illegal_aliensThere is an interesting parallel to what is happening in Barbados regarding illegal immigrant labour which is currently unravelling in the USA. There is a report just released that tens of thousands of jobs to be created by Obama’s stimulus package will go to illegal aliens.

“Studies by two conservative think tanks estimate immigrants in the United States illegally could take 300,000 construction jobs, or 15% of the 2 million jobs that new taxpayer-financed projects are predicted to create – read full report

It is interesting to note that this ridiculous state of  affairs is being blamed onfailing to require that employers certify legal immigration status of workers before hiring by using a Department of Homeland Security program called E-Verify. The program allows employers to check the validity of Social Security numbers provided by new hires. It is available to employers on a voluntary basis.”

The BU family has been asking for months why there has been no visible attempt to implement laws which would penalize employers in Barbados who hire illegal immigrants. To sensible Barbadians who have been expressing concern about the unbridled influx of immigrant labour in recent years; commonsense suggests that waving a penalty at local employers who have been  brazenly exploiting our lose immigration policy would have been good response to stem the influx.

In booming economic times which Barbados would have experience in the last decade; the economy easily tolerated the inefficient and ignorant immigration policy of the former administration. As the economy of Barbados begin to stall and unemployment indicator moves closer to double digits the time has come to get serious about illegal immigrants in Barbados.

The Prime Minister is on record promising that an underclass of people will not be allowed to take root in Barbados. We shall see.

48 responses to “Barbadians Continue To Wait On The Shake-up Promised At The Immigration Department”

1. Why for example would the prime minister be pushing to help Four Seasons get back on track to according to him:”save barbadian jobs”,when 65 -70 % of the workers there are non barbadians.

When the barbadian workers made an out cry over this during the Arthur administration nothing was done by that corrupt regime.

Now thompson is in and the economy has taken a turn for the worse as unemployment continues to rise;yet we have guyanese and chineese still on the job.

I hope Thompson does not think he can take up our hard earned,scarce dollars to help out Four Seasons when a large number of our workers are still on the outside looking in.

Why are those guyanese and chineese still working on the job?

We demand an answer.

2. I can understand if the government insome way assist in restarting Four Seasons if it means employment for bajans. This would mean bajan families would not be left unattened but with many of the workers on that project non-bajan, it is of no help to the bajan workers or the country on a whole. It is time government impliment a policy where employers are penalised for employing illegal workers and where they have to bring in non-nationals, a bajan should work alongside that person as an apprentice, with the understanding that at the end of the contract, the bajan would take over. I see application almost daily in the print media for foreign labour for jobs that can be handled by bajans with just a little tweeking to the bajan employeee. We have to tighten up this immigration policy immediately in order to survive this crisis. Failing to do this can not only lead to disadvantaged bajan families but to unrest in this country. We are on the brink of such.

3. @The Scout

If Bajans see jobs being advertised all that it requires is for a Bajan to write to the Chief Immigration Officer.

Less talk more do!

4. Be on the alert.

President Obama is signalling his determination to end unfair trade pratices and unfair trade agreements.

According to the U.S Trade Representative nominee Ron Kirk the Obama administration will be reviewing all their current trade agreements and will be pressing for countries like India and China to open up their markets more.

Remember too a’Buy American Goods’ has been included in the new stimulus bill and american workers are pushing their ststes to ensure that american workers get first right to these new jobs being created.

At the same time we are seeing a mass exodus of foreign workers in countries like Dubai,Saudi Arabia,Oman etc as construction,tourism and oil prices drop.

Where are they heading?
    Back to India and china and the phillipines and korea.

Briniging it closer to home – now that china is seeing unemployment rise expect to see a greater push towards the caribbean with their lax immigration policies by chineese companies AND their chineese workers.

Already there is an uproar in trinidad where a south korean construction company has been given the contract to build a number of govenment buildings.

Manning should be hung upside down.

Here in barbados it is the same story.A lot of talk about bajans jobs for bajans first,and ‘ever so welcome wait for a call’,yet guyanese,chineese,british and every body else are getting the nod over the bajans and they ain’t waiting for no call.

I wonder if the government realises that the voters of today are not the same as the voters in 1960?

