21) so I am quite familar with the sector.

It is accepted that there are problems within the sector but it is also recognised that not all of the PSV workers are transgressors and here is where the problem must be handled with sensitivity. The public still demand the services of the PSVs.

I have seen and use PSVs in many Caribbean countries and I have not observed any major problems with them.

In St.Kitts for example, PSVs can travel on any route they desire if their assigned route is not busy enough or for any other reason they want to go offroute.

The example of St.Lucia is one to which many bajans allude.

So we have examples we can draw from.

Let us find some solutions
    Let us form a group and propose these solutions with force and desire to see them work.
    Let us not just talk-Please !

41. i have been n the industry 4 over 20 years and have seen all of the problems that have been discussed upfront one of the things that i have realised is that the solutions to the problems are simple and easy but no one wants to do it pay the operators a weeks pay its so simple
    all of the problems come because the operators have to hustle take away the hustle and you solve the problem

42. busdriver/owner Avatar
    busdriver/owner

@Wright B.Astard
    if you had taken the time to properly read my first post you would have seen that i have admitted there are bad apples in the industry. but i guess you are too busy trying to down cry the industry and every one related to it.

43. in 2004 i was before the courts tor one f my many traffic violations i was fined 500 dollars forthwith for not stopping at a bus stop after i left court i decided i would never do it again i started to pickup and put down passengers at bus stops olny the result was that my daily intake went from 550 a day to 250 a day my boss wanted to know what was wrong when i told him he was understanding but still had his van to pay for so the result was i ended up n court again and again but u know what the law makes provisions 4 passengers to be charged for the offence of boarding a psv other than at a busstop but they dont ever get charged 4 it u see a person who wants to catch a bus running to the busstop but they stand at the corner side of the road to stop the zr or minibus maybe we should stop penaliseing the drivers all the time can the average person who catches a psv afford to pay the courts 500 dollars forthwith i dont think so

44. hey chuckles one question how many of those children you heard singing catch the zr”s

45. It seems to me plain and simple that there are 4 main things wrong with this discussion.
    1. Persons taking too much of a political stance when it comes to this problem. DLP/BLP, make no difference at the end of the day. Both parties make mistakes, both parties do alot of foolishness, both parties do some of what they promised, both parties do some other good stuff they didn’t promise as the need arises.
    So do not attempt to make this issue about PSVs and the associate problems about politics at the party level.

2. The main thing that goes on that most people do not understand is something we call, in psychology, reciprocal determinism. The environment influences the behaviour (here meaning actions) of the individual, the behaviour has an effect on the individual, who then in turn influences the environment, which then affects the individual who then makes choices that influence behaviour.
    And it goes around and around like that. You CAN NOT deal with only one of the contributing factors as every single government organisation and every foundation and association has been doing and hope and expect it to work, since everything interacts and influences the others. In different people, the combination is slightly different in terms of the strength of the influence that each component has. However, each part of the triangle does exert some force which impacts on the others tremendously.
    You have to have an approach that is multivariate and can attempt to address the various variables that help make up the “problem”. Otherwise, while you may see a few cases where a one side approach works, in the majority- IT SIMPLY WILL NOT!

3. I find many persons -not just in this blog-are making comments without being part of the culture in one way or the other. One must recognize there are several types of person who are part of the “zr culture” . 1. Those persons who are fully entrenched and operate by the norms and values of the culture, whether interacting with persons who are part of the culture or not. This includes, but is certainly not limited to, many of the drivers, conducters and owners.
    2. There are those who are not fully entrenched but spend a good part of the day or week interacting with persons who are and therefore know the “rules” of said culture, even if they don’t use them as their standard code for functioning in society. And this-groups includes a fair amount of the drivers, conductors, and owners, the gfs/bfs and ‘sex buddies’ of these, and “van rats”, among a wide crosssection of people.

3. Then there are those who are ‘passers-by’ in the culture. They interact with persons in this culture on the basic of levels- transactions- i.e. basic passengers. Of these there are about two groups- a. those who simply get on the bus, pay their fare, and get out the bus when they get to their stop, b. those who get on the bus, recognize the driver and conductor because of frequent use of the service and so may chat a bit, pay their fares, will tell the driver turn down the radio, change the station, play back a song or what not, then get off at their stop and exchange farewells with the service providers then go on their way and forget all about them.
    Both of these observe the culture while having the minimum amount of interactions, the second type more than the first.
    And there are other subtypes and types which I have not mentioned because of time and space and because I’m sure you must be getting bored by now.