There is no real sign that government is doing anything greater to send out the illegals here as well as those who work permit have expired and are still working here.

Prime minister thompson should INSIST that Pemberton and Four Seasons replace those guyanese and chineese workers with bajans now that we have a growing number of carpenters ,masons,steel benders,tilers etc unemployed.

Instead we have norman faria demanding that government allow his guyanese flea bags to be allowed to go on other construction sites and take bread from bajan mouth.

And you know no bajan trade union,no journalist,no politician has taken issue with that publicly!

5. David
    I know of a qualified bajan project manager, who applied for a job at Four Seasons and was refused but the job was advertised and included an aspect of the job that was not required on the project. This was done because the person they had earmarked for the job had that qualifications and the bajan did not. In most cases, these employers have persons they want to bring in and set the ads in the local newspapers in a way that disqualifies local from getting the job. I know of another sight where project foremen had to listen to local artisans to get the knowledge on doing certain jobs, yet locals who knew what to do were refused the postions. Only if you knew what is happening in the bajan job market. Ask the BEC man (no name mentioned) why he got fired.

6. David… same thing happened to me with C88, a dog and pony show interview for a work permit ad…it was an awful experience because they went out of their way to act, for various reasons, like I couldn’t hack the position, and when I pushed back the interviewer was very apologetic.They didn’t even have a clear copy of my CV and acted like they had read it when there was a huge blank spot down the middle.Being prepared I brought extras which they refused!!! In retrospect, I am glad that I didn’t get it.

7. Not Hired
    I think the government should investigate what is happening with Cinemon88 at Four Seasons. I can relate another 10 stories of incedences like what you and I mentioned. That is why, I know that unless or until government do something as the construction market tightens, bajan artisans and construction professionals will start raising a stink in this country. I will happen soon, maybe as soon as Four Seasons reopens and bajans are rejected in preference to guyanese and chinese.

8. Not Hired

Go to the nation newspaper with your story and provide the evidence.

Also write arni walters min.of immigration and tell him the story too.

9. The example given by ‘not Hired’ above is just one of the reasons why David/BU has to keep the issue of ‘influx of immigration’ high on the BU agenda.

10. TALK !

11. Anonymous
    how will it help? All these guys are caught in a web and it is hard to escape

12. Scout

If that is made public in the newspaper it will put pressure on the minister of immigration,the prime minister and pemberton of Four Seasons.

13. I dont think it will; many persons such as G. Greaves help those GT people I KNOW he does not care. One of my GT friends told me that Greaves told her not to leave the island. She was suppose to leave and she was given 3 more weeks.

All she did was get on the phone and was able to come to an agreement. Greaves has done many favours for people, therefore, he will always get what he wants!

We fighting a loosing battle!

When the Immigration Officers try to do their job; he overrides them and the PM says NOTHING!

Get rid of Greaves and then I will believe the saying ever so welcome wait for call but for right now …….. I KNOW THAT THEY LAUGHING AT WE!

14. Wunna like dah nuh Avatar
    Wunna like dah nuh

Don’t worry Immigration will soon have a new head and there will be lots to sing about this crop over season.

15. Barbados certainly has NOT seen anything yet.

The illegal immigration problem seems likely to increase as ever more Caricom regions feel the pinch of the economic slump & the influx increases unchecked.Barbados will see a new reality taking place……….an ever more uncertain future economically with the primary source of income being tourists.

The Canadian government has issued a warning about Barbados due to the recent attack.I don’t know if non-nationals committed this heinous crime or not,but the reality is the problem of not knowing who is within Barbados’ borders is a national security problem when it threatens the very livelihood of the island.

16. Jay
    Only today I spoke with some tourist friends of mine who said that they are having second thoughts of returning to Barbados because, there is now no longer that Bajan feel about coming here. This is their 20th visit to Barbados. Even the tourist are seeing the difference and the powers that be seem to be turning a blind eye. i seems the former administration has put this one in a bind that is hard to get out of.

17. Prime Minister David Thompson where is the promise shake up at the immigration department.You are taking us for fools.

The new immigration policy I know have in some very good proposals that should effectively handle the influx of illegals immigrants into Barbados.The new policy is very interesting indeed and I know it will spark a lot of debate if & when it is made public.

The government of Barbados is in a bind with its obligations to CARICOM & CSME.In addition,real pressure is being exerted by our Caribbean leaders & our local influential business people in Barbados especially the Indians,& Whites Barbadians.This government is seeking ways to satisfy all interest groups on this matter.It knows the implications with unchecked immigrants into the island and the social ills that will follow.The concerns of Barbadians are noted and appropriate action is taking place.

At this time I believe we must give our immigration department a lot of credit because it is trying but it is receiving a lot pressure from powerful interest groups in Barbados and Gilbert Greaves is the major contributor to the frustrations our immigration department are getting in the department efforts in carrying out of its duty.Anonymous & all the other contributors are correct in their comments on Gilbert Greaves.Its begs the question if this government is really serious on clamping down on the illegals when the major perpetrator who is well known in assisting those illegals Gilbert Greaves is now the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Defence & Security who has responsibility for immigration.He has been promoted and is now in a position to override any decisions taken by Shirley Farnum the Chief Immigration Officer.It is a known fact that Gilbert Greaves assisted many Guyanese when given deportation orders by the immigration department.He is even in the habit of given them his personal cell phone number and telling them no one can touch you all just give him a call.I know this is truth and the gospel truth.

I am confuse with this government’s true position on this immigration issue.It has double talk & flip flop and many of its ministers & parliamentarians have made many contradictory remarks on the issue.

I wonder if this government thinks we are fools.

18. Negroman

Stay tuned,it going to be federation about here,one day coming soon.

19. Negro Man, Anonymous
    Something has to give and that early. If nothing is done by Crop-over, we would see the next large influx of guyanese in Barbados. Incedentally, was guyanese offered the cricket cheap flights by LIAT and the BTA? Is that answer is yes, can the Immigration Dept tell us how many came in and how many remain? I guess not. To stop this island from sinking, we have to relieve it of some unwanted human cargo NOW if not sooner.

20. Listen to negroman he was never wrong in the past and I have a feeling he is right now. Especially about Greaves…..

21. What major shake up what …… I have a question to ask how comes those girls are still at the Indian Grill How comes they have not hired any BLACK Barbadians to really learn to cook the rotis WHY DO WE STILL HAVE THEM WORKING HERE…..

You believe I vote for this man doh and this is what is happening …….

A guyanese woman told me that when she got on a plane heading for Barbados that someone gave her Greave’s number.

You know that I cant go and see no Permanent Secretary so easily but they have his cell number and can turn up at his Office welll well welll…… look what Barbados come too.

22. Check it dawg !
    watch it now
    This is what is going on

The shake up is C-R-A-P

23. I had the misfortune of being in B’town for a fairly long time yesterday evening/night. I thought I was in G.T, I heard more guyanese accents, than bajan while I was walking the street. Further more, there are more black guyanese in Barbados that I thought. My God, being in B’town and experiencing the vast among of guyanese that are in this island has left mevery depressed. They were all over Swans St, Broad St, Palmetto Sq, Fairchild St especially by the booths which are mainly operated now by guyanese and even OUR Independence Square Park, drinking beer under the statue of The Right Elec The Hon Errol Walton Barrow. I saw him look down at them and wanted to come down and kick them from around there but the platform was too high, I promised him to bring a ladder and a sickle for him the next Friday I’m in town. Seriously though, Barbados GOOOOOONE

24. That is too bad to hear Scout,& the news in Canada isn’t going away on the incident either.The reality is that NO person would want to go on a vacation where crime is high or going ever higher.People here in the north usually go on vacation to get away from the problems of industrialization[e.g.traffic,pollution but generally for some tropical weather].

No one should have to worry about being knocked down at 4 p.m. in the afternoon no matter if it is a tourist or local.

This is basically like the incident that happened in Antigua not to lately,but in Barbados & it didn’t result in any deaths………yet !

The Thompson government has been an absolutely failure on being accountable for this immigration matter & the legal citizens of Barbados.The current Minister of Immigration,Arni Walters actually cares more about ‘indoor air quality’ than those illegally working on site,when so many people in Barbados are being unemployed should speak in volumes about the Thompson government.