I only mention them to highlight the point that many persons make judgements based on one incident, one driver, one conductor, one owner, one “van rat” one, one. If you hardly have interactions with the culture, even if just as a observer rather than a participant, then your judgements are not valid scientifically.
    You may assume that its part of that culture that is causing a particular phenomenon when it actually is a variable quite independent from the culture and just happens to be present at that particular time.
    If you are going to pass judgements then make them informed.
    People are quick to blame to the “zr culture” and the people participating in it. As was mentioned before, there are variables out there are affecting the culture that many people do not seem to consider or that they don’t want to consider and those variables are what shape the direction in which the culture flows- culture is not an immovable object, it flows and changes.
    And plus, people blame the culture for things that might not even be the culture’s fault, but might be the result of some other factor that was not considered.

4. I remember hearing, that if you want to get rid of the bad parts, highlight the good. I realise that many people are quick to highlight the bad things about PSVs and not really the good or at least not so bad things about PSVs. I dont hear anyone talking about how some drivers dont charge older and younger members of the society. I dont hear anyone mentioning how some of the conductors make sure that children dont get left behind or that they get home to their parents houses safely. I dont hear persons commenting on the fact that some conductors and drivers make sure that their young admirers/ ‘day riders’ are off the vans during school hours and on school days(and i dont mean by taking them to their houses, or by their bfs or whatever). And I certainly dont hear persons commenting on the fact that many of the drivers and conductors are quite respectful to their passengers and are sometimes more so to the more senior members of society than many other persons who are of “higher” standings.

An’ dat is my piece an’ i gwine done there caws i tink i mek enuff noise fuh tuhday and caws enuff strife in de comment section.

46. ps. When i mentioned my last two parts, I meant the general public opinion and was not meaning specifically the commentators and comments here in this forum.

47. @ Chuckles—–

Just a few comments and questions concerning your particular post.

1. How much other routes are you frequently a passenger on?
    It has been proven by some of my colleagues at UWI, and from personal experience that while there may be a general common culture over all those within the PSVs sector, there are MAJOR differences that occur from route to route and from van stand to van stand.
    I am not saying what your comment is not valid. I am just cautioning you that before you make an umbrella statement, you make sure it is actually raining.

2. You heard the little children singing the song? Okay. It was playing on the radio in the zr and it should not have been. Okay, valid argument.
    But how do you know that those children learnt that song from the ZRs and not at home? The same songs that play in ZRS and Minibuses and Clubs and Fetes and Parties and what not, get played at home.
    And furthermore, while in some settings the song may be an radio edit version of the song, in most cases the one played or heard at home is not that version at all.
    As I said, your point that it was playing on the radio in a vehicle that was doing a public service and it should not have been is quite valid, and one I completely agree with(which may seem unusual to some of you since I am a young person).
    But I have to again caution you about making umbrella statements without considering all the possible angles.

48. @Psychuntress

Don’t think you read my posting. I mentioned the names of the decent drivers who drive on Route 4. They only number 6 out of approximately 20 i.e 30%. The others are downright rotten. They are disrepectful, vulgar and unkempt.

49. Hey PSCYHUNTRESS

The answer to the problem is to turn off the dirty lyrics when children board the bus. Do you have children. Man, you make me shame trying to find excuses for thos rats.

50. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

2. The main thing that goes on that most people do not understand is something we call, in psychology, reciprocal determinism. The environment influences the behaviour (here meaning actions) of the individual, the behaviour has an effect on the individual, who then in turn influences the environment, which then affects the individual who then makes choices that influence behaviour.

Hi
    PSYHUNTRESS

One thing that you will learn is to keep the language terms simple. As a young student you are tempted to demonstrate what you learn in class -good for you but if you are to communicate, the language must be simple and effective.

Apply what you learn to your society without sounding so theoretical and bookish.

I have a university qualification in , among other disciplines, psychology but I try not to come over as knowing it all and being so bookish. This is the real world sweetie so keep it real