25. Jay
    My sentiments are the same.Arni Walters is the weakest minister in David Thompson administration but he has the most critical of all his ministries.To me that tells me how serious the windbag Thompson is on this illegal immigration issue.I will say it again & again David Thompson is taking us for fools and he is not responding to the wishes of the vast amount of people who elected him but is dancing to the tune of ethnic minorities who are purse strings of his party.

David Thompson & the Democratic Labour Party we Black Barbadians are going get the rid of you and your bunch of mercenary members in the next election.David Thompson you are a total let down and a sell out.

26. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

More than three-quarters of Britons want to see jobless immigrants forced to leave UK according to a new poll.

The finding will raise fears that the far-Right BNP could prosper in the recession as unemployment rises.
    In addition, more than half of the adults in Britain who took part in the FT/Harris survey opposed the right for citizens from other European Union countries to work here.
    Outspoken immigration minister Phil Woolas admitted that the Government, despite years of tough talking on immigration, had yet to convince many voters that it had properly tightened Britain’s borders.
    Asylum seekers pictured in Calais recently: Many are hoping to reach Britain where they believe they will find work, but as new study shows three-quarters of people want non-working immigrants to leave the UK
    ‘The poll figures are not a surprise, they are a concern, and in significant part they are because they public don’t believe that the Government has got control,’ he said.
    ‘The central goal of my immigration policy is to provide the assurance to the public that we know who’s here and who’s not here.’
    Immigrants from Eastern Europe have been generally welcomed by people in Britain as they have been seen as skilled tradesmen and women and to have filled gaps in the workforce.
    However, the poll also found that more adults in the UK, 54 per cent, than in Germany, France, Italy or Spain, are against citizens from other EU countries getting a job in their country.
    Just over half of those interviewed in Britain strongly supported the idea that the Government should ask unemployed immigrants to leave the country, with about a quarter ‘somewhat’ backing such a policy.
    Only the Italians felt as strongly on this issue.
    Shadow immigration minister Damian Green said the findings reflected Labour’s failures over immigration combined with pressures on the jobs market.
    Prime Minister Gordon Brown has faced criticism for his slogan ‘British jobs for British workers’ and the country was hit by wildcat strikes this year over the use of foreign workers at an oil refinery in Lincolnshire.
    Town halls in London are to get millions of pounds to help deal with a surge in immigrants.
    Communities Secretary Hazel Blears will this week unveil plans for a £50 fee for immigrants to the UK from non-EU countries.
    The scheme is expected to raise around £70 million over the next few years with funds being distributed to councils having to provide extra health, education and other services because of the influx of newcomers
    Several town halls in London, including Hammersmith and Fulham, have complained they are being underfunded because of flawed population figures.

27. So why you copy and paste that article wishing in vain?

You are the same person hartley that told us we have to welcome everyone,brown,black and white – didn’t you?

So why you didn’t comment on how you feel about what is said in that article?

You really think bajans stupid,but we are more fed up than those british citizens about these immigrants taking away british jobs and flooding into their country.

So talk to the bossman.

28. The article copy and pastes narrates a striking similarity to what is currently happening in Barbados. We wonder all those who have accused BU as being xenophobic how would they describe the English.

The good thing about the submission by Wishing In Vain must be that people in government are aware?

29. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

I can communicate with you but as we can all see the Anonymous which sounds like a Henderson Bovell or Sylvan Greenidge mouthing does not warrant a reply, when they grow up and mature in opposition they will be spoken with until then just shut up and chill out.

I think you will have noted that from very early on the PM’s statement that all are welcome but wait for a call comment and yes I agree that the ones in office are very aware of the situation after all the PM was first to speak boldly on the matter.

The purpose of posting the article is for those to clearly see that the Immigration influx is a problem even to a country the size of Britain with all at its disposal and their resources, they too are concerned about the influx of Immigration numbers, why then should we not be concerned in a little 2 x 4 island in the middle of the ocean??

30. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

David, I trust you noted my earlier comments re COB and today they are even more defined in the NATION.

That setup has severe and serious issues with regard goverance, as it is in a downward sprial and needs an urgent rescue mission.

31. bajan to de hair follicle Avatar
    bajan to de hair follicle

de shake up happened already
    when the pm spoke, it was already done
    just one or two holes to plug

32. Ishaka went to court recently how comes no one heard his name in the newspaper. I think it was General Lee who stated it is who ya know boy I tell ya ………

33. Did we hear Member of Parliament and St. Lucy representative Denis Kellman say in the parliament today that of the 800 employees at the stalled Four Seasons project only 200 are Barbadian? We did not hear a point of order from the opposition so it begs the question: what are these foreign workers doing in Barbados? Could they be drawing unemployment we ask facetiously?

34. Someone mentioned that the IsIand of Barbados might sink under the weight of immigrants. It seems that way in the UK too. EU migrants have a IegaI right to come and go as they wish between member states and there is not a reaI probIem there. Yet weirdIy more go to the UK than any other EU country! I echo, couId it be the benefits system? It can’t be the £! Has not that happened with Carricom to a degree? The argument about cheap workers is that “IocaIs wont do the jobs so immigrants do them” be those jobs sweeping the streets, working in care homes, cutting cane or not – anymore – picking cotton. It’s not just working poor immigrants who change society or effect property ownership. Many Iondoners were priced out of the property market by foreign buyers with tax exemption who pushed prices way beyond the pockets of even the middIe cIass buyers, and young poor famiIies cannot get counciI properties to which they are entitIed because of the throngs of asyIum seekers etc. At Ieast in Barbados you dont have to worry that immigrants have a deep desire to bIow you and themseIves up on the morning bus to work and a burning intention to convert everyone to IsIam or eIse. SuddenIy huge sums are offered to someone owning a chattIe house at Six Mens. Do you take the huge cash? Who wouIdnt. That’s if you get any cash and the government doesnt just take your the IittIe bit of Iand your famiIy has Iived on for generations overIooking the vaIuabIe seaview. I think governments have to take a much more sensibIe attitude to immigration and AustraIia is a good exampIe. That country needs immigration but tries to operate a “suppIy and demand” system which more or Iess works. The probIem with Barbados is that it is so smaII and has a popuIation of onIy about 12% of the foreigners who come to the country each year. I think I am right that 2 miIIion tourists visit an isIand of about 300 thousand? No wonder inhabitants search for a sense of identity when fIooded in this way by peopIe, TV images of other cuItures as weII as so many of its citizens having reIatives abroad. The country survives on income from tourism and foreign exchange from offshore as weII as reIatives from overseas and associated businesses. The Scout’s more worried about the Guyanese etc. because unIike tourists who spend money and go, they might stay and change society. I think that if workers are needed short term they shouId be given strict visas and show they are abIe to Ieave when the work is done. Tougher ruIes must be in pIace to stop foreigners buying Iand. You can’t stop a person from seIIing their Iand but you can stop who they seII it to. And immediate attention must be paid to property titIe so everyone can estabIish just what they own so some corrupt officiaI cant just come and take away a bit of Iand from someone who has Iived on it for generations. As for the beauty of Barbados being ruined, I chaIIenge peopIe to stop throwing Iitter.. How can you expect to be taken seriousIy otherwise? “Windows onto the sea” scattered with dumped cars, abandoned fridges and Cheffette cartons, anyone?

35. Kellman was the only one who raised the issue of the large number of non nationals working on four season in these hard times and I was very pleased that he raised it.

However he has to tell his leader that it is time that these persons on work permit be sent back now that there is no work for them at four seasons.

Four seasons is not opening back any time soon so it is obvious that these guyanese and chineese will be here scrounging around and trying to go underground and work illegally for less money.

Kellman also pointed out that that barbados family planning encouraging bajan women to have just one and 2 children but the indians coming here and having a litter full.

He was on the ball yesterday.

36. M.P. Dennis Kellman is asking the very question or highlighting the very problem that I see happening in Barbados. With the slowdown in construction in this island, how can we allow so many non-bajans to be employedon a project, while bajan artisans are finding it difficult to get a job at the same or other construction sites? There is a strong level of discontent right now among artisans in Barbados and I keep saying it, something is going to blow soon if this matter is not rectified. These four season workers are not unemployed right now, even though the project on which they were granted work permits for is closed. Bajan workers are now singing “lord, we can’t take it no more” it is time to act or react tothis situation. I hope the matter is resolved soon because Barbados can ill-afford unrest at this stage. I believe the P.M hands are tied but would someone assist him in freeing himself? You may become unpopular within Caricom, Mr P.M but it is bajans who vote and it is bajans that you were elected to represent. This must always be on your front burnner.

37. No more new work permits are being given to non-nationals. The government I think is starting to listen. However as Scout said the PM must listen to us bajans and they are still too many non nationals in Barbados.

38. Hey Scout,I gotta question.Were any statistics released in the last election on how many non-nationals voted & for which party they voted for mainly ?

I think this is the big worry for most of the parties.

39. Most non nationals voted for the BLP!

40. Thanks Anonymous,It extrapolates why the BLP would be so willing to open the Caricom floodgates,drowning Barbados citizens & legal residents in a sea of unemployment.

41. I agreed with Anonymous that the majority if not all the non-nationals voted for the Barbados Labour Party.I have some Black Guyanese friends of mine who have a lot of respect for me,but I could no convinced them to support the Democratic Labour Party.It came over to me like it was a ritual or premeditated that all Guyanese both Indo & Black had to vote for the Barbados Labour Party.

Jay you are correct the non-national vote is a big concern for this administration.The Democratic Labour Party must decide decisively what plan of action is it is going to undertake to limit the number of non-nationals in Barbados.

It must take drastic action or the party is doomed at the next election.

42. James Paul in his speech in the house last night blasted Employers who lay off bajan and hire non nationals.

James Paul has been very consistent on this point.

I hope he pushes this point with the members of the BAS where the plantations and farmers are the main people hiring these guyanese while saying bajans don’t want to work in agriculture,yet bajans begging you every day for a job to clean your yard or cut your grass.

43. There was a Karate Tournament recently at Sherbourne Conference Centre organised by a gentleman name Rollins Alleyne.

Dr Esther Byer-Suckoo minister of Family, Youth & Sport found difficulty in sponsoring that activity.She, however,found Barbadian tax payers money to finance an Indo-Trinidian Karate team to participate in that same tournament.
    Dr Esther Byer-Suckoo is looking after her own Indian Kith & Kin.and her party the Democratic Labour Party wants to give us the impression that they have a programme in place to deal with the influx of non-nationals especially the Indo-Guyanese hum bugs.

Dr Esther Byer -Suckoo is taking Barbadian tax payers money and spending on Indians from Trinidad.

Dr Esther Byer-Suckoo and the Democratic Labour Party deny this fact.

44. Negroman you buffoon. You confusing yourself. James Paul born in St. Lucia. Denis Kellman hires Guyanese at his Moon town place. They weigh the food. Byer Suckoo is a born Bajan. Your entire premise of berating Indo Guyanese is stupid and racist . You are chasing your tail. All the people mentioned above are Bajans including an idiot like you.

45. There seems to be a conflict of interst between the DGS of the Bwu and the GS. Some time ago it was reported that Bobby Morris stated that Barbados must look beyond the national issues when it comes to employment and instead employ persons who are more productive. This was dealing with the decline in construction in the country and the large amount of non-nationals here seeking work or presently employed at the expense of many nationals that have been placed on the breadline. However, quite recently,it was reported that Sir Roy Trotman has stated that the BWU position is that jobs in Barbados are for bajans first, regionists second and then others. BWU, please clarify this position, we in Barbados are already confused, please don’t add to that confusion. Is it that one of you are speaking as a trade unionist and the other as a party loyal?

46. I’m sorry for having to pull back up this old blog but I heard on the early morning news that Norman Faria is advocating that when Four Seasons re-opens, the jobs should not be given to bajans first but to guyanese and chinese. Is this man for real? Why should he be given such airplay on this matter? Are bajans prepared to sit back and allow this injustice to occur? What is the union’s position on this matter? what is government’s position on this matter? are bajan now second class citizens in their own country? Do these guyanese and chinese have voting rights in Barbados too? These anbd many many more questions need to be answered NOW. I hope this administration is prepared for the backlash if Faria’s request is taken seriously.

47. Faria is a man who has no brain power!